(2011/05) May 2011

how does your boss react after breaking the news to him/her that you are expecting?

I've just told my boss and his face turn black soon after... heard from my another preggie colleague... he don't really like to hire female employees.. that's why my department is mostly men... worst still i've just joined the company 4 mths ago & 2 more months for confirmation... guess he will not approve my probation... "sigh"

huh 2 more months then confrim.. dollyqueencess, if i'm in your shoe, i will won't say till i confrimed.. now if he dun approve your probation how? u still got your 4mth ML?

by the way the the edd dr woody told me is almost 10 days later then the one base on LMP.. so i guess now my little one is the youngest here.. EDD is 27 May..

yes exactly... he didn't even congrats me... even though he's a father of two, youngest is around 12-18months... if he don't approve my probation, then i'll have to pack & go follow by be a full time housefly... by then i'll have 12mths ML...

What to do... family is more impt than career... I'm not any of the super career woman...

dolly, your boss don't realize his social responsibility, the government is doing so much to boost birth rates, yet he reacts like this.

blurlemon, Dr Woody didn't say anything about EDD, but it's printed on the ultrascan printouts? Mine is 15 May, but it will change everytime based on previous experience.

Mummies, how are your MS? today I throw up my lunch, first time ever, last pregnancy never really puke.

Hi Dolly

Oh then maybe u check with other colleagues - if he ever did "confirm" other ladies before in the same situation?

Bubble Pearl

Woooh! I also realised I started to hunt for "food" at about 3pm onwards... And I had butter crackers just now. I still have Black Pepper Prawn Crackers @ Home, left over..

wa!!! all talkin abt prawn crackers.. make me tempted too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] haha..

me greedy pig tis round.. :p

rach, my hubby won't do much for the album. he will just stand next to me and stare. after a while, come back again and read what i write, just in case i write something bad about him in the album. haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dollyqueencess, i think i'm lucky my boss is very supportive. she's also a mother, so she can understand the issues faced. my company quite pro-family, so we have new babies every year. hope your boss will confirm you even though you are pregnant.

Auroa, i m sorry but i really cant recall. Pharamists at unity r friendly n helpful. U can ask them

Bubble pearl, i see him at CCK, is it because different machine? Can you update me also:

moomum

FTWM

15 May 11

Dr Adrian Woodworth (CCK)

TMC

thanks~

thanks for sharing e receipe n when to take bird nest..

I dun have any much craving..just eat wat is available..food option is not much here..

Dollyqueencess,

I remember reading fr mom website..i u have completed 90days of working..think u r still eligible for ml even they sack u..just go n check it out..

Hi vv, moomom,joyce,bubble pearl,

my tummy started to show slightly... yesterday there's a lady offer her seat to me in the MRT...

Heard from my preggie colleague, there's a lady has the same situation as me... our boss unwillingly approved her probation but attitude is bad... hence, she has left...

Hi Bubblepearl,

What inform you need? I have not decide on the gynae, hospital yet leh.. U seeing Dr Adrian Wood? Is he good? I tot seeing him since near SK, as mention earlier,if wait till appt @ KK, my 1st trimster over liao. This is my #2.

Hi Dolly,

My tummy showing too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My hubby keep saying y so fast?

Just curious, if employer did not approve probation due to pregnancy, can report to MOM right? Or is it for confirm staff & company termintate? I tot this is the 'law' to protect preggy woman..

Alicia,Dolly

Maybe its tummy cos bloated?

Dolly

U monitor and see how. But he cannot sack you de lor. SO dun worry. But if u quit, its not easy for u to find jobs. So maybe u want to bear with it...I know its tough.

Alicia,

Think to work at least 90days.

Got the following from MOM (part of it only), any mummies facing the probation thingy, can go MOM website to find out more

Right to benefit unaffected by notice of dismissal given without sufficient cause

84. —(1) Without prejudice to sections 81 and 84A, no notice of dismissal given without sufficient cause by an employer to a female employee which —

(a) if given before 31st October 2008, is given —

(i) within a period of 3 months preceding the estimated delivery date for her confinement (as certified by a medical practitioner); or

(ii) within a period of 3 months preceding the date of her confinement; or

(b) if given on or after 31st October 2008, is given —

(i) within a period of 6 months preceding the estimated delivery date for her confinement (as certified by a medical practitioner); or

(ii) within a period of 6 months preceding the date of her confinement,

shall have the effect of depriving her of any payment to which, but for that notice, she would have been entitled or would, on or before the date of her confinement, have become entitled to under this Part.

(1A) In any case where there are 2 or more estimated delivery dates (each certified by a medical practitioner) for the confinement of a female employee, the estimated delivery date that is relevant for the purposes of subsection (1) shall be the estimated delivery date —

(a) which is certified by a medical practitioner before the notice of dismissal is given by her employer; and

(b) the date of such certification of which is closest to the date the notice of dismissal is given.

dollyqueencess, i have a little tummy too, but it goes on and off, cuz of bloatedness. feels quite satisfied touching the little tummy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey lex & rest of mummies,

Thanks for your info & mental support....

I'll just wait & see how it goes...

Dinner time... I'm so dread of having dinner... MS going to start soon...

Thanks ladies on how to boil the bird nests n where to buy them. Hopefully by then, my ms has subsided and can enjoy the bowl of bird nest. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also hope my tummy will nt show so fast for this pregnancy. Nv bought a single maternity wear during my first pregnancy. Can squeeze in my jeans till 7 months. But I can see my little tummy in my week 10 now.

i also eating bird nest now..once a week, boiled by hubby. dunno if it's cuz of that, i have colleaugues telling me that my skin is getting better.. haha!

2nd time mummies..heard from my colleagues that for 2nd time mummies, you all will be more sensitive to bb movements and the tummy will expand earlier. think it's because you all have been through it?

dollyqueen, i also just told my boss about my pregnancy, at first she was not very happy abt it, but eventually now become ok,

but i had been taking mc every week for the past few weeks, so sometimes i feel a bit guilty towards my colleagues too, i guess my boss dont like it too, but really no choice... i know of 1 malay colleague in my old dept who took finish ALL her mc and hospitalisation leave during her probation, she pregnant 1 month after joining, but also can be confirmed, i guess as long as u do your job, they shld have no reason to ask u to go

Auroa,

so wat's the Oscar test abt? Risk of havin down syndrome or other abnormalities child? It's opt right?

Seems no one having gynae fr kk?

Rach - I also start writing of my little one since I started my planning. Can share your blog with me?

Joyce n rach - I love to buy the stuffs last time, everytime I see something nice I buy esp stickers... Now I got alot of papers, everytime got factory sales my hubby will bring me there. Haha... Maybe we can change our ideas...

Thanks bubble pearl for helping me to update.

Sorry to disturb, I have already delivered and looking to clear some brand-new and preloved baby and maternity items. Items include:

BN Avent Light Moisturizing oil @ $15, RP:$29.90

BN mothercare nursing gowns x 2 @ 35, RP: $75

BN Shears baby girl rompers 0-6 mths 4pc set @10

BN Baby Bright (luxury wear) sleeveless rompers 0-3mths @$6 RP:$12.90

Preloved mothercare swaddling blanket in pink@ $15 RP: $39 (used less than 5x-bb dun like)

Preloved Dale abdominal binder. @ $25 RP:$65 - $80 (used once)

Preloved EGG maternity black shorts @ $25, RP: $159 (worn less than 5x)

And many more..for more pics and descriptions, please see here http://picasaweb.google.com/116194716505027587843/ItemsForSale?authkey=Gv1sRgCOf1kYbm-8Ta1gE#

If keen, please PM or email me at [email protected] Thanks!

SOLD items will be deleted in the album, so it won’t be confusing.

PS: just to add, for every purchase for $15 and above, you get 4pcs of Mamy Poko S for free. so for $30, u get 8pcs and so on. while stocks last!

Hi sherry,

Thanks for sharing....

I dare not even take mc... Tried to schedule all my checkup on sat... My boss only ask me do I have MS? He worried that I will take mc frequently...

dollyqueen, wow, u r such a responsible staff, i think your boss will understand, and should understand [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just curious to know, did your boss ask you if u planning for kid during interview before he hire you?

hi sherry,

not at all...

hi all mummies,

good morning... it's another brand new day... have just taken chwee kwee again...

"sigh"... didn't get to sleep well last nite... keep pondering what will happen to my "rice bowl"... "sigh"

Wanna check with u girls do u all sleep well at nite? I had been dreaming for every nite. So tiring for me as I cant really sleep well. Funny dreams some more. Last nite dreamt of Auntie Lucy.

hey penny,

that's indeed funny... i've nitemares most of the time... the previous nite, i dreamt we have about 6 suns, then war is coming... last nite, dreamt i've a fight with my mum... keep waking up to check if it's a dream?

Good morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly - u make me drool on chwee kwee again!

The weather is so cooling, don't have mood to work..feel like lazing at home, but will feel bad if I'm taking MC bcoz of lazy :p So still pop to office haha

I also scheduele my gynae appt on Sat. My boss is very nice, so I try not to take advantage of his kindness. Now he knew I'm maidless and I gotta fetch my girl from childcare..so basically I come slight late and leave office 30min early :p

i also have funny dreams, sometimes i dream of tv drama series characters that i seen,and i also dream of places that i never been to in my life, not sure where r all these places, and i have nightmare sometimes too, the dreams are very strange lo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hey apple...

so envy that you have such a nice boss... will he make noise one day about your coming in late & leave early? sometimes they also have "menopause"...

hey sherry...

it's really tiring the next day cos our brain didn't get to rest...

Dolly- thanks for the information.. I tot we miss the big mega baby sale at taka was wondering when then got baby fair again... Haha..

I also love to eat chwee kwee now leh.. Yummy yummy..

dolly, sorry didn't really follow the topic.. but did you just start work or what? Why so worried about the boss? Don't think too much.. no point getting all worked up and imagining all day long. Your health is more important at this point in time.

I was offered a job before I found out I was preg. I tested and informed the company even before I signed the offer. They said its fine with them. My start date is 1st nov... now hearing your worries, is making me a little jittery too.

Hi emily,

I've just started work during jun'10. So i've another 2 more months before I'm been confirmed... You are right, there are some things which can't be control by us... But is your boss ok? coz it's like joined not long after then going for ML... Have yet make any or enough contribution then ... "sigh"...

Hi Susan,

You are most welcome...

Lunch time... I've packet prawn noodle soup... smells yummy...

dolly, no my boss is always nice and he treat us as "adult" so long we do our tasks without giving him problem, he will not be bother whether we report work on-time or going home early. In fact, he very pro that we can operate from home. He has been proposing to HR a few attempts but due to other office political reasons, HR still insisted that if we are not on biz travel, we shd report to office.

Btw, our job nature require us to travel frequently so even we work from home, other dept staffs will not know whether we are in town or out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] that's our advantage. And by letting boss know we work from home is just a formality just in case he wanted to reach us. And our dept everyone is contactable via mobile + blackberry..

We still response any queries even we are not in office..haha