(2011/06) June 2011

Good morning and a Merry Xmas!

Chil thanks for your xmas wishing, I really hope my ms will be gone off soon. Was still vomiting very badly last night despite i hardly ate anything for dinner.

I hope the ms will be over soon as i am kind of worried that now i m coming to the end of week 17, I started not gaining any weight after I gain like 3.2 kg for the 1st trimester. I am so worried it might be bad for the baby. Is this consider acceptable?

Merry Christmas to all mummies... Enjoy this festival season with yr loves ones ;D

Christine,

Hope yr Ms will b better soon.. I think it's ok for the weight cos u hv no appetite.. My colleague told me she start to gain weight after week 20 during her preg. But if u hv any concern, u can ask yr gyane [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Christine, dun have to b concern abt no weight gain if your bb is developing well. Absorbing the necessary nutrients is more impt than putting on weight for now. Try to drink more so that your body has the nutrient that bb needs.

Morning Mummies!

Thank you so much for all your advise!Will take into consideration about time to wash etc etc.

Have a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Hi MTB, a Blessed Christmas to you! Just like to share with you that I am in the midst of my confinement. This is my first confinement and I am glad I have got a good and experienced confinement lady to help me during this period. If you are considering to get a confinement lady, perhaps you can consider this lady who is currently helping me.

She is an Indonesian Chinese who is on long term social pass. She charges $1900 and requires a $200 as deposit. When I first met with her in October before my delivery, she told me a list of things to buy. I appreciate it as I am able to prepare the things before the arrival of my baby, including fresh herbs from a Medical Shop at Rocher Road at a good price.

During the confinement, I find her hygienic when handling the baby. She helps me with breastfeeding the baby by suggesting certain comfortable suggestions and also advises on storage of excess milk.

She is prompt in washing the laundry for me, my hubby and baby. She is on time in terms of cooking for me, refilling tea for me and boiling water for me to bath.

She is friendly and takes instructions well. If you like, you may reach her Auntie Poh at 93532097

Good Morning Mummies!

Happy Boxing Day! I am definetely going to be home to rest from all the parties over the last 2 days and to start packing up!!! :D

Christine : No worries! I put on only 0.3 kg during my last check, but when the gynae did a check for me, the baby was growing well and at an acceptable weight! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi jay mummy, eileen and chin ling,

thanks for the assurance and advice. Even though my ms has never recover but it is assuring to know that we dont need a significant numerical weight gain to know that the baby is growing healthily = )

Morning Mums [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Did a few stuff during Xmas LOL. Went to cut my hair and did hair treatment (no coloring thou :p)

Sign up for the http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/pregnancy/view_events.asp anyone going too?

Yesterday had a wonderful early lunch LOL hand my peking duck + noodle, goose liver & birdnest Mwahaha and my dad paid for it.

Do anyone of you mums do not have a maid, do not intend to get CL after your delivery? On normal day eg (morning till evening time only got help around) at night no help at all is it manageable?

THis yr's not a gd Xmas for me.. down with stomach flu on xmas day, vomited v badly like 6 times in day.. haiz.. was so worried that it will affect the bb=(( I think i lost a bit of weight from all this.. tummy like shrunk=(

Christy, I think I will get a CL, cos first bb, confirm alot of things to learn. I scared I cant and dunno how to cope. btw, had u gals started looking for CL? I think gotta be fast le.. I called a few.. all are taken up le..

Bless> Better to see a dr if you not feeling well. The other time I also tummy ache I tahan for 3 days.. than I visit my gyne told the nurse my 3 days tummy ache problem she say next time not well go see dr cause bb still small.

I want to get CL hor but my hb he not willing to (i think is $$ issue he not willing to part or to ex) I dun want his mum to help cause she have some problem like (eg) sometimes feel fainting, breathless, got high blood pressure (and they must have good night sleep) and her legs not good my MIL already told me she cannot bath bb cause got to bend down.

I was thinking to get my mom to stay with me.. I told her already but not sure if she 100% got confirm or not cause she did not say anything. My mum is much better position in handling bb cause she much healthy and still drive around w my dad car. I told her I rather give her the $$ for CL than give to CL if my hub dun want to get CL. Plus my hub dun like stranger staying in our house.

yah, i went to see doc on xmas day.. late at nite cos really cannot tahan n m v sure it's not morning sickness.. it's worse than morning sickness!!

I see, then u better confirm with ur mum fast. For me, My MIL never mentioned helping us till now. My mum was the one who encouraged us to get a CL cos she wans me to be fully taken care of. N i will be v tiring esp at nite.. so CL would be gd. But it will be even better if ur mum can help!=)

Btw is ur gynae douglas ong aso? did he do any blood test on ur hubby ah? cos he didnt for my hubby but my frens were telling me some of their gynaes will check on their hubbies' health too..l so i dunno if Dr Ong's checks are sufficient and complete.

Bless> Ya lor tonight I gonna ask my mom again tell her have to confirm with me 100% if not no CL liao.

Yap my gyne is also Douglas Ong too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] He only did blood test on me. Your friend's gyne check on their hub's health also is that before or after preggy? I know b4 preggie some gyne did check on the hub if they healthy or not.

Hahah Hmm hard to say we deliver the same date and your room just next to mine :p Is this your #1?

When is your next appt? Mine is in 10 Jan 2011

Bless, you can go after work mah... I go to the night clinic at Bukit Timah.

Or are you working shift?

Notice you also delivering at the Mt A have you inform the clinic to book for you? I will do so next appt and am going for sign up the Mt A pre-natal class.

Hi mummies, xmas so so for me. had a family gathering & sis hse n my son 19mth old fell dwn from tricycle 10sec a big bump... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] put ice pack then rub hot egg & zambak, the next day no bump luckily just bruise and a sm cut. silly papa was holding on to him think he shd have freedom so just std behind clsly thinking he will only fell backward but he fell forward. Man are so careless! sigh he not even tall enough, leg not touching flr or pedal, hanging in the air of cos is hold him mah no common sense..

Sigh i still deciding whether to switch gynae think MT A 4 bedded definitely cheaper than MT E 2 bedded..

Bless, my gynae do blood test for hb in case he & i both are thalassemia & HIV test.

Hello MTBs!

Just to share my tots on CL. I feel it is very important becos we have to rest well during the confinement period. If we are getting our MIL or mom to take care, we dun expect them to take care of the bb overnight as they may be old already, so we have to take care ourselves and it is very tiring for the mommy. I feel this kind of money worth spending as CL will really take good care of the mommy and bb. If mommies are not taken care properly during confinement period, next time we will suffer! Also, i have heard so much negative feedback from my gfs who did not engage CL during confinement period makes me even more determine to get a CL.

My due date in on 27 June 2011 and i have already engage a CL through an agency. You can check out their website http://www.i-kare.com.sg/ or contact May at 9299 6331. This was recommended by one of the sistas in the forum who had a wonderful experience with them.

Good luck to those who are looking for a CL!

need your vote

can please go to this link and clike like for my son #42 Elio , Pay Yao Xuan

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/photo.php?fbid=471264306875&set=a.471153326875.253307.93786061875

Please join the fan page of today motherhood

thanks u

oso add me at facebook :[email protected]

please drop mi msg so that i know who are you

thanks a million [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Christy, I went to the Mount E clinic le.. btw i dun work on shifts, but I tend to work long hrs.. so by the time I knock off, I guess the clinic is closed le. N ya, I also intend to ask Dr Ong on the delivery place on my next visit..hope we wont have the problem of no vacancy hehe

hi createjoy, i guess men are generally less meticulous compare to women. but it's a good thing cos it highlights that greatness of a mummy lol

elio mummy, just voted and i hope ur son wins =)

Bless, The night clinic if I not mistaken it close at 9.30pm or 9pm. Dun know if the timing suit u or not and they are also open on Sat too till 2.30pm.

Went for scan yesterday. Bb so cute! When the gynae switched on the doppler to hear the heartbeat, bb almost immediately brought the hands up to the ears and covered them!!! Gynae immediately switched it off and said bb dun like...We all had a good laugh...!

Still not sure yet if it is a girl, we saw no line or penis in between the buttocks during the scan, but gynae does not want to confirm. Oh well, wait till detailed scan in jan. I'm 16 weeks now..

For all those who scanned and found out you are having baby boys, will the penis be very visible in a normal scan? I'm so anxious to find out..hehe...

Christy, I am also interested in the First Mum's and Dad's congress in Jan. Thanks for the link...Will let hubby know and I think I will sign up for both of us..

Anyone is decorating a nursery? I just had my extra room painted sky blue, if boy can leave it as it is, if girl can always buy pink curtains..I only bought a nice rocking chair to bf bb from Ikea..quite cheap, $99.

morning mummies. i think i got my gal virus, been running nose + sore throat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

createjoy, i hope your ah boi bruise fade off soon. my gal kena a bump on her cheek after slammed on the wall after bath on xmas day too.

eliomummy,just "liked" yr son picture, hope he can win the contest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but fail to add you into my facebook. maybe you pm me later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hanis & christy, 16 wks still got hope. last time my gal was incoorperative, always show her butt when scan. end up we only find out her gender at 20 wks details scan, that is after atleast 5 heavy shake of my tummy somemore! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

have a great start this week, mummies!

Christy.....bb closed 'em legs!! The only view we could see was a view of her buttocks, hubby say clearly no penis so prolly girl, but gynae not sure..Aaarrgh! nvm, must be patient..hahaha...

How many weeks are you at now? I totally understand how anxious you feel!

Hi Chil, i think the virus has been around. I was down last week for one full week and now my hubby got it from me. You must take care and drink more water and eat more fruits!

Im going for my detailed scan on week 22, 2 more weeks later. Any thing to look out for or anything to ask the sonographer? Sorry ah, first time mummy here.. *bluR*

thanks 2ww. last time my detail scan i just make sure we saw 10 fingers, 10 toes, face feature correct those.. if u dunno the gender yet, also can ask them. u can also confirm w them regards whether the bb look like DS or not.. the rest the sonographer will highlight if he/ she spot anything diff. some sonographer prefer to scan n grab everything then show u the images, some can show u while taking. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] have fun ya!!

Chil,oh no..try gargle with salt water more often.Hope u'll get well soon..

I haven't got the chance to do detailed scan...wish I could have counted the fingers n toes n see the facial features at the last visit,.have to wait lor...

Hanis,during my 12 n 16 weeks scans.both gynes showed us two big white dots(they say its buttocks) n there is a smaller white dot inbetween(which they say should be the birdie.70%..most prob)..the scan was done from the bottom up..

then @ 12weeks,my gyne managed to scan between the legs n see like one thingy there..

my recent 16weeks scan,only manage to see the white dot inbetween the buttocks,coz my bb not co-operative leh..

so I guess u also have to wait for the next visit like me..when is ur next visit?

hanis> Tomorrow I am 15 weeks and my next appt is on the 10 Jan which by than am in end 16 Weeks.

Cause now I talk to bb is like dun know girl or boy.... sometime think is girl and sometime talk to bb like boy...

clare > Sigh.. not sure now if apr taiwan trip will be cancelled. mom keep asking me not to go. she says dunno what will happen with a big tummy..

Hi Chil, Thanks for the heads up. Actually I am quite excited about this detailed scan. I was told to go TMC earlier to do a "day tour".

I am contemplating whether to give brith in TMC or Mount A. But my gynae told me that the nurses in TMC are more experience and they will teach me how to push. However most of the nurse in Mount A are not that experience and might have to have a C-sect if I dunno how to push. In term of the cost, he told me that TMC is more expensive.

So do you all think I should deliver at TMC as I would like to try for natural birth?

Hi chil thanks u for clicking like for my son [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hehe hope he will win Heheh

U can add mi at [email protected]

Can try again

2ww I agree with Rat tat mount A is good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ww, i'm surprise yr gynae comment that. cos my 2 sisters managed to push out my 7 nieces and nephew wo c-sec [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have a brand new Mums in Mind baby sling in original packaging to let go @$28. It's beige colour and sateen material. Retail price at $40+. (Pls refer to the link below for a picture.) Reason for selling it is that I just got another sling as a gift during baby shower.

Pls PM me if you are interested. Self collection at Commonwealth/ Tiong Bahru/ Harbourfront/ Toa Payoh MRT station. Alternatively, mailing by normal postage can be arranged.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/momsinmind/142736569/in/set-1812818/lightbox/

Something amazing to share. I was feeling a little bruised on Xmas day and wondering y when I realized that there was a bump protruding from my belly on the left. Baby B was tucked in a corner on my left. Quickly felt round the belly for another bump and found another one closer to centre-right: Baby A's position. Both babies seem to celebrating Xmas by making their presence known that day. Bumps disappeared aft that day though and babies went back into hiding. Best Xmas gift ever! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow, syrah, so cool discovery u got over xmas. have u took any pic / video? these are previous memories [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks AP.. sent a mail and getting more info. price is reasonable too..

hi all!! disappeared for too long, so many posts to catch up =) Merry xmas and happy new year! Hope those MTBs that still have MS: MS be gone soon!!

I had my 15th week scan before xmas.. bb did a paparazzi shot by putting up one hand (yes, phew can see all 5 fingers) like saying "so bright!" or "don't take my pictures!!"... too shy le. hands were waving mad but folded the legs.. but briefly scan was under bb and BRIEFLY gynae saw something (yes, white dot) between legs... she didn't want to confirm though... say can see in next visit (which i'm going for FA scan)... Hubby and I did see the white dot too so looks like our chances of gal quite much dashed, but bb healthy good la... =) bb is 114g already!!

Christy... my hubby just talk very 'generically'.. most of the time he tell bb dun give mummy a hard time =)

syrah..wow!This must be the best xmas present!!

Xinyue,consult ur gyne for his/her opinion.I m sure they will know whether is it safe anot.I m going back to singapore in feb n US in mar,my gyne says so far so good.no signs of premature etc etc by checking the position of the bag n blood flow of the womb.

If u plan to go with the trip,I can give u my gyne's contacts just in case.He is very nice.

Chilli_padi,

Think it's too early to feel movement. I'm in my 16th week. What I felt was just the bumps on my belly. Cos it's twins so they r fighting for space probably. I didn't feel them move. They prob shifted while I was sleeping.