(2011/05) May 2011

Hi Jenny - Yes, Enfalac AR helps too. But PD did not asked me to cahnge the milk so I stick back to Enfalac A+.

My girl is going to be 15 weeks this Friday, she is taking 80ml in between each 2 hours feed. Sometimes can stretch to 2.5 hours but of cause at times she get hungry faster like in 1.5 hours times (if she is not napping).

For night she can sleep slightly longer, I cannot escape night feed. But I am okay with that as long as her tummy gets better. Heartburn is terrible and will cause her much discomfort and she will cries [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].

For now, will stick to this routine till she is older and can outgrow it.

Celina,

for my #1, was using medela swing and like u said, it didnt draw out much milk. i restored to hand express and have not looked back ever since =)

Deon,

my D turning 4mths old in 6more days =)

Hope ur gal will be well from heartburn soon.

Hi Val,

Using manual one, when i squeeze my breast theres still milk tats y i invested in swing... Maybe see change breastsheild will help...

Val: I also tot all babies dun cry for nothing until I got this baby who cries nonstop. =(

Deon: AR helps my baby alot. He doesn't spit out milk anymore when feeding from bottle but he still spits out when I bf him. So 80ml is the max? Can try for 90ml? My baby drinking very little now, sometimes 90ml can even last him for 3 hours or more. Yah heartburn is very bad. I had it once when I was pregnant and I tot I had a heart attack and going to die. Its so painful, even more painful than giving birth.

Celina,

for me, i didnt wan to waste time so i hand express directly aft medela swing failed my expectation.

Jenny,

i believe ur boy sld be uncomfortable thus he cried. Just like us adults, if we are nt uncomfortable with things/situations, we wldnt kick up a fuss rite? Babies have no means of expressing themselves except by crying.

Hello mummies! Today first day back at work and already missing my lil bb.

Split: Your Mym maid sounds good. Important thing is good temper and respectful. Quite put off by my Indo maid who is getting bolder and disrespectful by the day. Told me she hated to be reminded and given repeat instructions. If only my hubby don’t travel overseas so much and left me alone to fend for my 2 young children I would have asked her to scam.

Starfruit: Good your bb rest early and can free up time for you. I don’t really go for FP stuff…just a reasonably good walker will do. I think the bigger NTUCs got carry some walkers.

Deon: Good to know your gal is getting better. Your PD is really good with his diagnosis. How is your maid, can handle your gal better now?

Bella: Don’t worry, girls transform when they reach 18. My bb too, sleeps around 10plus or later like yours. Envy mummies who manage to get your lil ones to sleep early.

Rosnyus: Good to hear from you and know you have a May bb too! I used to follow your sprees.

Jenny: My bb also get blocked nose often and I clean him 2-3 days if blocked. Otherwise, I leave it alone. I think your bb sounds quite active type like my no.1 bb time who hardly naps at day time and can still wake up 2-3 times at night for feeds. Can you differentiate your bb cries now? My bb will cry too if he’s sticky and needs bath, wants to be carried, sleepy, hungry, thirsty or diapers full…or simply angry if we don’t guessed what he wants correctly!

Hi, I recently delivered and would like to clear some items which I’m no longer using.

These include:

Brand new baby and toddler clothes from Osh Kosh B’gosh/Carter’s/J Khaki/Nursery Rhyme, MyBrestFriend pillow, baby carrier, cot mattresses, Spiffies tooth wipes, Mothercare and carter’s prewalker shoes etc . Check out my link below!

Thanks, ladies who have visited my album before! I have added new items so do take a look.

https://picasaweb.google.com/101858061993997554978/ForSale?feat=directlink

If you see anything you need, pm me for discussion.

Lastly, have a safe delivery and enjoy motherhood!

Thank you Val...

Time flies, our babies are growing up so fast...

Jenny - Your boy is a small drinker, my girl is a big drinker. Previously before we are aware she got acid reflux and reduce her feeding, she was already taking 120ml..

Ha ha .. I will bear in mind AR but so far she is doing better with the medication and the powder so I think I will continue first then observe and see how..

U bringing your bb to see PD this week right ? Hope he gets better...

Little Fly - Welcome back to the work force.. I started back at work for nearly a month, tiring man..

My maid is getting better but I still feel she will still rely on us when we are around. Although I feel that she can cope better, maybe she needs more time and she will feel more confidence. So far she has improved and I hopes it will get better or at least maintain.

I am worried that when she finished her loan repayment, all the attitiude will come out.. ha ha ..

My girl also will cries when she is unhappy that we don't know what she want.. ha ha, moe like screaming...

It is so funny listening to her cries now, so different when they were newborn..

My girl needs to be coax to sleep, it is a struggle at times..

i think im going to tender my resignation in the moo moo career! its getting lesser and lesser as the days goes by.

My poor 4 months bb going to stick to FULLY FM. so sad!

Little Fly: I still dunno how to differentiate my baby's crying. Will always trial and error. Try from carrying to playing to sitting to sleeping to drinking.

Deon: Yup bringing him this Sat. Wonder if I shld go to Kinder Clinic to see if a lot of pple. Which floor is Kinder Clinic at? Yah lor, stick to what ur PD suggest. =)

My baby's crying changed after the first mth. My mum say so fast.

After giving my baby colic drops he seemed a little better. Can play with himself for a bit longer and stay in yao lan even after he woke up. And can also smile and show us his small little dimple. But of course still got cry.

HI Jenny - Kinder is at #07-02, Paragon. But i must say it is quite fast even though the queue is long.

Maybe your boy has too much wind in his tummy and causing him discomfort, that why he is crying so much. With colic drops, it will still take a bit of time to take effect, slowly.. He will get better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Deon. But kinda scare after hearing u have to wait 1 hour even though u made appt.

I heard colic will get better after a few mths when baby is better, maybe have to read more abt it again.

Jenny: yes, it is chim..lol.. I keep asking my hubby to repeat when I was typing to u.. Because it just can't seem to get into my head.. U gave birth at NUH too? Maybe when ur bb is crying, carry him below ur block and walk around. Maybe that will help? My gal will keep quiet whenever she sees em taking the sarong sling I will use to bring her out. Just walk around to let him be distracted. Maybe that will help abit?

Rosnyus: my bb timing is exactly like urs! When she don't want sleep back after the 5am feed, I'll be super sehz the next day..

Vicki: me no latch Liao, my baby rejects since the day I started bottle, which was quite early though.. Regreted lo..haiz..but I heard some mummies will scold the bb if dey bite.. Telling them fiercely "NO!"..

WT: lol.. My hubby is the one that loves biting her..her thighs, cheeks and even call her KFC chicken thighs.. Duhz..

V: It's really good to let bb sleep early so that we mummies can have an early rest, especially working mums.. We change her into her pj at 7.. But her last feed is usually at 10+.. even if she sleeps early, she will wake up to have her last feed of the day then go back to sleep.. Haha

Val: hehe.. Nu da 18 bian! ya, I really hope that the day of her sleeping early will come soon cux she's making me n my mum sehz.. Wan sleep early also can't.. Haha

Little fly: will u feel that concentration level is not there during work because u'll be thinking of baby? I rem When I started work after 2.5mths of ML, I miss her so much! I made a photo frame and put on my desk to remind myself of her. Even when I express at work, I will look through all her photos from birth. Like see also won't sian one.. Haha

Deon: your baby feed is 120ml every feed? Are all babies taking about the same amount for this age? I'm just curious because my gal is drinking 150ml x 8 feeds a day..is it way tooo much?

2ww: r u going to be a sahm?? *envy*

Hi mummies, I came across the quote and I felt it's really sweet.. So just wanted to share:

"Some people said that my life ended when I had you, but to me my life had just began. You didn’t take away my future, you gave me a new one. Being a mum at this age means we met a little earlier, but it also means I get to love you longer."

Bella, Evie,

How long do your babies take to finish the bottle? Mine takes more than an hour to finish 100 ml... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My boy was drinking 150+ml per feed every 4 hours a week ago, but he started drinking less... Can't finish a bottle every feed, and makes a lot of noise and pushing at the bottle every feed. Also takes 2 feedings to finish one bottle, sometimes more than an hour.

Poo-wise, also not regular daily. Shortest is once in 2 days, longest poo only once in 6 days.

But we've accepted that it's a phase and every baby is different. So long as he's pee-ing, poo-ing normal and laughing, we're cool.

Viman, my bb took an average of 15-30min to finish 100-120ml of ebm. Good feed will be probably within 10min [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we need lots of patient now. My bb drinking interval quite short, btw 2 to 2.5hrs..siong!

Evie: oh.. So it's ok.. Hehe.. Thanks for reasurring =)

I was really worried when the PD says she's fat and my gal keeps drinking.. Can't possibly stop her from drinking..

Viman: yes, mine takes about an hour too! Only night feeds she will slurp it up in 10mins..or when she sleeps over a feed and wakes up hungry..like WT, sometimes she can take 2 hrs to finish 1 feed, say she start at 1, push the teats here and there, in and out, sucks her fingers together with the teats etc.. Finally finish at 3, next feed is 4, she will too finish the 150ml at 4..

Apple: did u try increasing per feed so she can maybe last longer?

hi little fly,

actually my baby is a june 2011 baby, will be three months this friday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also remember passing you your loot at an MRT station [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My #1 also born in 2007

morning ladies =)

re: milk intake

think my gal really small drinker..she drank 70ml-100ml/feed...so imagine whole day at wk yest and she only drank like 300++ml the whole day?!?! i kept latching her when i am hm...so worried she wldnt have enuff intake!

Rosnyus: Heehee, both our bbies born in the same years, 2007 and 2011! What is the gender of your bbies?

Deon: Newborn cries are like kittens. Now they bawl like kanna caned. Now I know how to tell when he’s having tummy cramps. His legs will curl towards his tummy. Other times, he will whimper to be cuddled. Important thing is your maid don’t get influenced by bad company like mine did. Once they start comparing, it’s a downhill journey. Its tiring to be at work and a mad rush in the morning/ evening to drop-off/pick-up both my boys. I’m not alone, rest of daddies/mummies are all doing that. I will complain more when hb travels overseas coz the burden rest on me alone.

2ww: what is moo-moo career?

Jenny: so cute, got little dimple. Its cute to watch bb play on their own and watch them getting fascinated by their own lil fingers/toes.

Bella: That’s a good idea. I miss my bb terribly and how his lil face lit up brightly when he sees me. Arrghh..

Bella: I bet u wun understand even if u re-read. Think need a master to understand this. Esp when we totally have no idea abt it.

I bring my baby downstairs to open letterbox once when he cry. Then in the end he cried and cried nonstop. Nv stop one.

I think my baby also bites me when I latched him on coz very painful. I just remove and try again until no pain. Sometimes when I remove my breast to switch to the other, baby will cry until like his wife run away like that, very funny. Your baby can drink so much? If my baby drinks 150ml he can tahan more than 3.5 hours but maybe its coz he doesn't like to drink now.

Viman: Sometimes my baby also take one hour to finish the milk. Then I'll place him on the bouncer and feed, and scold him at the same time coz he refuse to drink. But now I learn not to give him so early coz he dun wan to drink. Must wait a little longer. Like if I latch him at 12pm, I give him a bottle at 3.30 or 4pm. Then he will finish drinking in 10-15min.

Little Fly: My baby only got one dimple, I always tell my husband that side with dimple is like me, the other side with no dimple is like him. Haha. But baby's dimple is nicer than me. Is a small hole in the middle of the cheek. Yest I told baby he shld smile more to show his dimple.

Yest baby started crying after his last feed. Cry until 12.30am (my husband got try to stop him but just can't), then slp for 5 min continue crying till my husband gave him two bolsters to carry then he finally slp. My baby is having more and more teething symptoms, yest diarrhea 3 times, this morning after feed also once. Must be very xin ku to have diarrhea.

Bella, we actually tried giving him 150ml & usually we gotta pour away 30-50ml of ebm on each feed! So PD told me stick on to his demand & give him every 2-2.5hr

Jenny, agreed with starfruit..u gonna set bedtime routine to bb now. Don't let him cry for 40min, u shd let him wake up at 10am. My bb zz at 8.30pm & wake up around 8.30-9am daily. It is kinda standard..by 9+ I'll bath & change him then give him milk. 1hr later he will knock out again for about 40min to an hour then play for 10min, milk again

apple: my baby is ok le. He knows cun wake up so early. Today he woke up at 9.30am and cried for two min then go back to slp himself.

Mummies, my baby has diarrhea third time today already. How do I differentiate if he's having diarrhea due to sickness or teething? If its teething then must I bring him to see a doc?

Jenny, watery stool? 1st teeth usually will get fever instead. Apply dentinox or medi gel on the gum.

I think it is good to let him wake up early so he learnt the routine slowly like bath then milk

apple: Yah watery stools. 4 times already today. No fever but forehead is very cold.

Last Sat we let him wake up at 10am. In the end he scream and yell for the whole day. And also last time before I let him slp in yao lan he always wake up at 9am, but also sleep after midnight.

Jenny: i do it regularly..like 2-3 times every day type.hahaha....i agree with Val..bb cry not = wanna sleep. need to eliminate possibilities such as diaper wet/poo, hungry, want to carry/attn etc...just need to trial and error...maybe try another method of making him sleep..eg lying on the side on the bed and patting the shoulders or back or covering the eyes with a napkin (works on my girl)..

Celina: i'm using swing since day 1..pretty good for me..clean out my breasts after 15mins or so...but still need to manual extract at the end and massage to clear out the ducts la...

Val: u got the mailer for isetan sales? good deals ma?

2ww: nevermind la..u did ur best for 4 mths le..

Bella: yea..some couple time with my hb after we put her to zzz..i managed to cook him a meal on Sunday after he put her to zzz..the 10+ feed my girl will open her eyes but not fuss..i duno if i shd cont with the 10+ feed or not..haiz..will have to check with PD coz we don't want to risk having her wake up in the middle of the night again but afraid it will become a habit and not coz she's hungry for the feed. my girl's taking in 120-160 each feed for 7 feeds average about 780ml per day. So tough to gauge how much to put in the bottle so most of the time waste 10-30ml sometimes 50ml..

Viman: my girl takes abt 20-30min when she's fussy and 5-10min when she's not..

jenny, we having westside mummies gathering tis sat 10Sep at clementi mall 11am-2pm, come n join us lah ...

R u in the SMH may 2011 facebook group?

if not, PM me ur email address, i add u in ...

Ling,pigeon brand has.kiddy palace or ntuc xtra.personally I find no use,I got d clipper,pump n tis suck 1 durin my no 1 time til now no use

V: Yah, sometimes my baby will cry and cry in his yao lan so I just carry him out. Then I also dunno what to do with him anymore. Haha. Anyway my baby only slps in his yao lan and sometimes when I carry him. Other than that he doesn't want. Last week my husband trying to retie the rope for yao lan and baby drink milk until he slept. Then I put him in his bed (combi high chair cum bed) and he woke up immediately. We also got try to let him slp with us, that's when we tried to let him slp early but he just cry when we turn off the lights. We pat him everything he just couldn't stop crying until we turn on the lights and play with him.

Ling: This Sat I bringing my baby to PD at paragon at 10.45am leh. No I'm not in the group. Will send u a pm with my email. Thanks!

My baby has diarrhea 7 times today already. My mil say is normal for teething babies but my mum insist baby is not teething coz gum is not swollen and cannot see teeth. Dunno who to listen to.

Jenny, I suggest u go PD tmr or KKH now. 7x is way too much for bb..might cause dehydration! Don't play a fool..it could be rotar virus coz now on high peak.

Jenny, Sat is too far away! Why don't you turn up at the PD 1st thing it opens tmr as an emergency case? Many parents do that. Afterall you are paying premium for PD, why wait and let BB suffer?

Celina

I am also using e Medela swing at work...I also hv the same prob as u, supply v low using it as compared to my PIsA..but I will have to stick to it as it's more portable then the Pisa..

Re: milk intake (ebm)

Funny thing now is tt my gal can drink up to 180 ml of ebm at one shot (15-20mins) when one mth ago, she can only take 120ml the most...my gal is very small size and her milk intake has always been very low thus her slow weight gain...which also means my ss is not able to meet her appetite le...

Xuanmin, 180ml at one go is alot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] is time to beef up..hehe

Demand = Supply..your mind has to tune it to 180ml per feed when u pump.

Hi Xuanmin,

Tks for your feedback...will try to use manual pump to see if really the problem lies wif the swing, if yes then guess i wasted my $$ but then again can keep for my next baby...

viman - mine takes abt 30mins

bella - my pd said that it's ok. in fact, we shd be glad that they are willing to drink. it will be hard time for us if it is the other way round [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mine taking 120ml now sometime can last 4 hrs sometime only 2 hrs! She is still gaining weight very well so guess i guess my bm may be quite fattening!

So sleepy now cos bb woke up 4 times last night n up by 7am already. Dunno how to take it when i go back to work.

Apple bb D's rashes better already?

hi littlefly,

i strike lottery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my first is a boy and my 2nd is a gal. so factory closed liao

i also remember collecting tippy toes socks from starfruit at serangoon mrt a few years back [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]