(2011/06) June 2011

Re : baby bottles

currently i am using 'thinkbaby' milk bottles and 'green to grow' teats for my #1. I am getting 'green to grow' bottles and teats for #2 as i find the bottles and teats are of good quality.

Re : strollers

its impt to get a good stroller coz its abt the safety of the baby. Invest in a good stroller , it can cost you quite alot of money but its worth it at the end of the day. So far, i have bought 3 strollers, 1st was a chicco stroller which the brake spoilt after using it for 2 years,, 2nd was a Bugaboo bee, my fav, costly but good and the 3rd was a Maclaren quest, very good for travelling and qoing to the park. I am a stroller craze :p

Evvie, i don think avent teats can fit on medela bottles, if u notice their teats (bottom part) and compare the design with the other brands, they are very unfriendly, hahaa!

Christy, i'm referring to wide neck bottles, but if you are talking abt standard bottles, i do believe they are the same, actually tollyjoy teats can fit in pigeon and nuk standard ones as well, and of cos, if i recall, nuk teats can fit in pigeon ones too.

christy, actually pigeon bottles also not bad la, but cos the most common brand pple used is Avent. I realised avent teats don last very long like nuk teats, avent teats will turn to cloudly after 1-2mths, but nuk teats quality are much bttr than avent ones i will say.

JJ> Thank you.. alamak I really ask so many question on the milk bottle.. hahah I think if I tell my hub he sure will take NUK or Pigeon one.. and Avent out.

today I post a lot hhahaha like very chatty like that.. hmmm tell u something funnie between me and my bb. I have to walk or more most of the time so she will not kick or move so much... If I sit down and rest but I am talking she will also not move much...

I found out recently that if I do not move (eg) sit or resting and also not talking she will start moving alot... I tell my hub I have a keypo bb I talk she listen even on the phone...

We did a small test w the bb... I tell my hub to touch my tummy she will stop moving... my hub leaves she start moving @.@"

Than I hand sign my hub to touch my tummy (and I dun talk) and must be very gentle... than my bb move.. it seems like she bully me but towards her daddy she very kuai..

oo christy. yr bb sound quite like mine. the min my hub remove his hand, she kick on the same spot hard!

hehe. just txt my sis for old bottle pass on. will try to exchange some nuk / pigeon wide neck bottles @ taka fair!

christy: same same. when i feel BB moving alot, i will ask hub to put his hand on tumtum. But he says he feel nothing even though i can feel it. Then she will stop. Once he takes his hand off, she moves non-stop haha.

But i realised she is most active between 11-12 midnight

One of my student's mum told me no need to buy sterilizer. Any form of steamer will do the job. I have a steamer at home. Maybe i'll give the sterilizer a miss.

pianojazz, despite lasting. glass bottle are more heavier. try to buy the matching sleeve too. there are "sleeve" tat can put outside the bottle to prevent any breakage. and buy the tong to pick up the bottle from the steamer too. cos they are piping hot.

JJ-> Take me! Take me! If there's an Isetan sale and I still have things to buy, take me along!

Lukemommy-> My hubby loves bugaboo bee too, but we don't know if bb will be willing to stay in stroller, so decided to buy an aprica first.

I'm also getting heavier and clumsier, bending down to put on pants is becoming a chore, like will lose balance.

>Getting clumsy - ya I have to sit down to wear panties, pants...now if I drop anything, which is ALL THE TIME, I just wait for hubby to help pick up whatever that is on the floor..haha..trouble is, I can't remember what he needs to pick up!

Babynini, after your review on Aprica strollers, I am very interested to try it out. You said it is at Tagore Lane, do you mind giving me exact address or the name of the building? I wanna go check it out. Thanks!

BB_jo, so sorry to hear that. My sincerest condolences to your husband's family..

Personally, I feel it is ok as it is quite a close family member, but I know Chinese traditions have their taboos...Do what you feel is right and comfortable to you and your hubby...

Milk btl just wanna share u intend bf might wanna buy sm btl directly pump ,chill, warm n feed.I use hospital milk sample btl till bb drk more than 100ml then I use other btl.cos if u keep trf sm nutrient tend to cling on to the btl n wasted. Of cos eventually wn overstock still hav to use milkbag also lose nutrient but just sharing all efforts to save the best.The same reason I only switch to wide neck aft he tk FM easy to pour powder.

Oh with exception to avent pump I'm nt sure if their pump is made ri wide neck size but most other pump is pump to STD neck btl size

bb_jo21, I attended my close uncle's funeral during my 1st tri. My hb was opposing it but it was the closest uncle so i go ahead with it. I even go everyday and help out with everything cos my cousins are still young.

Createjoy, the bottle from hospital - they dun have caps and teats right? Any brands fit or?

JJ

How to reserve at isetan? Put everything into a cart and pass to customer service? Thanks for the tip!

Pianojazzy

I can't remember if the hospital bottles come with cap, but probably they do. I only remember I used those spare Dr Brown caps on the hospital glass bottles. Can buy these from Metro or JL. Hospital gave me a lot of NUK latex teats to try out when I was discharged. I think no hurry to stock up on these yet.

Today feel much better, not so tired this morning..

I feel so overwhelmed with all the talk about bottles. My SIL says that NUK teats are the best for her two babies...need to remember to ask her for more details.

Is it better to store BM in storage bags or storage bottles? Which is more convenient?

Hubby and I were just talking about our baby girl, and he brought up the topic of monthly expenses after she is born. Some things to ponder on:

- how much would we need to spend on diapers? (depends on baby right, but roughly estimated amount..?)

- how much to spend on FM (i intend to BF for a year, hopefully I can, but what if need to supply FM, how much is the average can out there? )

- what other monthly expenses are there for babies??? haha..besides milk and diapers?

I can't wait for the gathering..I have so many qns and stuff to talk about with all of you, i tell you all ah, i can talk and talk you know..hahaha..I'll probably write down a list! haha..

HI all,

On bottles, personally I feel convenience is also an important factor cos there are lots to do when taking care of baby, specially newborn. I used Evenflo-plastic type, BPA-free and very durable. I changed thte bottles after about 9 months when I stopped using the steriliser and got brand new bottles of the same brand.

If you are on a budget, look out for secondhand, but brandnew condition ones. :) That's what I did from the second child onwards, heehee, getting more 'auntie' along the way too.

Hanis, if you intend to store lots of milk, use storage bags. The most economical and safe one is playtex. Only thing is you need to tie it up with a rubberband. Been doing that with no problem. 125 pieces for around $15. Best value for money :)

AS for diapers, new born used around 6-8 pieces a day. Depending on the brand you get, the consumption will be higher during this time. Cost of FM is going up all the time, sigh!!! I think average is around $35-38 per 700g tin. If babies are totally on FM, the average usage is one tin per week. Other expenses would include immunisation jabs/medical, and lots of hidden costs like teats, bottles, baby carrier, swaddle, diaper bag organiser, things here and there that you found out and wanna try out. Many mummies spend a bomb on sprees :).....haha the list goes on.

Morning Mums *Stratching* so tired I fall asleep in the car while on my way to the office..

Hmmm just to ask.. 3rd trimester will feel tired again just like 1st trimester?

chil> Notti bb.. hahaha. I got the evil thought my nephew is Pri 2 and I think he is still drinking from his milk bottle... if so I will ask him during weekend to give me his bottle.. LOL so I can get new bottle for my bb Hahah I will tell him that..

I went to Tom and Stephanie to look at some stuff... found my mattress there with the same size at abt S$60+ its foam mattress with holes same as bbsafe but not latex so KIV this.

I also saw Pigeon Wide Neck Bottle one is the clear bottle in dual pack and the other one is yellowish bottle single pack which is about S$18+ and saw the box the yellowish one is better quality plastic if not wrong PPSP. The small btl is 7oz and big btl is 10oz... like not much difference.

Austino got bb cot set going at 20% off abt S$71+ if you are a member and also on your birthday mth they will give u 40% off instate of 20% off. This is the cheapest I have seen in a set and match my cot size but I really do not need the comforter and boster cause I already have.. will got Mothercare again during the Sale Period to see only the fitted sheet and bumper.

One great thing in the mailbox yesterday is we received the Robinson 25% discount voucher.. so going to shop again.. Hahahha.

bb_jo21> Sorry to hear about that.. hmm I think if its a very close family member you can attend. Cause I found out I am preggy during my grandma in law's wake.. which is the last 2nd day. I still remember that I still help to carry cartons of water and organizing the cooler fridge and burning paper... sitting on the floor and climbing back up... During that time tell myself that bb's grant grandma is protecting the bb so bb is fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning ladies

Thank you for the feedback on Avent electric pumps. Actually my SIL is asking me to get medala pumps..but it is very expensive..alittle of my initial budget..but i will still give it a serious thought as i think an efficient pump is really a great help in BF. I will try to change all the parts of my pass down avent manual pump as standby.

Bb_jo21> Sorry to hear that. Deepest condolences to your family.

I think perhaps you consult your elders on this. I am not sure if we are able to attend, but sometimes i rather be more pantang for the sake of baby. I am sure your relative will be able to understand your situation if you choose not to attend.

Vivienne, where can we purchase Even-flo bottles? I am thinking of getting NUK teats and bottles but my pump is Avent. Thanks for the tip on bm storage bags. Wouldn't it be cumbersome to use rubber bands? I was thinking of getting bottles to keep my bm as can just re-heat and give to baby..But, I heard that using those bags with zip-lock is also convenient.

Sigh so many questions...

But I appreciate your info on FM and diapers!!!! That will really help my financial expenditure planning when baby is born! =)

bb_jo21, I attended my hubby's grandma wake in my 1st trimester too. However my MIL asked me to tie a red ribbon around my tummy inside my top when I am at the wake and I am asked not to join in any of the rituals during the wake. I would say best to follow what the elders say at a time like this.

is Friday!

Christy, i use nail clipper for baby for my gal. didnt dare to touch her nails when <3mths as they are so tiny. i just put her hands n legs to mittens & booties. personally dont like the

Nail Scissors as i cant guranty what i will be cutting [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Chil> Hmm you got a point on using the scissors.... I read than its best to cut the bb nails 1 mth later... if you are not sure if you know how to cut their nails.. cause during that time they will be on bottie and mittens.

I told my mom I dun know how to cut... she say she cut... Later if she cut my bb.. I blame her.. Hahah evil..

Christy,

When are you going to Robinsons? When is the sale? I don't have the voucher but I don't mind if it's just a 20% for members.

I used pigeon scissors for the first 2 years as I find it easier to control. Now I'm using my normal nail clipper on my toddler, and once I accidentally cut his flesh (lucky no bleeding). It's recommended to remove the mittens after 1 month so that their fingers can start to explore. But then, you will need to trim their nails already (some newborns have long nails). I normally cut the nails when my son is sleeping when he is an infant. Now, he will ask for a manicure whenever he sees that I'm cutting mine.

tsukushi> the voucher is good to use on 21-27 Feb only... and its was mail to my hub.. I'm not sure if during this period got extra discount boh.

Most likely I will go on 25 Feb cause that day going for DS at Mt E so must well just drive down a bit to robinson.

Any idea the centerpoint robinson got more bb item or raffles city.

Oh so u use the Nail Scissors... hmmm so got mix review here on Nail Scissors and Nail Clipper.

haha christy, u wont blame yr mom one. else she might say "u cut yrself!" :p Centre point Robinson much biiger!

tsukushi, agreed. my gal born w long nails. and she love me cutting her nails now too. before i finish one foot, she will tell me "right foot too" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

lobang. any mummies buying drypantz for your older kids? now guardian hv promotion of buy one get one free. so long u birng a non-drypantz wrapper will do. valid till 23rd feb.

Chil, oh ya hor... if I cut my bb my hub sure scold me... I my mom cut my bb my hub only can be upset and be quiet LOL hahahha

Oh okie will go Robinson have a look.

After reading other thread on Nail Clipper and Nail Scissors.. still have not decided which to buy.. Hahah maybe I ask my SIL her view... maybe she got scissors can pass me LOL.

bb_jo21> condolences to you and your hubby. regarding funerals, i believe it's ok if it's close family, especially when your relationship with them is good.

haiz, milk bottles also so much xue(2) wen(4). info overload for this first time mummy. anyone has experience with Tommy Tippee bottles? i've only known one person who uses it. i'm more inclined to the wide neck bottles that look like boobs. hee. dowan to cause nipple/boobie confusion.

suzie, forget abt tommy tippe. my gal has nipple confusion, tommy tippee cant pass through the test! she noe tat is not her favor boobs! infact, non of the teat passed through the test. the prob is not abt the teat, is the bb themselves.

btw, nuk hv disney mickey edition. black milk bottle look damn cool [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chil> Hahah After talking explain to ah lao he say ok we see either Pigeon or NUK....

Anyway if I buff him if XX Brand is good he also dun know Hahaha

Oh I have see the mickey mouse print one.. but its a clear bottle.

Hello everybody, lomg time never log-in. Hope everybody doing fine.

I'm in my 22nd wk & confrimed having a boy.

Quien - pls help to update. My due date is 18/6 , location, West.

Me going for caesarean delivery due to low placenta. Anybody intend to try You Long Zi? for date & chinese name. Or any other suggestion?

Tan kk, i going to you long zi for name. #1 name done there too.

NUK disney series onli on wide bottles

Robinson voucher:

Not all members will receive. to qualify you ve to:-

1)Spent at least $500 fr july - dec last yr. then you will receive a voucher for 25% even on sales items for a max value for $200

2)Spent at least $1500 fr july - dec last yr. then you will receive a voucher for 25% even on sales items for a max value for $500

I didnt spent enough to get the vouche but lucky my colleagues got extra & she gave me a voucher for max spending of $500 Yeah! Is best to buy sales items during this promo so on top for the usual sales price then will be another 25% dist.

Rat> Wah I dun know that I have spent more than S$500 at Robinson already hahaha.. cause its my hub card but I use it :p

My max spending is S$200 nia... I want to get bb monitor but I dun know if they will classified under electronics or not.. cause if so I cannot buy lor. Else I get Mustela for my tummy... but will they classified as cosmetic?

Qiuen> Oh... I read and also heard that Desitin is good but hard to wash. How about california baby cream?

christy, hahahaha coz i didnt get i spent like $300+ last dec but they say not enough lor. For the bb monitor u can check & ask dun think all electronic stuff is excluded. coz like they indicate bed but bedding stuff like bedsheet, pillows etc can buy lei.

i used Tommy Tippee bottles before, it comes with the temperature indicator. No complaints but i switch to glass bottles from 3rd mth onwards...

haiz, the last time i got the 25% voucher i had nothing to buy. now i need it but i haven't bought anything from robinson lately.

my friend also recommended you long zi for names. so high chance we will go for him too, unless our mothers come up with something in the meantime.

about recieving blanket/swaddling. how many do we need? and for use for how long?

Wah, since so many of u going to see you long zi for names, i try to ask him for discount. Let u all know again when it is nearer to the date!