(2011/05) May 2011

Nicole,

When starting semi-solids, it's better to not have it too thick at first as babies are only used to the consistency of milk. I find mashed avocado too thick. Some babies move on to thicker purees very fast though. If you have been giving other purees and baby is ok with thicker consistency, can give like that also.

Nicole: mix with BM/FM, is to adjust the consistency, also bb easier to accept since got some familiar taste in it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple: ur bb is still abit young, try to give e apple a gentle steam (5mins) b4 giving, easier for them to digest, and try not to give too much, it might cause constipation. but if bb got diarrhea, can give him some steam apple, it helps =)

wow! ur bb eat egg already ah, lucky he no reaction! egg white is high rank in allergic

Ya, i think NTUC carries healthy time, cold storage has some organic cereal too. you can also get it from Four season Organic store, they have a few outlets. You can also get it from BP or Iherbs =)

Nicole: btw, try not to give bb cereal in e bottle, at first stage, e purpose to give cereal, is more of to let them learn to taste and swallow solid, if put in bottle to suck, defeat e purpose.

viman: oh okay! got it. will figure my way along it.

Mimosa77: okay, i'll mix it with milk then. Yes, i actually spent money to buy the phillips blender which can steam the apple. so i actually steam it for 5 mins before blending it for him to take. but now, im working. my mil is actually the one feeding in the day. yes, i only let him take 1/4 of an apple a day for him to get used to it and he actually likes it so much! I think basically he likes everything. hahah.

eh, no. i bought it and haven fed him yet. am thinking of feeding him tml or sunday to check out his reaction to it. Doctors advised to let baby try egg yolk only(egg white alot of babies are allergic) to. Mix 1/4 of it in his milk. so i am going to try it tml! im gonna pray super hard nothing happens. Oh great, i'll go get it tml!:) thanks for all the help!

Really can't keep up with the posts...

Jen/Mimosa/2ww: My happy ToTo buying mood was interrupted when my #1 is still running a fever at school. Today is 3rd day and i thought he has recovered this morning.. another sleepless night tonight.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Also missed out on the good deals posted by FB mummy.. saw our shopping queen, Mimosa quick hands quick legs chopped a few nice items... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lil fly: oh no... hope ur #1 gets well soon!

hahaha.... not only me, Steph also chop a few items!! i chopped two items, asked my hb can use bb ang bao money to pay or not, but he bank in all e money to his CDA acc =.=|||

Dun worry, she is going for more shopping this Sat, chop faster next round!! =D

mimosa: I rem one mummy saying she got a lot of frozen bm till it's going to expire and she use it to soak her feet and hands. So envy! I was watching daddy 101 then calvin said his wife intend to fully bf. Then I tot to myself the world is so unfair, everyone got enough bm except me then after that they showed that his wife also not enough bm, then I told myself, ok the world is fair after all. LOL.

Aiyah ur boy fall to 50 percentile coz u cut his hair mah. Haha. Most of his wt comes from his thick and nice hair.

Good idea to bank ang bao money into CDA acct hor. I'm still thinking whether to open a savings acct for him for the ang bao money anot. CDA acct cannot cash out the money leh.

nicole: Wow u started eggs so early? I got no courage of trying coz my friend's sis started too early and her baby got allergy. Heard till now 15 mths still dun dare to let him try. I think I better wait for him to be 12 mths before trying both egg white and egg yolk.

NTUC has healthy times cereal. My baby used to love the barley cereal from ntuc until I cheapo went to US site to buy cheaper one and it came totally diff from ntuc's and he hated it.

Little Fly: Oh dear, hope ur #1 recovers soon. So in the end u bought ur toto? Actually I find the clothes quite exp leh. Its very nice and all more than S$20. I nv buy any clothes that cost more than $15 for my boy.

I just bought 4 storage stools from ntuc. Heng haven't buy from gmarket. I was waiting for double discount coz not able to get for ages. Gmarket is $32 for 4 and I got 4 for $20. Good thing my husband's eyes are sharp. Intend to give one each to my mum and mil but I'm thinking of keeping for myself coz can store tons of stuff inside.

Huh! You're making me scared, Jenny! Okay, maybe I think I should hold on to Tt thought and not let him eat first! Okay, I'll go ntuc fine(forgot if that's e name) to look for it. Well, guess what! Ure not alone! I had to mix feed my boy too. Cause my milk supply wasn't enough. I was really devasted at Tt point of time really. Felt like I cannot bond as much as others with my son.

Nicole: I'm more paranoid and kiasi. So no matter egg white or egg yolk I'll only give after his bday coz I heard for mmr and chicken pox vaccine have to give eggs, if not I might start even later.

I was quite upset too when I dun have enough bm. I was also worried due to the cost of fm and I nv tot I wun have enough bm so didn't even prepare that budget in and I was quite stingy with the fm initially.

Mimosa, i saw u post bb can't take egg. What about steam egg (like we eat in jap rest-chawamushi-dun know spelt correctly). During cny my mil steam it everyday for my gal to eat she nw only 9mth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

poohlyn: One of the mummies here also make chawanmushi for her baby. It depends on whether ur baby has allergy anot. If ur gal can eat it means she is safe with eggs.

Eve: Scramble eggs as in fried with oil? Wow so early? I'm thinking of starting tofu but wat to go with it? He doesn't want porridge and puree.

My PD advised egg yolks @ 9 months and egg whites only after 1 yo. My boi had hives after his dodo daddy fed him a pc of macaroon (contains egg white).

Jenny, Tofu is quite tasteless. You can mash it and treat it like porridge. Mix it with other tested purees like carrots and corn for some taste and bite. My boi doesn't really like it, maybe because it's too soft.

As expected, didn't win any Toto... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jen/Mimosa: thanks, my #1 is better now although still cranky...

WT: good idea to add plain tofu. Will try next time. Gave bb porridge (carrot, pumpkin) and he gave a pui look, prefers to nimble at the spoon instead. Don't know what is missing - he will slurped up porride made by nanny and MIL.

Good morning Mommies! Bad luck on e last day of CNY, down with fever n diarrhea [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yishun gathering: Mickyboy, can I check is it still on? Maybe we extend e invitation to fb too? Cos some mommies on fb r asking abt it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jenny: HAHAHA. i have thought about it the whole weekend and decided not to go ahead with the eggs. anyway, i wanted to start him on happy times organic cereal but i cant find the one grain one. all of it is multi grain!

mimosa77: oh man! i had that just before cny. was done with food poisoning. then later, fil,mil and husband got sick and bb was sick too. so basically it was super tough!

Am i able to be added to fb too?:)

Hello mummies....

Mimosa: poor thing. Me also sick, got diarrhoea since last fri till now. Akamak. Dunno eat wat salah.

Jen: I dunno Mcdonald put oil in their scrambled egg or not. Hee... Cos if I do it on my own, I like a bit undone one. Not suit for bb.

Yishun gathering: ya, still on??

Mimosa: Think u ate someting wrong? There's a miracle medicine called loperamil for diarrhea. Can get it from ur doc.

I also wondering if the gathering is still on, no news on it anymore.

Nicole: I think better to start with plain white rice cereal for the first food, if he's ok with it then move on to other grains. I just started on oats + wheat + prune two days ago. Previously all on single grain.

Eve: I think they do put oil in it. Yah, must make a little undone then will taste best. LOL but not good for baby lah.

jenny: i was unable to find white rice ceral though. I think i got to try to look for it again. the organic one is from healthy times is it?

lil fly: LOL at the "pui look".. wahhahaha...

went back jb last weekend... my mil never fails to amaze me... my sil's mum and auntie were around too and they both gave bb ang pow which my mil kept on behalf cos i dun hv pocket. after we left the hse, she immediately open up the ang pows in the car and declare the value. but hey.. tat belongs to bb and she shldn't open them, rite? den she ask my hb wat to do with the ang pow!? i mean, give it back to bb (tat's me lah) rite? not tat i gian the ang pow... but at least shld hv the basic manners, rite? sigh...

in the end, she kept the ang pow! xyz...

paisey.. always complain abt my mil... =P

Eve: Hahaha. i think almost everyone will def have issues with their in laws. i think its the cycle of life. sad to say, but thats true. hahahah.

Nicole: I'm not sure if healthy times got white rice cereal coz I use nestle cerelac.

Eve: OMG, of coz the angbao shld give u lah, common sense rite? Even if dun give u also pass to ur hb. How come she took the angbao?

Thanks for e concern mummies! Just I vomited big time in e clinic's toilet, everyone even e doc inside e room also heard :s super pai seh... Ganna gastric flu T_T

Doc gave me vomiting med, but I can't bf bb in 24 hrs, v keen to take leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] shld I take?

Jenny: oh, I just saw ur post, too late I rch home Liao, but only diarrhea once this morning, shld be ok.. Now is e bloated tummy n body ach is killing me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Nicole: where u stay? Maybe u can try to get from organic shops, if not urgent, can get from BP [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sry, ladies, might miss ur posts, not conv to use iPhone to reply...

Mimosa: take care. Stomach flu is no joke. Can take porridge water in the mean time.

Eve: Your MIL is ... how can she keep bb's angbow $? ur hb silent on this? even she don't give u should also give back ur hb.

Twinkle: Yes, mine version is vegetarian. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Maybe that's why he pui-ed.

lil fly: normally meat porridge taste better than vege porridge. i started with the fish porridge (with/out) carrots.

last time when i cooked minced meat porridge for #1, my hubby later commented smell nice and he also wanted the same meal as #1. in the end, out of convenience, i cooked one big pot and we eat the same with #1. LOL

mimosa: I also dun want to take medicine when I was bfing. Wow so u have to throw away the bm for 24 hours?

Btw do u still use the tiger porridge maker? My porridge always dries up at the bottom even though on top still got a lot of water. Dunno wat's wrong.

Jenny: Oh alright! thank you!:)

Mimosa77: I think its best to take. You should take it. cause apparently gastric flu is contagious. i rem my sis having it and it spread to the rest of my family, including myself.

i am staying in the west. Therefore very difficult to get. Nvm, he is happily eating apple and potatoes. so i can think can substain till then.

Lil fly: thanks! I feel so hungry till I got gastric pain, but just now only manage to eat abit of white porridge...

Nicole: e med is to stop my vomiting n stomach cramp but if dun hv then dun nid to take, so I try not to take unless I vomit again lo... Shld b ok bah? And he didn't give any anti biotic wor.. Others like charcoal n panadol, he said safe for bfing leh..

Jenny: ya, 24 hr... So I try not to take those not safe for bfing one :p

Porridge maker: we not using Liao, cos my mil said my bb prefer to cook e vegi purée together wtith e porridge instead of just warm e purée then mix in... So I think I will use to bring food for bb when go out next time...

Mimosa: Loperamil is very safe for bfing too coz its safe for pregnancy too. Last time I always have diarrhea regularly but now I found this miracle medicine I'm not scare anymore. Yah, I agree only take if u vomit but hope u dun vomit anymore!

I've been using the porridge maker but for myself leh. haha. But at least now can eat porridge for lunch,

Talking abt food my dining table is invaded by ants and I tot we cleared them up yest nite. Left 2 fishes for dinner on the dining table covered and now when I wanted to eat, I saw the whole plate full of ants! Its so scary and disgusting. Dare not touch it. Waiting for my hb to come home and throw away the fish. So wasted, still got the fish roe inside. =(

Nicole: Which part of west u stay at? I'm staying at jurong west.

Oh yah, I FINALLY managed to find and buy the star vibrating teether at OG last sat. Have been looking for it at many places.

I saw a bathing toy which I just pull the string and it will run across at John Little. Any idea any other places has it? Coz lazy to queue up.

Mimosa77: yeah. If there isn't then don't take it! Anyway, rem t wear a mask cause it spreads! My poor boy got his cough from me e other time.

Jenny: I'm staying at jurong west too! :) and tell me about disgusting stuff, I'm afraid of such things too!oh! I dint know ubwanted Tt . I bought it for my boy too! I bought him so many teething toys. Hahahahah! Oh! That sounds fun! Let me know if u find it, cause I think my boy will like it too. He's splashing about when bathing now

Nicole: Hard to find mummies staying in the west, let alone say jurong west. The toy can be found at john little jurong point. If I take the bus straight to jp tmr I'll buy it. Coz I got two buses, one I can get off one busstop earlier and walk 10 min instead of 15 min from jp to my mum's house.

good morning mummies, today is tues, oh 3 more days to go....

work is kinda busy, after the cny. all the things need to be settled in mad rush after all return from leave.... argh, work is so sian, i'd rather face my cutie sonS everyday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yishun gathering: yes, i suppose it's still on, if we going to do it, haha... someone (maybe mimosa?) wanna send out the invitation thru fb? coz i dun think i added many mummies ar, so if i send out the fb invitation, many will not get it, lol... so who wanna take over? :p

but first need to decide the date first, i rem a mummy cant make it for 19th, and one cant make it for 26th. must fix the date, then only can send fb invitation, or else it will be messy...

Mummies, today not a good day for me.

Bb came down with runny nose n cough. I am worried sick but gotta to return office. Last week hardly at office due to #1 already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Can't find my ezy link card this morning. Then run out of coins at the vending machine. Late for work now. Yet I want to leave early to visit my gf at the hospital. Alamak!

Morning mummies, wha reading all the food tips for nicole.

Hope this post is not too late.

Eve, cherry is considered berries and is high allergy food, suppose to only introduce close to 1 YO. u are lucky your bb was ok after licking the juice.

Same for fresh scallop, its seafood, should introduce after 1 YO.

Nicole, saw that u decided not to give eggs, thsi is good.. hehehe. dun give bb cereal mix with milk via bottle, can be choking hazzard. Once he turns 6 mths, u can feed him in a bowl using spoon. I gave my ger white rice cereal then moved on to brown rice cereal when she turns 7 mths. She loves her Healthy Time Organic brown rice cereal and i love the texture too, so easy to mix and smells really good.

The white rice cereal and brown rice cereal can mix with water, no need milk, but if u have milk, mix with milk smells nicer. Anyway u should refer back to your sept thread too cos this may babies, we have all progressed quite far in terms of solid. and also egg white only give after 1YO, egg yolk can intro after 9 mths. the later u give, the more mature his digestion and the less chance of allergy. really no hurry to give eggs since he is just 5 mths only

For white rice cereal, can try bellamy brand, its organic too. can find at cold storage.

Eve, u should have asked for the ang pow back from MIL, say its for bb and that u will help bb save the money, She should not have kept it lor.. so inconsiderate! if not, ask HB to ask back from her..hehehe

Mimosa, pls take care.stomach flu no joke. actually if u want to BF, then dun take the anti vomit pill. pls also wash ur hands cos the mummies are correct, stomach flu is contagious.

oh littlefly, what happened to your #1 last wk? now getting better le ma?

visit ur gf, just during lunch time rite? guess it shd be fine ba... or u can consider taking half day, then can visit gf + go home to see bb too?

jenny: HAHAH. yes. i know. i had to move to the west cause my husband is a west-sider. Miss the east so much! oh thanks! ill go get it over the weekend.

Little fly: oh no. starfruit is right. water is really good for them. and use the saline drops for his nose. it'll be good for him!

Strafruit: thank you for your advice!:) yeah. i was looking through that too. but they are not active at all whereas,this thread is good cause u guys are all so helpful and being about 4 months apart, it really helps when i hear all of your experiences cause as a ftm, its all so new for me! currently, all the puree im feeding him is already using a spoon and a bowl. he prefers it that way too. I hope i am not hindering you guys too much in anyway though. =X

poohlyn, so have u decided to continue your boy or how? wanna share w u abt my boy's situation here, hope it helps a little bit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my #1 was born in dec 08, and so we sent him to N1 last year. and now he is in N2. well, i'll say he is crying almost everyday, until all the neighbours will say "oh he's singing national song again ar?", so its kinda normal that he will cry everyday, and its kinda loud too. then this year, in fact, we changed school for him. and i must say, this year he's doing much better, i wont say he stop crying totally, but at least, he's not crying everyday... yes, i feel for u, it's really heart pain to see our kids cry so badly everyday...

so my conclusion is, either the previous school is not so good or he's not ready last year. so u will need to think abt your boy's case too. for us, it really makes a difference that when we tell him at night that he will need to go school tmr morning (need to give prep talk), and he will say okay. he seems to understand better this year, so i'll say he's more ready to go school, he can enjoy better there. and one tip to rem, u need to assure him that after work (if u r working), u will go to fetch him. u need to let him know that u wont leave him alone there, its just that u need to work, so let him go n play w frens, but u will bring him home after work de. they will understand gradually de... HTH... let's jia you together! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Mummies for your kind words. Called my bbsitter during lunch and she sounded relaxed, said my bb ah-chewed twice but seemed ok. No fever but I am still worried if bb caught the bug from #1, my niece or others. Will leave office earlier today.

Mickey: #1 is better now. He had high fever, cough and runny nose last week. Doc gave him lung tonic (a milder version of singular) coz for past 2 months, he has been unwell quite often.

Good to hear your #1 is slowly adapting to school. Now he’s a bit older, he probably can understand mummy will be back for him after work. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi, I'm new in this thread.

I'm a May 2011 1st time mum, and checking if anyone has already started preparing for the 1st bday?

Any suggestions on how to go about doing it?

Yeay! Baby's play yard is here! I'm so excited! Hope she likes it! Now the challenge is to make enough space to put it up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]