(2011/05) May 2011

auroa: my bb is 6weeks oredi... his jaundice should be clear by now... my pd said if the poo is yellowish or greenish is ok one...

bubble: mine is 05 may... should be same as ur bb... pd oso suspect is breastmilk jaundice... so he said can wait for 2 more weeks... by weeks 8 still the same den got to do the test loh...

v: yah... i feed halfway will burp him one... if not he will cry... should be colic ba... my boy oso like tat but in the evening... so i give the detinox once a day before he sleep... did help... 5hrs ok lah... the nite before yesterday overslept so it is over 12hrs since i last pumped... to my shock... i pumped out 3 bottles 150ml BM in 30mins... my highest record so far... haha... i have been doing wat u r doing now... pump 4hrly if im free... if im out den will miss the pump section... but to my suprise my ss increase instead of dropping... so i guess the best is dun stress up ba... hmm... my gynae said no need to avoid any food wor... so i have oredi eaten prawn n duck after my confinement... tink just eat in moderation ba...

Yaer - Thank you.. Will find out from the massage lady.

Goofie - My bb girl just passed her week 3. She kept askng for more milk even when just after feed. She is drinking 80ml now and sometimes will still ask for more. Will try to cuddle and talk to her till her next feeding time. Worried I overfeed her.

My bb girl woke up suddenly crying very loudly. Checked diapers not wet, not close to feeding time and do not want pacifier. She was crying so badly until whole face all red. So heart pain.

Bought her to GP yesterday, doctor said she is doing well (weighs 3.71 kg). But got phlegm, doctor prescribled some medicine for her. Hope it clears up fast !

V, i also c sect after confinement 30days i started to eat seafood and eat once duck meat noodles. Oh i didnt know got restrictions as my gynea say everything also can eat. Do you still feel pain at the c sect wound mine still very pain.

Csect: avoid coz scared inside itchy..not the surface wound but the deeper wounds la.. Aiya nvm I seldom eat seafood.. Duck I can abstain also.. I heard peanuts also cannot -_-" I think I will eat stuff w peanuts still :p

Faith: my wound ok lei.. Did u exert too much during confinement? I only after confinement than carry 'heavier' stuff. I never squat also coz CL didn't allow. Massage also haven't do.. Basically never do anything to aggravate the wound for the past mth...

Deon: my girl once woke up crying super loud becoz the door slam close when she was zzzing.. Delayed reaction.. Or also could be she got scared of something.. Carry her and snuggle her? My girl also had phlegm.. Think quite normal in BB nowadays. Just keep dripping the meds and cleaning the nose [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cloud: my girl got both yellow and green...

Any mummies know how long can we keep warmed up ebm before throwing away huh? Ie I take out from chiller to warm up n my BB went back to zzz..the ebm can keep warm how long??

Bb K having some runny nose now, last nite was torture, woke up, used the Pigeon sucker to suck out the mucus for her. It worked and she slept soundly. Hopefully tonite it wont torture her again, mummy's poor baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Thanks for the replies , been too busy yest to comment more. The rashes my bb has turned out to b eczema! Sob sob n he has stomach upset too. I wonder y.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I hv a few more questions,, my bb is on 135ml fm n 20ml bm..that's all I can generate sigh! Anyway wan to check if that's the case, can I give bb water n how much? My family said can give one bottle! Bb 6week old now.

also how big did u gals bring ur bb out?

I.m letting my bb sleep on those oval infant pillow with hole in the middle. When can he zz in those normal children rectangular ones? My bb vomits milk sometimes n I hv to wash the pillow. Can't dry in time. Wonder can use normal ones when the other is wet.

Hi bunny, I'm not familiar w formula but 1 bottle seems like a lot to me. Then again 135ml of milk seems a lot coz baby k is now 7weeks and only taking about 90-100ml.

I brought her out shopping malls once past confinement [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

She is also sleeping on normal rectangular pillow now. I let her sleep on the side to prevent having a flat head. My experience w the pillow w hole w my #1 was that it caused him to lose all his hair at the back coz it rubbed against his head when he wriggles. It looked so weird to have no hair at the back of his head hehee

bunnymum - i have been bringing my bb ever since my confinement ended. hahaha!! cannot stand being at home. mm..i haven't introduce the dimple pillow or any other pillow to my bb yet..

Had my 1st mth celebration today! Fun but tired!!

Now confinement is over, i will also br bringing bb out regularly.

Wat causes bb phlemg? From not clearing the nose?

Cloud: my boy got green n yellow oso...

v: i tink is 1 hr...

bunnymum: one bottle too much lah... i gave my boy 3ml a few times a day onli... using the sygrine... me brought my boy out when im still having confinement.... cos nobody take care at home... if normal pillow just turn the bb each after a few hours so that it will be balance lah... not flat one side onli...

Cloud, so far my boi is yellow poo poo

Bunnymum, I am supplement nite feed w fm n I give at most 40 ml of plain water but during my #1 time, he is fully fm n I give him 2-3 times of 20-30 ml of water.

Bra, for exclusive pumping mummies, do u all still wearing nursing bra or normal underwired bras?

Cloud: old folks will say greenish poo due to she is startled.. But for my #1, her poo was greenish in color for long long time.. As for my baby nw, few days ago was greenish but e rest r yellowish..

Me aso brought baby out once confinement is over... Hehe.. Can't stand staying at home for so long.. Hehe

Up for pumping... Overslept n both b felt hard again

2nd time mummies, do u feel more tiring on weekends? Dd2 already abt to knock off around 7 but dd1 kept waking him up w his loud voices... *kao*

Cloud: my Bb takes mixed n poo yellowish

Bunnymum: not sure how much water Bb should drink. I gave him only sips like 1-2 times a day coz he rejects the bottle once he tastes water.

I have not been out since as felt Bb too young n many pple fell sick due to weather recently. Also lazy to go out coz need to bring many things!

Regarding Bb pillow: my CL uses the muslin squares folded up n propped up as 'pillow'. I bght the pillow w hole recommended by KP staff but CL said too big for Bb.

Hi mummies, I had an early nite today aft bring the kids to sentosa underwtr wold today.... Soooo shag.....

Now juz finish pumping.....

Starfruit,

Congrats on ur bb full mth.... I oso once after confinement start to bring bb out....

Bunnymum,

A bot of wtr is a lot leh. Wat u can do is aft every feed, give her the wtr bot to suck a few mouth , it helps to clean her mouth n prevent the milk stains on the tongue too. Over time its a habit n the bb will b willing to accept plain wtr....

Re: pillow

My girl 2 mths old kow already on rectangle pillow normal type since 3 wks back....I buy those a bit "pong pong" type so it's Nt tat flat n her head will b round even if she don turn her head frequently.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bubble pearl,

Okie... See u all there....

Up for latching....

Bubble, not advisable to wear underwire bras, will cause blocked ducts. I forgot and wore one yesterday, now right boob is blocked, getting bb k to latch more on the right to clear it....ouch....

overslept pumping time. Wake up fr bb's cry for milk instead! either alarm didn't work(highly not possible I think) or I slept thru it?

Just finished feeding Bb. He likes to multi- task ; drink n poo.

When can Bb sleep longer ya? 6 weeks only drink 120ml max every 2.5-3hrs.

Ash: I always wake up n press alarm if didn't hear Bb cry n return to sleep n oversleep on pumping time too. Haha.

Good morning mummies! Weekend just zoooomed passed.

fly: my bb is 6 weeks old and drinks only 120 max too every 3 hrly.

V: i will check if the milk turns sour. if it did not, i will put back into fridge. no choice lah, my ebm too little.

bunnymum: 1 bottle of water seems a lot too me but if over a day probably not that bad. i suppose u can check the urine and stool of your bb. if too yellowish urine or hard stools, then can drink more water as FM is more heaty.

re: alarm

i often woke up wondering if my phone alarm is working. my hubby said he heard it. so i supposed my body will automatically turned it off and fell asleep again without waking the brain. haha..

re: poo

my bb also has mix of green and yellow poo. but yellowish most of the time.

re: pillow

i didnt give my bb pillow but she moves her head around so should be ok yah?

re: food

I will only abstain from 'poison' seafood for 3 months. as for duck, i started after the 40 days lor. why cannot eat duck?

V- I tried your method of burping - put bb aa straight as possible. Worked for me last night. But in middle of night, did not. Btw, must upright for roughly how long?

Xing, cloudpoem - thanks for sharing. M using the cupping firmly pat method by tmc to burp bb. But the loud thud sometimes scare my parents. They say - wah... Hit bb so hard. Then I ask my cl to do it. Sometimes I hear her pat him to burp, I also think that it's loud.

Deon- my bb boy also 3 weeks plus. He's at day 24 today!! M organizing his baby shower this weekend. And decide to use Stamford catering. Which day is your bb born?

Yesterday I went to see doc on my rash and itchiness. Turns out that I m having an allergy. Took medi plus cream and much better now. But I cannot continue wearing the bind to continue the slimming. Cos no tight clothes for the itch area for now.

Btw, mummies- when can eat eggs? My mum told me not to eat eggs as if bf-ing, it can cause bb to have bad breath. Ever heard before?

I know seafood- ESP if indulge in seafood lobster etc ... Only 3 months later!!!

M counting down to this weekend for the end of my confinement or rather my cl leaving!! Yippee.

Any mummies same timing as me?

Overdue for pump again. Argh.

Xing: heard from elderly better to avoid duck meat say not good for body, 有'毒'...!?

Bb gripe water - any mummies giving Bb this to rid wind?

I have 2 sarong to sell.. 1 of them comes w auto rocker.. Both bot at kiddy palace... Use abt 3 months only... Almost brand new condition..

Do email me at: [email protected] if you r interested.

@ Goofie, my bb girl born on 27 May so turing 1 month old this sunday.

@ Little Fly - My GP suggested us to buy Gripe water as well, just got it yesterday so have not tried it out yet.

My bb girl was a terror last night. Fed her and she vomitted. Kept burping her and she could not sleep well at all. It could be because of her phlegm as well. Got very worried.

little fly: if not wrong, gripe water only to be given to 12 months and above babies.

goofie: i have been eating lots of eggs even during confinement. bb no bad breath leh. only the milk smell.

i find my bm getting stronger in smell. any mummies have this issue?

Hello mummies, i thought of buying a hospital and surgical (H&S) plan for my newborn but not sure which insurance company to take. May i know which insurance company did you all sign up with? Understand that currently all newborns are covered under medishield but i feel not enough.

Re: Gripe Water

written on the instruction

1-6mth 5ml (1teaspoon)

6mth-2yr 10ml (2teaspoon)

2yr & above 10-15ml (2-3teaspoon)

Re: bb insurance

i got from GE

Xing- not sure... Maybe one of those old wives tales. I have been yearning for carrot cake. Will chiong for it once I finish my confinement. Hehe

Deon- my bb is on 26may... Very close!! How much milk you giving to your bb now? Are u giving fm or bm? My son is on combi cos my ss is not enough.

Sunflower, for aviva is it purchase from bank. Aviva does it cover the 10% co insurance and first 3K.

Ling, for GE you got purchase their total shield plus rider or just supreme health.

Im also looking into ntuc insurance any mummies bought their plan?

faith: i bought from prudential for both my kids... it cover all the medicial bills when my #1 was hospitalised so i no need to pay...

Yaer,you mean prudential covers 100% medical bills? But can we pay fully by medisave the H&S plan or is like GE got those rider plan to cover 10% and 3k?

faith: yup. i got bought rider to cover the 10% and 3k... the plan paid by medisave but rider need to pay by cash or credit card...

Thnks for ur advice! My bb was crying n making noise when drinking milk this morning n vomited huge pool milk in the middle thru the nose n mouth! Anyone same experience?

Also, I find it difficult estimate temp of milk for bb. How'd u gals do it? I always end up calculating how much cold n hot water to put for the maid to do.

And sometimes I add in 20ml cold fridge breast milk. Do I need to heat this up before adding into milk? 20ml is v little.

bunnymum: is it didn't burp enuff... when my bb cry when drinking milk means there is gas in his stomach... i just burp him n let him rest for awhile den continue... it is not advisable to mix BM n FM together... should give separately... give Bm 1st den FM... actually no need to make the FM very hot... just add abit of hot water to make it warm can oredi...

@ Goofie - My bb girl on formula cos my supply not enough.

She is taking 80ml now. What formula your bb is on ? Mine is on enfalac A+.

@ Bunnymum - My bb girl went through the same experience yesterday. I was so shocked. I did not know what to to also. But what I did, I reduced her milk intake from 80 ml to 60 ml. So she her feeding hour is shorten from usual 3 hours to 2 hours but I ensure that she is not overfed.

Of cos, I kept burping her as well. Hope it helps.

any mummies interested in getting my brestfriend pillow? used onli 3 times... letting go @ $50...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5624024.jpg]

Mummies brought bb to PD this am.she has slight acid relux now on med to dissolve the acid in tummy. I tot she had colic or phlegm cos i kept hearing croaking sound when she feed n sleep. She also throw up clear liquid with milk curd. PD say the clear stuff is stomach acid. BB threw up again at PD office n PD confirms it. She has been throwing up milk too. Appatently the acid wi backflow n cause a burning sensation. No wonder her feeding hrs has been quite disruptive these few days cos she kept wanting to drink to wash the acid down. But it will come back up after. Even when i change her she will keep crying cos i lift her bum n this also cause the acid to backflow! My poor baby. Hopes she gets well soon. Apparently this is a common problem for bb 3-5 weeks.

Re Gripe water

My PD also ask me to give some gripe water to bb to neutralise the acid up to 5 times a day. Bb after 1 mths can takr gripe water.

Apple, i waited 3hrs to see Dr T Tan at kinder clinic today