(2011/05) May 2011

auroa,

yes. really got to endure man coz it is really nt easy wk. got to have determination and support.

i also hope i can BF for as long as I did for my #1 and supply will be as gd if nt better. hahaha.

We all going to start our moo-moo career soon..all mummies started to talk about BM! sleepless nites gonna haunt us soon. Latch, pump, change diapers..haha..think of that I think we must rest well during this last lap to preserve the energy :p

Val - yesterday I also very fedup at work. My India oounterpart sux..so today I work fr home..hehe

apple,

my energy gonna drain out coz of my wk le...gd u can wk frm hm =) i wish i can and i am v tempted to take mc coz i am really tired and i am doing everything on my own...fedup with the mgmt! but then i cant take mc coz eventually when i come back, the things will still be there waiting for me to be done.

Val, apple, auroa, i think cos this is our 2nd time bfing, i firmely believe that this time it will be easier and milk supply may establish faster too. dun worry, i think our journey will be smooth lah.. hahah self consolation!!! cos our mind is a very power tool, if we think we can make it, sure can!

Val, did the skin on your feet gets smoother after soaking in the BM?> hahaha qon;t it be oily. :p and i really also cannot remember how long frozen BM can store, those were in my fridge for soo long and i just had to discard them!

V: i heard about the EBM for facial.. my frens MIL used it to wash her hair.. but i am soo disgusted by it, maybe cos it came from me.. hahah so i would rather throw.

Val, ya lah, sayang to throw thats why cannot buy too expensive milk bags lah. hahaha which is why apple and i resorted to used playtex cos its good and cheap and if throw also not so sayang unlike the lansinoh milk bags.. too expensive already.

I think BM i will try and see how my supply is like..i can't help it if there's not enough to store and I plan to BF for max 6 mths only...

apple, thanks for your suggestion...apple/starfruit/happymum, luckily that she insist to sleep with us. usually will have to carry her from my mum's room when she's asleep..

apple, ok, i'll go to the market & look for sarong..

auroa, just woke up from my nap after sending my girl to school... its like fell to slumberland, maybe my geomancer's advise of getting amulet to place under my pillow is working too..

v/val/bunnymum, thanks!

Val/starfruit/bunnymum/V, most probably will skip away wif Sherelle thou it's a nice name when write out... So many Pple can't pronounce correcty ESP the olders.... Save my gal from the embarrassment in future ba....sigh.... Gotto pick names again....

Din wanna cfm Sheryl cos it's common but like the pronounciation. If really by due can't cfm, will hv to stick to this name....

Bunnymum, both jaius or kaius is nice. But jaius is better UN my pref. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, ya, we going to be full time milking soon... estimated one mth to go before every1 starts poping and tat means sleepless nites.. *yawn*(think i read tat some mummies already popped... congrats!)

dolly, glad tat u have rest and "it" wun disturb you or bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

auroa, i am so Not looking forward to those sleepness night and milking session.. hahah. my edd 26 may i think i may be one of the last to pop!!! hahah

Val - that's the prob with us taking MC..even taking MC, later when we r back, the work still there. Sometimes I really pissed that I think I wanna ask for HPL in mid Apr so I don't wanna work from hm anymore..official rest my mind :p

Let see what my gynae says this Sat when I see him.

I actually forgotten that I got gynae appt this Sat and I ordered my mao shan wang tonite..gosh!!

Must drink lots and lots of water these 2 days

dolly - I think today is "guan yin tan" coz I smell my neighbour praying & burn papers.

starfruit, my edd date same as u but my gynae said to aim for 38 weeks bcos i got 1 high readings for my BP.. got to control otherwise, i need to induce again (arrugh, it's a painful process)... me 2 also dun want to go thru the sleepness night and milking session.. hope my no1 and no2 guai guai eat and sleep and let mummmy rest w them too... let's jia you bah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple, rest and sleep well.. ya, after child comes back, can't rest liao... me also going to fetch my girl fr school later.. hope she takes her nap later, otherwise, i will end up with no nap too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Val, V n apple, I m surprise my gynae never says my baby too big. He ask me to continue to control my diet.

I on mc today n tmr, having cough n feels heaty inside, falling sick soon.

I so envy all of you so much milk, last time my supply only enough for each feed, nothing to store in freezer. Breast so big but no milk..

Can ask, how long can we store in the fridge for ebm after we pump? I can't recall if it is 2 or 4 hrs?

auroa : yeah.. seems like this week have not been resting well.. would rather go back to office than staying @ home...

apple : or is it...? i don't usually take note of this...

happymum : if chilled ebm will be 3 days, freeze milk will be for 3 mths.

read from MeadJohnson Nutrition on Breastfeeding Tips for moms,

~ store breast milk in fridge for up to 48hr b4 feeding to baby

~ if dont use within 24hr, good idea to freeze it

~ milk shd b go in the back of the freezer or in deep freezer

~ Breast milk will keep for up to 6mth in freezer

~ in deep freezer, it will keep as long as 2yrs

when u take out a frozen container of breast milk, it might not look the way u expect. it may appear a little yellow, bluish-green or even brown. but dont worry, as long as it doesnt smell sour or taste bad, it's perfectly fine ...

hope the above help ...

Sh..., perhaps u can write down a list of criterias u would like to see in your girl's name such as starting with a certain letter or contain 2 syllabus or personality traits u wish your girl would have. And use these criterias to narrow down your search for a name in babycenter.com.

Personally I hope to have a smart girl so I choose a name with the meaning of wisdom.

Bunnymum, Jaius sounds the best to me but it sounds similar to Jesus to me, if u don't mind.

If u name your son Gaius, sure he will get made fun of by other kids cos sounds like gay in front.

happy, if i am not wrong freshly express bm can be stored in room temp up to 6 hrs. after that must put in fridge. for freezer, val say 3 mths right?

mummies, dun worry, all the information will come back to us when our baby comes. anyway FBM smells and taste funny but rest assured that its not spoilt.. hahah but they really stinks! hahah

so may just express enuff to feed for each day, dun want to store too much milk this time round.

i had a super full lunch, had pasta with french fires, carbo overload.. cham liao!

and last nite, i went orchard towers with my colleagues for Thai Food, so yummy. i wanna go back there again for thai food!

starfruit,

hopefully 2nd time bfeeding le and really easier and more supply too. hahaha.

yes, the mind is stronger than we think so i must tell myself i can do it! i hope to be able to bfeed for 2yrs~ hehehe.

yes lo! aft i soaked my feet in the ebm, indeed smoother le but also abit oily but i use towel to wipe so nt so bad. just tat i dun like the smell of the EBM. hehehe. for feet i find it still ok, if u ask me to use in on my face, hair or add into shower gel, i find it disgusting! hahaha.

hehehe. i may get a pack of playtex to try out n see coz i dun mind paying more for convenient la, then my hb always say i siao..no $$ sense =P

for freshly expressed milk, the max i will keep in room temp is 2hrs coz our weather hot, i worry the milk' quality may change wo.

this time rd, i may nt freeze as much, any excess I hope to feed #1 with it so can cut down on the cost of FM! hahaha. and my boy has been asking me to latching him lately -_-'''

i just finish my duck noodles with ducks wings. =P yummy!!! now thinking of ice chocolate or choc milk shake =P

think i was overwhelmed with wk today n keep walking in n out up n dwn...end up i had v achy cramps at my abdomen n spread to my lower back. nw i trying to relax abit =P

Sh,

u are right. its impt that the name sld nt bring the kid embarrassement in future. for us, we are keeping to simple traditional eng name. hehehe.

auroa,

and aft we pop, we will see posts at funi funi hrs coz some mummies up feeding/changing or expressing. hahaha.

apple,

ya, tats the prob with us taking mc and no one can help us to clear our wk...pissed off with wk but then, i doubt i can go on HPL and few days MC although i am v tempted as i know 1 of my managers will be v pissed. he is already nt tt happy with me for taking ML...

hahaha. dun worry la, u mentioned before u dun really pile on weight by taking durian and it a few days to ur gynae apptment, dun tink the sugar content will last till then. meanwhile, just drown urself in water =)

happymumtobe,

pls take care of urself n drink more water so u can recover fully in time to enjoy and R&R abit before delivery. =)

I stored chilled EMB in the fridge for up to 48hrs. after which i will discard. if those tat i wanna freeze, i will immed freeze aft pumping.

Val, yes FBM is disguisting, smells and feels disguisting.. hahahaha i am sure some of the 1st time mummies must be wondering if its really that bad. hahaha. i should have used it to wash my feet, at least will make my skin smoother.. cos the skin on feet is dry!.

yes try playtex but it does not have the ziplock function so need to buy twine and tie yourself but the quality is good lah. anyway if u dun intend to store so much EBM, maybe can still buy the buy expensive bags for convenience sake! i store up so many boxes of milk bags, dunno when i can finish using them!

starfruit,

HAHAHA! the way we describe the smell of FBM sld have put them off =P

ya la sld have used it to soak ur feet at least nt so wasted but nvm la, hope our supplies will be even better this time rd to have excess to soak our feet =P

ya, i shall see how coz why i stock so much FBM is coz i worry that once i return to wk, i will be overwhelmed with wk to strictly follow my pumping schedule so i stock up alot during my ML just for in case if my supply drops, i can still fall back on fbm and mix with those chilled or fresh ones. How many boxes u bought? I bought 4boxes i think. nt enuff then ask my hb to go kiddy palace to buy.

I have one extra box of desitini creamy twin pk (4.8oz rach) available. Exp in 04/2012. Willing to let go at $18 inclusive of local postage.

Anyone interested? Kindly pm me.

Ladies..i wanted to post but I kept forgetting..Giant has BF bras on sale at S$6.90 and also the S$9.90 (same as BHG brand - eternity). FYI.

those who did studio shots hor..did you do your own makeup? I've decided to go with Studio Loft. any rec for photographer? what types of shots are you all taking? =)

I bought the avents storage bottles last time. can i use that to freeze the breastmilk or must buy storage bags as well?

Sh, iloveparis..

thanks! Jaius sound like Jesus ah... then maybe I reconsider. my friend said sounds like Indian name.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Although alot websites has names, i find it difficult to name my boy. Wanted something unique but sure has this and that bad point or duno how to read. heheh!

do we really have that much BM at the early stage? I'm first time mom.

I didn't bought any milkbags or storage bottles as i presume they consume every 2 hrs initally.

Am i right?

Having my mao shan wang durians again..today's fruit super solid..fingers licking good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ash - u shd make a trip and join me soon..now can get more solid fruits @ cheaper price.

Apple, where u order? I just bought 3 mao san wang for 200 bucks in geylang and i think my hubby was being chop carrot head. They said now not in supply that y so ex.

apple, u making me full of envy leh.. my dietian said at the most can eat 4 small durian fruits.. drooling... where u got yrs and wats the market price now?

Kristie, BM normally wun kick in so fast.. some pp will take a mth to establish the supply.. some will take a week.. will depends on individual.. mine din really kick in and my gynae prescribed meds to increase my supply.. most impt, supply=demand... feed often (oh, tat means every 2 hrs) and supply will establish soon. Need to preserve leh as normally 1st time mums will give up as sometimes too stressful, pp ard u (esp the old folks) will tell u to stop BF and give FM, etc... got to preserve..

i remember sobbing in the middle of the nite as breast got engorged and the milk can't come out despite expressing it.. in the end, my hubby got to massage it for me... it's like hard rocks and it's damn painful when he does tat (althou he din really use much strength.. i do it myself already sobbing liao) log in the forum often.. we will support each other [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa - I think there is no fixed market price for mao shan wang..places like joo chiat, geylang confirm kena chop.

For me I'm regular customers for yrs, so they cincai abit but always show me the price on calculator..dare not mention loud coz got other customers around.

apple, next time shd lobang u to buy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple, where to buy from ur place? mayb next time u help to order n we collect there....haha, i havent got a chance to eat durian this pregnancy....

kristie, me same as auroa, the hard like rock breast! so fed up express 1 side release a bit of pain then be4 the next breast gets cleared, the 1st one can engorge again....endless.....

n even need go mt a lactation nurse there to teach me how to rub with knuckles! took panadol be4 she rub oso no use.

apple, I'm drooling over the mao san durians on yr fb. Where to buy huh? I want to buy too.

btw, any mummies ordering confinement catering? I tot of ordering from Chilli Padi. Wanted Natal E but it's quite far away. By the time they hv reached, the food might become cold already.

Sh & jerejoy - I ordered from the market place near Yishun. If mummies don't mind traveling up north then I can help order [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It has to collect in the weekdays evening and avoid Sat/Sun coz weekends usually the quality is so-so only and ppl rush for it I don't like to mad rush with ppl lo

jerejoy - I order from Natal E & Newbaby. Hmm..they use thermal bag, I guess the food shd be OK. In fact, I tried Natal E b4, their quality of food is good.

Apple: wa u made me crave for durians too! Hubby gg Penang for business trip soon, wondering if I should tag along and chiong the durians there....

Apple: hee u also heard abt it? That time my hubby went to the durian plantation and eat lo...so shiok! Eat one basket of durian for like 50RM and 'hong xia'..their so called best durian...but dunno now got or not...seems like June then is the durian season.

Bunnymum:- Avent got those milk btls can be use as storage btls (got 2 kind, 1 is plastic btl another is soft like rubber de btl. Use the soft btl for storage EBM in fridge will do).

V:- thks for the info on bf bras!

Re: Durians

Drooling now even thou I had a few seeds of mao shan wang durian 1week ago..

Auroa:- I kinda worried abt bfeeding cos of the my dad & grandma don't unds bfeeding at all.. Thou imma confident & know I will perserve.. I dunno how to cope with comments if they say abt 'aiya u also dunno u got milk anot!'. I only say to my dad, every mother got breastmilk, gynae say de.. Haiss I scare I will tio influence by them, the more I scare they try to feed my bb with FM upon seeing me feed my bb for the first few weeks.. So wanna find the bfeeding consultant to my house to explain to them loh.. I can foresee this coming.. That's the only thing imma depress abt after my bb arrival.. Becos the thing is, they dunno bb first week of birth don't really need a lot of bmilk/ even know hw to latch, and stuffs likedat..

Sh:- added u on FB =)

Bunnymum:- btw, the avent soft btls only for chilling bm, can't freeze. For freezing bm, I think its better to use milk storage bags.. =D

Apple, you made me drool with all the Mao Shan Wang. I only eat few seeds if durian before testing for GD. Now dare not eat at all, scared baby grow too fast..

Kaykay, initially my supply did not kick in fast as well n I hv engorgement which I did not know myself. One week after delivery, went bk TMC for baby checkup then shun bian went to parentcraft to ask abt my supply. The nurse never tell me anything and ask me to go in a room and take off my clothes. In there they massage 1 hour for me and put hot towels in my breast plus drink hot Milo, keep repeating the process for 1 hour, pain until my tears drop.

Then go home, I follow their method, my supply is better. On the other hand my mum is not supportive of bf, keep saying my milk is little, made me very sad. until she sees me cry then she immed change her comment by saying my pumping from 40ml increase to 80ml is good improvement liao.

Luckily hubby is supportive and I just feed whatever I can pump, most if the time I latch on.

So you must be strong and dun let others influence you.

bunnymum, yes u can use the avent storage bottles, just that it takes up lots of space and if u express a lot, need a lot of bottles. dun worry, u can just start with the storage bottles first and see how it goes.

If u feel that u need the milk bags, u can get them later, no hurry.

V: Studio loft dun provide makeup, u do your own. When did u schedule your session?

Kristle, actually u r right, dun worry about pumping at least for that 1st 1-2 mths, this is when u need to latch on demand and regulate your supply. some mummies feel that they have diff latching so resort to pumping and thats when they need the storage bottles and bags.

apple/val, i need some mao shan wang soon too!!!

apple, u reminded me, i have not ordered my confinement meal yet, maybe should call natalE soon. u ordered weekly first right?

my colleague told me the Taka baby fair, the huggies NB diapers going at $6.40, tempted to go back down again cos Giant selling $7.

thanks all for yr supportive comments [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

one more working day to weekend. endure!