(2011/05) May 2011

Joycep:

You mean we can feel it if baby is burping inside us?

Hannah:

Every month when I visit my gynae, they will give me a stick to pee on to test glucose and protein in my urine....does that count as glucose test or they make you take a more detailed blood test?

Val

My boy has a very sweet tooth. When I was expecting him, I also crave for extremely sweet stuffs. And thats why when I hit almost 6mths, my fingers/feet start to swell. Haz, tis time round I dun dare liao.. Trying to curb.

Joycep

I dunno about baby burps eh. I thought we wont be able to hear our baby burps so early de leh. I think it should be baby kicks la. How do u find the kicks? Hard or ticklish?

iloveparis,

thanks for the list! when try out aft i delivered. whahaha.

re: baby burping

yes, we can feel baby burping but i think burping is more consistent over a short period of time while kicks n punches arent?

vv,

for my boy, i actually have a sweet tooth when expecting him le...everyday i must have 1 bar of kitkat lo. hahaha. and mayb coz of the sweet stuffs, thus my huge weight gain but surprising he dun have a sweet tooth, he dun take sweets n chocs as snacks. even if ppl offer him, he will take and give it to us rather than him wanting to eat.

this time rd, i dun really have cravings for sweet stuffs like i did for #1 le...

I am back from lunch..but hor still have not finish eating.

super suay today, I went to the coffeeshop at City Harvest Church there and the vegetarian store is close this week..so no choice, I took a bus to JP, bought some present and tau pau back to eat...to and fro like that takes 2 hours..

Starfruit..no leh, I did not received her reply leh..if she reply to my pm, should be correct email add..maybe i email her again..

Re: weight gain..so far I only put on 1.3kg..but hor my tummy looks like 6 month liao..I ask gynae why..then he reply because I have a spare tyre before I preggie so tummy very big..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wayne_mummy,

me going to tabao my lunch nw! time flies today and its my last wking day for this yr! yippie!

my tum tum still looks small le...if i wear black and ppl dun notice, they wldnt know i am preg!

Val,

Wah...you are very careful and got very good will power too ;D

But why cant eat tiramisu leh? Cos of the alcohol or the coffee?

Alcohol content of tiramisu is very low so sure be no problem.

As for pineapple...I eat them 2 - 3 times a week during 1st trimester...nothing will happen one lah...just a myth.

But i do agree with everyone about the sashimi, should avoid i know :D

Hannah:

If glucose level high, must avoid refined carbo food like white rice and stuff & mashed potatoes....Instead, should take brown rice, wholemeal bread, oats, etc. And avoid watermelon, durian and dates.

And most importantly, regular exercise always helps :D

i'm back from lunch too.. taken chicken rice then went to robinson raffles city... wow so crowded.. esp the cashier counter.. super long queue...

val / mudpie / vv : remember? i know how how to make tiramisu... make the cake for my colleagues, & they all claim it's delicious...

those going robinson today..can share any gd deals..I am going down tmr afternoon..thanks in advance[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

iloveparis: The Gestational Diabetes test is more extensive. I have to go empty stomach the night before, go to the clinic early, take 1 tube of blood. Then later abt 1 hr, i have to take a glucose concentrate and take another tube of blood. Wait another hour, and then 1 more tube of blood. Then after that i can go for my lunch. =)

wow dolly, so fast u cheong Robinsons [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] any good buy that worth going?

argh..my hb has the Robinsons card instead of me..so I may not be able to go and grab the goodies coz hb bz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Val - my tum looks small too, I wear black, nobody noticed. Even I wear grey on mrt last Thurs, ppl also never give up seat.

re pineapple, I think I took quite rojak :p and I just took it during lunch while waiting for my pan mian. So far ok..not taking excessive shd be fine. I luv pineapple tarts especially my aunt's home made one I surely won't missed.

Hannah - ouch, the test seems quite tedious..poor mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

maybe u wanna cut down carbo & sweet stuffs before the test bah

Serene, wow, the cot got all the stuff for nb needs... good grab/buy... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit/dolly, oh dear, hope yr girl will recover soon and enjoy the christmas day... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit, oh, chillipadi no good... hmm... at first considering to order 14 days fr them... got to re-consider liao...

val, oh, cannot eat egg mayo? i took the subway egg mayo sandwich for lunch last week... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hannah, yr gyane so cute.. hope u pass the test... come to think of it, the drinks sucks.. arrugh... soon will be our turn soon.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mummies, for the gulcose test, some friends of mine said that after taking the drinks shd walk ard but my gynae said shdn't... for my 1st preg, after drinking the gulcose test, i feel so drosy that i fall asleep at the lobby at Mount E.. dun know whether it ended up w high readings... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

apple: Ya... must bring something to read/ occupy my time on the visit. Will be cutting down liao... At least the other time it wasn't so bad that i had to self-test everyday... Hope i will pass this test. =)

Auroa: Ya... my gynae quite cute la... And i'm not exactly the easiest patient. Heh... I always dun finish the pills she gives me. She also asked me if i wanted fish oil pills and i was like "huh???". She then proceeded to tell me about the mother with the bb that she saw before me and that the bb could smile and interact with her even though she was only 6 weeks old. So told me that the fish oil will be good for bb's brain development and she's taking it too for her own brain maintenance... Aiya, she funny one la... =)

Auroa: I remembered being rather dizzy too after all the blood being taken out... I think just rest la... got nothing to do with how active we are after downing the glucose concentrate. It didn't help that i have low levels of iron in my blood too...

apple, i also got good weight loss in the initial stage of BF but gained after i stopped.. for for #2 i scared the weight loss will not be effective. *sigh* i better control too after the delivery.

dolly, went to japan home yesterday to search for it but only left the tree and deco... lightenings all sold out... today went to giant (trees all sold out except for table trees), ikea and courts to see... ikea hving very good bargarin... abt 1.5m tall fake christmas tree w deco/lightenings at $30 but not folded... called my husband to check whether he can carry but he said dun buy... so ended up din buy at all... wasted trip...

iloveparis,

hehee. thanks! certain things i can control and tahan certain things i cant la..like i still take cold drinks and eat ice cream! hahaha.

tiramisu has got alcohol content lo so better to avoid. I oso avoid caffine even when i was bfeeding lo. hehehe.

oh..okok. i nv tried pineapple at all as i thot better be safe than sorry. if u ate and is ok, then can cont la...coz pineapple tarts are baked de, so sldnt be a prob...mayb i will try to take some during cny. hehehehe.

dolly,

ya..robinsons sales always fraw hige crowd =P

why nt u make tiramisu for us to try aft we popped? we can arrange a gathering session with the kids! hehehe.

wayne_mummy,

ya! ate late coz i had fried beehoon for bfast so nt that hungry lo plus i was bz with my wk earlier on.

apple,

did u compare ur current tum size with ur #1? is it smaller too?

sometimes i get offer for seats sometimes i dun.

i love pineapples tarts, i always order frm my friend who order frm a bakery at depot rd. for my #1 preg (oso same period) so i took the crust and gave the fillings to my hb =( i preferred those closed type as compared to opened type.

auroa,

coz of the mayo la, esp home made mayo. anyway, since u have taken, dun think too much and u dun always eat is ok la.

ikea sells fake xmas tree?! i am surprised! coz that was my first stop this yr when i wanted to get a fake one and they dun me they dun sell fake ones, only real ones. so i asked them hw abt the fake one on display they says those are nt for sales lo! thus i went giant to get...

anyway, my hb initially also against getting 1 as we dun have storerm in my hse and he says no place to store...in the end when we got there, he oso got..hahaha. thanks to my boy =P

Hi Mummies, just had mala hot pot style yong tauhu, yummy....

By the way, today is dongzhi, so must eat tangyuan. Had it for dessert with colleague, so full now...

Val - tum size, I din take down exact measurement each week we grow ler..

pineapple tarts from deport road, must be smiling orchid rite? anyway the pineapple filling is cooked..so no problem taking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I don't take raw pineapples except those stir inside the rojak.

I like tiramisu from Pasta Brava..took a small mouth on last visit when hb ordered 1.

Dolly

Wow, u are so smart! U know, its not easy to make Tiramisu. For me, I wont make cos its a lot of work de. But it shows u have great patience :)

Val

Same here. I dun usually crave for sweet stuffs now for #2 but Im just being greedy for now during #2.. Hahahaaa... Cham le lah.

MooMum

Sounds delicious! U give me the idea of eating Mala Yong Tau Foo tomorrow for lunch leh. Means I gotta make myself wor.. But I think I would be too lazy liao. Maybe really pack back Subway.

Auroa

Did u try East Point @ Simei? Try for the last time.

apple,

actually this time rd, i oso didnt take measurement every week la..just tat by looking at photos taken last rd, i feel its smaller lo...+ the weight is so much diff...

hehehe. Actually, i am nt sure if the name is Smiling Orchid. Have u tried it?

dolly,

think too crowded le so end up aircon like nt strong enuff.

hehehe, thanks! looking fwd to ur tiramisu =P

vv,

control control! hehhee. u still have 2 festive periods ahead of u! hehehe.

vv : no la, i'm not smart... just have the passion to make cake.. it's quite tedious to make tiramisu & time consuming... true, have to be patience... did a tira last month for my colleagues, i'm so tired after standing there for two hours... luckily, most of my colleagues compliment the cake is delicious... so didn't waste my effort... hahahah... feel so satisfying..

iloveparis, according to my friends, there is a difference between baby kicks and burps. when they burp, they probably "jerk" or move, which might resembles a kick.

vv, my baby kicks/punches are quite distinct so far. can actually see my tummy raise when she kicks. it's quite cute. hubby witnessed it yesterday, so quite amazing.

val, probably like what you said, burping is more consistent over a period of time as compared to kicks.

Eh... is it burping or hiccup-ing? Coz i identify hiccups by the steady rhythmic bumps that i feel but i dunno if she burping or not...

mumies, could be tiny baby hiccups you are experiencing too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] its a wonderful sensation right!

joycep: wha ur bb is strong, so early can see the kicks and punches already. so cute! maybe is till have too much fats in that area so no major action cited yet..heheh

dolly: wha impressed, i also wanna try your tiramisu!! yumz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val

Yes Yes, I will try my best. Actually our EDD rather tempting de lo. See, we have to go thru Xmas, New Year, CNY... Wow, all these can feast de leh. Just now after my lunch, felt not enuf though so ate M&S Strawberry Puffs x 3 pieces ONLY (tried to control).

Dolly

For me, I have passion for cooking though. My hubby has passion for baking. So now, Im trying to learn abit of baking but its those NO-BAKE types 1st la.. Hahahaaa. My maiden no-bake cake is Jello Mashmallow Cake.. Tried twice then suceed. Yes, I know Tira is very time consuming de. I admire yr patience and of cos am sure your Tira will taste very good becos of your passion in baking :) One day, I must try your Tira yeah!!!! Cos Im a Tira-Lover too.

Joycep

Wow, thats cute. I also can see my tum raise when bb kicks. Just tat, its rather low so can be quite ticklish for me. At times in Office, I will laugh out due to "too ticklish"... My colleague will ask me, I dun dare to tell, just say nth la.. Hahahaaa

hannah, dr chua never bug me on the pills leh. i wanna ask u which DHA fish oil does she carry, i bought the neurogain and i told her i am taking it, she say ok.

But i love the calcium chewie she prescibed to me, its like chewy candy, so yummy!

joycep/hannah/starfruit,

sorry, hiccups is the words, nt burping. hahaha. i duno if they know hw to burp at this period nt. hehee.

and i agree its a wonderful feel to us la...but duno hw the baby feels. hahaha.

so far, i can only feel my baby's movement but actually seeing it. cant wait to see it lo!heheh.

vv,

actually think of it, gd oso coz we have "reasons or excuses" to feast. wahhahha. imagine we delivered le then go thro all these festive periods, lagi xin ku coz wanna lose weight so cant feast so much yet when we see all the yummy goody food we cant resist. right nt? hehehe.

hehehe. 3pcs ok, control control =)

hahaha. u v funi. still will laff out, i will try to tap and hopefuly my gal will kick me again =)

hannah, it could be hiccups too. can't really tell [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] very happy as long as got movements.

starfruit, maybe my baby is fierce. haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she's average to small size for 20 weeks (dr said that her growth is 19 weeks, though i'm already 20 weeks), but her kicks can be quite strong.

vv, my baby kicks/punches as and when she wants some attention. her kicks are quite high on the tummy, that's why i can see very clearly.

pineapple tarts - can mommies rec places for gd ones? i love it! had already taken 2 pcs so far [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] this is the only cookie i will order for myself during cny

hannah: hahah my consultation with her is so short... cos most of the time i have no questions.. hehehe. ya cos i was puking like mad and i told her i could not take milk prodts as it makes me sick. so she told me to take this calcium chewie, she even added that all her patients loves it. I didn;t believe her initially but after i try, it is indeed very yummy. Each pill about 500mg calcium. u r drinking milk right? maybe thats why she never prescibe to you.

i think cannot eat too much tiramisu or mayo cos of raw egg. actually some ice cream also use egg but i'm not sure if cooked or raw

Mummies all talking abt bb movement, I haven't felt one that I'm 100% sure yet, unlike my first preg can feel quite early.

Do any of you mummies get sudden giddy spell? Yesterday it was quite bad, SMS my gynae said it's normal and told me drink something sweet.

moo mum, so far no sudden giddy spells. but i get a lot of leg cramps. gynae told me to take my calcium pills regularly, and drink milk if possible.

Joyce, I haven't got leg cramps yet. Last time I got once in 3rd trimester in the middle of the night that was quite bad. Other than calcium pills, do get a lot of sunshine too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val

I wont feast when Im not preggy de leh. In fact, I dun have habit to snack & all if Im not preggy but I have a very sweet tooth for all kinds of desserts and sweety stuffs like ice-cream. Haz, so for now, its actually a privilege to feast and eat more. Chi shi FU!!!

Joycep/Moomum

I will have giddy spells when I get up from Sofa after sitting some time. Its normal de as I read. But need to take some sweets on & off.

I do have leg cramps now on & off. And the pain can linger at my calf area for days before it goes off totally.

Joycep

Thats cute. Mine kicks quite low de leh.

moo mum and vv, my leg cramps can get quite bad. 1 day can have a few times. will wake up in the middle of the night with cramps.

Wayne

I also love Pineapple Tarts. I always buy from this shop @ West side. I will check the Tel Number for you next time.