(2011/05) May 2011

V, my confinement not over..just merely 12 days. I can't stand the sweat & stinko hair, so went out to hv a wash & blow.

Starfruit, when I first washed my hair at home, by the time I blow dry my hair, my whole body sweat flowing down like rain shower..so hb asked me go salon better. At least they blow till very dry & I won't perspire too!

Well, after I stepped out, his nightmare starts..my lil bud doesn't want to zz, even he carried him also can't pacified him :p

Newtoitall, post-natal hormones are terrible. I think the way old folks discipline the kids r diff fr us..n u got frustration over it coz u r still doing confinement. "kan kai dian" u both will feel better.

These 2 days I also can't be bothered to scold my brainless maid..since hb at home he see liow also pek chek, so he open his mouth instead haha

Apple i also sticking to 12 or 14 days of not washong hair only. Hehe how many bottles of dry shampoo u used up during this period? I think i will go salon too n have a wash after tat.. Hehe so dread the start of my confinement man!

Hi gals I finally delivered my boy tdy-4kg!! Was on 4 epidurals n stitches all the way to backside now

Chk w u gals, when u 1st go toilet, do U feel like u can't feel your bladder? I can't tell if I urine or nt cos the min I sit on the toilet bowl, I feel alot thgs dripping without me controlling or knowing. All red blood. I dun feel know fr the womb or my cuts n stitches? Do u gals experience this?

@bunnymum: congrats on ya new bundle of joy =)

did you had a tear? for me, there was a tube connected so all urine flow will be in the tube and theres no feeling de. after 2nd day then can urine as per normal but i feel the swell feeling.

Bunnymum:- wow gratez! Heavy baby u have! Wah 4epi!! o_O!

I think its norm.. First time pee can't control.. Numb & uncontrollable..

Bunnymum: congrats to u.. Ur baby is big aso.. Hehe

today is my 6th day after delivery n I already can't stand my oily n stinky hair.. Had shower n washed hair.. Feel so much better nw thou still sweat sweat thru out.. Really hope confinement can finish soon.. 2molo my 1st day of massage, really worried sure pain due to wind n water retention.. N down at e episotomy still painful.. 2molo gona call up my gynae to check

wow, the thread really runs very fast. I have been trying to read every post and congrats to all mommies who have given birth to their lil ones! For those who have not, enjoy the time now coz once you given birth,you wont be able to catch enough rest esp at night when BB needs to wake up to drink milk...

I have finally finished my 3rd weeks of confinement. My MIL is doing confinement for me and i have been eating only fish and pig's kidney for the past 21 days! OMG.. really dread having meals.. just wondering what have you all been having for confinement food?

As for BF, I have been expressing out my milk ever since my bb has been diagnosed with jaundice. Think my bb has not enough milk when i bf her coz my nipples are short. In the end, I decided to express out my milk.

I read from the posts that have to pump every 3 hours but if I pump every 3 hours, it is really very demoralising. For every 3 hours, I only get 50-60ml from both breasts. But if i sleep throughout the night and pump only 6-7 hours later, I will get 110-130ml. Really envy those mummies who can pump out so much milk each time!!!

Starfruit n apple,

thks for the kind words. Better now but things slightly sore as usual after a quarrel. Yah.. Own mother we usually not do ren as opposed to MIL - v bad. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

woah apple, pei fu ur bo chap skills but true scream n shout n get angry e maid who is leaving already also no use. Might as well conserve the energy for our kids.

- happy positive thoughts to all -

Sunflower: so far suction quite good except for the size n it's a bit noisy.. I thinking to get freestyle now... Keke

2ww: I also taking confinement, my mum is cooking for me. What u mention is what she cook during my #1. now she cook more modern food like chicken cutlet or chop , spaghetti , etc.. At least not so boring

Apple, u do ur own confinement? Feels gd to get salon wash. They will also scrub and massage the shoulder. Maybe i could plan one while going back for post delivery review. Haha.

Starfruit, i don't even feel my cervix dilated since last Wed. Still got a bit of show but no contraction. Sat I felt lower body very stiff and painful to walk. Today was fine. I did alot of hip rotating exercises to help ease the stiffness. Wanted to wait but not sure if it's good to hold back so long so listen to gynae lor.

Bunnymummy, congrats! Wow 4 epi! How long was your labor? And your bb is big !

Sunflower,

I have episotomy instead. Baby is big so gynae has to cut right till the backside area so now I sit can feel the pain.

By the way, do u experience go toilet n all red stuff out only or Just urine?

I feel giddy gg toilet with nurse help too. Hard to walk. How to go home next 2 days later..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

How often do u all change the pad in the hosp too? First time mum. I didn't change at all since give birth at 12pm! Cannot move till 9pm.

Now stomach crampy

@bunnymum: i see. Mine was a tear n i had tough time sitting dwn too..hurts ttm. Going for 2nd review tmr, hopefully wound is btr le. For me its urine + blood. De nurse did mention might have giddiness but i felt ok.. jus de pain when walking n feels a bit swollen for first few days.

Congrats bunnymum, hope u r feeling better! What u describe is normal, the muscles w recover slowly so jus relax as much as possible first ok.

Jane, I'm using MIM sling now & Beco Butterfly later when her neck is steady.

Jiayou everybody! Breast-feeding is tough. It's misunderstandings w family members, Loss of sleep, nipple pains, latching problems, engorgement fevers & much more, but we are mummies now, we don't give up. We do it out of love, that's why they term breastmilk as 'white blood'. Hormones, fatigue or emo outbursts aside, we will overcome ok, besides ranting here a great outlet!

Bunny mum should change ur pad every 4 hrs if u cant move get the nurse to help u. There should be quite a lot of bleeding so keep tat area clean. If u can rinse with warm water when u change ur pad. N if u r still not feeling well can opt to stay one more night. Just let doc n hospital know.

Bunnymum, congrats! Rest well..don't force yourself to walk around. Get nurses to help u when u want to move about.

Littlefly, yes..am doing confinement myself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] with help fr my hb & aunt weekends will cook for me. Other days I cater my meals. So far so good..

Newtoitall, no pt I pick on her & get myself angry. I just get her to do all the washing..other things I do it myself, especially handling bb.

Lilfly:- thks!! I hanging on bf ! Latching my A @ 7.30pm, 8.30pm, 9.30pm , 10.30pm , 11.30pm till now.. He wake up every hour for fed now...

Perhaps really growth spurt!

I still surviving...haha..

Kay sometimes its not hunger, they may just want comfort n it could also be comfort sucking. U wanna check n see if its other causes for his cry instead of just latching him when he cries every hr. Check his diaper n see if he has other discomfort instead of just latching straight!

2ww,

i was also having the same prob initially with my bb not havin enough milk & losing wt aft e 1st wk & jaundiced. was also having prob with bf-ing cos of my short nipples. (have to struggle with her like 1/2 hr to get her latched on...by then i want to cry already...anyw the nipple protector helped loads..u might want to get it)

drink lots of warm water & latch baby..it encourages milk supply

sigh...breastfeeding is painful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i wish i can express all the way but with an active 3yr old and the prospects of me handling 2 alone, i have to do better with latching bb on.

this time round i broke some confinement rules le...washed my hair on the 5th day (too itchy!), but with the herbal water. I have been eating food like Aunt Annies, cookies, my fav ham & cheese bread, durian puff (goodwood park one..how can i resist!)...and the usual confinement food. mmm...

anyway, i was battling with my overtired baby...i'm overtired now...she was awake since 830pm, with some super short sleeps in my arms.

Starfruit:- but he kip gif out the mouth suckle signal that he's hungry everytime... How? & he did poo & go bk to lala land once he's full...

Kay

Wat I did with my bb to let her stick to the 3hr schedule is make sure she at least finish the usual amount.if she didn't she will wan milk in one or two he time.n also try to give her milk at 3 hrly.I will let her cry for a while.

@jane: how to make sure she finish the milk? my gal got mood one.. she dont dun means dun wan.. will use her tongue to push out, mouth close tight tight or else use her hands and push de bottle away...

Bubble,

wow, so envy, can have so many variety of food. My MIL has been doing confinement for all my other 3 SIL n they r eating the same food as me so i really cant complain.. So sian.. Just need to endure for 1 more week n im finally over this dread period. I keep complaining to my hb that confinement period is worse than my 9 months of pregnancy. Haha..

Skye,

i tried latching her on but she will suckle for 2 times n cry loudly cos she couldnt get much out of it. I gave up n give her ebm instead via bottle n she will drink with a satisfied look :p

i got no choice but to keep drownong myself with tons of water. Think it really helps to drink water while im pumping too.

by the way, what is the nipple protector for?

Kay,

wow, latching your bb on so frequently will definately tire u out.. Like what starfruit says, maybe your bb just want u to carry or she is just sucking for comfort. At this rate, it will be diffificult when yr maternity leave runs out n you need to go back to work. Since u express out your bm too, u might want to spoon fed or cup feed her so that u know how much she is drinking?

2ww, my own mum mah, so can nego abit lah, she even let me eat har mee hiam... Cos she cook for dinner n she saw me drooling..a bit only lah..of cos she saw I guai guai drink finish all the herb n tonic soups that she cook..even my fried egg she also use sesame oil to fry, yuck!

Itchy breast, any one having it after pumping session?

Angie,

I pump for abt 20-30mins till my breasts are soft. halfway thro pumping I have letdown then just cont to pump Lo.

Haha! Ur gynae so funi asked if u r preg. U so fast gone for ur post natal visit Liao. Mine is 6weeks aft delivery!!

I didn't engage CL. My mum n hb helping me out. My mum does the laundry for my kids as all the clothes are handwashed. So the adults clothes I just dump into wm and hang only. Nt tat tough la =)

Apple,

Hahaa. Looks like u had a great time at the salon =)

V,

*hugs* hang on! It's nv easy initially but once u get the hang of it, things will be better. Whichever way wks better for u =)

Starfruit,

Meanwhile, feast n enjoy all u wan before u pop =p

Bunnymum,

Congras on ur 4kg healthy baby! Super envy ok! Keke. Take extra care of ur stitches. I know hw it feels coz previously for my #1 also cut all the way to the back. Took me quite sometimes to recover. Rem nt to drag ur butt when try to get dwn frm bed or get up to the bed. Speedy recovery to u =>

1st pee aft delivery I can't seem to control the bladder. Urine, blood all came out. Even nw, I am still having lochia...fresh blood n tissue cells...

Normally 6hrs aft delivery u are nt suppose to come dwn n walk as u may feel giddy n fall dwn. Unless ur delivery is long or coz of big baby, u may need to stay in bed longer. 1st delivery I was giddy and need help to move ard on the first day but this time rd, I came dwn to walk within 5hrs and kena nagged by nurse =p dun worry, u sld be better tml, just try to rest more =)

Re: bathing

Hmm....2nd day aft delivery I already bathed early in the morning in hospital...came hm I bathe as per normal with water frm heater le...no herbs no nthing...=p    

Re: stitches

Think I was too "active" being on my 2 feet or butt tat I feel 1 of the stitches at the back is abit swollen n sore...I got to be kuai and stay in bed more often n longer...

Sunflower,

Does she fuss? If nt just let her be. Coz sometimes my gal dun slp as well. So long she dun cry, I let her be. 

Sunflower,

have you checked the diaper? N isit the feeding time

? If my girl crys in the middle of nite, i will try to do the above checks. N just pat her to sleep. Unless she cries very loud, then i will carry her in my arm n try to coax her to sleep.

I understand hw you feel coz that is what my girl has been doing for the past 2 hrs. Waking up every 1 hr n now is her milk time, she is sleeping like a log. Haha now its my turn to disturb her n wake her up.

Jane:- how u go abt setting up a 3hr routine for ur bb to follow? Can teach me? I'll go try for my boy.. Prob is.. My dad they all don't allow me to just let A whine when he's hungry.. They say he will eat a lot air, v noisy in the night la, & all sort things..

Starfruit:- yup ! I will do a routine check for that.. Just lyk what u all taught.. Try all ways to sooth him & eliminate factors..

Thank you mummies for all ur advice. Will take heed. The stitch to the backside really wonder. Duno how I can handle gg Hm tmr n sitting in car. Gosh!

I'm starting to have bleeding nipples n blisters like Thingy on them too. Got to start getting nipple shield fr avent tmr I think.

My mil came yest n played us out, not wanting to tk care of our child. Does anyone know of gd infant care near parkway ?

2ww,

the nipple protector helps my bb to latch else she somehow can't 'catch' my nipple, if she does she'll also suckle 2-3 times and then pull away. I do hold her head towards me till she gets a good suckle cos she'll always struggle and inevitably push me away.

re:stitches

thankfully i had only a minor tear with only 1 stitch (small baby). though my friend did mention tt as soon as u can take the pain killers.

bunnymum, it'll be a mess everytime u go toilet for the initial days at the toilet and that's quite normal, the nurse did say to rinse with water. did they give u an anisthetic meds to dab aft u go toilet?

morn all... i cant get to sleep after feeding my baby. had gave birth on 15 May.

It was a super long wait. Induce @ the clinic @ around 9am on SAT. Went around have lunch and shop till 1 plus.

After that we waited till 0730hrs the next day. So sadz when i see people coming in later than me gave birth 1st.

Guess i took 3 epidural.Opt for it right from the start. Not too sure if its a right choice. I dont feel any contraction or pain. Just felt numb all the way. Cant even push.Gynae need to use forcep to assist even when the baby is only 2.5kg. He did some stiches but i forgot to ask him if there is any tea.

bunnymum, am 1st time mum too. I get what you mean when u mention cannot control yr bladder. I felt the same way too... i did take pain killer yesterday and its a bit diffcult to walk...

Congrats elbarc! Mine still pain near backside area while lying down. I hope they recover soon. Wish u speedy recovery too.

Oh I took 4 epidurals too but their dosage nt high enuff, I cam still feel pain at the v area but nt stomach.

Skye

Yes they gave me an iodine cream to dab on but can't really reach the backside area. Prob that's why still hurts?

How to wash with water at home ah? I dun hv those toilet bowl side spray n my heater spray too far fr toilet bowl.

Good morning mummies....

Congratulations to all mummies who have delivered!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Arisz, nice to meet u at dr chua's clinic.

Mummies who delivered at TMC: I have a silly qn to ask. When I had my #1, I had to print out my bb's Chinese name for the birth certificate as I didnt want to hand write it.

Does TMC still require us to hand write the Chinese name? Or can they type it now? Anyone has any idea if they can type in traditional Chinese? Thanks

@val: she will cry.. prepare more milk le den she only drink 5ml. after 30 mins, she will cry for milk again. and again, 5ml.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]