(2011/06) June 2011

hi mtb

i also downloaded bb stories but husband say he read for bb cuz my english no gd..haa..ltr bb dun understand..the music wise, i anyhow tune in to those onli gt music tune FN channels.. FM96.3..haa

BTW during the ds, is it a must to have the glucose drink?? during my ds, my gynae nv let me drink anything leh..bt my coll have..so im curious

clare. tis is #2 lar.. no plan for #3. else will be axe 3 times by the same gynae, then better install a zipper liao. keke.. speaking faster if hv sibling i believe too. but also depend on the raising environment, my #1 hv lots of ppl talking to her at nanny side, so her lang skill not bad as #1. or mayb cos she is gal, they say gal talk faster *kaypo maybe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb's sleeping pattern - bb tends to sleep in the day as we are walking & moving around, the motions will rock them to sleep. Then in the night when the rocking stops, bb will wake up... We are the human yao lan now. Haha

Chil,oops..sorry.thought this is your #3..

yah,I do believe that girls do tend to start talking alot faster than boys. ^-^

Happy Rabbit Year!

Eleen I agree with you, i read up somewhere that babies are active and awake esp when we are stationary and not moving around.

I wonder if baby rabbit in the tummy sense that it is the rabbit year, he is actually getting more and more active. Kind of worries me that as the intensity of the kick increases, I might eventually feel painful instead of being excited.

Anyway thanks for all the sharing with the diaper bags! Recently I saw this Okiedog bag selling at mums and babe and I am particularly attracted to this Equinox Chameloen Design.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00303FE28/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=103612307&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B00303FE0A&pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_r=18G8X99A296K0HET307K

Am hoping to wait til some baby fair comes along to see if there are any discount for the bag. I wish they actually have a blue version for the chameleon bag but sadly they dun. The blue version only comes for other equinox bag design.

http://www.okiedog.com/product/index.php

Hanis, how about " You know you are pregnant when your 4 limps looks extra slim by the side of your proonouce tummy"

Mummies, TANGS having its Annual Sale Closed Door Preview: 12% rebate storewide on 10 Feb

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

christine, the iaper bag print look cool.

yes! e'leen, citibank holder entite for the rebate too! btw, saw their brochure hv a $98 allehand's diaper bag [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] gonna popby take alot after my detail scan! keke

I just finish my detailed scan.... everything is normal! bb weight now is 311g. bb was extremely active during the scan... I told the doc jokingly I can forsee many sleepness nites to come hahahaha

rata> wah why u so suay always miss out on the bonus! hope the scheme will be finalised during the upcoming budget review instead of waiting until national day rally to be revealed! or even if aug then reveal details, maybe they can backdate til 1 jun then we can still benefit!

did u try to appeal previously when u missed out?

on another note, im starting to waddle when i walk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] now i understand why fatter people always waddle when they walk! way easier to balance lol!

Chil. My ds is this fri too. Can't wait

In straits time forum, a mum wrote on finland's maternity package and it's really terrific! Sg should learn from them. 8 mths paid leave! And company to keep her job for 3 years.

Had a sinful day. A large koi bubble tea, which BB seems to enjoy cos cant stop kicking/punching. Then kfc for dinner. Burp*

Altariel, cannot coz they initially onli implement it on national day rally then coz many people make noise they back date till 16 aug if ur bb edd is after 16 aug but pop early u can apply to get it but mine was 1st aug!!!!!!

Qiuen,yah..even my husband gets max 2years of child care leave before kid turns 3years old and out of 2years,6mths are paid lor..

Wish we can have such benefits...

haha..ur bb likes bubble tea.. "p

Hi all mummies.. I m new here and will also b having my ds this Friday.. Starting to feel light kicks nowadays when I m stationary.

Edd 25june11

Gynae dr Adrian tan

Hospital Tmc

It's a boy!

AltAriel, cannot coz hor a letter indicating my

Edd date is submitted to the coy to indicate I was preg la.

I am new in this thread, though I ahve been a 'silent' reader ever since I am preggy with #3. Its a girl and due on 16 June.

Just wanna share that it has been uplifting just reading all your posts. As a #3 bb mummy, i'm kind of not-so-excited about thr buying and shopping cos got many two more kids at home to take care of, housework to be done, etc etc etc. So reading your posts has been fun. Most of my stuff are hand-me-downs.

SO far I have only bought a second hand medela PISA. and dear mummies, its really important to pump even if you latch and feed baby your breast milk exclusively cos the breasts need to be emptied of the milk, else there is risk of infection.

So far I have put on 2.5 kg but its rising at a startling rate, haha due to all the CNY goodies!!! I'm 21 weeks now and my baby is around 340g :). My other two kids are 7 (boy) and 17 months (girls). Hope to connect more with you if I get a chance on the computer (which sadly is not often, cos I hardly have any me-time; but I really don't mind either cos I really enjoy being around my kids and doing things with them and for them)

EDD: 16 June 2011

Gynae: Dr Kek Lee Phin

Hosp: Mt E

May all your preggy journeys be filled with love and joy :).

by the way, i a starting to think about names for my girl. What options have you all come up with? I toying between Ariel (means peace) and Cayla (pure), but still not quite it leh...do share with me your ideas k?

thanks a mil!!!

actually we may still get the benefit e.g. housing - but my personal opinion, e maternity leave for 4 months most employer already cannot stomach, if they are going to extend it I worried that most company would not want to hire married women in child bearing age [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] even the government pay for the salary during the leave, the employer still need to find replacement that might not be easy or cheap. This maternity leave actually is a double-edged sword. Even during the interview, I remember most will asked if I'm planning to have children.

My wish list actually is more to how to cope with the baby after the baby is born. E.g. for family with baby, perhaps can waive the maid levy? Or maybe discounted COE? :p Apart from the government, the society should be more supportive also. E.g. letting employee to work from home

The problem is government only giving incentive / reward for bearing a child but not addressing most of our issues. They have to understand why we do not want to have kids. More often than not, high cost of living, lost of career opportunity (for some, even lost for job), lack of support from the community, job insecurity, etc.

suzie > yeah i did tell him but I dont want him to be so worried already

Actually I really admire mum here who diligently listen to mozart lol i really bo bian only listening to those music I like. I guess cuz when I was young was forced to play classical piano so a bit sian if I were to listen to it again lol

I'm new to this thread too. Being a first time mummy, I feel so excited and lost at the same time. Now busy looking for CL, feeling stress!

Vivienne: My gynae is Dr Kek too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

EDD: 9 June 2011

Gynae: Dr Kek Lee Phin

Hosp: Mt E

Dr Kek delivered all the babies fr my auntie's family heh! ;)

Haiz I'm v sian now cos Hubby gg for 3-wk reservist starting tmr! Sigh..nobody to fetch me home fr work n nobody to make warm drink, read stories to bb n massage me at night. I can do tt all by myself but I guess all pregnant ladies love to be pampered?

Btw there's a baby fair fr 18-20 March at Expo..n Taka fair will also be in March. Planning to get my stuff then! Too bad all my close friends either have just given birth last yr or not pregnant yet..so no hands me down for big ticket items like stroller, car seat n cot etc sigh..else I really don't mind!

Somebody suggested organizing a gathering for the June Mummies..I would love to join in if there's one! ;)

Take care all..n rem to eat nutritiously n get plenty of rest!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Been feeling really tired nowadays...especially in the morning. I get exhausted just getting ready for work. Sometimes, I doze off in the midst of typing into the laptop! How do some of you shake off the lethargy? I feel fine once the morning is almost over, like 10 plus am.

Suzie and Christine, nice one! On the hindsight, my favourite pastime is now looking at my huge belly. Haha..It's nice to see her kicking and my tummy making tiny waves.

Actually, I have not really paid attention to her movement patterns, so not sure when she is most active. But E'leen is probably right when she says that our movements whilst walking rocks them to sleep!

I guess, when I'm resting, its when she moves the most, but she also kicks while I am teaching! Haha..

I feel quite blessed that my baby room is filled with stuff given by people! Most hand-me-down clothes..Captain piglet, I also can't wait for March for the baby fair and Taka fair. My aunt also said that Harbourfront Mothercare is quite big (dunno if it is wholesale) but gonna go there when we're not so busy.

Welcome to all new mummies! Yawn, now have to prepare for lessons...Have a great day!

How is the long CNY holiday for all the mums [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmmm I tried to cut down on my carbo cause my weight have increase for the last gyne check up is 2kgs, bb is 270g during 19 weeks 6 days old... dr ask me to go slow :p Frankly speaking its difficult cause hungry la..

Oh I dun know that even we latch and feed baby directly fm our breast still need to express to empty the breast de... cause I was thinking just latch and feed as much as possible *plus not a big CC breast* and also plan to give BM during the 3 mths ML + office not very friendly for BF mums.

Right after the CNY "starting from the eve of CNY 11.45pm" my girl have been moving and shifting around in my tummy in the middle of the night... now I weak up easily in the night and have a cup of milo @.@" and I notice that when I move eg. walking or doing stuff she will be quiet... only when I sit down relexing and sleeping she move...

I will be going for my DS only in next appt on 25 Feb at MT E the main clinic is located by than will be 23weeks 2day old [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] everytime feel happy to see my baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi good morning!

I m oso feeling very sleepy these few days.. wonder is it due to sleeping late for the past few days anot..

Hanis, i guess drinking chicken essence will help to perk u up.. can try ;p

and for ur Avent pump that comes with warranty, is by the manufacturer?

Altariel, ya lor. for a diaper bag that cost abt $30 is not ex lah.. so tempting to buy. haha.. if u come across the backpack type, do let me noe.. heehee.. thanks!

These few days i dun feel very much of baby's kicks leh... kind of worried! and my fingers and feet very swollen.. guess i have a serious case of water retention liao. i had been drinking alot of water. hopefully will be better. i cant wear my usual watch liao and wearing my shoes always leaves a mark on my feet now. every morning waking up with aching legs. anyone have the same syptom as me??

does water rention goes off after birth?

HI Junez...really? Drinking chicken essence? Ok, will try. Usually, before preggie, a cup or two of strong coffee does it for me. But I quit cold turkey, so i guess feeling the after-effects..now must stick to milo or those cereal drinks...worse, they lull me to sleep! LOL!

Want to ask, what kind of birds nest brand is good? My mum ask me to buy the one with cordyceps but soo many brands, I also blur! How often should I consume also? Must heat up? At home, mum and I dunno how to cook birds nest! Need help!

Actually, I am not sure about the warranty part, I will check it out and let you know?

Oh ya, for water retention, drink at least 1.5l to 2l of water EVERYDAY! Pee nvm, but at least will combat/minimise the water retention...so far, mine not so bad..still look normal. Maybe you can try propping up your legs in bed more often when you rest?

am at 23 weeks now. Next week will be 24 weeks. Gonna see my bb girl next Wed!

morning mummies. and welcome new mummies!

i start feeling baby hiccups too. is a rythmic movement that last quite awhile compare to the normal kicks. it happen after a meal or sth.. do u gals feel it too?

regards breast size n the amt of milk can pump out. it all depend on the milk flow of yrself, i hv small breast frenz who can pump out 260ml per side after 15mins pumping!

face look slim after birth. for c-sec is vice versa, you will be puff up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Mobsie,

Hey, same gynae, our EDD is only a week apart but we may end up delivering the same time :) My babies always come out early, haha!

When's your next appointment with her at Mt e? She's so good right? :) I always look forward to seeing her. Mine is 3 March at 11.30am.

For water retention, prenatal masaage can help a great deal!

Good Morning Mummies!

Welcome new mummies ^-^

Hanis,read somewhere in my preggie guide book,its good for us to take a nap(1/2hr will be enough) but I guess u can't really take naps in the staff room."p

Junez,me too!I get very bad water retention.My difference in weight before bedtime and in the morning can go up to 1.5kg!so I guess its water retention.Now I carry a water bottle around the house to make myself drink lots of water.

Christy,know how u feel.How not to eat when u feel hungry?!?!luckily my gyne never tell me to go slow so far lah,but I know that I have gained too much,so I have tried to have an early light dinner n no supper which so difficult coz' I m staving during bedtime..haiz.

junez, try cutting down on your salt intake, if you have been drinking enough water then your water retention might be caused by salt...

hanis, its international warranty by manufacturer.

chicken essence - I've been drinking chicken essence everyday & bottled bird nest every other day. i started the routine when i was preggy with #1, the essence helps in mummy's & bb's overall health & bb is likely to develop stronger lungs (less coughs & respiration problems) if mummy take bird nest during preggy...

Hanis> Yes you can take Chicken Essences I took it during th first trimester cause very tired. If can take the Brands one more pure no herbs. I took it everyday. Now stop already cause no so tired mah.

Chil> Oh can pump so many BM ah.. haha cause I read the BF book they say smaller breast supply lesser than feed is more la.. cause the breast (cup size) is smaller. Like that the most I buy manual pump lor cause going to use few mths only... but how to know which pump suit out breast le?? I intend to get the Avent Bottles for the bb.

Hanis,can get ur mummy to buy white fungus instead of bird nest.There are 2 types,more whitish n more yellowish kind,sold in those medical shops.Buy those more yellowish onces.Soak them awhile,then throw them into a hot water to boil with sliced apples.Add red dates n wolfberries(optional).

I have heard that white fungus is better than bird nest and cheaper too.

My friends also recommended to take more vit C,if having a girl,like that gal gal will have better and fairer skin.(don't know whether its true anot)

very sad im allergic to birds nest.. it makes me cough like nuts if i take it.. been like that since young.. no 'fu qi' to drink birds nest haha!

eh i suddenly realise i drink abt 1 litre of water per day only.. cos my bottle that i drink at work is abt 600ml then at home drink a bit here and there.. so abt 1 litre only.. eeps so little! no wonder i dun get up to pee at night.. but no water retention so far leh.. heng ar!

last night dreamt that the diamond on my solitaire ring disappeared.. haha woke up in a panic to try to find.. weird

Clare> Hungry must eat la cannot dun eat later very pek chek one.. plus the bb move and move all the time when hungry.. for my case. Me also lor sleep a bit baby move move than I wake up and drink milo... after drink milo will stop than she allow me to sleep for abt 4 to 5 hours than move again :S

Alteriel> Can u take Hashima? cause i take it 2 time already... birdnest also 2 times.. I mix mix eat lor.. But the eu yan sang website say we cannot take Hashima le... I dun know how true.

i heard we cannot eat too much bird nest otherwise when bb is born, he/she will have a lot of phlegm cos bird nest is quite sweet.

i usually take bottled bird nest eg. eu yan sang cos i dont know how to cook bird nest and worst, dont know how to choose the good bird nest.. :p

Hanis, yes.. Same with Christy, i drank chicken essence in first trimester cos was too tired, but now din drank, cos i oso lazy to dig out and drink.. haha..

For birdnest, i never take, cos i oso dunnoe how to buy and brew it myself. i tink at most i only drink bottled ones. ;p

had been propping my legs when sleeping since 2nd trimester. but funny lor, my right foot is more obviously swollen than left. i guess becos it had slipping off the pillow when i sleep lor. so only one side affected. LOL!! i m in week 22 now.

Clare, i try to make myself drink at least 1.5l of water in office. My colleague told me not to drink too much water before going to sleep as well. still dun have the urge to wake up and pee in the middle of the nite.

E'leen, how to control salt intake? most of the time had been eating outside leh. seldom cook, so i find it hard if wan control the salt intake.

Sigh my whole family coughing. Evyday my son nt slpg well wk up evy hr n I myself also cough can't slp well surviving on 4hr of disturb slp mk me stone at work. Worse thing is wn I cough I must ctrl my bladder,if nt I will leak.but wn u wanna slp u just wanna relax suddenly cough Urgghhh I keep going toilet to empty bladder hoping it be empty enough wn I cough.biang last night I went toilet evy 15min to 45min from 10+ to 1

I wish govt giv more childcare subsidy n more bb bonus aiyoh are we really gonna miss the boat? So sad!I hope they implement in June! But alas if we deliver early in late may also no use!

I also having ds this fri so looking forward to it...scary leh nw already feb v soon will be apr then may sm of us will Pop early n late may aiyoh like fast forward very fast.last time wn I nt wking expecting my son seems ages I got time to enjoy the preg maybe now is work + got son to tend become time pass too fast .my hb n I feel abit guilty nt appreciating n enjoying this preg as much.he used to kiss my belly few times a day,talk to bb nw this one sometime nvr kiss or talk for days even talk also just a sentence.I wish he will pay more attn to her but we all v busy.I guess only I can be excited wn she kick me.but at least so far he went all checkup with me lah..

Back from detail scan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I took bird nest everyday or every other day. But about 4 teaspoon a day. Boiled one, not those from eu ren sheng kind.

I am also v sleepy everyday but dun sleep well at night. Yawnzzzzzzz

Yesterday when i woke up, my fingers on my right hand was swollen, i cant remove my ring and i forced it out! And i was wondering how come i cant wear my shoes anymore - can wear but not comfortable. So it is water retention. Haiz, i dun really drink a lot of water but woke up at least 2-3 times every nite to pee liao. Means i need to drink more?

I wake up every night to go to the toilet too. If I'm lucky, only once. Sometimes twice, on terrible nights, thrice even.

Woke up this morning with a terrible pain in the back of the calves. Usually the pain will subside after half an hour or so. This time round, the pain is still around after an entire morning. Notice that my feet is slightly swollen too.

Propping my feet up during sleep doesn't work. In fact, I noticed the pain shot up my calves after a prolonged session of feet propping. Sheesh, cannot tahan this!

I been a silent reader quite sometime already.

EDD: 01 June 2011

Gynae: Prof Kang Wee

Hosp: KKH

christy, my mum dun let me take hashima, said its no good, but i forgot why...

junez, ehh... avoid adding soy sauce or salt... i request mac fries without salt... if too much salt, you will have more cramps (legs & hands) too...

hi mtb

just woke up from my nap..haa..my company can rest till 2pm..bt nw still sleepy..

i also swollen everywhere le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my palms very swollen last week..bt nw quite ok le..swollen till my husband told me quite difficult to hold hands..

swollen is it reali due to high salt intake ??

Eleen> just google and some pple say that hashima is liang or cooling...

I anything also eat la.. even watermelon also take.. but in once in a bluemoon type..

Joyce> Preserved Salty food will normally cause cramps.... just a few eg. salty eggs, salty veg, salty fish.