(2011/05) May 2011

@nic: we usu give her abt 60ml. but after finishing, she still cries. we monitor her cries for awhile b4 preparing another 30ml. she will den take another 5ml n push de bottle away. after 30mins-1hr, she will cry for milk again. :X

mornin everyone, how is everyone today!

today is my last day at work, starting leave from tomrorow onwards, anyway bb coming this weekend, so i think only have about 4 more day rest and prep. provided they dun call me from work!

Kay bb have a natural instinct to suckle and he may not be hunrgy.. which is why some ppl resorted to using pacifier. I dun use pacy for my #1 and will not be using for #2.

And also he may be cluster feeding, bad habit, i think u should start to train him, if its every hr, let him cry a bit and see if u can drag feeding to 1.5 to 2 hrs instead. cannot be that he is so hungry and need full feed every hr.

sunflower, may sure she dun over sleep in the day, common for bb to confuse day and night now, so in the morning wake her up every 3 hrs for feeding.

Val i keep eating like mad, weekend went sizzler for steak and yesterday at crystal jade, stuff myself crazy with the dim sum.. and also my cake from giver rauch.. hahaha.. hb say he is amaze at how much i am eating now. now what i need is coconut lah.! dunno where to find! tonight need to go celebrate my nephew's bday at chillies.. haha will stuffmyself with mexican food!!

elbrac, congrats. enojoy motherhood and your new bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning mummies~ thanks for all the support! Cried and talked abt it w my hubby and boss~ feel calmer already. Sudden outburst and Kylie felt it refusing to latch. Lucky my hubby was home, he wasnt that shocked coz my gynae told him to look out for signals..

Confinement: I haven't washed my hair yet * fingers crossed* everyday wipe my body day and night so feeling ok still. Will wait till Friday to shower w the ginger water before gg for my review. That will be day 10 into confinement! Wee~

Pump: hubby bought swing for me to pump. Not bad with the letdown function. Very mobile too. Works well for me~

2ww: my nipples are short too~ using the nipple Shield. If u have enough milk u can try using that to latch on. a lil more tough but practice makes perfect ..

So far I've caught kylie's pattern *a little* she can sleep for 4 hrs if I fully feed her. Her intake is abt 90ml for a full feed spilt up into 1 hr+. To gauge if BB is full just look for signs like if they are wide awake after single feed. Tap the side of their cheeks if the mouth moves that direction hungry. And also if they keep moving their mouth.. They are hungry too... Good luck ladies~

Kay: u need to record the feeding timings and qty taken. Eg last feeding at 1230.. Her next feeding will be 330-430 dont drag past 4 hrs if not BB will be agitated and cry. If sleeping just wake her gently by rubbing her arm/leg...in btw u can pump also..

Bunnymum: do squeeze a lil Bm out to coat the nipple to aid faster recovery w the use of the nipple shieldr... Mine was angry red on the 5th day too...

Morning mummies...

Sleep thru the night:

Any mummies training or intending to train their Bb to sleep longer hrs? I wanna know how to 'train' as well...

Supply:

I need to increase supply. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I hope I can freeze up more.. Dunno should I take fernugreek or more milk plus.. I realized, my milk supply at night can't satisfy her. Especially 9-12pm.. No matter how long I latch, she still wail and ask for more...

Should I or should I not???

Hello! I'm going to get to wash my hair again today! WHee!!! Have been dealing with itchy hair since last wed...

Congrats to all the mummies who popped! Bunnymum is seriously tok gong.... 4kg bb! =)

kaykay & starfruit: Actually, my bb also cluster feeds. I went online to search and it seems that it's normal for them to do so especially in the initial weeks. There was also an article that noted that newborns dun suck for comfort. They suck coz they wanna drink milk. So it's not recommended to gve pacifier to bb less than 1 month old because they might not feed enough. Last night, my girl slept all the way from 10.30pm to 3.30am coz she cluster fed from 7pm onwards. She seems to be ok so i'm not too concerned. Can sleep, i super happy lor... Hahahaha... Kaykay, you may wanna go and search on this topic and decide how you wanna deal with it. =)

Cloud, drink 1) fish head/papaya soup, it doubles ss for the day for me so u try see, or more soups. 2) after bb latch both sides, try to pump out the excess within 10-15mins, it let's the brain know bb needs more in that same feeding session. 3) When pumping, leave it on for extra 1-2min (even if no more milk coming out even u squeeze ur boobs). This 'empty' pumping w signal the brain also. As for sop training, I never

succeeded in sleep training coz I couldn't bear bb's crying to leave him in the cot.

Umbilical cord: bb's dropped off few days ago. There's stll yellow discharge everyday. Just to share that this is normal, just wipe away.

Hannah: thanks for sharing!! Meaning, got to than a few more weeks or month before 'training'..

Starfruit: I drink 2 bowls of soup daily.. Is it efficient? I hope I can yield more than 150ml per pump leh.. :x what kind of fish head soup?

I'm a feb mom trying to sell away my brestfriend (used less than 10times), extra brestfriend cover (brand new but washed once). I'm throwing in a swaddle me for 3-7pounds (used less than 5times). Selling it as a bundle for $80. Retail price for everything is $150. Interested pls sms me at 91500561. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5468214.jpg]

Cloud, i think should be ok, add more fluids throughout the day. By end of our confinement month, we should try to hit 750ml-1litre a day. This ensure sucess & smooth sailing from 1-6 months. Heres the info: http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/maintainsupply-pump.html

My bb gal cluster feeds at 3am, 5am, 7am. Other times shes on normal 3 hourly.

Kay, u have to jot down baby drink what time n how much (if u pump out n u know). Then u know what is his drinking patterns, whether any clusters, etc. I w also note which boob i gave from, left boob or right. If she emptied the left boob & gone to sleep, i w pump. 3 hours later when she wakes, i w give her the right side.

Be careful not to let him latch on to one side, try to balance w the left boob. One of my friends did this & one side B cup one side C cup size after a long time.

Anyone knows if excess frozen EBM can be donated somewhere? I'm expressing much more than my baby drinks and even though I bought a separate deep freezer, it's running out of space. I don't want to reduce/stop expressing as supply may drop.

Cloudpoem,

My baby was born at 32 weeks in mid-march and I started expressing right away. (My lactation consultant was very aggressive and said that if I don't express 3-hourly, I may not have enough for when baby needs more.) I get about 850 ml a day but she only drinks about 400 at the moment. She just reached 40 weeks gestational age so she will start drinking more now but I think what she drinks from me will be more than enough. So I will still have over a month's worth of frozen milk in the freezer.

I duno abt other BB but Kylie demands more milk at night than day time too~ she does sleep longer too~ I only wake up to pump 1-2 times and latch her on plus bottle feed ebm..total abt 90-100ml. Daytime her feed is abt 60-90ml..any mummies experience this?

oh talk about breastfren, i also wanna sell off mine.

Its one in very good condition, selling off cos have an extra. $30 (self pick up at my place, let me post pic) PM me if keen, if no takers, i will post in WTS.

Let me take a pic and post up here as well.

CLoud, our milk supply go lowest during the evening part. have u been drinking soups. Take more oat products, oat meal, oat biscuit, they help to increase SS. and the papaya fish soup helps too and drink lots of fluid. If u latch, ss should come up within a day or two. the frequent latching should signal your brian to produce more. If u really want, i would suggest u try More Milk Plus cos MMP contains fenegeek and other herbs.. i more KS, wanna take moer than just fenuegeek..hehehe. i took last time and i am not sure if its physcological but i tot my ss did increase. anyway i only consume one bottle.

Hannah, so scary the way they cluster feed leh.. i hope i dun run into the problem when its my turn!

I have been experiencing pain on my breasts seems like engorged but i hav been pumping 3-4 hrs regularly why still like tat? Anyone experienced this? Have been for a few days.

Starfruit: wad kind of oatmeal? Those stir with hot water? Yikes~ ph dear.. I don't fancy oats. But love subway oatmeal cookie... bleah~~

Viman: aww, u are one diligent pumper!! I'm tempted to take the milk from u!! Haaaha!

Bbpooh: yes! I do have this engirge feeling as well... Pain on the upper breast. But upon pump, not fantastic amount leh.. Massage also don't feel any lump..

My unit above my home doing renovation!! Damn sian. Can't sleep.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Viman:- hey long time didn't heard from u.. Glad that ur bb is full term age alrd... Hope u r doing fine!

Starflower:- ya loh, now my breast lyk one big one small lykdAt.. Cos I resting my bleeding side more & latch A on my left instead (more often). Try pump right side (bleed & healing side) but of cod it can't catch up wif my left breast supply as I direct latch left instead.. (Bb is the best pump!)

My right side is healing fast wif the cream u ladies recommended! But dunno hw to balance my right breast back LoL ~_~!

starfruit: I guess it wasn't so bad since i realised that it was something pretty normal since bb was also trying to get used to feeding. Remembering that they have small tummies that can't hold much at one go also helped. =) Don't worry... You'll get through it when it comes. =)

bbpoohfamily: When did you give birth? I remember having the engorged feeling when my milk came in at day 4-5 after birth. You got massage before pumping? Can pay extra attention to the parts where it feels lumpy. What you can also do is while you are pumping, use your thumb to press down and massage the lumpy parts so as to try to clear out the milk.

Kaykay: Just put bb back to breast once you feel up to letting him latch on. It will balance out eventually...

Cloud, yes oatmeal, the quakers one.. actually oats in general can help to incarese SS> no choice lah.. since need to boost supple, just eat. maybe u can have more subway oatmeal cookies.. heheheh

bbpoohfamily, do u have block duct somewhere, can massage breast and see where the pain is. It may be a block duct causing the pain. sometimes the block duct not easy to detect, need to massage really heard and press really hard. try and find out the cuase of the pain, if not, can lead to fever and masities.

Hannah, i guess i will just have to manage when my turn come.. will come to u all for cluster feeding advise later.. hahah. so dreading it man!

Cloudpoem,

LOL! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kaykay,

Ya long time! Lots of drama happened in between. As you know, I was in hospital, stayed there a month, had emergency c-section at 32 weeks. Baby was in ICU for 1.5 months, she's still in hospital, but doing okay. Hope you're doing well! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunnymum, you can ask your hubby to buy a float when u go home tomorrow, it helps, my stiches also same as u, very long until backside, i was in terrible pain for the first 2 weeks

Viman, so glad to u see "reporting" back to this thread! Well, am sure your bb is gonna be find and go home with you soon. Btw, u can actually donate your EBM to those premmies in the nursery or NICU. Am sure those moms who doesn't able to bf will be very happy to take your EBM & feed their premmies.

U have good supply!! Keep up your good work..hehe

Apple,

Nice to hear from you! Hope you are doing fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We checked with the hospital about donating the milk to other babies in the NICU and they said they don't really have a programme at the moment. One of the docs said she is working to have some kind of a breast milk bank in Singapore. That would be so great!

Hi mommies, i'm new here.

Just delivered my bb on 9th May, been searching around for information about G6PD deficiency.

Hoping to meet more May mummies here!

hi mummies, long time didnt login liao ...

congratz to mummies who had delivered ....

envy mummies who can pump out the milk ... my gal hv big cc, can empty the breasts ... so no much to pump out ...

make me also worry tat my milk not enough ... lucki she can sleep n drink well ... no much cry thru'out the day .. jus when she wakes up then she cry a few soft cries... so i jus let her b ...

is it necessary to pump the milk out?

viman, great tat bb is doing well now... soon she can go home wz u ... u must stay strong ...

viman, actually with such good supply, u dun even have to store/freezze, just pump enuff for baby and keep refrigerated can already. i hate the smell of frozen ebm so i think i will not store this round, just pump enuff to feed. anyway even if i store, may only start after 2nd months.

Cloud, i dun have special recipe, heheh if u can take it, buy a tin of quaker oats and eat every morning, u can add fruits etc. i remember i was eating a bowl every day when i was bfing my #1. if u cant stomach eat, buy oatmeal cookies, oatmeal bread and eat. it will help.

welcome mummyzen. what exactly is G6PD deficiency? your bb has this deficieny?

dolly, from what i remember, u need to get fish bone and fry with ginger first, then get the green papayas and add water and cook. perhaps the other mummies can share the full recipe.

G6PD is measured by the nurses once at birth and 5 mins after birth.. If I'm not wrong, they check Bb colour, replaces and other stuffs.. It's recorded in the health booklet..

Ling: lucky u! Seems like ur baby is a settled one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly: let me ask my mil.. From what I see.. She put fish bone (threadfin), ginger, green papaya and boil.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starfruit: I think jus eat easy ba. I dun have time to cook too~ my mil usually cook a meal (heavy) one even it's breakfast.. I'm envious of those mummies who lost weight..

Mummies, can i check, I have been having mild tummy ache since yesterday (no extreme pain just tummy ache like wanting to go toilet).. dunno if its the onset of contraction leh? any idea.. i also confused now.

Cloud, u get your hb to get the oatmeal and get MIL to prepare, tell her its to increase yoru BM, i am sure she will help. and i really think it helps. ..no harm trying.

Dolly, i googled and got this off baby centre

This is taken from babycenter.

Fish and Papaya Soup

Ingredients

• 500 grams of fish bones (preferable to use threadfin - kurau - fish bones)

• 500 grams of green papaya (the flesh of the fruit is white)

• Three litres of water

• Four slices of ginger (this will help cut down any fishy taste or smell)

• Six pips (cloves) of garlic

• Three stalks of spring onion

• Salt to taste

Directions

• Boil the water, then add in the ginger, garlic and spring onion.

• Cut the papaya into small slices. Discard seeds.

• Pour boiling water over the green papaya to remove sap, then drain.

• Combine the fish bones into the boiling pot, followed by the green papaya.

• Turn down the fire, leave to boil for about half an hour to reduce. This should yield about three rice bowls of soup.

I think need to wash the bones with salt and my mum will fry the bones first with ginger to get rid of the smell. u go try.

Another recipe i got off the net.

http://www.thechinesesouplady.com/papaya-fish-soup/

What Ingredients are required?

- 4 medium-sized golden threadfin bream (or any other appropriate substitute)

- 1 large papaya (use green papaya if used for increasing milk in breastfeeding)

- 5-6 pieces of dried scallop

- 3 large dried dates

- 2 slices of fresh ginger

- 2 L of water

- 1 teaspoon of salt (to marinate the fish)

- 1 teaspoon of oil (to fry the fish)

How do I prepare it?

After the fish is cleaned, wipe the fish with paper towels or a cloth to remove excess water

Cover the fish with a small amount of salt (inside and out)

Let it sit for an hour and then drain any water

Peel and cut the papaya into large edible cubes

Start boiling your soup water

In a pan, add oil and fry the ginger with the fish on low-medium heat (until the fish is completely cooked and the skin is a slightly browned)

Put the fish into a soup bag and add to water

Add papaya and ginger

Boil for at least an hour

I tried bottle feed room temp ebm to my boy..guess what! halfway thru, he gave me weird look..upon taking 60ml, he vomitted out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sob sob

I hope I am not intruding here, I just delivered on 30/4 at 39 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Fish Papaya Soup

My mil makes this soup for me to drink since the day I gave birth and I think it works! I drank Milkmaid tea from one of the BP and I felt my supply increasing too, and the taste of the tea is qte nice and calming, not too bad and not expensive too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple: Maybe the next time you feed, try to prop him up more and maybe burping him more frequently during feedings might help. Some babies are very gassy (like mine) so they tend to spit up more.

Cloud, similar, I oso pain on upper breast. Jus now I bath, I tired to massage more and push some of the milk out and pump after bath, seems to help a bit, u can try.

Hannah, I give birth about 15days aly. Prob as Starfruit mention, there my be blocked duct. Will try to massage and push while pumping to see if can clear it. Thanks!

nic, nice to meet you too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

When is your next apptmt with Dr Chua?

Starfruit, so you confirm induce this Sun?

I'm praying hard bb stay till Dr Chua is back! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit - my mistake! I gave him room temp instead of body temp ebm..that's y he gave me weird look and vomit out..sigh

sylvia - I burp him halfway when he took around 30ml..but I guess it is the temp that make him puke.

Congrats elbarc! Enjoy your nb! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman, wow! Your supply is really good! So envious! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apply, your boy don't like room temp milk? heehee... and he is so cute! Still give you a weird look!

Apple: so as to say, must warm up? But split says nurses at hosp take fridge temp and feed... But I don't dare try leh.. Later tummy upset~ is yr supply still good?

Starfruit,

Sounds tempting, but I'm scared what if supply drops later if I don't pump often?

Arisz,

It's good now but only I know how painful it was to get to this stage... Hehehe... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I started off with getting only a few ml at first but didn't give up and kept pumping every 3 hours. It was very painful, especially getting up twice at night to 'torture' the breasts with the pump. But it was worth it. Slowly supply went up and the pain went down... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ling,

Thanks for your wishes. Am in KK SCN right now, sitting next to my sleeping baby and typing away, hehehe. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope she gets stronger soon and comes home.