(2011/05) May 2011

hi mummies, long time no post from me, hehe great to see our thread is still active!

jenny: your friend's bb is amazing, i wonder when my bb can say mummy hehehe Pacifier is my best friend hehehee

mimosa: my bb's the same, if i take away a toy she is holding, she'll cry like kenna bullied very badly...very cham...

2ww, i can't bear to beat bb ...yet! wahahhaa

starflower: I hope my boy will say mummy too. I rem seeing one of our forum mummies FB video of her baby calling her mama. So cute!

Jenny,

Yes, they will give pacifier in ICU. There is one nurse in charge of 2 or 3 babies so if they are attending to one baby and the others cry, they may give pacifier. Some of them do ask the parents if ok to give or not. I remember one mommy who was so anti-pacifier she stuck a note on her baby's incubator saying 'no pacifier' to remind the nurses in all the shifts. But soon she realized that it's better for baby to have the pacifier than cry hysterically till he is attended to, so she took off the note. The ICU is a very noisy place because the babies are always crying and the alarms are always ringing. The nurses do the best they can but they can only attend to one baby at a time...

Good morning mommies,

Little fly,

you can use Vpost if you wanna buy things from UK. But the shipping is very costly and long compare Vpost USA

mummies, today is thurs, one more day to go!

Weaning off: ya, i think this method works... ask the kid to throw it away, then remind him that he was the one who throw it away, so no more pacy!

personally, i think i will give pacy, but when they r getting older, try to tell them that only have it when they wanna sleep. and eventually, wean it off...

my bb's development:

teething: yes his 2 lower teeth are out! so now his 2 upper teeth are sprouting, i'm gg to get the teething gel for him today. i think these 2 teeth are "harder" to come out, i find him more cranky than the previous time. vicki, my bb oso, this is the only thing fast abt him, haha! ohya, nowadays i seldom latch le, maybe he feels uncomfortable, he didnt wanna suckle. and i oso scared him biting my nipple as if that is the teether, lol

flipping: he seldom do it... so he wont roll & roll until fall off the bed de. he prefers sitting/standing... maybe he thinks he's 1 yo alrd, forgets that he shd learn flipping/crawling when he's still 5 mth+... faintz

talking: well, i didnt listen a word fr him till now. all are bb's talk which i dun get it, haha!

Mimosa: For discipline: I refer to this book for my #1 – see link http://www.amazon.com/New-First-Three-Years-Life/dp/0684804190/ref=pd_sim_b_1

Author a bit lor soh but overall I subscribe to his sayings.

2WW: come lor. You are my shopping kiaki, how can you miss this party? Haha. My boy won’t compete with your boy for Vick’s girl. (I like Bambi too!) I took leave already on Dec 2. I am thinking of meeting at MOF at Basement 1 coz quite spacious there and can ‘park’ strollers there?

Weaning off paci: no need to hurry. PD said before 3 is fine. Mine got off at 2plus due to peer pressure in school.

Novi: Thanks. I managed to get my account setup with the merchant. I thought of buying direct myself this round coz I have compiled a long list of books but end up mostly OOS and now I have only like a few items so probably join spree.

Mickey: haha, your bb can't wait to join playing with Korkor right ? Sometimes bb will skip some milestones like some bb go straight to learning to walk without crawling!

Actually now, i am looking for parenting books for my #1. He has outgrown Burton White's books already. So far, I have yet to find one who I can use.

Lil Fly: No la, my bb is a girl too! so maybe Vicki's bb and my bb will be competing for your boy! whaha.. i cant take leave on 2 dec coz dec im taking a week long for my shopping trip.

Books: Do you all read to your bb? i tot of doing so but where to get those bedtime stories book ah? shall i buy or just borrow from library? hmm...

Talking: haiz... think my bb is the slowest lor. coz seems like she is the second oldest here..Viman bb is the oldest here right? my bb still cant talk. nvr heard her say ok/ milk/ or anything. just blah blah blah...

Jenny: hehe... ya lo, i came here on 1996, so 15 yrs already =P wait till u see me in person, seldom got ppl think i from China, lol...

so is your boy still taking pacy now? for my boy, when he cry for slp, we will give him e pacy, haha...

ICU: i heard my fren said, bb @ ICU dun get to latch on e mummy, so they nid to let bb have the pacifier, so that bb will know how to suck next time, is it true, viman??

Mickyboy: ya, saw ur fb post, hehe... where u gals get the teething gel huh? Kiddy palace?

my mum also told me last time me and my sibliings skip the crawling part and went traight to sit and walk, so i think it is normal lah =)

lil fly: can share some of the tips from the book? hehe... if i order the book now, dun know when i can get to read it, haha... btw, does it sell in spore?

ya, i heard peer pressure works too, to wean off e pacy =)

btw, usually ppl give milk bottle with teats until how old huh? i saw some kids 2-3 yrs old still drink milk from e milk btl... =.=

2ww: Hahaha but my boy not good looking. He got 'mi-mi yan'. His eyes become one line when he smiles. Somemore he's short. LOL.

Books: bb books i tend to buy (esp those touchy types) coz library ones not very clean and bb immunity low. For #1, i borrow more.

Mimosa: I think library got carry his books. Haha, i need to go re-read it again to tell you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] For my bb, this lazy mummy now will only firefight on as needed basis.

2ww,

The docs asked me to follow her EDD (13 May) for 2 years cos she was so premature. They say her 2 months in ICU is considered to be inside e womb.. True enough, she was only discharged a week after her EDD. So a bit hard to compare her age and milestones with other babies.

Mimosa,

No lah, if paci is to practise latching, then bottle better right? Since got milk also, closer to latching? Doesnt work like that i think. I practised latching in the ICU but only after they took her out of the incubator. Even then she couldn't latch at all since she was on tube feeding since birth and then bottle. Also, her mouth was very small. I could only latch successfully around July... Even now she only latches when she's asleep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Little Fly,

I had seen baby books in Bras Basah some time ago. My ex-colleague got me some good ones from e Borders Clearance sale.

Here's an excerpt from Amazon on the book mentioned...

What most parents want out of the early years is a well-developed child, along with a good deal of simple pleasure for both the child and themselves. They also want to avoid unhappiness, anxiety, and of course danger to the child. If optimal early development were incompatible with enjoyment for both the parents and the baby, it would be unfortunate. Happily, that is clearly not the case. Especially in the first months of life, the vast majority of child-rearing activities I'll recommend will lead to both an involved, happy baby and a more contented parent. By the later stages of infancy and toddlerhood, I have found that the well-developing baby is by far the most pleasant to live with and the happiest.

General goals, however, are simply not enough. After you have decided you want a well-developed, happy child, then what? How do you achieve that goal? Indeed, what does it mean? Let's look first at the goals for the first eight months of life.

We recommend that parents work toward three major goals during the first eight months of the baby's life:

1. Giving the infant a feeling of being loved and cared for.

2. Helping her develop specific skills.

3. Encouraging her interest in the world around her.

As we follow the developing child from Phase I through Phase IV, I will refer repeatedly to these basic aims. Let us examine them more closely.

Giving Your Infant a Feeling of Being Loved and Cared For

During the first two years of life all children have a special need to form at least one strong attachment to an older person. Clearly, if a baby is to survive, let alone develop well, protection and nurturance must be available from the very beginning and for a long time thereafter.

During the first eight months of life, social development is comparatively simple. Erik Erikson, the famous personality theorist, called the primary social goal of this period the establishment of a sense of"trust." I believe the term is an appropriate one. No requirement of good child-rearing is more natural or more rewarding than the tending of your baby in a loving and attentive way in order to establish a feeling of being loved and cared for, or a sense of basic trust. Although there is little reason to think that an infant of eight months has more than a simple awareness of his mother, most students of human development agree that the basic foundation of a child's personality is being formed in his earliest interchanges with nurturing adults.

I think parenting is quite subjective, no best strategy. It depends on what works for you and your child.

For me, i think its important to let my bb know he's loved and every little skill he acquires is a milestone to me - regardless of when he achieves it.

Viman: now, i am still searching for a book on older kids, 4 and above... books with ideas with i will identify with and subscribe to...

littlefly, you made me feel that i m a bad mummy. i think i seldom read books to my boy, i will only accompany him do coloring/writing (he said he has homework, and he will take out the worksheets ask me to do together)... sometimes i will read books and he will listen for 10 mins then start walking ard... but reading bed-time story, i really dun do that. i will sing instead, my boy maybe is an artsy person huh? he will want us to do a revision on the songs that he has learnt so far, every nite. so every nite, gotta repeat singing him the 10+ songs before he closes his eyes....

mimosa, the teething gel, i think i will just buy fr watson/guardian this type ar. can get cheaper at kiddy palace? i m not sure either, i'm just lazy to go look ard, just buy one tube only ma.

books: yes, touchy type, i will tend to buy new ones too. coz sometimes bb will "eat" the book, lol... as for the books for reading, normally i will just borrow fr library. i hv a fren who bought all the books, and the collection costs her $3k+. well, i dun think i will spend that much on books ba, i find it quite convenient to borrow books fr library, got many varieties of books there too... so its really up to the mummy to decide [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, 2ww, fyi, i have finally booked my bali trip le... so ur mission accomplished, i will really join u & vicki in overseas shopping trip in Dec, lol... but i think bali is more of like relaxing type, not really for shopping de. hopefully i can find the RL products at dept store as suggested by littlefly...

i feel abit headache when i think of the breastmilk. or u ladies r bringing bb overseas, so no need to think of this? i dunno how im gg to transport the bm back to sg... or shd i just discard the milk, since i may not be able to sterilise properly for each pump session... argh, heartpain leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mickey: Don't feel this way! children learn by playing, doing and singing as well! maybe your boy has musical talents ? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My #1 likes to read but he hates writing/drawing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] he can't sit still for long to color/write.

One of my gfs buy books in sets but she don't read to her son. Hmm, what's the point of buying if we don't spend time to read to them?

I think i a terrible person. I just 'corrupted' my colleague by introducing her to sprees. heehee.

MickeyBoy: Bali also can buy things. Haiz.. dun worry about not be able to shop. Shopping and spending money is in our blood already!!!

As for BM, are you sure you still have the time to pump? Im not BFing liao and im not bringing my bb too. Afraid that i will miss my bb for the 7 days trip..

Lil Fly: Yes yes, i also poison my colleague. I ask her to buy from Spree and im sure its definitely cheaper. Can buy more from spree! Dont think you are a terrible person. You are GREAT~!

Books: how do we know wat books to buy? seriously i am really new to this! what do you all mean by touchy book? YOu mean bb will need to touch the book?

according to my fren who has been to bali... we can hire a private driver to bring us around. so, we can ask him to stop & get out of the car, when i set up the pump. and ask him to come in n cont driving, when i start pumping. so pumping shd not be a prob. but.. i dunno how to store the milk? so i feel, most probably will throw it away ba, sigh...

well, miss bb ar, i guess will need to be 'cruel' if u r not bringing bb. who looks after bb for u? u can call the person to understand bb's situation every night. but try not to miss her too much if possible, if not will affect ur mood. but i believe it wont affect ur SHOPPING mood, its in your blood for sure!!

Mommies ,

How do I tell if my bb is sucking her fingers due to hunger or just bo liao? Her hunger pattern very unpredictable one...

Mickey: Yes! i like usborne's books especially...

2ww: bbies learn through feel/touch as well. Now - 3years best to stimulate their sense: sight, hear, touch, taste.

2ww: LOL. my colleague v happy i show her how to save $ with shopping! so, we are doing a good deed....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lil fly: ya, 2ww bb is a gal, very cute also loh!! aiya, 'mi-mi-yan' now very popular leh! like Rain and jay Chow, hahaha..

Viman: ohh.. i think i heard she mentioned abt tube feeding, then so give pacy to e bb, so that she will relate sucking with feeding, sth like tat, haha... maybe i mix up sth, hahaha...

Mickyboy: ohh, watson's and guardian got sell ah, i didnt know, haha.. then quite easy to get wor. ya lo, wont cost much different la =P

wah! so nice can go bali!! How long is your trip? maybe u can keep e milk in FTG then end of e day keep in the hotel fridge? then last day just use the FTG to transport bk to spore?

Books: All these touchy book or usborne books can get from popular? i also v new on this =P always cant find time to go popular, hmm...

ah... Cham liao... my bb now dun wanna eat rice cereal after since that Nestle incident... we think he might be ganna frighten by it.. =( and his appetite also no good these few days, all e puree dun wanna eat... just now i only manage to feed him 0.5 oz of pumpkin puree... haix... headache...

Mimosa,

Ah yes, some nurses give paci during tube feeding so bb can associate sucking with stomach filling up. This is just before they transition from tube to bottle.

Mimosa,

Is your baby teething? Normally baby will loose the appetite if teething.

Re: book

Me also one of the lazy mommy here, very seldom read books for my #1. But after i send him to school, he always asked me to read him a story book [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Mimosa: Give him a break from cereal a few days - bb has short memory now. Then he'll forget and happily eat his puree again.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Popular don't carry many baby touchy books/usborne titles. Can try elm tree bookstores they have 1 at Paragon, Tampines 1, Suntec..

Interactive books are very appealing to tots, sharing some titles here...

http://www.acmamall.com/let-s-talk-by-roger-priddy-7065135.html

http://www.thebookpeople.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/qs_product_tbp?storeId=10001&catalogId=10051&langId=100&productId=216737&searchTerm=baby+books

http://www.thebookpeople.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/qs_product_tbp?storeId=10001&catalogId=10051&langId=100&productId=225819&searchTerm=baby+books

Lil Fly: if you buy the book from Amazon and ship here, wont it be v exp? considering books are quite heavy. And those touchy book, cant really keep for di di or mei mei coz after a while, it will get dirty and dusty too mah. But is it too early to start reading bedtime stories for BB? i dun think they can understand at all.

Good Deed: It is very important to do at least one good deed every now and then. Should learn more from you. Going to intro more colleagues to save $$$.

Mimosa: I haven started on brocolli on my bb yet. dunno is it too yucky. tot of starting it tomorrow. How does it smell like? did you soak the brocolli before making it into puree?

2ww: Share a tip with you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Try acmamall bookstore online, cheaper to buy direct from them locally. You can use the book's ISDN# and check on Amazon for reviews. For Amazon, I only buy those which i can't find locally.

Any mummies using organix cereal to bb?

any complaints?

wah novi, ur link is very useful. i will make sure i go n read it up... and post qn here, if i still have any doubts. be ready to ans my qn ya, haha!

but one thing for sure, i will need a FTG huh? coz currently, i m using the medela cooler bag thingy only.

2ww,decide not to b tempt by u on d avent tho I think gd discount.cos mileage not worthwhile n I m startin her on porridge le

Mickeyboy,I duno by dec my ss can maintain or nt.been pumpin lesser cos work too hectic.at night also latch.in d midst of stopping bf but d thin stopping me is cos my gal refuse to drink fr btl when she is wif me.been pouring alot of fm too.was telling hb luckily is fm else I sure go crazy pump until so Cham to pour away.my poor #1 like guinea pig,when #2 refuse to drink fr btl,I will secretly pour into #1's btl n let him drink.ESP bm.kena caught twice b4 where he insist is Mei mei's milk. Anyway I dun recall Bali hotel got fridge wor. I stayed in santi Mandela(think is tis if I rem correctly) & holiday inn

N mickeyboy,dun worry.u sure can shop alot.alot of polo,polo Ralph Lauren shops everywhere in Bali. D tour guide told us d 2 real store is a duty free factory itself n in airport.d price is abt d price we buy fr us. My colleagues claim better quality. Then u c d rest of polo n polo Ralph Lauren shops wic tour guide claim is not real (as in authorize dealers) is much cheaper but more designs.can buy for ur #1 too.

Then there is a st market tat sell clothes/bags outside d temple (forgot name again) whereby pple go for prayers n get d holy water tat sell quite cheap f

Hello mummies! It's been some days since I posted here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] its off day for bb N (haha 6m old alr earn his milk money) :p

I'm lost in e thread, again. Haha..

Littlefly: I'm using organix rice cereal for bb for a mth plus n so far so good, bb taking it well n likes it when I mix w butternut pumpkin purée [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ww: I'm oso thinking of starting broccoli for bb tmr or sat. Alr buy n standby alr. Hmmm don think need to soak. U using e avent steamer cum blender? Think according to e manual it needs 20min to steam broccoli [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mickeyboy,

FTG or medela cooler bag is ok. As long as have a thermal thingy inside. But if you wanna check in the EBM with the luggange, you have to put dry ice inside the cooler bag.

Novi: i did try to feel his gum but cant feel anything different leh...

lil fly: ya, hope he will forget the incident soon and eat cereal and puree again!

2ww: i read from the babywholesome website that best to give brocolli at 8 months, cos it will cause gas and hard to digest. http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/broccolibabyfoodrecipes.html

But we bought e brocolli b4 i read it, so we just give cos dun wanna waste =P We didnt soak it wor, just steam and blend, we bought e organic one, so shld be quite safe even nvr soak [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eh how come none of the regulars here have rsvp'ed yes for the Xmas party? I'm waiting for you guys hehehe! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So far I know Jenny and Vicki not coming. Litte Fly, Mimosa, Stephanie (must bring our movie star), 2ww, Mickeyboy? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa: I saw u before n u dun look like u're from china. U came to sg to study?

I managed to latch my baby at ICU but must wait for them to remove my baby's tube. Actually till now whenever I see mummies carrying their newborn and taking photos I'll be very jealous and upset coz I din have the chance to. I even have to wait 9 whole hours after delivery to take a first look at my baby. =(

Today bought butternut for my baby and he also hates it. Mamil Gold really cannot make cereal, turn watery very fast and also all come up lumpy. I've requested for enfa sample to make cereal with it.

Viman: so u going for the Xmas party. O hear Frm my mil said gal gal this afternoon slping time cry every 10min. It like in the dream cry let tat. It she scare or?