(2011/05) May 2011

M: welcome here..

I m pumping milk b4 I take my gd nite sleep.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jiayou for those mummies who r gg 2 pop soon

bunnymum: my gynae mentioned tat I can soak my backside in some warm salted water for 20min.. E wound will feel better aso.. U may 1 2 try it out.. For me, I still rely on e painkiller most of e time as I can still feel some pain on n off

m, as I m expecting e 2nd one I alr got my pump. I didn't TBF for my 1st one as I didnt establish e flow. This tine round, I hope to TBF n will try to latch till e supply us establish then consider pumping lor.

Starfruit, hope ur pain is bearable. Let us know ok.

mummies can i ask, if i stay in 2 bedder for 1st night and then upgrade to 1 bedder, will i be charged for 1bedder throughout my stay or 1st night charged as 2 bedder and subsequent as 1 bedder, any idea?

viman, really depend on your body, when u pump, once milk stop, cont pumping for 5-10 mins, sometime can trigger 2nd letdown.

Hi preciousmum,I just finish pumping before bed...zzzz

Dolly, my #1 also caught flu when he was 2weeks cos gong gong mummy aka me, placed him near balcony as I was watching tv there n plus that day was cooling, u can use either the pigeon w the tube to suck out or another method is use ur mouth to suck out, which is more efficient n less resistant

Viman, My gal only drink from one side and she will doze off. And refuse to open mouth when i switch side. She latch each time ard 20min and can last her 3 to 4 hrs. When she doze off and suction still there I will move her away slightly and she will suck back the nipple. Or I will tickle her ear or cheek to wake her up.

Bunnymum: I thought my piles was worse but ur case seem more painful.. Eat more fruits or ask ur doc to prescribe laxatives to soften the poos. My gynae prescribe me 'senokot' and it works well.. Do take care and ask doc wad food to avoid in order not to sting the wound..

Apple: Sounds like a growth spurt.. When Bb D vomit, is it projectile vomiting?

Ash: u will feel a tense feeling in noobs when there's a let down.. When let down, milk will jus keep flowing.. I Sldo aim to pump 2 let downs per boobs each tine to yield more..

Dolly: elevate ur bb pillow to ease breathing.. My #2 had flu when she was 6 days old the other time.. We put ru yi oil on handkerchief and place beside herbpillow to let her 'sniff' and elevate her pillow..

My Bb not feeling good. Cranky the whole day.. Morning till noon fuss and can't fully get into sleep Cux if the darn drilling.. Than night time eye open big big.. Kept crying.. My mil say she got 'frighten' and gave her a pinch of 'Jin fen san' I gave in to her suggestion Cux im dead beat! Now, she lying on my chest. Scared when I put her down, she'll wail~

Hi mummies.. Have a 3hrs nap.. So shiok.. Cos my A didn't wake up for feed or whine at all.. Slp from 9+ till now..

Hmms wonder shld I wake him up?? Cos he wake up = cry .. Kinda scare that he kip wake up for milk..lyk in the day time he fed & slp, less den 15mins hje wake up again(wants cuddle).. No cuddle = hard for him to slp for long.. Keeping me busy..

Perhaps he alrd starting to diff day & night? Hmms..

Advice advice.. Shld we wake up our babies if overslp more den the 3hrs feeding time??

Viman:- glad to hear that ur bb successful in his hernia surgery.. =D

Don't wry too much.. As long bb getting our nutritious bmilk, everything shld be fine.. To me it doesn't really matter anymore as some babies tend to be slpy on our breast cos comfy & nice to suckle..

Kay Kay, my gal sleep ard 5 to 8 hrs every nite. Think just let them sleep bah. They hungry will wake up. Just finish latching my gal. Her last feed is at 8 pm. Gdnite

Cloudpoem, yes..bb D like going thru growth spurt. The vomiting part is our concern, it has been 3 consecutive days where he vomited milk hmm I shd consider projectile vomiting coz the amount of milk is a pool not just 1 or 2 spit up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so hb said better go PD this sat rather than we been guessing is it gas, growth spurt, digestive prob or stomach upset

Gd morning..I just done with mooing.

Sunflower, r u going to bring your girl to PD? Ad yours is on btl feed..maybe position her head higher see improve or not.

We had good nite today coz he fed 3hrly & sleep thru.

Been up since 5am to pump..so tired frm the whole day yday without sleep in noon at all. My gal is down with suspected HFMD. Her tchr called in noon and said her class has one confirmed case, my gal has red and white spots on the left interior of the left cheek so hv to quarantine her. Brought her to see GP, but the sympthoms not so obvious yet as no spots on hands and fetes, so must monitor her.

The worse is, her meimei is sooo young and very weak as compared to bigger babies. Hope she don't get infected as highly contagious..haiz, what bad luck is this.. I hv to separate them , so tough esp ith my gal so active..I lock my bb in another room, and I hv to sanitize non stop to prevent and infections to myself and my gal..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pixie

I am still latching her on and off. It's true tt just pump and no latching will affect ss, as jbb's suckle is the natural pump tt can clear and empty breast better, thus yield more milk. I may switch back to full latch when ss is establish. Also, I want to Know how much she is drinking, so pump more for now.

Nic

I hv tot of switching to adjunct b4 to spend more time with my gals and having lesser crazy marking and admin and ccas..but I checked with a fellow adjunct flexi tchr, if I want to rejoin next time as a full time tchr when my kids grow older, I will hv to reapply and get interview again..what do u think? Still a better option than part time I think..

Viman

Good to hear tt bb is fine!!

Bubblepearl

For me, I will pump dual side for 10-15mins, rest my b for abt 5 mins and pump again, with pressing letdown button on my PIS to achieve more milk flow. Each pump session abt 40mins, can yield 120ml - 150ml on average. Still trying to increase ss. Best acheivement is 260ml per pump.

Cloudpoem

Not really considered teaching in tuition centre as not as secure and lesser benefits as compared to moe tchrs. I need a more secure job as my hubby faced retrenchment last yr for more than 6 mths, so quite lucky tt I was in public sector. Could barely survived, but we made it. For now, doing exclusive pumping so as to monitor how much bb is drinking. Wil switch to full latch after milk ss is established. Bb latches on and off everyday. She ok with both.

Morning ladies... Up pumping, eat breakfast, take a nap, pump and get ready to go for checkup on my wound!

Day 10 of no bathing or washing hair.. Only wiping w ginger or confinement bath water.. Haha... Coz most of the time in air con room bah. Occasionally will go outside chitchat perspire and wipe with towel than come back in...

How are u ladies doin re ur confinement?

Cloud, ash,

Yes my wound really bad case. The antiseptic spray I took yest fr gynae abit stingy n after using seems cool off abit but after that stingy thruout. I winder if it wks that way. Is that hw it shld b like during recovery? Stingy stingy for s start?

Tdy seem more pain than yest. Duno is it cos of thd diarrhoea yest or it's getting worse. The nurse advised nt to use salt solution to soak the wound when my aunt was talking abt it. They said use a proper antiseptic cream. Forgot the reason why.

I have nt washed hair for 4 days! Yest couldn't tk it n wash hair using the herbal bath but still oily. Do u all know where to buy those lemongrass or confinement shampoo? Is it good for confinement period?

In order to wash my wound properly, I have been using so much cold water to spray my lower body.can feel body aching n leg swollen everytime .. Think next time old liao chum. My confinement nt well done with the wound n all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]((

Morning ladies, apple how much ur boy drinking now? My girl only drink 65ml the most but if she drink more den 65 sure merlion one. I saw some bb drinking 100ml le is it my girl drink too little?

Viman hope ur girl can go home with u soon

Viman: My girl latches from 10mins to 30mins depending on her mood. There could be a few reasons why your girl is not suckling. When you feed her with FM, is it fed with bottle? Normally, the bottle teats will give milk very quickly so your bb could have been tired of waiting for the same speed of milk flow. If not, it could be that your milk is not flowing fast enough for her.

For bbs who are used to bottle feeding, you may have to retrain her to become used to latching again. That means stopping the bottle feeding and either using cup or spoon feeding. Latch her as much as possible. So if she falls asleep at 5mins, let her go hungry and when she wakes up for milk, latch her. She'll eventually get the point that she has to work to get the milk.

RE: Bb sleeping past 3hrs

My girl has been cluster feeding for the past few weeks and after that, she'll go for a few hours without milk, longest record is 7 hours. She seems to be ok, no spectacular problems thus far. I assume it's normal ba... i mean, each bb is different and have their different patterns. So as long as bb is gaining weight, having pee and poo daily, i think it's ok.

Starfruit, I stay 2 bedded 1st night but I book the whole room so they consider as single bed. 2nd day they change me to normal single bed. Really no regret to book the whole room of 2 bedded, it is small if got to share.

Starfruit: really? I didn't know le...once ss stop I stop pumping...so always pump abt 10mins only...

Bunny: that time me too...my wound ultra painful...tog with piles really painful till wanna cry. The wound wash quite useless I think...but I still walk around alot...try to rest more think it helps in the healing. The shower gel is o so only...m using now.

split - I dunno how much my boy drinking..coz he is 100% latching, no btl feeding after the 1st merlion and cranky nite.

Well, milk intake varies, go according to your girl's stomach. Don't overfed..actually I also suspect my boy overfed via the b coz I dunno how much he is taking resulted him merlion!

I can see my milk flowing fast, coz some overflow fr his mouth where he didn't manage to gulp down in time.

Judging from my pumping time, I also can tell that my milk flow is quite fast coz I only need 10min to pump.

Ytd read that got bb have face rashes I remember my no2 also got bad rashes on the face and gp ask us to use Calamine lotion. Anyway the cause of the rashes we initially tot is heat rashes we apply the lotion n help abit but still it keep coming back.. Den after nearly 2 mth den I found out is becuz my ex maid dump enough to use dish washer detergent to was my bb hankie after that the rashes gone le

Thanks, mommies, for all the advice. Looking fwd to bringing baby home and training her on exclusive latching. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm feeling so fortunate just by looking at my little girl.. Still remember when her 2 brothers were abt her age now they were so fussy and I so looking forward to go back to work and leave the boys with my mum and inlaw.. Now with my girl she is so much easier to take care and I so wish I can be a sahm just to take care of her.. Feel like she's like an angel haha so sweet.

the thread moves so fast, couldnt catch up! so tired with all the pumping and feeding! not sure how long i can tahan, just feel that dont hav energy..any mummies like me??

Re: latch on

so envy that lots of the mummies here can do fully latch on. i just couldnt latch my bb on. not sure why. since #1, i am doing exclusive pumping till she was one year old. and for #2, had tried to latch her on, just couldnt get the right position. bb can suck but i dont know how to position her. right, left, up & down all i tried, just couldnt. ended up posture not right, and back pain.

so doing exclusive pumping for #2 too!

Btw mummies,

anyone here using washable breastpads? i am using avent one. realise that disposable breastpads is better coz it can lock the moisture away. the washable ones, will b damp when leaking happens. anyone hav better experience with washable breastpads and which brand to use??

Split

haha.. i hav same feelings as you. wish can b sahm and take care of kids.. but i dont think i can as i dont hav patience. my hb said, if i stay at home, sure my #1 kana scold and spank everyday.. anyway the feeling with nb is really special and is diff from toddler in T2.

how i wish we can earn income by staying at home hahha.. dreaming dreaming..

@apple: will be going to the pd tmr for her jaundice review, so will shun bian ask ba. last nite another nitemare.. wake up every hr just to drink 30-40ml. -.-""

bubble

haha.. u pump till sleep, i feed till sleep and the bottle teat also off frm bb's mouth.. so tiring

just realise that last night when all of us are sleeping, my bb vomit milk too, coz it wetted her blanket!! but this morning looks ok le..

Split: my Bb also have a few 'pimples' around the face.. I thought it's heat resh. How to differentiate heat rash and milk rash?

Apple/sunflower: my #1 was a merlion and brought to doc.. Was projectile vomiting too.. PD says colic.. But to rule everything out, better to seek advice.

Viman: cOngrats!! Be home soon and bond with Bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bunnymum: sounds really pain. Is this ur #1? Is it a result due to ur pushing? My piles have subsided, hope urs recover soon..

Angie.

Your wound must hv hurt badly with piles! I itially I tot mine was piles too coz I felt sthg bulging out. Turns out to be the swollen flesh that got torn n sewn back. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](

Oh the shower gel so so only. Hw abt the shampoo?

BubblePearl: saw the picture le.. It's huge! Looks painful. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bunnymun: the more I see ur post, I feel ur pain!! Wad flesh fallen out? Oh dear! Pregnancy's really not a pleasing process for many.. We deal with the emo wreak, pain and sore.. Worried about delivery and when Bb is out, concern about breastfeeding and our own body recovery.. Sigh.. I wonder how u survive all my 3.. Zzzz

Re maid again! I'm so so sick of my maid..sigh today I caught her mop floor with detergent & that's it! Never rinse..no wonder I keep feeling the floor is sticky..ask her she mops, she said YES!! Now I know y..I feel like throwing mop on her just now. I asked her how many months she been doing that? She told me many months..faintz

My hb already cannot stand her, we might comb around all agencies to get trf maid instead of selecting fr biodata. Face to face interview might be better option for us and we can see the attitude & gesture thru body language. Also, we don't want to wait 2 months of processing time!!

apple

oh dear, that is terrible.. better b careful with the food as well, scare she didnt handle properly.. is she the one preparing ur food?

Bunnymum

really pity you.. go thru so many things.. b strong ok, i believe the wound will recover very soon.. is this ur first bb?

wow apple,

ur maid really cant keep liao! still dare to openly ans u back its many mths.... !!!

RE: elder children jealousy

my no1 oso quite jealous on meimei....see meimei drink milk he oso wan when he is full.....see us carry meimei say don like meimei....we gt to b veri consious of wat we do to meimei in front of him. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@bunnymum: my wound was also similar to yours. Gynae said it was infection wor..he gave me some liquid to keep washing tat area. After which he took out the stitches (after 2wks) as he said the stitch might interfere with the closing of wound. Was pain when he took out, but now much better le, and i can sit down officially [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] previously i put weight on one side of my butt when sitting down so tat the wound wun touch the chair - but its super xin ku to maintain tat kind of position.

bunnymum, stay strong..i alway tot natural birth are easier since many people told me after that day of giving birth no more pain and i drag myselfing from going thru c-sect which usually the pain last for 1 week..hope ur pain will be over soon..

jane i use washable breastpad b4 during my no1 and 2 but find it useless cuz is get wet easily that time as my suply was alot..this time i not much milk maybe might be using washable one cuz more coverable..i wish i can be sahm i told hubby if i can strike toto i wanna stay home..but i hardly buy toto so only can dream on lol

gd afternoon mummies!!! just started my pump session...

jane: me too!!! really tired and no energy... me oso cannot latch on... bb cry the moment i push his head to my breast... dun even wanna suck... same wif my #1... if not keep shaking his head n pull my nipple... so painful... bf until got 2 bleeding nipple n pd ask me to stop 1st cos scare bb drink the blood n vomit... in the end just pump onli...

xuanmin: oh dear... better take care of urself n ur kids... anyone ard to help u??

bunnymum: ur wound sound really bad... take care n rest more!!! i bought the shampoo n shower gel from BP... the shampoo is good... the shower gel quite cooling...

viman: congratz!!! one step nearer to bring ur bb home!!!

kaykay: should be ok ba... bb grow faster when they r sleeping...

apple: better faster change the maid... really cannot keep her liao...

ahhgg.so frustrating m locia like rest 2 day come 1 day den rest again..when put pad den nothing on it so wasteful put panty linder den nearly wet my pants when im outside..2 days so clean den suddenly come again for 1 day den no more..dne come again after 2 days..

Jane - my maid now is like human washing machine! I don't even let her touch bb..just purely cleaning the house & wash.

I cater confinement meal..so she doesn't have to cook for me, only sometimes steam fish for extra dishes.

Sh & yaer, my hb couldn't take it anymore..he rather go comb around agencies to get trf maid rather than wait for new maid application which takes 2 months. He doesn't want to see her face anymore. Last nite he very pissed..he was having dinner, I was inside room latching, my boy merlion, so I scream for help he came in, and my maid just assume he finished his dinner and throw away all his food!! wah kaoz..he damn angry.