(2011/05) May 2011

Moo

Yeah, its ok cos u dunno mah. The chinese saying goes right - "wu zhi zhe wu zui" heehee.. My mom also always tell me this.

I love tempura too and fried baby sotong. Wow!!

last time near the depot raod, got this jap restaurant called shimesze (think spell something like that). Found it vey nice. Used to go there twice a week. Later shifted (dun know where).. can't find it liao....

my girl still crying for ice cream... still thinking whether to bring her as afraid after buying, she lick once and din want... can't expect me to eat leh... sigh...

vv and auroa, my hubby also dun really like jap food, but he will eat whatever I ordered. If got choice he will go for Katsudon or Ramen..

my hubby is different, he loves Jap food esp salmon sashimi. but i do not eat the raw stuff so normally i eat the cooked ones i love soft shell crab. heehee

auroa, i tink mayb little children duno hw to express their discomfort.so will find something tat they like & mayb after tasting abit..they felt didnt relieve so they reject lor...

hugs...hang in ther...she will be alrite soon. =)

yoyo, i oso like ramen..whaha..u tried other ramen outlets like santouka, marutama, ippudo, aoba, tampopo etc? they are quite nice too...mayb different type of ramen texture..whahaha come to tink of ramen 1 2 slurp their egg leh...like hard boil egg but yolk is watery....LOL...duno can eat anot...tat time i went with hb..he say such yolk r raw..so i cannot eat..duh!!! duno issit on purpose..1 2 kapo my egg...whahah

all ur talking on jap food...makes me crave alot leh...hai...

wow..some of u stay in d east...anybody staying in d west? :D

vv, i find the elias jap restaurant not bad for a neighbourhood restaurant... i normally go for the buffet (also my hubby choice lah)... can select what items to eat.... One thing that my hubby dun like is that he find jap food expensive (he very miao lah)... there's once he got voucher and he treated me to 1 nice jap restaurant.. i ordered 1 whole plate of the mango w avocoda roll sushi (they placed it like a dragon)... siok... another option to consider is the downtown east, sakura buffet restaurant but i find that the standard go down alot... if i eat there, i will attack the oyster... i normally attacked the unagi, chawanmushi, salmon, maguro, any salmon dish, ramen, etc... yummy... now feels like going for jap food now esp this few days eating bland food.... arrugh...

Melody, i also loves sashimi but diffcult to find nice sashimi in spore. i also like the soft shell crab but my hubby dun like as he finds it oily.

mudppie, ya, understand when they sick, they tends to be fussy.. hve to bear with it till they recover.. till back to business.. no sweets.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wow, u really like ramen... u named so many jap restaurants names... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Talking about Ramen, I like Bishamon's Ramen, find it better than Ajisen - soup is good and noodle is chewy, even the egg is special - hard boiled and braised on the outside, half-boiled/runny inside, yummy! oops cannot eat half-boiled egg now.

Dolly, do they have outlet at tampines 1? think i went there once... they got very yummy cakes. I tried 1 of the ramen there and ordered 1 cake... pretty expensive.. i din really get to see all stalls as my girl was fussing and i need to eat fast and get out there fast... maybe next time can go and eat (w/o my girl) and enjoy slowly...

auroa, don't think so lei... they renovated... have anyone tried their kaminable (paper steamboat)? super delicious... then keep on attacking their sashimi... luv the salmon belly... tuna... squid... wow... chawanmushi...

got to "chio" & go together...

every time i go mount E for medical appt, i will walk to paragon or taka to see whether got nice jap food... taka got 1 jap restaurant at the basement, food not bad... long time never go liao... if not much time, i will go to the supermarkets there to tabo... good for instant sushi food... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa/Mudpie

Wah wah. Nice nice. I love all types of Jap Foods. The only thing I dun dare to eat are raw prawns and raw sotong. I tried but puke out (when not preggie la).

I know there are many better ones that serve very good ramen!! Esp those at Liang Court. Got one, But I forgot the name liao. The next time we can all go together when our appetite better?

Auroa

Oh really. Nice ah. Okay, Im gonna try the next time. I always see it last time but didnt get a chance to eat. There is one Jap Restuarant at East Coast too, near the tennis court, have u tried? I had not tried yet.

Dolly

I havent been leh. Nice ah?

ahahha....

some frens recommend...so i go try lor..LOL

then found it not bad lah...so re-visit again when i go to those shopping areas...hehe

cos i really like jap food...be it ramen, sashimi or sushi....the list jus goes on...LOL

moo mum..yea...bishamon ramen oso not bad...i tried at raffles city...i cun remb wat i ordered..but hor..d 1 i ordered is with butter de..then u melt d butter in ur soup....superb!!..whahahah

oh my...i m so excited when it comes to food...esp jap food..whahhaah cham liao...no wonder i oredi gain wgt in 1st trim...whahahaah

dolly, that's my favourite buffet restaurant! haha.. I was thinking of going there for my BD but I can't eat much nowadays so I went to Watami at ION.

Auroa, for fresh sashimi, you could try the Ikoi Japanese Restaurant at the Hotel Miramar, I tried once, it is really nice and fresh. it is buffet.

Gynae says to avoid raw food cos scared we Kenna food poisoning. In japan, all the jap preg ladies also eat sashimi also no problem. Anyway it's up to individual on how u manage yr food intake. That time the Indian Rojak food poisoning case caused the lady to lose her baby so we have to pay attention to the hygiene of the place we dine. Take care mummies!

Awww....dolly...yes yes...lets jio & go tog....

can make reservation bo? LOL..

i like kaminabe or sukiyaki too...i better switch screen le...see u all talk abt jap food..i really drool...

jap waraku casual dining for jap cooked food oso not bad wor...can consider.. :D

Auroa

Same here. After Appt, I will go Taka there to eat Ajisen Ramen. Thats the only place I can think of leh. Also at Taka Basement.

Next time can go Meida-ya at Liang Court. The Jap Supermarket! Wah the Jap Instant Noodles, but fresh de, costs a few dollars eh. But they call it Ramen or sth... So tempted to buy. Then I was looking at their Croquent (forget spelling), I wanted to buy but hubby said buy from Carrefour next time cos I remember seeing similar Croquent and not bad. We bot before.. But forget the brand name liao.

i also like the paper steamboat... got lots of choices, like the seafood, beef, chicken, pork, mushrooms, etc .. for preg, we can eat leh... last time will go east coast jap restaurant to attack it... long time never eat liao... next time we go and "attack" leh... me drooling liao... feel like going to eat now.. the nearest jap food that i can go is the downtown east NTUC where they got the instant sushi or the hei sushi or the jap restaurant located at the fifth floor (can't remember the name)...

Mudpie

Wooh! I missed your post on the egg yolk thingy! I love the half boiled egg loh. But we cannot eat hoh now. Dun forget, cos raw mah. I missed those half boiled egg at Yakun!!

melody110...tat IKoi hor...is nice leh..but hor...i get sick of waiting.cos when u call for reservations..they tell u hv to wait for 2-3wks...esp wkends...wkdays..sometimes oso nid to wait tat long..so i gave up liao...

i actually aim to try river view hotel de...but then nw preggie..cannot go...hai..sian....

yoyo,

yea..same as me wor...i can eat all sashimis..except tat raw sotong..tink is call ika. but i can take tako..tat raw sweet prawn..can take only 1 or 2 & tats it...too slimmy to continue for me..hehe

agreee!!! liang court or central..got very nice jap food..whahaha...i like to go ter...+ hb works in tat area..hehe...but still crowded..thou not as bad as town..if we all on for jap food..can oso consider tat area..heeee

vv, i quite like kushin bo... its like eat till you drop... portion wise... just nice...

mudpie... best to arrange after we graduate from our MS...

Japanese got super sushi, set meals and ramen. Went there once and stayed at a friend's house. her mum entertained us.. her cooking superb... also bought us to a sushi restaurant (they said this is the cheapest grade in japan)...one dollar yen for a plate of sushi... i find it very yummmy ... first time tried nanto sushi... wow, shiok... then bought us to a expensive jap restaurant and i ordered unagi set meals... when it came out, i was stunned... got 7 methods of eating, got 7 sauces and the servings is so big... shiok.. told my hubby have to wait till our children at least 5 yrs old then can go again... will be a long wait...

yoyo,

if u go taka, u can try tampopo ramen...but again they hv raw egg de...their ramen not bad...u can give it a try...but their ramen selection of choice mayb not as much as ajisen....is besides mos burger...

Mudpie

Yeah lor. I cannot tahan the slimy feeling. Uhmm...Liang Court, that time go meet customer so happen to pass by. But honestly, a nice place full of Jap Restaurants. Oh Taka got? I go see see the next time. Ramen!!!

Dolly

Really ah. Then maybe I will drop by at Tampine One 1 day. Eh, Tampines One got this restaurant - Kim Gary, serves one very spicy Noodles, looks like Ramen! I tried and its nice eh. Next time u go see.

All of a sudden, I crave for TOAST BOX!!!

Apple, u not KL. U r heroine! 3 cheers for Apple! *CLAP* Only people who r parents, young parents then will know what we going through. Some old management got memory lost then dun remember what their wives went through. I got very understanding supervisor n boss now cos 1 is young dad, the other is new grandpa but after I return from ML might not be so lucky cos changing position.

Mudppie, Wah need to wait that long huh really sian loh. I havnt been there for quite sometime already but one of my ex colleague go there every mth

Just left office, the air os is pretty bad got burning smell.

for the ramen, got the raw egg, think can ask them to cook it fully for u... if i din remember wrongly, when i was preg with no1, i went to aijisen (before i enter), i asked the waiter whether can fully cook for me and he said yes...

Dolly, ya, since sat, it has been hazy and smoky... the weather not very good.. even go out, can also feel the "heat".

dolly - yes the haze is irritating. Tmr I'm going to hibernate @ home. Told my dept secretary I'll be working fr home..hehe..wanna take time tidy up the house too..midweek, must mini spring clean. A few of my colleagues got sore throat and flu/fever, wanna avoid the sick crowd in office since I just recovered.

Celeste, just now our Corp Insurance broker came to brief us on Grp H&S, Grp Term Life & Accident kinda policy..we also question till upside down coz our unless HR always gave us wrong info! Today I realised we got better "benefits" after few Qs to the broker..sigh Not sure the HR sitting down there got cheek to hear all our concerns and Qs raised!!

vv - I luv soft boil eggs fr Yakun & Toast Box. Now can only see my girl and hb slurp on them..sob sob

Wow..all talking about Jap food..yummy!! I tried to avoid jap restaurant or buffet coz can't resist the temptation on those big fat sashimi :p That day when I was at Sushi Tei, my hb dares not ordered sashimi..haha..or else I sure cannot lun

Hi, I am very new here.

I was wondering is it normal to feel very bloated? I am very hungry but I can only eat a little and i will feel very bloated.

Hi al mummy to be, understand some of u drink honey in here...me too...but seem like someone did highlight we can't drink.....pls share, if serious........

Contended_Couple, welcome.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ya, it's normal to be bloated during the 1st trimester but also depends. Did you take milk/soya bean milk? It will leads to bloated tummy and will cause cramps. I din know till i suffered from it and my gynae told me not to take it... it have improved from then. As during pregnancy, our digestive sytem will slow down by 20%, our normal intake of food will makes us feels very bloated. Some tends to MS due to this. If yr bloatness is caused by intake of food, u might want to "break" your food intake into 6 meals. U might want to check w yr gyane too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

miko2006, i'm not too sure abt this..but i do take honey syrup for McDonald's pancake in my 1st preg and current preg. So not sure what's the connection. Maybe other mummies here might be able to share more on this.

morning mummies...

the thread is moving really fast and new mummies joining us, welcome.

after reading about chwee kuay, i tried it for lunch. apparently, i didn't go well. totally no appetite to eat last night, tried having a few pieces of sushi roll + bread + milo. whole night very uncomfortable and grumpy cuz cannot really eat.

Morning!!

Blur, no still no one give up seat to me.. I just look fat!!

I had just meet up my friend last evening n she told me that she is 2 mths preg w her 2nd but she is not keen to keep the bb as she feel her finance doesnt allow. Her 1st boi is 5 yr old n is attending all sort of enrichment classes, so I think if she cut down a few classes she shld be able to manage..haiz, kinda of sad now as I feel the bb has no fault n the creators are the culprit n they have no courage to face it...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gd morning mummies, I love jap food too. Hope we can meet up during our 2nd trimester n eat Jap food together. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubble, that so selfish of your fren... haiz.. so many wan bb but TTC for so long dun have.. they got blessed with another one.. but using the finance reason wan to kill a bb life.. that so cruel... so sad...

I think i was fat lor.. cos bb only 3 cm.. but why my waistline is like so thick.. but feel good to have a seat.. haha..

me got craving for sashimi also.. my gynae also can can go ahead.. just ensure that its very fresh..

by the way anybody know.. the 7-up and rootbeer(not the MUG brand) have caffine or not

Bubble,

Your friend so selfish... Since she not keen to keep, why didn't she practice safe sex? So angry to hear this early morning...

Sure will update the outcome later...

I'm working from home today..the haze is getting bad to worst.

dolly & Auroa - take care of your lil ones. Make sure they drink plenty of water. The haze will make the throat more itchy..sigh