(2011/05) May 2011

apple, agree with yr father... bbs in IFC tends to get sick easily (even in a good reputable childcare centre). My girl went in ard 16 weeks and 1st week already down w running nose and cough.. very thick greenish plegmn and took so long to recover.. nearly ganna asthema as her cough took so long to recover and tat time she hve wheezing cough.. the PD advised to take her out and even asked whether do i have to work, if not, can take care of her on my own.

Auroa: well done on baby's excellent weight gain!! Sunbathe yr baby to help jaundice level go down... Congrats on yr good ss of bm! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nic, PD din mention need to continue sunbath bb leh.. in fact, i stopped sunbath him for one week liao. he said leave it... shd i sunbath him every morning? not sure whether it helps leh.

Auroa: good weight gain for ur Bb! And envy your supply too!

Goofie: my Bb coming w4 next wk. I only pump 60ml but Bb drinks 120ml already. My CL quite positive, she will say I got 50% BM better than 0%.

Mummies thks for al the tip on dual pumpin. Lucky i ask the question if notwont know u all soinnovative n creative in holding the dual pump. I pump again justcafter lunch managedto yield 50 ml from right breast n barely 1 ml from left side. Think should be enuff for tonight. Dunno if i should pump again incase she feeds more than 100ml.

Nic agree i need to practise more. Cos today squeezing in pump session to kick start my bottle feed so a bit unpredictable the timing. I am just squeezing in tie to pump when she sleeps! I think i need to get exrra breast shields to stand by liao.

Cloud: haa me too...will watch my hk drama evrytime I feed him...

Auroa: my bb also gained 1+ kg...no wonder our hands feel more suan after carrying him.

I really envy all u mummies who have ample bm for your babies. M still struggling with my flow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](((

Auroa- if not wrong, I read in one of the archived threads that u had low supply when u have your number 1.... Is that right?

How did u manage to sustain and overcome continuation of bf eventually?

mimmies, may i know how much milk does your baby drink per day? cos i worried my baby is not drinking enough but he only drink 120 ml per feed, 6-7 feeds per day, which is 720 ml - 840 ml per day, he's 8 weeks today and weight is 6.7kg, this amount is very little for his size right? but when i give him more frequent feeds or more milk each feed, he will vomit out the milk, haiz

Nic & Auroa - I was SAHM during #1, but now I got good boss, I like my job..so I try not to quit. So I rather pay sky rocket to have CL as stay in nanny than I quit. My timing real bad..gotten a maid during the changes of immigration system in Phil. They r doing bio-metric passport now, so waiting time is 6-8wks..sien

I don't want to waste my ML..so I can go back to work while nanny look after baby D until my new maid arrive SG then I take my ML and AL to train her up

evie, my baby is born at 4.15kg, so his weight gain is about 1kg plus per month, seems like the weight gain is ok, but hor, he drinks so little milk, how much your baby drinks per day?

mei, so long your bb is drinking, poo & pee plus gain weight..no issue if he is drinking less. My #1 also not drinking much but she is growing well..very chubby somemore

Today is one of the most bonker day for me...both my kids refuse to nap...and when meimei finally nap, she is either awaken by the korkor or when I put her down she wakes up.

My #1 seems to derive joy frm making me angry!!

Argh!!!!

Re: IFC

I am one of those v against IFC. Always getting sick then parents have to take leave to look aft and soon exhaust all leave...in the end, the mummy resign to look aft the baby. This happens to a num of my friends...

So apple, I think a stay in cl nanny works better than IFC in term of health.

Xing: unable to bf is not end of e world. I agree tt we shld try to give bb watever we can(I try not to use e word best to describe bm cos fm fed bb also healthy n strong ma). But if really unable to n cause us to b stress n unhappy, I think it's not worth it. U will b missing on other aspects of motherhood n enjoying these bb moments.

I'm able to say this bcos I was not successful w bf #1 n he was on fm. He is v healthy n happy now. For #2 now, my yield is only half his demand n I'm not stressing myself too. Juz do watever I can n if it gets too tiring n hinder w my convenience, I'm really to give up pumping altogether. For me, a happy mommy is important. Happy mommy = Happy baby!

apple: stay in CL nanny will b costly but will def ease ur problems by alot. After I talk to my CL, I understand why some engage her for 2 mths or even more! If I hv #3 next time, i'll like to engage her for 40 days. If I'm richer by tt time, will engage for 2 mths! Hahaha!

if anyone needs a CL during Aug do let me know. My CL aug mommy gave birth prematurely 1 wk back. So now her aug period is free

I'm a July 2011 mummy and I'm new here... Just wondering if anyone out there just like me.. hehhe

Was already thinking of purchasing Malunggay Tea to stand by. Heard that it helps to increase breastmilk.

Anyone interested to buy Malunggay Tea??? I'm ordering in bulk and I can get it cheaper ($12/box - 20 tea bags per box. But must let me know lastest by 2359hrs tonight. =D

Let's all have a successful breastfeeding!!!!

Cheers to all of us mummies!!!!

PM me at [email protected] (Subject : MALUNGGAY TEA)

Xing, i agree with Ash that not able to BF is not end of the world, just try your best, many mums who did not even BF their baby and their baby also grow up to be happy and healthy, so just do your best

Val my day same as urs today. My mei mei cant sleep well the whole morn & afternoon n mthe jie jie refused to sleep n keep disturbing the mei mei. I had a pounding headache from mei mei's crying n jie jie's whining! Wat a day!

Val, I also very reluctant to put my boy @ IFC. So my hb said he rather pay for live in nanny till maybe my boy is 6mths old then let maid handle..moreover nanny can cook Chinese food. So I'll hv to do the house chores & ironing ba. Need to further discuss with the nanny.

Ash, even they r here as babysitter they still charging CL price. Very steep but no choice ler..paying nanny rather than me become sahm with no personal income :p

Starfruit, I got difficult day too! My boy chu pattern..typical 6 wks old haha..he is drinking every 2hrly..wanted to be carried..get irritated when drinking halfway. And now refused to be in his rocker & swing..argh

Starfruit,

think our #1s too enthu and zealous abt meimeis so they keep disturbing them?? Like for my boy when we tell him meimei is slpping let's go out of the room/talk softly/dun disturb meimei he will purposely go to the cot n scream or shout. Sometimes he pull meimei's legs/hands and once even hair!!! But I must say he really dote on her also. When she cry he will sing song or get tissue/hanky n ask us to wipe her tears. Sometimes really duno hw to handle him...

Apple,

mine the same le-cry milk halfway sometimes will cry as if throw tantrums, unlatch her she also cry, latch her back also cry...then sometimes aft 5mins she dozes off...

Today record breaking been carrying her the entire aftnn n trying to make her slp. Lucky she small size so nt as ba as urs =p

dear mummies,

thanks so much for your consolation and advices. i broke down again just now as there was hardly any milk when i pumped after a 4hr interval. was feeling like a failure.

my #01 was a FM baby too and is a healthy and happy child. but i just could not shake away the brainless remarks made by my MIL 4 yrs back that almost drove me into post-natal blues. thus i aimed to do a good bf job to shut her mouth. but still didnt do a good job. i am always very stressed now whenever i see her.

i feel that i have invested so much time, effort and $$ but 'returns' was poor. i have bought 2 new sets of breastshields but turned out wrong sizes (= $$ wasted again). I feel bad as husband is supportive but i am lousy. i dont want to give up but situation is very trying for me. i just want to know what went wrong.. time is running out also as bb is already 1 mth old (i heard supply will be fixed after 4 -6 weeks?). so all these add to more stress.

for mummy who wants handsfree, you can try the pumping pal which is easy to use (i have one). there is a product with tube or halter neck design with 2 openings in front that holds the pumps. my colleague has one and recommended that to me. for the handsfree device that comes with medela freestyle, you can throw it into the bin, my #01 said i look like a freak scientist with so many straps on me.. hahaha in fact medela is doing away with the straps.

starfruit, my bb doesnt like my breasts as supply is slow and low. she likes bottle feed better now but i still try to latch her whenever i am brave enough.

goofie, i mean 50ml combined, not per side. low yah?

muddpie, hugzz. you are not alone..

nic, do u mean you only wash the funnels and not the pumping units?

ash, your words are so comforting...but i just bu si xin lor, i want to know what went wrong...

thanks again to all mummies... you all have been wonderful angels that heaven sent to sooth my low morale.

any ladies with good LC to recommend. i went to TMC parentcraft but find that place a bit open. i got confused with the different massaging techniques as there were 3 consultants working around with all the mummies there. i hope to have a 1-to-1 session without costing me a bomb.

back to my breasts again...they are hardrock again....:**(

Dear mummies, Sorry to interrupt.

I am from Feb 2011 thread & have the followings to let go:

************* SLEEPY WRAP | AVENT BOTTLES | AVENT SEALING DISCS | NUK TEATS | NUK TEAT SPONGE **************

1) *Brand New* Sleepy Wrap -- $70

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389275&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

2) *Brand New* Avent Feeding Bottle 0 month+ 2 x 4oz/125ml & 6 x Sealing Discs -- $20

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795523478&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

3) *Brand New* NUK Class Anti-Colic Teat, size 1, S (thin liquids) -- 3 for $5

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389277&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

4) *Brand New* NUK Premium Choice Anti-Colic Wide Neck Teat, size 1, S -- $6/pair, $10/2 pairs

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389279&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

5) *Brand New* NUK Teat cleaning sponge -- 1 for $4, 2 for $7.

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389278&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

**************** HOTELS DINING VOUCHERS ****************

1. 50% off voucher at Brios' (Grand Corpthorne Waterfront). Valid for a dining party of 4 to 8 people for lunch from Mon to Sat, or dinner from Sun to Thu. Valid Till 30th June - $40.00

2. 50% off Main course @ Pontini (Grand Corpthorne Waterfront). Valid for a dining party of 4 people for lunch or dinner from Mon to Wed. Valid Till 30th June - $40.00

3. 50% off a la carte meal order @ Grand Shanghai (Grand Corpthorne Waterfront). Valid for a dining party of 4 people for lunch or dinner from Tue to Sun (Except for Sat). Valid Till 30th June - $40.00

4. 50% off a la carte meal order @ Grand Shanghai (Grand Corpthorne Waterfront). Valid for a dining party of 6 - 12 people for dinner from Tue to Sun. Valid Till 30th June - $60.00

5. 50% off Buffet @ Princess Terrace (Corpthorne King's). Valid for a dining party of 6 to 8 people for lunch or dinner from Mon to Thu. Valid till 30th June - $50.00

6. 50% off a la carte meal order @ Tien Court (Corpthorne King's). Valid for a dining party of 6 - 8 people for lunch or dinner from Mon to Thu. Valid Till 30th June - $30.00

7. $100.00 dining voucher @ Tien Court (Corpthorne King's). Minimum spending of $400.00. Valid Till 30th June - $50.00

8. Complimentary Juf of Beer and one dozen Satay @ Connections (Corpthorne King's). minimum part of 6 people. Valid till 30th June - $10.00

9. Waiver of cover charge for 2 people @ TOPPS ( Corpthorne Orchid). Valid from Sun to Thu - $10.00

10. Complimentary First House pour wine or beer for two people @ Limelight (Corpthorne Orchid). Valid from Mon to Sat. Valid till 30th June - $10.00

11. Complimentary First House pour for four people @ J Bar (M hotel). Valid from Mon to Sat. Valid till 30th June - $15.00

12. Complimentary Bottle of House Wine with A La Carte Meal Order @ Hua Ting Restaurant (Orchard Hotel). Valid for a minimum dining party of 4 people. Valid till 30th June - $20.00

13. Complimentary Combo Snack Platter @ Bar Intermezzo (Orchard Hotel). Valid for a min. party of 4 people. Valid till 30th June - $10.00.

* Self collection at Choa Chu Kang Street 62.

* Keen or any enquiry, please PM me.

Xing- if any consolation to u, my combined is only 30ml. And I m day 14/15 now. So, yours is not bad. My good friend persisted and she only managed to achieve a good flow 2 Months later. A few days ago, I too went bonkers over bf.

Kept blaming myself why no flow. But now I try to take it easy. If by 1-2 months, still no improvements, I m ok with fm.it's not the end of the world and I don't have to prove anything to anyone.

Most importantly is both mummy and baby are happy!! Think positive ok?

Xing: I've chatted w my CL abt bm supply. She has been a CL for almost 30 yrs n seen so many mommies. She agree tt not everyone will hv gd supply no matter wat u eat/drink. Fenugreek, fish soup, tea doesnt work for all. Some bodies juz dun produce as much n duno why this happens too.

Re: mummies with low milk supply.

would like to share. my MIL (she is from china)always tell me that i shd take more oily stuff/soups to have constant milk supply. body need some oily rich food to produce the milk.

tat's y during confinement there r vinegar pig trotters and papaya fish soup tat we need to take. can try pig trotter peanuts soup also.

my main pt is to take slightly more than usual rich (oily) soup/dishes to increase the supply.

hope it helps.

Just intro the bottle to my ger!! It was a success. She took to it with no fussing at all. Now fast asleep. I waited till 10 pm to pump yield only 60 ml combined. Think i too stress cos scared she wakes up. N i pump for 10 mins only maybe need to drag pumP session to 30 mins to get 2 let down. I need 100ml. Will try n pump again tomorrow for tomorrow's feed.

Hi all, can i check, any idea if malt will decrease or increase milk supplies?

back with engorgement (again). [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] after visiting parentcraft last week, tried doing their massage technique..was better a little, but today it swelled like its gonna burst. very disappointing! wen to see gynae, tout can get pills to de-swell and was told it will reduce the milk supply.. so end up empty handed. the agony of engorgement is making me wanna give up bf.. double sigh~

Xing: I also have a mil who like to brag how she bf...la la la n how much she has n even can donate...so when I stop bf for my #1 due to engorgement n pressure I am having, she keep saying how good is bf lah..etc. My hb n me ignore her n glad I have a supportive hb who actually ask me to take med to stop bf after seeing me suffering. I teared when I took that med, but after that I feel better n happy n able to concentrate on my bb more. Now my #1 is growing well n happy.

I agreed w rest of mummies, dun stress urself too much, who dun want to give the best to their children?

Hi Xing, u r really not alone. My bb is week 6 going to week 7 n my supply is still very low. Got really demoralise when u see mummies here with 200+ml of bm each pump. I only yield 60ml if i pump every 3hrs so sian till i wanna give up.

I started following my bb timing. She is being fed every 4 hrs so i pump every 4 hrs. Mummies here advise me to latch bb on but whenever i latch her on, she will frown n start crying. I also dunno y.

Anyway, i also think there is no pt to stress yourself coz it will nt help to increase the supply.

I took fenugreek n prescribed medicine to increase ss but all doesnt seem to work. I guess im just born with low ss. So dun worry, u are really nt alone!

Morning! Up for pumping again....

Ash: your CL has almost 30 years experience! Is she in her 60s? Very comforting to hear that regarding supply issue. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My CL told me she had alot of milk for her 5 kids but her own daughters, 3 of them, did not BF successfully due to low ss.

and to add on, my mil keep saying i got no milk. Then keeping telling me my other sil can pump out n store for up to 6 month supply. I so angry n i ask if so, how come they all stop bf at month 5. Then she change topic! Keep saying that bm is tasteless n bb prefer fm. I told her bm is sweet n she give me the unbelievable look.

Still rem there was a time i pump n save up till 120ml n leave it with her to feed my bb. She told me bb cant finish n threw away 20ml! Felt like scolding her then! Also she help me with confinement, nvr cook soup n veg for me. Everyday cook the same dish for me for lunch n dinner till i din eat a lot. I tell myself for my next one, i sure order confinement food!

To think that she will be taking care of my bb in another 2 weeks time, i really sian.

My bb on 4hrs interval feeding time n when my bb cry, she will say bb hungry. Say bm nt filling enough n bb will get hungry faster! Argh!!!

Feel like quitting n stay at hm to take care of my bb. But hb nt supportive.. Really sian!

im here!

today celebrating my lil one's 1st mth! hope everything goes well

littlefly: ya she's 60 plus

2ww: 4 hr interval quite long wat. mine is on 2.5-3 hr interval.

2ww, ur mil sounds soooo like mine!! During both my sons full mth celebration, she only steam fish n fried veg for me... No soup n drinks for me..I have to go "dry" for 5-6 hrs...

Ash,

urs born on 11 may also? Enjoy ur baby shower later =) I am doing mine today too =)

newtoitall, moo mum,

happy 1st mth to our kids =)

Ash, yup my bb drink on 4hr interval. But the pt is when my bb cries after 1.5 to 2hrs, she will say bb hungry. Whenever bb cries, she will always say its bb hungry.

Bubble, yah, the dry period can be quite torturing esp when i cant even drink plain water cos according to my mil, if i drink, then my tummy wont get smaller.. Haiz a lot of rules to follow

Ash, Val: have a great 1st mth party later! Mine is tomorrow as we do a bit early.

2ww: I would be mad too if anyone throw or waste away my hard pumped BM! Can u store in a few bottles ? If Bb cannot finish all in one go and BM cannot keep then at least it won't be wasted.

Mummies, do u use stroller or sling to bring Bb out? For my #1, I hardly go out n if so, only use stroller. Any good Bb slings to recommend ?