(2011/05) May 2011

Split & sunflower, ya lo... He doesn't seems to understand @ all.. Thought it's easy when we are sacrificing our beauty sleep, body & figure change all because of this family and he thought he himself as a king. He just sit there & order pple around...

Bubblepearl, Xuanmin - Thanks for sharing on exclusive expressing. My fren told me she tried 2 days exclusive expressing but noticed supply dropped, so I m a bit worried.

Viman- understand how u feel. Mine also need a surgery when he is older. Let's have faith!

Dolly, my gal oso cough n block nose... Donno y... No one in the hse is sick leh.... Sigh.... Cough out 1 big greenish block of Phelgm yest... Still monitoring if PD is necessary cos only at nite cold then she like tat... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi mummies.

Help!! Few qns I need help on..

Pd said bb shld b drinking 40ml milk when discharge n increase 5ml per day n every 3-4hourly. Tdy bb is 5 days old n yesterday drinking 60ml n he cries every 1-2nd, cl gave him milk. Is this correct? As in let him drink every Hr n keeps on increasing so much? My bb is 4kg.

Also, I have those blue traditional bouncer and when can bb use that? I heard bb too small cannot use 1st, no gd for his bones. I also hv the combi chair where u can rock bb in n bigger for feeding purpose? Can't rem the name of that chair. Can he use that now too? BreKs my heart he keeps crying till screaming n colic.

Lastly, anyone still having pain at the stitch area for epi n tear area? Tdy day 5 but I still having pain down there. Is it normal? I wash that area with water each time I go toilet n put on the antiseptic cream given everytime but yest read the instruction can only apply 3 times a day but I put more than that. Is that why my butt wound so painful?? Really cannot stand it. Help ah..

Sh, best to bring her to see pd & check on her. I was so worried & quickly brought him to pd.. He was told if the medicine doesnt work, need to bring him back to check if he has bronchitis?

Morning mums!!

Bunnymum: I aso had e same prob of having terrible pain at e teat n epiosomy all e way until day 8.. Hence, I went to c my gynae n he prescribed me wif stronger painkiller n nw I feel much much better.. If not, I cant sit or lie down properly n will hinder my pumping milk as can't sit n adjust properly.u may 1 2 call up ur gynae to check.

As ur baby ado is born big, sure to create more tear or wound there.. Tat's wat my gynae said aso...

I'm hvg heat rash on chest n under b. Anyone suffer fr this too? Dun dare to apply anything cos scared contaminate while pumping. Cannot dun wear bra too cos will leak n stain my tshirt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

arisz, starfruit: am gg to see dr chua tmrw morn. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] starfruit....sounds like u might deliver before us!

val: good to hear tt kor kor is sweet to mei mei, i think attention seeking is quite the norm. just need some time to adapt. me too not in favour of IFC and full day cc.

xuanmin: have u thot of being an adjunct tr? more flexibility and can spend more time with the kids...

Good morning..

Dolly, hope your kids get well soon..I think ur hb used to having the maid doing the chores that's y he doesn't bother to help even your kids are sick. That's y I don't rely on maid to handle my kids..this way when am bz with the boy, my hb will auto help look after the elder gal.

Starfruit, I think your SIL jealous on your MIL's help render to u guys! Get ur hb do the talking best..they r immediate family.

Maid :- my fren pass me a contact of her close fren maid sister wanna come to SG. Am going call up today to speak to her, if eng ok..I'll arrange agent to do direct hiring. I am so sick of waiting for right biodata! It has been weeks sigh

Hi precious mom,

Thanks. Tdy day 5 so I think I better arrange to c gynae later for stronger painkiller, duno if she will give. She gave synflex but I find no use like that. Still can feel pain.

How Many days did it tk u to recover fr the tear?

Viman, take care & be strong for your bb

Val, my dad ask me to quit my job too! I was sahm when I had my #1..he expects me to do the same for #2 esp seeing me going thru maid changing process..sigh

My hb also ask me take unpaid leave ext fr my ML..I dunno how to tell my boss [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ash, am suffering heat rash near both armpit above e boobs..I dare not use powder so I apply desitin & it works [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u give a try

Xuanmin,

It was discovered after birth. Doc say hernia is very common in premature babies cos their inner abdominal wall is very soft so part of the intestine can easily push in and cause a bulge.

Pixie, Apple,

Thanks! Hope all goes well today. She has a bit of a stuffy nose so I'm worried about the effect of the anesthesia...

Xuanmin & Apple, he told me that's why she's here to work & help us with the chores.. He really rely the maid to do everything then I'm his new maid too..

Dolly, cheer up..don't take his word too hard. U just do your part for the sake of the children. One day your maid gone home, he will realize the pain if nxt one not capable to handle kids!!

Viman, prof shd know better than us..hv fate in her & the doctor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope she can go home soon

Viman, dun worried, ur bb is in the hand of experts.

Xuanmin same here, This morning missed pumping n breast hard hard

Ash & xuanmin: do u all realize that milk flow for the 1st 5 min--> empties the breast , after that the flow vvvvvv slow? how u all pump? I am doing 25-30min for both side, is it too long??

Apple: it's good that u can be a sahm when yr hubby can still support fully.. If I were u, I would heed ur hb's idea.. Maybe take 2 months upl, full BF Bb D, than decied if wanna put IFC. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my 2cents.

Val/Split/Xuanmin: same, their preschool fees and Groceries are steep steep steep. I also don't want ask HB for money if I wan to buy anything.. Most of the things I buy, he usually disagree.

Xuanmin: ever consider doing freelance teaching? Like teaching in tuition centre..

Ash: I dunno if MMP works for everyone.. I have no idea where to get it too.. Happymumyobe got hers from TMC. I dunno should I head there.. Than I wanna get the blue sanitizer as well... I'll be asking my Gynae this sat if it's ok to take.

Any mummies know where to get MMP?

Re: fernugreek

Can get from GNC. Dunno the price though.

Xuanmin: i pump pump pump, after latching breast yield 20ml only! So little! Dont like! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] are u fully pumping and no latching?

Oh mummies who are interested. Popular bookstore is having a expo fair.. Mummies who have preschool tots can grab some good buys~

Cloudpoem, I like to be financially independent & I don't want to face e maid 24x7!! Moreover, I luv my job & my flexi boss. Downside is my job req me to travel & my hb & dad don't buy e idea when I hv young infant @ home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] no win-win situation..gotta work things out with my boss see what's nxt arrangement for at least 6 months then decide.

Dolly, $27 is for MMP or fernugreek? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple: tough decision for u? I dunno how long more than I can be a sahm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] if ur boss is flexi, can negotiate with him to see if he's flexible.. Does ur workplace allows u to pump? If traveling overseas, than will be quite challenging.

Viman: Bb is taken good care under the experts hands.. Dun worry too much.

Angie: how much can u pump out now?

I'm getting very emo about my supply.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I really don't like to see my supply so little... I eat Soooo many fish and soup, and recently oats, I actually gain wt of 1.5kg due to feast I'm having.. Really demoralizing!!! Wanna breastfeed, can't satisfy Bb. Eat to increase supply but no supply but gain the stupid weight.. I see myself in mirror, I hate that image. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I'm tearing while typing. SIGH!!

SIGH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cloud,

Dun be so worried. Your mood can also affect the supply. Just continue to pump and your supply will come. Mayb you wan to try to latch bb? It can help to trigger the supply too. For me, i usually pump only latch bb around 1 time a day as wan let my CL do more work. Heee.

Cloudpoem, ya lo..headache ler! Yes, I hv room to pump in ofc. Actually during #1 after returning to workforce when she about 2, I pump & throw when I travel..

hey ladies,

haven't logged in here for a long long time...the thread is moving so fast!

xuanmin, pixie, bubblepearl - i'm also doing exclusive pumping! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] glad to have kakis cos most mums form direct latching/formula feeding cliques...most don't do exclusive pumping, so i'm glad there are others like me too!

cloudpoem - try fenugreek to increase supply...3 capsules 3x a day, as adviced by my lactation consultant. my supply has almost doubled in 1 week...starting i could only pump out 500ml+ per day but now i can pump out more than 1 litre per day....

that said, demand=supply...the herbs can only help boost the supply but to maintain, still need to make sure you latch/pump regularly. jiayou!!

good morning mummies!!!

too tired and cannot wake up... miss 2 pump session last nite... but i pumped out 260ml tis morning when i woke up at 9am... hope tis is not 1 time onli...

pixie, bubblepearl, ash: me oso exclusively express... i pump 3 to 4 hrly for 30mins each side... i took fenugreek from greenlife... got sell at watson or guardian... the price is $27.90 i tink... it is 620mg n got 100 caps... GNC onli 610mg... tink my BM got increase... i took 3 caps after every meal... if increase oredi den reduce to 2 after every meal... i learnt this from the link... http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/652480.html?1272681498

viman: dun worry!!! ur bb will be in good hand!!! jiayou!!!

dolly: yah... somtimes man really dun understand... whenever i said i wan to pump ask him to look after bb awhile... he will said huh... pump again... sianz... BM is suppose to build up bb immunity defense but it won't prevent bb from falling sick totally... my colleague bb oso TBF but still fall sick quite often... it really depend in the bb...

bunnymum: i got the combi chair tat u have... i let my boy sleep on it when he is discharge... i tink he like to sleep on it better den the cot... cos the space is smaller like the one in hospital...

sh: better bring bb to see pd mah... falling sick so young is dangerous wor...

apple: good luck on the maid!!!

SAHM: dun tink i can be a SAHM for long... 1st is financially dun allow.. 2nd is though i like to be wif my kids... but i can't imagine staying at home wif 2 kids alone for long... if i were to be a SAHM... den i will have to let my maid go liao... tink i will go crazy...

Bubble pearl,

Ya.  Hm based is gd coz best of both world - financially slightly independent and can look aft the kids. But online blogshop v saturated nw also. Must be unique in order to stand out. I think it's quite hard to find hm based jobs also.

Hahaha, ur hb's reply so funi, only if $$ falls frm the sky rite? Keke.

Dolly,

Infant immunity is v weak. Bm only helps to provide the best nutrients n boast immunity but it doesn't means kids on bm will nt fall sick, just less likely to fall sick.

Does ur hb helps ard the Hse and with #1 during ur previous confinement or before maid comes along?

Angie,

My #1 used to be like tat and only at nite but aft 1st mth ok le.

Viman,

Everything will b fine. Ur baby is in gd hands =) look fwd to bring her hm =)

Xuanmin,

Same here. Wan to keep sane but also wan to witness the growing up of my kids. Part time job best la! Haha. Anyway, sometimes I feel it's unfair to my hb if I stop wking coz tat means he have to pick up watever bills n plans I am currently paying for....n I wldnt be able to give $$ to my Parents for their upbringing...

Bunnymum,

Mayb ur wound bigger si take longer time to heal. For my #1 took more than a week too. When are u due for ur 1st followup with ur gynae?

Apple,

If ur boss ok with extended leave then wld be best right? So are u considering to be sahm too? This morning told my hb if insist on sending my boy to full day cc, I rAther dun wk n give up my luxury...and he says best I dun wk la...but he wldnt sponsor my shopping. Hahaha!

Cloudpoem,

Agree!! The things I Buy my hb also fun agree. Hahaha. =p

*hug* dun give urself too much stress. U know u did ur best le. Just cont to do latch or pump and slowly ur ss will incr accordingly. Demand = supply. Jia you =) 

My weight also stuck thanks to the gd food. Just tat my tummy went dwn slightly but my hb still comment I am fat! Hahaa.

Cloud, it's fenugreek.

Val, he don't do housework even before #1 is out but he helps to take care of #1 when she cries.. & now he totally Bo chap..

yaer: so fenugreek works for u. Is there diff brands of it? Since not exp, Im thinking if shld try. All these no side effects rite?

bubblepearl: yah... 1st time.. hopefully not last time... but tis is oso becos i miss 2 pump session lah... normally dun have so much...

ash: so far i noe got greenlife, GNC and Natureways... i took greenlife one cos watson member mah... haha... so far no side effect for me... but i see from forum they said some will smell like curry or maple syrup when they sweat... or when they urine oso... but so far me haven smell like tat lah... lolz...

Sh, coughing? Better c pd as they are still v young now, dunno if it is going their lung function.

Fenugreek , what is it? Pills to increase ss? Abit sian leh, I am gog see my gyna today n now pumping out to avoid engoregment as not too sure how long will it take..worse today hb not free, can only send me down, have make my way back home...zzz

Shaz, yaer - you have so much supply!!! **envious** The most I get now is 70ml from 1 pump session of 30mins (both breasts). Have to supplement w FM.

Cloud - dun be so upset. Initially,when I was very stressed abt it too, my fren told be not to be so insistent on TBF - as long as mummy is happy, baby is happy...which I think is true too

Cloud , the mmp is $48. Take 1 cap 4 times a day. Wanted to buy Fenugreek but then all is gelatin capsule which vegetarian cannot take so I buy mmp.

My gynae also prescribe me another med to boost my supply. But then all along my ss is not a lot, but now at least I can meet my boy's demand I happy liao, dun intend to store a lot.

pixie - at first i pump for very very long also very little supply...and need to hand express then can get decent amount! then my friend said maybe the breast shield i'm using is too small...so i switched to larger size and i could pump out so much more and my breasts are emptied much much better.

also, use massage (circular motion around breast) and then push from armpit to nipple area....so that the milk can be more easily emptied! what pump are u using?

Cloud: agree with all the mummies here. yr mood will affect yr supply. Cheer up and big hugs! go watch a comdey DVD. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I did that once for my #1 and doubled my supply when I pumped after laughing...;)

viman: all the best for yr bb's surgery! keep us updated on how bb is! hugs

pixie: tis is becos i miss 2 midnite pumping session... usually not tis much one...

cloudpoem: agree wif pixie... initially me oso very stress abt TBF until nearly got into postnatal blues... cried everynite when my bb keep crying when try to latch him on and he is not gaining weight... my hubby told me why so insistent on TBF when it is so stress for both of us... just like giving birth method... though natural birth is the best... but if circumstances not allow den got to choose c section rite... so long bb n mummy is safe can liao... so it is the same for BF or FM... so long bb is growing up well n healthy... doesn't matter bb is drinking which milk wor... so now i dun force myself to latch on liao... i pump out n give watever i have... no enuff den top up w FM loh... better den nothing at all... when u not stress ur ss will built up one... so relax!!! acutally alot of my generation are FM babies, my #1 oso FM bb n we still grow up healthy n strong!!! of cos tis is my opinion... so it is up to u to decide... sorry for the long post oso... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happymumtobe: fenugreek from greenlife is vegetarian capsules wor... u can try... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yaer: true indeed....we just do whatever best we can......so many of us grew up drinking FM healthy and strong...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sometimes the pressure that we give ourselves is not necessary. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] A happy mummy is able to take care of the bb better. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val - we actually short handed..I'm not sure my boss allows me to extend my ML to NPL. Even he allows, my other colleagues who covering me will suffer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm just praying hard my luck is better and I can get a good maid next. Probably I'll slowly hunt for deskbound job too! At least I can still work and be financially independent & also no need to travel..but for sure am not going to have the flexi of what am enjoying now.

Dolly, I bought from TMC pharmacy. They recommend me another one is special blend which includes goat rue, suppose to be better than mmp. I bought both and going to finish mmp first before trying the special blend.

Yaer, thanks, maybe I change to fenugreek after I finish all my supplement cz so much cheaper.

Cloud, try to watch your favorite show while pumping or latching, will help one. I always watch my serial while pumping so that I can relax n will helps in my supply. Now my ss slowly increase from 80ml to 100ml per 3 hr. Not a lot but I do see an improvement as days goes.

Hey ladies....

To share when pumping.. Do it like 15 on left, 15 on right and repeat.. Able to pump a lil more if u let the glands rest a lil.. This us suggested by the nurses in the hospital. Works for me. Rest well too.. Ss will increase. I also bought organic mothers milk but have not started on it. If any mummy wanna try I can sell u 1-2box.. Ive got 8 Coz i also scared No milk initially. Just pm me.

I'm on total Bf but only expressing coz Kylie refuses to latch and that caused me emotional breakdown. So long as she's drinking full bm I think now that's better than not drinking or gg on semi fm coz my bm enough. My bm ss increasing daily so I told myself not to stress out. CL cooking papaya soup for me weekly and every 3 days I will eat oats in the am.

Hang in there ladies~ always look on the bright side and let go. I had 2 breakdowns alr so I think I'm a lil over it but my colleague warned that emo breakdown will occur anytime the first 2 mths~ think positive!!!

yaer - ur story sounds exactly like mine. my girl couldn't latch properly and i was so upset that i couldn't bf properly for her. hb also said the same thing as yours and so i decided on exclusive pumping. i have bf-ing friends who think this method is inferior to direct bf-ing but i don't care as long as my bb is getting breast milk, what does it matter?

after i started relaxing, i was happier and my ss started to increase also.

so cloudpoem, don't stress and take things easy! things will turn out fine in the end!

Cloud: not constant le...and I didn't pump regularly....trying to pump on the side he is not latching on...usually abt 50ml only from one side...dun unstd y some mum can pump after latching on le...mine almost empty after he latch on...

Val: I really hope so...if not very draining for us...sth can get very frustrated...jus came back from jaundice checkup...126...dun feel like going back le...hai...but still not under 100.

Yaer: wa 260ml...super envious...