(2011/05) May 2011

What newborn toys are you buying? I have only bought a mobile toy to fix on bb's cot. She loves watching it go round and round with the music. It's voice-activated so if bb cries loudly, it will switch itself on. So far it has been a good buy. Wondering what other toys are appropriate. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman wat brand is your cot mobile? I got a tomy lullaby hope to sooth her at night too. For other toys i have tons from #1 including my exersaucer, walker, play gym etc.

Viman - u can get infant toy from brands like Lamaze, Playskool, Fisherprice..etc

They have visual & sensual toys range. I hv tons from #1 too now took out to wipe and sanitise..haha

bunny: my CL uses 3 sticks of lemon grass and 2 pcs old ginger for 1 pail water. Lemon grass- pound to break it up. Ginger wash n cut slices. Can add more of both if u want. Boil in water for 5 mins and simmer for another 5 mins. We use e same grass n Ginger to boil 3 pots of water to fill up 1 pail for washing hair n shower

Mummies, I feel very defeated at times. I try to pat BB to sleep but he kept ‘searching’ for milk when I carry him. CL said he was sleepy already, took over and patted him. He dozed off in a few minutes….

Bunnymum: Aiyo…poor you. Patz patz.

Sh/Auroa: same here, struggling with #1’s dedicate feelings and tendency to sulk or get moody when we showered #2 with attention. Most happy when #1 is asleep and both of us focus our full attention on him just like old times… also hoping he’ll get over with this transition period soon… coz my CL leaving next Tue already.

Viman: I bought the V-tech bb mobile. Have not started yet as bb is still sleeping mostly. And a couple of rattles to make some ‘noise’ for bbies when he’s awake.

Sleep arrangement w children

Currently our #1 sleeps on mattress besides our Q bed. No room to add another bb cot. If I leave my bb in bb cot with maid, I worry that I would miss out bb’s crying at night. #1 absolutely refused to share room with maid. Any advice from mummies here who have similar situations?

My girl is turnin 1 mth old tomorrow.she also puke abit of milk on off.

Also she has a bad habit of only latching on 1 side & falling aslp so I have to pump out the other side. Any ways to solve this as I thinking of bringing her out w/o needin to brin pump out..I have try tickling her chin,shaking her etc but she just refuse to latch.

Starfruit,

The brand is Scenique, bought from Kiddy Palace.

Starfruit, Apple.

Nice that you can finally use #1's toys again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little Fly,

Oh yes, I should get some rattles too! Thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little fly, no need to feel dejected, my ger also very chao kuan, when i carry her she keep rooting n eating my clothes n wanna latch on. Worst is when she wants to sleep she will mega cry cos i dun want to latch her( as she has been puking milk n i worry tat she is over fed) once i pass to MIL she will whimper n fall asleep. So now MIL n i tag team if she mega cry then i will dump her on MIL arms to let her sleep n i can rest too. Its not tat CL can put het to sleep but ur bb knows when u are carrying her! They are smart lah.

Starfruit: exactly just like how u describe! Then Cham Liao when my CL leaves. Maybe I should train up my maid but I unwilling to let maid handle him.

Mia for 2 days coz my kids kept me really bz. My gal v fussy n cranky. I am nw her personal rocker! As for my boy, he really misbehave big time. The more I discipline him the more he misbehave. Everyday got to scold him. Really duno hw to handle him and it's making me v upset. 

Re: tingkat catering

I ordered mom's cooking for lunch and kim's kitchen for dinner. Finally this is settled.

Btw, v and starfruit I have replied ur emails yest. Sorry fr the delay. 

Val no worries abt the delay. Understand. I also raise my voice at no. 1 almost every day!

Little Fly i think our bbs can smell us. U latch him too right? If really no choice just latch, they will get better.

Viman thks for brand i may go KP to check it out

Vicki actually i dun bother to pumP out even when bb latches on my side only. Dunno if ths way i will comprimise my supply. Oh well lazy lor. If she takes only 1 side i will leave the other side till the next feed. So far my ger feeds between 1.5 - 2.5 hrs so still ok i guess. Breast is kinda soft most of the time cos of her freq feeding but i just let it be.

Wah bz day for me today. Finally wash my breast pump parts n steraliser. Cos wanna start pumping tomorrow. Will start my first bottle feed on sat night. Hope all goes well for our maiden bottle feed experience. My ger is exactly 3 weeks on sat. Will get hb or MIL to feed. Will try n pumP the whole day hopefully i get enuff milk for her 1st bottle feed on sat night! Somehow worried tat my pump yield qty will be damn low. Lets see how it goes.

hi, i am selling gifts from friends that do not fit my baby. mostly brand new including baby gap dress, camper baby shoes, oshkosh romper etc. & some pre-loved. pls PM me if interested.

https://picasaweb.google.com/109321966445626054039/Bouncingbean?authkey=Gv1sRgCI-2ubakmqDuRQ#

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5579647.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5579648.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5579649.jpg]

Hi all, I was aso bz wif my boy n finally hv time to read e thread.. Hehe... My boy aso has e same prob of regurg milk after feed.. Worse case was last nite where my hubby didn't manage to burp him after feed n while I was pumping milk beside him sleeping.. Suddenly I heard gush of water sound frm him then I realized he had vomitted.. Lucky my hubby responses fast when I shouted at him frm e bedroom.. Really hv to keep burping him until he does so...

Sleepy nw n gona sleep.. Not sure if 1 2 wait till my boy next feed time as it is ard 12+.. but he is still sleeping...

Starfruit: I seldom let Bb latch on, mostly pump. Yarlor, our bbs can smell us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif], we are Milk to them

Sunflower: I sterilize pacifiers too.

Hihi mummies,

18 more days for me before cl leaves and end of my confinement.... Really counting down. I had so many run in with my cl.. Almost everyday, sure will have things unsatisfied. Like yesterday, I found her bathing baby by putting the shower gel direct to his hair and shampoo.

Today I went to see my lc. And also asked her abt it, she says that this will cause cradle cap. So cannot.

After seeing my lc, the only prob I have now is the supply. Everything is ok. Baby is latching on well.. No block ducts etc. I just need to build on my supply. Therefore I will still continue to have bb latch on, followed by fm. Then pump a few times a day to stimulate the breasts.

I will try this and if at the end of trying and I still need to rely on fm, I will just let it be.

now my bb starts to want to be carried - by me only. after feeding, she expects to be carried till she fall asleep. when i put her into her cot, she whimpers. zzz. ask my mum to put her to sleep, then all's fine.

goofie: think traditionally its 40 days. but I am so looking forward to end of 30 days. after 30 days don't take cold stuff too. heard cold drinks and stuff will sort of affect milk supply de. maybe after 2 mths then take cold stuff once a while.

Goodie: my confinent is only 28 days.

Keiko: My CL says her 40 days assignments are mostly clients who have c section n need longer to recover.

Thanks kiko and little fly. Once confinement is finished, I want to celebrate my freedom!!!! Haha

Any mummies supplement bf with fm?

I want to know that if I bf him, shld I immediately feed fm? Or let him rest first? My supply still have not kicked in. Did not feel any letdown. So, now, I bf bb for abt 15-30 min if 2 breasts, followed by 90ml of fm.

Is this ok?

I did my first pumping session this am!! For the left breast yield 50 ml! Not bad. Think if i can yeild another 50 ml can feed tonight already. But i think may need to pumpa few times to get another 50ml.

Mummies how do u manage to squeeze time to pump at all if bb needs to ltch? I resorted to pumping one side while she latches the other!

And so diff to pump 2 side at the same time, cannot hold the bottles n operate the pump together leh!!

Goofie how long do u feed on each breast?

Hi starfruit, I stopped pumping past 3 days to take a break. And I do more frequent direct latching. When latch, I try to gv both sides cos my ss is still low, each side abt 15 min, in order for him to get some hind milk.

Now, I intend to do this:-

- when bb cries, I will direct latch. Not sure how much is his intake. But after that, I will let him rest.

- m sure he will wake up fast after the last direct latch cos maybe not enough. Then I will gv fm. My bb is now 2 wks. So m starting to gv him 90ml

- in between, I try to pump if possible.

Any mummies have better ways to help me improve?

good morning to all,

i am also a May mummy but have been a silent reader. learnt a lot from the generous sharing of different mothers though i am already a 2nd time mummy.

i failed miserably in bf for my #01, thus aim to do it well this time. i read up books, forum and invested in good pumps. but i am still a distance away from successful bf and that has really demoralised me. :~(

my pain threshold has been very low thus i developed phobia in direct latching after 1st week as my nibbles sored badly. my big nipples added on to the problem also.

then for some reasons i also keep having block ducts although i have been faithfully pumping 3hrly, then 2hrly and even 1hrly!!

i got a ML to clear my block ducts (thanks to greenapple's contact). but the 'fountains' left together with ML after she said bye bye too...

then i went to a LC and really weeped there due to the great pain, but the blocked ducts came back on the 2nd day again.

i am really very very very frustrated by the blocked ducts and low supply. My #02 is already a month old by i am only getting 50ml both breasts every 3hrly.

i am supposed to be happy with my confinement ending but i am just tooooooooooooooooooooooo caught up by the bfing tasks!

wish i could just throw everything away and just give my #02 FM.

I had c-sec. mummies who did 40 day confinement, do u still follow strict rules after the 30th day? i start to relax abit...

sorry...i just need to vent out...sighh.. thanks for reading..

Starfruit, Goofie, i only pump when she sleeps, which is usualy afte she latches. Goofie, if u suspect bb is knot having enough i dont think u shuld pump it out, leava it in the breast so bb can drink it at the next latch.

Goofie how long have u been breast feeding? So after supp of 90 ml he sleeps for 3 hrs? Actually can bf each breast up to 30 mins dun stop at 15 mins. Just tot ur supp amt is a lot. Maybe tats why bb not sucking hard enuff to help u increase ur supply.

Xing dun be discourage. Ur crack nipples heal already? If yes dO u want to consider latching bb ahain to help u clear the block ducts. Pumping may not effective clear the ducts, bb sucking suctions are more powerful. The pain u may havecwhen latching is also caused by the block ducts. Once cleared, u will not have any pain. Check ur nipples n aeroala area n see if there are any milk bleps where the ducts may be stuck clear tat n the ducts will be clear. If still cannot u may wanna pay LC a 2nd visit.

Starflower so tired to set up pump to pump the milk. I am only pumping for 1 feed!! And already cant manage. Sigh

Xing to add on very impt to massage ur breast before n after each pump / feed to min block ducts.

Xing: you are not alone lah. My situation not too far from yours. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My #1 also don't manage to BF for too long. Also got latch on phobia like yours after nipples cracked. Even my mom asked me to give up BF, laughing at my miserable supply but i told her i outdone her coz she din even bother to BF at all. Well, 50ml BF is better than 0ml right? If you add up your total supply a day it is quite substantial already lah.

Goofie: My CL will let BB drink my EBM, then burp him, followed by FM. When BB is full, he will doze off to lalaland. If he's still hungry, he will still make noise.

Starfruit: I latch baby in the day. One breast at each time so tt baby gets hind milk. Baby feeds in shorter intervals abt 2 hours. I pump at night. Baby gets to drink fresh expressed breast milk in a bottle- fed by my hubby. That way, baby gets a bigger amount of milk and can sleep longer. The longest so far was 5.5 hours and I can get to sleep. At first, there was nipple confusion. Baby could not latch after intro to bottles. But I managed to overcome the problem by helping baby to open mouth wide to latch and I suppose a hungry baby will somehow relearn how to latch so now baby has no problems with the alternating latch and bottles sessions. It also keeps my sanity as hubby will be feeding him at night and baby would not fuss and root for milk compared to when I am carrying him.

Xing: big hugs to u! The journey of breastfeeding is indeed not an easy one!!! Agree with starfruit, massaging the breasts helps and letting baby suckle is an effective way to clear blocked ducts. Maybe u need to relearn the techniques to massage yr breasts and to latch bb. Ask the lc to go through step by step... U can jot down the steps or video it and then try at home. Jia you!

Nic so u pump only at night? No latching? I think easier if i latch at night. Anyway i see if i can sneak in another pump session later in the afternoon n start to give her the bottle tonight. How much is M drinking for the express feed now?

Mummies can i check those with free style can u steralise the breast shields?

And anyone can share a good technique to hold both pumps for double pumping? I cant seem to operate the pump n hold the 2 bottles up at the same time. A bit clumsy lor.

Starflower- I went to see lc yesterday and she wants me to pump to stimulate breasts. If I leave on for next feed,will I not be giving signals to breast that no need to manufacture? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starfruit- I started since day 8 when my bb is home. Cos he needed to stay in special care just when he was abt to discharge with me. Long story... But anyway, when I have my number 2, I will not go to kkh anymore. M now day 14....

After supp he sleeps for 3 hrs and sometimes 4plus hours. But he always did not manage to finish the 90ml. My cl says it's cos of the latching for so long.. Then when given bottles, he has no energy. So suggest that I latch first, then let bb rest, and then awhile later feed him fm.

Little fly- how old is ur bb? How much ebm and fm u gv bb? U give all at one go?

Xing- when u pump, u can get 50ml each side is very good. I at first only get 20ml combined sides. Only yest I get 30 ml combined and I m so happy already. I saw a lc and also thinks my ss is low. But she tells me not to gv up. Cos she told me that one of her ladies also same case. Then later on, she had bags and bags of ebm!!! Dun gv up ok? I m also with u on this. Let's persevere!!!

Starfruit,

I use freestyle and sterilise the breast shields in the steam steriliser. Mine are the hard shields though, I had to buy a set cos the soft ones that came with the pump were too small for my nipples.

As for holding both sides, you need to stabilise one side first and then put the other. Freestyle also comes with straps to hold both bottles yeah? I haven't tried them yet though. I just hold both bottles with my hands when I double pump.

Starfruit.... Yeah no latching at night. I latched at night in the first two weeks. Could hardly catch any sleep cos bb will keep rooting for milk whenever I carry him. I bought two sets of funnels so no need to wash and sterilize in the middle of the night. Pumping takes about 25min, yield abt 180ml 4 hours. I am using medela pump in style (the old model). M drinks abt 120ml at night. The excess I give to #1, I don't intend to store this time round. I am using NUK bottles and teats as they fit the medela bottles. I use a pillow to prop the bottles and one arm to hold two bottles so I have a free hand. I think u will be able to find yr own method to hold the bottles the more often u use it. For #1, I could eat, mark worksheets and pump my milk when I was at work, all at the same time. U'd be better at it with more practice! ;)

Starfruit: haa I did that too...watch tv at the same time cos too bored. Set up everything before then n start pumping n latching tog.

Xing/goofie: jiayou! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: latching on/ bottle feed

I intro ebm to bb at week 2...he can adapt quite well. Been latching him n giving him ebm daily...think quite a good trg for bb to get used to it.

Starfruit,

You can also trying holding the left bottle with your left inner elbow and the right bottle with your left hand. That frees up your right hand. Works sometimes...

Nic: wow that is amazing...one arm to hold 2 bottles....haa later I shall give it a try. I use my legs to hold one bottle so I have one free and to surf net. But end up backache...I also using nuk...but mine is the breastmilk storage one...bought alrdy the realise cant fit with my pisa...have to transfer...btw They say teats have to change every month or every 3 months?

starfruit - my both pumps are dual pump but I failed even during #1..haha so I only operate single side!

I might be engaging CL nanny as live in baby sitter for couple of months to look after baby D. My new maid passport application got delayed..sigh and my dad ask me to get rid of my current maid asap! OMG..my expense is sky rocket

Angie,I used legs to hold bottles before... Backache too! So I use a pillow to prop the bottles so don't have to bend forward. I am the kiasu kind of mummy so I will change teats every month. I am using the NUK classic bottles/teats.

heloo...hw's everyone doing?

i oso very long time bo login..sian...quite demoralised over BF..

i have similar probs like Xing too..during 1st week of latching on.nipples sore very badly & v painful to latch on.by end of 1st week.i started off w partial FM for nite feeds. i cannot get to sleep & bb can literally latch on for 1 hr then cry again after 30mins wanting to latch on..daytime oso same thing.

subsequently 2nd week, i got a pump & pump out every 3-4hrs..managed to yield from 40ml to approx 70-90ml.but when i try to latch bb on after another week+ of pumping, only 1-2 latches i get v sore & swollen nipples again...

but i got v severve engorged on 1 side of d breast over 1-2 days.even massage lady cleared liao stil gets engorged easily...

i feel so demoralised....hai...

wonder if i shld go to Mt A to see a lactation....

another thing i wanna ask is..if i pump out say a certain amt liao store in fridge then 3-4hrs later i pump another amt. Can i combined both amt & store in milkbag to freeze?

cos if i use milkbag to freeze separately hor..is gonna b very costly wor..cos on a low side i may only get like 40-50ml per pump...hai...

Mudpie,

From what I have read, yes, can combine before freezing. Only thing cannot do is add fresh ebm to frozen ebm, must chill first then add.

Nic, my dad against the idea of IFC! He said so young later immune system no good..what to do???

He said at least CL is chinese & experience in looking after bb rather than maid alone..sigh

Last resort I'll quit to be SAHM.

Xing: hang on! It'll get better.. I failed in breastfeeding during my #1.. And because I have big boobies, sister Kang from mount A advise me to buy medela breast friend breast pillow. It has been a good investment as I bf my #2 for 1 yr with that.. And I'm still using for my #3 as well.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angie: amazing.. Still can use leg to support!! And surf net some more! Haaaha

When I breastfeed, I'll on my drama show andwatch. Like that, I dont feel so bored~

My bb skin super sensitive.. Dunno y this morning, her right cheek got red and rough! Put on the medication that pd gave the other time and it subside. Phew~

Apple: I agree with yr dad tt babies in IFC may fall sick easily. SAHM may turn out to be a good thing. The formative years of a child is important and to be able to the one to bond with them and take care of them is priceless!

Cloudpoem: the cream that yr PD prescribed... Does it contain steroid? If yes, better use sparingly... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies, just back fr PD's clinic. Bought my boy to see PD as past few days noticed tat he's quite fussy and yellowish. Turns out tat his jaundice is still on the high side but PD said tat his level (at 144) is still ok. He mentioned tat bf's bb jaundice will goes off in a mths's time. So no alarm and just monitor for the time being.

Btw, weighted bb and his weight's now is 4.31kg. Gained nearly 1kg (birth weight at 3.54kg). PD said tat weight gain is very good.

Previously thought tat bb not drinking enough... seems pretty ok now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

As bb was sleeping jus now fr clinic to home, i pumped out the BM and I have 160ml (fr both sides). Have not been pumping and din expect to be this much.. i guess it's bcos he's been fussing lately and latching every 1 to 2 hrs in the daytime tat increases the supply bah.