(2011/05) May 2011

Bunnymum: its $10 calling card. I prep talk her alot to save up $$$ here and spend in Indo as things here are alot more expensive. Hope she listens lor.

Mimosa,

how did you handle your mil then? My MIL is really difficult. I asked my sis in law. she said she give up n dun care abt her comments as they are not impt to her anymore. she doesn't care abt the children sincerely so she dun care abt her too. MIL told her last wk that grandkids are a burden to her. all the more she feels mil does not deserve respect anymore.

My mil goes around calling pple and relatives complain abt us. v sian. cny coming. dun feel like gg their side

Viman: Giver her 1-2mths, she'll grow to love it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. It tastes like rice biscuits and i eat it too myself. LOL.

Btw, anyone tried teething rusks for ur bb? its rock-hard and i am afraid it will bruise bb's gums.

My bb will chew abit and coat it with saliva and throw on the floor. And I would have to throw away coz the saliva will coat all the dust, hair, sand...

MIL issue:

jmummy, that is very mean, how can she do that to u? canned beans n salted fish w porridge? then daughter come back will have such good dinner to enjoy?... *speechless*

bunnymum, i think ur sil is right, they are not impt to us anyway. dun take their comments too seriously, if can, one ear in one ear out. complain then complain ba, no big deal, we oso keep complaining abt them wat! haha, very fair ma! hehe...

Bunnymum,

For my helper, she has phone and off day. Coz she has been working here for 10 years. But I never see her in her phone when she attend my baby.

Vicky,

yes, i can read and speak javanese [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Mimosa,

I cook the chicken stock, only after my stock replenish. Normally i take turn with vegetable stock also. If not, you can freeze the stock in ice cube try, then cover with the plastick foil. After freeze, you can take and keep the stock in ziplock bag.

kl trip: ya littlefly, i go be JieMei. u have good memory wor ;) this cld be the last chance that i will be JieMei ba, coz my grp of frens, finally all married le, left w 2, still single de, not sure how long we need to wait [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nanny cost: bunnymum, before introducing porridge, i pay $650. after 6 mths, i pay $700. but the sister not coming to ur hm everyday rite? then how u gg to pay her ar, only 3 days out of 5, then how to calculate ar?

WT: oh, I am referring to e trial class at Nex [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am gng for e Sunday class too! Cya there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bunnymum: agree with Mickey, ur mil is mean and no love even for her own grandchild, this kind of person so selfish, dun deserve e respect -.-

My mil still ok la, but she is a time bomb, last time she exploded and shout at me like a siao char Bo, v scary... Feel stressed cos dun know when she will explode again...

Novi: oh, ice cube tray is a good idea! Thx! Will try that next time! How u cook e stock? Slow cook ?

Porridge: Gonna stop porridge le, baby keep crying and crying when feeding him porridge. Then I gave him rice cereal yest and he happily finished it up. I think he still cun accept porridge yet.

stephanie: wow that's exp! Gonna give it a miss coz I also dun feel like wearing that. LOL.

mil: talking abt mil make my blood boil! A couple of days ago my mil came and baby sitting on high chair, he drool until his shirt wet then my mil insisted on changing his shirt immediately when I still want to let him sit ther coz he's guai guai at that time. If change also wait until I carry him out rite? And besides everynite before bedtime I definitely will change him.

Then after changing u know wat my mil told my baby? She told my baby that his mummy is STUPID! WTH is she to say that to my baby? I'm taking care of my baby all by myself! Nv ask her for any help at all, and even though I am first time mummy I can say I nv ill treat my baby and always put his interest before me, how can say that I'm stupid and somemore in front of baby? I'm really very very angry!

mickeyboy,

ya i also have problems calculating. i m thinking of calculating in terms of hours. but like that how to count? hmm.. v cheem.

Jenny,

I can understand ur anger. My mil always 'strangle bb in her arms' and talk on phone or let him sit in front of her and complain on the phone abt me EVERYDAY when she's here. abt how stuck up and bad i am.. very bad education and in front of my own bb.

bunnymum: Dunno why our mil are like that. My sil's mil is very good, if she nv work she will volunteer to take care of her baby. And she got a good life her mum and mil both volunteer to help her take care. I take care myself yet kanna scolded by her. My sil going back to US soon I hope my mil dun come n kpkb me everyday after that!

Yah agree with u its very bad to say us like that in front of our own babies. So to overcome that prob we must talk bad of them in front of our babies too. LOL. There's once I lie beside my baby then I started talking bad abt my mil and my baby got very happy and keep laughing.

Jenny: your MIL is outright rude and insensitive. I will suan her back, 'if bb's mummy is stupid, then MIL take care lor'. Err.. but i think other mummies got better advise. I think you did very well already for a first time mum.

Mickey: coz reminds me of my time i did JieMei in Melacca too... Now all my friends married w kids.

Bunnymum, Jmummy: you are not alone lah. I also don't feel like returning to hb's side in CNY. Anyway, i get the blame for everything. I am the bad guy. I am the evil one...

LOLing over this "There's once I lie beside my baby then I started talking bad abt my mil and my baby got very happy and keep laughing."

Little Fly,

Nope, no invite...

Jenny, you are hilarious! Lol! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can only complain to my mum and baby mah. Coz my husband is mummy's boy, no point talking to him. But when I complain to my baby I must talk softly, cannot let daddy hear if not he sure scold me.

Little Fly: I respect her as my mil so nv talk back at her but also will be very angry. Somemore she got asthma, later quarrel with her she got asthma attack then everyone will come and scold me, esp my husband.

I dun dare let my mil take care of my baby, last time once let her take care for a few hours baby come back with diarrhea coz she's very dirty. So now no matter where I go or do I'll bring baby along. I feel that baby is safest with me (other than the few walker issues)

Bunnymom,b4 intro porridge mine is $600.

Mil: I know I bad but I think d best thing abt my marriage is I got a great mil. Really thankful n lucky on tat.definitely will still has some difference in thinking but I m glad to have her ard. I hear u all complain n my friends complain I also feel very chiam.

Btw if u all lookin for Xmas hat or hairband,daiso sell alot of different designs

Does ur bbs all start to pretend to cry etc juz to get their ways? Mine ah as expected like kor kor,pretend to cry either cos I nvr talk/play/carry her lately. Also started to test my limits. D more u refuse to let her do something,d more persistent she do it. N when u scold,she still smile at u. Dosent help again tat I have a evil hb who let her get away with it

vicki: I'm happy for u that u have a good mil. I think in this world there's not many good mils. LOL.

My baby will be happy when he see me getting angry. And if I dun let him do someting he wans, he will cry and not pretend to cry, is real tears coming out. My mum says my boy's tears are like running tap, big big drops.

Vicki,

Yes, my bb smiles at me mischievously when she doesn't want the bottle or purée. Thinks she can melt mommy's heart and then mommy will take away the bottle/spoon!

Vicki: Good for you! I guess u will cherish her more when you hear about others.

Jenny: Its a give n take situation for me. If others are nice, i try to be nicer. Opposite applies. I am only playing defense strategy but i would say the 'attacks' weaned off when the defense is up. So this method works for me.

My bb's tears are real too. I stopped him eating Xmas tree then he will cry like kanna beaten.

Bunnymum: are you on FB too ? didn't see your nick...

Jeeny: your mil so rude... if baby cloth it wet she can help to change also ma... she wan immediately than dun help... luckly My mil still ok sometime will time bomb if not will go to my hb... with not i will go crazy staying wif her

viman: ur bb so cute. she slow will like it de

Little Fly: my hb brother #1 son i got buy for him... he like it... but after every eat have to change him. he will eat unit whole body...

@ little fly.. your bb so funny.. i was laughing at your quote: . I stopped him eating Xmas tree then he will cry like kanna beaten.

Xmas tree mus have taste nice... wahahaha

My MIL is generally ok except for some sarcasm. She won't call me names or raise voice at me. I agree its good to respectful to MIL. Afterall, i also hope next time my DIL will be respectful to me. Sigh, that's why i like girls better coz then i won't have this MIL-DIL issue!

Maybe my MIL also think I am the DIL from Hell...hahaha.

Pinky: ok, thanks.

little fly: yah, its good to defense urself but I lack courage on this. But she also very bad. Before she say this I saw her thinking for a few sec whether to say anot but yet she still say.

Ur baby very cute leh, eat the xmas tree. Haha.

I also like gals better but too bad got a boy. Next time will try not to be kpo if not dil will go forum and complain me too. LOL.

pinky: yah, somemore we nv ask her to help at all. I already told my husband if he is going to live with his mum or in future if his mum wan to live with us, i will divorce him. I tell him straight in his face, its not a joke, I cannot live with her for sure!

No time to log in in the morning. This thread sure moves fast.

Jenny: my mil also same as yours.complain to my son abt me! So I'm also like u.lol..always tell my #1 dun need b so gd wif his ah ma cuz his ah ma not gd.n also must do behind everyone's back.lol...

Mickeyboy: ya lor.bad right.even my hb hu is a mummy boy also say my mil shldnt do that.everytime need to do thg,mil wil call for me 1st.eveytime got gd things,always is her daughter 1st.I'm used to it Liao.dil are expected to do everythg!

Baby bites: I got for my girl.she chew half the piece off almost immediately!but choked,and vomit all the milk out. -.- think she is not ready yet.dun dare to give anymore after that time.

Vicki: so envious that u got a nice mil.I'm staying wif my mil.doubles the trouble.really cannot stand it sometimes.

Jenny: I also do not agree abt scolding e parents in front of e bb, like that how can i teach my kid in future?

ya, u did well on not talking back to her, ppl rude doesn't we have to be the same low standard right? =)

Vicki: so lucky of u to have a good mil!! must treasure ah! =)

my boy also know how to pretend to cry, super noisy! we give in not bcos we tot he cry, is bcos cannot tahan e noise, haha...

aiya, it is normal for daddy to sayang baby gal ya? hehe...

Xmas hat: i also thinking to go daiso to buy it! going to wear it to the xmas party!

Mummies, lets wear it to our AMK gathering too? hehe..

Viman: hahaha... ur gal so cute! at least she is smiling when she doesnt want it, not like my boy, he will scream! lol....

lil fly: hahaha... he really likes his xmas tree puree hor! lol...

i also cannot find bunnymum, hayashi and mummyzen in fb.. u ladies join out fb group?

jmummy: yah, must educate our child not to listen to them if not later they really think we are so bad. My baby seldom smile to them one then my mil always call him "chou ren" - smelly person. Baby dun like her of coz dun smile to her lah.

mimosa: yah lor. Somemore till now I still dun find I did anything wrong that day! I find her way of taking care of baby is wrong, like feeding baby with water in a bowl and spoon WITHOUT WASHING them first.

That day also funny, my mil say must put a pillow on the baby chair but we already bought the cushion from ikea so I ignored her. When I bathing I suddenly hear baby cry then my husband told me he put the pillow and baby hates it and cry immediately. Then I say who ask u to listen to ur mum's bullshit.

Gathering: Sorry the gathering venue is really too far for me. I need more than one hour to reach there, next time u all come to jurong point lah. I will join in. LOL. I know JP is far for every one of u.

littlefly, got the fb invitation le. but how come only 22 of us ar? u selectively sent the invitation ar? but too bad, i think i need to skip ar, coz will be taking leave on 19&20 le.

ya nowadays when i wanna complain abt mil, i will keep asking myself, will i myself become a very bad mil in the future too? maybe i will, who knows? when i think of this, i tend to cool down abit, haha... coz might have karma ar, we complain mil, next time sure kena complained by dil de... lol

my bigger issue w mil actually comes fr sil. coz the sil got lotsa opinion to give. mil is ok de, she doesnt say much, but after one night (after she asks opinion fr sil), then she will start telling my hb this no gd, that no gd... argh, my hb, being the youngest in the family, need to see his brothers & sisters' "face color" oso lor.

mickyboy: bcos she can only add those mummies who already her friends...

true la, if nth too serious then better try not to complain, and i think better teach our bb to respect e elderly =) dun wan my bb to live in a world full of complain, LOL.. but sometimes also must say it out, else will explode if keep too much inside!!

Mimosa: thanks for explaining on my behalf!

Mickey: I struggled with sending the invite out. I want to send to the SMH May 2011 group list but hor, seems like FB does not allow mah. So I manually click all the mummies who have added me as friend lor..

i am in the fb forum but not active inside. i couldn't update the list from my phone. so did not update it, sorry.

i do not scold or bad mouth my mil in front of bb. try not to but mil also does otherwise which makes me feel unbalanced. Actually I do feel there will be an impact on the kid as i heard from other frens' b4 that their kids grow up not liking their mum as they are taken care of by ah ma and ah ma constantly scold the mummies, it forms an idea abt their own mum n they go to ah ma for recognition more. sigh, sad.

my mil stays with me for the 3 days she is here. really cannto stand and i try to avoid her and talk just normal stuff then go into room. She complained to pple i dun like to talk to her now n v proud. gosh.. i told her not to bad mouth pple. she tell me talk behind is ok, not in front. gosh!

then she complain my maid give bb hard puree that he vomit cos cannot digest n that my sil not like this. She handled my nephew's food so she knew best. my food not as fresh as sil. So i told her then she handle my son's food n let maid tk care of bb first is ok too. She replied she dun want! she dun wan to interfere in my maid n our thgs. later on i overhead her conversation on phone with others she dun care we let who tk care next time. she is nt gg to help us anymore.

then say must be my fault that my maid wants to leave but in front of me say my maid's bad thgs n she duno how to treasure here cos we nt bad to her!

then she told my sil that grandkids are her burden but she has nv spent any $$ on them! not even her own son. she kept saying that the aunties advise her $$ keep in her bank, dun give the son as the youngest one wants to get married but no $$. But the sons still think she is v good. faint!

Dun treat us well and expect us buy thgs for her all the time. want this n that. sigh, sian!

My bb farny lah. He think he’s a giraffe.. He don’t take paci but will gum everything he can get hold of including Lego, books, etc

Jenny: no lah, this is not courage. I think I need to work harder on my 忍功 and work on my EQ...

Mimosa: Hahaha, hope the Daiso Xmas hats can fit on our bb heads.

Jmummy: yar, seems like bb not ready yet for solids...

Viman: that’s why I say girls are so sweet…

FB - I am hopeless on this. Can still add friends to invite after I sent out? bunnymum, hayashi and mummyze – I can’t find you too.

Mimosa,

why you cannot find me? u are the first person i added and i think u help to add me into the SMH group. And i said u are very pretty!! kekeke!

Mimosa,

This one's for you. I was just playing around with recipes and ingredients to see if I could make a cake in the microwave oven and I just made the most amazing sponge cake in 10 mins! It is SO easy I still can't believe a hopeless baker like me made it! Here's the recipe:

1. Mix 4 tablespoons of self-raising flour, 4 tablespoons of caster sugar (I just put normal sugar in blender and used), 1 egg, 3 tablespoons of milk, 3 tablespoons of oil, a pinch of baking soda and a pinch of salt in a coffee mug (yes, a regular coffee mug!). I didn't have any essence so I just grated a lemon and added its peel for some flavor. Mix well and put the coffee mug in the microwave oven on high for 3 mins. That's it! Unbelievable! I finished making, eating, and cleaning up all in 20 mins hehehehe! Very tasty and spongy! Will take photos next time, was too hungry hehe! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunnymum: i also suggested a few mummies to u, so that u can add them =)

mil: i super dislike e act of e mil talk bad of e mummy in front of bb, that is e only thing that i cannot swallow! lucky my mil r not like that... if i were ur fren, i rather send my bb to CC after 18 months, then no nid mil to take care liao..

Mimosa,

Yeah! I am still reeling from the happy shock, hehe! I don't have a conventional oven and I was wondering why not try in microwave oven. Didn't expect it to be so soft and spongy!

NIKS PROFESSIONAL

Our clinics combine prescription medicines with Niks products to improve patient outcomes. Niks Maple Clinic is located at Block 825 Tampines Street 81, #01-64.

www.nikspro.com/el_niksmaple.html - Cached

Sorry found the website for the skin doctor, I went to the Tampines one

Chewwy - Yes the doc treats pigmentation but try clarins whitening serum n cream.. It works for me, I used during pregancy and prevernt pigmentation. But of cos it did not helps my existing freckles.

NIKS PROFESSIONAL

Our clinics combine prescription medicines with Niks products to improve patient outcomes. Niks Maple Clinic is located at Block 825 Tampines Street 81, #01-64.

www.nikspro.com/el_niksmaple.html - Cached

tampines No 6783 9038

Mid Pt Orchard 6235 9428

I usually look for Dr Ong

Sorry the no again

Mimosa _ PM u liao, sorry for the delay.

Vicki- My bb will petend to cry n cough somemore.

MIL - I can know how it feels to live together with MIL. Can I share my experience too ?? I used to stay with my MIL and I have 101 complaint even without bb at the time. I have 2 dogs and she don't really like them and will complaint about them.. N i hated it as they are like my babies, I was very protective over them.

Then my hubby also sided her and his family. He will tell me that was his mummy and I have to respect her and not say bad things about her. It is very difficult for people from difference cultires to stay together. Day to day things can pissed you off. I hated her for cooking and making the whole kitchen oily. I hated her for talking on the phone for the whole day and loudly that I cannot sleep. Anyway, the list goes on... It sounded minor but it just pissed you off..

Up to the day 4 years old, my hubby sat me dwn n told me she got lung cancer. That is when, I saw her getting frail n thinner. I even have to move one of my dog to my mum's place casue she is allergic to her furs. At that time, I felt unfair but I know it is the right thing to do. She started her visits to hospitals and even chinese sinseh. Her tummy started to get bloated and her legs get swollen.

In the later stage, she cannot get even out of bed without help as her tummy is too bloated. That was when the doctor advised us that they have to operate her.

My MIL knew there were risks involved but she needed to remove all the water in her stomach. We admitted her and she was fine after her 1st surgery. When I visted her, I can remember the happy grin she wore on her face. She told me look my tummy is smaller and I feel better. That night I stayed back in the hospital to look after her. For the first time, I felt close to her... I helped her every hour to the toilet, that was when I realized how difficult it had been for her. She needed to wake up every hour to use the toilet.

The next day she went through another surgery but she came out looking tired and weak. But she was still conscious. But the next day she became very jittery and kept wanting to get out of bed. She refused to be in her bed resting and we cannot understand why ?

That night she fell into a coma and never woke up. Till this day, I never gotten over the shock.

N i still blame myself why I never appreicated her more.

She cooked not for herself is for us so that we have dinner and lunch to eat when we are at home. But I rather eat outside as it was not to my taste.

She talked all day on the phone is because I did not talked to her. Thus, she had to call up her daughters or grandchildren to talk to.

She did not like my dogs but she still took care of them. She will clean up their poo even when she had difficulty standing up.

Honestly, I felt bad.. No matter what she may have done that was not nice. Till to day, I miss her a lot. I never thought I will say this but I really do.

For other outlet I think you can walk in like the West Cost Plaza one, not so crowded. If you want to go to the one at Tampines then you ahve to be there early and queue.

Today is a great day so far. Baby nv really cry, love playing with him and just now taught him how to crawl but he ended up lying sideways. Haha. Its fun to have a baby who doesn't cry rite?

Deon: Its sad reading abt ur story. I do appreciate some things my mil do but not to the point that she always insist that she is in the rite and everything we have to listen to her. Even my fil is so scare that he dun dare to voice out even if she is wrong.

And on the dog part, I don't agree with ur mil. Doggies are the best thing on earth. I always say that even if there's a war and nothing for us to eat, I will kill everyone of us and give our meat for her to eat. My doggie is an angel from the god!

Viman: I love baking cakes too but after I got pregnant I don't have the energy to bake cakes anymore coz I'm either on e bed or toilet vomitting. After ms I got no appetite to eat, now got baby also no time to bake. Hope next time my baby grow up we can bake cakes together.

Deon,

Thanks for sharing your story. My condolences. The same thg happened to my fil as well-brain n lung cancer. No operation allowed due to the risks involved. I liked my fil n took care of him, visited him often no matter hw tired after wk n how busy we were preparing for my wedding. Cooked cooling dessert for him for his burnt throat fr radiotherapy as my mil refused to n insist he does nt wan to eat. He drank mine up n the remaining he can't finish, mil refused to drink as she says nt nice, might as well she cook herself.

After our wedding prep were made then we found out his cancer. Fil said to go ahead with our wedding n he with his therapy. So we did as it was all announced. However when I brought mil out to buy her a dress for the wedding, she cursed that no one will attend our wedding nw that fil is like tat n that she told us to get married few yrs ago n we dragged till then. My tears really dropped in my heart. Do we wan it this way? My relatives n frens all consoled tat they will b there to give me my blessings.

During the last stage when fil's stomach is bloated, we cheered him up whereas mil jus kept rubbing salt on his wound that it's getting bigger n worse. Sometimes I wish I could shut her up. Fil wish to see my bil's ex Gf to help them bk. She did nt wan to c my mil n so I accompanied her. Who knows my clever mil insulted her n that's the last time we saw her. Oh no, there was another last-the funeral. She consoled my crying mil n my mil told her off that fil wants them patch up, y she didn't listen?? The whole world was there. I couldn't bear to see anymore n left this woman who really does nt deserve any sympathy that moment. N I couldn't understand y a wife cannot massage her husband when his legs r weak n gave me the answer that her hands will b tired if she does that. I guarantee to my husband after my fil's demise, no one will visit my mil. N so it happened. Pple nt only stopped visiting the family. She just goes ard bad mouthing n quarreled w them. Great! Dils n running away n so I wonder when will it b our turn? It's so tiring handling her after struggling our lives to mk ends meet.

Finally got time to log in again after putting my two darlings to bed.

Deon: thank you for sharing ur story.I very much agree with what u haf said.though I dislike mil a lot,I always tell her daughters to appreciate her cuz we will nv know if one day she is going to b gone forever.everything will be too late by then.mil is very insensitive n bossy at times.but I do agree she has her merits too.it's just dat our own mother is always better. :p

Viman: u r so creative la.can make do with whatever ingredients n cutlery u haf to make a sponge cake.

Little fly: I'm a FB idiot too.I dun even haf an account.resort to using my son n daughter's account all created by their aunty.lol..

jmummy: I also think my mum is the best. =) Wow ur two kids slp so early? Mine still playing and screaming in the living room. Haha.

hello mummies! wow today's thread moved real fast and im totally lost reading the thread.

hmmm so many posts on mil. though i don have mil, i think it's always a tricky issue to tackle. sometimes have to try to endure. jiayou mummies!

maybe i might gatecrash the amk gathering heheh