(2011/05) May 2011

Apple

Yeah pasir ris has some light showers and guess it stopped liao when I left office. Hope u are ok. Yes, so happy that finally got accepted by the school. Hope he will adapt well.

Auroa

Wah, really sounds scary leh. Haz. Seems like really gotta be careful on what we consume now esp coming to 3rd trimester. I didnt know it could be worst if kena GD. Hope u will pass the GD too, and myself too.

Will submit the withdrawal letter by next Wed after I register my boy on Tue (since after my GD visit).

Yeah, how come tum can be so low hor...I can even feel some spasm feeling just near the pelvic area there, as if bb moving there..

Thanks for the links [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will check them out!

vv,

yeah, u need give one mth notice to ur current cc then start the new one. Then prob will be in Apr. But hor dun know if ur boy need time to adjsut to the new environment or not? Think some kids change school, it will be like new start then they cry, etc. So prob u need to be prepared.

Auroa,vv, val,

hopefully tomolo her eyes will be back normal cos it is her birthday!!! wish tat her eyes look nice nice!!! haha... my mum will not do confinement for me tis time round... cos she had operation on her heart n knee so it is quite tiring for her to take care n climb up and down the stairs in my house... actually still considering whether to do confinement tis time round anot... cos my neighbour seem to be doing fine without confinement n maid for her 2 pregnancy... if wan to do maybe just ask my mum to cum n teach my maid cook for the 1st few days den after tat ask my maid to cook for me loh... i still let my gal eat the gummies bears when she is sick leh... i tout the gummies bear got alot of vit c inside can help them to recover faster???

during my 1st pregnancy, i oso drink a can of coke before i went for my checkup... den my gynae said my urine got abit sugar... but he never ask me to do any test leh... after tis, my hubby band me from drinking high sugar drink... until now when i wan to drink coke, he still remind me of the risk... haha... got to hide from him when wan to drink... hehe... me oso have been eating fast food until my hubby put a stop to it... he told me no more fast food for me... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dolly,

better dun bring ur gal to cc for the time being... lungs full of phlegm is no joke... my gal kana before... got high fever during 2009 xmas... doc said is bronchitis and lots of phlegm... after tat tout recover oredi but jan high fever again... doc heard diff sound between both the lungs n confirmed it is pneumonia. she got hospitalised n kana poked by the doc there more than 20 times just to get the needle in her veins for IV... my hubby said she cried until her heartbeats very fast... like double the normal... imagine how my heart breaks... so it is best to keep her at home until she really fully recovers... now i always ask the doc to make sure tat both her lungs are clear...

swollen leg: so far me quite lucky, didn't experience leg cramp or swollen for my 1st pregnancy and now... *touchwood*

vv,

congratz!!! me oso on the waiting list for the cc near my house... been waiting since last year... hope she can be shortlisted before i give birth...

Dolly,

For my boy, he oso had a lot of phlegm when he is sick a couple of months back, veri scary coz he dun wan to eat or drink. When he drink milk, he will puke. But when he puke, the phlegm will come out too then he feel better. U got to try let her drink more water and the medicine, gotta take till recover plus one or two more days to ensure all the phelgm goes away.

U may wan try chinese medicine for ur gal? My friend recommend the 'hou zhao san' from Eu Yan Sang, u can go ask the shop, say u wan to buy the pure one for cough and phelgm. I have let my boy tried for 2 times, seems good. It is supposed to help dissolve the phelgm and the phelgm may be expelled thru their poo. But it is not cheap, should be about S$60- S$70 for one dose(i ask my friend get from HK which is cheaper) But it is quite bitter so some kids may not wan to take.

Dolly hope ur ger is feeling better. Cos fever peaks usually at night when they sleep. Cos body nt in motion n heat can acculmulate quite fast. If its viral i will come n go for a few dsys monitor. N check if she is in pain anywhere cos teething may also cause fever. Take care.

Vv: i am doing my GD test now. Tell u the exact procedure here.

Instruction was to fast from 12 midnight onwards no food n drinks.

8.30am arrived at lab. Gave first sample of sample of urine. technician then took first vial of blood from left arm. Made to drink a approx 125ml bottle of orange flavoured glucose drink. Its damn yuck cos very sweet. U need to drink fast if not results not accurate. But if u think u will gag slow down cos u need to keep the liquid in if u throw up u have to drink again. So go steady on tis.

9.40am collect a sample of urine. This Pt they will draw 2nd vial of blood. She drew from my right hand now.

10.40am - collect 3rd sample of urine. N draw 3rd vial if blood. After tat can wait for results to be out n u go see gynae.

Its a damn ling process so bring books, ur iphone gadgets, newspaper etc to pass time. My bum already hurting from the prolong sitting at the lab.

Hungry n nauseaus now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Auroa i think ur PIL very irresponsible leh. If they visted ur SIL kuds with hfmd they should not come over ur side. Very easy to pass the virus. My ger also krna before, my SIL got it n passed to her from adult to child n in the end had to hospitalize her cos scared of dehydration. She stsyed in hospital for 4 days n doc gave her n ice cream every meal to make her eat.

Swollen legs

Cut down on salt intake. May be too much salt n try n keep legs elavated if possible. Can also wear the special legs socks to prevent swelling.

I am going to pee in bottle n draw my last vial of blood now. Sigh

Vivian is your doc's concern? How heavy is your bb at 27 weeks?

Morning mummies, nt feeling well these few days,

Trying to catch up with the post ytd & today, hahas.

Tummy:- I also have kicks at my lower abdomen now & tummy area, make me wonder hw come the kicks r so low when its supposed that our uterus shld be expanding up.

I suspect that I might be in labour soon loh (like think too much).. Nowadays keep having stomache & bowel movements like loose likedat.. 3days ago I poop 4times in a day. Ytd worse, I 'laosai'!! Keep having contactions on & off, braxton hicks gt so frequent now?? My braxton hicks came when I was 20weeks, which my nurse friend says its pretty early to experience..

Worse, last night I can't finish my dinner & had gastric pain & abdomen pain on the left side that I went in bed to rest. Rest 30mins continue eating, pain again, totally can't eat. Eat =pain.. HELP!! Isit gastric pain attack or what.. Really scare pre-mature labour..=(

Kay kay if u have very regular contractions need to go hospital immediately. Is the contractions painful? Could also be BH anyway i think why dun u go vist ur doc just to be sure. At least they cwn check n make sure all is ok.

Starfruit:- I didn't go becos its nt regular, but its abt once or twice every hour.. I am just afraid its food poisoning or 'mang chang yen'.. Isit possible to have mang chang yen at the time of our preg..? My baby keep fliping & tossing in my tummy now like super active & I dunno what to do.. Once I eat, the food go into my stomach, the pain come.. If this persist till tonight dinner I think I need to go kkh to check up alrd..

Our baby wun come out so early right?? I am so worried.. Cos now only 27weeks only.. Baby can survive outside womb le mehx..?

Btw, if rice is high in carbo, can we take it every meal?? Cos my meal everyday the same, morning yellow noodles (fishball noodles), lunch is rice+soup+fish meat veg (like norm house-cook meals), at night I also eat same as dinner.. Is this diet right??

Too much rice daily will affect mahs??

Who can share her diet meal with me for reference.. Cos my grandma everyday cook the same rice+dishes..

Kaykay if u're having menses like cramp regularly better go hospital or contact ur gynae I just discharge ytd due to contraction every 2min and early sign of labour lucky they manage to stop it if not the bill will be scary was told by kk the bill can be as high as 38k plus plus

Kaykay FYI bb might be able to survive but will need to stay in nicu for almost 3mths and the bill is stressful andscary I'm so worried that day when my gynae told me the cost

Split:- so are u ok now?? Urs seems serious.. What did ur gynae say? Managed to stop as in?? U alrd gt early sign of labour ahh?? I also scare cos my husband also once a pre-mature baby 7months++ come out liao.. I am also aware that the hospital billss.. Omg.. The cost..

Seriously I dunno hw it feels for the REAL contraction pain.. Nt menses kind of pain den is what?? My mum told me its like stomache.. But mine as like gastric pain, only at the left side.. Not whole tummy.. Braxton hicks more frequent now but only leave me breathless without pain.. I now can only monitor closely..becos I find it abit kiasu if I tell doc I suspecting labour coming.. Scare false alarm..

Is menses kind of pain but slightly more painful now I oki le think I too stress le.. And is very constant one like every few mins timing are almost the same stop come back stop come back. Anyway play safe once u feel not rite just call ur gynae will be better

kaykay,

me too have frequent gastric pain during my 1st pregnancy... actually i give birth to my gal due to gastric pain... i was at my 37 weeks den suddenly i have tis pain tat spread thru my tummy... tout it was contraction at 1st den rush to hospital but my gynae said it is not leh... but he said since my bb cannot turn head down oredi so might as well just c-section... if not my gastric pain will keep cuming back cos the bb weight is pressing on to the intestines... so though tis is my second pregnancy, me still dun noe how is contraction like... haha...

split,

glad tat u r ok now... take care!!!

Yaer / bbpooh / starfruit : my girl's fever subside le... Now left her phlegm... She's on antibiotic.. Will monitor her after she complete the course...

Hi all got my GD results yesterday. All clear as expected cos i know i dun have this problem. Anyway glad its over. Weight gain 1kg n bb is 883gms at 25 weeks now.

Split.. Glad to hear u are feeling better..

Kaykay... Better do DR if the problem persist..

I went for visit yesterday.. Am @ 25weeks now.. After hearing u all discuss abt GD test..it sounds kinda scary.. Gynae said i dont need to take the test...

Weight Gain is around 1kg too.. BB around 700+gms..

By the way...how does contraction feels like?

Ash:- I heard panadol better not take, paracetamol which can be taken..

Elbarc:- what is DR? I today 'laosai' 2nd time liaO.. =(

Real labour contraction I dunno, maybe u can ask the more experience mummies here hahas!! Braxton hicks contraction is like hardening/tightening of our uterus, belly suddenly hardens and it only last for less den a min, its shouldn't be regular btw..

Starfruit:- gratez on ur GD test result!!

does everyone need to do GD test? my gynae never do for me, i only did urine test for every visit, during my last visit, my gynae commented my baby is oversized, then i came to know that i'm at higher risk of getting GD, and i'm quite worried now, do i need to request my gynae to do a GD test for me?

Morning and Happy V day everyone!!! anyone going for romantic dinner with the hb tonight?

mei, actually GD test is not compulsory, i was made to go through the GD test for #1 and #2 cos of the following. For #1, cos i had sudden weight gain in 3rd trimester and to play safe, doc ask me to go. For #2, my dad is diabetic and Doc say since i have family history of it, recommended for me to go and test. so i just went. If u are ok and u and bb not gaining a lot of weight suddenly then u can opt out of the test. GD can led to sudden weight gain for BB, whic is not good.

Good morning mummies & Happy Valentine's Day!!

starfruit - good news to u, at least the test will have a peace of mind for u when u wanna munch on cookies & ice cream..hehe

Morning All Mommies!

Starfruit

Congrats! So happy for u. Now tomorrow is my turn. I didnt have GD during my #1. But again, I heard alot of mommies said its hard to say. Haz. I dunno why this time my gynae scheduled me for GD cos I didnt have this test during #1. Perhaps I gained 3 kg within a month and yet bb not over-sized? So could it cos of this 3 kg weight gain?

I had been cautious of the foods I ate these few days. Kept drinking alot of water to flush whatever needs to be.. Heeheee..

Dolly

Nice to hear your gal recovering. Must monitor her. Is she attending school today?

Kaykay

I also have some hardening few weeks ago. Quite painful in fact. But recently, the hardening got a little mild but still come n go. I read about the difference between Braxton & real labour. So far, as long as the hardening/pain is not on-going and just goes off, irregular, we are fine. Have your gynae do a check on your cervix & all on yr next visit. Cos my gynae did a V scan even though after tum scan. She commented my uterus has a good length, cervix closed and placenta behind, so she assured me not to worry.

Elbarc

Our babies are at the almost same weight @ 25 weeks ie 700+ grams. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple

Hahahaaa, Im refraining myself from all these recently cos of tomorrow's GD. So sad. I felt so deprived. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Split

How are you today?

Vv:- thks so much for the info.. But mine more like gastric pain & I 'laosai' these few days. I will ask my gynae to check for my cervix & placenta on my next visit on my 30th week. =)

vv: All the best for yours, i am sure u will pass too. Actually i was still bingeing the night before, had a whole basket of fries, hokkien mee and coke.. hahah but true lah, flush it off with lots of water. And I was so hungry while doing the test but cant eat. So hang in there, it will be ok. Some docs are more cautious, so they will ask u to go for it. Some no need. anyway the test is not expensive, i only may $32 or was it $20 plus for it.

apple, my gynae still ask me to take note and dun over consume the high carbo and sweet stuff.. hahaha

kaykay: thanks!

Morning Val

Eh yesterday I try to wear one of the leggings I bot from New Look; ended up cannot fit anymore! Then I looked at my feet, gosh they dun look swelling but it looks as though slightly fat le. And my calf also bigger. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Starfruit

Wow! Really arh! It made me rest my mind much better! Im still thinking later to eat sth light for lunch. Today breakfast, I only had wholemeal bread w/butter and few pieces of normal square butter crackers. And drank plain warm water.

Kaykay

Im sure u are fine. Sometimes I also poo twice. Mine is not LS but more like slightly harder stools but still manageable. I do have a little slight bleeding at the anus area cos of the slight-hard stool lor. But I didnt care la, I just applied some cream, now bit better.

vv : yeah... we have brought her to school.. but her cough/phelgm and running nose not yet recover.. my hb's still on few days leave to monitor her condition.. my hb just update me that she's still cried when he left her there... oh yeah... her teacher also told us that they have left a communication book for her too...

btw, does your maid intend to stay? i've sound my maid and she's intend to stay but have to make a trip back home 1st...

yesterday, i've my pre-natal massage.. my massage lady told me that i'm starting to swell both my limbs & hands le...

starfruit,

congras on passing ur GD test =)

vv,

hope u will pass ur GD tml too. these 2 days must watch ur diet =P

hahaha. Dun worry babe, i am sure u will fit in the leggings aft delivery. nw we are either at tri 3 or nearing it le so i think we may balloon in size ba thus cant fit in. I also cant fit into some of my hm clothes (normal raneg nt maternity) anymore.

heloooo everyone,

how's everybody doing? good?...i hvn login for d longest time...sooo bzzzz...& again no time to archives...hai.....so siann.....

went for scan last sat...gynae say my bb is fat...wgt is vvv heavy...omg...

ask me not to take too much sweet stuff...i hvn been eating any ice cream, choco & so on...except for pineapple tarts during cny...hai...no more fresh fruit juice...hv to take fresh cut fruits...more sian....

Dolly

Yeah, running nose & phlegm very hard to cover 100%, will take a few weeks. Am sure she will pass this stage very soon de. I can undstd how u felt. Dun worry yeah, can see you & yr hubby ok liao, glad to see that too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Surely she will cry esp now she is not feeling well. Gotta talk to her more when u guys are walking her to school. Encourage her to talk abt the school, made her like the school. Maybe very soon, she will get adapted to the school leh. My boy is slower, took a year plus to adapt.

Yeah, I just asked my maid last weekend. I told her I will increase her pay la if she wanna extend. Then hor, told her not to worry abt looking after baby (at about 4-5mths old de) cos I will train her. She looks a bit terrified lor. Haz, I dun harbour much hopes she will stay. I told her to give me an answer this week because I want her to think carefully; I will allow her to end contract early like in March if she dun wan to extend and I will not be angry. But if she wanna extend, will be till next Year Nov. Told her cannot play-play with me. She said ok. Will keep me posted these few days. Then she wanna call home tonight, I guess she wanna asks for advice from family or frens ba. Haz. U know, Indo maids pay increase to $450 le leh! Like tat, I may get Phil maids (if she dun wan stay) cos my fren got one @ $350 like tat. So far so good like tat. Haz. What do u think?

Oh yeah lor, mine body seems like a balloon nowadays.

Val

Yeap. Will take at least 6mths to regain back. Hows yr bb movements nowadays? Still very low?

Mudpie

Long time no see u! How are you?

Heeeeheeeee, must cut down on sweet stuff ok. Me now totally cut for these few days. Kept flooding myself with water.

Val: thanks. relief that its over.

Dolly, just give her more fluid and cont the antibiotics. She should be fine in a few days time.

Kaykay, i also have very smooth bowel movement for this pregnancy., During my #1's days, i suffer badly from constipation but this time, quite smooth and sometimes, i have loose stools too. My doc say no cause for concern so u dun worry too much too. cos each pregnancy is different.

VV: actually i forgot i needed to go GD, if not, i think i would also be more cautious of my food intake.. haha but good to also keep a lighter diet these few days leading to your test.

mudppie,

hw heavy is ur babby?

vv,

6mths ok la. sounds reasonable. mayb this time may take a shorter time coz we will be bz with 2 kids instead of 1! hahaha.

ya. my gal's movements still relatively low le. highest also ard belly button level tat area.

tell u something v funi. last fri was probably the first time we (my boy and I) seen waves on my tummy. When my boy witnessed it, he find it so amazing and we ended up laffing. hehehe. then he showed me how meimei moved by making waves on his tummy. hehehe. i find it so cute lo. =P

mudpie : welcome back..

vv / starfruit : want her to drink more plain water but refused.. so gave her drink some prune juice..

vv : am searching for some renewal terms/contract for my maid... to safeguard both parties if she's going to stay...

vv, im back to work today..maybe will be telling my boss to faster get me a replacement..feeling so stressful here and my admin girl is forevery taking mc and no pay leave..she ask if i coming back today and once i told her im back to work she said she need to take no pay leave..im already overloaded with works and need to do her chores too since she's away..quite frustrating..worst been telling my boss abt it and all he did was to talk to her NICELY once..and thats it..she used up all he annual leave within 3 mths from the beginning of the yr and start taking mc..now her mc only left 1 day and she start to take npl..is like 3 or 4 days of mc a mth plus no pay leave..

yoyo,

u mean flush more water i can take sweet stuff...hehehe...

actually...i didnt take any ice cream & choco or cakes for the last 3 mths leh...d only food i can tink of is pineapple tarts & d shrimp & pork floss springroll tat i feast during cny tat week...other than tat...only fresh fruit juice on wkdays..but not everyday leh....

so u mean...take more plain water wil help to flush out such??

Val, bb 860gm at wk25, then gynae say...bb stomach abit fatter than normal...but not very fat...jus a little...but he say...wah...norm bb wgt is abt 700gm nia...omg....