(2011/05) May 2011

Jenny: I make them sleep early.I put them to bed at 8.45.usually they will sleep by 9.30.if not I will get angry n smack their buttocks.lol..

Stephanie: ya.I agree mil is a tricky issue.gd to haf.but if dun haf also ok.do u understand wad I'm trying to put across?lol..

Jmummy,

Hehehe... Today was trial only la that's why I just anyhow make. But it was fun to see the cake rise like 2 inches above the coffee mug within 2 mins! Will improvise later by using a proper container and vanilla essence, etc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman: I can nv imagine myself baking cakes like that. If I anyhow make like u,my cake sure cannot make it.I'm. A very receipe person.everything also need receipe de.even cook simple dish like fried rice.if not,the food that I cook sure inedible.lol...

Morning mummies! It's Friday!!

Finally.thought this week passes a little slowly.2 more days to Xmas gathering.can't wait.but pressies haf not been prepared.so last min lor..lol...

Good morning!! Weekend is almost here =)

Deon and bunnymum: So sorry to know abt ur mil and fil... your story really remind me to appreciate what i have right now, and try to look at ppl's good side, no one is perfect ya?

Bunnymum: ur mil sounds like e kind of person who only love herself, not even her own hb wor...

Steph: yeah! welcome to gatecrash!

WT: hehe... cya soon!

Viman: jmummy is right, u r talented! i dun think i can do that too, lol... even with those pre-mix one, i also make it a mass, hahaha...

jmummy: ^5!! I also havent prepare the gift, hahaha...

Mummies, I need your advice... on Wed, my bb tried to snatch the BM when my mil is pouring it to e btl, the btl of BM got splashed on the floor, my milk is just enough for him everyday, so now short of 1 feed. Yday afternoon got to supplement him with FM, but he REJECTs!! my gosh... he screamed and cried, dun wanna drink, then my mil try to feed him porridge and vegi puree, he also only eat a little bit, even vomit out everything when my mil tried to feed him FM again! rather go hungry and keep crying! finally calm down when my mil took him for a walk... we quickly warm him BM when i rched home yday night. but today e BM still wont be enough for him, somemore now he rejects cereal and not sure wanna eat e puree or not.. i am so worried... only if i have more ss! then i would not nid to worry he will go hungry when he rejects solid or FM. And what if next time when i wanna stop bfing, will he drink FM? my mum said i shld let him drink FM now, at least 1 feed a day, to let him get used to e taste, shld i do that?? =(

Sorry for my longwinded post....

Mimosa.. ya.. i suggest u try to slowly let him adapt to FM.. since your BM is getting lesser..

gee thk now most of our bbs teething.. tats y keep rejecting milk or cereals.. my gal oso like tat.. like on milk strike..

Hayashi: my bb no sign of teething le, he still drinks BM.. he rejects cereal since that time he got hives after eating e Nestle cereal... he got phobia on cereal already =(

Jmummy,

Hehehe... Must experiment and take some risks. Then only will inedible become incredible kekeke! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa,

Try pumping once extra In a day and freezing it? Just to have an extra stash of bm? But yeah if the plan is to get him on fm, then good to start now, maybe one feed in the day can be a mix of bm and fm? Start with less fm in the mix and then slowly increase qty?

Hayashi: cos after that incident he rejects cereal, so we think he got phobia lo... we tried b4 mix with vegi or fruit puree, he still dun want... i tried Organix, happy bellis, healthy times, all reject... a lot opened cereal in e cupboard now =( frisocream taste better?

Viman: He dun like FBM too... and got to work le, not possible to squeeze 1 more pumping slot ah... ya, maybe i shld start doing that... =(

Thank you Mummies, feel so good to have so many listening ears.

Bunnymum - so sorry to hear that.

But agree with Mimosa that we have to learn to appreciate the people around us. Life is short and if we can put up with our own parent, why we cannot be more positive to our in-laws ? Just try to look on the good side of things, who knows people may also be looking at us on the negative side..

To me, I will wonder, will my daughter find me bothersome in the future too..

Mimosa.. hmm i nvr try b4.. :p but my gal so far ok eat it empty.. only today she did not want to eat aft a few mouth... thk u have to have patience feeding them at this timing.. my gal oso reject my new friso gold this morning.. sigh...

Mimosa,

You want me to bring you a sachet of Earth's Best brown rice cereal on Sunday? Let him try and see if he likes? The sachet is small so even if he rejects, you don't waste a lot...

Deon .. for sure there will be times when our gal grow up.. and feels we are nagging.. dun understand their feeling.. well thats the time we once feels to our mom isn't it.. dun worry.. take things at a time...

Mimosa and hayashi: my girl was on milk strike b4.n the paranoid n worried mummy went to admit her to hospital.lucky is only false alarm.

The thing that happened was she also refused milk totally from night to the next day afternoon.I saw a sort of sunken soft spot so whn to the pd.whn the pd was busy,told me to wait,I got angry.n went to A&E and the doctor over there admitted her and wanted to put her on drip. -.- luckily 2 hours after 12 noon,she started feeding again.n by then the pd came over alrdy.he said my girl was perfectly fine.no drip or medication needed! She is just on milk strike. N milk strike only happens to the clever ones.lol..he mentioned that the more we force,the more they reject.

He told me to feed her whenever she wants.meaning,if it's time for their meal,feed them.but if they reject,we dun force.we gif again 15 mins later.if dey reject again,we repeat the 15 mins.tis goes on until dey want to eat.if dey r hungry,dey will eat.if we keep forcing,dey will only reject totally n put up even greater resistance.

Sorry.so long winded..lol.

Viman: I like ur comment on the inedible to incredible.lol..I tink I can nv do it.n I won't haf the courage to even trial and error.

I think all mummies r great in their children's eyes.getting married is like learning to live with new parents for another 20-30 years.whn we were young,there were alrdy disagreements with our parents.now dat we are grown n haf our own thinking,the disagreements with a new set of parents will b even stronger!

Viman: oh, like not so good to trouble u wor, u so sweet!! =)

jmummy: haha... i can understand why u do that, i might do e same thg, but v funny, lol...

My bb not on milk strike la, he still drinks BM, just dun like FM.. haix... so fussy...

okok, then i better dun force him liao, if dun drink / eat then let him be bah, hope he will eat when he really hungry, haix...

Mimosa: I was in the cab when rushing her to the pd.I think the driver also scared.drove very fast.lol.. Ya.I think they will eat / drink when hungry de.cus babies r smart.dry won't force themselves to do things they dun like.don't stress yourself.take this as an opportunity to start on FM.

Jmummy.. thanks for your advice.. i oso brought her to PD.. and end up PD ask me go KK A&E. tat nite b4.. her temp up to 37.8 so i gave her medication.. thereafter she still cranky.. crying

so i try to feed her but totally reject it.. even 8 hrs later morning.. she still not interested in milk.. but keep crying.. end up i brought her to PD.. and he ask me bring her go A&E due to suspect of urinal tract infection.. heng is false alarm...

Hayashi: for my girl, I think she is totally milk strike that time.cuz the moment I lift up the shirt, she starts to cry. -.- but if given bottle she is ok.maybe u want to try other forms of feeding her? Actually I persisted in latching cuz I don't want to bottle feed her.that increases the phobia I guess.

Morning Mummies..

Mimosa: think u should slowly let ur bb drink FM, as u said ur BF got Lesser...

jmummy: i can understand u. my gal also the same.. bring her to the pd. the pd was so busy i wait for 2 hours than tell me better bring her to her baby doctor. as she only drink 120ml of milk per day. at tat time she only 3month so cannot give cereal... she milk strike for a month... so when she is about 4 month baby doc told me to give cereal... luckily she like it...

have u all tried buttersquash and carrot puree before? i asked my maid to steam n blend 50g buttersquash + 1 small baby carrot for 20mins. she told me very watery n bb dun wan eat. not like the pumpkin. is this like that?

mimosa: U are doing great already with ur bfing! I bf my baby for 6.5 months and the milk I produce through these 6.5 mths is even lesser than a normal mum can produce in less than a week. However, I'm very proud of myself to persist on already. When I was only expressing my milk, I can only give my baby max 1 bm feed in two days. Even in the hospital my baby was already taking fm, so he got used to any type of milk. I hope ur baby will soon start to drink fm too. Give him some time.

Mimosa,

No trouble lah, it's just one sachet from the many I have. Just let bb try. No point buying a whole packet in case he doesn't like. I'll bring it ok? Look for me in the sea of mummies. Though I will be super easy to identify lol! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jmummy.. to adapt her bad dinking milk behavior.. i try all sorts of way.. including walkin up and down.. swtiching bottles... playing with her... sigh.... headache.... so worry she cannot take enuff nutrients

mimosa, cld it be he doesnt like this brand? too sweet or what? u may wanna try other brand? see if some mummies can bring some for u during xmas party, then u dun hv to buy a new tin n waste if bb doesnt like.

hayashi, sometimes i will feed bb with him sitting on my lap, as in he's sitting upright rather than lying down n feed him. he likes that, esp when he has unfinished milk, last 30ml, i'll do this and it works... u may give it a try too!

Mickeyboy.. I DID tat as well... she is jus so hard to be serve... first time ok.. second time onwards.. change pattern..

Mimosa.. too bad i can't meet u all.. if can i try bring u some frisocream.. rice cereal

^5 hayashi, i m giving bb frisocream too... i just asked my bbsitter to increase the frequency to 2 times a day. how many feeds u give her a day?

u r SAHM?

mimosa,

yes, i agree my mil only loves herself. she was full of complaints of my fil when he was sick. tired of taking care of him etc etc. later on he passed away, she still blamed him for leaving her so early. we always say my fil cannot rest in peace.

many times i try to explain for my mil's behaviour and actions but i can never understand her. It just boils down to selfishness and self centred. Sad to say,everything is about her only, not even her own children. she could do the darnest thing and tries to seek approval by justifying for her actions.

one of the most terrible ones i have heard from her is my hubby's grandma was dying and gasping for air on her deathbed at home. My mil went to shake her vigourously and kept asking what happened. She simply likes to shake pple despite telling her not to do so. She shook my bb real hard when he was born too until someone told her not to due to some shaking baby syndrome or wat. She didnt believe and insisted she's right, taht last time who n who also like that, bb also ok. That grandma cannot breathe so she shake to see what happened. when we said she shouldn't do that, she wasn't happy. ANd i wonder what is her aim in telling us this story? To say she's right in shaking a dying person? Poor grandma, honestly. Grandma is a nice quiet old woman but mil often makes her out to be a very bad cruel mil. well, it might be i duno.. anyway i dun care abt that now. MIL is now the dowager in the family since grandma is gone. Just cannot understand.

what about pinkydap & jmummy, SAHM too?

ytd didnt have time to login, see many new names appear le. not bad ya, glad to see more mummies joining the forum... somewhere that we can complain abt mil, hb, haha... but today forum quite queit ya, mummies not back fr lunch yet? or some go out to look for the xmas pressie for the gathering huh?

i'm on holiday mood today, coz ofc just had the gift exchange session just now.... seems like xmas is really getting nearer and nearer le! yeah!~

bunnyman, what a good description - dowager.

last time my grandma oso like that, when my grandpa is still ard, i think grandma is treating my mum very badly. she can ask her to do all the house chores, eg cooking for 20-30 persons during cny without any help, just bcoz she said my mum is the first DIL, so this is her job! she still needs to wash all the dishes after cooking, very poor DIL i will say. actually, we are much more fortunate to be born in this era. grandma always think everyone will listen to her, but things changed after grandpa passed away. slowly, the two sons that she dotes a lot, also leave her, and even chase her out of the house! she is now staying with her daughter, but not the two sons/DILs that she loves and protects so much when they were young. and till now, my parents will still give her money as and when they gonna visit her.

sometimes, ppl just take it for granted. we will nvr know what happen the next second. only when things happened, then they will know the DIL that they always curse & swear is actually the one who cares her the most, or say who will be w them till the last day of their life! or if this day nvr happen, i will think... we will still doing the right thing by forgiving them, so that our kids/DILs will also treat us nicely in the future, just treat it as "积福" ba...

Thanks mummies for the advice! ya, decided to slowly intro him FM, hope he can gradually adapt to e taste XD

Jenny: Thanks for the consolation =) at first i also thinking to stop bfing when bb is 6 months, but since i have then i just give as long as i can lo, new target was 1 yr, lol... but guess now have to let him adapt FM ler..

And want to say, u did great too!! =)

Viman: okok, thanks in advanced then! =) Definitely will spot u! LOL...

Mickyboy: we r giving him mamil gold now, abt 1 month ago, he took once b4, that time he nvr reject wor... maybe his taste changes again.. erm, feel bad to trouble e mummies to bring milk powder esply for me leh... my face skin v thin one, hahaha.... =P

Hayashi: Thanks for e offering!

really feel so heart warming to know all the super super nice mummies here!! @.@

Hayashi: ya.iwas worried like u too.especially with the comments that she is not growing..but I come to accept le.like what all mummies say.as long as she is happy n healthy can alrdy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mickeyboy: ya.I'm SAHM.wanted to go out and work.but nobody supports me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] guess have to wait till my girl is of childcare age b4 going. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa: ya..i agree the mummies here are great!so glad to have join u all here.should have joined earlier.I was a silent reader here for 6 mths. :p

Just to rant: had a hard time making #2 slept just now.den when she slept for half an hour, #1 woke up from a nightmare n woke #2 up!I tapthem.n #1 fall back asleep.but #2 is flipping on the bad now!! Decided to ignore her! Tired max!

bunnymum: hmm... i know ppl tends to deny their own mistake, even myself also... i guess old ppl r usually more stubborn in that sense, maybe they feel insecure and low self-esteem, which makes her even more defensive and dun admit her own mistake.. anyway, dun let her affect u la, not worth it =)

Mickyboy: my office no xmas feel leh, so sian, hahaha...

oh, u means ur parents kicked her out of e house ah? =P

ya, we must try to be a good model for our kids, must learn to respect ppl and be forgiving =)

jmummy: dun worry, will nvr be late to join e forum! i also just joined not long ago =)

^5! haha... my mil also told me today my bb only slp for 30 mins, from 9-930am, in e whole morning, dun wanna slp even until me and hb going bk to office at 215pm! hope he able to catch some nap after we left bah...

mimosa, haha this is the first yr my ofc got xmas feel. previously when i was in the old dept, no such thing de, maybe bcoz the dept has more ppl. this new dept, only got 12 of us, so more possible to have such event ba i guess? they said, going to do one during cny too, not bad ya... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my grandma has 6 sons & 4 daughters, haha a lot ya. my dad is the eldest in the family. she dotes on 2nd & youngest uncle the most. she moved fr 2nd uncle's house to youngest uncle's house, and then finally to my 2nd aunt's house in the end. she wont stay with my parents de, coz she doesnt dote on them at all ma, she wont wanna see them everyday ar. give her money more useful, she will say.

Mickey boy.. Wat does sahm stands for? lol.. i dunno the short form.. i working... full time job.. mus work to Yang my bb... cannot dun work

I give her once in the day time.. noon time let her take brown rice.. hope to let her get enuff calcium and other nutrients.. i still trying to feed her up to 600ml milk...

ya jMummy ... is really affected me when doc say she is below average percentile bb growth... as if i never feed her enuff.. my MIl see my bb will keep saying.. she not fleshy enuff...

Haha. Now its turn to say abt grandmothers? I also have a bad grandmother on my dad's side. When my mum gave birth to me and doing confinement, she made her cook for some guests who came over. Then my mum had to climb up to take some pots or wat and her stitches broke. Then she ask my grandma to help look after us while she want to see the doc and my grandma faster run away and dun wan to help.

Another more ridiculous thing is when I was getting married she told us not to invite her or any of our relatives. And cannot tell anyone that I'm getting married coz my dad is physically disabled so cannot say. WTH is that? Then she add on that after I get married then tell her and she will announced to the world! That's insane! Now whenever we hear her voice on the phone we wil hang up and once she came over I totally ignore her, nv greet her and when she talk to me I also ignore her. Since she wants to make it so clear that we are not related then dun talk to me lah. And my dad is already unwell for so many yrs and she totally ignored him, when call also nv ask how my father is, only keep complaining abt this and that. And she even cry on the phone saying that she has a bad life coz she have to make coffee for herself.

Sorry for the long complain post.

Mimosa.. yes old ppl are more defensive... cause they feel they do things the same way as last time when they raise their kids.. y couldn't it be enforce using same way to raise nowadays kids..

hard to explain. lazy to clarify either.. so one ear in .. other ear out...

Deon: your post brought tears to my eyes. I am sure you did the best you could to your MIL. And she will be happy to know you have given her a cute granddaughter now. Thanks for sharing. Reminds us to look at what they have done for us (quietly) instead of what they did not do.

Viman: you are amazing with recipes!

Bunnymum: Sorry to hear about your FIL. He sounded much nicer than your MIL. I know someone who acts like your mil. They have bloated egos and are super sensitive. Best is to avoid contact. Whatever you do, they’ll find fault in you if you don’t pander to they desires. No, this woman is not my mil but a close relative.

Mimosa: bbies have short memory so he’ll get over the one-off incident. Try re-introduce cereal mixed with his favourite puree?

2ww, Mickey: gone shopping again? *wink*

mickeyboy: no.. i am a wrking mum...

mimosa: agree wif u the mummies here are great! all so nice.

cereal: i will buy those pack organic brown rice and use oven to bake the rice first than use those bender for power type to bend...

haha littlefly, i m here ar. it was u who gone shopping ba? too bad ar, i cant go n see u all for the amk gathering. we do another one next time k? but it will be a "no baby" event rite? as it is a working day, most of the babies will be well taken care by bbsitter or maid at home ya?

hayashi, its stay at home mum. so u r full time working mum, another short form for u, its FTWM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jenny, haha ya grandmother story time...

just now coll are discussing, who will be ard in the next 3 weeks. it seems like most of the ppl are clearing leave, too bad, i can only take 2 days, coz i dun hv much leave left, wld like to bring some to next yr for cny. ofc will be very quiet in the next 3 weeks...