(2011/05) May 2011

starfruit: nope..6 days CCL is regardless of # of child..so you are still only entitled to 6 days a year. can read up on mcys website or mom =)

starfruit,

if take 1 shot, my co also practice including weekend and PH. Lucky the period we are on ML is a rather dry period with only 1 day PH!

I think diff co practice differently. Mayb u double check with ur HR?

hmm...CCL how to earn pro-rated? i thot standard 6days irregardless of the num of kids we have?

Apple : just now I called my geomancer for advise. He told me that shi liu is not effective enough for my current state.. He advise me to get an amulet from the guan yin temple & leave it at my pillow... He told me that's a child passed by our home.. I can't invite a priest or pastor, it's just like calling a police to catch a thief & will endanger both bb & myself...

So I have to go the temple & prayed for bb's safety instead..

V, in this case, its more worth it if you split and come back to work after 8 weeks and cont to take them after them (which is calculated x5 days)

but so disruptive to come back after 2 months. i think i will go ahead and clear all 16 weeks at one shot.

dolly, aiyo, so scray, i was just wondering could this have cause your recent early contractions as well? ppls go get the amulet asap.. at least for peace of mind.

hey Val, it could be pro-rated based on the month you join the new co or the time u give birth. depends on co policy as well. eg you give birth in July, co could give u only 3 days - which is pro-rated to 6 months instead of giving u 6 days. same as in when you join a new co in the middle of the year. so it really depends on policy.

6 days is standard regardless of # of child.

dolly, do whatever to get a peace of mind until your bb is out =)

starfruit: not much difference to me (i did a calculation of # of days before) unless your last 2 months overlap alot of PH. if not it's about the same ah. some mummies with 2 child will take full 16 weeks but so far mostly take 8-10 weeks and come back to clear the rest day by day. it's really up to u.

dolly,

ya, for a peace of mind, pls go n get the amulet...if nt u can always ask ur mum to help u get. i agree with wat ur geomancer advise...in fact, my geomancer told us nt to throw salt ard the hse when we first moved in as it may harm them and in return they will harm us.

V

ya. the portion on pro rating depending on which

mth i join the co i understand. just wondering how to pro-rate to earn more than 6days coz i always understood as max 6days CCL irregardless of num of kids. hehehe.

V/starfruit,

i will still proceed to take 1 shot ML as its less disruptive.

V/Val: For 2nd child, my side gives up to 10 CC leave.. 6 will be normal and 4 is child medical leave (need to produce child MC). which is quite good lah.

starfruit,

wah! ur co is nice to give extra 4days as child medical leave! v pro-family =) are u in public or private sector?

Val, alamak, i was one of those ppl that threw salt around the house when i first got the keys.. my goose bumps are coming up reading dolly's post.

yea, we did the salt and rice thing too..hubby got in a geomancer to ensure we do everything correctly.

Val, some co might give more then 6 day CCL. 6 days is mandated by gov as the min =)

Starfruit, nice to get extra 4 days. very pro-child =)

starfruit - U can read up from MOM website for ML calculation. Childcare leave is only 6 days irregardless u have x # of children u have below age 7. Yes, it is definately more worthwhile if u break is from the first 8wks then follow by 40 working days thereafter [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly - am confused..tot you are christian/catholic? how u go temple to pray wor?? nvm, if u can do it, I suggest u buy "wan zhi" pandant from the silver shop near guan yin temple at Bugis. "wan zhi" is very powerful to ward off all the "dirty" stuffs also calm your mind.

I can upload the pic on FB to show u roughly..u take a look ba

val, i am in public sector.

V: yes both child below age 7 so entitled to 10 days.

I have stopped wearing underwire bran since i was in 1st trimester. actually should stop by now already as it will cause block milk ducts. I am just wearing normal non-underwire bras by sorella.

Re: VBAC

Back to this again..I am also trying to control bb's growth, on one hand wants her to grow well and all but next min, i tot of still trying for vbac if bb is not too big. If not, my gynae will not support me...sad, finally i convinced my hubby to let me try vbac, cos I really dont want to regret the next time tt I did not go for natural.. same like Yaer, I am worried tt our vbac plans might blow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Any mummies also in a dilemma as to whether we shld do vbac?

starfruit,

its ok if u threw salt as diff geomancer practise diff things lo. most impt is believe wat ur own geomancer says as if u seek their service, must believe in them =)

dolly,

try nt to think of it too much ok. it will affect u and in return ur boy...

V,

ya. we also engage a geomancer right before we got the hse, to help us look see the surrounding n inside the hse and he will advise if the hse is a gd buy nt. hahaha. aft we did the reno design, he will go thro to see if its ok. gd thing is he dun anyhw ask us to buy thing or request furniture to be place in funi position.

so co really gd to give extra CCL, why nt my co!? hahaha.

starfruit,

oic. hehehe. gd tat ur co gives more than 6days le. =)

xuanmin,

actually no nd to regret where u go natural or csect. most impt, both mother n baby must be safe.

Val, and yes this extra 4 days will come in very useful!!!! even with 1kid, 6 days is kinda stretching a bit already and sometimes i need to take my own leave to take care of my child.

starfruit: yea...now start wearing all my maternity bras lor..hehehe..now than start coz i saw all the veins le =P

xuanmin: I have no plans. can give birth with no complication is good enough. I told my hubby to make whatever decisions on the spot needed and if it's either mine or bb life, please keep bb. hehe..sometimes not to plan/expect too much is the best way to go. if can't vbac than maybe its meant to be? i just want her out safe and sound that's all =)

Val: my hub engaged after we got the hse coz it was from muslim so we felt ok la. we went to see one hse got shen tai and it's very messy. felt very uncomfortable once we stepped in so we didn't take the hse lor. yea, inside he show us where the cai wei is, where to face, some color to paint etc. hahah..all co different la. some more pro-child de. i think public sector's benefit is also up and coming to compete with private sector liao...

Morning mummies!!

Starfruit, my co also give me 10 days of CCL if I have 2 kids and 15 days if I have 3 kids. And medical benefit is very good so hubby ask me must stay put.

My dept currently undergoing a lot of reno and changes..will end up no room for me to pump milk, dunno how am I going to substain my supply after I return work.

I am only taking 3 months and the balance 1 month convert to 20 working days.

My temp come in liao but I got nothing much to teach her as my manager dun intend to grant her access to most of the system..so yty whole day sitting there nothing much to do..dunno hire so early for wat.

Starfruit, toilet no electric point, cannot pump. I am thinking of doing it in the storeroom, but no ventilation. My desk not convenient, later phone ring i dun answer, cannot. Then a lot of ppl like to look for me one..think of it also sian.

starfruit,

i agree with u. 1 kid 6days sometimes i also dun feel its enuff n have to either take my own leave or if i can, i try to take half day half day so I can take 12x of half days.

V,

i think public sector in terms of leave system is better than private ba. My hb is public and i am in private and he has got lots more leave than me lo...

happymumtobe,

wah! ur co lagi best to give so many CCL!

ya, can try starfruit's method of pumping at desk...although abit uncomfortable if ppl were to walk pass lo.

CloudPoem: welcome

dolly, b extra careful ...

Re: Nursing bras

understand from Mrs Wong tat is best to get the bras 1week after the birth, bcos tat is the time when the breast will start to hv milk and will get bigger.

me got the bras around 4mth of pregnancy, one cup bigger, now a bit tight for me liao ... haiz... need to get another set liao ...

Apple : I'm a freethinker... No choice, I've visited the temple and just prayed to guan yin the situation I'm facing now.. But my geomancer don't really encourage me to do anything now except asking for amulet to place @ my pillow...

Val : I'm trying hard not to think le.. But can't when the "tingling" sound appear.... Msg my hb just now & he's worried for me too...

dolly,

u prayed le nv ask for amulet??

hmm..then try nt to be in ur room alone? or if u are brave enuff when u hear it, try to talk aloud, telling him/her to leave your hse and leave your family alone then says some prayers aloud too.

hi all.. thanks for all your advice with regards to the ML.. am clearer now... So sleepy these days.. wake up almost every hour.. SIGHZ

Ling, u dun have to buy Bfing bra now, just get the non-underwire type, all the bra brands sells. cos all u need now is thistype, u can get the nursing bra at a later stage.

Val, but at least your company can take half day for CCL, mine cannot, must take full day. I am clearing all 6 days before I go maternity. Then balance 1 month of maternity to clear after I back to work in Aug.

Shall see after I back to work, anymore room that is available then I pump lor.

dolly,

gd tat u got the amulet le, hope u will feel more at ease aft this =)

Its normal to be freak out by this sort of encounters lo. U are doing v brave already =)

happymumtobe,

ya. only thing i am glad is that my co allows me to take half day CCL...if nt really my leave and CCL will run out v fast!

Hope u will have a decent room to pump. I will be using the storeroom.

bubble pearl,

its ok la as i believe diff geomancer practise diff things. impt is, watever practise we have followed, all of us are happy with our places =)

Hi all, I have a tin of 900g Friso 1 to let go at $35. Expiry in Feb 2012. NTUC selling at $40.

Collection at Sembawang. PM me if interested.

Val & mummies : thanks for all of your concern... Just told my mum about it... She also experience something last few nites. She smell something nice coming from my girl's room... She just kept to herself & worried that we were affected... told her that our maid, my hb and myself have encounter it.. So confirmed that our house is "dirty" le...

Rite now, I don't even know whether can I still ease my mind even after getting the amulet for myself...

dolly, ya see if u can go stay at your mum plc for a few days.

My side also need to take CC leave as one full day, cant take as half day.

bubble : my house is quite crowded le.. there are already 4 adults & 1 kid.. think not so nice to tell my relatives that my house is "dirty" too, who will want to stay overnite?

dolly - hope after the prayers u r getting better. Let's check with your geomancer see whether u can wear the "wan zhi" pendant. Y I told u so is bcoz I'm wearing since I went UK study. My hostel haunted..my mum sent this to me. It has been attached to me till now. This is super powerful, even I travel be it leisure or biz, I feel ease! Once I took off coz I wear other jewellery to attend wedding, then next early morning I flew off to HK on biz..that trip was horrible, my hotel room kinda haunted, I kept seeing shadow after I closed my eyes. I changed room the very next morning..

After that I learnt my lesson not to forget my pendant whenever I travel, especially on biz coz I'll be all alone.

Another thing u can do is do u have any sarong or shawl which u used during confinement for #1? U can place that sarong on your pillow when u zz tonite. Try out..no harm. This is what my late mum taught me. I have a sarong, hand down by my mum..she used during her confinement after giving birth to my bro, and I use it during my delivery in hospital and also when my girl admitted. So far so good..

If u don't have it, buy 1 now. Pack inside your hospital bag, use when u r in hospital giving birth to didi.

dolly - another possibility is to bring your gal to your room to zz tonite to try out. Normally young child's "yun qi" is better than us.

Re ML, I just consulted my HR. Let say I start my ML on 03/05, 8 weeks will end on 27 June. Thereafter, it will be 40 working days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit & happymum - wow..u gals are lucky!! how I wish I got >6 days CCL.

apple, this sarong that u mentioned to used during confinement, what is this sarong used for? only used to put on pillow and lie down? does the sarong or shawl serve any other purposes?