(2011/05) May 2011

vv, i'm actually more than happy to share my joy with my family, friends and colleagues. but heard of some not very happy stories of miscarriages during 1st tri, and more stress trying to explain what happened. so i rather not say a thing until more stable. even my gynae ask me to wait till after 1st tri, less or no explanation to do if anything happens. it really depends on individual.

Joyce

Yeah... Same as what I felt too. Thats why I also only intend let others know only 3 months later...

Cheerful

Yea, abdomen bigger cos bloated. Bloatedness worse when comes to night time. :-( I am extremely sensitive to all smells. Getting very lethargic and pek chek easily.

Rach

Maybe u wait for another month or so then tell your boss? By then should be 3months liao.

hi dear mummies.. i m new here.. nice to join in the discussion here..

i told my parents and close frenz once i confirmed with my gp about my pregnancy but not colleagues yet.. but i hav ppl telling me that shld disclose only after 1st trimester where bb is more stable as well.. so think depends on individuals..

btw jus wondering when do u all normally 1st see ur gynae?? (as in how many weeks)

cos i had made my appointment with one, but think the gynae'schedule is quite packed so 1st appt to gynae ll only be on 20 oct.. by then i would be around 12 weeks.. jus wondering if is a bit late? cos from wat I read seems like many saw their gynae before 8 weeks...

Hello Happy

Congrats to u! Uhm, depends on individual. Actually impt is u feel comfy when to see gynae. Cos gynae appts can be really packed and need to be booked weeks in advance at times to get a good timing. How many weeks are you in now tentatively?

vv: yah, i intend to inform boss prob when im abt 3mths.

happy: i went to a normal gynea at abt 4-5 weeks. reason being, im actually experiencing mild menses cramps. the "an tai" medicine that gynea prescribe does help me to relieve the cramps and now no more.. but im only going to my "chosen" gynea on 4 oct, then im abt 7weeks i think

Hi happy, welcome to the club. Like rach, I seen my gynae ard 4-5 weeks. Since u already booked the appointment, u may wanna wait lo. Jus go guardian to buy the 500mg folic acid to take everyday. Only $3 plus for 30days supply. I was told to get it there by my gynae clinic assistant cos my package only starts ard week 13 then can get the free folic acid from them.. Hope it'll help ya. Cheers

hello vv: thanks! i m currently about 9 weeks.. haha but i think i got to know about it quite late only last week, which probably was y i cant get a gynae appt early.. how many weeks r u currently in now?

rach: oh i think u r still earlier than hee.. congrats to u too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw i dun really vomit but get quite serious bloatedness though.. wonder if any1 is like me? n how do u reduce or get rid of the bloatedness? or we can only bear with it til it goes away after 1st trimester?

Lin

Oh if u sign package, then will have free folic acid? Thats so good :)

Happy

I am about 8 weeks plus now. Maybe u want to see a normal woman's clinic first at some neighbourhood to make sure everything ok? Otherwise, like Lin said, go buy folic acid to take first. Its good for baby.

Bloatedness - I realised stomach getting more & more bloated. When reached the end of the day, night time is worse. I tried to take smaller portion of food in the night. It helps a little bit.

hi happy,

Welcome to e club.. Some of us are in the 9th week..

My tummy also showing a bit..feel that it is a bit hard.. Ms is on and off..eat western food is Ok.. Eat chinese food always puke..Haha..

Very bloated this week.. Kept releasing gases..hee..tryin to eat small meal but a bit diff.. Dun feel hungry often..

Counting down to e end of 1st trimester.just did blood test..seeing my dr next week..hopefully can get to do ultra sound in week 11 or 12.

Btw oscar test is done in week 11?I tot of doing in Aust before going back to sin..I will b week 16 when goin back sin..that is e time to drool over singapore food..hee..

Serene

Very sian hor 1st trimester... I also feel very sian, Took leave for today & tomorrow from office. Feel bloated and felt "fat" in fact. I am going to do my oscar in week 11 plus like that. In aust has oscar test? Maybe u can do first in aust. So now, u eat more western food? But heard its carbo foods can somehow curb MS. I also have cravings for carbo foods.. cham liao.

Sorry to disturb, I have already delivered and looking to clear some brand-new and preloved baby and maternity items. Please refer to this link http://picasaweb.google.com/116194716505027587843/ItemsForSale?authkey=Gv1sRgCOf1kYbm-8Ta1gE#

for related pics and descriptions. Items include BN Avent Light Moisturizing oil @ $15, My brest friend nursing pillow, and Dale abdominal binder.

If keen, please PM or email me at [email protected] Thanks!

SOLD items will be deleted in the album, so it won’t be confusing.

PS: just to add, for every purchase for $15 and above, you get 5pcs of Drypers S for free. so for $30, u get 10pcs and so on. while stocks last!

vv,

Super Sian..everyday looking at e calendar..hee.. I m not working..sleep, watch variety show..do housework..

Stopped cooking cos I will feel nausea smelling e food..

My dr is a bit reluctant to do oscar test for mi cos she say I m not 35yr.. Maybe I should insist hor.. But I read fr e thread abt false positive oscar test which is worrying..

Eating carbo food seems to ease ms but I read fr e website, protein is more effective to reduce ms..

Having ms is tough but mean ur bb is growing well.. I will talk to my bb.. My hubby also refused say my bb Can't hear..

He will put ru yi oil for mi..sometime bloated till very uncomfortable..

Pregnant woman gambling luck is very good..hee.. Playing mahjong few days back, e tiles are so beautiful..hee.. Must gamble if have e opportunity..Haha..won 44 Aust dollar..hee..

Just now reading ttc website.. Quite disheartening to see ppl kept unable to preg..I salute ppl going thru ivf.. E agony,pain n suffering to have their own baby..

so far both of our parents noe.. Told one of my frez as she Juz gave birth in jun..seek for her advise..

my hubby frez suspect I m preg cos I vomit n admit to hospital..we admit I m preg but ask him dun spread e new cos not 3mth yet..

E rest I will give them a surprise when I go back sin..hee..

I am wondering should try my best frez..cos I noe she has tried for abt 1 yr but no news..i dunno will add stress to her..her sil Juz gave birth, become e queen in e house..somemore its boy..1st grandson..

Pls advise..

vv - hi-5! I'm also taking a day off today. Actually I'm more like working fr home. At the same time trying to do laundry and tidy up the house.

Serene - understand from my OZ fren the Dr there normally doesn't do u/s scan unless requested. They only do it periodically like 1st visit, then 20wks, then..etc Unlike SG where we get to scan every visit to Gyane.

Haa, thats very good leh. Can laze around at home. I used to very "on" last time @ work/Office; like a dragon. Now, am like an earth worm. Everyday so sian to go work.

Yeah, I also read abt the neg results. But dun worry too much. Since we are below 35 yrs old, still safer side. Just test to make sure only. U try to ask yr Dr again the next visit?

Yaya, I also put RuYi Oil. Sometimes feel like layers of "fats" like that on my stomach folding up.

Really arh, so heng to MJ during preggie. Haha.. Maybe should try next time. I dun dare to read those TTC forum cos Im too emo liao. I will feel very sad de. Yeah, really salute to those who have the courage to do so. But some efforts will pay off de.

I think maybe u wait till 3mths then tell yr best fren? Who knows maybe within these months, she may get preg also? Yest I bumped into 1 colleague from different dept. She is trying for #2. Then she said this time quite tough. Then I told her to relax more. But I didnt tell her abt myself cos I also pai sey ma. I know how u felt actually, somemore its yr best friend.

Apple

Yeah lo. So sian leh. U take leave or wat? Im also working from home lor.. accesing emails. Haz. Sian right? But one thing good is more relaxed and can lie down if tired. Hahahaaa. And no need to answer phone calls. Hahaa

Hi Apple,

Im also 9 weeks plus le, 1st tri ending soon... phew... going for my 10 weeks scan next week.

Hope everyone is coping well is MS... Jia you...

Im so bored...

seems like im the "youngest" here.. all of u in 8weeks - 9 weeks liao..

but my ms making me feel very uncomfortable. i didnt puke, but very nauseas. apart, i feel like my body is hay wire like that...

sorry ladies unable to update the table for u all.. cos cannot keep track.. busy work + MS = super tired....

for those who wan to do the table.. can just copy the table and paste in excel table.. type in your detail then paste back.. with

\ table { }

pls remove the spacing.. paste the table inbetween the { }

kindly note that this table format only work on IE.. those using firefox may not be able to do the table..

thanks for all ur advice mummies, yup am taking folic acid and some antenatal supplement recommended by my gp in the meanwhile when waiting for my gynae appt..

haha yeah agree with the ladies... think all the ms and bloatedness and fatigue are making all of us uncomfortable...

dunno y but time seems to pass very slowly haha.. and ya like very sianz and no mood to work or do anything kinda feeling..

but i guess there's really nothing very much we can do except to bear with it and wait for 1st trim to over..?? everyone jia you!

hey, im in the mid of my 9 weeks...just wondering any of you have spotting. not fresh blood but the normal off white discharge mix with very very very light brown. just wondering...sigh...kinda worried...have been sitting all day actualli [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] eventhough im at workplace now. hahaha..

enigma, see a gynae if the spotting is bad

Gals, i realise kim chi can curb my ms a bit, any of u tried? Haha, so i been eating korean bbq chicken for my lunch these few days, not much choices at workplace too, i'm going for my 10 weeks scan tmr, so on leave tmr, cant wait [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

susan, i might consider going for maternity photoshoot. saw my colleague's photoshoot, very tempted.

sherry, tried different type of food over the weeks. so far what works pretty well are yoshinoya beef rice, soup spoon chicken stew, yong tau fu from specific stalls. others either i cannot swallow or will puke.

susan, haven't done my research. no hurry. stomach not big enough yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hee

you shortlisted the studio already?

susan, me feeling better at least can eat more now.. but my left side of my hip hurts leh.. dunno why.. now walking abit difficult.. so sainz.. maybe next tue going to see my gynae again..

wow, the thread "moved" so fast... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

majority of the MTBs seems to be at 9 weeks now... me currently at 6 weeks and hve to wait till next fri for gynae appt...

Currently do not have MS... not for my 1st preg also too.. but 1st preg got dizzy spells that last abt 2 weeks and later ok... nowadays, i also got dizzy spells in the morning .. come n go.. lately busy rushing for orders/procurement and preparing my girl for her new childcare centre...

Saw fr Serene's post which wrote "Eating carbo food seems to ease ms but I read fr e website, protein is more effective to reduce ms.. "... might be true... my gyane and TCM sensei told me to eat an egg a day for protein.. maybe that's why no ms.... MTBs, maybe can give it a try... choose the "white eggs'... very good...got DHA, Vit E, low carb, etc...

Sherry

For me, I have this special crave for chilli. And once I see chilli, I feel so hungry and has so much appetite. Maybe kimchi is abit sour and spicy; thats why u like. Most of the time, my mouth so bland and like got some weird taste.

Enigma

Maybe u should try to take some off days to rest at home. Bed rest? Did u call your gynae? Try to call her and ask to see her first. Maybe she can give u some advice.

Now, I feel very very bloated and uncomfy. Maybe will skip dinner or probably eat very little rice. Very sian. Wish 1st trim faster pass!!!

Hi all, currently at my 8th week...do u gals feel contraction / cramps at tummy at times? Don't know is it I m too sensitive to my own body, can feel baby growing in me Every day....feeling of a new life growing inside my own body is some more MIXED!!!

miko2006, yes, I do have the cramps at times... sometimes feels like a tingle pull too... as long as it's not cramps which is very painful and comes with heavy bleeding, it's ok... it's a wonderful feeling to have a new life growing inside you... welcome to motherhood... .[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

serene, i agree with you that ttc is a tough process, and fyi, i often visit the ttc thread too, cos i also tried very long before getting pregnant, and most friends around my age all can get pregnant so easily, sometimes really feel very sad, but lucky my hubby was very encouraging [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

as for your best friend, maybe u want to ask her if she believe in TCM? cos before i conceive i was going often to this TCM who specialise in fertility problem, and after few months of going there i successfully conceive, if she interested i can pass u the contact

Miko

Yeah, I also have mild cramps at times and cannot sleep well for many nights. Backaches on & off. Its a wonderful feeling yes, but the 1st trimester is really not easy. :-( But we can jia you together! :)

Enigma - I discovered heavier discharge few days back, rang up Gynae but was told due to hornomal changes and stress. Nothing to worried unless the discharge is getting heavier with blood strain or weird smell. Otherwise, it is ok.

Sherry & Serene, I also pity the long tough ttc process. We have close couple frens trying for years, seeing many Gynae & TCM..still trying and plan to move on to IVF.

When we met recently, I also kept silent on my pregnancy as I do not want to add pressure to them, also it is kinda pity their situation.

morning ladies!

susan: tnks susan. yah, we'll walk this journey tgt =) yeah, will definetly want a maternity shoot! but still too early to do such research. =p

Auroa: i think we are abt the same timing. however, im a first time mtb. =)

vv,apple and sherry,

think i will let her ask instead of me telling her the good news..

i also have another frez went thru IVF twice..failed..now dunno continue trying or not..

sherry,

i tot we cant take cold food..surprise that u took kimichi.. now sushi i also dun dare to eat..

engima,

any spotting that get darker in color and more in qty, got to see dr.. 1st trimester dun play play..

still bloated especially at night...regarding night peeing..try to empty ur bladder before zz.. drink 1-2 sips of water.. then go zz... i did that since last week.. now only wake up in the morning to have a big pee...

Just finished lunch, and feel really very puky and disgusted like that... :-( wonder when will this nauseous feeling go away.

Serene

Yeah, maybe when she asked then u tell her.

Sherry

I heard from my fren - Kimchi Flavour Instant Noodles is nice! But now, we cannot take instant noodle right... so sad. Miss all the nicey instant mee..

Serene, I also experience bloated and nausea at nite. Very difficult to get a good sleep! sigh..I don't have MS but NS(night sickness) my gosh

Felt puky last nite around 12+, hb said drink 1/2 cup milo maybe better..wah seh after the milo I straight away puke [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

vv, I took korean instant noodles just 2 days ago. Sudden craved..went to NTUC to get a pack..hehe

Apple

I had a very puky feeling towards Milo too. I tried to drink milk every morning. Started to have a puky feeling too, so bought HL Chocolate Milk instead..

Hey, I think I wanna secretly eat instant noodles liao behind Hb back

hi all, this morning had very bad MS. no appetite to even take breakfast. lucky managed to eat fish porridge for lunch, otherwise really serious malnutrition. weight myself this morning, total weight lost 2.3kg. hopefully, can gain some weight soon.

apply and vv, apparently milo works very well for me. that's why been drinking 1/2 cup morning and night. i can't take milk, will puke. i love nissin and korean instant noodles too. during the 1st few weeks of preggy, actually asked hubby to buy for me to eat, cuz i really cannot eat anything else. but now, try not to eat.

weekend is here. rest and eat well!

apple: your symptons similar to mine. my ms not only happens in the night but also anytime of the day. i cant sleep well too. i drink cold drink to make myself feel slightly better.. just a sip only.

Joyce & Rach

Same here. Mine is like whole day sickness. Hubby just told me to bear with it for another month or so for this 1st trimester. But I told him - what if this goes on for the rest of the pregnancy... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/uhoh.gif]

Rach

I tried not to drink cold drinks but I realised cold drinks can curb this "sickness" for a while. I had this urge to drink orange juice, cold cold type. So I bought carrot mixed juice (with orange/apple) to substitute as I heard orange juice too citric, not so good. But I really have a thing for sour stuff now.

Am looking for Sour Plum Juice... anyone know where to buy?

Joyce

I love Myojo Chicken Flavour Instant Noodles & Tom Yum Noodles. Duck Flavour also nice!!

vv, i know we are not suppose to drink cold drinks.. but i really find it hard to have a strictly "NO COLD DRINK" diet.. as especially it kind of "curb" MS..that's why only take a sip or 2. im always craving for cold drinks.. and yes, im trying very very hard not to take it.

Rach

Ya lo. I also cannot control leh. Actually I feel very bad. Now I am also drinking, cold carrot/orange juice. I had a colleague, who drank cold coke throughout her whole pregnancy. That time I thought how come she can drink Coke. Now I understand fully why. Her MS was bad too like us. Coke could have curb her MS.