(2011/05) May 2011

Jenny/sylvia:- ya, tippe toppie btl teats resemble nipple (closest to natural nipple shape). Maybe u can try that when u introduce to ur baby..

Angie i got my mat from SSW.

Sylvia do u think its possible for u to sit down talkto your MIL. Let her know why u bf n how worried u are. BM should not cause phlegm, the croaking sound u hear is not phlegm but stomach acid. Bb may have wind u may wanna give some gripe water. Bb usually can adapt very well with u not around, u will be surprised how well she can settle down with your MIL. Have a good talk with MIL n clear the misunderstanding, can tell her u feel hurt when she blames u and bf when bb has problem. Heating ebm is not difficult infact its easier than making a bottle of FM. Just warm the ebm n can feed already. Do u have a bottle heater for her it may be easier.

Hang in there. Bb will get easier as they grow older.

Sylvia, also want to add that youre not alone in being blamed if things are not right with bb... When my boy has wind, people will ask me "what did you eat to cause wind in your bb?"

if bb cries and needs to be carried etc, people will say mummy spoilt bb.

When my boy has rashes, it's cos mummy never clean properly.

And yes, bm does not cause phlegm. It's the best thing we can give our babies.

Think important to not be affected and correct them nicely.

Jiayou!

Sharon bb should not bite when teething, if they do have to correct straight away. I remember i was so fed up during my no.1's time i actually smack her when she bite me aftertat she dun bite me anymore. But be warned not all babies can take the smacking n some just stop latching for good after!

Wow, thanks so much mummies for all your encouragement. Now with #2, finances are tighter and bfing really help to save a lot of money, and I can really see that my bb is healthier cuz she didn't fall sick when e whole family was inflicted with the flu/cough virus. To say the truth, even with hindsight, I would probably still bf anyway as I just want to give my bb the best. It's just that it can be so tough when I have to face charcoal faces when bb cries for me/my breast.

I will still continue to feed her bottles, really hope that she will drink from them soon.

Hannah: My bb doesn't take the paci but we are training her to take one. She will also cry when we place the paci in her mouth.

Jenny: Share with u sth funny. My mil will scold my #1 si char bo/siao char bo when she's very naughty, which I totally disapprove of. She is now 19 mo and is learning to imitate speech. Ytd she pretended to call my mil with her toy hp and said,"Ah Ma, si char bo!" I was thinking - What goes round comes round. Haha

Starfruit: My mil is those traditional strict kind, can't really reason with her if not she will be unhappy. But I had told her before that I wanna bf cuz it's gd for my bb's heart. She doesn't really disapprove of EBM but rather direct latching cuz bb will be too attached to me.

dear sylvia and twinkle.

pump out the milk and throw??? my gynae tell me tat after i eat the medicine i cannot massage or pump out my breast le (just leave it like tat - dun do anything). or else it will continue to produce milk..

i really dun know how now??? pump out to throw or not??

it has been a week since i take the pill (took it last mon nite).. last week was damn painful... now not so pain but still engorge. n always have the feeling sick kinda mood.

can i really pump out some n throw?

Melody, sorry I m not sure abt this, but maybe u can try using cabbages to relieve e engorgement? If not when u r bathing juz squeeze some out until e pain is not there anymore, that was wad I did last time but I did not take pills.

hi sylvia,

thanks.. i have to take pill as i tried to pro-long the pumping to 6hrs once before but the milk is still a lot (adds up to abt 200ml to 240ml from both sides). once i drag to 7hrs and i pump out 280ml. pro-long doesnt work for me thats y i took e pill.

now a week le still engorge.. i dont think i can tahan the pain by squeezing, m thinking of pumping instead.. dont know how....

i wanted to stop the milk cos i juz went back to work today and the work plc environment not suitable for pumping so decided to stop. now bb feeding on my frozen EBM.

Sylvia: Ur #1 is so cute and funny. I dun think they shld call our children names when we ourselves dun do that. I take care of my baby alone, my mil nv help at all so what gives her the rite to call my baby like that.

Mummies, my baby is used to having the yao lan. Its so scary coz I cun do anything except to rock him non-stop. Even if he wakes up, he still wans to be inside and wans me to rock him. If I stopped, he will cry immediately. I slinged him and he still cried. In the end I have to mimic the rocking of yao lan using my own legs. Too horrible for me! Last fri I bring him to my mum's house he kept crying coz he was sleepy but just wouldn't sleep without a yao lan. Think my nightmare on yao lan has begun!

Jenny:- I am using electric yaolan.. Its v good.. Although they might xi guan to it but no use.. Since that might ease ur baby from crying, den I think u shld get one.. If nt u will be tired keep rock ur baby nonstop..

I believe in stopping baby crying by all means, nt that it will spolit them but baby cry & the air goes in the tummy is rly no good.

kay: My bb dun cry so much now but he loves the yao lan so much that he dun even wan mi to carry him anymore. LOL. The electric one has only 3 springs rite? Isit safe n does it consume alot of electricty?

Dolly: I just bought the loreal white perfect, the Fan Bing Bing ad to try on my super panda eyes.

Jenny, Kay: I also use electric yaolan. He naps so much better in it.

Need to rant on my maid. Gave me super black face after I went out w Bb n hb. We left her at home to prepare dinner while we went out to run our errands. My dd1 want to play with her after dinner. She was busy washing up n shouted at my boy 'don't come n disturb me!' I can't imagine if we leave Bb with her care. She may vent it on my innocent children who are defendless! Just now i called for her when bb pooed n she goes sarcastic like 'I thought something urgent' I retorted her that I expect her to help out regardless n she should take initiative instead of waiting for me to call out to her. That's the downside of having maids, still got to take their crap.

Jenny - I use the electric yao lan also.. No time to sit there and rock her. She is on 3 springs, so far she is safe in the yai lan. I am not sure about whether they will xi guan or not ? But personally, I feel if they are really tired they can sleep anywhere. However, if they have a choice for sure they will choose.

Several times my bb girl fall asleep on my shoulder when I burp her afrer feed.

Little Fly - Your maid is new or have been you for awhile ?

I am bit scared also, my new maid coming next week. This is the first time we are getting a maid and I am worried that she will be difficult to live with. We have never wanted a maid but seeing my mum so tired out from looking after my girl, we are left with no choice but to get someone to help her out.

Also we are staying only in a 3 room flat and she has to share the room with my mum and bb. Hopefully, it will turn out well...

Little fly, is your maid working for u for quite sometimes already? Seems like attitude prob!! I'm in the midst of applying the maid back to SG..hope she will be good & hardworking.

I also use d electric Yao Lan.total got 7 spring so u juz adjust according to their weight.my gal also,once u stop she'll cry.but at night still let her slp in cot or bunk in with us.

re: east gathering

1)yaer

2)bubble pearl

3)hannah

anyone else coming? details on fb (or can pm me for directions).

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Electric Yao Lan: Where do u mummies buy it from? I saw the sunflower electric rocker on website and costs abt $149. Wonder if somewhere else has cheaper ones.

Jenny:- ya, yaolan gt 7spring to adjust to ur baby weight. Now my boy using 4-5spring alrd cos he heavy le.

My yaolan was a gift by friend during baby shower (man yue).. Price I rembed was $1xx also.

Anyway just to share, mummies, there a place which sell baby products v cheap at bedok reservior road there.. Its call baby hyperstore. Its like a manufacture warehouse place to shop & the price there really cheap.. Its at the industry side. Take bus 87 from sengkang or bedok can reach alrd.

=D

Jenny:- as for xi guan anot I think is up to individual. My boy starting slp very well in it. Recently we intro him a new pattern that is to slp side way in baby bouncer chair.. Now he sometimes dulan slping in yaolan alrd.. =/

But eletric yaolan is safe, so long as u tight it safely..=D

Just to ask mummies who have experience..

Those who have menses period afterbirth, is the color bright red for the first time of menses afterbirth? Mine was bright fresh red in color.. But it wasn't used to be tis color.. Isit norm?

I dun rem d color but d 1st real mense afterbirth for me was much heavier n longer duration than b4 birth. Also,I seldom have cramps b4 pregnant but after #1,b4 mense come will have very bad backaches & have cramps for 1st 2 days of mense. Not sure is it partly cos #1,I nvr do my confinement properly

Kaykay,

Thanks for the lobang! This place has things like diapers and wipes or only toys? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My electric Yao Lan is polar brand.think my sil buy fr msia ard $80+. Mb u can try check if any1 sellin 2nd hand

Rdg baby hyperstore/hypermart at kaki bukit, not all d stuffs r cheaper.mb d cots yes. If necessities,I think taka bb fair or even dept stores that has private sales or discount might b cheaper.but if u compare to kiddy palace,d hypermart is cheaper

Viman,it has alot of bb stuffs.gd for 1st x parent cos practically what u need for bb r there.there r 2 shops side by side.1 sell alot of strollers/car seat which r cheaper than outside.1 sell more on necessities like sterilizers etc. But if dept got storewide 20% will b cheaper than there

Baby Hyperstore actually located at Kaki Bukit. They are importer/distributor of strollers, carseats, babycot..etc

There is another shop called Baby Kingdom on the same row.

Viman, I don't remember they sell diapers & wipes. I gotten my Bfree bottle fr there.

Sigh.. Y is my #2 so prone to contagious disease again? Few wks ago was hfmd n nw is sore eyes.. His CC principal said last wk his classmate got it but had returned back to sch already.. Sigh.. I can't go to e gathering tomolo.. Enjoy shopping n makan mummies..

Baby hypermart sells maclaren n maxi corsi stuff as well as other things. If u need to see full range of maxi corsi or maclaren can go there. Sometimes certain models on offer is very good deal. Baby kingdom(2 doors away) sells combi stuff/stroller - very good range too. Other stuff like diapers, n nessesities, i find dept store sale is much cheaper lah.

U all can try amk ctrl, near amk polyclinic, there is a bb shop sell stuff like rocker, yao lan, wipes, teats, home clothing, walkers, breast pad n car seat. The prices is quite reasonable..another store is at bedok ctrl, facing the new USB flats, near last time cinema Mac, not bedok pt.

Dolly: u need to download a video convertor than convert all ur shows to iPad extension. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Work has been good, in fact, very good. Cux my superior mention that my boss has given me a promotion. Was quite shock Cux I was feeling unbalance before heading for maternity. But glad that they appreciate my work and acknowledge.. :D

Pumping in office was bad, didn't yield as much as I pump at home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

The thread moving so fast.. Been busy with my sch assignment lately and no time to read and post.. Feel so stressful cuz deadline soon and my brain is block.. Lucky my mum helping with my kids..

SEem like many mummies starting or already go back to work me too ending my ml soon been telling my hb I wish to be sahm but he rejected my request cuz we got 3 kids can't afford to stay home.. Sigh

Apple, Deon: my maid only with us for 4 months but she is ex-sgp n quite bold type. I gave her black face in return n spoke to her in terse terms too. Makes me more determined to get a nanny for my Bb. I think it is better to get someone who is timid, humble n respectful. Deon, better yet ur mum share room w maid n Bb so she watch over the maid.

My electric yaolan is $149 bought from Bb store at AMK central. Tried not using electric yaolan but Bb wails whenever my hand stops.

Cloud: congrats on your promo!

Precious: poor boy. Think he prob has lower immunity. Hope he gets well soon!

Split: I dread returning to work too but I won't want to be SAHM again. I have no patience n I can't stop spree-ing.

Back to zzz. Need to Wake up 2 hours later for Bb next feed.

Up for pumping since I can't sleep. Feeling v vexed over nanny for my Bb. Saw one today but she can only start in Oct as she going on vacation in Sep. I need to start work Sep n doubt could take 2 weeks leave after my ML ends.

Other nanny choices not ideal as they are already taking care of 2 other kids. We are fast running out of options. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Janice: u nanny do day time only or both day n night time ?

Dolly: I can't remember is wad program.. But from vcd to mp4, I haven't try.. Mine was .rmbv to .mp4 took quite dome time..

Little fly: same here.. I find myself spend lesser time on shopping when I'm working. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] like that can earn and sound lesser money. Lol. As for ur maid, u got to stand firm and don't let her stand on ur head! I will talk back to her and ask her watch out, we're all staying together, don't make things turn awful.

Deon: my maid sleeps in the same room as my mil. In fact, my first maid sleeps in living room too. And she was ok.. I'm quite 'lucky' that I got 2 compromising maid that are hardworking and interact with us well.. Jus that my current one is a little emo.

Split: sigh. As much as I want to be a sahm, working really makes me feel secure Cux got income and have Career satisfaction.. I remember u mentioning thatbu don't like ur work Cux of the 'man'? Change job? Would that make u feel more better in returning?

Precious: thanks! Was happy too.. Knock out upon returning home, Cux reach home at 9.30pm.. And Bb wad nursing rill 11pm. Nearly doze off with her..

Slept @ 11pm after coaxing J.. She woke up 1am, having nitemare... W woke up @ 1.30am for milk... Both drink milk @ the same time... W slept @ 2am, J almost slept @ 3am.. I almost dozed off, W woke up again for milk... Qrrrggh..

cloud, congrats on ur promotion..i wish i can change job but i need to give my company 2 mth notice..plus at the moment even if i change company will still be in the same line..dont think i can get any job that give me the same pay..cant afford to decrease pay with 3 kids and my study loan..

little fly, better get a nanny..the way u talk abt ur maid..she like dont have patient with kids, u know bb sometime cry wunt know the reason and might be frustrating..for people with no patient really not suitable to handle them..

melody:

this is what my gynae and nurse told me... pump and throw after taking the pill...

personally i feel that it makes senses, as the pill is to stop the supply but still need time to reduce the production. at the mean time, pump and throw is the tentative way to soothe our body... otherwise what is the use of the pill.

this time is my 2nd delivery. when i have my first delivery, i stopped my supply without the pill and my GP told me not to further pump to avoid further milk production.

this is my 2 cents worth thinking, kindly correct me if i'm in the wrong track...

Thanks for sharing on the electric yao lan. I've asked my husband to go to Kiddy Palace after his work to buy. Hopefully they sell it. I stay at Jurong so that's the nearest I can get. And also to get someone to ceiling mount another yao lan at my mum's house so that baby wun cry and cry for yao lan over there.

This morning I'm so angry that I hit my baby's backside. Wake up at 6.30am for milk and kept crying when I changing his diapers. After that I faster feed him with milk and he refused to drink and kept crying. Already walk him around and shake him on my lap also not happy. In the end I smack his buttocks for a few times he still cry. Took very long before he finally settled down and buay song buay song drink very very slowly and nv finish. Took 30 min to drink. Any mummies experience this? He has been behaving like this for I think a week already. Now even breastfeeding he also dun like.

dolly: anyone helping you? i felt dizzy this morning due to lack of sleep last night.

Split: you are right. Cannot count on maid. Still no luck with nanny. We met one but she need to consider as we also asked if she can watch bb over a few nights when my hb travels. Even so, she can only start in Oct whereas I need to start on Sep. Now on ML i already sleep so little.. i can't imagine when i start work!

Cloud: This maid difficult to rein coz she got super bad influence from my neighbour's maid. I talked to her and end up she wanted a day off Hari Raya which I agreed with conditions (like came back cannot ask for more off-days, handphone etc). I really wish i have more help from my MIL or mother so i can do away w maid.

Cloudpoem:- gratez on promotion.. Tot u wanted to job change the last time u was talking & now u gotten a promotion! Wow!

Jenny:- ur case seems serious.. I think u might want try bring him go tamp temple baibai? Pray. There's one temple there for babies.. My boy last mth was also lyk urs, keep fussing but mine was better cos he keep want drink milk 150ml he finishjed in 10mins no joke.. After praying he ok le..

Or maybe ur baby fuss cos too much air in his tummy.. Better to check with PD first thou.. Try ridwind?

kay: Which temple isit? I thought he's unwell at first but then sometimes he's ok sometimes he's not. Not sure if he's just fussing or dunno what happened to him. I got give him the colic drops from PD. Now not so gassy le, other times he is ok except drinking.

Jenny,check is it stomach got wind or is it nose block. If got wind can try give gripe water & rub some ruyi oil.if nose,I normally spray sterimar to c if they can sneeze & unblock nose themselves.else I will give illadin nose drop