(2011/06) June 2011

hi gals, I just went for my detailed scan at 22 weeks.. bb is 600g.. my gynae said bb is a bit chubby for a 22 week. hehe but all is healthy n good.. v heartwarming to see the bb moving and kicking n even yawning inside me! soo cute.. n he looks like my hubby! heheh.. i think my motherly love is overflowing now! whahah!

so hows our dinner gathering? is it confirmed 8th Mar?

Bless: Meetup on 9th March. Looking at Manhatten Fish Market at Illuma. Alariel will be calling up to check if they are child-friendly.

Join us at FB, cos at times we do discuss there.

yeah. i wil change my doc appt to 9 mar too! lunch / dinner?

mummies. i'm getting my frenz's medela freestyle pump. any idea what parts i need to change for hygience purpose? n those funnel like perfect fit etc, what are those? shall i get too?

called liao.. they have wooden baby chairs.. so if no issue we can confirm these details

gathering:

9th mar dinner 7pm

@iluma manhatten fish mkt

i'll be posting my mobile number on facebook so that if any of u late or not coming or last min want to come on that day can call/sms me. if u're not on fb, pm me for my mobile

this is what i have so far. let me know if ur status change (ie confirm come or dun come)

Altariel

Pianojazzy

Syrah

captain_piglet

leenmummy

Qiuen (TBC)

Bless

JJ(marchbb) (TBC)

Clare68 (TBC)

winniepooh (TBC)

chiladi (TBC)

Amtail

Hanis

Joyce

shymz

tulipslover

princess_christine

suzieduck

loneeagle1178

rain4days

Gathering: Wow must be so much fun! How I wish I can attend too! Envy envy! ;)

Christy: On cutting of nails, my GF & BF with babies all advised me to use a rounded end scissors instead of nail clipper. They said scissors more safety to control than nail clipper cos u can cut slowly with a pair of scissor. If you use nail clipper, once u clip too deep into the skin and that's it! I bought a baby nail clipper with a magnifier glass at first but after hearing my fren's advice, I bought a pair of rounded end scissors to standby too.

Should be ok i think. I'll talk to him. Cos normally my friends also get a discount. But i have to call on their behalf.

Hi babynini, I think Aprica stroller is good enough...yap, its true up to certain age like 1 1/2 yo or so, sometimes they will refuse to sit on the stroller but they still need afternoon nap, so if bring my boy out in the afternoon i must bring the stroller along if not i got no strength to carry him if he falls asleep..

Pianojazzy,did think of cloth diaper,but after looking at experienced mummies comments previously mentioned.I decided to give up the idea.Coz' of the washing,time etc etc...

Mummies,do u have any recommendations for thermometers?Thanks

Clare, ya i understand but i was thinking to use it for the first or few months as it has better for the baby.

I am also looking at thermometers at amazon. I am getting a forehead or temple one as i saw some reviews, it is not advisable to use ear thermometers for infants.

pianojazzy..I also did think of it for the 1st few mths..but later on,I think my mil wouldnt be able to handle all the washing..haha...so better not get scream at by my dh "p

Why cant we use ear thermometers?

I saw something like the ear canal is not fully developed yet.

Clare, i am planning to get a helper so hopefully can handle.

keke, but i always feel v bad la. But he always refuse to accept my money, even angbao. So sometimes seek his help also paisay.

hi all, can i join in the chat?

My bb is actually end may but likely to come out in early june i guess. So would like to join in here to chat. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piano jazzy hospital milk btl dun cn with reusable cap m teat that time they gave me nuk disposable teat w cap.I just buy normal Std size cap n teat myself that cm w the disc so I can store the milk in chiller

Welcome arisz hw cm u think u will del late usually ppl deliver early

Yup clare,

Sure createjoy, and thnks for the info on the hospital btls. I'll bring the btls around to look for suitable caps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thnks! i tot of getting earlier cos i am afraid by that time dunno will have the time to do these things or not.

pianojazzy

If your bottles are standard neck, you can try Dr Brown's caps, though I'm not sure how much they cost now. Should be able to find at Metro or JL.

tsukushi, i am not sure if they are standard neck btls. They are passed down from a friend and i suppose they are hospital btls haha. I'll bring it to Metro or JL to check. Thnks!

hi clare!

createjoy, coz my edd is 30th may and based on past experience, my bb are induced a few days b4 edd.

So this time round i'm trying not to induce so may be overdue bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi painojazzy, you r lucky you have a sis flying to europe, they have beautiful childrens clothings especially for the girls..brands like H&M, D'pam, Tape A Loeil,Okaidi/obaibi, Orchestra etc have nice kids cloithings and when they are having sales, the prices are reasonably cheap, must grab as much as u could ! if i am not wrong, they are having sales now and the next sale will be in july.

Tan Keng Keng, after detailed scan, found out that i have low placenta too but my gynea said hopefully it will push up when baby is bigger..I had very placenta when expecting #1 though..#1 was delivered via C-section so #2 will also via C-section..

RE: california calendula cream

This cream is really good for my boy's skin, another brand is GAIA, the shampoo is good, a 250ml can use for more than 6 mths, the 500ml body wash i can use it for a year!

re: polka dots

i love polka dots too ! i bought 'babylicious' bibs, blankets, swaddle blanket all in polka dots for my boy !! haha! i bought them at www.ninemonths later. com , a local online store.

re: baby clothes

anyone going to thailand, like BKK or Phuket? i went Phuket during CNY and there is a big shopping mall in phuket called Jungceylon, there is a Robinson dept store in it and it sells lots of childrens cltothings. The baby sections have nice brands like Asorba and Dolce Orsetto , le pettite pomme etc, nice clothings and pretty good prices. They were having sales when i was there, so i grabbed like siao, average price per piece only about S$9 ! good cotton quality and design.I think they have sales now and then.

Re : baby's name

before we knew the baby's gender, hubby and i already decided on this girl's name - Alessia ..haha ! see how desperate i want a girl !! We can choose between ' Alexia' or 'Alessia' but eventually decided on "alessis' coz with 2 'ss', it seems more feminine then 'x'..

qiuen, i am new here , just joined u ladies last week :) below is my details , thank you !

Nick : babyluke

Name : gina

baby # : 2 (girl)

edd : june 18

doc : Dr. CH Koh

Hospital : Mt. A

Yup lukemummy, blessed to have a sis flying. Really convenient esp buying stuffs lol. I'll ask her to keep a lookout on sales [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]I luv polka dots too keke. My girl will have a lot of polka dots dresses for sure.

Wah...mummies, all of you are making me nervous. So far i've bought only newborn clothings (8 sets with mittens & booties), caps, breast pump and bibs. Have not tot abt bottles yet.

Panic!

welcome lukemummy!

pianojazzy,yah.its great to have a sister that is flying so she can pamper your daughter.She is in SQ?

bb_jo21,not to worry.I also haven't bought anything.really nothing..still doing homework forever like that..haha

piano, ya update us if u able to get us some dist ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Clare, dunno leh, both my sis prefer boys but i wanted girl right from the beginning. Same as my hb. Lucky is girl. If it is boy i think my hb wont bother to take care of me.

Rata, yup sure!

Piano jazzy,like my hubby now,he also like girl so he heck care abt taking care of me.haha...some more he says stop at one,he is afraid that 2nd one will be boy also, coz his batch boys/classmates all have boys!(even for 2nd n 3rd kid) only one somehow break the 'tradition',had one boy then had a girl.

Daddys will always dote on daughters lor..haha

bb_jo21 & clare: Hi five! I havent bought anything too. Kept going in and out of the shops to look at the items but yet to buy. Have u put aside a budget? Looking at the electric pump only makes my heart flutter. My hubby so shocked why the dual electric breast pump so ex. Decided to buy after baby comes out once i am super sure I can actually BF.

Mummies who have bought baby stuff already, may i know how much u have spent? I'm worried we wont have enough for the pre baby prep (cot, playpen etc), the delivery and the post baby (diapers, BF pads etc).

Btw, do we have to 'book' the delivery suite soon? Now feeling so unprepared I wished I signed up for the prenatal courses. My Mum said waste of $ since she will be in charge but now i think its best i know for my piece of mind.

Uziela,Same situation!I have been to the same shop like for more than 10times for the past few mths,and not gotten anything.not even a bottle..hehe.I keep telling my dh,the discounts will even better later on.haha..(as if!)but 2nd hand stuff keep coming in for me,like clothes n shoes etc etc.

I think we have the same sentiments.I also did wish that I signed up for bf classes etc etc.coz' I m clueless about everything.but I guess there wasn't any classes last time,n our mothers did well.So I think I will go with the flow,don't want to stress my hubby up with all the preparation coz' he's aldy stressed about work.

Clare, my hb also say stop at one. He didnt want kids initially and this was an accident. So he is just cant be bothered. Dun even go to doc appt with me, dun even wanna see the scans etc. Not supportive at all. Lucky i have u all here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PianoJazzy,wow..our husbands really the same ah.He even wanted to go tie his tubes a few years back coz' he really dont want kids but when he went to the doctor,everyone surrounded him was old men..haha..He said he was soo pai seh,he went home in the end.

Luckily my hubby still does go to the gynae with me.Anyway,We are here to support each other all the way! ^-^

clare - we are the reverse opposite! I wanted to stop at one but hubby say very unfair to my girl in future as she'll be too stressed & no other siblings help. I told him, I was so damn tired during the first tri & MS so bad & he didn't have to suffer all that so technically its easy for him to say how many kids he want

he say if I wanna go for ligation can do so if we accidentally strike #3!!

Winniepooh & pianojazzy,its true lor.one is lonely.I have 2 other siblings,and I find that its great lor coz' the house is not quiet.

Pianojazzy,men nowadays ah..haha..My dh is afraid that I will suffer like his mum coz' his dad passed away since he was 5yrs old,so he saw how tough it was to bring up kids.

Winniepooh,I think ur hubby like my gfs' hubbies.they also want 4-6 kids~~~I have a gf who has ms up the day she give birth,told her husband 2 enough,but her husband tell her to stop at 4..haha..anyway I think leave it to fate lah.Whatever will come,we cannot stop it lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi Altariel,

i'm referring to baby california calendula cream. it's really mild and suitable even for bbs

been some time since i've checked this thread... it's really moving very fast. have not started buying anything for #2. will wait for the baby sales to stock up on essentials like baby wipes (tons!), detergent, etc.

looking forward to meeting all during the outing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Uziela, yeah! Hehe...i'm pretty lost myself as to wat i need to buy being a 1st time mum here. I've been in out of the bb dept but still lost as to wat needs to be bought. Hope to get some advice here.

bb_jo,

FYI, we have a Facebook thread too now. To join, search for MTB June 2011.

Till now, I'm still blur about the nitty gritty stuff to get. Have a feeling the real buying will start only when babies arrive. Those things like oil, cream etc etc. Also not too sure if the clothes that I have as hand-me-down are sufficient. I've no idea how much to gauge especially since it's the 2 of them and not just 1 baby. Will play by ear most likely!