(2011/05) May 2011

val, my gynae doesn't like overdue babies.... going to see him in the afternoon and doing CTG again for the 3rd time... see what he says

u very brave to go hosp on your own leh..

Jenny: u can try to ask yr gynae if it's really necessary forvu to do CTG.. My reasons for me to go Cux my BH was bad and I noticed decrease in movement for my Bb. Hence, I decieded to go for it..

Val: that's what I thought, may need to head alone this time.. I hope the taxi's hotline will be cleared! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

Kaykay: are u alright?

Re: blood in urine.. Scary leh!! Is it mucus plug? If no feeling, than monitor..

I had backache plus cramp last night, but monitor till go zzZz. Wake up liao, nothing happen.. Another day of monitoring for me... :D

i find sg gynae's not v pro natural. always scared overdue and need to induce.

some countries dun hv such things as overdue. will juz wait for babies to be ready to come out on their own.

my fren who gave birth in melbourne says she has to stand to deliver cos they say more natural for gravity pull.

Ash, some gynae are very pro natural lah.. but agree with u majority not that pro. But i am glad mine is quite pro.. i also want bb to come naturally.

Newtoitall: hmm, do VE than know how much we have progress? And know if ur cervix is ready? Jus to give gynae and us to know that when's the time? ESP #3. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If u don't intend, than maybe it's a guessing game!! But u should be 38+3 on Thursday, right?

Morning beautiful ladies

Aurora/newtoitall

my baby is behaving the same way, very active and attempts to kick his way out. are you guys expecting boys? only at 35 weeks can they stretch their hands till V area?

Poohlyn

Jia you. Keep us updated. Have smooth and fast delivery! just believe you can do it!

Val

i also crave for pancakes all the time. haha esp with loads of butter and maple syrup.

our plans with hb are awfully similar.and this is how we derive the plan. yesterday i tried calling him a few times but he didnt answer and then he tried calling back but i was in the train. so he panicked. haha or else we will not have that discussion.

cloud

sounds like a waiting game for ya~

Val, both of them came back last week.. initially wants to hire another nanny, but send her to full day cc will be a better solution... She'll adapt it just a matter of time.. She's too cranky, she has exhaust everyone... Anyway, it's temporary till next year.. We are moving her to church kinder when she turns 30mth...

Angie,

Poohlyn,

I did mine at tmc, it's $45+ get. I will deliver at tmc, had a chat wif my gynae yest, so ultimately wil go tmc, though I tot of trying mt a.

Jenny,

Ya, my gynae say hav to do every wk till deliver. Aiyo, at this stage, better take cab, we r aly so heavy, walk also veri slow. GEH, u can ask the cost, shdn't b too x, mine at tmc is $45+ gst

Yest nite, can't sleep well, keep waking up then veri diff to fall back to zzz....

Janice,

My gynae told mi if there is no fresh red blood, it is ok. But u better call ur gynae to check

LJ: yes, this waiting game quite hard to wait.. Sigh. My Bb already 3.3kg.. I already foresee hard time pushing!! Hope she arrives soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she's already heavier than both her jiejie. Heeee.

Keep telling myself, it'll come.... It'll come.

i'm new here. i will like to check some thing with you.

i'm at week 35 now. i have this tummy tightening since yesterday till now.. on and off mode sequence. Visited my gynae yesterday, and he gave me ventolin to relive the tummy tightness.

i wanted to ask those mummies who have taken this drug before... is it that the ventolin to totally relieve the tightness or there will still have some minimum tightness?

twinkle, i'm on this meds... due to tightening and comes with cramps and was put on CTG and noted tat there are regular mild contractions. Was put on this meds to quieten down the "uterus" as i was only 33 weeks and gynae dun want the bb to come out before full term. There are some side effects tat comes w this meds.. did yr gynae mention anything why u r put on this meds?

dolly, yr girl might be coming to T2 stages... my girl starts to have T2 stages when she was ard 18th mths and lasted till nearly 2 yrs old.. she might be figuring out wat she wants and wants to communicate and dun know how to go abt it... will need lots of attention/patience during this period.

auroa, my gynae gave me to relieve the tightness to avoid early deliver. last night i called him, if the ventolin will totally relieve the tightness. cos i took at 5pm and i still have some tightness ard 7pm... he asked me to go TMC for CTG. but my hubby and i are reluctant to go... so i stay in bed to rest. the nurse got tell me the side effects...

how long have you being taking this med? cos to play safe... i have being taking yesterday 5pm, 1am and 10am today... cos baby had been moving quite a lot since yesterday till now...

Sh - I think for natural birth, U can basically take anything after30-40days of confinement. For me due to c-sec, I gotta stretch longer to 60days to avoid wound infection.

Angie & poohlyn - all the best and hope both of u have smooth delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] getting excited, will be able to hold your bb real soon.

Janice - I got the mucus blood string last Sun too! The next day all gone and back to norm..hehe

Dolly - I do agreed going to fullday childcare will be more beneficial to her. At least she is learning & be more independent.

If she is at home, she will be attention seeker coz u guys focus more on didi. For my girl, she will be back to fullday childcare when didi in borned too, but we have prepared her for long time. She is OK for that..

twinkle_sp, i have been on the meds for nearly 3 weeks liao.. 3 times a day but hor, sometimes i forgot to take and cramps/tightening will comes at the same time and very painful lor... even taking this med, will still leads to tightening but slight discomfort.. w meds, it seems better and bearable too. My bb very active and hardly quiets down.. btw, my gynae told me to stop meds by end of this week as my bb now is 3.2kg and to let the contractions "beings".. so i guess ard 1st or 2nd week of may, i will be delivering bah... depends how fast the contractions/dilations will comes bah.

juz back from pd, she check my gal n say juandice rebounce! sigh! was ask to stop bf totally till she 1 mth old....she suspect my bm gt prob but i didnt even take ginger.....

now gt to see how is her results in the late aftnn....hope she don hv to b admitted again...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

for her well being, i think stop oso gd if nt every time see her prick foot for blood test oso heartache like i'm the cause....

her korkor tat time oso once stop bm then juandice improves....

mayb i fated nt able to do bf....

auroa/apple, exactly.. in fact her T2 has start much earlier... so rite now is even worst... she cry/throw temper for no reason.. maybe she still unable to express herself & seeking more attention from us...

I also told my family that i would rather want her to attend fullday childcare then @ home wasting her time & achieve nothing...

hopefully we will be able to see a much behave girl by jan next year...

Oh ya mummies,

Anyo e tried GNC fenugreek before? I heard from my colleagues that it'll boost breastmilk.. But worried about the side effects. Any mummies tried? And where can we buy fernugreek the spice itself?

twinkle the medicine reduce the cramp but will still have tightness..my gynae told me if got no spotting or water bag burst should be fine..the tightness is only practice contraction as he said

Sh, r u Hep B carrier yourself? I knew if mummy is carrier bb tends to get jaundice if tbf. Mean time u express & store your ebm to keep up your supply until she is well fr jaundice. Don't give up bf just bcoz of that 1 month..u can give her NAN HA fm, said it tastes close to ebm.

CloudPoem, I tried GNC fenugreek tablets before coz my supply suddenly dip while I fall sick n on antibiotic during confinement. I know some ppl go Tekka market get raw seeds but I din la coz tablets already got strong smell. Hehe

Dolly: my #2 is also in terrible 2 stage. She cries at every little things.. Making me Ans hubby very frustrated... She may not be able to fully apprehend...

Cloudpoem, i recommend MMP (More Milk Plus) over just fenugeek. MMP has fenugreek in it and other herbs. i feel its more effective.

SH, actually with regards to BM causing jaudice, there are two camp to this, some PD will advise u to stop while some will ask that u cont. I personally feel that it is not a good advise by doc to ask u to stop totally.

I have read up a lot during my #1's time and my own conclusion is that u need not stop. This is a temp condition and some advice i have extracted for you below. BUt then again i am not a doc or PD, so pls go with whichever way you feel comfortable for your and your baby.

U may also wish to call up your hospital's parentcraft centre and speak with the LC to seek further advise.

BM Jaundice:

If the bilirubin level is more than 20 mg/dL, different treatment options are available. The mother can stop nursing for 24 to 48 hours, which will cause the bilirubin level to rapidly drop. During that time she can express the milk or pump her breasts (to maintain her comfort and the flow of milk) while feeding the baby formula. In most cases, when nursing is restarted the bilirubin will not return to previous levels.

Prevention:

Breast milk jaundice cannot be prevented. When the condition occurs, it is very important to recognize the baby's yellow color as early as possible and have bilirubin levels checked right away to make sure that there are no other liver problems.

Breast feeding jaundice can be limited by making sure your baby is getting enough breast milk. Give your baby unlimited time at each breast, and feed approximately 10 to 12 times per day starting the first day of life. Get help from a lactation consultant or your doctor as soon as possible if you have any difficulty.

Twinkle & apple: thanks for the replies.. Wonder should I try if my supply dips.. Seems like it had different effect on diff people.. Maybe can ask my gynae for advice..

To increase BM:

To get more BM, pls drink lots of fluid. Oats help too. so eat oatmeal, oat cookies etc.

I drink plain water during confinement too.. cannot take it cos too thirsty from all the BFing and not forgetting soups. drink plenty of it.

Afternoon mummies!

Angie & poohlyn:- Way to go! Hope u both have a smooth & fast delivery!

Starfruit:- that's the prob! My grandma alrd dislike me staying during my pregnancy & hope I leave asap after my confinement. Alrd tried to bear wif her now le.. So have to find alternative ways.....

LJ:- I'm expecting a boy & he also always kik his way on my sides, jabs v painful.. Even now also.. Movement at V area v obvious felt.. Now gg 38weeks.. More sensitive cos sometimes he jab/kicks my V until I jumped!

tks starfruit for the trouble.....

but cos my no1 gt a shocking history of juandice tt time, this rd pd don dare to take it lightly.

tt time my boi juandice on day 4 was as high to 29 and max level was 30....was immed referred to a specialist whom even tell me by nite time tt day if juandice level no drop, my boi gt to chg blood for whole body! my world juz collasped tt time! luckily wif the intense photo therapy, he need nt do the blood exchg tat nite.....

n we do nt even hv to do reg etc during admission! striaght away we reach mt a, the reception tell us straight go to the nicu! paper work all do only after bb is checked.....its tat serious!

so to avoid the scare again, we r nt taking lightly as well. juz hope this gal will be ok.....its alright even if i gt to give up bf....

hi ladies, anyone popped? i been very sick the past few days.. so didnt really online..

how is everybody.. did a checkup at my gynae... and my gal is only 2.6kg at 37wks.. small little gal.. now is the waiting game.. dr woody say bb should arrive either this week or next.. cos my no 1 is early too.. still in office.. hope no drama.. keke...

Starfruit, i also drink plain water during confinment, the longan tea really make me more thirsty only.. but bo pian still have to drink... only buay tahan then drink some plain water..

anyway me not very guai one. i even sneaked to chill drink 100 plus when i went for my gynae review.. when to catch movie and eat ice cream when at the 4th week of confinement..

the only thing i very guai is didnt wash hair.. cos i super scare will have headache...

Wonder how is poohlyn and Angie now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so anxious for them!

Blurlemon: hope u're feeling better? Fever? Rest well.. Ur girl seems to be in the lighter scale? If gynae din raise concern, jus relax ba. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also not obedient. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I ask hubby sneak coke for me during confinement Cux I jus need the coke fix in me!! Haaaha.

Any mummies here are 38 weeks liao?

Besides Angie & poohlyn, I think another mummy already popped. I saw from FB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the bb very cute & chubby via c-sec.

starfruit - thanks for sharing the link..must remember there is this MMP if supply dip..hehe

not sure wanna buy a bottle to standby or not :p

ash r,

i hv colleague continue bf bb and bb was yellow even till 3 mths old.....don think i wanna take tat risk in case it affects bb internally.....

i do hear from many pple bf juandice can juz continue to give bm.

apple,

i'm nt a hep B carrier but PD mentioned something gt to do wif blood grp too...

she say i'm a B+ and bb follows daddy, is a A+, and A+ pple have antibodies of B+ donno wat....so some incompatibility here.....

but my boi oso B+ n his juandice oso tat bad, tat time lucky he recover if nt the specialist even till now hv no answer to y he was tat serious tat time.

cloudpoem,

tat time i crave for coke so bad when in fact before preggy, i don take coke at all! so strange, mover see the coke ad, wat killing man! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all. I"m not sure if I'm having labor contractions. Woke up several times in the morning and had diarrhea. Now after the diarrhea, I am having very painful tightening at my tummy for about 10 sec each time and its so painful. But I'm only 36w1d...

Sh, yar i agree.. dun take the risk lah.. FM is not that bad after all..

cloudpeom.. i got super bad cough.. even time cough till my tummy cramp and sometime will leak due to the coughing.. so sianz.. whent to buy the "poise" pad.. wondered. wad is the difference btw that and normal pad.. hmmm..

heaven,

keep us updated aft ur visit to him this aftnn =)

i observed gynaes nowadays like to schedule induce coz they can plan their time better. so i actually told my gynae as much as possible i dun wan to be induced unless there is any danger to baby or myself.

no choice le, have to be independent in my hb course of work...he was actually away frm 35-38weeks during my #1's time and i was prepared to go into labour on my own if my boy wana arrive earlier before hb is back. lucky my boy can wait. kekeke.

cloudpoem,

ya! hope its nt during peak hr. but then, i was thinking if the uncle will be able to do daytona driving to get us to hosp on time if we ever need to take cab =P

same here. i had contractions + backache...

LJ,

aiyo, the mention of pancakes now make my cravings even stronger!

hahaha, we have to plan for alternatives and be independent in our hubbies course of work =P lets pray n hope when our turns come, they will be contactable and best is they are with us at that moment =)

dolly,

like tat even better coz u have extra 2 pairs of helping hands =)

think the reason she is cranky is coz she is asking for attention also with the arrival of didi and like wat auroa mentioned, due to T2 stage. when she is able to communicate better and tell u all wat she wans, will be better le. just like my boy nw, sometimes the conversation with him gets v funi. ahhaha.

true lo, church kindy only a few hrs type. so aft sch, she will go hm and ur maid n mum will look aft 2kids rite?

re: ventolin,

i didnt know this drug is used to control the contraction. i thot only used to open up the airway for asthma and cough sia.

Sh,

hope ur gal jaundice is nt high enuff to have to admit her and jaundice go away soon.

actually u can still cont to pump then either freeze or drop away ur bm if u intend to bfeed aft this 1mth.

re: GNC fenugreek

i nv tried fenugreek. i just take more fluid esp papaya fish soup or papaya milkshake to maintain or boast my ss.

blurlemon,

hope u are better now. i am also still working and i am 2weeks to edd =P

apple,

who popped who popped?! excited to know. hahaha. doing knowledge trf also cant login to thread of fb when my guy is beside me.

jenny,

time ur contraction. if only a few min apart frm each contraction, suggest u head to ur gynae.

apple, no need to buy and standby. who knows maybe ur supply will be very good this time.. and u will have no need for this. I took this when i was in my 4th - 6th mth of Bfing for my #1. panic cos i feel my supply dropped.

Which i why i alwasy tell my frens the 1st 2 weeks are very critical, this is when your breast may over produce, u just need to keep the demand coming (latch as often as u can and on a regualar basis), ur BM will continue to flow. So to successfully BF, we really cannot be lazy lah.

SH, i cont BFing my daughter even when she has jaundice, she eventually cleared her jaundice and i successfully BF her for 26 mths.

But then again u know best, so go with the decision which you are comfortable with. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now that u all mentioned coke, i am craving for it. I drank cold water during confinement, plain water lah.. hahah.. can't stand the heat. and with all the sweating, i was loosing even more water, so it was water, longan tea and soup, every day...heheh so i guess i will cont this this time round.

Kay, u mean ur grandma wants to live alone? but if u offer to pay her rent would it better? its alwasy better to pay rent to her than to rent a unit outside right?

Val: My contractions is irregular but painful. Much more painful than BH contractions and lasting for about 20 sec each time. Is that labor contraction?

And my baby is also kicking around in the midst of contraction.

Val, rite, thank goodness.. Maybe by then she's learn to express herself better.. Furthermore, W should be about 10 mths old.. Both of them should be much easy to handle le...