(2011/06) June 2011

Happy Valentine's to all mummies!

Did my detail scan last week and gynea said baby's abdominal is bigger but no worries still normal, thus chubby. I eat normal 3 meals and fruits after dinner almost daily. Hope I am eating right :p

Quien, kindly update baby gender, I'm expecting a girl. thks!

Crystal> My bb also have tummy during her last scan... just like me look preggy LOL. My dr did not say anything except to cut down on carbo and watch my weight.

altariel, hope you're coping well with the rashes. Jia You!

you can count me in for the gathering as well. i have a gynae check on 8th march so i prefer the wed.

there are quite a number of restuarents at raffles city but ever since i stopped going to sushi teh i haven't been there for a while.

i can suggest the Pasta de Waraku at Heeren though. it's usually very empty. good place to make some noise. HAHA!!

Uziela, as long as you baby is developing fine should be ok. i';ve heard of cases where the baby grows quite big so just have to induce birth before the original EDD, cos it will be very cramp inside the tummy, and will be hard on you when you give birth.

my princess is doing lunges as i type.

i did some shopping over the weekend. Robinson's having 20% for baby products. i'm interested in NUK bottles and a Lassig diaper bag. should i wait for the fairs to get them?

my shopaholic friend recommend that the fairs usually do not have good deals. she says go for departmental sales, more worth it. especially the OG 30% members sale.

so far, i got 4 baby books (kino) to tai jiao, 2 rompers (0-6 mths, suntec), the babybjorn from "my first years" (about 15% off).

my cousin is giving me her playpen! YAY!!! it's a pretty yellow.

i also order some socks and some rompers/dresses from G market.

my shopping motto is to buy only when i see the words sale/--% off.

hopefully GAP will go on sale soon. so CUTE!!

Happy Valentine's Day to All!!

Hi Jennie , Bless, pianojazzy, My Edd is on 20th June too…and I am expecting a princess. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to check if you all can feel baby movement already? I felt her nudge whenever I lie flat or when I am eating! Hehe…but its not regular..sometimes I feel her..sometimes I don’t….wonder if its normal. Read from the book that we do not have not count baby kick now yet….only after 28weeks. But can’t help wondering if bb is doing fine..especially when I don’t feel her kick for the whole day…………

Hi Victoria,

I also encounter same issue. I do feel it more at night than in the day. May not be very consistent in terms of timing. I was also worried and wonder if its my tummy too much cushion that I dont feel much. But I read from books that we have to wait till later stage dunno which no of wks before we need to start to take note of the timing bb kicks and observe the pattern daily.

found these, http://www.mummysreviews.com/2011/02/14/takashimaya-singapore-malaysia-baby-fair-2011/

1. Takashimaya Baby Fair 2011

* Dates: 9 to 28 March 2011

* Time: unavailable (last year’s fair: 10a.m. to 9.30p.m.)

* Venue: Takashimaya Singapore

2. Baby Care Festival 2011

* Dates: 18 to 20 March 2011

* Time: 11a.m. to 8p.m.

* Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6B

* Organiser: Mother & Baby Singapore

3. Baby Expo

* Dates: 22 to 24 Apr 2011

* Time: (Fri & Sat) 11a.m. to 9p.m., (Sun) 11a.m. to 8p.m.

* Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6A

* Organiser: Vivacious Media Pte Ltd

and to consolidate,

MOTHERCARE BABY FAIR

HARBOURFRONT

3-13 MARCH 2011

Motherhood Exh 2011

02 to 05 June 2011

Hall 6B Singapore Expo

Thurs to Sun

11.00am to 9.00pm

Free Admission

Altariel, maybe you can try to cut down or stop eating the snacks, cos preservatives might also aggrevate the rashes.

Hanis, take care ok.

Saw some of you brewing longan + red dates tea. Can share what are the benefits of drinking now?

Happy,

I think combi strollers are quite durable. I have used mine for over a year for my son, and over a year for putting groceries. No problem at all. Also tried putting my 2 yr old inside with heavy groceries hanging on the handle and in the small "basket" underneath. Now keeping it for my next child. But one thing to note is they have strollers with small wheels and another type with bigger wheels. I prefer bigger wheels cos I feel it can go over uneven flooring better.

morning mummies. wat a hot monday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

suzie. i love this list u gathered! so the 1st massive bb fair will be Taka ya. must get my voucher ready [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

visited my gynae last saturday. gained 4kg from 1 mth ago! argh.. and he said i need to do amnio cos i failed my triple blood test again (failed for #1 2 yrs back) . schedule is tmr, so will be resting at home from tmr - fri. any mummies noe any good movie website to view from iphone during my snug on bed?

went a 2 hrs walk at orc after my detail scan too. only bot a few facetowels from ausino for #2 since she can use her jiejie's stuff [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe will just get a pcs or two stuffs to brigthen up the exisiting stuff.

for buying stuff for bb. dont buy till over 12mths. as bb will hv their color / pattern preferrence when they start growing. like my #1, she start insist to wear those pink purple n blue stuff with big flow print etc when she is abt 1+ yrs old..

I having tummy ache [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Started off on Sat but not the serious type.. went toliet 3 time also not seriour type.

Than Sunday was okie nothing happen.

This morning whent toilet 1 time.. than since than got tummy discomfort.. Call the main clinic ask if see Gyne or GP... than nurse check say see Gyne better but they got no slot in main clinic so have to go night clinic tonight.

Hope my girl is okie inside... mummy suffer can baby cannot suffer...

Hi Suzie (suzieduck)

Thank you for the updates on the baby fair. I need these infor for big shopping time..hehe!!!

Hi Happy,

Ya lo..i also wonder if too much fats at my tummy tat i am insensitive to my baby kick. actually i dun feel kick..its actually like a nudge like feeling. Also realise she more active in the night than in the day. Hardly feel anything in day time at all.

What i read is only need to monitor kicks after 28weeks. 1 hr around 10 kicks as a guideline but depend on the activity level of our baby too. We have to keep track how many kicks our baby performed per hour and monitor from there. If there is a sudden drop of the activity level for the whole day then need to see gynae liao. wOW..can feel the STRESSS now man!

christy, no problem! my gynae also told me to cut down on carbo and take more meat for proteins and veggies.

chil, my gal havent start to select her dressing yet, so for now i'm spared but my older boy is starting to choose his own shirt and pant to wear le...

Victoria, i'm already feel the bb's movements every now and then esp if bb hungry or i'm lying down, didi will keep very hard and sometime he can do very big stunt, i can feel it so strongly!

Hi tsukushi (makino)

The red dates and longan drink is to give us inner strength and increase blood to our body. This is what i learnt from my TCM doctor, not neccessary must add longan..if you belongs to those easily heaty type...you can just boil red dates & black dates (hei zao) ratio maybe 8: 2

Cos longan is heaty.

Usually i will use my slow cooker to cook the drinks at night. Rinse red dates, black dates..then put into the slow cooker..add hot water. Next morning it will be ready and can bring to work to drink. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi JJ (marchbb) , It must be amazing to feel all the stunned didi is doing inside your tummy! Hehe..now everytime my girl nudge me..it send a smile and warm my heart!! Forget all troubles liao. I keep ask my girl to kick me more...but always didn't respond to me..haha..hubby always ask me dun be gun cheong..maybe girl girl is sleeping lo....Haiz...i am too anxious i guess. Hehe

Sigh had curry during cny took lg time to recvt, ydaymil cook sambal prawn sorethroat again gonna be days of bland food again . Anyone signing up jamu masg? got a buddy promo going on anyone wanna join together ?

Christy,not to worry ok?I m sure ur tummyache will go away soon.

mine also active.last night,I had to tell my bb to stop those stunts.I can see like a bump sticking out from my tummy,very hard kind,like his head or leg stretched out kind.He likes to do that especially at night.

Hihi June Mummies

i'm attending TMC Wong Boi Buoy's (can't rem the exact spelling) prenatal class in Mar. Booked in Dec (friends told me to quickly book if I want to attend her class). You don't hv to deliver in TMC but if u are, u will be entitled to some discount. You can call 62514090.

Just realised my gynae didn't tell me my baby's weight, gotta check with her when I go see her end of this mth :p

Will the Baby fairs be very worthwhile to grab those "big items" like strollers, cot/playpen, car seat? I am kinda worried of big crowds but still wanna shop. I managed to get some nb bb clothes yesterday as my hubby got those rompers from usa which my mum says not easy to wear for nb. So we get those drawstring, simple button white and prints top and pants. John Little having 20% off storewide yesterday.

I would like to know which binder would be good for post natal. I have seen the brand belly bandit at Mothercare, but I don´t know whether it is good. The price doesn´t come cheap, its $129.90

Any other recommendations from mummies?

Hi ladies i'm on leave today to rest since just recovered from fever.

I've signed up for Mdm Wong's lessons too some time back. The latest schedule (according to sms updates) are as follows:-

Lesson 1: 19/3

Lesson 2: 26/3

Lesson 3: 2/4

Lesson 4: 16/4

Lesson 5: 30/4

Every Sat, 2-4pm

Mass Talk at SCGS: 19/4 (Tue) 7-9pm.

Hi i also just signed up with Mdm Wong class eh..

also on 19/3 but is 7-9pm..total ard $260 for 5 lessons...

hehe

but i heard must come early to chop gd place..can accomodate 20 couples??

BHG Bugis 3rd level is all full with bb stuff eh..i think they do hv sale on and off..

then my colleague suggested robinsons at Centre Pt also gd place to shop for bb stuff...

clare> I think my slight tummy pain till my bb also can feel it.. she very active... wondering if she is okie or not. I think maybe the tummy ache cause my back to sore... a bit back ache.

Tonight go see dr... have a peace of mind... if last time I just dun care now w bb different... cannot see also what's going on in there.

Now still ok not pain already but I have a little itch "down there" during weekends I apply cream dr gave me last time... so let dr check as well... if got better or not.

Ting> BHG Bugis is good my mom got some top and bottoms too that before CNY. Robinson... not much le.. I just recently redeem citibank voucher and buy my Mustela cream... now Mustela in new packaging downside by 50ml but price still the same... so ex. Going to buy Mustela in the Expo BB Fair. Kiddy Palace & John Little also not bad compare to Robinson.

Romper Extender> Hmmm anyone know where to get Romper Extenders?? Last time BP got sell now dun have already.

@ jj: i've just sent request on FB for Jun 11 MTB. are all the member there from this forum? if yes, thks to the creator of that Group page!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my lil princess will get excited by listening to baby mozart..she'll move a lot and respons well to music! so nice huh the feeling... sumtimes when i feel her movement i'll smile to myself..even when i am on the train..ppl will think that i am crazy pregnant lady hahhaha

captain piglet: have you received the information package from TMC? the nurse mentioned, but i have yet to receive mine. I am taking up sunday class at AMK Hub

Thanks for sharing that some of you also gets rashes on yr tummy area. Although its not a good thing, but its comforting to know that I am not alone. I was actually using Palmer's cream while at oversea and so far had no problem. However when I went back to Singapore for my 2 weeks CNY holidays, I went to buy Palmer's lotion as I had forgotten to pack along the Palmer's cream and that was when my rashes started.

Thanks Clare, I am now using aloe vera gel on my rashes and it seems to help a little. By the way, when you uses the aloe vera gel on yr tummy, do you still use any other stretch mark cream/oil? I am getting worried as I have not been applying any stretch mark prevention cream on my tummy for the last 2 weeks due to the rashes and tummy seems to be fast expanding during this period!

So nice you mummies are getting together for a gathering! Would love to attend too but can't due to posting oversea.

Hanis, do take care!

Evvie,I use aloe vera as and when I feel itchy.

I m using Johnson's baby oil for the time being,as I have stopped the palmer's stretch marks cream.I might try Olive Oil soon,coz' I think thats the most natural thing there is.

I think as long as to keep skin moist n supple to support the stretch I think its fine bah..

Victoria,

Thanks for the detailed description of boiling the red date tea. If I want to add longan, how many should I add based on your recipe?

happy,

Actually I preferred rompers over the button/drawstring tops. I don't find it more difficult to use rompers, and baby's stomach is always covered. The only thing bad about romper is when you use a cloth diaper, cos you need to change the whole thing, unlike a top. With buttons, you need to make sure they are not loose enough for baby to yank off and swallow accidentally.

Clare, thanks. I had heard friends recommending olive oil too recommended by their gynaes.

Oh yes, Happy Valentine's Day Mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suzie so many thanks for the baby fairs update. it is so useful and i immediately recorded all of them down. i am still hoping for an okiedog bag sale in one of these fairs.

captain_piglet, looks like we are going for the same class! Also the 2-4 pm slot =)

Oh yes to digress abit, cos i rem we were talking about whether if it means we have to abstain from cheese during pregnancy, I wasoverjoy to find out not all cheese are not safe for pregnancy. (I am a cheese lover myself but i abstained very much from cheese after hearing that soft cheese is not safe for preg.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/nutrition/foodsafety/cheeseexpert/

Yay this means it is still safe to eat the stuff crust fortune pizza lol

Finally, Happy Valentine Day to all the mummies!

Oh regarding mrs wong's class, she used to sell us the towels used in the hospital. I got 1 and it's still very soft after using for near to 3 years. Not like some branded ones I bought from dept stores, now washed until quite stiff and rough already.

I have no stretch mark at my tummy but look like I got on breasts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Have to check with my gynae if it is a stretch mark or what (i'm not so sure too... cuz I get rashes pretty often due to sensitive skin) hopefully not stretch mark...

EDD shifting > no worries, cuz my scan print out also can see the EDD keep shifting because the machine will calculate according to the baby size. But my gynae said I can refer to the first scan EDD as a bench mark, nearer to the date he will monitor more often to determine the due date... Actually my gynae said if can deliver earlier will be better, the baby would not be so huge so easier to come out and less possible complication [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BTW Mothercare card > is it a physical card or just a PIN? If just a PIN can I share too?

happy > can attend at other place but usually there is a discount for mother who delivers on that particular hospital

hee ashley ^5 yeah calbee spicy chips are my fav too! after eating that i find that all the other brands and flavours like very tasteless..

by the way, my rashes not caused by using palmers.. i've been using pure olive oil on tummy so far and no issue.. my mum used that too and she didnt have a single stretch mark.. not sure whether its juz genetic though la

hanis> do take care and try not to worry too much!

gathering: suzieduck suggested pasta de waraku @ heeren right? anyone have an objection to that? is orchard central enuf for everyone? i tried calling to ask whether they have high chair but they didnt pick up. i'll try again tmr. by the way is it halal?

and vivocity has so many restaurants! i went website and check then see until my eyes crossed liao.. anyone know wats good there? help me narrow down leh. i dun often eat out so very lost

i realised raffles city's restaurants like all not very big leh.. i cannot imagine they can accomodate all of us and let us sit there and chit chat and not kick us out after a while haha.. we currently have 19 for the gathering if all the TBCs can make it

Altariel

Pianojazzy

Syrah

captain_piglet

leenmummy

Qiuen (TBC)

Bless

JJ(marchbb) (TBC)

Clare68 (TBC)

winniepooh (TBC)

chiladi (TBC)

Amtail

Hanis

Joyce

shymz

tulipslover

princess_christine

suzieduck

loneeagle1178

Hi everyone, thanks for all the well-wishes. Very tired now, just came back..

Today, my whole tummy and both breasts itch!!!! And I was extremely thirsty whole day. I drank a full bottle of 1.5l of water, 800 ml of soyabean, a cup of bubble tea, two cups of barley and more water! Dunno why, but really really thirsty..maybe it's the weather...

Anyway, gonna turn in soon...sooo many pple coming for gathering..my husband chuckled when he heard about it..hehe..

Nites!

Hi happy, loneeagle1178,

I just started Mdm Womg classes last month. Quite interesting i would say. Definitely informative and every class is usually full! I always go like 5-10mins earlier so i can 'chope' the back seat and lean. Heh. Shes quite funny and im only at my 2nd lesson but am enjoying the lessons. Hubbies are not left out because Mdm Wong will get hubbies to massage u, teach them techniques to help their partners thru labour pains, and at my last lesson, Mdm Wong made every daddy to be carry a 8kg sling bag complete with boobs and tummy so they will know how heavy we are carrying our baby! Lol. Alot of daddies were proclaming like, Wah! So heavy ah!

Can register at TMC level 6, lessons held at AMK hub on sundays. =) I think with the FBI card its 10% off, cant rem the price, hubby went to book. I think its $200+ for 6 lessons

Its very very full so must book early. My class has 26 couples so its like 52 pax! Imagine!

Morning everyone,

Matahari, I bought the Cinch tummy wrap to be used for post-natal. During confinement period, my massage lady will use a traditional cloth wrap for 15 days, then after that I will continue to wear my Cinch tummy wrap for 2 months.

The CInch is by Anew and you can view it here..http://www.byanew.com/post-preggo/cinch.html I bought the couture cinch. Someone was doing a spree in one of the other threads, so I placed my order with her too. So far, a lot of good reviews. My sis-in-law bought one from Avon, she says its good also.

About the preggie rashes, perhaps it could be due to the hot weather now? So far, I have no rashes, but my tummy is getting itchier by the day.

People say 2nd trimester you have the most energy, for me, now into 6mth, I have energy only max 3-4 hrs a day, then by then, I'll get sleepy, start dragging my feet and will doze off almost anywhere..is anyone feeling the same way?

Happy, I was wondering the same thing too. What items are strongly recommended to get during all the fairs? And which fairs give the best deals? Maybe the 2nd/3rd mummies can help? hehe...

Hi Ashley Belle,

Is the cost S$200+ per couple or for one person? I was hoping to attend the AMK hub class on Sunday. Will check it out soon. Thank you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Tsukushi,

Personally I also prefer rompers, designs are nicer and cuter but since my mum says the simple drawstring top is easier, I bought a few since it's v cheap(20% sale at JL). Guess I will only be more experienced after bb is born. Now only can listen to my mum and experienced mummies here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Went to see the gyne yesterday... and was told to look after my food in take cause I got tummyache problem (this is the 2nd time) dr was checking me if I am having contractions.. but not yet... cause he was concern after I explain how I feel the whole day of yesterday...

Also inform gyne on my itch "down there" gave me antibiotics and tablet to insert cause he say just apply cream this time round would not help. Also to advise me to trim the hair so it will be cleaner.. PS: trim my hair not long ago now have to trim again...

Claire> Mothercard just need to produce the card no. which is 5 digit and the card member's name.

Now I am looking for Spring card, just call the shop yesterday the lady say just give IC no & name will do. Or any of the following: IC no/Name/Tel no/Card no. Recomend to have 2 details to be provided.