(2011/05) May 2011

Viman: so I presume mine is normal then? My boy at times can drink alot like 90-100ml n may still dun feel full.. So m tinking is it not thick n filling enuf.. Hehe

last am session n this session, i was kept awake by painful engorged b! i hv been pumping regularly so duno why so pain.

precious: bm supposed to b thinner then fm n more easily digested.

bunny: dun think so negatively. im sure things will work out fine when ur hb goes back to work. dun stress abt not being able to bf too. my #1 also not bf n v healthy. so for #2 now, im not giving myself too much stress too. if can bf, i will, if not then suppl lor. i hv a tin of fm on standby too. i actually told CL tt she can give fm at nite so tt bb sleep longer n she can rest too.

i'll b on my own once CL leaves too. told hb tt i want #1 to go inlaw's pl even tho sch hols. bcos w him ard, i'll not b able to rest

starfruit - congrats!! i poo next day after i deliver

muddpie - me same case as u. no dilation, no contractions, no SHOW. only head down. overdue for 4 days and got induced. but i managed to do it natural w/o epidural. do you want to reconsider?

Dolly I mean sleep.

Engorged b: ever since last week I complain my ss drop and b become smaller I have not experience any engorgement even if I miss 2 or 3 session yet I still can pump bat 70 from both side my b also cer soft till I don't dare to latch cuz I dunnu if bb is full or not can tell if she got suck cuz the b so soft

Finish pumping n massage. Now at clinic to check for fungal infection on the breasts coz the pain from his latch on can make me jump n twitch.

Ash, if u feel feverish and having engored then probably this is it. I think I took Panadols last time and sleep thru. But suggest u go c a doc if u really feel unwell.

Morning mummies..

Little fly: Haaaha! I find it funny when u mention u pop a durain puff~ we mummies need to release from jail soon!

A tough night for me and Bb.. She has been waking up every hour to feed.. Dunno I not enough milk or she growth spurt.. I bf till I fall asleep, strain my neck somemore..

Renovation is really killing me.. Now, my toilet and mil room leaking water! HDB officer coming to check again. I damn tired la, still got to meddle such stuffs..

And to add on, my #1 is sick. High fever yest afternoon and Vomitted twice. Brought to PD, mention there's a viral going on.. Have to separate all 3 of them...

And Whao! A mummy giving 25 packs of ebm? I read in awe!

Yaer: how's ur fever now? But seeing ur supply so good, really a pity to stop.. Sigh. Can switch on cartoon shows let ur kids watch? So that they don't disturb u and HB?

Its normal to feel extreme pain when latching during intial bfing. This is wat they termed as let dowb pain. N yes can cry from the pain. It should not last more than 5-10 mins! This pain will gradually go away as u bf more.

To prevent fungal/ trust infection pls pour boiling water on your bra before washing n change breast pad frequently. Also clean ur breast with water to keep it clean.

Ash if ur breast is swollen, tender, red n pain to touch. May have blick ducts n fever may come from these blick ducts. Did u massage whdn u pump? Cannot just pump cos the ducts may be block n milk cant flow out.

Re: swaddle

My gal doesnt like to b swaddle anymore, same as my boy during his time. If my gal dun manage to "break free" then she will cry but stop once I unswaddle her.

Re: umbilical cord

Anyway, her umbilical cord dropped on her 10th day. Hehe. Have kept it to do the umbilical cord stamp.

Bunnymum,

Hws ur wound? Any better? Mayb u can consider to latch lying dwn??

Anyway, bfeeding is nt the only way to bond with baby. There are many other things u can do to bond with baby too =) and nt being able to bfeed ur baby totally doesn't make u lousy mummy. It's nt tat u dun wan but circumstances dun allow. U are already a great mummy =)

I also have flaky dried skin ard my aerola but coz I hand express n abrasion between hand n breast. And I get itchy breast everytime aft I pump! Keke.

Mudppie,

So long didn't hear frm u, hw have u been? =)

Viman,

I wash it immediately then soak ad scrub to get rid of the stain. So far, works for me.

Starfruit,

Engorgement sometimes I can clear in a day sometimes take 2days. Cont to massage, latch n then pump.

I pee within 6hrs of popping, it wasn't as painful as it was during the first delivery and poo the next day. I took liquid paraffin to soften the poo.

Dolly,

How's W's cough? Ya, agree with apple, do wear mask to avoid spreading to him.

Re: pumping

This time rd really nt as diligent as #1 time as I always miss a pump or 2 at nite coz I latch my gal lying dwn. Alarm clock doesn't help too as I can off it n go back to slp. Perhaps I dun nap in the day end up always can't get up at nite =(

Yaer,

Oh dear, hope ur fever goes off soon. Sometimes I let my boy play on his own or on cartoon for him while I pump.

Cloudpoem,

Hope ur #1 recovers frm his fever soon.

Starfruit,apple,dolly,LJ

The rl loots are with me already but haven't got time to sort out as handling everything on my own. I will update u all once the calculation is done.   

Precious,

Yeah it's normal. Just make sure you get bb to empty one breast before moving to the next. That way, bb can get the hind milk.

Viman: I pump out instead of latching as I find my baby unable to latch well as it causes pain to my nipples all e time.. So by rite, if pump out, shld hv e hind milk already I presume? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seems like quite a no. of mummies are down with flu & fever..pls take care and wear mask if need to take care of bb. The virus is kinda active lately..keep hearing ppl getting cough, flu & fever. PD said children pneumonia case also very active! If any mummies wanna bring NB to PD clinic for review, pls keep bb outside the waiting area to avoid virus spreading & in contact with bb.

Val, take your time. U sort & settle first then let us know. No hurry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My boy also doesn't like to be swaddle starting from week 2 onwards. He wants his hands free..haha

I'm no longer doing night pumping..just latch and zz :p I skip coz I do not want to freeze so many tub of EBM. I think my ss now quite stable after few days of "training" without pumping at nite. When I feel my b engorge, I go toilet just hand squeeze out on the sink..tada

Maid: so angry with the maid alway don admit her problem. Just now I check the water pot inside so dirty and she still wanna use it to boil water. Den I tell her off inside hot brown stain y she bv water den oper her eyes bigwig said she water but the stains can be removed I told her I water it b4 I go deliver myself and easily come off. Den she insist can't get it off I wash infront of her using normal mama lemon and the stain just came off easily!! Den I show her and tell her if she bv wash jut admit and do it next time don pretend and alway tell lies!! She nv even apologize to me just give ne her charco face and keep quiet

split - I think lately all maids are like that lo..I gave up on mine too! Never admit, never apologize..sigh somemore show us her damn face! Sickening rite??

I just pray hard that the new maid gotten her passport and quickly come to SG so I can kick this bug out of my sight.

Swaddle; my girl is the opposit of her two bro she like to be swaddle tight tight if nv she can't slp soundly n keep moving

Am finally drinking the papaya soup today. Have a very sad night yesterday. My mil instead wanting to use the 'kill bacteria'. The other day we have a agreement that the name sucks and dun wanna bb j to be jest by her peers. So she called the uncle up yesterday wanting to tell him that i (as the mummy) dun like the name and requested to change to other characters. In the end, after talking to him she came to the room telling me say the uncle want to talk to me. I am latching on to bb j and her diapers is full. In the end i talk to the uncle, he was like never mind lah, name good for bb j is very impt, dun bother about the pronunciation. I used the excuse that i need to change bb j diaper and pass the call back to my mil.

The show start. She come out wanting us to use the name given say it's for bb j good. Ask us dun ruin her life just because the name does not sound nice. I was like telling her that she will be laughed and jested by peers. I rather she have a normal life then traumatize by her name during her childhood school days. Then she look at my hb and say "whatever lah. She should ve a very gd life and you all rejected it. Dun blame me say i no tell u all"

Next thing, hb is online searching if there is other people with the same name and show me. I ask him if he is trying to convince himself to use the name? Then i state my stand, if bb j come crying hm or crying that her peers all make fun or her name. I am not going to bear and explain why her name is such.

I really does not want bb j come crying home cos her classmates laugh at her name. And plus my ss have not come yet and my mil keep saying ' no milk for bb j ah' ' she not drinking enough ah'

I know she is harmless in her comment of my ss but it does sound hurt. Even hb also joke about my breast not working hard enough. Who can understand hw i feel? Do they really though i want to continue giving bb j fm. I have been trying pretty hard.

This morning woke up at 3+ to pump. As hb is sleeping n bb j not time for feed yet. I went to the living room to pump so as not to disturb bb j and hb. Finished with one side and hear bb j crying, went in and find hb tending to it. He asked me where i pump, so i say living room. He like "huh? Of all place". So i asked him where u expect me to pump then when u n bb j sleeping. He say toilet lah.. Den it's my turn to say "huh? Of all place"

Apple at least u can change if I tell hubby wanna change maid sure get nag by him.. Cuz we change many maids le and getting from bad to worst..

Apple:- yupp, am down with flu & running nose too.. Can't get close to bb & stop bfeeding & sup him with FM first.. Don't wanna spread the virus to him.. Ytd didn't pump & latch much so end up engorement & got headache & fever.. Tis morning gt flu still latch.. To relieve my engorement.. Now slowing down my milk profuction..

Gotta go rest, just had flu medi & cause drowsiness...

All mummies must take extra care..

Mummies!

Didn't get any replies on this.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Does your tbf babies's poo smells?

Pls advice!! Thanks!! :)

split - Usually my hb will not go against of my idea on changing maid coz most of the time I'm managing maid, I'll sound to him if the maid is out of hand then he will get involve. Like this case, my hb ownself cannot stand her working attitude, after so many maids, they is the 1st maid get scolded real hard by him :p

kaykay - rest well..if u wanna slow down your ss, don't pump anymore. Just feed on demand then slowly I insert 1 or 2 FM feed in btw to signal your b.

Janice y don't u n hubby find another person to calculate the name? Sure will hdve other better or at least similar lucky name for ur bb one.. Usually people who calculate will give a few choices de.. Seriously if name wrong really will be laugh by people loh

Janice - aiyo..why your hubby so insensitive.. breastfeeding is very tough and thats why not many ppl can continue with it. jiayou, Janice! along this road, there will be silly ppl who keep telling us not to breastfeed or make us feel guilty and hurt by saying that bb is not drinking enough. but, we as mummies, know that breastmilk is still the best for our darlings. so, filter out what these ppl say and persist on breastfeeding. but if bb really not having enough, you can consider supplement with fm

Hi all... Been reading but no time to post. Congratulations to all who have delivered!!

Janice: I second split's suggestion, get someone else to get another auspicious name. Otherwise u'd be very miserable for a very long time. As for bf comments, I always shut out non constructive remarks. Usually they are made without malice but if we bother abt the comments, it will make us upset. Take it as background noise! ;) big hugs!!

baobaolin: my girl's one is a lil smelly~ heheh...full bm...

kay: y dun you pump..like pump half out to relief the engorgement or ask dr for medi to stop bm from flowing. engorgement will result in fever etc..

Janice: go with ur gut feeling. I also opposed to the initial name my in-law chose..they chose coz easy to write but i think it doesn't sound nice. however, i was given alot of characters to choose from. probable reason is we also chose time/date for c-sect so the 5 elements are almost balanced. hang in there..don't stress...

apple: u squeeze into the sink?wah~ i still pump at night but i never care the timing alr..just pump till my b is loose than i ask my hubby keep in the fridge and i go back to zzz...like that more managable.

preciousmom: foremilk is the liquid that's almost translucent...after that the more whitish one is hindmilk alr..HTHs distinguish..

Re: Swaddle: my girl still loves it. can't eat without swaddling. but when sleeping sometimes she breaks one hand free~

Ash: you might have blocked ducts..pls massage them..go back and ask helen for help or u can call her yea? it's painful to touch but u have to massage it to clear. i had it on my left breast so i can comprehend. keep massaging after 3-4 times it shd be gone. i got my hb to massage for me while i pump..

bubble: initially there was discomfort..kinda sore/pain feeling..lower the suction a lil? and than slowly increase until pain is bearable. it's toughening the nipple i guess...

starfruit: congrats~

RE: pumping: i'm not being persistent on pumping timing anymore..i just want to empty my boobs and go back to rest since i've build up some ss in my freezer.

Re: pump: mini electric is indeed very noisy. portable though. swing is less noisy, 2 phase function and also quite portable. so if any mummies want portability can consider.

Re: boobs itchy: well, i'm getting it too! checked with a couple experienced mummies in my office and they say its normal if the itch is ard the aerola/nipple. same..use bm to coat the nipple and air dry before wearing back bra. I also checked with my gynae..he says so long as no rash, redness, flakes etc it shd be fine. if any of the above visible pls ask ur doc. EBM still safe to drink if only plain itch.

pacifier: i haven't intro to my girl yet..not really planning too although hubby did buy..

bunnymom: i can totally comprehend with u...i also went thru depression last week..my hubby took 1 more week leave to be with me. it was devastating i didn't even wanna carry my girl..it's all the stress i was putting on myself. wanting to up milk ss, wanting to build ss in freezer, wanting to pump 1 hr, dealing with new CL and wanting this and that..now i'm more relax..trust me~ just let go...let go of all the things..pumping more etc..you'll feel better..painkillers does not cause drop in ss..i took panadol to sleep last night..my ss about the same. relax and don't stress over every drop of milk..it will come..let me know through pm if u need someone to talk to..u can call me k? my office ladies showed me alot of support so that's the least i can do for u too~ u need to rest too k?

isetan private sale!

25may

bb items: 20% off regular priced NUK, AVENT, PIGEON, PLAYTEX

bundle deal for pigeon steriliser set $142 and avent single pump set $239.

medela 15+5 off

V: tml got Tangs private sale too! Wa I haven manage to store any ss...jus enough for his daily consumption only...super envious of those who have so much in excess. Now I wanna run errands also v.stressed, must make sure I go out the min he feed finish.

Janice: I think the name is very impt too, and most impt u and yr hb must agree with it, if not this issue will continue next time too when such topic arise. But i realise there seem to be many opinions with bb around...my family too...everyone got their own set of thinking reg bb stuff...sth v.frustrating.I think yr hb is jus insensitive for that moment, sth I wake up in the middle of the night I also v.cranky. Haa but my hb sleep like a pig...so I jus pump in the room.

Apple: super envious of your ss la...

Dolly: jus ordered fenugreek! Really hope it helps...

Val: I wanna see pretty meimei pics...haa....haven seen u post.

V - yes, squeeze into sink coz I don't wannt pump & store anymore. I'll only pump & feed after my boy 1 month or later..coz now he doesn't like btl feed and I don't want to force and make him merlion.

Janice - go to those master for alternative name la..I guess your uncle knows how to calculate but not pro rite? the name really not nice especially for girl, first it sounds funny..then it also sound like boy's name

Thank you split, apple n v for the replies!

My bb's poo smells a lil.. I thought tbf bbies's poo shouldn't have any smells?

N yah, whenever my bb poo got a lot of sound effect.. Ist that Laosai or normal?

Spilt & Nic: We did consider going to a master to calculate but the mum say dun need, she will convince the uncle to change another name. Who knows in the end, she is the one being convince that it's one and only good name. Haii... Yi yan nan jing...

Evie: I make a effort to wake up to pump to stimulate my supply. In the end, he ask me go toilet pump. Den i told him say i am not doing any illegal thing, why need to go till toilet. He like "what your problem? go toilet pump only mah" Haii... I then dunno what is the problem that i need to pump. Think i dun need to consider if i will disturb him liao. Who cares that my mini electric pump is so damn noisy.

Been ignoring their comments but yesterday night, it just burst out. So angry with myself and my low supply. Cant even pump sufficient for my bb gal. One day pump only sufficient for one feed. So pathetic.

Thanks Mummies for the support. Will try to adjust my mood and feeling. Thanks for hearing me out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angie: Am having fenugreek too. Got my hb to go watson to buy. Got 20% off somemore, even if you are non-member.

Janice - ask your hb, he ever bring his coffee to drink in the toilet #$5^%$ Some ppl really no choice & they gotta use handicap toilet to pump while @ work but at home, u shd pump at your comfort what!

mummies..

woo whole day didnt come in.

so tire, sleep on and off, wake up for pumping and feeding then sleep again..

lost my voice ytd nite, today better and throat still very dry.

Janice

seriously, that name is not suitable for bb la.. better dont use for the sake of bb.. later kana teased by friend..

ur hubby really inconsiderate.. how can pump in toilet? may b u just pump in the room lo.. and ask him to cover his ears using pillow..

previously for my #1, before i got freestyle i used mini electric. i pumped in the room everyday even at night. i even on the room light, as for my hb, i ask him to cover himself in quilt hahha..

Ash

Re:Freestyle

I dont sterilize shield, only rinse it with hot water. do you sterilize the membrane? i rinse whole thing in hot water only.

Baobaolin

my bb's poo got little bit of smell.. but not so strong.

Angie

Tangs got bb things?? tot the one in Vivo dont hav? so which one have? I also want to buy some bb stuff..

Angie: yea I can forget all the sales liao.. After full mth maybe go buy avert warmer only..

Janice: hang in there k? Ss will come just relax n keep pumping~Jia you!!

Bao: my girl farts w her poo~ don't worry.. Hehe...

Apple: ah Okok.. I can't latch so everything pump n keep~ at least if growth spurt I have backup for my girl~

Ash: engorge u need to massage to ease the flow.. Pump everytime u feel the stone/tingling sensation. But the massage is the part that loosens the nodes.. Have to massage in circular motion and than push twds the nipple. Will be pain..I think cOld compress can remove the pain..

Janice - cool cool ya..in this hot weather, very easy to flare up one. and our bbs can feel what we feel. amazing right? just do the way u want it. Jia you!!!

Jane H & V - thanks for the reply! Thought something wrong with my milk and gave him bad tummyache or something. Haha.

Pumping - I don't pump regularly also.. I pump only when I feel engorged or I lazy to latch on.. Cos my milk always keep leaking n dripping.. Wets my bra n the hankies used..

I've been bottle feeding bb.. I don't store any milk in the fridge cos am afraid that I can't track down the timing well / warm up the milk properly..

I'm using medela swing, so far so good. :)

Janice, your hb is too much.. He didn't even give you mental support & join in with his mum to poke @ you. Worst still, asked you to go toilet & pump... Then you ask him go toilet & have his meal there.. This is the times when we need our hb's support irregardless of any issue.. Ask him to wake up his idea man!

Dolly

i like ur statement 'ask him to go toilet and have his meal...'. it's true, now is the time whereby we need hubby's support, if they are inconsiderate, it can b the main reason for us to feel depressed.

Janice

hang on... explain to ur hb that toilet is not a place for pumping, somemore is bb's food!

Ash

yeah, i didnt sterilize the parts in sterilizer. not sure if correct thought..

Any mummies using freestyle? Can check how u all sterilize the parts??

viman, it seems like the poos stain quite hard to get rid.. i tried but gave up... those tat big patches, i throwed liao.

starfruit, congrats!!! I'm almost same as u.. my gynae also said tat no2 labour will be shorter than no1 (in a way, he's right bcos my no1 labour was 32hrs via natural w epi and no2 was 21 hrs but couldn't come out and ended up emergency c-section. Our bb weight quite near leh.. mine is 3.45kg.. also big bbs... same here, milk started to kick in in day 3 and engorgement seems to get worse as days goes by... me now in day 6 in confinement. Maybe u try to massage or pump it out (actually the nurses dun encourage pumping as they said tat 1st week is to let the milk supply comes in and pumping will over-stimulate and leads to engorgement). For me, my boy have been fussy and feeds on 1 or 2 hrs.. so temporary, i dun need to pump and feeding on demand but it's getting too tiring for me liao.

Speaking abt NE, they mixed up my dinner and lunch on sun and served me the same dishes on mon. Called them up and seems like kitchen "mess up" and they promised to sort it out and will compensate me for extra day meal.

mudppie, personally i agree w u to opt for c-section bcos i was told by my gynae tat bb is big and must be mentally prepared tat i might ended up in c-section. Being sturborn, i opted for natural delivery and went thru 21 hrs before gyane pronunced tat i can't do natural and hve to do c-section. My medical bills came up to $11k and my hubby said tat shd hve opted for c-section in the 1st place... haiz. There's a price to pay and i went thru it. Do consider the options carefully and consult yr gynae and hubby and make the decision. Last, wish u a smooth delivery and hope to hear good news fr u soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Janice, can understand how u feel.. a mother feels deep for her child... who wants own child to be laughed at.. the name really doesn't seems "nice" and esp for a girl too. Is there any room for negotiation between yr hubby/mil? like using one of the characters and use another characters to sub it?

baobaolin, TBF babies poo poo shouldn't stink... in fact, NB bbs poo poo shouldn't stink till they starts on solids.

pacifier: I started my boy with it today. He been demanding to feed every 1 or 2 hrs but sometimes is bcos he wants to poo (can bf halfway and he poos), after tat he so happy and started sucking.. so i gave him the pacifier and it seems tat when he wants to poo, he sucks at it and it makes the transaction so smooth. Haiz.

Btw, my boy review on the jaundice is very bad today.. reading at 285. Have to rent the light and he's to be on it for 12 hrs and next review is on this thur. Hope his level will comes down soon. Btw, any mummies have G6PD bbs? My boy have it and PD advised for me not to take herbs if BF but there's no guidelines which herbs not to take. Any mummies can share infor on it? Can PM me on it? I might not log in frequently as busy w BF/to and fro the clinic/etc etc etc... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jane & janice, exactly.. Why cant he just bear with it for another few more months? It's nOt as if we are going to pump milk for life.. We are the ones that are going thru these sleepless nits. we are not even complaining, so in what position is he not happy with? He can't even put up with the pumping sound but can put up with bb j's crying? What joke is this? @&!?$...

Janice: I just ordered from drugstore...much cheaper le....jiayou and be strong! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jane: ck tang have! Hidden at the highest level...

V: haa I got sneak out a few times...u are so disciplined!