(2011/05) May 2011

xris, still got the sugar/gulcose test to take ard 7th mths (but got some gynae dun do this test), swopping of the virginal to check whether got bacteria infection (can't remember what's the test name)...it's supposed to check whether got infection so that when bb comes out, it will not get it and it's done when near to yr edd date... normal test will be the monthly urine test strips to check on sugar, BP checks and weight checks liao... from 6th mths onwards, got to be careful on sugar/carbo intake.. that's the time tat we "relax" and easy to "strike" GD..

All talking about bb weight. I'm a lil scare now coz my tum looks quite compact but my bb weight 493kg during my detailed scan on Mon. The gynae mentioned normal & good size...hmmm

Ok nvm..I gonna see my gynae this Sat..shall bring the report back to him to review.

wayne, i went for the fox sale at tampines.. majority toddlers clothing.. din see much of bb stuff... me only wants to buy 2 sets of bb boy clothings for discharge and full mth... the rest intend to use my no1 clothing... got to save abit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple, could be tat u expecting a boy that's why the weight is higher... i told my gynae that my tummy is getting bigger and i look like abt 7th mth liao.. he commented that it's good and it shows bb is healthy and growing well..

Dolly

Wow, u delivered early during your #1. But bb weight was a good weight :)

Wayne

Ya lo.. I took too many unpaid last time too cos exceeds my paid leave. Heehee

bbpooh

Yes, I heard TCM is rather good to bu our lil ones' immune system. Dun worry yeah, your boy will pass thru this stage very fast too.

I think they can drink a bit of barley and chrysanthemum. I usually cook and add into his milk last time. Now my boy refused to drink so I will buy those bottled type (cooked by the med hall) from Chinese Med Hall.. So when my boy see the bottles, he curious ma, so he will drink.

Auroa

Thanks so much for the info. I think I will start to take a bit of Black Chic soup. I was just worried if it will be too "bu" a not... But guess should be fine now since we are in our 2nd trimester liao? Okok, u PM me the recipe ok ;-) Thanks so much!

Wow, yr chinese sinseh is rather far leh. But impt is good la. Then worth the travelling distance. So this time round, are your bowels better now?

Your girl so cute, how come she will think its frog leg soup? Issit cos of the meat color?

Talk about frog leg soup, I feel like eating frog leg porridge leh. Can we eat actually?

Apple

Actually yr bb size at 493kg is ok ma. That shows yr lil ones can hide very well in your tum. Heehee... Thanks eh, Apple. I was really so scared at 1st and couldnt sleep well last nite. Yea, will start to cook black chicken soup.

bbpooh : can let him drink barley, it'll be best than other "liang" stuff...

wayne / vv : ya lor, didn't expect her to be so "big"... when i was @ 35 weeks, she already weigh 3kg le... can't imagine after 2 weeks, she has put on 315gm..

Auroa - I can only see the bb got round head & big stomach..that's y it contributes to the major weight..haha Dr TC Chang plot the graph and it falls on normal range, so nothing major ba.

Like u said, probably boy..that's y heavier. Anyway I expect heavy bb..coz my gal borned 4kg+

vv - Good & bad! good means bb can hide very well, bad means I got lots of spare space before preg :p anyway bb already head down..now I can feel his strong kicks over my right side on upper tum.

Starfruit, you managed to buy the ikea changing table? i went on Tues and it was all sold out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Check with you gals, maternity pads are those that we normally use during our period or there are special ones taht we need to get?

Lunch is coming!! Feel like eating curry noodle but stomach feels abit unwell leh..hmm..

morning mummies ...

welcome back, Alicia, Novi & elbarc

congrats to mummies who went for the details scan n know the gender ...

Re: detaisl scan

sonographer didnt tell me the weight of bb ... so dont know bb big or small ... my tummy stil not big ... jus hope bb is healthy n strong ...

xris, i also got tat set from nissen .. as we do not wan to know the gender, we got the yellow one ... my SIL getting, so i tag along to get the yellow one.. very cheap ...

RE: nb stuff

i hv not start to get anything yet ... alot of cousin giving me alot of bb clothing ... think will jus get things i need to use ... mayb at john little expo fair or next bb fair ...

bunny : in fact, when we were at the hospi... they provide us the normal pad for nite use, but use 2 pcs instead of one.. so not necessary to buy maternity pad...

Tis round, my tum is big as compared to #1, my hubby keep commenting if am i sure i am only 22wks pregnant?

Haiz..

But still as usual.. no seats on MRT lo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Auroa, how about cotton on kids. i bought a cute tee from there for #2 full month..and it is the same tee as Gor gor, so they will be wearing the same.

As I cannot take chicken, my mum is brewing black bean soup for me to take..say will bu the blood and is good for us.

Alicia, my tummy also very big liao..all thot I am due soon, same no seat on mrt..all either act sleeping or play with their phone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

vv, will PM u the receipe later... not sure whether can eat frog's leg but i'm also craving for it... i told my girl maybe this sat we go loyang point supermarket to buy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i scopped the black chicken to show her what's inside the cooking pot and she commented that it's frog... even i told her it's black chicken soup, she can replied and said: Oh, it's chicken frog soup... my bowls are moving everyday liao... previously a few days dun poos really very xin ku.. like feeling bloated and lots of gas inside... arrugh...

apple, yr no1 big leh... maybe tat's why no2 follows [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] lots of pp said bb easy to take care as easy to carry unlike small bbs.. more fragile.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] btw, mine also head's down liao but i think position might change again

bunnymum, maternity pads are different fr what we normal use... think supermarkets got sell it... look out for the words written "maternity pads".. get abt 1 or 2 pkts will do... i only used it during hospital stay (which bloods flows is alot) and after discharge, can use back our normal pads liao (but also depends how much flow u hve lah)... anyway, the hospital will give u the maternity pads (chargable) after delivery to use..

ling, try not to buy too much bb clothing as bb will outgrow it very fast.. got hands me down will be good.. can buy a few pics to doll up when going out/celebrations.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

auroa, heehee, i only get the set from nissen, the rest waiting for hand me down ... saving alot ...

RE: MRT Seats

yes, nowadays pple r not giving up their seats ... i hate to take mrt bcos me plus size n tummy stil dont look like pregnant... got no seats .. stand all the way ... haiz ...

I have collected travel letter fr my gynae..asked mi dun eat roadside food..1patient got diarrhoea..

Ate 2 days med,now ok Liao..

Re: baby size

My boy is heavy too..482g @21w1d..my tummy quite big..can't hide despite 1st preg..weight does not really matter..must b healthy..weight will add on in 3rd tri.. Dun worry.. I did ask my gynae tt issit bcos I m big size baby..my boy is also big..he said most likely..

Re:baby fair

Taka fair is in mar..by then I dun think I will go..heavy n crowded..I have bought most of e stuff..short of bathing stuff..baby clothing have not wash..hee..

Re:baby movement/kick

Not very strong n not frequent..think most of e time sleeping..a bit stubborn..I turn left,he respond mi by banging on e left..I move right..he bang on e right..I gave up n woke up..

Auroa

Your lil girl so cute! Heeheee... Yeah, I think if I scoop and let my boy see, he wun wan to drink anymore. So I wont let him see the contents. Heehee. Thanks and Pm me once u avail. :)

Auroa/Apple

Wow, your babies fast, so good head down liao. Im actually already mentally prepared for Induce cos my #1 is via induce. I would expect #2 to be same too. And also, my boy at the very last min then turn the head down when I was already scheduled for C-Sect due to breech position. Hahaaa... so i assume same for this #2. Hope I dun need to go for C-Sect.

Ling

Yeah, dun buy too many bb clothes. Very fast outgrow. At times, u may even forget to let your bb wear. Like my #1, only wear once ot twice nia last time.

Serene

Be safe yeah during your trip. When u gonna leave SG?

Taka Fair - for the past years, I always reach there by 0945am to wait for it to open. And I usually go on the 3rd or 4th day. Cos some of the stocks may not come in so fast. And when u go early in the morning, not many people. Estimated shopping time about an hour should be ok. Paying up @ cashier needs to Q but short Q when early morning. So u can consider going early cos there are a lot of good grabs @ Taka Fair.

Think i post the black chicken soup reciep here.. just in case more mummies interested... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dried Scallop and Chicken Soup (extraced fr Double-Stewed Soup book)

Ingredients:

1 black skinned chicken (remove skin)

200g lean meat

10 red dates

2 dried scallops

2 tbsp wolfberries

5 slices ginger

50g dried longan

Seasonings

To taste - sea salt and pepper

Method:

1. Scald Chicken in boiling water for 10 mins, remove & rinse w water

2. Boil 4 litres of water in a pot, add in all ingredients, bring to boil.

3. Turn to lo heat and cook for 5 hrs, stir in seasonings and serve hot.

PS: Soak the dried scallops in hot water until they soften before adding to soup to enhance the flavour.

If u got a good cooking pot, like pressure cooker pot, no need to cook for 5 hrs lah... i only boil the soup abt 1 hrs + can drink liao..remember not to put on high heat for too long, otherwise the meat will be hard... i din put in salt too... most impt is to drink the soup.. if full liao, forgo the meat as soup is most nourishing..

Mummies, pls remember not to drink this soup often hor as it's very sweet as got wolfberries and longan which will bring up the sugar level (ingredients can be adjusted to own preferences)... maybe take abt every 2 weeks will do...

Another nourishing soup is the chicken with bird nest soup which i drank for no1.. very nourishing and high proten level.... for mummies who are in 2nd trimester onwards..

Buy whole chicken (kampong best), rub it with salt and clean the internal and stuff it w bird nest & put in slow coooker to cook... u will get tender chicken with bird nest to feast on... yummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wayne, the cotton on near my house dun hve children section leh... went to the orchard branch also dun hve... will hve to search for it again... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Serene, when u going on trip? ya, better dun take roadside food.. diahorra during trip no fun esp now pregnant.. take care [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv, ya, better dun let him see the chicken.. bcos i cut away the head... my girl was looking at it oddly and wondering what's tat w/o head... hope i dun end up in c-section too.. heads down no fun leh.. bb kept on kicking the lower side and i need to go toilet frequently to pee and hor, even siting down, i can feel bb kicking for me to get up.. maybe no space lor...

bb size, when i did my detailed scan at end dec, my bb is about 400g, which is a good size according to the sonography. My #1 is induced as he is overdue as i hope #2 will not need, so tiring, have to wait and wait and wait.

vv, 2kg in 3 weeks sounds ok. i'm starting to gain 1kg a week. but i'm not too worried, because i lost quite a bit of weight during 1st tri. so now i'm accumulating the weight, and hopefully some transfer to baby.

Auroa/apple,

So fast baby turn down?I tot 7mth onwards..very scare c section..

Auroa n Vv,

Going on mon n tues evenin back..my hubby go there for work..ask mi along..my objective is to eat lok lok..look like a bit hard Liao..see can buy anything for my boy..

bbpoonfamily, i gave the soup to my girl to drink but my girl got allegy to dried scallops (1st took on abt 15mths and got rashes ard her neck, stopped taking it till last mth took again got rashes on her legs) so i dun put it now in my soup... my family got food allegy history so i guess she takes after my side...

Auroa - head down means legs up wat..how come bb kicking at the buttom? My bb kick upper tum right side, can see very obvious now.

vv - for me I don't mind big bb coz I'm going thru c-sec. I agreed with Auroa, it is easier to handle big bb especially NB.

Serene, I think bb will still move. My gal also turned around 22wk+ but eventually she turned back at 30wk plus cross legs! faint..so I went thru c-sec..haha

apple, i think my bb turning all around... the kicks feels like legs kicking but cld be hands bah... the "kicks" all at the bottom and making me uncomfortable...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

auroa, tks for the recipe ... yummy ...

going to prepare the soup tonight ...

RE: bb kicks...

so far all my kicks felt at bottom of tummy ... no other parts ... mayb the walls around the tummy too thick liao ... like hubby say, 防弹衣太厚了... hahhaa

I just experienced some bleeding (abt half palm size) but seemed to have stop now.

Should I be worried?

My gynae said only if bleeding fills up a pad then i need to go see her.

Anyone experienced this b4?

ilovepairs, think u better call yr gynae's clinic now... any pain? bleeding is not good as it might be signs of miscarriage... so far i only hve light spotting... my gynae said once bleeding and bright red is to call clinic immediately..

Iloveparis

I think u better call gynae and see if u can see him/her now.

Auroa

Thanks for sharing your recipe. I had jot down all the detail liao. :) Yeah, I dun think will let him see the 'cooked chicken' since its black somemore... That time, I showed him half chicken and even prawns, he like blur blur look at it. That look on his face rather cute though.

I always feel my bb tickling me at the very bottom of my abdomen, very very low...

Apple

I heard cross leg babies are all very smart de!! Heehee... They call sth like "guan yin sitting posture" like tat. U will see a "ZHUANG YUAN" Daughter very soon hoh for your #1.

Serene

Rem not to walk too much yeah. If possible, take rests in between. My back starts to hurt too if I walk too much.

Winnedy

Thanks so much for the link.. Much assuring. The thing is; my EDD is being pushed from 09May to 18May. Tats the reason why am more worried at first. Got pple EDD pushed to later date till so late ma?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cham... very very sleepy nowadays after every lunch

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/yawn.gif]

Hi iloveparis, please go to your gynae ASAP, bleeding at any stage is scary. Mine happened on week 8, I was put on bed rest for 2 weeks.

iloveparis, so long is bright red, must see gynae immed. I a bit spotting nia, gynae already ask me to bed rest, injection and put on duphaston.

iloveparis, pls dun wait till u soak the whole pad then see yr gynae... it's very dangerous if it's starts to bleed heavily...

i bgt the nissen set as well as some other items too.. to make up for JPY3000.. hope the set wont turn out too small... i bgt one online b4... sooo tiny.. like for dolls..haha..

Btw.. for those who ordered from Nissen.. will they email u the tracking number? Any more interesting sites to visit =)

VV : Agree.. Yawnz.. & its raining now.. make it worst...haha

vv,

ya, sound strange also. tot only plus minus a couple of days only..

anyway, it will pop when its time to pop... meanwhile dun think too much and stress the baby. Be happy and have a happy baby!

Wayne: my appt is 9:15 or 9:30am, need to check my appt card again.

vv, no need to specificaly take black chicken soup, reg chicken can already, just boil in soup and u take just the soup, it very nourishing for preggy.

my ger was 3.105kg when born, full term at 40 weeks, i am aiming to boast this #2 to 3KG too.

It was a controlled weight gain for #1 and she cant be bigger than 3kg as i have a narrow pelvic opening. if not, i will need to go for emergency c-sect, so throughout the last trimester, gynae and me kept checking and checking.

Dolly, ur #1 is a very good size at birth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunnymum, i bought the changing table on tues at Ikea alexandra, which IKEA did u go to? are we talking about the same changing table are you aiming at.

for the maternity pads, get the special maternity ones, u can get from Kiddy palace or Mothecare, these are thicker and longer, u need cos u need it to cushion your stiches, the normal ones, not that helpful, i think at least gfor the 1st week, i need the maternity ones, after that i will switch to normal night ones. Hispital will provide one pack, i took extra 2 packs the last time, finished all up as i changed very often.

dolly, what i used up a pack + my own when i was in hospital, cos i think i was bleeding quite a bit after delivery. the lochia i mean.

Any of you have the black line showing on your tummy liao..the linear nigra, I think..so far I only see a very very faint line from bottom till belly button.

My baby kicking is still very gentle also, now at 20 weeks...usually at the bottom near pelvic area.

Morning mummies..

Just woke up, cannot 'tahan', flu & cold chasing me whole night, can't sleep thru..the weather so bad..

Maybe my FIL says he gonna bring me see doc..~_~ OMG..

Btw, congratez to the mummies who went for detailed scan & know the gender..

starfruit,

thanks for the advice. Oh, i went to Ikea Tamp instead. It was so quickly snapped up. I wanted the brown changing table. Not sure if it is the same though.

Wayne's mummy - i have the linear nigra already - faint line and hairy tummy. ;p my belly button also started swelling. i got abit of shock when i saw it last week. It was quite itchy and pain at times. I try not to touch it cos it's quite uncomfortable feeling.