(2011/05) May 2011

val, i agree with you that even my hb will also tell me the same thing, what are those needs & wants... even i'm working, he'll also give me some allowance for groceries.. so if i've exceed the limit, he'll not fork out further... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

have been almost two months that i didn't spree le.. have been controlling myself after since my hb throw temper @ me for overspend on shopping...

dolly,

currently everything he pays...i only pay for my own shopping, own bills, PUB bills and things for the kids...=P if grocery exceeds he will pay too =P

wah! u have gd self control =) keep it up =)

lately i havent been shopping much coz spent too much last mth. oops! =X

cereal: My baby loves cereal too. Yest when he refuse to drink, I made him thicker cereal and he loves it. He even use his hand to snatch the spoon from me and dirty his whole hands. It was totally messy but I'm glad he enjoyed the cereal. And also, after starting on cereal, I find my baby very heavy now. Good also coz he has become thinner after he wants to wean himself from all milk.

Btw mummies, any idea if we need to burp baby after eating cereal?

Val: Ur hubby going to give u allowance after u become a SAHM? I'm currently getting $150 from my husband a mth. Actually no where to spend money also. So sometimes if I get time off and go out, I will spend more money to destress.

Jenny,

gd he likes cereal =) i didnt burp my #1 aft feeding him.

$150?? Wat do u do tat with? Its v little in my context...nt even enuff to pay my ins...Yes, he will give me allowances when i becum SAHM. When i work, he dun gives me allowances at all. HAHAHA! u no where to spend? I have tons of places/ways to spend $$ =) I dun nd to step out of my hse and i can spend tons =P

vicki: I just checked the Heinz I bought, no milk but baby is still allergy. Think everyone shld try to avoid Heinz. My mum says might be the carrot that baby is allergy to.

Val: Last time I get $100 from my husband. Now addn $50 is allowance for taking care of baby. Haha. I pay for my own insurance. Abt $500 a yr. Now I always buy stuff online to destress but I use my husband's money.

WT: I told my hb abt watching tv..he was like really!? haha..my girl stares at the TV even if it's switched off but we've not let her watch before lei..

Val: congrats on gg to be a SAHM! i tried for a few days but i can't take it..need to work! haha..i'm also changing employement..still looking out and gg for interviews..i agree..pump at office quite troublesome..i'm planning to cut to pump twice a day once K hits 5 mths next mth..

Ash: so cute..stomachache! kids and their questions really stumble us sometimes...

Mickey: i do tummy time with her 3-5mins x 2-3 times a day..she also doesn't like to be on her tummy..till now can't flip..think she lazy la..hahaha

Ling: i added on FB..ivy low..pls accept my request..thanks!

precious: my girl reg her bottle for feeding..best part..she guides the nipple into her mouth if i don't put it in..so cute..hahaha..amazing!!

Bella: i'm thinking of diffuser in the aircon room and ioniser in the hall..hahah..the things we do and spend for the baby hor...hw's the diffuser huh? i just want to make sure the room not too dry only..congrats on getting the lappy!!

Cereal: my colleague gave me 2 tins of happy bellies cereal for my girl...brown rice and multi-grain...all organic..but my PD mentioned that K is growing well on EBM (overweight 70%tile based on height and weight) so asked me to continue feeding ebm until she turns 6mo than intro cereal...those mummies who have kids..once u intro semi solds..how many time do u feed milk? 3? i wanna do puree for her as well..heard can freeze and defrost, make warm before feeding isit? so what's the meals like? am milk, porridge, milk, puree, porridge and milk+cereal?? haha..like alot lei..

Jenny,

for my boy, he started on Heinz (nt the vanilla based) and he was ok.

Carrot? u mean the pre-prepared veg u gave him?

U really gd, can survive with $150/mth...i cant...$500 is reasonable...my ins is a few hundreds per mth...=x

V,

thanks =)

ever since i return to wk, my hse been in a mess. the laundry is nv cleared..i see liao really cant tahan...of coz i wldnt stay hm and face the 4walls and kids all the time. will arrange to go out too =) can work is gd la, hope i can find home based job soon =) gd luck to ur job findings and interviews =)

haha. tell u sometink cute, my gal will look at my nipple then grab it. she v violent!!

once i intro semi solids, i still retain the num of milk feeds =P Yes, purees u can make a big batch and freeze and before u feed her have to warm up. For my #1, i do fresh puree everyday aft i rush hm for wk...now for #2, gonna be SAHM liao no excuse nt to do fresh puree everyday! hahaha. I give semi solids during dinner time.

The FB group.. it should be an opened grp huh? Or i'll need to add in all of you one by one as fren, to form a grp?

Since i'm working, Hb nvr give me allowances too. Dolly ur hb very good leh, give allowances even u r working.. so i think i can never be SAHM, hb wont give more, so it will be like i'll need to see his face color whenever i need to claim from him. Maybe will need to submit bills for reimbursement? Who knows? haha..

Pump: in fact i have reduced to 2 times a day now. hopefully the ss will maintain ba. if not, really feel very tiring pumping 3 times a day in office.

Cereal: actually we dun bring bb to PD for regular checkup. so i think, i will just intro cereal after 6 mth ba, shd be very safe by then le...

Val, no le..I need more recommendations for tingkat too coz I don't want my maid to cook when I return to work. I only get her to make the soup for us.

Dolly, wow u still can self control for 2mths without spree. Well done mommy..my hands very itchy..sigh

I spent a lot in Aug and Sep, my gosh!! Hb said he fainted when he sees postman keep sending parcel to my home at nite :p

Jenny: Whao! $150? How u manage? U are really discipline than.. I dun take money from hubby too.. But I really lack discipline in saving.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] moreover, I got 3 kids, so really need to save. But till now, I haven't start!

Val: it's a good feeling that u can get retain by ur coy, but I do admire ur decision to stay home.. And u also another fantabulous mummy.. U one leg kick in all the areas! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] oh, ur boy taking piano lesson? How long is the lesson? And where is it?

Split: my girl is taking piano lessons in Ossia.. $75 per month.. Let me know bout the trial lesson? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ling: u started baby yu on cereal? I wanna wait till she's 5.5 mths, at least..

Val: The heinz I bought was mixed veg with sweet potato, carrots etc. My mum think its the carrot that caused the allergy. Wow my husband dun even have $500 to spend for himself. Haha.

Cloudpoem: When I was pregnant and working part time I only get $600+ after CPF and I seldom spend. Actually I'm the type that I dun spend for mths then suddenly I buy a lot of things and finish using all the money I save. My husband nv limit the money I get from him. He always tell me to transfer myself but I must zi dong. If not later I request too much he ask me to go to work. Btw, I saw ur FB photo ur baby is so cute!

Val: ur gal so fierce! ahahaa...my one lazy..don't want to flip and dun want to grab toes..tummy time also lazy..hahah oh well..so u maintain the milk feeds? my girl drinking 160ml each feed lei...total daily intake is 900+ le! so i plan to change the feeds to puree, cereal and porridge when she hit 6mths..

Jenny: 150! damn good lor you! i never ask my hb for $ la..but we give my mil coz she looking after my girl..than sometimes she buy diapers i'll pay her back extra...coz no need buy milk powder for now..ahahah....

V: Good as in a lot? Or little? Haha.

My baby broke his own record, still sleeping now and I felt so engorged. Luckily just now I express from one breast already to make cereal for him later. So now only one breast engorge.

Jenny: thanks for the compliment.. Among my 3 kids, this little chipmunk is the most smiley one.. I thank God for her. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and u are another mummy I should learn. To save.. I spend too much on unnecessary stuffs.. Like I buy so many clothes for my kids, when I can save up for rainy days.. I spend almost $800 a month on my kids. If paying sch fees, need to top up another 1.5k.. High expenses. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mickeyboy,

its a closed grp. u can request to join the grp. rem to state ur nick when requesting.

apple,

for dinner quite easy coz quite alot of caterers to choose from. its lunch tat is hard to find.

cloudpoem,

yes. indeed its a gd feeling to have ppl asking me to reconsider and he still needs my help =) well, since i am still young and the opportunity is there for be to try being a sahm so i just grab..n we are pretty debtless so just give it a try. nv try nv know =)

my boy is in yamaha but he has not yet specialise in any instuctments. its more on appreciation music or rather the foundation =) 45mins, per term at $256.

ur princess #3 must be feeling v blissful coz there are 2 jiejies who shower her with lots of sisterly loves =)

lol. i am another mummy who must learn to cut dwn on spreeing/shopping =P

bottomline: having kids in sg is ex! =P esp when they are in the pre-sch age and attending enrichment classes~

Deon,

i am a big spender actually. my hb always tell his friends i am a high maintenance car. hahaha!

jenny,

i think it has nthing to do with the brand...ur boy's case is a case of giving inappropriate food at too early a stage. even if u give other brands of mixed veg same thing will happen. as mentioned by alot of mummies before and repeatedly, 1st food sld always be rice cereal. and even if u wan to give puree, u have to start with 1 veg/ingredient 1 at a time. for example, start with potato. if no allergy, go on to carrot. if no allergy then u can mix potato with carrot. u get wat i mean?

are u n ur hb v young?

V,

yes! indeed she is fierce. even my parents commented she is cfm more fierce and harder to manage than my boy =p i meet my match =P hahaha!

wah! ur gal drinks alot!!!! my gal drinking 70-100ml/feed...haiz...for my boy, he drinks alot more and yes i maintain the milk feeds even with cereal/puree. only when he moved on to porridge then i remove 1 milk feed.

Cloudpoem: I used to buy a lot from BPs, then my husband say I shld ctrl my spending already. I was spending a lot on BPs coz of two reasons, one is I cannot go out and buy stuff for baby. Another one is I need to destress. Haha. Wow $800 is a lot! My husband will kill me if I spend so much.

cloudpoem, my gal very greedy, always look wz drooling when we hv our meals since at 3mth ... so we start her on 4th mth... i only give my gal abt 2-3teaspoon to eat each nite ... i wan her to sleep longer, but look like not... she stil drink milk after her dinner n bath and then sleep around 9pm... wake up at 3am, 6am n 9am for milk ...

i hv not start her on cereal as a meal ... more like jus tasting ... after her cereal stil hv milk ...

will start to add pumpkin into cereal at end of the mth when she is 5th mth ....

Jenny, Doc advises to start with cereal first. Even when try new foods should do one at a time. Tested no allergy, then mix the foods. The Heinz food comes as a mix if I'm not wrong. Will be difficult to isolate the food causing allergy. Rather than guess, why not offer single food purees first so that you know which one is the culprit?

Yes Val, I know what you mean. I think at 6 mths then I will start making the food myself one at a time. Or wait till baby can entertain himself more.

I'm 27 and my husband in early 30s. Not very young but I dun like pple to call me auntie. LOL

WT: Yup, Heinz comes in a mix. My doc recommend me rice cereal or frisocream. Right now cereal is quite good, would prob stick to it first then try others later. Thanks =)

Val, to get the mom's cooking quality, not many caterer can match the standard. I tried Select, is a no-no. The food very salty & oily and full of msg which I hated most!! So I might need to go back to mom's cooking.

Btw, I'm now with Chu Yi..the food not bad but my girl pref mom's cooking. I quit mom's cooking coz the soup redundant [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my maid is taking the soup as I pref home cooked soup still. It will be good if they can have 4 dishes instead of 3 dishes 1 soup!

Cloudpoem, I'm big spender :p I think if I become SAHM again, I'll spree more..wahaha imagine now I on/off stay at home, month of Aug I spent >$1k online!

My monthly expenditure very high especially my #1 sch fee + enrichment classes. My hb keeps pushing me to be SAHM for temp till my D 18mths but I told him he will regret if the decision is made..haha

Jenny,

for now, u be gd and just stick to giving him rice cereal ok? When he is older then intro veg/fruit 1 at a time. rem to observe the 3days minimum rule when u intro new food. personally, i will give 1week to ensure really no allergy. no eggs too, peanuts or honey too. rem ah =)

by then he sld be able to sit can put him in high chair and put him within sight of u while u prepare purees and entertaining him at the same time.

hahaha, once have kids, some ppl will auto call us auntie.

apple,

yes, really i feel mom's cooking is the best i have tried so far altho pricey but really can taste the diff in the food quality.

my monthly credit bill is always 4digits...this is excluding bps and sprees which i use online banking...looks like i must try to be blind when i am sahm =P

HAHAHA. so hows is ur wkload nw?

Val, I'm taking my ML this month..have not talk to my boss, he is bz! and he travels on my proj meeting :p I abit paiseh but no choice le coz I already told him long ago Sep is crucial for me and I have to be on leave to train the new maid. I might continue my balance of ML in Oct as well. Will go back to work next week for the global meeting..all bcoz of me they arrange the meeting in SG instead of China, so no excuse not to attend..sux!! I hv ppl felt "unbalance" of this arrangement & gossip, so abit sien.

So far my maid quite good, next week will put her to look after my D full force and that will determine whether I shd work or quit or take unpaid leave if HR approve.

jenny: good budgetting power! 150 a month i think i can only manage for 2 weeks max..

Val: yea...and after the 150 -160 finish..she still sucking hor..haiz...

V, Val: my baby now aso drinks 150ml and each time will cranky abit if we remove e bottle frm him when he finishes.. to tell us that he is not enuf.. hence, we then let him start on cereal last week but was only for tasting purpose 1st.

Last nite, I finally made some for him and his 1st mouth was to taste wat did i put into his mouth, after tat, he gave me an expression tat "oh, is cereal, yum yum" excited look...haha.. was so funny to see tat.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

arrgghh.. missing him nw...

Apple if ur co allows no pay, why dun u just try no pay for 6 mths first.

Val i cantbe SAHM i love to shop wayyy too much!! Haha would rather shop using my own $$ than hb's money cos he sure will nag!!

Now i planning my shopping trip to H&M next week to buy working clothes cos starting work in 2 weeks' time.

I used to freeze one week supply of fruit pureer n defrost n give my ger every day as dessert after her porridge.

starfruit: i do hv the intention to increase aso but as we just started 150ml not long ago n at times he may puke some milk out after burping, so my hb worried is it cos he drinks too much..

actually i spent quite a while to persuade my hb to let him drink 150ml frm e prev 120ml..haha..

starfruit, they do not practice long term NPL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and furthermore now we are short handed they might not approve my NPL even just 2 months..sigh

I need to really have a good chat with my boss see how's the plan, if it doesn't work soundly I'm getting ready to quit.

This week I started to let my maid hands on D's routine and she can handle quite well..so am like redundant sitting at home with her around. My G goes to sch fullday anyway.

starfruit: Can put the pureer in freezer? After that just dethaw and heat up?

Btw mummies, any idea if steriod cream can be used on baby? One pd at bishan gave it to my baby for rashes. It works very well but my baby always have rashes. So I was applying almost daily but now I stopped and baby rashes coming back again. Any advice?

Jenny yes i cook enuff to last me one week then put in baby cubes n freeze it. Every meal take 1 cube out n put in warm water to defrost n serve a bit warm. Its usually steam veggie or fruits. Cos was working so i will cook once a week n let MIL feed bb everyday.

Not good to use steriod cream on bb everyday it can thin the skin n cause discolouration, also no good for bb cos its steriod.wat rash isit? Can u try n use the carlifornia baby calendula cream instead?

My request to join the fb group not going through for some reason. Starfruit, I have sent you a pm from my fb account requesting to be added. Hope that's ok. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starfruit: The baby cubes is normal ice cube tray? Sounds like a very good idea! Think I can do it too when baby is bigger, maybe after 6 mths.

Oh luckily I stopped steriod cream already. I've tried california baby and it doesn't work at all and now I'm just using baby johnson also no use.

Val: Thanks for the advice. I'll bear that in mind. Haha, and I will control myself well enough not to anyhow feed baby.

apple & val: please control! u guys spend like nobody business! dun influence me leh.. hahaha..

Jenny: my $800 is inclusive of 3 kids FM, diapers and their misc.. i put aside $800, but i believe i exceed. cux i keep taking from the amount meant for shopping..

starfruit: u going H&M? got meant for big size one? my colleague says their clothes are pretty affordable.. when u starting work? u must be the last few to start working. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow, our group is increasing! so exciting.. mummies, maybe when our babies are ard 6 months old, wanna get together again? or near christmas?

Oh mummies, I just fed my baby with cereal using bm and its so thin even when I add a lot of cereal. My baby hates it and kept spitting it out coz he wans thick version. Yest I use FM and add cereal it thickens very easily. Do u have such probs too? Isit ok to add more cereal to make it thin instead of liquid?

cloudpoem: Oh if include everyting then need more, somemore u got 3 kids. All ur 3 kids are gals rite? So envy. I wan one gal also dun have. LOL. I always envy those who give birth to gals.

jenny, steroid cream r usually prescribe for those sturbborn rash or even those tat r pimple like. it does cure the rash but used long term, might lighten d skin tone & becum uneven.

Maybe once recover, just keep moisturising their skin bah..tat's wat i m doing currently

WT, u r using neoderm right? if i rem correctly, it's also a steroid cream

Cloud i went once already wanna go back ahain cos clothes cheap lah. Their biggest size is Eur44, i wear Eur42 for most of their stuff but pants Eur40 i can fit. U are not tat big size, i think u are smaller than me.. So sure can fit! I bought a pair of pants at $49, one skirt at $39 and 2 tops at $17.90 the last round. I wanna go back for another pair of pants n a couple more tops.

Am starying work on 5th Oct

Jenny here is how the bb cube looks like

http://www.babycubes.com/

U can search under BP side. There is sellers selling.

If bb dun response to the CB calenda cream, J&J would be even less effective. This is the rash from the food? Or does he has ezcema?

starfruit, I also hope they approve at least 2 months, that will last me till CNY. I'll see my boss next Thurs & Fri during the meeting..not sure got time to catch him for long chat!

H&M - my fav while in HK! And Zara in HK is so affordable..I miss travelling but I don't have to heart to leave D at home still.

Cloudpoem - haha..never influence u wor just shop what u think is right for your kids la since u r FTWM, can affort a lil extra [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hmm..another way to control is enrol your N&C to enrichment classes then u know your $$ spend in good way