(2011/05) May 2011

Juz for info:-

//

My baby refuses to use a sippy cup

This is a very common concern with parents who worry (quite unnecessarily) that their babies are somehow 'falling behind' if not using a cup by the end of their first year. If this sounds like you, please be patient.

It is by no means essential that your little one use a sippy cup at this stage. In fact, supplemental water and juice are, in most cases, unnecessary before your baby's first birthday. It is never a good idea to compare your baby's skills to others - remember that all babies progress differently and handling a sippy cup may just not be your little one's area of expertise!

//

Read more: http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/introducing-a-sippy-cup.html#ixzz1oWcadO5y

Viman: No I nv use the yakult straw coz its too thin and small, scare bb swallow. I try the yeos straw with the bend part. Very good as in once I see bb drinks a little, I'll press the straw to stop the flow so that he wun choke. When I moved to bottle, he choke for abt one week, now taking it well liao.

I scare he not enough slp, so nv ask him to cook, only once in a blue moon when really nothing to cook and need to use happycall. If not I'll steam food or cook soup. Soup can be cooked the nite before using thermal cooker.

mummyzen: Wow u so sweet to ur hb. My bb also cry so I nv cook. Steam is easier, just prepare everything in advance, then calculate the time, put food in, on fire and off fire when time is up, usually I'll eat when bb is slping.

sunflower: My bb hates the sippy cup and training bottles! He only wants to play with them and throw on the floor.

Mummies: I am super awake now after a call with my new boss.

Mimosa: Glad to know your mil issue settled. Now our babies coming to 10months, bear with her for another 8 months, then put childcare already! Yeay!

You can buy those non-toxic marker pen to label the bottles / teat holder(not the teat yah).

Come here and rant – don’t have internal bleeding inside…no good leh…

Mummyzen: Like your idea too…

Jen: I read somewhere that it is good for bb to crawl – develops their brain. Maybe your bb can sit but not for long especially if he’s the very active type. Ah, I shall go and buy a packet drink in front of my bb – to teach him to drink from straw! LOL

Hi mummies just came back from IKEA and realise that if you dine in the cafe, the baby food is free! So we took a bottle of GERBER(the only brand they have)applesauce for bb H. So kid friendly!

littlefly: Wah new job? hehe when my bb is 3 plus I want to work also, never been in office job b4 leh

jen: can bb drink chrysanthemum tea? Thought its too sweet especially those packaged one? Now my bb only drink milk and sometimes water.

sunflower: good to know info! But bb is teething and sometimes bite my nipple so I'm trying to wean him off and introduce to cup, which is obviusly still a failure at this stage

Little Fly: I'm having serious backache now from sitting with bb for two days! But I still need to persist on! Yes yes, my bb super kpo and active. Even carry him also turn here and there. Headache! Sometimes he will turn his head backwards and almost fall then he find it very find and laugh. -_-

LOL, u must have patience and try many times. If not, u try to see if u have those yeos straw at home and try it on a small cup.

mummyzen: Yes very very sweet. But my bb loves it. I dun give him a lot though. Just one sip, at most 3-5 if he cries for more. I'll try to drink faster so that he dun see the packet and want more. I read mummies saying some bbs are allergy to chrysanthemum coz its flower. But luckily mine is ok.

I kanna RL poison again! Arrghh...can't breathe... spend $ again...what excuse can i give to shop again?

Eve - u want to see RL poison too?

Jen: LOLing over this "he will turn his head backwards and almost fall...and laugh" - i think bb J got a sense of humor leh!

These few days, bb never call 'mama' again. He only cries out for me when in need. Other times, super yaya.

Mummyzen: Really? I didn't know that. Not new job, old job but new boss (again...5th in 2yrs). She v sharp one, already say want to give me more work (argh!).

Mickeyboy: Today FRIDAY! Wkend starting in 6hrs time! Muahahaha...

Viman: Yes, if u keep the straw bend, its easier for bb to drink and for u to ctrl. But rem once she drinks, must press the straw or take out from her mouth in case she sucks too much.

Little Fly: LOL. My bb very noti! He likes to kick his legs a lot, my hb says next time he will be a soccer player!

Mine also seldom call mama now. He only call like ur bb, when super desperate. Like when I leave him in the play yard and come in the room to use computer. After crying a while he will say mama, if not usually he dun say it. He called daddy once while looking at my hb!

lil fly: i'm immersed in RL poison since i got bb TJ. hee... if u hv lobang in RL, MUST let me know!! hee...

sunflower only able to gather $130 leh.. not enuf for free shipping. u wan to join in?? *wink*

sippy cup: my boy also dun wan to use. i also find it difficult to use. so will be putting aside and go on straw training bah. =D

ya, lil fly... the excuse this round would be "i'm being the good friend here, jus to help make up the min sum for free delivery!" heee...

hi mummies, long time nvr login here le... its so happy to see that this forum is still alive, and i missed many posts. but its ok, happy reading... better than i realised this became a Ghost town rite... hohoho... ^o^

work is pretty busy recently, kinda regret that i changed to this dept. but well, it's kinda too late to say this now. will just have to endure, and continue ya... haha lil fly, i din expect to see my name after so long time nvr login here, u still rem me ar? too bad that we still have no chance to see each other ar... and where is 2ww, she oso long time nvr login le ya?

Yeah, wkend starting in 3 hours time!! quick quick quick~! how i wish if i can do a fast fwd~~ :p

Mummyzen: ohh! i also didnt know that! tat time i went, i saw e baby food, i tot nid to pay, so didnt take it, lol....

lil fly: ya, 8 months more! but i remem some mummies here said better start with 3 hr play group first, then half day then change to full day, dun know how long e transition will take hor?

non-toxic market pen can ah? but e bottle nid to sterlise leh, ok to sterlise?

ya, next time will try to rant here... but if everytime rant here, i feel like not v good leh, hahaha.... cos next time if got gathering, then my hb might refuse to come, cos everyone here knows abt his bad thg, LOL.... so i try to tell my sister or close frens loh :p but best solution is still let it out on him! hahahaha....

Eve: that is a good one!!! LOL... lil fly, eve is right! can spree somemore!! =D

ladies, i thinking to working 4 days week in office for 1 yr or sth... maybe take Thursday and Firday afternoon off everyweek, bcos i wanna spend more time with my bb... everytime i sit in office thinking: what am i doing here, i am bb's mother, but am i not the one who is always at his side!!' think i got seperation anxiety! =P will get pay cut of cos.... but shld be able to cope, what ur think?

Mummyzen, really i din know that bb food is free in Ikea. no wonder that day i saw there are MANY gerber bottles on the table, then i still told hb that next time we can oso bring some for bb... argh, so actually its free, no wonder that family took so many bottles! next time must grab... :p

Mimosa: Glad to know your mil issue settled. so u will still be working like now huh? dun be too worried about it, maybe mil changes her mind next year, no one knows rite... hehe

RL spree: why? now got sales going on ar?

straw training: i just tried to train bb using the yakult straw that day, but failed. he didnt know how to drink yet, so perhaps will still need to keep on trying ba... oh issit combi one better? i tot of buying the mag mag cup...

mimosa, to work 4 days week.. meaning work for 80% and get 80% pay rite? well, one thing need to note is... come in 4 days, does that mean ur workload will be reduced to 80% too? or it simply means, u will still get 100% workload, just that pls squeeze and get it done within the 4 days. In that case, its not worth it at all, coz u get pay cut, but workload is still the same, just that u need to work harder and more efficiently to get it done. so i guess, it really depends on your job scope, is it really possible to reduce the workload if getting less pay?

my co has this "two third" scheme too, but i cant see how my workload can be reduced lor... so maybe in the end i will still end up doing all the work...

Lil' fly/ mimosa/ mickeyboy: yup it's free if you dine in cafe, when you pay for your stuff at counter, cashier will open bottle cap and throw. Been eating there for ages but first time realise also. How the family take so many? They got a lot of children or trying to stuff their kid, aiyo ... Maybe they bring their own bottle cap and screw back then bring home stock up...keke

mickyboy: eh... i hope she dun change her mind, bcos i worried got conflict again, so better we have our own family life [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] chinese has this saying: good to see each other but difficul to live together! LOL... distance is beauty! tats y i hope i can get my house faster earlier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

4 days week: hmm... i dun know leh, my work load not v consistent one leh, sometimes more, sometimes less, depends whether got any issue or not... but now usually i able to go home on the dot, seldom stay bk...

Jen: See, only need us then ‘mama’. LOL.

Eva/Sunflower: Keekee, my gf intro this seller to me on RL … made me ‘sin’ again… later, I PM you girls.. let’s ‘sin’ tog…

Eva: LOL on the excuse…

Mickeyboy: of coz lah, u are the ‘regular’s mah.. and always counting down for us when its weekend… yarlor, where’s 2WW? Abandon us here, own self go FB ah?

Mimosa: I saw the IFC use the non-toxic marker to label the bottles too. Always good to have more time for our lil ones..cheer you on the move!

My #1 and I have a very tight superglue bond coz I spent that time with him. NO amount of quality time will make up for it. When they are young, they need both QUANTITY and QUALITY! He bat his eyelash or roll his eyeball, I can sniff his mischief already.

Hi all. I have 4 adult tickets to wild wild wet letting go at $38 (UP $64) expiring in end Mar. Interested pls pm me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ikea bb food: really ah!! i just went there last sunday and i brought my own puffs! lugi ah... hahahaha...

mickeyboy: i wan to order RL cos tat DAMN spree organiser screwed everything up and soooo many nice items either gone or no more sales liao. ~!@#$%^& and best is she kept quiet all along, holding on to my hard earn $$$. another round of !@#$%^

work: hmm.. i tink if boss "automatic", den can consider for shorter work week else like MB say, wat for if you have to squeeze and complete all the work within the limited time.

actually, initially i also super miss my bb.. call home at least 3 times a day to check on him. but now.. more relaxed liao. =p

oh... before it slipped my mind..

mummies.. who's on dumex mamil gold (stage 2)? i received 2 tins of 400g sample yesday, intend to give away, expiry 2013.

i work in bugis, so collection is along the mrt line from boon lay to bugis.

lil fly: got lobang ah? must share with me also leh! hahaha....

oh, during ur #1 time, u also work part time ah?

^5 if i got baby gal, i bankrupt long ago already! LOL...

ohh.. maybe i go find e marker, popular shld have hor?

Eva: i feel my bb closer to my mil leh, then i feel jealous! maybe i possessive bah.. prefer bb to be close with me instead :p

i thinking to buy some CB products from agapebaby BP leh, like sunblock or sth... i wanna top up to $50 cos got free register mail and free gift, but dun knwo wat to get... then i saw this: Calming Bedtime Essential Oil Blend 0.5oz / Bath Drop 0.5 oz $19.50, any mummy use b4? is it good?

Little fly: i saw de link u PM le. I usually buy from RL direct.. cos dunno the authencity if purchase from others. The RL items in tat link is far too cheap le..

Sunflower: i also wonder how come they can get so good prices... maybe i get one set to see first...

Mimosa: what about the california bb bug spray? aiyoh, so many things to get..can get bb cereal, bb snacks, Gerber puffs etc etc...

I stop work for 1yr during #1's time. He's super not easy bb. Sleep sarong and can still wake up a few times a night. Pui all the solids (puree, cereal, etc) from 6mths til 11mths. Merlion the milk sometimes. Sharp Buttocks. Come to think of it, i am to strangle him....

sunflower, lil fly: i tink they are authentic.. yes, the RL and burberry seems much cheaper but mayb is outlet items. the rest of the items (eg. carters, PJs & ferrari) are reasonable priced and some even more expensive (prewalker shoes). so shld be ok bah...

but the nice smallest is 2T. alamak.. my bb only coming 10 mths!

lil fly: must be all CB product then can get e free registered mail and free gift leh... bug spray, i have at home wor, and seldom use except during tat time we went to Penang... anyway, i will see if got other stuff, thanks ah!

ohh.... during ur #1 time, no one help u take care? my boy dun slp well too... but at least he eats his porridge... he got take pacifier? i wanna wean my bb from pacy after his 1st bday leh, but dun knw how to do, he sure cry like crazy de... then my mil sure intervent loh, haix...

mummies, how is your bb's weight gain huh? my boy weights 9kg when we brought him to see doc on Wednesday, he nvr gain any weight for almost a month liao! how? =(

Eve: oic. cos there were some i asked, they told me they are not authentic. haha nvm lah.. but big better than small. anw RL cut also not very big.

Mimosa: my bb also 9kg only. My neighbour's boy who is 5mths younger, already weigh 8.5kg!

Sunflower, Eve: I also thought its outlet items, that's why low prices. Now waiting for seller to reply me....

Mimosa: I agree keeping distance for a more harmonious future. But more disruptions to work cos there's nobody else as back up to care for bb.

9kg is gd. My hb only 8+ kg during his 9th mth review. =(

Lil fly: say early mah...mi jus ordered a lot fr agape leh

Wow, nice to see so many posts here. Just came home not long ago. My hb got a jumperoo and a toy to encourage bb to sit while playing. Hope it helps. Anyway there's improvement on my bb's sitting today. He managed to sit 30 min all by himself while playing with a tissue box. And in the evening he sat for abt 20 min while playing with the clothes pin. He only plays with these non toys and doesn't want his toys!

My hb asked my sil's hb and he said their kids also sit very late, so I think it kinda runs in the family. But I'm glad there's improvement. Gonna train him somemore and hope by 10 mths, he can sit all by himself =)

Eve: Last time I buy 80 pcs $20, I think, cun really rem. Now I got more than enough liao coz seldom go out, even if go out just bring 1-2 packs can liao since bb only drink 3 bottles a day.

Sunflower: ya ya... Is my bb. Silly iPhone and iPad auto spell correction loh.

Jen: my bb like yours... Like tissue box and any other non toys except for his toys! Is really great improvement fr 2 days ago, isn't he? =D now u dun hv to worry liao.

Bb drinks only 3 bottles a day? Is it cos other meals are solids?

Eve: Yes, very big improvement! I just learnt that I have to leave a gap between his back and me so that when he tries to lean backwards, its empty and he has to go back in front. But I'm still in reach of him so if he falls, he will still land on me.

Yes, only 3 bottles 5oz each. Coz I cut away his morning feed. He used to wake up at 8+ or 9+ for his milk but I find it too tiring coz after feeding and washing up, I still have to count sheeps and usually can take more than 1 hour to go back to slp. After abt 2 days of getting him back to slp when he wakes up, he doesn't wake up at that time anymore. He can slp till 10.30 or 11am then I will feed him milk and get him back to bed if I'm lucky. =D

jen: wow!!! yr bb can sleep long leh.. envious...

mayb tat's y he naps lesser in the day bah.

my bb still take 6 meals, every 3 hrly. is time for outing with bb today.. but no idea where to go leh... hmmm...

mummyzen: i like vivo and ikea too BUT these places are super crowded during weekends. =(

hb dun let me bring him to zoo (frighten by animals) or park/beach (mosquitoes). sigh... brain very cracked liao... shopping also sian and tiring although bb likes it lah...

Eve: Sometimes he doesn't want to slp after he finished milk, like yest. Just cry and cry and cry till I carry him out. Yest my mum was telling me how little my bb naps and say I can nap for a couple of hours even after I went to kindergarden.

Last time my hb insisted on buying a car, then I was telling him no where to go. Dun want to specially go out every weekends just to utilise the car when we dun have to go out.

mummyzen: My bb hates ikea! Dunno why everytime we go he sure cry and in the end have to sling him. When he go other places is ok.

I'm looking forward to my time off tmr. Haha, going shopping with my friend whom I nv go out with for a long long time.

Qin: JP john little and fairprice xtra shld have. OG also have, depending on where u are going. U stay at yishun rite? Maybe try out the dept store but I dunno which dept store is there in northpoint.

Jen: going marina square John little.causeway point last time got johnlittle now no more.

After marina square go to centre point buy bday deco stuff than go toyrus buy elder toy.

Busy day. Hub boxer I think mil accidentally drying out lose it nv say now he left 1 only. Not enough as got to bring to chalet on nxt Friday

1 more week to bb Cosmo bday.