(2011/06) June 2011

Good morning mummies.

Thanks to your votes on Cayla...looks likely that we'll call her that :). I like the meaning.

Have been thinking about the Chinese names too. But not easy. We chose single names for my first two, ie. surname + one more chinese word only. So now to think of another one is really challenging, looks like we have already exhausted the nicest ones on the first two, hahaha... my hubby's surname is Ye (Leaf, in chinese) that's why its very poetic to go along with just one more word. but sigh....tough tough. So nice, Altariel has gotten everything ready :)!

Morning everyone,

Thanks Clare68 for the heads up. I think I will ask my friends/colleagues to help me buy cos I scared the shopkeeper and I will be lost in translation! Although I did manage to communicate pretty well with my acupuncture lady(who is from China). Hehehe..

Wah, Cayla is such a pretty name! I also like! =)

As for me, we need to choose names that has a meaning in Arabic. Actually, can choose any fancy names in Malay, but with arabic meanings is better. Hubby is soo choosy. Every name I suggest he dun like. I like Yasmin (which means flower in arabic) but he dun like...=(

So sad, we both like Alisya, but turns out, it has no meaning in arabic.

Hehe..but I think we more of less settled on one that means (shining light/ a gentle cure, or sthg like that).

Vic> Thanks for the assurance cause I really going in my mind "to buy or not to buy first" but still as my plan will see which pump is suitable for me than I will KIV it. I also looking into medela or Avent philips single pump... I think I will die if I use the manual pump even my hub offer to help pmup for me.. hahah but I think where can hub stay w me for 24hr... so Single manual or elect I will see later... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Altáriël> I also leak le.. the dr advise me to go to the toliet as much as possible and do kegal but the kegal I not very hardworking to do it le.. cause its not those you go for class and all do together "like aerobics". Haha u dun know Hashima is from frog ah... LOL ok la I am still ok with it.. cause not that bad.. but if you say "tian ji porridge" frog leg porridge I really dun dare to take it.... give me a lot of $$ I also dun dare to take it.

You are fast even chinese name u have already. We decided to go with "Josephine Toh" very old school name wanted it to be "Faith Toh" but if Chinese pple (those older pple dun know english) will call my girl Faith = Fei aka Fat... hahah so sound funnie. Hub love the name Josephine cause very nice and I felt very girly... Its Origin from Hebrew meaning God will increase [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Chinese name I am putting my dad to take care cause he is a Geomancer (retired) ahahah.

Claire> I remember that my gyne told me that he do not charge us any fee for the cord blood process cause those pvt cordblood banking will pay the gyne to do it.

Hanis> red dates a bit heaty if I take so you try first if you wil get heaty or not... we are setting aside base cash S$5000 for delivery.. if can save more we will keep doing it.

qiuen> red dates tea.. you must take out the seed hor if not very heaty one.. than add rock suger.. thats the very basic one. some pple put pandan leaves and ginger into it. but of you put pandan leaves in it please remeber to just cook a while do not overboil it than take the pandan leave out asap.

hanis> i think Alisya is very nice! muz it really have meaning? if both u and hubby like it then maybe should juz go with it?

Christy, ya, doing kegal is very good. I will do it when I'm doing admin work in school, keeps me awake..

Red dates heaty? Ooo, didn't know that..Maybe shouldn't drink everyday...

Thanks Christy and Tigger for the tips on how much $$ to set aside. I think 5k is a nice estimate to set aside for delivery. Will let hubby know.

Altariel, ya! We like it a lot too! Very sweet and affectionate-sounding right? hehe...

I will ask my relatives on their opinion, because names have a religious connotation to them for us, and hubby is pretty cautious when it comes to religion. ALthough I do envy those lovely girl names that my friends give to their daughters! hehehe....

good morning mummies!

I went for my detailed scan yesterday and it's confirm we have a XX!. actually i was a bit disappointed when i saw the sonographer type the xx on the screen cos i've had people telling me i confirm sure is a boy, and DH and i have been pshycoing ourselves into raising a boy. (boy things not so cute mah). but after going into shock for an hour or 2 we got really excited. DH preferred a girl anyways. my mum also likes girls.

so to update, at 21.5 weeks:

mummy weighs 53.9KG (total weight gain about 5 kg so far)

Princess weighs 402.6g (above 50% percentile)

placenta is on the lower left side, near pubes. ob just say to rest more, as long as birth canal is not obstructed it's ok.

BB head always pressing on bladder that's why pee frequency very high.

Quien, please help me to update baby gender as girl.

morning mummies. sleepy me tis morning..

hanis, same as altariel, i like Alisya too. very unique and nice name [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

claire, my gynae didnt ask for additional charge for my #1 cord blood withdrawal. mine was for public cord blood bank.

vivienne, tough surname ya. my brother in law also had a hard time searching for my nieces name, cos his is Wu (sound like nothing)

christy, josephine is nice too. have a no. of frenz have the same name and they are really nice and sweet lady.

congrats Suzie for expecting a bb gal. u can start loading those cutie dress and accessories for her! was she well cooperate during the scan? looking fwd for my turn tis fri!

Suzie, had my ds yesterday too. 80% girl. Baby was sleeping initially so the whole scan takes about 15min only.

I am interested to donate cord blood, must Gynae if there is any extra charge or not.

Baby names

Was thinking of Kylie but Hb say wait his mum keep calling her curry.... Alternative is Gaea, any comments mummies?

Chil> Hahah I have a secondary classmate also call Josephine *she very pretty girl* I actual wanted those unique name but hub dun want... most name I suggested kana rejected by him... He like Hebrew names with good meaning.

Pianojazzy> My gyne suggest us to donate the cordblood to the public and he do it for free...

Clare- i hope my ger ger will be nice and peaceful also. yesterday at the scan she was so active, the sonographer took very long to get nice shots. she was sucking and swallowing, flexing her fingers, doing the twists. i think she did a 180 degree twist during the 15 mins. haha. we'r going to have a handful next time.

Chil- i plan to have 3 leh. haha, but my DH says scully this #1 will torture me until i give up my plans for any more. so see how lah.

Hi Vivienne! your EDD same as mine! currently we like Amelie and Linda. i also like Kelly a lot but one of my niece is called Kelly already. i think i will shortlist a few and then decide when she pops out so can see if it fits her personality.

Claire, i'm not very diligent lah. even my bro also keep reminding me to listen to mozart before i sleep. Hope you are feeling better. don't knock yourself down over small matters. sometimes when i stay at home for too long i will also get depressed. need to go out and see the world, have a good meal, window shop, get the DH to sayang me.

Shopping- yesterday i took the opportunity and went shopping for strollers. i told my DH it's his responsibility to research on them. so far we both like the Preg-perego 'Si'. nice and smooth wheels and not so heavy for me. DH really likes Phil n Teds, Quinny. all the sporty models but it's very heavy and the big wheels are cumbersome. since we're going to rely on public transport for some time i was afraid might not fit the elevators.

Swollen legs/feet, water retention. maybe can try constraint/flight socks. i wear them when i sleep, even before since i will retain water in my feet during PMS. i have Qtto ones and Ebene ones. if you stand a lot during the day I also suggest wearing the support hoisery. i notice a lot of nurses wear them.

i'm not sure about the place you work but my office supplies distilled water from those water dispensers. i've been bringing my own boiled water to drink. distilled water is bad for the body as it does not have any minerals in it and it will leach salts and minerals from your down body. it might make a difference in keeping water retention down.

leg cramps- actually when i was younger, my ballet teacher told me that leg cramps are due to lack of salts from your body, esp about hard workouts and you sweat a lot. i think during pregnancy the calf muscles get a lot of work out trying to support the body. my experience is that if i miss a day of walking around, the next day my thigh and calves will fatique much more easily. i always joke that my muscles are being digested to feed my bb. i've had calf cramps once when i woke up. my effort on bringing home water seems to have helped.

bird's nest- went around searching for info. best to eat during 2nd trimester to ensure baby smooth skin. once a week will do. but i think depending on how much you eat per session. do not take during third trimester as will cause phlem. so mummies, enjoy while you can LOL!

red dates are heaty but it's to make blood cells, like if you take iron supplements like that bah. my mum gave me some huge ones that she remove the seeds from. i just eat them like dried fruits.

suzie> congrats on a baby girl! geez all of u are so tiny.. gain 5 kg still 50 odd only.. im so jealous.. i never gain anything at all already 62. boo boo boo.

pianojazzy> the name Gaea looks nice and is unique.. but haha sorry, how do u pronounce it? would her teachers have difficulty knowing how to pronounce in future? maybe is juz me suaku dunno how to pronounce la.. Gay-er? Gah-er? G-er?

some mummies suggested have a gathering to meet up right? anyone onz?

Chil and pianojazzy, my girl was lying on her back with her limbs in the air. like a dog or cat! so cute!!! comfirm 100% girl, can see everything, not paiseh one. hahaha. the night before i ended up on my back like that also. so unglam. like mummy like daughter.

Altariel, pronounce as Gay-er. I think so too cos my sis and my hb cannot pronounce haha.

Suzie, they say cannot ay 100% [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so tell me only 80% confirm. They say for boys, they will say 90%. But anyway she already put XX there already. Hopefully dun give me a shock when delivery haha.

Yeah, let's have a meet up!

I think Gaea is a nice name. i'm partial to traditional solid names now, since a lot of fancy names with fancy spellings been cropping up frequently.

also worried that the older generation will butcher the pronounciation.

somemore my DH surname is Pay (Bai). my friend wanted me to name my future boi Bai Zhan Ji (steam chicken) *faints*, and i really like the name Karl, so will become Karl Pay *LOOOOL* ahem. so cruel if really a kid have this name.

Tigger, i have daily headaches too. also depends on whether i slept well or not. a bit of sun on the head will make it worse.

i'm really talking a lot today har. hee. still very excited from yesterday and going through all the posts.

pianojazzy, i think sometimes they dun dare put 100% in case got mistake. it's like liability then you can sue them.

she also nber say 100%, she just went, "you have a girl". was your scan clear? cos i can see the girly bit very clearly.

Yeah suzie, i'll confirm with gynae again next tues when i am having my next check-up.

Can see the 3 lines that confirm it's a girl but i think it is a norm for them to say it is 80% cos i read from a thread that one mum was expecting a girl, bought all the pink stuffs but turn out to be a boy.

But from the scan, i see the features, she looks more like my hb haha.

pianojazzy> wah u so fast can tell look like who from features liao!

frankly im a little freaked whenever i see the 3d scans.. especially at the earlier stages.. its like juz one mess of dunno wat >.< then doc was like, oh so pretty and smiley! Me and hubby was like, huh? where?

gathering:

altariel

pianojazzy

syrah

captain_piglet

leenmummy

Haha, my last scan when i bring the photo home, my sis say wah the back of the head so flat, the forehead so prutruding. So i see my hb, hmmmm look like him. Then when i go for ds yesterday, the lips quite thick and nose a bit high, my nose flat flat de. So look like my hb lor haha.

Mums.. like to check what I might have miss out on paper documantion during now till deliver:

pre admission forms for hospital (Done)

cord blood banking - pvt/public optional (to be done)

Pre-natal classes (Done)

No more right??

Pianojazzy ya hawker green bean soup ok unless ur glucose test no gd

Cord blood-I intend to donate,my son's also donated that time my gynae no charge I must this new gynae charge or nt.

Ya hear bird nest gd for 2nd trim 3rd shd stop. I got a box of bird nest anyone can teach me hw to cook?1 pc per tine or wat? Lau hang jia forgot he to spell birdnest jur point also have

qiuen> Hahaha 1mth ago I confirm with Mt A liao cause I afraid I forget or no space la later they ask me take up the Mt E I faint.. a bit far plus ex.

Cause I plan to buy bb stuff now till delivery so the paper work all I sort out first.. plus minus the days my hub not in town and minus weekday (working day dun really want to go out) so not a lot of time lor.

hey.. wah been a while i log on to this thread.. u gals have been thinking of wat to buy already! so fast! I think i m the laziest.. i haven got anything or thought of getting anything yet.. cos my sister in law will be passing down stuff to me.. so was thinking mayb i can save abit on that.

But jus curious, what does a new born (1st month) baby wear? haha i realise i got no slightest idea at all! like normal baby clothes seem too big for new born right?

N my detailed scan is next fri.. still soo long.. i cant wait to see baby again! heheh

N yes, do add me for the gathering! hehe! =)

gathering:

altariel

pianojazzy

syrah

captain_piglet

leenmummy

qiuen (TBC)

bless

have also updated in fb group page..

yes as u can see, i totally no mood to work at all so im spamming forum and fb haha

Bless> Hahah My mum buy the bb wear lor.. go shopping see got sale than pick up some set (all in white) and just in case come out different gender.

My mum buy M & L size most of the time cause she say NB will overgrown the S size and after wearing diaper the butt will be bigger a bit so take M size for the bottom as well.

All> Any mums know where I can get bb cot mattress?? Cause I have a hand me down BB cot w foam mattress but I think at least get a mattress cause I dun feel comfortable for bb to sleep in old mattress... dun know what other kid pee and poo (stain) there..

christy, bring along yr checkup bills when checkin too. i remember govern can refund max. $600 for our prenatal checkup. Bedsheet u can check kiddy palace/ those store like robinson, or aussino if yr mattress is common size. ikea cot bedsheet must go back there to buy.

gathering, i cant confirm my attendence. got to see my workload that period of time. cos on off need OT [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bless, newborn wear button / ribbon wrap ard clothes. if u wanna buy, u can get those 0-3mths. personally i prefer those bodysuit cos the fragile belly button wont expose much compare to 2 pcs. just make sure the clothes are not too thick as newborn dunno how to regulate their body temp like adult did. then a nappy / wrapper big cloth to snuggle them tight outside so they will feel secure like still in the womb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chil> Yes yes all my preggy documents all in a file liao I can just grab and go.. LOL

Oh I talking abt baby cot mattress le not bedsheet hahahaha u must be very bz when typing this out.

Chil> Oh okie.. will go see see.. I only say at Tom & Stefanie le.. Taka like no mattress.

Ermmm.. I remember is the following:

Medisave Claimable for Pre-natal: S$450

Medisave Claimable for Delivery Expenses: S$1650 (which is for normal delivery)

was searching for taka baby fair.. then got this BabyCare fair information instead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby Care Festival 2011

18 to 20 March 2011

Hall 6B Singapore Expo

Fri & Sat: 11am to 9pm

Sun: 11am to 8pm

Free Admission

Festival Highlights:

Mother & Baby Cover Baby Contest

Toddler Telematch

Baby Crawling Contest

Carnival-themed play area

Story-telling sessions

Exclusive Subscription offers

$15,000 worth of prizes and goodie bags to give away

Maternity Care & Baby Care Products & Services:

Sponsors include-->

BabySafe

Nestle

Citispa

OCBC Bank

Pampers

Philips Avent

Cordlife

Johnson's

Huggies

Mustela

*pampers n huggies are there! kekeke.. load diapers!!

Dear mummies.. Happy CNY! Been missing out a lot.. I usually don't check the forum, especially when I am not in Singapire now so I missed alot! Now my boyfriend is in the hospital preparing for his knee ligament surgery tomorrow so I am home with his parents, with all the time doing nothing.. Special thanks to Shereen for posting the outing on facebook! Otherwise I may not even know about it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am still quite lucky that I do not experience water retention yet.. and I don't usually go to the toilet in the middle of the night.. perhaps my water intake decreased now compared to before.. I usually only drink water during lunch and dinner.. definitely not enough..

The only problem I have is my neverending flu.. Now it's so bad that sometimes when I blow my nose, I bleed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and having some difficulties to breathe at times especially bedtime [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Then, I heard from my boyfriend's sister-in-law & cousin that they refrained from ham & salami during their pregnancies in fear of toxoplasma.. My doctor had told me before that I can eat anything so I have been indulging in salami & prosciutto for the past week! Now they are scaring me a little with their stories.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I have also been eating loads of soft cheeses.. then I read in a book of TMC that I should avoid soft cheeses [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Seems that I am doing everything wrong [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Wishing all mummies a great CNY and maybe I will bump into you during the baby fair at Expo! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Suzie,hahaha...Ur karl pay funny ah..Was telling my DH about it..

We really have to becareful with names.My DH's cousin,whose surname is Lan..had his name as Lan Qiao,which sound like LJ(the boy's private part in hokkien)lor,poor thing!He is in his 30s already and managed to change his name himself only a few years ago.Cant imagine what he has to go thru' in school.

In my sister's school,she had kids with names like Nokia and Ericsson!They are siblings n get laughed at in school even by parents..poor kids..

Altáriël ,thanks for the updates for both sites..

Chil,wah..Thanks for the info.Now,I will go check with my DH when I need to go back to taiwan from singapore,maybe can go for the fair..

I think especially with Asian doctors,they will not dare to tell you 100% bb's gender,especially boy.(unless really can see clearly)Imagine pinning 100% hopes that ur bb is boy,then come out girl.It will be a great disappointment because some grandparents will still want boy,especially in chinese traditional familes.

I got a medela swing single breast pump to let go off at 50% discount. Its bought in Jan '11 but I gave up on bf-ing, thus have no more use for it. Do PM me for details.

Christy yup new gynae is dr Douglas nt as fatherly as my dr nair but distance n $ matters #2 gonna b alot more spending aft deliver..I guess he's nt bad choice bah .

Mattress i buy babysafe brand frm kiddy palace many other pl hav it, latex w hole suppose to b better $100+ got another brand tink normal foam also got hole I saw at Tom n Stephanie

Medi bill - just to share I induce till emerg c sect two bed at mt e in 2009 was 10k pay abt 5k cash.my frd recent birth at mt e single bed schd c sect 10k.

Suzie, i love the peg perego Si also! I think most prob will get that one...

I'm in for the gathering..I posted on MTB FB also...I prefer weekday dinner cos more convenient.

Christy, you are right. Actually when you really think about it,n count the number of hours you have to prepare for baby stuff, you really don't have much time. Apart from work, need to rest and other commitments, time is going to go by very very fast!

Somemore, i have absolutely no mood to go out weekday when I know must get up to work the next morning.

eileen> eh i eat ham and cheese sandwich every other day wor.. wat kind of cheese is considered as soft cheese?

clare> omg lan qiao is so terrible! didnt his parents think it thru? dun even really need to think hard will know he sure kena made fun of lor.. and nokia and ericsson is also quite bad haha.. i saw before got parents decided to give their kid the english name 'Master', surname 'Huang' and purposely chinese name is 'Fei Hong'.. That's very evil also la.. Imagine having a name Master Huang Fei Hong.. sure kena laughed at lor! >.<

Hi Altariel, soft cheese includes brie.. and the MUST AVOID include blue cheese and gorgonzola due to the fermentation.. the bacteria might attack the baby.. I avoided gorgonzola but I ate lots of brie and other soft cheeses since I don't see the mould.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Oh and back to the bf topic, I intend to bf as long as possible.. if I can, 1 year [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] for sure latch on while I am at home and perhaps after 2 months, I have to use the pump.. saves money on milk powder and most importantly, good for the baby.. The baby's poo will not stink with bf.. once the baby consumes other food, that's when the poo begins to stink.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Altariel, more examples of soft cheeses to avoid: Brie, Camembert, Roquefort, Feta, Gorgonzola.. Hard cheese like cheddar is safe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chil> Oh got BabySafe & Mastela... but I very scard to see crowd la... once I see to much pple I U-turn back... always the case... I get panic easily.

Eileen> I just bought ham cause was wonder if really cannot eat or not.. and hub is preparing the ham and ask me how to prepare w my breakfast... I still not very sure I can really eat ham until I tell my hub to google abt it very true we cannot eat ham... so my hub will eat all the ham :p

As for cheeze.. I cannot take dairy mah... only those normal slice cheese like kraft or NTUC brand lor..

createjoy> as long as you are happy with ur new gyne... let the gyne do the job and u pay [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I also want to buy babysafe mattress but have not seen it yet..

Hanis> This week going to Robinson to take a look cause since hub is in town... if not he travel again I think my tummy too big by than I very lazy liao..

Ham, sausages, luncheon meat all cannot.

But i also eat a bit la. V hard not to eat ham.

Oh caesar salad dressing amd mayo also cannot.

But really hard to avoid. Once in a while should be ok.