(2011/05) May 2011

Novi: So will you try it for #2? so i guess its not that essential to buy la hor? then did you prepare flash card too?

Wow Viman, your luggage must be very very very big! cant imagine myself doing the same time. im sure to forget some of the parts!

WT: Yah, you should check in more and talk to us more. Congrats! your bb can stand le! think mine still need a couple of months more!

Jenny: Seems like you are a good wife hor. hee hee, making coffee for hb? For me, i dun think i will do so coz its always me who bully hb..

Morning mummies... whao viman .. u so fast come back le? how's trip? enjoyable? mine not so in melb when with bb.. hahaha.. alot of places did not get to go...

I am a sep mommy but i was hoping that I could join your chat as you guys seem more involved and cause all your kids are way older, it would really help me as i am a ftm and sometimes it gets so overwhelming and i get so confused! Will that be okay?

Thanks!:)

WT: LOL. Good idea to use his ang bao money for a new necklace but his ang bao money not enough to cover my necklace.

Viman: Now my baby takes longer than 5 min. He's very clever, dun want to finish milk so fast so he puts the teat in his mouth but nv move his mouth so that no milk can flow out. But I would say no matter wat still faster than usual timing, now longest time he can take is 15-20 min. Previously what type of bottle u using?

Yest I saw a BP selling bottle liner, after feeding just throw the liner away. Seems to be a good thing to use esp when outside but not sure if NUK bottle can use.

2ww/starfruit: Oops, nv write the fact that I nv make for him. After finishing my housework I dun bother, just sit down and use computer. LOL.

nicole: Sometimes I go in apr or mar forum to read a little so that I can know what will happened to my baby soon too. LOL

2ww: oops, 被你发现了. Are you my boss’ spy? LOL

I had the Baby Can Read flash cards for #1. Not a must-buy item but if ur hands itchy, then go get it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So far, my $$$ in Leapfrog’s letter factory series yield more results.

Jen: I ‘TOLD’ my hb to watch daddy 101. He knows of this show but just ignored me. You are so sweet to your hb, I only make for him if I am in damn good mood. Btw, did I mention when we were back at my mil’s place during CNY, I did everything for the 2 boys and hb just statue there.

Nnicole: welcome!

jenny tang: yes. i've been reading but its so overwhelming sometimes! and do you know how to go about operating this forum whereby if people replies to the thread you comment on, you would receive an alert or smth? and does your baby have a problem when you change the teats for his bottle? like its soo fast, cannot adapt or what

Hi mummys. Been busy prepare my elder for k2 spelling . So tense and stress. Today is his 1st time spelling at least he can get 2 word out of four correct I very happy nv expect him get full mark. Dun want give him stress

Good morning mummies!! Today no mood to work, going to slack abit, hahahah....

mummies, anyone took ur bb for long flight b4 like 12hrs? My boss just told me they need to send me to France in Q2 (either April, May or June) for training for 2 weeks, it is a norm in our group tat everyone nid to go there once... and my hb wanna bring bb to join me there... but worried that bb might not be able to take such a long flight even tho he would be 1 yr old by then.. and i plan to bring him back to HK and china after he turns 1 yr old too... like too much travelling for him..

Jenny: i also LOL on the ur Xmas tree comments! u so funny n sure have good memory! hahaha.... and u and lil fly's conversation sure make me laugh! LOL...

Mickyboy: high 5! my hb also say if bb wants me to carry means he wants to drink milk =.= really like a nai ma... haha... seems like most boys are like tat hor? playing go to daddy, food go to mummy, lol...

Eve: wah, envy u leh, ur bb knows how to kiss u, so sweet! Last time my bb got eczema on his face, so i dun really dare to kiss him, scare worsen his condition, but now his face is clear, i will kiss my boy more from now on, hope he can learn too! hahaha....

chain: my boy also like to play with ppl's chain, he plays with my mum and my dad's chain, lucky their chain quite thick so nvr broke, else i sure bankrupt, haha... and he once pull my dad's chain and let go 1 hand when he standing, but fall immediately, haha... Oh, and he likes to play with e button on ppl's shirt or my button when he is latching, lol...

Viman: Welcome bk again! hehe... i applied some cream tat pd gave on my boy immediately. His rash cleared up the next morning, phew... Thanks for e concern! ya, dare not try nestle prodcut again, maybe wait till his is 1 yr old :p

btw Milo is from Nestle ya? just now i saw a mummy comment in fb, she add milo in her bb's FM cos bb rejects FM too..

opps, lunch time, will continue later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little Fly: U watch the show too? My husband says they are acting. Did u see brandon? His wife delivered and he took care of two children all by himself and both so annoying and he can still smile. Really pei fu him. If he's not acting and really so sweet I think his wife has the best husband on earth. The calvin part a bit fake lah, coz got confinement nanny why he still must bath baby himself.

Nicole: I dun think got such a function, I just bookmark this page and come here several times a day. Yes, at first when I gave him he kept choking coz for Y teat i think the harder u suck the more milk come out but after 2 days, he's coping very well and no more choking. I think pigeon also have 2-3 mths Y teats, maybe u can check it out.

Mimosa: I think milo is from nestle. I would say I'll nv add milo to my baby's bottle coz its so sweet, contains choc and milk (I think) and its pretty heaty to me. Maybe I'll only introduce milo to my baby when he's a lot bigger like at least 2 yrs old.

OMG Jenny: You are really good wife! I feel guilty now... After my hb comes home from work, I'll handover all the baby work, change diapers, feed him, shower etc all done by hb... Make coffee? He make for me, never other way round.. You must be more assertive and in control, don't be too "xiao nv ren"..LOL

mummyzen: THanks for saying I'm a good wife, nobody ever said that before. LOL. I also tried to handover all my baby's job to my husband but he became very clever ever since baby is born. Last time can finish his dinner in 5-10 min, now min 30 min. Then slowly do this and that. The whole nite he only have max 30 min to play with baby. Even during weekends he will keep saying he wans to poo. When baby naps, he will play games then when baby wakes up, he will say need to do this and that.

Not that I xiao nv ren but sometimes if he dun do then I must do, if not the chores will nv be completed. But I nv make coffee for him lah. Haha. He says he's tired from work then I say u think I not tired taking care of baby? Taking care of baby is more tiring than working!

jenny, for bottle liner, u need to use the special bottle for it. not all bottles can be used. cos if u fit the liner in your normal bottle, the milk will leak out.

starfruit: U got any idea if any standard bottles have such things? I think its useful when outside but my baby hates wide neck bottles.

Viman: ya, agree with starfruit, your bb A looked so well behave in the picture, and sat in e stroller willingly, my bb A can nvr stay in his stroller for > 15 mins now =(

Jenny: LOL again on your story abt the guy on MRT! i think his legs must be super tired, legs very 'sour'!!! hahaha...

my hb also will geh siao geh siao, but i try not to let him off, haha... i will nag and ask him to do, now he will do some baby stuff, like wash all e bottles n pump acc, he washes e toilets too, think he feels guilty bcos now i do all e nightfeeds and daytime nid to work, i will be v angry if he give me face to see when i ask him to help take care bb, fight a few times actually :p but he still will chaw geng like ur hb, always nid to poo, each day poo so many times, waste food =.=||| LOL...

2ww: my baby is watching it every morning, his daddy just change his diaper and put him in high chair and let him watch, so that he can do sth else while i am pumping milk in e room, hahaha.... at first he also dun really enjoy, but now seems ok with it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I also not sure if it is useful, since buy already then let him watch lo, hehe...

WT: I make it a point that to put bb to sleep everynight after work, maybe u can try, hehe..

wah! bb G is so fast! congrats to him!! =D

Nicole: welcome!! i do receive notification email when ppl post in e thread tat i posted wor, i dun know how it was set leh, tot it is default, haha....

Mummyzen: wah, ur hb v good leh! somemore he is a japanese! i tot usually Jap guys are very 'da nan ren'? their wife must stay at home to be housewife cannot go out work etc, right? ur hb sound more like a shang hai husband! hehe... how u manage 'train' / convince him to do it willingly? must learn from u, hahaha....

Jenny: good idea to read e April or March forum! nvr tot of it, haha... but already so bz checking here, dun know got time to check there or not, haha...

Jenny: Oh, cause I am using MAM bottles as it really proves to be anti-colic. the thing is, he's turning 5 months now and it was my bad. i dint change his teats according to his age. So when i started him on the 4 mths one, he refused to drink and starting screaming, and then my in laws kept saying he will choke and die. -.- so I ended up buying an avent teat that fits the bottles but it is for 3 months. and the next jump is 6 months! no idea how i am going to make him try to use the 4 mths one.

Mimosa77: oh. cause i dint receive it, and i am like thinking how we can go about setting it!

and since everyone is on the topic of their husbands, i think guys more or less are the same ya? like they tend to think its more the mummy's job than theirs!

Nicole: i found the setting! You go click the "edit profile' icon on the top right hand corner, then scroll down until u see 'Additional E-mail Notification Settings' then you tick the "Relies to my posts". Hope it is clear :p

Hayashi,

Yah we had a really nice time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny,

I have been using Medela bottles with NUK silicone teats all the way.

Mimosa,

Oh! Baby A wants to be carried in arms is it? My sister's baby too! My bb is ok in stroller as long as it's moving and she is not sleepy or hungry, hehe. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jenny, try playtex range, they have the liner/drop in range. ya very convenient esp when u travel, no need to wash bottles at all.. lazy mummy!

hi mummies... today is mid week, 2 more days to friday!! but thurs/fri going to be busy day for me, so today hope to slack abit, lol...

yeah nicole/mimosa, that's the way to set the notifications. i used to set that too.. but after awhile, esp when i have no time to login forum, i get sooooo many notifications in my mailbox... coz mummies here really very active yakking de, haha.. so in the end, i do away with it le...

2ww, my leave not long lar.. i need to go back Msia to celebrate cny with both sides' families leh, so take one whole week better ma, or else sure i need to forgo my own side le. oh, i think novi has 2 kids alrd.. so u shd ask her, whether wanna try #3 instead? haha...

Mimosa,

For long flight, I would advise taking a late night flight. Our flight to Perth was at 2 am and bb was mostly sleeping through. Very easy to manage. The return flight was at 5 pm so she fussed for a little bit before it was her bedtime and then slept through after that.

2ww,

I never try with #2 yet. Dunno will give to my #2 or not. I don't have baby can read flash card coz i got the dvd by download from free website. But i buy some flash card and let my son see..but i am too lazy leh. At the end only keep it somewhere hehehe.

But my son, learn so many words from ipad and you tube nursery rhyme.

Mickey boy:

Closed factory liao. No more #3. Got 1 boy and 1 girl enough lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello, all mummies....

i really got to hand it to my bb... he's like a crocodile without taste buds, eats ANYTHING & EVERYTHING! guess what.. he kept scratching the neck and we thot is cos of heat/sweat etc so apply "snake powder" and cream... den 4 days later, he vomitted a lot of milk on the bed ... and TA-DANG! my mum spotted yellow paper on his tongue and started pulling out... a long stretch of scotch tape!!! alamak.. faintz... now 5 days after this incident, he's still scratching his neck. so afraid there's any residual so brought him to kk hospital this morning for x-ray and scope. luckily found nothing.

so mummies, pls watch bb... we dunno when he swallowed tat scotch tape or where he got tat from... very bad parenting... ="(

oh, mummies... anyone interested in bringing baby to enrichment class or have brought them to one before? can share? i want to bring bb to a centre where he gets to enjoy himself and socialise. of cos, being kiasu, if there's learning to it, all the better. heee....

jen: heee... my hubby last time also very slag... like you loh, i do everything cos he dun do until one fine day i so pek chek and wrote him a looong email lashing out. Den i forced him to prepare for nite feed i.e wash/sterilise the bottles, fill the flask and milk powder container. that's all his tasks. now, he's on auto mode liao.. hee... yesterday while he was on leave, even able to bring baby to lunch and dine with frens. i am quite proud of him now... =D finally "ku jin gan lai" liao...

Eve: Thank god your boy is okay! I am dreading the day when my boy starts to crawl as as of now, he is already trying to put everything into his mouth!

I am thinking of bringing my son to kindermusic. Apparently I heard that they expose your child to different music. Sounds good though!

Eve,

OMG so scary! I would have fainted for sure!!! Seriously, we can never tell what these babies will do. I am scared to even go to the bathroom leaving her alone, even if she's inside her crib!

Mimosa: Agree with u on the pooing part. Everyday he say he's going to poo then I will say to baby ur daddy is going to poo AGAIN then my husband say where got again. HAha. My husband washes the toilet floor and sweep and mop floor, I hate cleaning toilet floor and I got anaemia if I look down at the floor while sweeping and mopping I'll be giddy. And I cun wash the dishes coz I have eczema. If wan me to wash I'll end up at NSC and spend at least $100 so not worth asking me to wash the dishes.

Ur husband quite sweet to u lah. My husband dun wash the bottle. Sometimes I feeding baby and he gets noti and refused to suck, I'll ask my husband to take over then he will give me an irritated face coz he's playing games. -_-

I seldom go in mar/apr forum too, when I got nothing to do then will go in read a little and close le. Dun want to invade their privacy. LOL.

Nicole: I tink some mummies here also dun change teats according to age. For me I changed quite early, bb 5 mths I use 6-18m teat already. Wun choke and die lah, so kua zhang. When I feed bb with new teat, I wun hold the bottle so high then if he shows first sign of choking, I'll remove the bottle immediately, wait for him to be ok before continuing.

Not all babies will crawl. Now I only let my baby crawl in the play yard in my house so its very safe, no worries abt dirty or unsafe stuff getting in his mouth or him crawling away to dangerous places.

starfruit: I saw the playtex bottle but dunno if its good. I saw foxy has sales on it and watched the video but our babies already so big, no need to worry abt colic anymore rite? I'm not sure if baby would accept this new bottle.

Eve: OMG ur baby really eats everything! Have to watch him more closely. My baby only bites and chews but nv swallow. Last time I used to write him long emails complaining too but its very long ago and I write to him when I ren wu ke ren then he say he will change but less than 1 mth his old pattern will come back. So nice of ur husband to prepare nite feed. Last time we got an agreement that he feeds baby nite feeds during weekends then he jia jia say he will feed every nite. In the end after 1 weekend he refused to wake up to feed baby on weekends anymore and keep saying baby prefer me to feed. And the worse part is he always say himself like a very great husband to his colleagues and friends till they all really think he's a very good husband and daddy.

Need some help. When I take bb downstairs for a walk in her stroller, I meet a lot of elderly folk out on their walks. They are quite friendly and play with bb and talk to me also but in Chinese so I have no clue what they are saying. I think most ask "Boy or girl?" and I dunno how to say "girl" in Chinese. Could one of you please translate the below into Chinese so I can communicate better with them? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1. Boy or girl?

2. It's a girl.

3. How old?

4. 8 months

Thank you so much! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh dear. BAby is extremely guai today. Everytime when he's extremely guai, he is going to be extremely cranky the next day or two.

Viman: They will understand the word girl. 8 mths in chinese is 8 ge yue. U understand? I think u can point 8 using ur fingers too. LOL.

Jenny,

I can only say 'girl' if I know what they are asking right? Lol! So I need to know how you say 'boy or girl?' in Chinese first. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Today this lady showed me a thumbs up questioningly. Was she asking if it's a boy? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I can count 1-10 in Chinese but didnt know how to say 'months'. Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

LOL. Viman, boy or girl in chinese is "nan de hai shi nv de."

How many mths is "ji ge yue" or "duo da" for how big.

I think the lady is probably saying u have a very cute baby.

Thanks, everybody... Bb TJ is tough, as active like nthg happened thou he cried so hard in hospital. Bb really hv short memories. Hee....

Viman: dun worry. Nowadays even elderly also know bits n pieces of english n lots of sign languages. Boy/girl sure understand. I tink Jen is rite, they are complimenting yr bb very cute =D

Nicole: want to go kindermusik c c look look together? I'm interested as I believe music will keep bb cheerful.

Jen: u very funni... Tink too much of gd thing will hv adverse effect?

Eve: Agree babies have short memory. My baby fell from bed in the noon and after a few hours when I changed his diapers on the same bed, he was there flipping and crawling again, not scare at all.

Aiyah, this is bu xin xie dou bu xing. Everytime he's guai a thunderstorm is going to happen. No exceptions before. Anyway his crankiness started just now already. Haha. Hopefully tmr will be fine.

All mummies, i need advice,. My #1 going to school this year (nursery). He has been crying since 1st day of sch. The first 2wk grandma accompany him. On the 3rd wk we juz leave him there n we go off. After that i find he start to have nightmare, he can't eat much, he will sit down quietly n tears. Should i withdrawal him or should i carry on. 

Jenny, Eve,

Thanks! I actually thought the thumbs up was sign language for boy. Luckily I didn't show her thumbs down to indicate it's a girl. LOL! Must remember to say Xie Xie next time I see the thumbs up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny: ya exactly! That's what I keep telling them, but you know older folks. They just don't listen. Yeah, I did that for him too. But he's just not willing to drink then he gets super angry and screams. Im thinking if it would hinder his growth or what not cause he's using teats for 3 mths old when he's turning 5 next month!

Eve: yes, I would love to! Apparently I read on their website saying that different kids will be placed in different age groups! How old is your child? And I think there needs to be a min of I don't know how many kids in a class before they can conduct e lesson.

Poohlyn: I think maybe you should try to leave him at home for a day or two and observe if it gets better? I think he's very frightened if he's behaving like that.

poohlyn: how old is your boy? nursery? how about doing it progressively instead of 1 time few hours away? like maybe 1hr for a week then slowly increase to 1.5hr for another week?

nicole: ya, they say mixing kids in different age groups help them to learn faster and i do agree with tat. let's go for the free trial? =)

there's a form to fill up and fax over.

http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/docs/enq_trial_form.pdf

jen: i understand.. my bb is very "pang dang" also.. xiao qi... cannot attend wedding or birthday or watever white/red event. will sure cry and fuss non stop for days!! like u said, bu xing xie ye bu xin. =D

Poohlyn: I also enrol my elder just a few hours only when he 5 yrs and for 1 week he is crying that he dun want go sch.

I rem my mil tell me my hub go nursery also cry until dun want go sch, reach sch keep clinging to her leg. My fil is superticious type so he got temPle dun know where that time after that next day my hb is okay nO fussing le.

U might have to give him 1 week to adjust if 1 week still same than stop. I try my son for 1 week now he k2 le

poohlyn: I think maybe he is finding it very hard to adapt. Just like my son,when I brought him to my husband's side for CNY gathering, he literally lost it. I have never heard him cry this bad before, and he was having nightmares for the next 3 days and pooing green and watery stools. Is there anything you do normally when he fusses that will calm him down? Get him to do something that he likes, just you and him alone. And though I have no prior experience, but if this happens to me, I would withdraw him and maybe start him out in fun and enriching classes that I can attend with him, for eg, art classes or music classes that I would be able to sit in with him. Once he sees that you're around in the class with him, maybe he might stop feeling the fear because I think if you were to continue bringing him to nursery, he might grow up having a fear whenever he knows its time for school. Start him gradually again, and the best thing is, kids all have such short memories! so its easy to erase all the fear and unhappiness. I am not sure if it is helpful, but this is my personal take on this. hang in there!:)

Eve: yes! i dont mind. i think kids should have exposure to stuff while having fun at the same time! how old is your son? I'll go fill up the form later. It's crazy at work now.

Hello Mummies! 1 day to friday!! or i shld say 0.5 day to Friday!! yeah!! hehe....

Wah, today i am not only zombie, but also half dead... my M finally comes after so many months, so tired, cant stop yawning and my body like falling apart =( Other Bfing mums, how abt ur? came already?

Mickyboy: ya, i receive alot of email too! haha... maybe shld disable it too :p

Viman: thanks for e advice! but still quite worried abt taking bb for a long flight, also e jet lag etc... hmmm.. =(

LOLing on your 'thumbs down for girl'! hahahaha....

Novi: can share which free website u download it from?

Nicole: Starfruit has two lovely princesses @.@ paiseh i kpo help her reply, haha...

Eve: wah!! my gosh! really PeiFu your bb ah!! luckily he is ok, phew.... ya, really must watch over our bb closely, they really 'fast hand fast leg' one!

Thumbs up for your hb!! Hope my hb can be like tat next time when bb on FM, hehe...

nicole & Eve: kindermusic have free trial? really? when u gals going? Last time FB mummies went there for trial b4, but i forget what was their feedback... anyone can share? =)

I wanna go try GUG too, but still cant find time to call them up... u gals interested?

Jenny: wah, then ur hb also v good leh, do all e moping and dishes, hehe...

High 5* my hb also always play game on iphone and give me irritated look when i ask him do sth when he playing, he will like 'Sem Moh??' think Nicole is right, most men r e same, ideal good hbn only happen in TV program, haha...

mimosa77: hahaha. Thanks for sharing!:) Yes, there is a free trial. i have no idea when it is going to be yet though. When are you intending to do it, Eve? What's GUG? I will be interested if its anything fun and enriching! but he is still so young, like 5 months. i think i abit kiasu. HHAHAHA.

Those kind of husbands portrayed in the tv shows is a kind of deception to all women out there! makes us secretly hope that someday our husbands will be like tt too! hahah. i think the director might be a lady. cause i dont think men feel that such kind of guys are "good husbands!"

Viman: LOL. Luckily u nv give thumbs down.

Nicole: I read it before that u must change ur baby's teat one level up if u see him sucking harder and harder. At first definitely will have some difficulties like choking. Just monitor for two days and if still cannot then see how.

Eve: Hi 5. My boy also very pantang one. Everytime my friend come say this say that then he will show pattern. If they say he guai, he will cry like crazy. If they comment that he's fat or chubby, he will refuse to drink milk. But cun be rude to my friends to tell them to shut up coz they dun have babies. Last time I also dunno until I got my own baby. When I pregnant I even touched my friend sis's baby. Luckily her baby not pantang.

Mimosa: So how's ur baby now? U still got enough bm supply for him now rite? Btw u mix the cereal with bm? U ever tried using fm and see his reaction? Or he still refuse cereal after the previous incident?