(2011/05) May 2011

Janice just go n find a master for the bane den when choosing the name bring ur mil with u ask the master to explain to her how gd is the name he choose for her n wat it will bring her in further also give the name that ur uncle pick to the sifu ask y that name is so gd n if can give other name but bring the same goodness like wat the name can bring for ur girl. Like that ur mil cannot said u nv consider bb further.. Tell her bb is urs u even more concern abt her further den any others n that's y u dun wat her further to be made fun of b4 she is even successful

Janice u very considerate I also using mini plus and I just pump on the bed beside my sleeping hb n bb n my no2 lol but they still slp like a pig

Auroa - So far I have no complain about NE..in fact, I wanna comment on Newbaby. So disappointed with their service. My order was no chicken & egg, they served me chicken in many meals. I rang up the boss during noon told him they served me chic, pls tell kitchen not to pack chic for dinner. End up dinner I got another chic dish! Fed up..

Also, bcoz my meal I don't want chic, when comes to chic soup, Newbaby gave me hinoki mushroom with slice meat soup..it tastes like plain water! And this soup repeated few times in a week!! OMG

I just wonder how come NE served u same dishes on Sun and Mon as I'm getting different dishes ler

Also, those herbs I'm avoiding, they have excluded. I find their service really good compared to Newbaby.

Janice,

Ya for name, better think carefully before decide as it will b wif bb for life.

Pumping, ur hubby shd be more supportive. For me, I pump in room in between the night I oso pump with lights on and my hubby &#1 unaffected, sleep like a log, same as Spilt.

Auroa - he's poo stinks a lil..

Split - I did my pumping next to my sleeping boys too. Haha. Too tired to be considerate.

I cater my confinement food from NE as well. Their portion is seriously huge! Me n my husband couldn't finish them.. Always stuff all in.. But recently my hubby stop eating it with me cos all the food too heaty for him.. All the pimples etc pop out, worse, he somehow got his neck strained n couldn't move it for 3days.. The Chinese doc he went commented that he is 'Fa re' n the nerve 'Fa yan' my poor husband dare not eat it with me anymore, now I more cannot finish the food. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] yummy though. Hehe.

Janice, my bro who studies n grad w fengshui cert, he only tell me the bb lacks of what element n best to have element Chinese character in his name, thats it..as simple as that. Why that uncle cannot give u more name to choose? Any particular reason why need to use that name? Ask him lah, I believe it could be the characters n the name of stroke. I agree that name is v important as in the future he will be jest by peers if it sounds weird or funny...

Sorry to interrupt. I have just stopped breast feeding my baby and hv left with 01 box of Malunggay tea (unopened) which helps to increase milk supply. This tea works wonder for me and milk supply is good! Mumsfair is selling it at $18/box of 20 bags. Infor on tea www.malunggayherbtea.com

I am letting go at $13 (inclusive of normal postage)

Pls PM me if keen.

i just dont understand why baby keeps making "grunting" noises, my hubby is starting to call her little duck and when she cries for milk, she goes "Auck Auck", then my Confinement lady will reply her "guai la, aek" -> in Hokkien: chicken la, not duck.

Monday CL is leaving, secretly quite happy coz the a bit sian of confinement food, the only ones i enjoy is chicken herbal soup and dom chicken. the rest like sesame lean meat w ginger is ok. Other dishes i dont remember anything special. i only have pigs stomach soup twice and fish/papaya soup twice. Think will have to figure out how to cook it myself if i wanna eat 40 days this time for a last proper confinement (altho i already break many rules like wearing shorts and singlets) heheee

Apple: I like your remark. Have show to my hb to see as he still dun see the point why i cant pump in the toilet. Where there is no people to disturb me. I even told him that toilet seat is so uncomfortable, unless he put a sofa there then i might consider.

Jane: Have kind of complain to my hb cousin wife whom i happen to be msg-ing yesterday night. She ask if need her mil to help as her mil happen to be the uncle younger sister. I told her we can manage as dun wanna like me complaining behind my mil back. But think she still ask her mil to help ask us ask the uncle to give us alternative. Guess what, my mil yesterday start calling my bb j "kill bacteria", today she know the uncle gave change to one of the word and nw she call bb j with the new name. Really cant understand her, me and hb have not even decided if we wanna the name and she like decide it for us le. Wondering whose kid bb j belong to.

V: Thanks for the encouragement.

Evie: Trying to control my mood. Yesterday night is really very sad till tear drops just drop uncontrollably. Now is better since the uncle is willing to give alternative.

Dolly: Have done what you stated. As i went for a nap just now and when woke up, hb was preparing to eat waffle. When he came in with the waffle, i ask him why don't he have his waffle in the toilet.

BBpooh: Am so going to start pumping in the room tonight le. Being considerate and ganna cast to toilet to pump. If he bue tahan, also no choice as it's milk for bb j.

bubble pearl: Things seems to be turning to a better view. Hb going to the uncle hse later to see the 2 names that he will be giving. Really think is my hb cousin and his wife telling their mil about us not happy. As yesterday night, while i msg-ing hb cousin wife my hb is msn-ing with his cousin.

Thank You everyone for the morale support. Really appreciate it very very much. Muacks...

Help mummies

My cl is down with cough n flu tdy but she insisted she can tk care of bb n wear mask n sleep further away fr bb, dun on air con etc. But I c her walk out of my room without closing mouth n mask nt put on all the time.

Baby is only 1 week old. How?? But my room limited space to sleep unless hubby zz on floor at a small tight corner of the room without mattress.

Bunnymumy mayb ask hubby tempt slp on floor or another room? My room also very small n the bed oso so hb been sleeping on the floor since bb came home

apple, althou NE mess up the order (the guy who called me back said tat might be the kitchen mess up the order), he's very professional and said will look into it and offered extra day replacement and will amend it asap. I think their responses quite fast and the food is very nice.. thus, i will still recommend to others. For newbaby, my sis said she ordered from them when she's in confinement for no2, she said tat so-so only. So, yr order from NE excludes herbs? i thinking to do tat (not sure whether can request now) as my boy got G6PD and PD asked me to try to avoid intake any herbs.

Split

Thanks . Hubby finally agreed to sleep on floor but weather hot n bb keep sneezing but sweating too while swaddling. 1st night in my rooom n I feel my Hse v hot. The fan blowing at us n bb's sweating. Dun wan on air con cos he's sneezing n everyone's falling ill like that.

Relative suggest letting bb feed on some water cos weather hot. Bb is mostly on formula milk, even if breastmilk will hv to supp with fm cos he's only 1 week old but feeding on 60-80ml Liao. Can let him drink water?

bunny_mum, NBs are not recommend to take too much plain water (can't remember the reason liao) but a few tsp is ok.. otherwise, try gulcose water.. i giving it to my boy as recommended by PD and hospital as a supplement if i dun want to give FM. The nurse recommend to give not more than 90ml gulcose water to my boy. Hope it helps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa: what's gp6d? I know abit but dunno the full definition.. Is ur girl ok so far? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starflower: yup!! Mine does the gruntling sound too.. Stretch also must make noise.. It's the funny phrase now. Will slowly goes off. I remember my #2 was like this too.

Bunnymum: agreed with auroa, dun feed too much water. Remember a mummy say will thin the blood or something.. A few sips should be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] dun on air con better, since ur CL sick.. It's raining at my side, how bout urs?

How late or how early does ur Bb sleep? Mine worst case was 3am(1time) and earliest 10pm.. Range to sleep 10-1am.. Wanna train her sleep at 10pm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa i think my ger alsoG6PD need to chk her health booklet but pd n nurses say no concerns. I also worry abt her jaundice was below 10 during discharge but will bring her back to pd to check on thurs. She has not poo since she came back yesterday so a bit worried!

Apple ur meal from ne no herbs at all ? So wat soup they serve u?

Auroa & starfruit - I still take some herbs, my order I avoided dang gui & ginseng, others I'm OK. For last week, they replaced chic & egg for all my meals..so far no screw up.

Newbaby seriously horrible!! I only take their package for 1 week, they screwed up 3-4 days meal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I'll not recommend them to friends. And I found hair stuck on the steam pork..yucks so I threw the dish away. Their packaging are recycle..my hb said not so hygienic lo

I also read somewhere that nb doesnt need water if tbf. However if bb is on fm, no harm to give a few sips since weather so hot.

Today i went to amk hub unity to get fenugreek n they r having 20% off till end of this month. Have popped 3 tablets n will start taking it. Really hope to build up the supply.

Finally finish my confinement month! Am sad to see my tummy bulging out like im 4 month pregnant. Do u all think its too late to engage a massage lady? Still have effect to tighten my tummy? Any good recommendation on massage lady?

Good morning mummies...up for pumping. Just in time to give my Bb milk. Think I am going to miss my CL already. Maid sleep like a log.

Maid

Everyday in a daze. Tell her to do things she stood there daydream and I have to repeat twice.

2ww, same here. I also still look pregnant 4 mths with that tummy size. Taking massage sessions this week. Tummy bounced back after a few hours when I removed the wrap. So I think it's more to dispel wind and help push our uterus up than tummy trim for the wrap tho I could be wrong.

Viman,

Then u got to soak more times n scrub n it will go off. This is wat my mum did. If too big a patch I just throw away =p

Apple,

Waiting fr my cc bill to come then will know the exchange rate too =)

same here. My gal like her hands n legs free. She slps with her hands doing the surrender sign n legs open. Hahah.

Y do u avoid dang GUI n ginseng?

Janice,

The name really nt nice and nt suitable for a gal la. A name is v impt since it will follow a person a lifelong. Anyway, I always feel can't just rely on calculated name to have a gd future for the baby. He/she must wk hard n strive for his/her own good. N I am sure there are other masters who can come up with gd names without compromising on the sound as well. 

Angie,

Haha, I lazy to on lappy lo. Plus have been handling things at hm on my own so even more lazy to post photos. My hb will be free up soon and I will be able to post photos n do some online shopping le. Stay tuned!! Heheh.

Baobaolin,

Think all poos somewat smells alittle?? Mine gal's poo nt stinko type buy smell of poo lo =p n she farts at time when she poo. There was once she let out such a big fart tat my #1 n myself got stunned. Hahaa.

Dolly,

Gd to hear he is better n the neb works for him. Just tat so young gonna use neb v heartache.

Auroa,

My #1 is g6pd deficient. During my confinement then, I avoid all kind of herbs except chicken essence. When he is older, then I started taking cordyceps. PD will generally ask u to avoid all herbs as baby too young for his liver to process. U have to be careful nt to take broad beans. No mothballs in ur wardrobe too. I will chk with my dad wat other things n let u know. 

Bunnymum,

If my hb nt well, he will go to another room to slp to prevent spreading to the kids.

If baby on fm, can give some water.

I am zombie now...today my hb cannot take n ask me to nurse my boi after fussy for an hr, later I realized he want baobao n pacifier..same as my #1...I actually carry him till I doze off for an hr or more..really feel like giving up pumping as I really dun get eluff sleep, we take care the baby ourself as my mum only bath n cook confinement food for me. Make it worse, my hb is the kind super listen to dr advise, since dr say the jaundice is bm type, he say dun feed bb bm till get clearance from dr. Now all my milk are pour away as my fridge are full of bm liao...damm sian

@bubble pearl: same here..dun feel like pumping. bb hourly feeding is making hb mad, end up have to take over and delay pumping. really hard to take rest..

Val: haa I sneaked out too....

Sunflower: I also feeling very frustrated...bb feed v often and he refuse to sleep from 3am till now...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sunflower, I decided... I still have 50 milk bags n I shall pump n store..after milk bags used up...I close shop. At least for didi, I did bf more than kor kor...ah Q mindset now

Val, me sneak out every weekend coz hb nt working. The first time was during polling day. Thats sort of official first tim

e.. Haha

Bubble, so envy of u that u still have a fridge full of supply. The last time my gal had jaundice, i also gave her bm when she is back home. Only gave her fm in hospital coz my ss v little. So long u dun eat ginger, your bm is fine for bb to drink. I know ita damn tiring to pump each time, on top of it, still din get hb support should be dan demoralising but u just think its for bb's sake la..

Thanks for all the tips! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

waiting for sterilizer to alarm so can take out pump parts and start pumping... Thinking if I should only pump just before bb's feeds. Smelled the refrigerated bm yesterday and didn't like the fridge smell... Then smelt freshly pumped milk, wow it has no smell at all! Wondering if bb can also tell the diff... If so, a bit sad to give her the refrigerated milk... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Val,

My bb also sleeps in the "I surrender" pose! Lol! Swaddling doesn't help, she has a way to get both hands out! Sometimes she moves her hands slowly in her sleep, looks like she is doing tai chi. :D

My bb also fuss & cranky last nite fr 10pm to almost 1am. My hb took over to coax him at 11+ coz I was too tired & fell into my dreamland..

I expected this coz he is 3 wks old..another nitemare episode will be 6 wks old.

Val, I bleed if I take dang gui. All along TCM & gynae has advice no dang gui even not preg. I thought confinement I can take a lil, tried the soup once gosh I got heavy bleeding so I stopped!! As for ginseng, I kiasi I dunno which type the caterer using so I tell them don't gimme.

My boy also sleep in surrender position & he simply luv aircon. If aircon is on in e afternoon he can go into slumberland pretty quick instead of toss & turn making quaking sound.

Val n apple totally cannot take herbs uf bb is G6pd? How abt the herbal soup? N red date tea? Can take? Aiyo cham. I think my ger jaundice level went up n i still taking the herbal stuff!!

Val let me know how much may have slight delay in my payment cos too tirEd to on computer to settle payment stuff!

Apple ur bb 1 day older den mine right I think having the same phase my girl also fussing this few days and simply awake and wanna drink milk hourly

starfruit - I dunno about G6PD related to herbs ler..maybe u check with Val. Or read up ba

For me I avoided some herbs bcoz of bf.

Split - ya, I think they are going thru the difficult phase of wk 3. Actually during my gal's time, wk 6 was horrible!! She stays awake till 5am everynite

Val,

Ya, my bb also hands in the air whenever she is not swaddled.

I have been out for bb check up, my own check up and since week 2, been out every morning to bring my boy to cc.

Apple,

U mean bb at week 3 & 6 will have these symptoms?

Val, u wanna sneak out with bb to go shopping issit?? hehe..am heading to Taka this weekends :p wanna stock up some bb stuffs.

bbpooh, this is what I gone thru during #1. So my #2 is showing the sign last nite.

Good morn mummies!

Am waiting at PD clinic for bb's jaundice review. Loooong wait.

Starfruit, my #1 has G6PD. I avoided all herbs only took chicken essence. To avoid broad beans and contact with moth balls.

Isetan private sales today... So tempted to go! ;)

Val: I suppose u must have sneaked out with Mei Mei alr...kekeke [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I salute u after delivery still can celebrate yr boy's bday!

Apple,

I c, I dun recall my #1 like tat. But my bb hav been quite fussy this week, she is 25 days old, also been crying more. One hr after feed start to fidget the fuss then cry. Then if carry her, she'll b ok. I suspect she juz wan to carry as my CL always carry & rock her ESP at night. Now we r trying to cut down CL carrying her.

Good morning mummies, I popped finally on 22 May after a few days of false contractions.

Went through labour of about 9 hours. Haha wouldnt be able to make it if not for epidural. But still had to endure some pain before epidural and at the end when my epidural wear off!!!

Val, can you help to update the table.

My girl was born at 3.265kg, normal delivery with epirdural.

Ladies new battle for me... Mastitis.. Don't take emgorgememt lightly.. I'm having fever and no matter how I pump the boobs feel full and hard on the side. If u feel ur boobs getting warm pls monitor ur temp. Once u have fever go see a doc and seek help from LC to massage and clear the ducts...

Mummies, I am also having a lot of problems with BF.

I didn't latch my bb well and came down with cracked nipples on the 2nd day. Worse, 1 side start to bleed and I was advised to hand express which was so difficult. Tried to use pump at the hosp also no use as it didnt come out. Nurse also say pumping will not give anything as it is still early days.

On my 3rd day, i started to latch again and noticed that there is an increase in milk flow. But it is very painful due to cracked nipples. Now on the 4th day, I am extremely engorged. Worse still, I couldn't pump at home as the pump i was using for my no. 1 is spoilt. Tried to latch my girl and my nipple bleed again.

Oh no, what should i do mummies? I can't latch her now as she would swallow the blood and regurgitate blood out.

Think i should buy a new pump. Any recommendations mummies? I was using Ameda. Now I am thinking of getting Medala Swing. Is it good?

V, so you must stop BF till mastitis go away? Endure ok I am sure the pain is excruciating since I am having engorgement now.