(2011/06) June 2011

Dear Mummies

I am from March Mummies forum

I have just bought my brestfriend pillow from TMC on 17th Feb but my girl prefer to bottle feed after pumping.

I used it 1 time onli and is 99% new!

Please see the link

http://www.mybrestfriend.com/products/original-pillow

The pattern is followed, Retail is selling at $80++

I willingly to let go at $50. self collection

Do PM if you are interested?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5167806.jpg]

christy > hm... I haven't had the chance to ask the TCM doctor I frequent but I always think Pi Pa Gao is safe for pregnancy so I took it. :p

Hm... didn't question much for Pi Pa Gao, if it's western medicine then I will second-question it. :p

With that said, I'll ask the TCM doctor next time I go see him for my itch. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mommies and mommies-to-be

I have the following items on sale, do PM or sms me you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

New Fisher Price Baby's First Blocks - $12

New Baby Delight Supreme Snuggle Nest - $60

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5110509.html?1299047115

New DOM Benedictine 1L (3 bottles) - $50 each

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5156750.html?1298789829

Preloved My Brest Friend Nursing Pillow - $35

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5145163.html?1299047179

Used Medela Pump In Style Advanced Backpack - $290

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5157387.html?1299047241

Christy

Maybe when u see ur gynae u can ask for medicine. I took cordyceps since I needed to cook for my son as well. Regarding the diaper bag, I got one each time for signing up FBI n sbi cards. Last time ntuc used to give a goodie bag for newborns, hopefully they still have it this year. It was quite good with alot of things inside.

life is beautiful> Hmmm before lunch I call my mom ask her to go Chinatown to ask a Medical Hall if I can drink Chuan Bei & Sweet + Bitter Almond... they say better dun take.. if anythink happen to bb they not responsible. Better see gyne for medication.. Sigh....

My mom and hub say should be oki to take the pi pa gao... maybe mix in water and drink instate if taking it direct *cause if take direct sweet than I cough again*

Blah... so troublesome le in our stage sick this cannot that cannot..

Life is beautiful> I found someone asking a dr regarding pi pa gao... advise not to take cause dun know what is inside but lots of mum take it still ok. So it up to us.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=36738&post=2485704

Posted on Tuesday, January 16, 2007 - 11:25 pm:

Sandra,

I spoke to Dr Adrian b4 abt pi pa gao, he advise not to take as he is not sure what is the component inside. But he also mentioned that many of his patients taking it & have not seen advserse result. So he leave the decision to me.

Altariel,try to eat more healthy food.one of my gf drunk sugar cane + milk mixture so bb can gain weight lah,instructed by her gyne..but I think it's abit weird mixture leh.u can try..

As for breech position,not to worry,mine also still in breech position leh.

There is a mummy in other thread said that the nurse told her to sit down,back supported with a pillow,n bring ur legs as close to u as possible.hopefully bb will turn lor..

But I think we still a lot of time lah,I m sure our little ones will be in correct position later on.

Christy,I wear mask everywhere I go leh,since I come back..belly good ah.i get seats on the mrt,n even toilet queue,I get priority!macdonald staff some more ask me sit down n wait for my mum as she was in the toilet lor...lol

I not pah seh,I rather protect myself then get sick lor..

My gf kena an uncle cough right at her face!her face got his saliva leh,n he didn't apologize.he didn't do it purposely lah..but still....she is 3 mths preggie now.

Clare> Hahahah u power la.. hmmmm maybe I also should be like u ah make a habit to wear mask everytime. My 4 yr old niece ask my dh why I wearing "that thing" aka mask. My ah lao say ohrrr ur aunty selling ice-cream mah.. Whahaha. Than my niece reply no u blaff... than she keep asking than she finally conclude that its smelly... than we say ya you smelly than she give us a funny look LOL...

Har ur gf like that also can tahan the uncle ah.. she got scold back the uncle or not? My god hope she is oki *not sick*

Wahaha..I do get stares here but it's very common in japan n Taiwan for pple to wear mask..so I m used to it leh.I Bo chap lor..coz when they see ur tummy,they know u are protecting yourself lor.

Ur ah Lao sooo funny!!sell ice cream....wahahaha...Ur niece also quite clever ah "p

My gf soo pissed,she was cursing n swearing all over facebook lor..lol...luckily she quickly go wash face lor n didn't get sick.

Clare> Ya other country very common (see tv also have) hmm since I still not recover I also better make an effort to wear the mask ba...

Kaoz... if me I sure scold the uncle lor... i dun know read where in the world got one person sneeze at a party and kana court case le.. cause its consider murdering... I think that person also go some kind of sickness...

christy > thanks for the link & info... shall stop for the moment and double confirm with my TCM doctor before taking it again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yah... hate it when we eat this or that, must think & think & think first... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hate it even so when we are sick! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Life is beautiful> No problem [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] dun worry ya some mom also got take it even dr ask them better not to. If not u can give your TCM dr a call which I did.. faster that way.

Bo bian really.... haiz.. I tell my ah lao he say best dun eat and recover by itself.. I say cannot lor still better see dr to cure at least a bit in case it get worst...

No wonder pple say mum are wei da de.

I am from Feb 2011 thread. I have some baby gift sets to let go cheap! All brand new!

Great for your newborn or as gifts =)

[Refer below for photos]

Set 1 - $12 (Winnie the Pooh 6 pcs set)

Pls note: Set 1's Box is slightly dented. Good for own use though.

Set 2 - $12 (Benbeni 5 pcs set)

Set 3 - $10 (Wonderchild 4 pcs set)

Set 4 - $15 (Max Cool 7 pcs set)

Set 5 - $15 (Pureen 7 pcs set)

Set 6 - $2 (Mt A mittens, booties, bibs, towel set)

Set 7 - $2 (Enfapro cloths, socks, towel set)

FREE Set 6 OR 7 for purchases of 2 sets & above! While stock last!

Self collection at Choa Chu Kang Street 62.

PM me if keen!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169572.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169573.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169574.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169575.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169576.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169577.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169578.jpg]

Hi all, didn't log in 4 a couple of days as I've been so tied up with work. How r all mummies doing?

Went 2 visit my colleague who just delivered. Bb is so cute. Soon it'll be our turn.

Junez tot cranberry is for uti ? Those yeast n other infection also help? Ok I'll try thks

Btw I found van driver already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kindly add me too.

Nick: st3ph

Name: Stephanie

Hospital: Gleneagles

Dr: Dr Chan K H

BB#: 1

EDD: 13th June 2011

christy > i didn't call my TCM *lazy me* but I think I will just wait for my next visit to him then ask. Moreover, I always go with my mom so I don't have his contact. *need to ask my mom for it, again lazy* hehe...

but i tink on the safer side I will just stop the pi pa gao for the time being...

last night i just let myself cough through the night without pi pa gao... so uncomfy~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: baby cots

Just wanna ask, do the baby cots at Taka Baby fair have greater variety or those at the Baby kingdom & hypermart?

And is there anything to look out for when buying a baby cot...? am at a total lost at buying one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

life is beautiful> Heheh but good to have the TCM number in hand just in case u need it to ask something urgent... and now/sometimes we not fang bian to walk around so take the chance to call lor.

At home druing 8pm onward also strating to built up coughing le.. so I put on mask at home.. cause got ceiling fan if hub not around I off it.. sometimes cannot tahan I sit away from the fan lor. I drink ginger water those in crystal form drink half a cup than cough cough again... but at night better than previous night. Maybe u want to try... I may want to buy old ginger to boil water and drink cause my mom say old ginger to get rid of wind...and my cough is at night more cooling so mayeb ginger help abit too.

Not saying totally no cough at night but still have.. I try drink water after each cough also helps.. though I also lazy to wake up.

BB movement> After dinner yesterday my baby did not move until this morning... kinda worried.. until after breakfast today she move again... I think she tired too... after moving for few days very actively. I guess she is like me in some way can sleep until nobody business....

BB cot> I have a hand down one... but cannot adjust the level of the bed. I would suggest that you can get one which is all rounder... can adjust the level of the bed and after your bb is 3 can take out one side of the bed rails to transform as a bed so no need to buy kiddy bed next time.

Have u been to BB Kingdom & Hypermart yet? If you stay near there can go see and note down the price if u stay far I think a bit no point cause petrol up and down a bit boh hua. If you get want I mean. Unless got the price online u can do some market research and note down the price and bring to Taka BB Fair. Like me I stay in BT Panjang dun think I will go Expo BB Fair and Hypermart.

Hi mummies who are coughing, I can understnad the frustrations esp when it is a pretty long fight. My cousin shared with me that I can try apple juice drink if I feel very skeptical and insecure from taking too much medication. In the end I did tried, tasty and somehow i heal gradually. not sure whether if it is the effect of the apple juice but it help to relief and nourish the lungs esp after so much coughing.

Use 2-3 green apples and remove the stick and the core part. slice each apple into about 6 slices and put in about 1.5 bowls of water (the bowl is the normal generic rice bowl size). Place everything into slow cooker and cook for about 1-2 hours. Finally once all the apples are cooked, remove the skin and add in some rock sugar (depends on personal taste) as this green apple juice is sour. It tastes superb nice even as dessert.

I have been really exhausted these days going home at almost near 7pm. think today is the last straw that after i run around in the morning, cramps on the tummy start to set in. i can only sit and rest now so there wont be cramps relapse.

CreateJoy, yes.. cranberry juice is for treating UTI. but the instructions on the bottle was written that can be taken daily as a healthy juice as well, since its juice a normal fruit juice and nothing else added. ;p yeast infection can eat yoghurt. for me, i would choose to take natural cure like these, rather than taking antibiotics lah. but sometimes really no improvement, then have to take antibiotics. no good to drag for long for UTI, cos will infect kidneys if long time no heal. u take care and drink more water. water helps to flush out the bacteria as well.. if u wan to try cranberry juice, u can get from Guardian "21st century" 100% concentrated cranberry juice. i tried that, its quite effective for UTI.

Tsukushi, u mentioned NTUC gives goodies bag? Where can we get that? u referring to the insurance or??

Mummies, is it normal to having watery discharge at this point of time? i m having watery discharge for a few days liao..

createjoy

Thanks for posting the number up!

junez

that was in 2008. I'm not sure if they still give those bags now. Need to call up their centre at Tagore Lane to check but now still too early. Wait until you have given birth then check again.

the other day I was asking on bb lotion chil comment on the following:

lotion, i use Johnson, california baby and a few brand that are mild in frangrance. by applying my gal skin after shower can greatly reduce her skin allergy.

any feeback on other brand mild frangrance or frangrance free lotion not so thick type and easy to absorb to bb skin.

christy, i'm either use gaia moisturizing lotion or burt bee's lotion, i personally prefer burt bee de cos the smell is pleasant, locally they are selling quite ex, i got mine from US, both lotions are not thick, in fact is easily absorbed.

tsukushi, i also forgotten abt the ntuc goodies bag, when i delivered last yr, it seem they had stopped giving, this i'm not too sure, cos i forgotten abt it till mths later then i recalled. maybe call and ask?

life is beautiful, if i recall, the cots over at taka is quite limited.

RE: cough

Christy, ytd nite i had to wake up few times in a row cos of the cough, now trying to spite out the phglem to heal faster... tot was going to recover who knows last nite keep coughing and best is my cough mixture already finished, and cant take fluimuil cos of preg, haizzzz. think prob go over pharmacy and get prospan instead.

hi mummies hv u all start buying clothes..

i realised bb gals clothes are so cute..so hard to resist..i spent over hundreds on her clothes..

my hub wana faint already...

there's a very cheap bb clothing opp Fu Lu Shou building ah..bugis area..ard the temple there..top is only $2 but they sell in bundle of 6..

JJ

I think after delivery then call. Now call also cannot collect the bag.. lol I hope they still have it, quite a lot of good things inside!

Ting,

Haven't really started on clothes, but I do agree that bb gal clothes are so cute! Waiting for mid-year sales then buy a few pieces for going out. I've bought 3 sleeping bags and a nursing cover though.

ting, it's like dat when u have a gal, till now i have nt stop buying clothings for my gal hehee! she got more clothings than her kor kor, opppsss!

ting, i shld be going there next wed to get some clothings for didi and bottoms for myself before meeting the gals for dinner at illuma..

ya tsukushi! maybe just call to check if they are still giving out lor... heheh! i got the goodies bag when i had my #1, really quite good stuffs.

Hey Mummies, John little is having a sales. I think they have 20% for all babies item. On top of that, if you have the "Today" paper, there is additional discount coupon where you can use it. I think for purchase more than $120, you can have a $18 deducted from the total amount.

I bought the Avent newborn starter kit at $49. I think the cheapest i saw at the AMK old shop is $44.90. So after 20% discount, it cost me $39.20 and on top of the discount coupon of about 10%, i think it cost me about $35.20 only.

However I dunno whether the taka baby sales will be cheaper... the John little sales is till this weekend.

any sales on bb cot? i was suppose to get from a friend but now change my mind cos it's not really what i wanted...

Those of u went to see cot already, what's the cheapest so far?

For Uti,can take asparagus..it's helps n no sugar n it's veggie!really healthy but if eat a lot,ur urine stinks lah..lol

createjoy> I have a friend she say she buy bb cot at 399 or 400 very good price.. I dun know how good la cause mine is handdown. It look like mine.. she got it a expo bb fair.

christy > will ask my mom to make me this ginger water when I go back to her place this week. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for the tip. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Same here, I stay in Bt Panjang! that's why I have a dilemma. Initially I was thinking to go to the taka baby fair then baby kingdom & hypermart to recce the prices but hor, hubby is not those 货比三家 person *meaning compare prices than buy* plus the point you mention on the petrol, gotta make double trip if the first place has got cheaper offer. Not to mention, what if by the time I decide to buy the cot, it's sold out or what...

so now I am thinking of going to the nearer fairs like harbour front & taka baby fairs. If the places don't have, then go baby kingdom & hypermart to see...

Oh, and thanks for the tip on choosing baby cot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Now I know there are cots which actually can transform into kiddy beds when they grow older. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

christine > understand that teaching ain't easy but do rest well! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Will drinking fresh apple juice / eating apples help? I think I am a little lazy to boil the apples... :p

JJ > you have any idea what are the usual discounted items? if really don't have cots to our likings then I think I'll need to make a trip to Ubi liao. :x

2ww > also saw the Avent starter kit at Metro 20% sale last week. hm... but according to the saleslady, the bottles in the starter kit all requires the adaptor ring. We also checked out the prices of the adaptor ring, which cost about $10 for 3rings and decided maybe to put off buying it. Also, she mentioned that Avent brands without adaptor rings are more durable. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: breast pumps

sorry, am revisiting this breast pump topic again.

Now I have decided to get a Medela brand but the question is, when's the best time to get it? before or after birth? I read at several forum threads, some mommies are feels it's good to get it before and some feel after, also okie.

Before birth:

- can use to stimulate milk production right after birth though milk only comes in 3-5days after birth

- parents won't have time to buy after baby's birth

After birth:

- just in case mummy's milk supply is low, buying early can be a waste of money

- can lend from hospital to try on the different pumps

My MIL is asking me to buy after birth cos no guarantee of milk supply though I want to TBF badly. Besides I have no one to borrow the pumps from to try... and I don't want to miss the offers at the baby fairs (if the pumps are selling at discounted prices)...

any advice from june mommies? :x

Life is beaftiful> I was totally breathless yesterday and its due to the night coughing.. after drink the ginger water last night... today feel better on the lungs.

Oh can meet next time LOL... can gather w baby and have lunch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh also look on the leg of the bb cot, mine is with wheels and can lock one... but I guess if yours is a all rounder bb cot try get cot w/o wheels better if not roll here roll there also dangerous for kid when older... if they are transforming it to a kids bed. Mine cot w wheels still ok cause cannot take down one side of the railings to transform to bed.

Re Breast pump... I think I not buying now only after. Have not call TMC to test out their pump... once I can confirm the brand and model I will KIV it. After birth will than buy if a need.

christy > I think I have the model in mind already. Going for a medela free-style or swing.

though I haven't called TMC to enquire, I have read about the loan from TMC too. Can't remember on which thread/forum, I read that the loan is subjected to availability and it might not be available when you give birth.

Actually I don't mind buying after birth if the price has no difference but I'm concerned that what if the offer is better during the baby fairs and then I buy liao, no milk supply *waste money*. A dilemma of inexperienced first-time mom.

Digressing from the breast pump a bit, wanna ask those who delivered at TMC before, will they send you your infant for latching *though you might not have breast milk yet* after they clean the babies?

I read that most cases, the babies are not sent immediately & only so, on their mothers' repeated request. Also read that, for mothers who are keen to breastfeed, to get the baby to familiarise with our breast, the best time is to latch on *regardless got milk or not* right after birth.

JJ> Oh I look at burt bee's lotion like expensive sia hahaha. U buy from Spree ah?

I tell my ah lao I intend to buy what brand of baby bath and lotion item he say wah sound expensive... I tell him its a bb girl le.. must take care of the skin than grow up nice nice LOL... if boy I buy cheap cheap one... LOL one of my excuse

christy, i buy from overseas spree, sometime they have bundle offer, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

life is beautiful, yes, in tmc, the nurse will send bb to you for latching every 3 hrs if i recall. so far my encounter at tmc is good, the nurse will send my bb to me every 3 hrs for latching. even though ur milk might not kick in yet, it's good for bb to latch to help stimulate so as to let the milk slowly kick in.

JJ > thanks for the assurance. Cos I read on forums/blogs, some mommies don't have positive encounters at TMC. Just spoke to my male colleague whose wife just gave birth to his #2 last nov, he commented the nurses on some levels not as good. Told me it's luck. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ya, maybe i'm lucky, keke!! but so far my 2 experiences in tmc are ok and good. my frd who just delivered her 3rd one in tmc, even got a small hamper from tmc cos her 3 kids are all delivered at tmc, wonder if i will be able to get the hamper or not since i'm delivering my #3 in tmc too, lol!

Oh... okie.. meaning that i put few drops in the tub than wash bb hair & body w the soapy water.. after than can towal dry bb liao right??

No need to wash out with clear water la..