(2011/05) May 2011

Bella typo mistake suppose to be snuffles, can get from any phamacy!

Jenny its up to u cos u know ur bb best! But if he has 3fen zhong re du this may apply to the walker too? No?

starfruit: Yes I think it applies to walker too. LOL. But at least he can entertain himself on this for maybe a few days and let me have time to do my own stuff. Sometimes also must rotate. Like dun let him play for one week, then one week later let him play then he will like it. =)

Jenny: no la.. 8 characters need to count one to see if clash or not.. Therefore Godparents are also based on that.. And this type of things cant believe 100% one because it really could be coincidental.. I will only believe if it happens to me three times..but if u really want to know I can ask my MIL for u? My SIL thingy happens way before I knew my hubby..

Or could ur son be what the old people say that first month nv cry much den after full month they will cry for 100 day, Then after that will stop??

WT: Is the brand call cold rub? Wow, u noe, my boss also told me the exact same type of essential oil to put in my room to clear my bb nose and make her sleep better.. She says it works well for all her 4 kids! But I really don't like the idea of burning things in my house mainly because I afraid I'll burn my house down or if the oil is not pure, i'll be burning chemicals...I paranoid la.. Can I jus dip the oil onto a Cloth and put beside her bed but not so near her?

Starfruit: the snuffles is it snuffle babe vapor rub? The one with a moon in front?

Hi Bella

Just got home and checked. The brand is call Nature's Spa, product is called Cold Rub.

Don't use the burner cuz the burning candle will give off CO2 and dunno what kind of toxic gases.

Get a water ionizer diffuser. Mine is from Novita. Or you can also try one of those dehumidifiers from OSIM or Novita that allows you to drop in essential oils too.

These are much safer because they don't give off gases and they have safety feature to switch off once the water is used up.

Hannah, Hehehe

Bella yes thats the one? Were u using this too. Rub on soles of feet n then wear socks after tat quite effe tive when they are down with flu.

Jenny, different mummies have different approach and beliefs. Seems like u have made up your mind on the walker n so dun need to seek futher advise here already. u are the mummy and u know best. So go ahead n buy anything u fancy for ur bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hannah totally agree on the bit on short attention span, nowadays my ger only sit on rocker for 15 mins than fuss liao but its good enuff for me to take shower or have lunch after that will change her to the bed, and if she fuss after 10 mins i put her on the bumbo,whole day move her here and there, quite a funny sight lor!

WT: Icic.. those water type de..safer.. heee..

I'll go check it out but how do you tell if its pure essential oil instead of those added chemicals? where do you usually buy yours from?

Starfruit: no, i was doing a search so that I know how it looks like so i can buy.. it works like the Vicks? but can this be put on their nose? or also cannot? I'll try to use on her feet..

Bella: No, get the 100% pure essential oils, even better if they're organic. I got mine from Dazzling @ NEX. I also got this "Breathe Easy" blend from the shop that sold me the Cold Rub. It's a blend of a few oils like Lavender, Peppermint and Eucalyptus, blend of oils but not blend of other chemicals. Other chemicals is definitely a no-no. When buying the diffuser, note the running time. Get one that will run for at least 4-5 hrs. It's quite useless if it runs out after like 1 hr.

sigh so frustrating talking to my admin..i pregnant b4 so im trying to be understanding but shes getting from bad to worst..she called mom and my hr said cant terminate her..den she become worst..last time come late the most 9am..we start work at 830am..

now she is later..11 den come..i tell her try to be early cux my boss monitoring and ive been nice to her ask her dun sabo me as her manager i suppose to do something if not others felt unfair..but she still carry on like that..urgent leaves, mc, late...den just now i talk to her she tell me she cant sleep well at night thats y slp till later..

den morning time i call her at 730 she tell me she wanna slp till 9...her working hr is 830...i just come back from my ml alot of shit to clear and now i gotta ans the admin calls and help her with all the things...

she keep telling me she stay very far she pregnant..den my boss and client stand is there's many pregnant woman who is going thru the same phase yet can be on time why cant she...?

i feel im so not capable as a manager i cant manage my staff well..i really start to lose confident in myself

split, i dun think the fault lies with u. its ur admin who dunno how to think and do her work.

she cannot use MOM as a protection charm if she did not perform her duties reasonably.

Hey anyone started semi solid? im thinking of starting rice cereal for my 18weeks bb. do you all think its ok?

Bella: Thanks but dink no need to trouble ur mil n u. I admit to my fate liao. LOL. No leh, my baby has been crying alot since I bring him home, now approaching 4th mth, shld be over 100 days. My mum says maybe my baby loves to cry for nothing.

Hannah: Yah lor. Sometimes I eat my dinner he kept crying, I have to shift him from bouncer to playgyn to our dining bench.

Starfruit: Thanks. Actually even before I was pregnant I already confirm will buy walker for my baby. Just that I dunno why must wait until 6-7 mths before can use. That's why was asking if anyone knew if can use earlier. But now I got my ans liao. Also appreciate advices from nice mummies who warned me about using walkers. =)

2ww: I went to Sheng Siong last sat n saw e cereal tin wrote there from 6 mths leh. So I nv buy in the end. Let me know if it works for ur baby. =)

jenny, great tat u feel better .. dont think too much ... we can meet one of the days ... jus let me know .. i can go ur side... near for me ....

split, yah lor, ur admin gal case very tricky one ... unless ur coy wan to give her the 12weeks ML n ask her to go ... tat's the only thing she can fight for if coy terminate her ....

2ww, my gal also 18weeks tis week ... last week we start her on rice cereal alternate day once a day .. like jus 2-3teaspoon ...

she had shown sighs of wanting to eat, like drooling and moving her mouth when we eating, waking up more time at nite ... we think her appetite is increasing now ....

My baby strikes again! HAIZZZZZZ

I rem someone saying about a temple in Tampines for babies/children. If anyone knows, can tell me the add pls?

Ling: does the rice cereal looks like milk powder? then you just add some to the milk and let bb drink from the bottle type?

I tot of buying from the spree then realise got so many flavor. Brown rice / oat etc... dunno which one to give leh? any recommendation?

WT: thanks alot!! I'll go source for it.. Bb slp good means I can sleep better at nite too =)

Split: not sure if u wan to do this but can issue her warning letter.. And 3rd time means termination letter. Documented proof are necessary for termination of staff. Verbal warning doesn't really count.

Jenny: no trouble.. Ask only Ma.. Is 100days from full month.. First month doesn't count. Tts wat my mum told me la.. Becuz my sis is one cranky baby too. Cry most of the time and always need people to carry.. But carry Liao also cry.. But after 100days ok Liao..

thanks bella, to be honest i dont really wanna go to the extend to do all those since she is pregnant but i felt that she like making use of me..since i come back only so many pattern

Bella: I just counted its 75 days after full mth. Really hope my baby will be like ur sis, after 100 days will be better. But then after 25 days is abt time he goes for another jab. =(

Jenny: Rice cereal- the brand is holle. i hv not get the whole pack yet... jus got some as sample from my SIL ...

starfruit, she likes it, always open the mouth big big when we hold the spoon up ...even b4 near her mouth ...

2ww, not really powder form, abit of flake type ... can make it watery or creamy ... i make creamy for XH with some milk powder ... n feed her wz spoon ... hehe, i hv not train my gal wz bottle ... she stil fully latch on me ...

my aunty say give the pure rice cereal first (brown rice is good), after the tin finish, can give the wheat or oat cereal ...

dont give those wz honey, might b too sweet for baby ...

Mummies, how is everyone ??

So busy at work, no time to catch up at forum..

Jenny, hopes yr bb get better.. Anyway bringing my girl for review tomorrow and will try to get an appointment for you ya.

Spilt, understand your fustration. Went through exact situation just few months back. My A&P girl and me was pregnant at the same time. Similarly, she will call to say she will be late, MC or take leave. She finished all her MC and eventually she don't turn up for work and promised to work from home (but of cause we don't hear from her).

We gave her a lot of chances but in the end we have no choice but to let her go as it is not fair for the whole team. Hopefully things will turn around for you soon.

Split:ya understand..if that is the case, u can just give her verbal warning? Because she might continue to be like this even after she comes back from her ml.

2ww, viman: the whitish part u see is it the teeth erupted or the colour of the gums? My gal has been chewing on my fingers really hard and she was also down with diahorrea + crankiness at times. She likes to put her fingers into her mouth to chew and drools a lot. She seems to have the symptoms but Im not 100% sure if it's considered teething..

How long does it takes for the tooth to erupt? Anyone knows? And how u all know if it's time to give bb semi solids? I feel so tempted to try but I'm not sure if she is ready..

Jenny: my hubby told me that his mum count herself one.. But not those super detailed counting but just briefly use the 5 elements and Chinese zodiac. Nothing got to do with 8 characters. Ya, hopefully ur baby will be much better but u got to take good care of itself too. Y don't u try wat WT mentioned on the essential oil? Or just use lavender to calm him down?

mummies, i've geonmancer came to my place yesterday evening coz my girl kept having nitemares for the last 2 months... she'll kept crying in the middle of the nite and then point her finger @ my bedroom door...

so he told me that my neighbour is doing the "medium" business hence might have cause disturbance to my girl.

he advise me to let my kids to wear the "5 color thread" and a green "hulu" for preventing of sickness.

jenny, understand that your bb kept crying too. you wanna give it a try? he also point out that if we want to let our kids wear the "5 color thread", do it in the daytime...

this morning i've just let J wear the "5 color thread" and i'll monitor her situation again...

WT: Is the heinz too sweet? I scare my baby will be hooked to sweet food if I give him very sweet stuff from 4 mths.

Deon: Thanks a lot. Haiz my baby now more and more ridiculous. Early in the morning cry, noon cry, evening cry, even midnight also cry. Also dun wan to drink milk.

Bella: That time I go to TW got calc for me and my husband. But dunno how they count one. Isit like count out what he lack of then find someone with that element to be his godfather or mother?

My baby has the same symptoms as ur baby and small part of gum is white color. Last time is sore.

I got use lavender calming lotion California Baby one and use it for baby massage every night for baby. But no use. =(

dolly: The 5 color thread is must ask first then can wear one rite? My mil n husband sure going to oppose again.

I'm very mad with my MIL, she knew where the Tampines temple is yet dun wan to tell us. When baby scream and dun wan to slp, she say coz baby wan to play or play too much during daytime which is bullshit coz even midnight or early in the morning he also scream. Then baby refuse to drink milk she say as long got drink 1 oz is ok. Then my husband always listen to her and I;'m the caregiver, not his mum. His mum only came like 15 min a week to see her grandson, that's all.

Yest night I cried and cried when talking to my husband. He kept saying a lot of babies also cry like ours and he say I am still not prepared for a baby. Then I told him who will be prepared to have a baby who cries all day? Even someone who already have 10 children also wun prepare to have a baby who cries until like that rite? This morning my baby cry again and I told him I'm going to divorce ur daddy and ask him to take care of u alone. Then he dun dare to cry anymore.

Ya, I got a lecturing from a friend when I told her I fed the Heinz.

Sigh. I know all about allergies and digestive issues but baby hadn't been drinking his usual these few days. So scared is because he don't like my ebm anymore. Hubby has been declaring is because baby wants to eat solids. I opposed staunchly but I guess I gave in to pressure due to him drinking less. I guess its a selfish thought that I rather he wants solid rather than finding out he doesn't want my ebm anymore.

Anyway after the lecturing I've instructed the maid to throw away the bottle of Heinz and I'm sticking to just milk. Will try to hold out till he hits 6 mths.

Jenny, you should try the diffuser. Other than calming, the blend will help nose stuffiness. Afterall you sleep with baby right? You and hubby will benefit from the effects as well. With everyone in the room calmer, baby may feel more settled too.

jenny, don't have to ask. he said just treat it as a friendship band... no harm trying but if your hb & mil don't like the idea then better don't. just to share with you, my hb's a christian but for the sake of the lil children. he's open for other options as long as the lil children are safe...

Thanks dolly. U got any idea where to buy it? I think I want to give it a try.

Just now my mum carried my baby coz he's crying and screaming then she pat his tummy and say got a lot of wind. But I've been applying ru yi oil on him twice a day. Is having wind the same as colic? I have some colic drops, not sure whether to give to him anot.

jenny, did you give your baby gripe water? it helps to get rid the wind from your baby stomach. for my gal, she was given the gripe water once a day after her bath. if on certain days, if her condition a bit bad, i'll give her twice a day. try to burp your baby more frequently. of course, i also apply ruyi oil on her too.

jenny, you check with those shops that sell joss stick/paper. then the green hulu, you look around @ your vicinity whether got stalls that sell those beadeds stuff...

you can try ridwind from pharmacy, drop into his milk and let him have it...

Jenny if it's dentinox colic drops,yes it does help to get rid of wind too.but I find giving gripe water work better for my case.like wat d mummies say,muz try to burp him after each n every feed.cos he cry alot thus alot of air in.u r doin great so far handling on ur own.

Jenny if bb has gas in tummy its very uncomfortable he will scream too. Ru yi oil not tat effective to get rid of the gas. I suggest u try gripe water. U can give up to 3 times a day but each time i give only 1.5ml. The major crying will cause bb to ingest more gas so its a vicious cycle.

And perhaps u should carry your bb more too. Bb feels comforted and more secure if u carry them n this may result in less crying too.

Need to rant about maid: last night I told her to trim her hair. Today black face me whole day n asked me just now why she can't keep long hair. I told her I already let her keep until shoulder length from her boyish crop but she said our neighbour maid can keep til waist. I told her when she return home she can keep as long as she like but not when she's working. I regret being too easy with her when she first come.

Jenny - So sorry, I tried to get appointment for Saturday but they do not allow as it will usually be packed. Do you want to go over and wait, it is actually quite fast. Though I have appointment at 10am today, there were 3 people before me but I managed to see Dr Kumar within an hour.

Dear mummies, I do give my baby gripe water with plain water coz he refuse to drink plain water and I add 5ml with 80ml plain water but after whole day he can at most drink 15-20ml only. I dare not make it too sweet coz scare in future he wun drink plain water.

I've just given him dentinox drops, which is the brand the PD from Paragon gave previously but left little bit only. Heard that can buy this from pharmacy. Will check out tmr and buy another bottle.

starfruit: My mum also say he got wind coz cry too much. But sometimes bth so just let him cry.

dolly: Thanks. I'll try to find the thread tmr! I have ridwind from polyclinic but doesn't really work for my baby.

My neighbour's maid is the one fueling discontentment in my maid when I confronted her bad mood just now. My maid also not satisfied with what I am providing her when she compared with her friends. Very sian have to deal with this kind of crap from them.

Kristle: how is your maid selection ?

Jenny: I gave my Bb 30ml water plus one teaspoon gripewater twice a day. In between I also feed him sips n he's ok with both. I hope the pd can diagnose the reason to your Bb crying. It's heart wrenching to hear Bb cry n cry. There could be some discomfort n crying is his only means of reaching out to you. hang in there, nothing beats a mother's love!

Little Fly: Ur baby likes the 30ml water rite? When I add lesser water, like 60ml with 5ml gripe water, he loves it and can finish drinking. But when I increase the water then he drink lesser. He can't drink water without the gripe water. If put in bottle he totally dun suck, feed him with spoon or syringe he totally spit out.

Now also dunno if there's something thats making him uncomfortable or what. Just now went to dou tian gong near our place and can ask god but my husband say dun wan. In the end just pray pray, and nv even offer joss sticks. My husband is like that one. If his mum recommend then he will do, if I say he take it as rubbish.

Hows ur baby? Lesser singing already?

Deon: Missed ur reply. Oh its ok. I also tried calling them for appt the first time u told me abt the doc there. They say only weekdays can make appt. Think I might go back to iKids at Paragon, the doc there quite ok but bad thing is quite far. Thanks so much for helping me to ask. =)

Jenny: I think he's thirsty from singing n talking so he will take whatever type of water I give him. My pd said Bb don't need to drink too much water now. I told her I only give like 60ml water (added with gripewater) a day n she thinks it's enough.

Let your hb know u really need his support now to make Bb feel better n cry less. I don't know any first time mummy can be prepared for what's to come. I always tell others it's a life changing event. So let ur hb know it's a learning process for mummy, daddy n Bb. Important thing is Bb is happy n healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to share that it is not uncommon for couple to have disagreements over a new baby so you are not alone in that department.

Bella,

Dun think it's the gum. The tooth is not out yet but I can see it will be the first one to come out. It's just a very small white dot at the moment. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

littlefly: maid selection to no valid. not much bio data. and so worry will the next one be worse or not sighhhh....

RE: baby sleep

my boy been waking up throughout the night. he was not like this previously and able to sleep from 9 to 4 or 5 am. now he wake up at 1am , 4am, 6am. and he wanna sleep on his side now, not on his back. anyone encounter that? i am so dead tired from work. waking up almost every hr.