(2011/05) May 2011

Baby books:

Saw some really cheap ones at Plaza Singapura level 1 last week. Actually, you can even show baby colorful magazines as long as you flip the pages and don't let them touch (danger of paper cuts). At this age, they are not following the words, just looking at the pictures only.

I read storybooks borrowed from library, choose those newer ones. And every night before forcing bb to sleep, I will read him a story. Although now all he wants to do is to grab the book and shred it to pieces, but there are some (precious!) time where he will sit still and focus on the pictures and colours.

I would recommend cloth n board books as starters.

Yes, like what Viman says, danger of paper cuts. It's just to intro books to them n let them learn how to flip pages. Later on can intro books which have flaps. Library is a good source coz kids like variety. My no 1 move from topics to topics. He started with construction machines, cars, plants, fruits and now very into planes and bugs.

Once u know which topics appeal to bb then not too late to buy so they can read again n again.

Stephanie: Your baby very cute in the trailer leh. Really surprise on how to control his laughter and cries! In the future when he is getting married, this is the best montage that he can put! haha

So angry. Baby woke up at 10.45am and I put him to nap at 2pm and till now still dun wan to nap and keep yawning. My mum keep telling me to continue rocking him and I"m at my mum's house with no auto rocker. I walked away then he cry my mum tell me to rock and rock I walk in and beat him. So irritating! Now I understand how those mummies with mum/mil staying with them feels!

Hi mummies...it's Friday!!2 more Fridays to go and it's new year alrdy.so fast..

Mimosa,ya.my 2 children keep waking up in the night I dunno y.maybe is a habit.cuz I stay with my mil.every time baby makes noise,she will come running up to my room.to avoid that,I always stuff my breast into their mouth when they make the slightest movement.no chance for them to cry.lol..

Cleaning poo: ya..I have been using tap water all along.even at home.my rationale is to let them get used to cold water.lol..mean rite..hahah..

Lil fly: I also want to change new notes!but always no time o go out in the morning.by afternoon,most of the new notes alrdy been exchanged..

Jenny: my girl also doesn't like to put on her clothes.I thought this is so funny.every time I put on for her,she will struggle and try to pull it away.n I realize she like to sleep in air con.w/o air con,we will b very fidgety during nap.on air on,it will b very smooth sleep.lol..

Insurance: I think I'm very kiasu.I bought all plans for my kids.life,study,hospitalization n accident.n they cost me a bomb.my kids better appreciate me when they grow up.lol.

Jenny: ya, french gal, will be doing planning kind of stuff...

Wah, the website is v good!! how u get the 10% disc coupon?? how long is e shipment?? alot of book i wanna buy for my bb leh!! but dun know whether shld borrow from libary first like what lil fly said... hmm...

Some mummies recommend Usborne books, so i bought one usborne book from kino, see attached pic. It is not board book which i abit regret, bcos my bb try to grab and tear one of e page, v heart pain, haha... and he try to eat it too... maybe i shldnt borrow from library, cos it must be dirty, what if my bb accidently eat it :S

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/6548245.jpg]

as for e books that i wanna buy from the website, i search under baby books and see according to popularity, usually popular means it is good, hehe... http://www.bookdepository.com/category/2456?category=2456&searchTerm=&format=4

lil fly: i think we got him a saving plan and also bought a hospital plan for first yr cos my hb said usually first yr will have higher chance to stay in hospital, will stop that after 1 yr, cos already have some coverage by CPF.

2ww: hahaha.... good idea! and agree that steph bb super cute in e trailer!! @.@

Insurance: I also bought critical illness for the kids..I thought all those are important cuz it helps to save some money.my daughter was hospitalized when she was 2 weeks.bills came up to almost $8000 for 1 week stay. -.-

Jmummy: good not to give pacifier, nowadays my bb will take the pacifer and put it into his mouth himself =.=||| but lucky when i take it out, he nvr cry, except if i do that when he was sleeping with it...

hi mummies... these two days i m rather moody, both at work and home, so nvr really have the mood to login n chat, today getting better, coz its Fri finallY! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

aih, i m so stressed seeing my boy crying when we send him to sch, dunno how it will be next wk... maybe lil fly is right, boys really have more serious separation anxiety? but i wont be able to compare, my #2 is also a boy, haha... so i will expect i need to go thru this stage again 2 yrs later huh? omg....

haha lil fly, i read back the previous posts.. u were saying we hold hands go shopping ar, how i hope i can do that too... u r so funny! so u went to banks to collect red pockets, i wanna do that too leh, y nvr jio? haha... in fact what we need to do huh, must change the new notes fr them then only can collect huh?

orh yishun gathering in Feb, got other mummies who are interested to join us ar? if so, u may register your names here... lol

Mimosa: A FB mummy recommended me this book, i am super slow with reading but so far so good. Coz it advocates daddy should play a bigger role and i can shove it to my hb and said 'nah, see this...' http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4420521.html?1325820178

Jmummy: can forget abt OCBC. Always so crowded and new notes are gone so fast. But their kids account hong bao packets quite nice.

Insurance: For my child, so far only H&S. Haven bought study/savings yet. Any recommendation? Agree H&S is sooooo impt!

Mickey: welcome back! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my #1 cried so hard and so much during his early days. Really heart pain. Can u ask ur bbsitter to take care until he's bigger?

Yes, need to withdraw $ to change new notes. Can also just pop at counter and ask for hong bao packets.

change new notes, if i go tmr, sure more crowded huh? so must take leave and go change in wkdays ar? aiyoh... hmm, is there a minimum amount that i must change?

Mickyboy: welcome bk!! Ya, saw ur post on fb... It will be my turn two yrs later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Lil Fly: even I am not HSBC customer also can take e ang bao packet?

Mimosa: I dunno pacifier gd or bad.I'm just afraid it will b hard to wean.cuz I dun like the idea of using pacifier whn they r 3/4yo like I see some of the kids outside.

Lil fly,agree with u.ocbc kids ang bao very nice.I wan 1 set!lol..

Childcare: maybe u guys can try wad I did.I placed #1 in playgroup for 2 hrs when he was 2yo.moved on to half day childcare when he was 31 mths,after he received his graduation very from playgroup.and nw he is at 33mths,he is at 3/4 day in childcare.so far he is alright.fingers crossed.and I can see he quite likes his school. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa: I haven't tried HSBC wor.. i just pop into POSB/DBS counters and said, 'red packets?'...saw many aunties/uncles doing that too. hahaha.

H&S - Hospitalization & Surgical. Seems like you bought it for BB A already. Based on the little i know, it is essential as any H&S charges can be claimed if u hv this policy.

Actually I am quite confused by so many types in the marketplace and scared to contact agents.

Later I ask so many questions and not buying..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa: Try putting a book into ur wish list and dun buy it. After some time, they will email u and give u a 10% coupon which u can use. =D I always do that. LOL. The shipment takes abt 2 weeks but I can tell u this co is extremely responsible! There's two times I haven't receive my books so I emailed them and they gave me two choices, one is to resend, another one is to refund. But so far I managed to get all the books they sent out. Haha ur baby eat the book? I think my book is far too boring for him so he didn't try to grab.

Little Fly: Talking abt OCBC very funny. Yest we received the SOA with some flyers. Got one saying deposit $1000 and get a child sling bag or another lousy thing. Then I told my husband what? Deposit $1000 and get to choose between two lousy gifts?

Mickeyboy: I dun change new notes for ang bao. To me is if u think the notes is dirty then dun take lah, return me better. LOL.

Insurance: I bought a life insurance for my baby, dun intend to buy education ones. If he wans he must work and study part time. Who tell him when I pregnant dun let me win toto. If not he'll be rich now. Haha

Library books:

Mommies, remember to wipe the library books before and after use since babies like to eat the books more than read them LOL! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I usually flip the pages of the library books for her, if she wants to eat the book, I give her her own plastic one to eat, keke!

Last time my baby used to be very happy when I read him books. Whenever I stopped and look at him, he will laugh happily to me. But dunno why a few days later whenever I read to him he will cry and cry. So after that I've totally stopped reading to him.

good morning, mummies!

o_O!

these few nites dunno y my bb will wake up in the nite and stay awake for abt 1hr... **yawn**

Collected my bb's passport today! His Daddy wanted to bring him to 'show off' his relatives in Malaysia during CNY. I really dread the drive! He was crying like crazy in the car during the drive to collect passport back. The minute i bring him outside, he stopped. He really don't like travelling!

Jenny: saw the ocbc flyer u mentioned today. I didnt bank in $1000 only $50 for the kids account. Heehee.

Eve: have u started ur bb on solids? Maybe he's hungry?

Viman: Thanks for ur tip on giving bb wet towel to chew on. Tried this today and helped soothe his itchy gums.

Little Fly: Get a mini xmas tree and put in the car? Haha. Sorry I sound bad. My baby enjoyed bus/car journeys coz he wants to eat my bag. Yest so funny I was on the bus and he was eating my bag. Then suddenly he turn over to the lady sitting next to me and wanted to grab her bag. She quickly take her bag away. LOL.

Eve/Hopeful: I bought my vibrating teether already from Kiddy Palace. After discount is abt $17+. And my baby loves it. He's still playing with it now. Just now I took it away coz wan to feed him milk and he cried coz he wanted to play more. Think its a good investment if ur baby likes to put things in his mouth and bite.

Lil fly, where will u be going during Chinese new year?I might be going there too.and I dread going so much!it's going to be a tough journey with a cannot stop moving boy n girl!!I shudder just at the thought of going.some more it's only going to b a day.

Morning Mummies

Working on a sunday.. I am so lost with the track

LittleFly - I bought a life, study plan and medical plan for my girl.

For the medical plan, I increased my coverage to ensure that once bb is hospitalised or refer to a specialist, I would be able to file for cliam. The normal medisave plan does not cover for some.

And also children disease is different from adult.. Hmmm, I got it right.. If you need info, let me know I can email you my policy details.

For my life plan I gor from Prudential call PAA> You can vary the coverage and the investment portion. N i got a study plan for too.. But I will be the custody polict tills she turns 21.

Mummies - Saw post on you ladies trying to get books from Times.. Hmmm, not sure if I got it right ?? But if you all need discoune, let me know cause I can get it.

Deon,

You work at Times? I used to work there, hehe! 20% off right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good afternoon, ladies!

Jen: I'll go KP n hv a look nxt wk. soooo bz with CNY spring cleaning. Sigh... Beri tired...

Yr story abt yr bb chewing the bag v funny leh! Lol...

My bb loves to chew the seat belt or the car seat tag. Saliva all over them !

Lil fly n jmum: me too!!! Got to go bk my hub Jb hmtown to show off bb. Super super sian ah but no choice leh...

Eve: My baby also likes to chew belt, his bouncer and high chair belt. And suck and chew till got sound. Haha.

I'm doing my last spring cleaning in the kitchen today. After this I'll finish spring cleaning. Yeah!

Jenny: Lol-ing over what u said. Btw, I went KP to check out on vibrating teether. Saw another cheaper brand and bot it. Hope will keep bb happy during the ride.

Jmummy, Eve: I am going to a town in JB but the drive is 3hrs without jam. Can be 5-6hrs with jam. Why do u go just one day? Then it would very rushed right? Last time I brought my #1 there, my arms almost ached from carrying but he cried less than this bb. Now, this bb moves non-stop and likes to cry. Argh.. super xian to even think about it…

Deon: that’s so sweet of you. Yes, I would be keen on the study and medical plan.

Come to think of it, I should be getting enough coverage for myself instead of relying on my company’s group insurance. If I commit to insurance, means cannot stop working coz got to keep up with the premiums!

Jenny: u’re super efficient! i am not even half-way done!

I am fasting now for tomorrow’s medical checkup.... really have to drag myself to go...

Eve,lil fly: I'm going to afamosa area.also about 3hrs drive.And I super don't like it.but no choice.cause I have escaped going for like 3years...don't know what excuse to give anymore. :p

Lil fly: yap.1 day.it will be very very rush.cuz going ard 1pm and returning the next day evening.no choice.cuz my pil going for a short trip on the 3rd day.haiz!mil insist have to go back..why r u going for check up?

Little Fly/jmummy: I think the cny mood in m'sia is better than in sg rite? I think sg quite sian, my friend always go back to m'sia and she say its very fun there.

Little Fly: Haha, I started the spring cleaning since Dec, do little bit little bit like that. So now all done le, can relax liao.

Jen: I started in dec too but still not done yet cos CNY bought a lot of stuff again! For 3 wkends, I'm still stuck with tidying the storeroom.. V difficult with a sticky baby ard... Alamak...

Msia has the mood n best of all, got lots n lots of fireworks!!! Yeah!! However, these r best appreciated with gd company, IMO. ;-)

Jmum, lil fly: I'll b gg to segamat, is 2 hrs after cleared custom. I dun like gg bk there cos I dun like my mil n dun wish to subj myself to more nonsense.

My hub wants me to take leave for the week n stay there. Told him many times I dun hv enuf leave to last the yr cos I'm always the one taking leave to bring bb chkups or when sick or when my mum is away. She also hv regular med chkup n even planned to b away for >10 days in march.

Sigh... Angry siah...

Did u realize tat BB's "luggage" is even bigger than the parents combined when gg on trip? Wahahahaaaaa... ;-D

Or am I the only over packer? ;-p

Morning mummies! Waiting for my turn to get poked by needles n 'donate' my blood. Argh. Since my company subside health screening then I go lor....

Jmum: what excuse u gave earlier? My hb don't have brothers only sisters. My SILs would gather close to mil talk n laugh so I always felt like an outsider intruding them during CNY.

Eve: u are so right. It's the company which counts. I really miss celebrating new year w my own 'clan'. We do the fun things like gamble or mahjong. At my hb's place, all they do is to sit n watch TV or gossip. .

Bb luggage? Haha, 2-3x mine!

morning mummies... its monday again...

orh lil fly, yeah i registered for company health screening too, but that is in Feb, i.e. after CNY. i hope i'm still alright after CNY, wahahaha...

lil fly, oh the situation is so similar. my SILs would also gather close to mil talk and laugh, at the dining table. Normally i wont be "invited" to sit there, i'm the one who will sit at the sofa playing w all the kids... sometimes i will tell myself, its bcoz i'm too young to join the old group, so it make sense for me to join the kids grp, haha... but ya, i feel for you, i will also felt like an outsider...

bb luggage? last time w #1, i think his is abt the same like ours. now + #2, i'm sure theirs will be much bigger than parents combined. hb always say i "think too much" and over pack... lol

Morning mummies!Monday blues again...

Jenny: ya..Malaysia definitely has better atmosphere than here.but like what eve said,I prefer singapore's company.

All my relatives r here in sg.and like wad lil fly mentioned,I'm just like an outsider there.they will just sit around n gossip.n I will seat around and take care of children..I prefer to gamble or mahjong here too.and main purpose of going there is for mil to show off my kids n how much my kids want to b carried by her.n I absolutely hated that!

BB luggage: lucky only going for 1 day.plus I don't need to lug bottles or milk powders.if not surely 2-3times more than parents too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mickey: ^5! It's not an age factor. It's a attitude factor. I feel very excluded. They also dump the niece on me and chat like nobody's business.

Really not looking forward to CNY. Before marriage, I spent the night up visiting temples n ate meesua. Went to nurseries to buy kimkat n cny flowers.Morning breakfast prata n can look forward to my clan gathering, joking n playing w my aunties, cousins all whole day.