(2011/05) May 2011

Morning mummies and happy valentines day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Busy doing stock taking this morning and finally hve time to log in.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Read tat some mummies have some concerns on GD. Previous post is more for sharing purposes and not to cause any alarm or pinic among mummies. As i had went thru it for 1st preg, i know it's hard and it's being a emotional coaster for me for the last 2 mths before i gave birth. My doc (monitoring my GD results) was very strict with me and will remand me if i have even 2 high readings per week and there are some high readings tat debat whether shd lead to inject insulin. Ended up me crying in gynae's office and my gynae ordered a urine test to show my overall sugar level (dun know what's the test called liao). It's to collect one gallon of urine and sent for lab tests to show the sugar level collected for 24 hrs. It's a long wait and emotional stain on me and luckily lab test results shows tat i passed and i dun not need to go for insulin. In order to prevent further stress added on to me, my gynae took over and monitor my sugar levels till i deliver (bcos i got high BP and he din want to stress me further). I'm glad tat my gynae took care of me very well (althou i need to go back to clinic at least 3 times a week + covered me with one mth MC to take a break fr my stressful work). After birth, i suffered fr post-emclasspia effect and need blood tranfusion. It took me at 2 yrs to think whether to hve no2.

I guess as long yr diet is healthy, not so much into junk food, no medical history and bb weight is not increased suddenly, there might not be a cause of alarm. Just take food with moderation and continue to maintain a healthy diet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val

So cute leh your boy.

Last Sat I also put my boy hand on my tum for him to feel his mei mei. Then his mei mei gave him a hard punch. He didnt get shocked but asked me why mei mei moved???!!! Hahahaa, I dunno how to ans him lor. I think now they very curious about our tummy. Got one day, my boy even commented by shaking his head to me; "Mommy, u very fat now leh!"... Wah lao, Im so sad lor. So hopefully can lose weight with 2 monkeys. Eh, 6mths with massive dieting after BF finished. Heeheee.

Dolly

No choice le, try to coax her into drinking more water yeah. Now her mouth is bland... So she may fuss abit. Eh I heard if need to renew contract, must pay them market rate @ $450. But again, its between maid & employer. If maid requests, I think hard to turn down. So now I dunno if my maid frens/family @ Indo got hear abt this news. Wait they go n tell her... Haz. But am prepared to get new maid.

Split

Wah, how come this admin like this? She very young one de, issit? Uhmm, your replacement, u mean for maternity or this admin girl? Like tat, u v cham leh. U dun over-work yeah.

Mudpie

Heeheeee, apparently so lah. But of cos cannot eat sweet stuffs liao and keep drinking water, thinking all will be fine. I also scared wait GD pass to bb, problem leh. My gynae asks me to take ice cream everyday during last visit when Im scheduled for GD in 2 weeks time. I didnt listen to her lor. Else, I think maybe I may not pass this GD tomorrow? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

U try drink more plain water - good for everything also. Can flush abit la, but not all la of cos. Dun take too sweet or salty stuffs cos now our limbs/joints/feet/fingers will start to swell le. No good. Drink more water to cut off water retention also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa

My bb weight didnt increase very drastically. Its ME who increase weight lor, 3 kg within a month a lot eh. Dunno issit cos of my 3 kg weight gain, so scheduled me for GD??

mudpie, my bb is 883gm at wk 25. Gynae tells me its average size, no need to be concern. How come yours is considered over weight?

vv, not consider young ba she's 25 this yr..replacement for me so i can start doing the handing over..my client have been asking me abt early handing over of my task to the new person also..that day in hospital my client still call and ask me do things..anyway if my boss manage to get a replacement for me soon i might ask my gynae to give me hospital leaves to rest at home since my pregnancy is not very stable..was told to have bed rest by the hospital..

yoyo, ok lor...shall drink more water...sometimes..when get real bz...hardly wil tink of drinking water...hai...y ur gyane ask u eat ice cream everyday? to beef up bb wgt?or cos u didnt put on any wgt at all..so to eat ice cream is to increase ur wgt...abit strange..when gynae ask u eat ice cream everyday...rather than eating more nutritious daily foods..hehe

starfruit, i oso not sure leh..he didnt specifically say bb is overwgt...at 1st he say measure stomach to see hw is bb's wgt...

then measure liao..he say bb stomach abit fatter than norm...not very...juz slightly..then he say..ooo...ur bb wgt is 860gm..on avg is abt 700gm..then ask me izzit cny eat alot...& cut dwn sweet stuff....hai...

vv, i suspect something to do w BP as u hve swelling. So far the BP's readings checked at gyane's visit, ok?

sudden increase in weight is also a cause for concern as it might be due to GD. BB only takes in the required amt of nutrients thru the cord, if mummy suddenly gain alot of weight and bb not, there might be a cause of concern for placenta. My placenta on the left side was giving way due (oxygen supply dropped due to my high BP (i was monitored by Dr Chang fr TMC and my gyane on my placenta's issue), bb's growth slowed down due to it (thou i got GD and bb shd be gaining weight very fast) and tat's the main reason i was given one mth MC, to go back to clinic to strap down to monitor bb's heartbeats at least 3 times a week and monitoring of BP levels too. Thus, bcos of placenta issues, my girl was born at 2.54 kg (also partly i also control my diet and total weight gain during preg was less than 8kg)

Your last visit with yr gyane, did he mention anything on yr water level and placenta? Normally gynae's will check on the water level, placenta and growth of the bb. I guess it will be better tat u discuss w yr gyane on the sudden weight gain after yr GD test. Hope it helps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Split

Yeah, not consider young le leh. Uhm, maybe she still not mature enough and can see not responsible lor. Never spare thoughts for colleague also eh, she. Haz. I almost nearly got a replacement but seems like this partime gal may have to do internships. So probably need to find another. Sianz. Cos she is experienced, thot I can go ML earlier. Seems like gotta get another one again. Uhm, if possible, better for u to rest @ home le. Cos since already approaching 3rd trimester, must be extremely careful cos heavier and of cos, we must monitor carefully of any changes. U see when your partimer can come in 1st. Rush your boss abit.

Mudpie

Yeah lor, she is so weird. Now suddenly schedule me to GD, made me more puzzled. Haz. Rem to drink more water yeah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly

I read the news; seems like alot of maid agencies gonna follow suit liao, $450 pay for Indo maids. And of cos news spread like wild fire. My maid apparently dun make frens with the neighbours' maids. But again, am not at home. I wont know and my online cam is abit spoilt liao. Haz....

Starfruit

Yeah, probably lor. Cos 3 KG but bb just putting weight as per normal. But very weird leh. I didnt eat alot during the 1st trimester and starting of 2nd trimester. Dunno why sudden weight gain. Really scared dunno if its really sugar levels.

Auroa

So far, I checked with gynae. My BP all ok leh. But I didnt ask abt my urine. But I see them everytime throw away the strip after I hand them. So I assume alright? I tink I just have to cross my fingers for tomorrow test.

My last visit; placenta, water level all ok as per gynae checks. BB growth ok but just late by a week. Means my EDD now pushed to a later date by abt 9-10 days during last 2 visits (last 2 visits EDD stay the same). Hence she commented bb smaller side.

vv, think everything shd be ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe bcos it's a bb girl, thus size tends to be smaller... dun worry abt it now.. go for the GD test 2morrow, bring books/mag to read or videos to watch tomorrow.. hope to hear good news fr u soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, good afternoon...

happy v day ...

one of my cousin in law gave birth last sat .. she stil hv time to write in facebook ..

say having dinner wz hubby on fri nite and hubby told her a joke, next thing, waterbag burst ...

her labour very fast, my aunty called and say she gave birth like in 10hr time.. wow..

then she was out of hospital on sunday noon liao ... wow...so good.. n fast ...

me also went for check last sat ... babyyu growing well .. 1.273kg at week 29 ... babyyu was swallowing when doc do the scan ... so clear ...

mummies, dont worry much abt the GD test ... jus drink more plain water lah .. all the best for the test ...

Auroa

Thanks so much! I also hope all will be fine!

Ling

Thanks for the encouragement. Flooding with water now. Your bb has a good weight too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv - good luck to your GD test..am sure u r alright [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mudpie - long time no see..hope u r coping well.

I think your bb is good size and not really oversized. Relax ya..

Tmr my boss call for department CNY lunch cum farewell to 1 of my colleague. Another round of lou-hei..faint!! Eat, eat and eat..my weight gain will be shooting up during CNY.

Auroa - your 1st preg seems complicated and scary. Hope this 2nd one u have smoother overall experience.

I started to have backache, I guess it was due to weight gained. Cham..

Apple

Thanks Babe! You take good care yeah! I already felt back aches recently and my boobs suddenly start to hurt alot! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

apple, 1st preg actually quite smooth till 7th mth... i got no MS, no backache and not much hippcups.. can eat very well... i guess during the 3rd trimester, i got very stressed with work due to FY closing/shortage of manpower and handling over work tat my health suffered... lots of late nite snacking/OTs/stress, etc... to add on 32hrs of labour (actually shd hve choosen epidural earlier as it will relax me and makes delivery easier) but i guess after thru this, it makes me appreciate my child more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for this time round, hope to have "less hippcups" lor.. hope every mummies good health, pass GD test, feast 2nite and smooth delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, u take care too.. maybe can pop a pillow at the back and lie down to ease the backache [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

auroa, what was the condition for post ecclampsia and how was it diagnosed? so u were still hospitalised after delivery? sounds scary leh.

Auroa

Dun worry, am sure this time round - we all will be just fine. Just be moderate in all we do. And u must not over work tis time @ home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] OKie!

Nicole

Thanks for the info; where did u get this info from?

vv (yoyo_) : Welcome! Got it from a friend from her facebook [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Faith

I do experienced breathless at times if I walk too much or too fast... Try to slow down a bit when u work. Tum hard - I think normal ba. I touched mine, yeah - rather hard. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit, the symptoms tat i experience after delivery is tat I feel very light headed and can't stand strong lights (the hospital ceiling lights) and after looking at the lights, i'm experience tearing (with no reason) . My gynae objected to let me discharge and order blood test and results shows tat my readings is very low and need blood transfusion. Gynae said tat i'm suffering from post effects and i got 2 bags of blood transfusion (never know tat blood can be so cold when it flows into my body.. of course, those r flesh bloods after thaw). After tat, gynae monitor and after staying in hospital for 6 days (inclusive of delivery & labour), i was then discharged with my girl (she got jaundice and also can't go home... luckily got her to stay with me and i can continue to BF except for the nite tat i got blood transfusion tat i need to rest totally and gynae ordered no BF).

vv, ya, hope this time round will be smooth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] btw, can't locate u in FB. Email address correct?

Nicole

Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Any ways to know who are the partcipanting merchants this time?

Auroa

Correct leh, Apple also said cannot find. U PM me your email, I will add you.

We will walk this path together yeah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies - pls PM me your email add, then I add you all in FB.

Apple

I can locate you in FB but cannot add u leh. No button says Add As Friend. ???

Faith:- my tummy also hard most of the time, are u thin too?? Cos I no fats at my tummy that's why I feel my tummy hard hard de.. As for breathless I also experience everyday, sometimes while having my meals, when I just lie down on bed. Den I will take a few deep breathe, big and deep ones & it will be ok.

Vv:- I also can't find u in FB too><!

Can u add me instead?? =D

Mummies can add me at [email protected] =)

vv, PM u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me 2 also waiting for the taka fair.. arrugh, fair starts on 9 mar.. i got gynae appt on 3 mar... will hve to see when's the best time to go liao...

vv - have u added any mummies here in FB? Maybe I can click fr there..I can't locate u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Okok, let me add Kaykay in the night later yeah. Then I will PM u - Auroa & Apple [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any one has used Dr Brown Milk bottles before?

Auroa

Am thinking of getting Dr Brown this time round, wat u think? Haz, my gynae havent fix in March. I dun think mine will clash with gynae appt.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] So I gotta spare 1 day weekend to go. Or maybe weekday when am on leave. Mt E near to Taka wor.

vv, haven try Dr Brown bottle before... i bought it previously for a client before.. it feels like plastic to me leh... i only used NUK and pigeon bottles only... my gyane already gave me appt for march and april liao.. abit wasted to take leave to go esp leave so precious.. last time i used to sneak out when my boss is not ard and fster come back after tat... when no2 comes along, still need to take leave for injections leh.. maybe save yr leave and go on weekend bah...

vv, btw, the Dr Brown bottle not cheap either... it's selling $15 at kiddy palace..

vv - I'm using Dr Brown & Bfree for my #1 previously. Thru experience, Bfree is better quality compared to Dr Brown. U may want to consider.

Kaykay,im not slim i do have fats at tummy before pregnant. I feel that my tummy is going to burst super uncomfortable normally during late afternoon and evening my tummy will be super hard.

Auroa

I intend to take MC from GP when go visit gynae from next week visit onwards.. Heeheee...

Yeah lor, I know Dr Brown not cheap. Cos I thought if quality better and really can cure colic, at least can reduce crying in late nites, less stress for me & #1.

Apple

Wats the diff between BFree & Dr Brown? They under same manufacturer? How about colic wise? Which is better?

AARGGGHHHH!!!!!! Just found out I have diabetes today. So depressing!!! No more desserts and fast food for the rest of the pregnancy! As if being preggy is not 'xin koo' enough! BOO HOO!!!!

vv - the concept of both brands are the same. Bfree was pretty new to the market, maybe <10yrs but I find the plastic is better compared to Dr Brown. As of reducing colic, I think the middle tube works. U can get Bfree from Metro during 20% discount.

morning ladies~so stressed to come to work daily..how i wish my gynae can give me hospital leaves to let me rest at home..

iloveparis: Well, it's only for abt 2-3 more months... Jiayou! After that, you can have all the fastfood and dessert you want. =)

Morning dolly!

split: You ok? Not feeling too well?

vv, I'm using mainly NUK milk bottles (unless sold out by my neigbourhood shops, i will get pigeon bottles). The NUK milk bottles also can prevent colic but hor, my girl ganna colic when she was abt 2 weeeks old.. all thanks to my confinement lady. My girl sleeps with her at nite and i din monitor her for feeding my girl with FM (my girl is on BF for day and FM for nite, so tat i can rest/sleep). After my girl got colic (the cries is so scary), i begin to get up at nite to check on my girl and found out tat my CL tried to make her drink fast by pushing in and out of the milk bottles (my poor girl was gashing for air as she does it and to add on CL gave her 4oz of FM (wow, that's way too much for NB.. now wonder she tells me tat bb wakes up and drink twice at nite)... by doing tat will induce wind to her tummy (i think she wants to faster feed and go back to sleep)... i asked my CL wat is she doing it and she replied me tat she's feeding my girl milk (of course, a dummy question/answer). Later on, i took over in feeding my girl and it took one week for the colic to go away... i guess gettting a good bottle helps but the person feeding must be caring/good too.

Good morning..

split - why not u get some HL from your gynae to rest at home? feeling stress may not be too good for your condition since u just discharged.

iloveparis, sorry to hear tat... ya, got to control the diet strictly otherwise might need to inject insulin.

Does yr gynae or the nutientist's clinic hve any discount for purchasing the blood gluocse test monitor and the test strips? Previously the nutientist's clinic offered me a package by purchasing the test strips, i will get the blood glucose monitor for free (i bought it at Mount Alveria abt 3 yrs back).

You might want to check with the clinic or alternatively can see whether any1 selling the test strips (SMH forum or ebay)... remember to check the expiry dates(not advisable to get 2nd hand monitor as got the needles (dun reuse the needles leh)... not sure pharmacy got sell separtely too... if they have, can save alot bah...

Dun worry abt it, as long as yr diet is maintain well for the next 2 or 3 mths (yr doc will be going thru with u on yr diet plan), it will be fine. Normally doc will ask u to come back annually to check on yr sugar levels too (bcos after women tends to have abt 20% higher chances of getting it in later life when they hve GDs during preg)... in a way, it's good as u r ensure tat u r in safe hands.. take care

morning ladies. yest went for lou hei and aft tt too bz with wk to catch up with the posts here. how was vday yest? =)

kaykay,

its normal for the tum tum to be hard at this stage. wats ur height n weight?

vv,

i also v tempted to ask my gynae for mc...coz i feels v tired and nowadays get backache easily. cant wait for my hb to be back then can go swimming...

i also realised my calfs seem to be bigger in size. mayb coz of the increase in weight that the legs got to support us thus more muscular! hahaha.

iloveparis,

is ur GD? it sld go away aft delivery so just hang on n avoid sugary stuffs for the moment.

Auroa - I think CL wanna zz more that's y giving more FM to the NB so that your girl can sleep a lil longer! sigh..

That's y I took the pain of doing night feeding direct latching and pumping during my #1. And I realised I do not require CL at all..hehe so this time round, I'll not engage CL anymore.

actually dont feel too gd lately, keep having tummyache like wanna shit that kind of pain..especially when i woke up in the morning..when i walk around i alway have the feel im gonna pee..i think maybe baby position too low..anyway im going to kkh for review this thursday..was kind of disappointed that my gynae cant do much..hopefully i can get some answers from kkh..my gynae was telling me if i feel contaction again i just go kkh straight and dont need to inform him..guess he cant help me too much if i gonna have pre-mature labour now..