(2011/05) May 2011

mummies who are not first time mummies,

May I check if you all have any problem with the kids wardrobe? I bought a chest of drawers from Ikea for my #1 but now find it too small for 2 kids.. need to upgrade or add on.. Any good recommendations for kids wardrobe? I saw 1 tall wardrobe at Ikea but is about $800+ for the configuration I'm interested in.. thought it was a bit exp..

jadebelle,

my #1 (boy) and #2 will be sharing a built in wardrobe in their kids' room. so far my boy's stuffs only occupied 1 side while the other side has been occupied by me, so i will need to clear my things out of tat side to make way for #2's stuffs. That side wldnt be able to fit in a chest drawers coz i have partitioned it, so the only way to go ard is buy those compartments boxes. I did suggest to my hb if we sld get another chest drawer but he objected as it will take up floor space as we do not have any space in the built in wardrobe to fit tat in...so nw we will stick with this arrangement first.

Hi Jadebelle, I bought a 3 door wardrobe for my boy not long ago at Nova furniture. Then #2 I using togoyo chest of drawers, so far so good, enough to accomodate clothes and toys.

dolly - u can try [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] coz my fren even housing agent told me when u wanna view hse best bring young children..if they act weird, means cannot buy the hse. I'm not sure how true..but personally I find whenever I bring my gal along during holidays, I always find hotel room we stayed in always bright and feeling good. If we go alone, I find room normally dimmer.

starfruit - I'm fr peranakan family, so my granny they believe in sarong during confinement. My mum and the older generation they wear sarong after birth. For me I took the sarong I lay on my bed when I zz..I also lay on my bb cot for bb to zz. After confinement, I kept the sarong & only use it when I go to places like eg. hospital, hotel..

So maybe now if u wanna try, buy 2pcs of sarong, lay on the hospital pillow or on top of hospital mattress cover lo. For me I lay on pillow coz I find hospital pillow err dirty & hate the plastic they overlay.

starfruit,

hahaha. i agree lo. am clearing the space for her liao. cleared half of my stuffs...end up i decided to throw alot of my own clothes! hahaha. left with those clothes i wan, duno where to stuff them! once cleared those, then will give the wardrobe a wipe and I can start to wash meimei's clothes le. hehehe.

for my boy's clothes, my hb already shake head le...for meimei's stuffs he says will only get worst looking at the way i buy things =X

apple, just normal sarong type can isit? those get from market stalls? hmm ok ok i will go get, its those sarong the peranakan wears as skirts right?

Val, u will just buy more and more for mei mei.. ocs ger's stuff irresistable lah...haha

apple, just normal sarong type can isit? those get from market stalls? hmm ok ok i will go get, its those sarong the peranakan wears as skirts right?

Val, u will just buy more and more for mei mei.. ocs ger's stuff irresistable lah...haha

Val - I doubt 1/2 the wardrobe is enough for meimei [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] am sure the wardrobe will burst in no time! My gal alone occupied whole build-in wardrobe & I still have 3 big toyogo boxes of her clothes pack in vacumn storage bags! I think I wanna clear away soon..

starfruit - Yes, normal sarong will do. U can buy fr Malay stall..I think those from Indonesia has better quality. Some ppl join them and wear like "skirt", some just leave it as 1 long pc of sarong cloth.

oh.. I agree girls clothings really will burst the wardrobe! hehe..

Toyogo's a good idea.. but i think there are some clothes I would like to hang instead of fold in.. so maybe not so suitable

Trofast's also the drawer system right? Looks really nice, but also can't hang clothes..

stemcord having a free workshop at Orchard parade hotel on 26 Mar. interested mommies cld possibly take a look and see wat is the promo price. T: 64712002

Last Sun we actually went to Ikea to get new toy rack. Besides clothings, I got hard time storing my gal's toys! Imaging #2 coming along, more toys purchased. My hse is getting more toyogo boxes & toy racks!!

jadebell, the trofast can convert, i have one which i install the hanger to hang her dressess. the system is quite flexible and i like it cos its solid pine wood so damn sturdy unlike some otehr range of IKEA furnitures which really CMI in terms of durability and quality.

thanks bubble_pearl for updating my infor in the list.

dolly: dun worry too much k, it may affect ur baby. Last time when i get my resale flat, I place $1 coins at all the corners in the house, maybe u can try? I heard from my ex-colleague that it can clear always the "qi" from previous owners and those bad ones.

Would like to hear your opinions on whether its better to keep baby in my own room or in another room during confinement?

If i keep baby in another room, i know i can sleep better but i heard that newborn probably need breastfeeding very 2-3 hrs and even during night time. So keeping baby in my own room can make it more convenient for me to breastfeed also maybe.

Welcome any advice on this!!! Thanks!

apple : ok, i'll try to get sarong & tonight i'll get my girl to sleep with me...

whitecherry : thanks for your concern too.. i'll check with my geomancer again as he advise me not to do anything @ the moment...

Starfruit/apple,

looks like I better exercise some self control before I burst all the wardrobe! Korkor has a drawer full of new clothes and I am still buying whenever I buy something for meimei. I have a bad habit actually. I like to buy n stock clothes for my boy in bigger siZes if I like the material n design...

Apple,

ya lo. Toys going to get more n more too. We already bought alot of boxes for korkor to keep his toys buy overspilled! My hb says he will look for toys to throw when #1 nt at hm.

Iloveparis,

for my #1 case, he slps with us in the same room since we brought him hm frm the hospital. Easier for me to bfeed and check on him. For #2, will also slp in the same room as us. Easier for me to look aft both of the kids. Just tat I worry if either cries will disturb the other one.

Val, hahah.. hi5, me sama sama as u, i stock up so much clothes for my #1 that she has enough to last her till she is 6 or 7!!! and she inly 4 now!! hahah but at least #2 can recycle from jie jie's clothes but then i am sure i will buy new clothes for mei mei too!

Apple/Val, i have also been discarding her toys, those spoilt etc i will throw and yes throw then theya re not around, my girl likes to hoard her toys, sure will not let me throw lah.

iloveparis, my ger still sleeps in the same room with us too, she has been there since birth and now diff to "kick" her out.. hahah mei mei will be the same room too cos i need to BF her.

starfruit & Val - I also plan to throw my #1 toys when in Apr when I started to work fr home while she is in school. I keep telling my hb my gal like karung guni..everything also said she wants, don't throw! headache

dolly - The sarong u buy pack in your hospital bag, use it when u r in hospital and while u r doing confinement at home. So after your confinement whenever u go holiday or feel uneasy, just take the sarong and place on your bed/pillow.

mummies, few days no check in.....

dolly,

i'm having goose pimples ard....hope u r ok.....

it really makes me think back tat time CNY period when i told u all my whole family was so so so sick....it has got something to do with the new maid.....

we went guan yin temple at bugis to pray and ask for a "qian", get an auntie (someone recommend) that sits near the temple (nt those in front of the temple) to decipher the "qian".

she say the maid muz get rid at immed instance. sway sway tat day is CNY day 4 n sat i think, Agent nt open for biz yet.... then we gt to tolerate 2 days till mon to return her at 1st instance. she never say too clearly n quote some "cheng yu" which we don understand either, but its meaning is the maid is nt "good". my mom say mayb she did some rituals before coming to our hse etc....

hubby n me can feel a total relief "rite from our heart" once she's out of the hse tat day..n strangely we all recover so fast from the day she left..if nt we are sick for 3 wks for the 3 wks she's wif us!

so hopefully u can find the correct help. let me know if u need more details of the correct auntie to look for. but muz get a qian to let her see 1st so tat she can decipher.

Viman,

congrats on your safe delivery! enjoy motherhood! i oso did a check on medela pis. FFY is selling at $549 cos its a US set. they will throw in free local adaptor and provide in house 1 yr warranty.

if u wan cheaper, BP sells the US set with adaptor only $370+$40+, no warranty thou.

i've just got my 2nd hand medela pis. trying to buy new parts to replace. might be doing a spree to buy in from US which is slightly cheaper from BP too. let me know if u r keen. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbpoohfamily: thanks for the link...

Ash, apple starfruit: yup.. heard of tis brand too... alot mummies said tis brand is good... but how to tie with cable wire? won't it leak??

dolly: tink u got to believe ur geomancer, if u r able to tolerate till u give birth... den just ignore... if not u got other places to stay for awhile??

bubble, starfruit, val, apple: 2.2kg should be gd weight ba... but my gynae scare cos my #1 quite small size... 2.64kg @ 38weeks... somemore tis bb suddenly shoot up 700g more in 2 weeks... so he scare is GD loh... need the bb to be small if wan to try VBAC... if not the wound rupture risk will increase...

xuanmin: me now leave it to fate oredi... if really cannot den oso no choice... now telling myself if cannot VBAC oso bo bian... be it natural or c-section are just ways of giving birth... most impt is the mummy n bb are safe... no point insisting on VBAC but jeopadise the bb or mummy's life... my gynae got one case like tat, in the end the bb got need to be taken of for the whole life... not worth it... now wat u can do is to wait n see loh... like me... if the circumstances allow... i tink ur gynae will advise u wat to do...

apple: i dun have sarong... but got alot of shawl... can oso?? got the same effect??

ling: here is the link

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5230642.html?1300344549

jadebelle: me just bought a 3 layer drawer from ikea for my #1 gal... $89... still not enough to put her clothes... agree tat i tend to buy nice clothes to stock up for her... now got another big box just to store her new clothes... as for tis bb... he will reuse his jie jie toyogo drawer... something feel quite quilty to tis #2 leh... cos most of his things or clothes is reuse from jie jie... hehe... got to save money...

iloveparis: for my #1, she sleep in a room wif my mum during confinement... my mum will feed her during nite time... after confinement i sleep with her cos need to feed her at nite... when she is abt 2 to 3 mths old, she can sleep thru the nite oredi... i let her sleep by herself in the room... for #2, tink my gal will need to sleep in the other wif papa... den i will sleep together wif my boy... easier for me n somemore won't disturb my gal when he cried in the middle of the nite...

Apple : as yaer has mentioned, can we use shawl? Last nite, my girl's very cranky, she kept insisting to come to my room & slept with me... Wonder she can sense that her mummy's trouble? Usually she'll play at my bed & refuse to sleep.. But last nite, she was fast asleep.. Amazing that last nite was indeed peaceful..

Sh, yaer & other mummies : thanks for all your concern. In the meanwhile, will let my girl sleep with me till bb pop out...

Good morning!!

Dolly - Good to hear that u brought your gal sleeping with u and finally u get peaceful sleep. Old folks said children has high level of "qi"..tentatively maybe u just let her co-sleep with u bah. I still think u can buy a pot or 2 of shi liu plant to place outside your door and balcony. I noticed someone steal a stalk of my shi liu plant outside..haha

As for sarong or shawl, I think old tradition still tell u sarong. For u, I suggest u buy 2, alternate both, use it during hospital stay & bring home to use during confinement month. Wash 1 and u have another spare [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning,

Dolly, good that u have a peaceful night last night and yes keep J with u for these few nights.

yaer, won;t leak, u keep the bag upright when u store in the freezer, once frozen it just hardens.

I think i have a pic of my L&L with my BM bags, let me dig it out and post the pic for u here.

Mummies, more or less cfm my gal's name but need ur vote.

Sheryl or Sherelle?

Do u all pronounce both as the same 'sheryl' ?

Was thinking the latter was more Unique in spelling...

Tks!

SH, i will pronouce both differently leh..

Sheryl = cheryl

Sherelle = i will pronouce as Sher - Rel

I prefer Sherelle more unique

yaer, i found my pic of BM, took a pic when i threw all my remianing Bm away in jan 2009.. hahah sorry this box in a mess, usually i am more tidy, i use twine, not cable tie cos cable tie(the plastic type) very difficult to undo, twin easier to twist open. BY Jan 2009, these were stored in my fridge for more than 1 yr already.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5253001.jpg]

Wow starfruit so many packs…! Envy…….hope this round I can bf successfully!

Which milkbags is cheap n good to recommend? Didn’t mge to use these at round 1……hee…..

Tks for your input on names. Sherelle spells more nicely but in this case I cant use le cos my own name is Shirley. Sounds so alike…..headache choosing names…….tot girl is easier end up so many options till difficult to choose…..

Sh, i BF for a long long time and my ger never drank my EBM, i just kept storing in the fridge, i took this pic the day i discarded all my BM, which was kinda the end of my Bfing journey.. hahah. dun worry, if u latch on demand, u will have BM, BM takes up to 9 mths to regulate, so we must all be patient!

Sherelle is nice lah, can consider, not exactly close to your name lah.

starfruit - dicard EBM..heartache rite?? I also discarded close to 60pkts after ended my bf journey! I have colleague never discard but added into shower form..gross..yucks

morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, din come in the forum for a while...u still enocounting that "stuff"? hope u can sleep better now tat yr girl is sleeping in the same rm as u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit, wow, tat's alot of EBM leh...

Morning mummies!!

Dolly, glad to hear that you hv a better sleep last night sith your girl with you.

I just finish my checkup. So happy I never put on weight, bb is 1917g at wk30d6.

My next appt still 4 weeks time, seems so long.

apple, wanted to ask u, did i store my BM the same way as u.. hehehe.. yeah a bit heart ache but i had to throw cos it was occupying space in my fridge. and agree with u leh, yucks to add in into shower cos when i was discarding the BM, they stink leh. hahaha.

Auroa, my BM was collected over a long period of time.

Good morning! Thread is moving fast..Wow that is alot of breastmilk..envy envy, hope i will be successful too. Not sure if I know how to do it the right way.

Dolly - glad that you are doing fine now. Feel shivery reading your posts.

Sherelle is a nice name! Rather unique. I am thinking of Gaius for my son but relatives said sound like 'Gay'. if pple nowadays call short form, becomes Gay ... I thought of improvising to Jaius or Kaius..

Which is nicer? or Gaius also ok? heehee!

starfruit, my colleagues used the EBM to feed her dogs or water the plants... some aunties in the office previously mentioned tat it's good to let bb to bath in EBM so tat got good skin.. i din try it as thought bath liao and still need to rinse off... too troublesome and dun want bb to catch cold too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit - yes, basically I just arrange pack by pack in upright position into L&L container in freezer. Upper level of my freezer are full of EBM previously :p haha..no space for ice cream etc

Auroa - EBM very stinko after storing for >3mths in freezer..how to use to bath wor. And I remembered mine was pretty oily..yucks

newtoitall, actually i did tat when my girl started solids ard 6mths but she dun like it.. actually she dun like the taste of the EBM and only drinks it in infant cc (no choice.. if she dun drinks, nothing to drink liao.. teachers said tat when she drinks, she will give a xin ku look.. as if the taste is horrible like tat)... so when i ard, she prefer to drink after i expressed and put it in bottle for her or directly latch on. Otherwise, i add FM in her food, then she will eat.. maybe my girl more fussy bah.

apple, can store how long har? can't remember liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but agree tat it's so oily.. really hard time to wash it off after i expressed and passed to cc to feed her... the bottles always came back oily or after i expressed and put it in bottle to feed her....arrugh. Even my hubby complainted abt it and prefer to feed her FM. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

newtoitall, suggestion is to add fresh EBM lah, dun add frozen EBM cos they stinks like raw fish and its oily!! hahaha i want to throw up when i was throwing the eBM away.. hahaha. anyway u only need to add when u wean bb when they are 6 mths, by 7/8 mths when they start on fruits and all, no need already.

auroa, fresh ebm taste and smells nicer lah, sweet.. hahaha . but dunno why baby are ok with frozen ebm leh.i think if i can, i will just express on a daily a basis instead of freezing it.

morning ladies,

super hectic morning for me...now i work n eat my bread at the same time..lucky while waiting for things to be done, i can sneak in. really fedup wking...

starfruit,

^5 but u more power than me. my boy coming 3, i only stock till 5yo. =P

ya. at least u can recycle but cant let meimei wear all old clothes so i am sure u will buy new ones too. esp some designs may go out of fashion so can buy new ones =P

lots of FBM u have, well done =). whenever i throw away any FBM, i will be v heart pain on the supply while my hb heartpain on the milk bags used. hahaha.

so i end up using the FBM to soak my feet =P

apple,

think to the kids, every toy has a super meaning to them so they dun let us throw away the toys when they are ard.

haiz...1.4-1.6kg during 30w is gd..mine 1.5kg at 32weeks...sobsob!

dolly,

gd to hear u had a peaceful nite. hope this peaceful-ness will continue =)

Sh,

I pronounce the 2 names differently too (same as starfruit's way of pronouncing) and i like Sherelle better too =)

happymumtobe,

nice weight ur baby has! u all making me so envy lo. haiz.

RE: Frozen breast milk

my boy dun like those defrozen milk..so wat i do is i mixed it to chilled or fresh bm so tat the smell will be covered and he was ok. =P

val, thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope this round BF will be smooth.. got to endure esp for the 1st mth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

iloveparis: erhm, I'm keeping her everywhere during the day move her around but at night she'll most prob be with my confinement lady next door once I can express my milk and keep =)

dolly: hang in there =)

SH: yea, i pronounce the same way as starfruit. can your inlaws/parents pronounce sherelle?

My friend used her leftover EBM for facial =P seems good for skin.

happymum: wow that's a good weight!I'm heading for my 32wk+1 day checkup this Friday~ I hope she's about >1.5kg. at 28wk she was 1097gm.