(2011/05) May 2011

Jenny: yeah. I was like thinking "oh no, he's 5 mths but still on no 1 teat, how can?" That's why I changed it. But My boy isn't sucking any harder, he's just drinking slightly faster that's all. But I just spoke to someone from one of the bottles company and she said it doesn't matter what size I use as long as my baby is comfortable. So I guess problem solved!:)

My baby is still slping, reminds me of the good old times when he will slp from midnight till 1.30pm, leaving me with ample time to do my own stuff.

nicole: Glad that ur prob is solved. Some mummies here still using 0-6 mths teat too but I find it too small for my bb. He's using NUK 6-18M M size to drink plain water already.

Just told my sister about how I was pumping everywhere in Perth, on the plane, in the car, in hotel, etc. and she was so amused she says I should set a record by climbing Mt Everest and pumping there! Lol! She says I can then put a flag there saying 'I pumped here!'

jenny: yeah, the problem is cause i am using MAM anti-colic bottles and not many mothers use it, therefore it is a tad confusing!

oh! how old is your baby now?

Nicole: but i saw e link that you sent, it stated nid to pay $30 for e trial wor... i would prefer it to be at weekend if poosible cos i am working [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

GUG = Growing up Gifted, quite popular, think not easy to get a place too, might nid to wait, some mummies book it like long ago, haha...

If u looking for fun, learn thru playing and socialising, maybe can go try Julia Gabriel, another popular one, but their lesson is two times a week, 1 of them will fall on weekday, so i cant make it. until 18 months old then they will have 1 lesson a week.

Good husband: agree with your comments on the TV show, e director or e person who wrote e script must be a woman! haha... such hb only in e dream, or maybe Shang Hai have, not in spore! LOL..

Jenny: Thanks for asking! my BM still enough, bcos he is taking solid too. But e prob is i am going Bangkok in End of March, he is not coming so he got to drink FM, nid to find one tat he willing to take... ya, i mix cereal with BM, we tried to mix enfa in it b4, he gave a 'vomit' look =.= but luckily he seems to take Similac comfort now, although only 60ml, at least better than puking it out :p He is taking Earth's Best cereal, amt still not much, 3 milk powder scoop for breakfast, lunch and dinner he will eat porridge, i try to make it 3 meal for him since he is older now. But seems like most of e mummies are doing 2 meals a day. sometimes v dilemma, if he eats too much solid, worried his milk intake not enough, if eat less solid, worried nutrient not enough, worst thg is cant track his milk intake... haix... maybe i too paranoid :p

BB sleeping: at least you have some good old time b4, haha... i totally forget how it feels like to sleep longer than 3 hrs, LOL... but this mornign my boy nap very long too according to my mil, he slept from 930 to 1145am! maybe good weather to slp in? hehe...

Viman: your sis really super funny loh! hahahaha.... She nvr try to pump b4? kekeke....

Dear all mummies, thank for ur advices. I really dun know what to do. He use to be very playful, nw he only sit down quietly n tears or ask us to carry him. I very scare if i carry on will he go crazy a not. Cause i feel he keep thinking about it.

Do any mummies know kid must attend 2yrs or 3yrs pre-school? He nw 38mths(born in dec 08). Thks

Daphne: welcome bk! my boy still got abit running nose loh... Thanks for asking!

Poohlyn: aiyo, ur boy sound so poor thg... must go pre-school ah? can wait till he older a bit then send him to kindergarden? I heard a mummy say b4 that can try gradually let him adapt by starting to go 3 hr playgroup, then slowly move to half day, if adapt well then move to full day, can still do that at his age?

hmm... i so bored... no mood to work everyday.. and where is everybody? Lil fly? 2WW? Mickyboy? Deon? Jmummy? etc... having shopping gathering without telling us?? LOL...

nnicolechua (nnicole), I am oso using the MAM anti colic for my gal... ya.. the suction is abit slow.. when compare to avent teats.. now she older... it seems she prefer the teats of Avent now...

nnicolechua (nnicole) i let my gal use mam anti colic bottle too.. is flow is abit slower then avent.. but as she grow older... she seems to prefer avent much more...

nicole: I replied just now but post missing. My baby is 8.5 mths now.

Mimosa: Oh my baby dun nap for so long, the longest record is only abt 2 hours after his full mth. The long slping record is one whole stretch but he still wakes up and I feed him milk.

U dun have surplus bm in ur fridge to meet ur bb's demand when u are not in sg? Ur baby so lucky, got enough bm to drink till now, unlike my poor bb, dun even have enough from the first day he was born. Haha.

Btw how much porridge ur baby taking? On mon I gave him 5 tablespoons and he ate it but yest tried again and he totally dun want and buuu all the porridge on me. So till now still cun feed him porridge. If ask me to add dried scallops to make the porridge salty for him to eat I rather he just eat cereal.

Enfalac with cereal not bad, can blend quite well. The worst is mamil gold!

Pooh: Agree with mimosa maybe can get him to go when he's older. Or maybe try half day type but after he settled down. Its better not to bring him to sch now. Did u asked the teachers wat happened to him in class?

I only know its compulsary to attend nursery at 4 years old. Before that is optional

Dear mimosa, he attending pcf. Only 3hrs! Haiz....see him this way really heart pain. He can't eat well, can't slp well n always tears on his own.

Poohlyn: i think in your case better withdraw him first . If your son can't adapt school well I recommend when he 4 yrs old than go school. My son also Like yours that time 4 yrs old than I withdraw When he 5 yrs old than go pcf again but he also cry 1 week but luckily after 1 week he settle down slowly and adapt.

I feel happy for him that he adapt and can make new friends .

Jenny: my boy can nap long, maybe bcos he dun slp well at night i guess, keep waking up 2-3 hrly...

wah, 5 tablespoon is alot! about 1 full bowl right? he depens on his mood de leh, sometimes eat a few mouths then dun want liao, sometimes can eat more than half a Ikea baby bowl (those colorful one, u knwo which type?)

u just cook plain white porridge for him now ah? i think cereal better than white porridge bah, cos got added iron etc. Ya lo, dun add scallop la, it is seafood leh, and heard v salty, seafood still cant eat now right? y not try to add vegi in? like pumpkin, carrot etc, will make e porridge v sweet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

u start to give him meat or fish already? my boy dun really like fish or meat leh, always eat less if i put in... but i am going to cook chix stock this weekend, wanna try use it to cook porridge, see if he likes.

tat day Dr Chan said can try give him mee sua, i told her i heard mee sua v salty, she said cook it in water, will wash away e salt, dun know true or not... any mummy try b4?

Poohlyn: oh no... 3 hr already like tat ah? i hear liao also feel heart pain leh... =( ya lo, u got ask his teacher anything happen in school? or can try to let him bring his favourite toy there?

Dear jenny i thought they count by yrs instead of mths! The teacher insist nthing happen. The teacher say he can play in class. But when he go back hm is diff, even i let him play his fav ipad, he also don't want. I'm not sure whether the teacher tell the truth.

Poohlyn,

my eldest also go to pre-school now. My boy is opp your boy. He's bully all his peers for the 1st week of school. It's the way he's express his emotion..so i change him from full day to half day school and now he's much much better and can adapt well in school.

Maybe you can ask him, anything happen in school? Try to ask/find out from his teacher, or maybe you can work together with his teacher? Some kids need more time than other kids to adjust with school life.

poohlyn: yah, jen is rite.. kindergarten is compulsory but not preschool. take it slow from there.. if yr boy suddenly quiet down, not gd sign. i'll be worried mad too. i tink he might be scared that you won't come back for him bah or he felt "discarded"?

nicole: i upgraded my boy's teat when i think he drinks much much slower and lesser. i guess he's too lazy to suck hard. once i changed, he's back to norm speed and drank more liao. lazy bum.

mimosa: i read thru' the forum few days back but seems GUG review not as gd as JG. unfornately, JG sessions take place weekdays and with one option of 2 x week Sunday and Monday.

i tink kindermusik has not set date for trial. need to fill up the trial registration form and fax it to them. wait for reply.

viman: i like yr sis liao.. hahahahaha... LOL

bb intake: mummies, do you do meal replacement when giving solids like porridge or tofu or watever... or is it supplementary to the milk? i'm afraid bb not eating enuf so will always give milk 1 hr after he has porridge or soft food.

jenny: mopping and sweeping floor is quite an achievement if your husband is able to do it properly! I never let my hubby wash dishes becuz it all comes back dirty..

mimosa: Recently, my hubby told me his sis's husband had an affair. They quarreled, but patch up eventually citing "stress at work" as reason. Then my husband summarised the whole thing: 90% of married Japanese men will have an affiar... So i keep tight control of finances, haha

Jenny: i dun keep frozen BM bcos my boy refuse to drink it.. hmm... shld i try to train him on frozen BM too? My ss also droping, now enough bcos he is eating solid as well, else sure not enough... ur boy is lucky to have you by his side to take care of him too! see how chubby he is now! Mummy's love and care is way more valuable!

Sorry to intrude on your thread..

I'm a May'10 mommy.. I've recently did a private spree for Earth's Best Toothpaste and have some spares to go at $6.80 (excluding postage).

Kindly email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

Thanks,

Jess

Flashcard Vs Ipad: Do you think Ipad is the latest version of flashcard? i saw a lot of kids gluing to ipad and really afraid that my bb will be so used to ipad and glued to it!

hmmm... on mummyzen's post... i've been warning my hubby time and again tat if he EVER stray, there'll absolutely no turning back in our marriage.

of cos say say only... if it really happen, i also dunno wat i'll do...

poohlyn: agree with Qin too y not withdraw him first.. kindergarten is compulsory but not preschool...

Eve: Me also like u scare bb not enough.. will also give soft food..

Mimosa: Mee sua!! did not try before.. sound gd will try out...

Mimosa, I'm here I'm here.totally too busy with cny that I got no time to chat here.been silently reading all along.my cny program lasts for 15 days.totally packed or the whole cny lor.

But I can't help but want to reply to poohlyn. Maybe you want to withdraw your son n put him with you in those paren accompanied class so that he gets used to class n socializing before you leave him there?I think he is suffering from separation anxiety n what u r describing doesnt sound healthy.perhaps you want to go slow?

Mimosa: ^5.m girl wakes up every 2 hrs too!n sometimes it's getting on my nerves!she can't fall back asleep without latching. -.-

Enrichment classes: I check JG.If I'm not wrong,they have weeken classes only.I called to check before cny.they managed to get a trial for my girl.but it's her nap time so I rejected their offer.n yeap.their waiting list is very long! I'm now undecided between GUG or my gym.I thought 1.5 hrs is too long for my girl when she couldn't take even 1hr.so I'm thinking of gym class where she gets to move about n there is music plus she gets to socialize. R u all interested?

Mimosa: maybe you want to wait till baby A is 1yo before introducing meesua?I think the salt content is there even with soaking the mee sua 1st.

novi: thumbs up!!

jmummy: oh.. i fed my bb with mee sua already on 1st day of CNY. hee... and he loooves kway teow too!

i also interested in gym class. u gg? nicole gg??

Dear all, how to go slow? I very confuse nw. What is compulsory? Nursery consider what compulsory or optional?

I talk to the teacher before, they say he is ok in sch. But i find he not ok at all. The changes on him is so great. Every morning he will start to cry all the way to sch.(1hr). I really afraid that he think too much, nve eat or slp, he will go mad. Haiz....

Eve: ya, JG nid to attend 2 times a week, at least one of e lesson will fall on weekday, which i cant make it..

Kindermusic: we need to submit together so that to go one same day??

mummyzen: ya, i heard tat b4 too... haha... really admire u!! really know how to manage your hb! LOL...

Jmummy: ohh.. then i better dun give.. How abt Kway teow?? got salt? no right?

Mimosa,

Shanghai husband is realy like that meh?? Coz my bro in law is shanghainese but i never see him doing household leh.

Poohlyn,

last time, i've seen child psychologist to discuss what we have to do with my son. The psychologist give us some tips to handle my son's behaviour. But i think, you can talk with your son, talk to him when he feel relax or about to sleep.

Maybe you can try hypnoparenting. When your son's is sleeping or about to sleep, you try to wishes something to his ear, you can say that you love him and kiss him 1st, then talk about good things about school, etc. I heard shicida also have this kind of technic. I did that also with all my 2 kids, so far i also see improvement with my son in his behaviour in school...dunno it's because of hypnoparenting or he start to understand the consequences if he's notti in school.

Mimosa,

Ya lor! Lucky her. Exclusively latched both kids; they never even had to taste fm! I would have done the same if my baby didn't have to be in ICU for 2 months after birth! No choice but to pump and take to hospital every day...

My baby is doing great with slping on his own these few days. Just give him pacifier and bolsters and turn on the mobile and walk away. Hope my husband dun spoil the trend again.

mimosa: My baby used to wake up every 30 min at nite too but after his two bottom teeth comes out, he's back to normal. 5 tablespoons quite little, make up to less than 1/4 bowl leh. I measured before the tommee tippee bowl I use has the same capacity as normal rice bowl. For cereal he can eat up to 3/4 bowl.

I tried making veg stock and cook the porridge and added puree but he doesn't even want a bite. Last two times I tried was with fish, coz I was eating bai du yu so gave him a bit. First day he finished but second day spit out the fish. Yah, dried scallops are extremely salty but my mil insisted that I use dried scallops and make porridge for my bb so got nutrients. Like real!

I think mee sua quite salty leh. But seems like a good food to feed baby, so just feed it plain? My baby eats anything I feed him out of my spoon or finger but with the same food in his bowl or spoon, he wun touch it and he must see me eating first. Same as my doggy. Last time my bro bought a treat for her she wun eat then I told him must eat for her to see. After he ate a bite, she immediately wanted to eat too.

Wow ur baby quite picky hor? Dun drink fm and frozen bm. Lucky my bb drinks anything, I change any type of fm also he drink, and I gave him frozen bm he also drink.

Pooh: Ur son is born in 2008? If like that this yr must go compulsary nursery already rite? I also scare in future my baby might cry when bring him to nursery coz he's nv left alone.

Eve: I replace my bb's milk with cereal at nite when he finish up 6 tablespoons of cereal.

I told my husband if he has another woman outside I'll cut him and divorce him.

mummyzen: Isit true that for jap husband must walk in front and wife must walk behind? Last time I work in a jap co my manager is very quiet and seems to be nice. Then my sup always joke with me that he go home and beat his wife. Coz jap men mostly da nan ren.

Yes, I am interested to go for any of the classes but I'm just wondering if it's okay for him cause he's only like 5 mths? He can't walk or crawl yet. So he's just jumping around on our laps all e time that's all. Can he attend? I'm kinda keen on kinder. Maybe I call tomorrow and let u guys know after Tt regarding the arrangements and stuff?Yeah, I'm working too. So can only do weekends!

Yes, I know that mam tests are a little slow but it is really good! At least to me. Gotta find a way to make my boy start on 4 months teats!

What did you guys start ur babies on first? I was thinking either carrot or potato or sweet potato?

nicole: Hmm I started my bb with brown rice at around 5 mths, and only brown rice for about a month cuz he refuse other things, esp those pureed food hand made by me!! ==|

No choice had to buy baby food from NTUC, but he's oer that phase le, now he eats everything I put in his bowl, healthy mix of fruits and veg and I'm happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny, i very confuse! Not sure whether is it compulsory! If compulsory that mean i can't withdrawl him. If can't withdrawal him wat can i do? I really lost!

Sorry mummies.no time to reply till now.

Mimosa: kway teow should b fine if baby A knows how to chew n swallow.As it's made from rice.but I suggest to go slow just in case he chokes.

Poohlyn: I guess depends on what you want to achieve for the child during class. For right brain,there is shichida n my little genius.for phonics n hands on,there is GUG and JG.for gym,there is my gym,gymboree.for music,there is kindermusic,and there is also swimming classes.it really depends on what you want.for me,I may be putting my girl in gym classes to work her reflexes.bcuz she is slow in everything!!can't crawl and can't cruise.and I believe the gym class duration is just right for her. Regarding your son,I guess to stop him immediately.learning should b a fun process and not like what you describe.wait for a while before bringing him too parent accompanied class.don't b too anxious.some kids tend to like it slower. I'm sure when he finds a class he enjoys,he will be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nnicolechua: you can give baby avocado or single grain cereal as 1st foods. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

poohlyn: From what I know now from 4 yrs is compulsary. Maybe u want to join in the forum for ur boy's birth mth n year and ask the mummies there? Last time during my time only kindergarden is compulsary but a few yrs ago my colleague told me now nursery for 4 yrs is compulsary as well.

Nicole: I started on the wrong first food, a mixed puree and caused my baby to have hives. After that I started on plain rice cereal. My baby hates puree so not going to give him anymore.

Thank you all mummies for your help and suggestions! I was Pretty hesitant about starting my son on cerals or brown rice as the pd told me Tt some kids actually ended up having allergies. And I realize that the teats he's using now is too small for e cerals to be mixed with e milk but Tt naughty boy doesn't want to start on teats with a faster flow or bigger hole!

Jmunmy: but wouldn't be avocado be a little too cooling for him? So I gotta steam then blend it as well?

I'm like learning everything along the way. There's so many differen opinions that work differently for different people!

Nicole,

No need to steam or blend avocado. Just choose a ripe one, scoop out the flesh and mash well with a spoon. Mix with bm/fm and give. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb food: i started with cherries! hahaha.. not the whole fruit lah.. jus let him suck on the juice and he's so excited! den move him on to rice cereal on 4th mth but in between will give him fruits whenever we eat too. so far so gd.

jen: use fresh scallop instead of dry scallop? sweet and soft also. my boy hates porridge (jus like daddy). only eat 1/3 bowl and stop.

my bb same like yours. like to eat from our spoon, cup and bowl. all we have to do is to take 1st bite and he'll love to have it. babies are funny...

nicole: your bb can still suck cereal fr bottle w/o using Y-teat? wow...

novi: hypnoparenting really works? hmm.. i shld try it out.. on both daddy and son! wahahaha....

Nicole: Plain rice cereal is the best for starting solids for baby. Yest I was reading on some playtex stuff and I saw they have a teat for introducing cereal to the milk bottle. But I think since ur boy is already 5 mths he shld be trying out from the bowl instead? Maybe just try one tablespoon first and see his reaction. Mimosa;s baby has allergy with nestle cerelac and most of the mummies here recommend using organic cereals but too bad my baby is on the unhealthy side and only eats cerelac.

Eve: I love fresh scallops! But I haven't intro seafood to him yet. Yest after reading mimosa's reply that cereal is better than porridge makes me feel better. At least my baby is willing to eat cereal. Maybe like u, my baby also follows his dad who hates porridge.

LOL on ur hypnoparenting on ur hb. Maybe I can try out too!

Mummies, guess what I am doing now?

Queuing up to buy ToTo hongbao!!!! Lol.

Hope lady luck will shine on me a little bit tonight as I have never once strike before.

Little Fly: Haha, they are saying u're shopping while u're queuing for toto. U go hot spot to buy? I only strike $20 and $30 before, and my 4D I only win $10 before, worse than u rite? LOL.

Hello mummies, I never buy 4d or TOTo before! Dunno how to buy leh..

Anyhow, I want to check on teething, how many teeth your bb have already ah? Mine only 2 lower and one upper slowly protruding out. But he's going to be 9 months in a week!

Last time I saw a nine mths girl in Bangkok, she already 8 teeth!

Hello mummies!! TGIF!! But i v suay today, ganna saw by my boss that i am using FB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Liu nian bu li!! T_T

Novi: Abt Shang Hai hb, that is what i heard leh, they said they v househusband and scared of their wife one, haha... or maybe they refering to those married to shang hai girls, heard tat shang hai girls very good in controling their hb. my bro now has a shang hai gf, my dad so worried, v funny, hahahaha....

Poohlyn: if u not sure whether can withdraw, maybe u check with the teachers? or like what jen said, check e relevant forum and ask the mummies there?

Viman: oh, lucky her, how i wish i no nid to pump too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny: tat is good news!! my bb can nvr slp by himself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ya, my boy v picky... last time he drank FBM and FM, but after sometimes nvr give him, he rejects! Maybe his taste bud grow more sensitive :p haix! lucky i dun have much FBM also, else sure heart pain... good that ur boy not picky!! like tat then can grow well, not like my son, drop to 50%tile already T_T

Nicole: white rice cereal, banana, avocado, would make a good bb first food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Brown rice better wait when he is near 6 months. ya, rice cereal better choose carefully, no gluten if he is younger than 6 months old, better if with added iron [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] starting try to give organic if u can.

You can refer to this useful website: http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/

Lil Fly / Jenny: I NEVER strike anything b4!!! LOL...

opps, lunch time again, brb!!

Little Fly: Wow, you tempting me again! but then look at the queue, i sian already.

We have a xing ma here... and maybe we will also have a toto ma here!! hee hee.. all the best in your toto!

Viman: Oh, i have to mix it with the milk? cant feed it just like that?

eve: No la. i heard that cerals have to be mixed with milk so it has to be in the bottle, no?

jenny: yes. i am currently feeding him apple from the bowl and am intending to do so for carrot for him tonight. oh okay! so i can get him to eat white cereal mixed with his milk in a bowl? i am thinking of organic too. the best for my son. i'm like so kiasu! hahah. i even bought organic eggs for him.

mimosa77:yes, i told my fil not to feed brown rice too! told him he's way too young! yes. i am intending to go for organic ones. can it be easily purchased at ntucs? thanks for sharing the webbie!:)