(2011/05) May 2011

Morning mummies, imma on my way to work!

Tired me..

Re:- diapers

Apple, I just order nepia ytd & receive it this morning 9am. The M size is only slightly bigger den the S ley hmms.. Luckily I order 2S 2M.

Btw nepia having promotion now if u order via online or phone. Its 56$ for carton of 4. Remb before I givebirth I order 2nb 2s is $60! Now my 2S and 2M is only $56!! Cheap cheap & good!!

Val, am weighing 55kg now.. I'm so satisfied with my weight. Initially thought I'm unable to shed much weight le coz last round left 3-4kg, but didn't wear girdle.. As for meat, hardly take pork as my maid prepare our meal & share whatever dish we are taking..

Re: exercise

I didn't really care abt exercising and keep all I like.. =P my appetite got bigger afterbirth and now working till body quite weak no energy, so ppl ard me advise me to eat more rice & food to regain my 'qi'. If nt I will be dragging my feet to work everyday.. So, just eat as I can! Body gt energy more impt for now!

Btw, is there anything which I can eat to 'pu qi'??

Dolly

The freestyle is e most portable among all the Medela dual pumps. But very ex, US set w/o warranty already increase price to $470. I check at mum and babes, it's $800++!! so scary the price..so I bought the swing, which is exactly the same as freestyle, but fraction of price at $285 keke.. U can go Medela website to watch e video on freestyle.

Apple

I don't dare to leave her with baby. My mil will come up and supervise. Hope she keeps her word and turn up at my she every day and not just for a few hrs. My workplace is far frm hm so can't rush back if anything happens. How abt you? Got nanny?

apple: yes.. my mil believe in all these wierd things.. during my #1 times, my girl had very high fever for almost a month due to bronchitis.. brought her many times to Pd and hosp but did not recover, cux the viral went from nose to tummy than to ear infection.. than mil say its 'bo tan' and spirits again.. dunno where she go and get an amulet, burnt and let my girl drink when i'm not ard.. was damn upset. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

btw, i'm shifting to bukit panjang, cux i wanna enroll my girl into my pri school there.. somewhere nearby.. good lah,i 3 girls, all go same school! hahahaa..

auroa: u din put on weight as much, right? cux remember u got to watch ur diet.. i also need my nap and meat. in fact, my steaks.. i crave every week, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yesterday went shopping alittle.. bought about $400 worth of workwear. :x er.. hubby scold. say will lose again, why buy so much.. but 12 pcs, $400 worth ma...

oh, starfruit.. can i have the website to the nursing wear or inner wear u girls are talking about? do they have for bigger bust woman?

i like marks and spencer banduer bra. but they discontinue. ;( sad.

kaykay:

aiyo, ur hips not recovered? remembered u mention b4. take care.. better to see doc than to self medicate when it has been so long.. see western or TCM also good... tui na tui na

wes gathering:

is it still on? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cloud, dolly posted the link (www.fabulousmom.com) n email to order. U scroll up. Yez the nursing bra comes in plus sizes i think ling ordered too cos she also needed bigger sizes.

Val i think u are a S-M for nursing wear base on my observation of your size. For bra cant advise hahaha. Btw i am waiting for my leg warmers to come! I ordered 3 pairs!!!

apple: ok thanks...think i shld seriously consider Ameda...pisa really quite noisy.

starfruit: thanks for the info...din know they are interchangeable. For the steamer/blender I jus hope it will be worth the $$...heard from friends some of their kids reject solid food....

dolly: yeah quite worth it le...try to bargain to $300? 55kg is good weight...I havent lose enough to go back to my 'best' weight yet...sian....where to get the girdle? Need to apply anything before puting it on? U are so determined la!

Val: haa yr hubby so sweet...still give u compliments...mine hint hint to me to try to go back to our dating days...those were the days man....slimmest then...so fast do pap smear? I haven do le...need to do within a certain time...aiyo i didnt get the 'go ahead' from gynae and started running le...but v.hard to keep it up...everyday insufficient slp....

Cloud: haa that's great...my family n inlaws stay in bp too! Nx time I visit them can visit u and try your pastries too! Look so yummy!

Evie: Ook...that will be nice!

goofie: wa L size ar? I am using S only and bb sth will choke le...

Re: gathering this friday

Split, what time is it good for us to go over? Anyone wanna share cab from Bukit Panjang? Will be coming from there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val: springleaf got nice nursing bras! dun get chance to go out so probably will order online.

Re: exercising aft delivery

went for mt a post natal class but come back forgot how to do. u-tube also got videos on this.

Kay: u can try dang-sheng soup. stew w chicken, beiqi, red dates n wolf berries. i find the taste better than danggui.

angie: i bought the steamer ad blender too.. i reckon its a good choice.. cux during my #1 & #2 times, we have to steam the food than mash and sieve through to make sure it smooth and no lumps, so alot of steps.. Avent steamer seems to eliminate alot of steps.. so, purchase and try out..

55 kg is my lightest weight. i doubt i can reach it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] if i wan to reach it. i need to lose 30kg, might as well, take my life!

dolly,

55kg is gd =) so u must be v motivated to shed more or at least maintain the current weight ya?

i wana shed abit more to my personal idea weight =) wonder got chance to go back to my weight at pre #1 time nt. hehehe.

kaykay,

wat happened to u? thot u had a gd confinement and followed all the rules how come nw aches all over n so weak?

better take care of urself since u are still so young n long rd ahead of u.

cloudpoem,

some old ppl like to believe in such things once they are told...

wah! when u going back to wk? buy so many pieces le. i havent bought anything for myself since delivery till nw -_-'''

starfruit,

need to go measure later. hehehe. was 35 before. better measure before buying. did u buy the seamless one?

u wldnt regret the leg warmers coz they are sooooo lovely and nice lo =) i also ordered 3 pairs. nw thinking if i sld also order the one with hearts. i also ordered some socks today. =P

angie,

mayb he wanna give me some encouragement ba. hahaha. previously before i gave birth he told me i better do some maintenance else i will becum yellow n haggard n tat prompted me to go for a haircut which he likes =P

my hb did ask me to go n tone myself up la...but i lazy. hahaha.

i did the pap smear at 6weeks post delivery and result came in yest. i dun like running nw coz of the boobs. even with sports bra, i just hate running when i am bfeeding =P

ok, gonna prepare to go out with my gal in this drizzling weather to fetch my boy liao.

Cloud: u buying from M&P US? my colleagues raved on their body shapers. Wish i got time to go check them out...dunno got sale or not now... most of my old clothes can fit due to the waist.

Angie: my hb stopped teasing me on my big tummy, he scared i ask him to sponsor slimming packages!

little fly,

i nv tried their nursing bras before so i will look see later. first time ordering bras online =P and i rem i used to be a bra lover, will go for those nice n fanciful bras. kekeke.

re: exercise

pevic flr exericse the most impt so ladies must rem to do ah.

re: weight

i nv exceed 48kg my entire life till i got preg...women really wei da ho!

Val: Haa ya he very kns one...ask him help me massage the fats away he say he v.lazy...my bathandbodyworks loots jus came...online shopping is indeed v.addictive! Be careful dun get caught in the rain.

Re: brushing teeth

When do mummies start to brush bb's teeth? Any particular brand u use? I come across the one apple recommend for shampoo...v.exp but edible toothpaste....is it good?

Val:- yea did my confinement well but went out to work str8 and maybe didn't lie on bed so much.. Working was sitting most of the time and if busy den standing.. And my work 12hrs.. Perhaps that's why aches come find me loh..

Littlefly:- oh isit? Thks for the recommendations! I'll ask my grandma cook for me if she knows it.. Cos I dunno how to cook all those stuffs..

Cloudpoem:- will take care of my body derhx.. Thks for the concern. All mummies take care too.. Eat well..

Wat a heavy rain now!!

Woke up wif a bad headache this morning, wonder if will go away later if not, duno if got patience n strength to look after baby.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Angie - U can buy 1st teeth toothpaste when bb is 4mths old. Now u just buy gauze dip in gripe water to clean the gum & tongue ba.

Oh u mean u found Dentinox toothpate? Or teething gel?

xuanmin - is good if your MIL can keep an eye on the lil one and the maid. If can, install cctv before the maid arrival. My hse has cctv all over except my masterbedroom..hehe

I engage live in nanny to look after my boy, she will be here on 30 June. Hopefully she turns up haha..we dare not cancel my maid WP yet coz scare the nanny aeroplane us :p

dolly - 55kg is my ideal weight, but ppl commented I look haggard with this weight during my #1..

Apple: Ya i bought the dentinox baby toothpaste...u tried before? Where to get the first teeth toothpaste? any gauze ok? aiyo i didnt know must clean his gum/tongue now le. btw how to feed gripe water if i dun have syringe? Does cradle cap affect the eyebrow too? my bb got flaky yellow skin on his eyebrow for 2 weeks le...applied aloe vera also no use....

Apple: How did you find your live-in nanny? through referrals or you go nanny agency? I am looking for one too. No one responds to my online ads [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] How's her rates like? Expensive?

Preciousmum: I took 2 if headache v bad.

Kay: My DD1 also like the Dangsheng soup but we limit him to one lil bowl coz still young [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val: i am eyeing the body shaping nursing tank... must be difficult for me to remove..if not i 三分钟热度 again..

Angie, initially she quoted 350 while I've bargained to 300 so lowest she can goes is 320. 55 kg is my #1 pre pregnancy weight.. I shall maintain @ this weight le. I didn't apply anything just wear the girdle.. You can get any girdle, the end result is the same..

Val & apple, I didn't expect that I'm able to shed so much till 55 kg.. Few times wear those newly bought shorts, it keep dropping till I measure my weight again then realize that I've lost so much weight le...

Angie - go Guardian get a pack of gauze just dip in gripe water and clean the tongue & gum will do. I nvr use dentinox toothpaste for my #1 before, u can get 1st teeth toothpaste via bp online or ntuc/guardian. Sometimes ntuc got promo..

I don't feed gripe water..I just use to clean my bb tongue & gum twice a day during bath.

Little fly - I get live in nanny fr CL contact. The rate is around $1.5 to $1.8k depends

I called up one, she wanna charge $1.9k at least and 1 weekends off per month to go home.

Hi Mummies, sorry to intrude in all your conversation but I really need an outlet to express my thoughts.. I'm mainly a silent reader but I need some opinions and advice from you girls..

I have 2 girls - #1 is 18 months and #2 is 8 weeks old. I only partially bf #1 for 4 months as I wasn't well-informed and prepared for bf-ing then, and had always felt very guilty about it. Thus, I made a resolution that I am going to try all means to exclusively bf #2 for at least 6 mths.

#2 came, and I was armed with all the necessary bf-ing info and supplements, and followed all the knowledge I had gathered religiously. I fed every 2-3h/whenever the baby demands it, which resulted in my literally carrying #2 with marathon feedings. I persisted with feeding her by the breast despite my hubby telling me to put her down and give her FM.

It was not easy, but yes, I am now exclusively bf-ing #2. Afterall, I want to give her the best food that I can, as she has a hole in her heart, and I read that breastmilk can help to make the heart work better.

But bf-ing has resulted in a host of problems for me and my family.

1) Baby can only sleep when being held

I know that babies are only so small once and they will never be spoilt if their needs are being responded to promptly under the age of 6 mths, but this is seriously taxing. My hubby blamed me for the marathon feeding/carrying sessions that resulted in this.

To overcome this problem, I resorted to using the automatic yaolan but now I am ruled by the fear of her getting used to rocking to sleep and that our backs will break rocking her to slp in a sling outside.

2) Baby refuses bottles

Hubby has told me to introduce bottles at 2 weeks, but I resisted and only gave in at 6 weeks, after my milk supply is established. But she will scream murder whenever we shove the bottle into her mouth. We have tried all ways as recommended by google, but to no avail.

This is very bad as I have to go for some work-related interview in my company before I return from my maternity leave in early Sept and I can't see this being possible anytime soon. And with her refusing the bottle, I don't see how I can even return to work!

3) Baby very attached to me

I am the only one that can feed/soothe/please her as she is now so used to me. I can't even go toilet or eat in peace. Of course, bf-ing is again being blamed for this.

4) #1 is very jealous of #2 as I don't have time for her anymore

#1 and I used to be very close, but things have changed since #2 arrived as my main task was to bf. As a result, #1 will hit #2 whenever she sees her. I really don't know how to deal with a high-need toddler with a high-need baby, and this is deeply upsetting for me.

---

With all these issues, I really regret having a second kid sometimes. By wanting to give my child the best, I invited all these problems. I really don't know how to go on.

I'm from Mar'11 thread.

I'm having a unused bottles of 2 x 260ml Tommee Tippee Anti Colic Feeding bottles to let go.

More details shttp://www.tommeetippee.us/ctn/522525.html

Comes in original box, letting go at $18 (vouchers are acceptable too). Self collect @ Bishan area. Other arrangements can be made.

If interested, pls pm me! Many thanks!

Angie no need to use toothpaste nW cos they dont have any teeth. Only need to start brushing when their teeth comes out. i dun recommend using any toothpaste just water n cloth to clean cos my #1 had bad staining n her pd dentist mentioned it was caused by first teeth toothpaste!!

After tat i dun dare to use it anymore n just use water to clean.

Bfing mummies becareful when bb teeth cos they bite!

Val we got the lydia bra, super comfy!! U can try. I am eagerly awaiting my leg warmers to arrive. They can only fit size 0-6 mths?

Sry was bz watching tvb show On my iPod n nv log on for Friday gathering can we make it at 11 like the last one cuz evening time might need to fetch my boy

Starfruit, 1st teeth toothpaste will stain teeth?my gal was using it till 4 then we slowly switch her to children oral b.

Where u ord leg warmer?? I wanna ord too!

Faint..am buying more :p just ord additional cot mattress protector haha

Sylvia it is not easy to bf N i think u are great to make this decision to bf your #2. I just tot ur hb should be more suppotive instead of blaming u for all these thing as ur reason is to improve the health/ heart condition of your #2. Each bb is different n they behave differntly too, wat u experience with your first may not the same as #2. even if u feed #2 fm she may still need to be carried. Carrying bb give them assurance n if u can really no harm carrying them. We have bf babies here who sleep n no need to be carried but most bb (on FM or BM) likes to be carried. N it seems like u are the one

handling bb most of the time so i dun understand why he is so against.

For bottle feeding, pls cont to give the bottle recommended time period is 4-6 weeks to intro bottle. Nvm if u miss this window cont to give the bottle. Dun feed the bottle urself get someone else to help u. Change the bottle till u find one she likes. Impt dun be tense when u give her the bottle. She will take to it eventually.

Apple this was the main causefrom her staining. Some kids are more affected n she was one of them.

The leg warmers from the little wardrobe on FB. U search under little wardrobe uob. Under their mudpie range! But these are all gers design lah.

starfruit: ooh ok...think i shld go n refund my toothpaste then...exp toothpaste...I got my legwarmers from bum genius when I got their cloth diapers tog. V.good quality....when u start letting bb wear leg warmers?

apple: I will go n get the gauze and gripe water...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks!

split: yeah 11am is great. Haa watch on ipod? Strain the eye? I am watching tvb drama too...jus finished the law ba one...tuan yuan is great!

Sylvia: Dun let your negative thoughts run wild...I believe your #2 will also give u lots of joy and u will find that all your sacrifices are worth it. Dun stop trying...wat bottles u using? I think you can try Nuk ones with latex teats as it is softer? My boy ok with bottle feed at the first trial with nuk. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly: Thanks...I will go n check it out. U going back to work this friday? So fast....

Dear dollyqueencess,

From the thread know u are getting medela swing pump. I thought of selling mine. Cause i did not sucess in bf. Using only abt 2wk. Maybe u can pm me if u interested. Mine still under warranty.

starfruit - ops..that's for girl. I wanna get leg warmers for my boy coz I see just wearing rompers on aircon environment like quite exposing.

sigh, now I headache! my boy without aircon he can't nap long. He will get angry and wail loudly if it is warm..how how??? I also don't want him to be in the aircon like 20hrs a day ler [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Angie - go refund and exchange for gripe water & gauze.

Sylvia - it is not easy to tbf a baby and since u made it, just continue. Well, my #1 was tbf for 2 yrs and she doesn't take bottle too! We tried cup feed, spoon feed & syringe. Not easy but heartwarming to see them grow healthy each day.

If u plan to return to be FTWM instead of SAHM, get someone else to slowly intro bottle to your #2. I'm still struggling with my #2..so far my hb successfully fed 1/2 the feeding need via bottle, then wait awhile he will wail to latch. At least a good start for us rather than he totally refuse bottle. Keep trying..I have tried various brand of bottle & teats..

Hi Sylvia,

Big Hugs and kudos to you! You have done well because

1) you hve succeeded in bf your #2, in building up yr supply and being able to latch baby well! Well done! This is something other mummies are struggling with.

2) you have decided to tbf yr #2. I salute u on that decision despite yr not so successful attempt with #1. Press on!

3) baby is 8 weeks old and you've made it thus far! It's definitely not easy and you have done it!

I think bf the baby is not the problem but that you are lacking support to continue to do so. As what the other mummies have suggested, get someone else to intro bottles and try different teats till baby accepts it. A hungry baby will eventually take to the bottle. Many babies have this problem but they overcome it eventually.

Have a good talk with your hubby and let him know how you feel. You will find that everything is easier with his support even if he does not have time to help.

As for #1, i am also feeling that I'm spending less time with him but it's inevitable. What I do is to try to multi task. Example, when I am bf baby, I ask #1 to sit with me and I read to him. I involve #1 in as many ways as I can. Eg: ask him to sing to baby. To read to baby. When I change diapers, #1 helps in passing me the diaper cream, wet wipes etc. I make him feel like he has an important role in assisting mummy to cope with newborn.

My #1 expressed acts of jealousy and we always encourage him to talk his feelings out. It helps and he would feel better. As we have several albums of his baby photos, we also take them out and explained to him what he did and what we have done so that he understands why babies need more attention.

It's really tough being a mummy, and with the sleep deprivation, our moods will be down too. I always tell myself that this is only a phase, and it shall pass and things will get better. It easier to press on with the assurance that we will survive!! Hang in there!

been too busy after confinement and no time to post here!

Auroa and dolly: congrats on successful weight loss! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] someone mentioned abt more sleep and having a more meat diet. It's true that when u sleep more, u will lose more weight! So now I am trying to sleep whenever I can!! As for a more meats diet, the protein diet has proved effective for many too. Take more protein and cut down on carbo.

Apple: I tbf my #1 for 2 whole years too and I am wondering if I can do the same for #2 cos it's so tiring! It's so much easier when I was younger and only have one child to deal with! Hehe

cloudpoem and arisz, I am keen on baking but have no talent in it! So I am better off eating than baking though I would love to be able to bake like you gals!! .... Hehehe

I am looking forward to baby reaching six months when we can intro solids. I love preparing meals for kids!!

Any mummies feel like they smell of milk all the time? I always get the feeling i hvent scrubbed myself well enough even after shower, I keep smelling of milk!!!

Thanks starfruit, Angie, Apple and Nic for your kind words and encouragement.. they have lifted up my spirits..

I have tried Tommee Tippee, Pigeon wide-neck, NUK wide-neck and Playtex wide-neck bottles with both silicone and latex teats but she dislikes all of them.. Got my mil and hubby to feed her too but not successful. It is very heart-wrenching yet frustrating to see her cry so hard when fed with the bottles. Really hope that she can accept them soon.

To give my hubby some credit, he is not supportive of bf-ing as it has literally transformed me into a zombie and no one could help me, even when I was down with a 39 degrees fever recently. He felt that there are too many bf nazis around proclaiming its benefits but never mention its associated problems as well.

Looks like qte a few of May mummies have more than 1 kid; we should exchange pointers on how to cope!

The newborn phase is really the toughest.. hope to get through this soon!

Sylvia, ok my sucessful attempt was using Bfree bottle. U may want to give it a try [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And my bb doesn't throw out after bottle feed. I tried NUK, Pigeon, Avent & Dr Brown but failed.

Online shopping - OMG!! I spent $400+ today itself ordering via online & BP..cham I think I must hide my token liow

Nic: same here, I aso feel like I smelt of milk.. Haha..

Split: 11am is gd... So u will order e food earlier so tat by then we reach, we can eat liao.. Hehe.. So hv u decided wat to order? Cant wait for fri...

@ Apple - Thank you for your advise. Will not start my massage first.. Have to live with my rounded tummy for awhile

@ Bunnymum - Keep positive thoughts ! Just look at your bb and you will be happy !!

@ Littleflt - If maid cannot solve my problem, I do not know how to cope if I go back to work. My mum is already complaining of the sleepless nights. She cannot take it, due to age lah.. N it has been so long since she take cares of bb.. Also tough on her. My mum want weekends off, if I take care of bb on sunday night then I need not go to work on monday morning... ha ha

Apple: Thanks! Will give it a try..

Re online shopping

It's really sinful! Everyday I will browse through a host of sites and get tempted to buy a lot of things! I can also buy things thinking they're very cheap until I get the bill haha

Precious I've not decide what to order leh cuz so far only 8 mummies request for my address n 2 can't confirm coming yet. Can we only order on that day? Or u ladies have other suggestion?

Angie I also just finish the law ba one nice show.. Watch on iPod easier for me cuz can bring anyway while I feed my bb n is free lol. Will watch the 洪武三十二手 next

Apple: haa u really spent alot...n u bought so many different bottles..now all have to put aside? How do u find medela bottles?

Sylvia: np! Hang in there! It will be over b4 u one it....I m saying that for myself too...haa

Split where u go watch on your ipod? I wanna watch drama too but dunno where to go.

Cant join on friday as i will be brining bb back to pd for assessment.

Anyone keen on another meetup at nex mall? We go bfast at wang cafe?

Apple i was luffing at your post leh!! Maybe we should counsel each other not to spend so much. My spdnding today is springleaf's bp!

Nic i smell of milk all the time!! Haha which is why my bb is inconsolable whenever i bao bao her. She will turn into this maniac monster n keep eating me and my clothes. My #1 calls the baby a dinosaur!

Split: I'm fine to order on e day itself.. Mayb kfc or pizza hut will b easier?? I guess we shld all vote e food here within these 2 days so tat u can order b4 we reach bah..

Mummies who gg to spilt hse, wat wld u like to eat on tat day??? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]