(2011/05) May 2011

grandma: o luckily all my grandma very gd.. but hear fm my mil said my hubby father side grandma is not gd. my mil the first bigger DIL. so had to do all the hse wrk & help the daughter to wash the underwear. Even when her water bag broke le wan to go gave birth also ask her to cook for all her daughter first than can go... she only can eat after all ppl have eat... allway all been eaten up only have white rice to eat... after move out she bring my hubby go her hse n she will said no need to come no food for u all to eat.. y i hear all is grandma is bad but grandfa will be the kind wan.

haha hayashi, yes personally i oso think women are harder to get along with. when i go pack my rice at any mixed rice stall rite, if possible, i will wait for a male staff to pack for me. coz normally they are more generous. women ar, most of the time more 'ngiao' one, more calculative i'll say... tts y male boss is better, u think so?

haha yeah i agree males are easier to get along than females. i will miss my fil n will try to please him but not my mil. Tried before but full of complaints for my thgs. i stopped.

Little fly - yes correect word! bloated ego! her foster maternal family is super rich and always talked abt them but she being gal, bears no inheritance from it. Just as well, if nt my fil n bil has hard time controlling her expenditure. i have never heard my mil spoken abt her birth family until my husband said so n i asked mil abt it. Found out they were poor and she does nt want to talk abt them! she's nt close to them. that's when she also started the whole rubbish abt i shld go bk to maternal family once a yr after married. I tk it as she has no daughter so such remarks.

Mickey: today me slow with replies & reading. Post already then saw you around. Heehee.

Then 2ww went shopping herself ? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

YEah Mickeyboy.. but hor.. my ex male boss oso ngio lor.. always look at the clock.. when start work.. whoever comes in later the 8.30 all kanna email... lol

Yah, I agree generally its easier to get along with fils/grandpa. Maybe those I face are quiet quiet one and will not kpo or kpkb type. So quite lucky on this. Haha.

mickey: There was once I ate at lao pa sa Select veg rice. Then the auntie who gave me the rice is super duper stingy. She actually count the rice one leh. Then she count she gave a little more then she put back two grains back. Somemore I'm considered a small eater the rice she gave I not enough and I nv tell her I wan less rice! And that's the first and last time I ate there.

Oh I also agree male boss are better. Even though sometimes also will be angry but I think they are way better than female boss!

Wow so many stories about MILs! Think I must thank my stars I did not have to address any ugly situation on MILs because my hubby lost his mum when he was young. Instead I think my hubby will have lots to contribute about HIS MIL (aka my mum) to this thread! (Wahahahaha!!!)

Anyway I do acknowledge that we have had our issues with my mum and dad through the years. They haven't been the best of parent-in-laws, and we'd even kept minimum contact for quite some time before my boi was born. However his birth has been quite the turning point, as I've seen my hubby and my parents all turning up their tolerance for one another when they see everyone just wants the best for the little boi. I thank whoever is up there that blessed me with such a good turn of fortune. I hadn't thought I would ever enjoy such family ties in this life.

Dear mummies

I have the Haenim 6-panel play yard (Japan) for sale. It is still in mint condition. The play yard comprises 2 activity panels, 1 door and 3 plain panels (connectors are included).

We are selling the play yard at $135. Collection of play yard is at Jurong West Central (near Jurong Point).

If interested, please email me at [email protected] as I do not visit this forum very often. Thank you!

mummies, just wondering if it is possible for baby to be allergy to vacines? My boy had second jab of pneumococcal on sat and today I saw he had a little rashes on his mouth and neck. He did not eat any new food these few days.

Good morning ladies... it's monday again... blues...

not many posts since last fri ya, it seems that most of the mummies here must have brought the bb out and enjoy the weekend ya! how was the xmas party? must be a real fun one huh? must share photo ya...

jenny, not sure abt the jabs. but my bbsitter always say, bb is allergic to the paracetamol, he always has rashes after he took the med. u gave the med to the bb too?

mickey: Yah, I gave it to my boy once we reach home but have been giving him that since the first jab and no issues. Yest nite his neck has quite a lot of rashes! But he didn't cry. Later when he wakes up gonna check if the rashes are gone.

if this is not the first time he took the med, by right, shd not have any prob de... or perhaps just heat rash, esp the neck area. if its mouth, just try to wipe his mouth more diligently will do ba...

I think might be due to cereal coz when he eat cannot wipe his mouth, he will cry. Coz can only wipe after finish eating so he only cry once. Maybe some cereal got onto his neck so got dirty and have rashes.

hello mummies!

i saw the photos on fb. so fantastic! pretty gd looking mummies and all the cute babies! where's the venue by the way? looks v good too!

my christmas party plans are all messed up cos new maid nt here and old one no mood work n i no mood talk to her or correct her. office busy. everything is so messed up, can't properly plan for my annual home party. Have a few invitations but nt looking forward since the heart is not ready for fun. sigh. Probably also cos i'm sick and v tired.

my family just discouraged me fr hiring a nanny who is ex colleague's sister as they feel she has no feeling to help tk care of bb. she is just paid to come here help tk care of bb n supervise maid.

my bb is having bad bouts of eczema near the mouth too. i duno if he has been playing fingers in his mouth too much and salivate all over or the carrot,cereal or waht? sigh!

i changed him to Bellamy's rice based cereal recently n also introduced carrot into his normal pumpkin puree. So i do not which is the exact cause in the end. V careless of me! i thought he was ok with food past few wks and started introducing broocoli, carrot, pear, banana 2-3 days consecutively. pd told me to feed 5 days and no allergy then change food again. sigh, why didn't i listen n go slow? duno if i'm worried he's bored with food or listen TOO MUCH to my mil and say must give this n that n under pressure or i just tk it too lightly. Now i regret. it looks like v hard to heal cos it's near to his mouth. no good to put steroid there. I am also running out of food esp veg puree to feed him. so far given pumpkin, sweet potato, carrot (mixed into sweet potato and butter pumpkin), brocooli (mixed into potato).. what else can we give huh?

Oh!! i gave him sweet pototaes in the purple form too! after buying, realise sweeet potatoes has so many colours - purple, yellow, orange. so ignorant i am!

Wah, Xmas party seemed so fun. Agree with Bunnymum, all the mummies are so good looking with all the cute babies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wkend flew by... busy as hb on biz trip again this and next week. Morning just brought my #1 to see Doc again. Down with cough/runny nose.

Bunnymum: at least your nanny can help supervise maid and care for bb until new helper arrives right?

wah not many posts today huh... mummies really gone shopping or travelling huh? :p

littlefly, hope ur #1 will recover soon. maybe cant let #1 touch bb yet, just in case the germs passed to bb ar....

bunnymum, if dun let the sister come, does tt mean u r not getting maid too? in fact, we have tot of this kinda plan b4 oso de. my current bbsitter is actually my neighbour, we thought of hiring a maid, and make our neighbour supervise the maid. maid can help her with house work too. somehow, she is not very keen, as we are definitely not giving her the full pay (as the main caregiver will be our maid, she just helps to supervise only). to her, she'd rather do the house work herself, look after bb alone, and get the full pay lor. so till now, this plan still not materialised yet.

i guess, its not easy to really find someone who can really be trusted, unless she's own relative? but relative has relative's problem too, haha... really not easy ar [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb has been eating 2 cereal meals now, that makes him drinking lesser milk now. so this is the correct way right? eventually will make him have 3 cereal meals huh, then bb really drink much lesser milk le huh, its really ok rite?

mickey: how much ur baby eating? I only skip his milk if he eats at least 6 tablespoon. Sometimes if just 2-3 tablespoon I still give him his milk at the same time.

orh he only take 1.5 tablespoon leh. u mean, after the cereal meal, u cont to give him milk, he wants ar? or must wait half an hr or so?

Sorry gals, been busy whole day. Will still have maid with or without nanny ard keg. Jus tat without nanny means maid alone with baby.

Really fan lor n yes relatives Also got relative's problem.

Yar, so quiet..most mummies went FB-ing?

Mickey: Thanks. I worked late yday and wasn't in time to fetch him. My mum went instead but left #1's medicine in school. His cough then returned. Argh...

ur nanny started porridge? mine want to start him fish porridge today. I told her i will top her pay next mth to start solids coz she has been saying my bb slow to start porridge. Does your nanny swing ur bb up and down? Maybe your nanny needs this income so she's not keen if you hire a maid but reduce her pay.

Jenny: 6 teaspoon cereal? that's alot i think. Mine only takes 3-4 ts cereal but i got mix with milk. Then he goes hungry v quickly again, like less than 2hrs wor.

haha yalor, really very quiet these two days.

haha nanny wanna choose a 'good day' to start. coz we always pay her in the beginning of the mth, we didnt top up for this mth. she wont start de. so most likely we will only start porridge next mth ba. but my bb doesnt know how to swallow yet, even the cereal, he will 'pui' some out and some go in. i feel he's quite slow in learning this... so next mth oso ok ba.

swing up n down? u mean when carrying bb ar? no she seldom do that, she seldom carry my bb de, she said he's heavy wor. most of the time, she put him in the walker or net bouncer, or let him sit on the mat.

oh, then mine, only 1.5 ts like very little huh? yes, bb always go hungry within 2 hrs too, or does this mean we can give more cereal?

bunnymum, orh leave maid alone w bb... then i guess it really depends on the luck. some will get very good maid, some will probably get not so good one and end up creating more problems. so wishing u luck in getting a good maid ya! so when will the maid come on board? u r getting indo one?

my SIL just sent her maid away, due to many reasons. one of them is... the maid has been wearing their underwears!! dunno y, if need to buy new one, can always tell rite, y do this ar? really cant understand y...

Mickey: I think here only left 3 of us: U, me and Bunnymum....where are all the regulars? Mimosa, 2ww, Vicki, Deon, Viman?

I pay her only month-end but told her i will top up so she keen to start lor. Been telling me other bb start at 4mths! I don't say so much since she's caring for bb and she has her ways.

Yes, she got strength to do that and he loved it. So worrying at times coz bb cannot subject to shaking motion too much - supposedly not good for their brain development! I got those stars biscuits she mentioned but he don't know how to swallow such big piece and end up merlion. The teething rusks he chew and chew but nothing come out for him to swallow then he cry in frustration!

Yucks on SIL's maid! its difficult if you don't have anyone to supervise the maid. I won't risk leaving my bb w maid alone...

I am here! Hehe! Baby taking super long nap this morning, instead of her usual 45 mins, she's been sleeping for almost 2 hours!!

The Christmas gathering was fun! So nice to meet so many mommies! And I think Mimosa's boy really likes my girl, he kept turning towards her during the photoshoot kekeke!

Hb going KL over the weekend, any baby stuff cheaper there that I should ask him to buy? Diapers, etc.?

mickeY: I give him cereal like 2 hours after his milk, coz rice cereal I only give him 4 fm scoops of cereal into 1.5oz milk. Then 2 hours later I continue to give him his milk, he drinks every 4 hours.

The nanny earn big money! Now baby start eating porridge only so little and they dare to charge so much! If u count they charge the meals even more exp than hotel!

Little Fly: He can only eat 6-8 tablespoon of healthy times barley cereal, if other type of cereal he dun eat that much. And I give him milk 3 hours after the cereal but sometimes his tummy still very big at that time. LOL.

littlefly, well i know vicki is on her shopping trip to taiwan ma. deon cld be still busy w her work ba! as for mimosa and steph, hmm.. not too sure, where they gone, haha... i think, 2ww oso going for her hk trip rite? viman & jenny suddenly appear after they heard u calling for them, hehe...

ya i think its not gd to shake the bb ar, esp up n down! just tell her nicely that its not gd for brain development, so shd not do that too often. shd be ok one ba...

ya my bb doesnt know how to eat the bb biscuits too. as for teething rusks, i can see he likes that very much, his 5th tooth is coming out, this boy ar only fast in teething, but slow in all the other aspects, haha..

frankly speaking, i oso hope to get a maid to replace my bbsitter if i hv some1 to help me supervise. bcoz if u calculate, its definitely much cheaper to hv a maid instead of getting a bbsitter, somemore maid can still help to look after bb/ do house work at night. sure more worth it! but we hv no one to supervise, so always stuck at discussion stage, nvr really do it...

mickey: haha. I wake up at 11am mah, so after washing up, checking fb then I'll come here. Now waiting for my boy to wake up, feed him then go to my mum's house le. These two weeks my husband go back reservist. So will go my mum's house more often.

viman, my bb also taking super log nap on sunday morning. coz we brought him to orchard to see the xmas lightings, then only reached home at 11+.. the next day, he's like always in zzzzz mode, haha, he was too busy w the lightings on sat night, too tiring le... u brought bb out ytd too?

KL ar. hmm... i must say most of the things there not cheap either, haha. but yes, when got promotion, i will buy diapers fr there, esp huggies, i think its quite cheap even after u convert to sgd. pet pet also slightly cheaper. but for the other gd brands like mamypoko or pampers, its abt the same, so no pt lugging the diapers back to sg...

as for milk powder, its definitely cheaper to buy in msia. but i guess most of the mummies wont get the milk powder fr msia, afraid the quality is not as gd. so its up to u to decide... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haha viman, so maybe can matchmake ur gal & mimosa's boy huh... must b very cute seeing them like that. got photo to show? u posted in fb le? i only see the group photo.

jenny, i think ur boy is big eater ar. i always wanna make my boy eat more n less frequent. but somehow always fail. he only takes small meals n more frequent. so every 2 hrs he will drink once le, make our life pretty busy... how i wish he can be like ur boy. and wow, u can sleep until 11am, tts very good life leh! i must say, after i hv kid, i seldom wake up later than 9am (i mean wkends of coz), most of the time need to wake up at 7+ or latest by 8+... *envy*

mickey: I think my bb prefer to eat than drink. He drink super slow! Haha not everyday can slp till 11am, sometimes he wake up early and whine n I spend a long time to get him back to slp. He slps at 12am so wake up later.

ur bb drink every 2 hours? wow very busy! i rem during first mth i was like forever feeding baby coz feed+burp already more than 30 min.

ya now that dun really need to burp, so much faster. yes, almost 2 hrs, def less than 3 hrs, then need to feed once le. i tried my best to persuade bbsitter to try make him eat more n less frequent, but she kept saying its not possible. so fine, i just let it be le, let her busy for 5 days, and i'll b busy during weekends lor....

fb: the "create doc" in a grp, possible to upload the whole doc? or we can only create document in it?

Mickeyboy,

No leh, didn't go out yesterday, just her usual walk downstairs. Maybe she's still tired from the Christmas party excitement. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Won't get anything from KL then. She's on full bm so no need for milk powder either...

Yeah, got photo of both of them on Mimosa's FB, she just uploaded I think. She has one where my bb giving her bb the 'Leave me alone!' look. LOL!

MIickeyboy.. i AGREE!

I More sian here.. i have to wake up 4.30am! my bunny always wake up 4.30 - 5 am early in the am... faint... even weekend.. oso dun let me zzz later

Jenny,

your boy sure eat alot... my gal oso 3 tablespoons cereal with 2 scope of milk powder..

try to feed her more milk... cause worry her tummy cannot digest

viman, ya i saw the 'leave me alone!' photo in fb.. haha tt's funny. btw ur gal doesnt look too small in size leh, and she looks pretty too... mummy good job!

hayashi, ya sometimes my bb will wake up at that kinda timing too, must try hard to make him sleep, or else mummy really panda eyes that day le. u mean, if doesnt give enough milk will cause indigestion?

sorry to interrupt. I have a few bottles of Happy Baby puffs (different flavours) to let go at $5 each. Self-collect only. Expiry date 2013. Please PM me if you are interested. Thanks!

Oh mickeyboy... wat i mean is .. mus have more milk.. cause their tummy too small..cannot really digest solid food.. i worry if too much cereals.. they cannot poo poo smoothly..

milk is where they still get all the nutrients..

I won a pair of movie tickets with Company give-aways but have to give up coz no one to bbsit my #1! The show is in the evening. so sianz.... everytime i have to give up for the sake of my #1. arrgh...

My mum can't even supervise my maid to free up my evenings for a 2hr show...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi mummies, sry for not able to log in for e past few days, i just back to office today, a terrible accident happend to my bb on Sunday T_T I will update details later, nid to clear back log in office first =(

Ho mummies,

I'm back too.too down to log in yesterday.my girl fell from the bed whn I left her n went downstairs!I ran up whn I heard her cries and found her on the floor.I was so scared,worried n most imptly guilty.totally no mood the whole day n she was lyk so drowsy the whole of yesterday.luckily she is better today. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I thought everythg happens for a reason.when my girl fell down,I got so upset n guity that I started loving her more.yes.u din see wrongly.

Actualy his preg was unplanned.I thought she came at the wrong time.I was quite tired taking care of her and hit her every night when she refused to sleep,or was cranky for wadeva reason.she was even hospitalized for a week when she was only 2 weeks old.all these didn't help me love her more. The falling down from the bed sort of woke me up.n slapped me to my senses.which I hope isn't too late. I found myself being more tolerant of her nw n love her more now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thank u for his forum.and sorri for the long post.

jmummy

I understand how u feel. My#1 is also unplanned. Somemore staying with in law. Mil dun like me. Keep obstructing me teaching son. Sometime in the past when only leave me alone in the house with only me and son my son dun listen to me make me angry I can't tolerate I will beat him hard. When he is 3 yrs old I went down stair buy food left with my son and hub come up my son crying painfully see his eye swollen hub say when he come out of toilet see my son already down on floor. He must have climb on sofa. That fall wake me up . I can't blame him for my in law dislke me .coz my in law over spoilt him now make him hard to discipline. Very rebellion 5 yr boy. Run up and down, jump everywhere and beat me. Scream and dun know when he learn to say bad word. When I scold him until he very mad he say bad word and I slap him on cheek he throw thing everywhere. Tell me mummies what to do.

Mimosa: oh dear, I do hope ur bb is ok.

Jmummy: every child is god’s gift. I am only venting just now about the loss of free movie which I passed on to another colleague. Hope your bb is ok today. Please bring to doc for checkup if you suspect something is amiss.

Mickey: Thanks! My bb only got 1 little sprout so far but he seemed so cranky. Yday I gave him play with tissue box. He ended up eating and almost choking on a tiny piece of tissue!Babysitter gives me piece of mind as I do not want to be at the mercy of my maid if I leave my baby unsupervised whole day with her. Maid relieves me of household chores and cooking so that I can spend time with my boys. She comes in handy as my hb is travelling like 50% of the time. I think your #1 must be really very guai.

Mine is clingy even without bb and now with bb around, he deliberately acts up to get attention.

Cindymama: your hb has to tell your MIL to stop interfering when you discipline #1.

Little fly: my hub did say but she heck care. Sometime my hub beat elder she scold us. Say this house Is under my name not happy move out. As the house is brought by my hub and his mum. His father cpf not enough and he fil odd job worker

mickey: I still burp my baby now! But its easier to burp him now. I tot must wait for him to sit on his own before can stop burping?

hayashi: today my baby dun wan to eat liao. =( And only drink 4oz taking 30 min to finish.

jmummy: Hope ur gal is getting better. Just rem next time when u grow old ur gal will take care of u. Play with her more and there's still time to make it up to her. =)