(2011/05) May 2011

Conception: wah, so many kinds, I want to do IUD but scare leh but again I am forgetful of eating pills n my hb dun lime condom..quite scare now as my hb keep asking to do the deed n he even ask me when I stop pumping, he saw got milk n he scare lol!

Dolly, my hb even ask me why I give my parent so much allowance! Hello, they take care our kids leh, cannot ah? Just because, they have pay off the housing loan , they dun need money ah?

Dolly: glad to hear tat... Maybe u n ur hubby can list down wat r the daily expenses n discuss who to pay wat... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cloudpoem: tink our gynae recommended the same method... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bubble: my gynae said got another method is to cut small line on ur upper arm (near the armpit there) n insert some hormone patch in... need to change every 3 yrs... But when I tink need to cut my arm every 3 yrs to change the patch I scare liao... Somemore he said can feel tat there is a hump on the arm... Feel so awkward...

Yaer & bubble: the one that insert under arm got side effects.. Either weight loss or weight gain & menses heavy or little. It depends on individual.

I have a colleague who is takIng Yasmin, a contraceptive pill. It claims to give some glow to skin too. She has berm taking for 2 yrs? So far, looks good. Hurhurr..

Precious & Angie: ya. Tomoro is my 12th week ML.. Hope all is well and not swamp with work... Will be pumping in ofc 2 times too.. Hopefully, I dun doze off while pumping

Cloud so fast back to work. Agree usially its the mummies with seperation anxiety not the babies. So did u manage to find your jckt in the end.

Dolly good tat u n hb are ok now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Husbands: Haha. I didn't know that's the same excuse husbands used. This morning I called his hp coz I was in room sleeping with baby and he's awake and always in living room. Once he picked up the phone, I didn't even say hello and I just say are u pooing again and he said yes.

Dolly: I'm glad you've made up with your husband. Sometimes after work, we will have unpleasant stuff that make us lose our temper. I'm sure ur husband dun mean to accuse you.

Cloudpoem: I think there's a naforye carrier or something which is cooling. Not sure true or not, just saw some BPs selling that. And good luck to the starting of your work. I'm sure u will miss ur baby at your workplace.

Menses: I hope my menses dun come so quickly too. My friend told me she bf and pump but second mth her menses come. LAst few days I also got little discharge but go away liao. Heng. I going to bf till my menses come. Even if my boy is 2 years old and menses haven't come I'll also express out.

Cloud, wish u 'shun shun li li' for tmr's first day at work. I dropped by my dads office to help pack some stuff today coz we're moving office. Then bb girl still on milk strike, 1 day only drink 4 times, each feed drag 5-6 hours. Last nite went to watch Harry potter at Nexx came back late also, overslept this morning, now shivering 37.4 deg slight fever, popped 4panadols....hope she won't go on milk strike for many more days, every 6 hourly feed I'm sure to get blocked ducts again...

Mummies think I'll give tues town gathering a miss if I'm still having fever, doubt i'll recover so quickly, half left boob blocked... Not good...

Mummies, thanks so much! Luckily that I've this channel to vent my frustration. He told me that yesterday his instructor gave him a hard time, hence throw temper @ me... He asked me to help him to canceled his lesson for next week.. I'm so pissed off that I've cancelled all his lessons even before his test date.. Now he can't take his test cause of my impulsive action.. Feeling regret of what I've done...

Mummies who order the Sophie giraffe teether, I already place ordered & ship to my hb colleague. Will advise the total cost upon credit card billed.

Thank you Jenny & starflower!

Need that shun shun li li! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starflower: slow down ur shopping life! U seems to VE enjoying ur maternity leave! See u chiong everyday! Y ur Bb also milk strike?

Starfruit: I din manage leh.. My front too big, even If I can find one that fit, in front sure can't buckle. Damn sian la! Dun like my boobies to be this big. I wanna be like split, grow smaller after every breastfeed journey. Lol

Apple:- thanks for the purchase of all our sophie graffie!

Re:menses

Why so zhun.. U all talking abt post natal menses.. Today my menses back first day le. ><!!! Dunno tml will increase flow anot as now only abit.. Siannesss 1/2

Baby carrier:- yah thinking of getting bjorn too but heard its hot unless u buy the 3mths & above one which material more cooling..

Today gotten my baby carrier in a shop just under my block market there.. It has 6ways of carrying & clipping & comfortable & easy to use.. My boy fall aslp str8 after I put him in it LOL!

Best part is- it only cost me $30!!

Cloud its only bfing tat ur boobs get so magnificient!! Hehe. U can cont ur hunt for the jckt after u go backto work. Have a good start at work.

Kay, actually ur menses quite late in coming already cos u stop bfing for a while right. I think ur boy likes to be in a baby carrier! Good he can fall asleep easily this means u can bring him out easily!

Up for pumping cos engorged liao. My ger slept for close to 5 hrs!! N still on semi bottle strike cry like mad when i feed the bottle n drank 80ml only n after tat top up with my latchong.

Starflower u working for ur dad or just helping him to move the office. Btw i am curious, wat are the 2 bags u bought!

Thus far i bought 2 pairs of heels, missed wearing heels n had to throw a no. of pre preg shoes away cos spoilt due to storage during pregnancy!

Kay, u r welcome. Good that your boy luv to be in the carrier. My boy luv the bjorn too! It is easier for me to bring in down for a stroll in bjorn.

Cloudpoem, hope u hv a good day ahead in the office. I'll be heading back to office in the afternoon for meeting too! Actually wanted to go in early but my D bottle strike again..argh & last night he slept thru fr 9am to 6am.

Starfruit, bottle strike is terrible [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my D only take 40-50ml fr bottle..sigh & I noticed latching on he also suckle enough to survive like 4-5min..sigh

Hola morning mummies on forum!

Imma outta early morning go company for wine tasting & meeting! *with an empty stomach* =(

Its a new wk! Don't forget to go taka baby fair stock up things that our precious baby need! Its a gd time to start buying 3-6mths clothes for our baby if you haven't done so.. =D

Kay, u shd take b/fast before the company wine tasting..it's gonna be bad with empty stomach!

Maybe just grab sandwishes before hand bah

good morning mummies, it's a brand new week!

i suppose it was good weather to sleep last so some of our babies sleeping longer thru the night? my boy slept from 1030pm till 6.45am! His personal record! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cloud: sorry late reply, have u booked yr Disney tix? They just did a verbal verification on the phone, didnt ask for any verification at counter.

dolly: good to know tt things are better b/w u and hubby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple yeah the bottle strike make me so worried now cos i worry when i go back to work. MIL ask me just latch but i insist cannot she needs to learn to drink from the bottle! Headache. Yesterday was the best cos she managed 80ml ( highest record so far but she used to take 120ml) this is after 1 hr of fussing n crying n 2 seperate drinking session of 40ml. I want to change to the next bigger teat but at the way she is crying i scared she will choke man!! Headache now.

Mummies have u all change the teat to the next bigger one??

Kay i already stocked up up to 12 mths clothes !! Hehe my ger currently already starting to wear 3-6 mths liao.

Btw can i check when should we be expecting the next growth sprout?

For the gathering tomorrow, are we going shopping or staying at coffee club ? I need bring my girl for review and can be only there later.

hello mummies...Having monday blues even though I have not started work.

Where is my bb's nanny? please appear soon... haha.

On Hubby: we are 'shop n save'. I shop, he saves. Only that I shop with my own money. i pay for our maid coz i don't want to work myself to death with working, care for kids, housework and cleaning.

i have taken the pill from gynae to stop my breast milk supply. now breast quite engorge and pain.. gynae say cannot do anything.

anyone got any good remedies besides the cabbage leaf. .as i heard that cabbage may make your breast shrink so i dare not try as my one is quite small before the engorgement

apple: Thanks!

Littlefly: haa...nice term!

starfruit: yours still ok...mine wearing 9mth now le..n still got some brand new 3-6 months haven wear..sian.....

bbpooh: the doc is at jurong west blk 502, should be around the place which sells a lot of durians.

little fly: still haven't find a nanny? Hows ur baby lately? Getting better?

Melody: My mum told me she used to buy some medicine frmo chinese medication hall to stop engorgement. Not sure what it is coz she also dunno the name. Maybe you can ask around.

Yest night my baby still refuse to sleep at 10.30pm so we put him on the bed and he played with himself and kept looking here and there and started making a lot of sounds. Really cute, seldom get to hear him making so much sounds, at most one of two only. He played until 11.30pm then whined a little and we fed him and let him sleep after that.

melody: i've gotten the pills from my gynae to stop the milk supply but not taken yet. instructions from my gynae that even you have taken the pills, you still have to express the milk out and throw. Remember the milk CANNOT BE GIVEN TO the baby liao.

My baby is still sleeping. Just went over to see how come he sleep till so late. Hopefully he can still take a nap later so that I can have a shower.

starfruit: he drank 130ml from bottle at 930pm. then at abt 10pm, he fussed again, I latched him on one side for about 20 min and then he went to sleep at 1030pm all the way till this morn 6:45am! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

littlefly: haha i like "shop n save"! :p

Nic i think u r right weather good so all bbs sleep well last night.

Melody u need to pump out n throw dun pump all out pump half to relief engorgement. Must clear if nt u will be in pain n may cause fever.

Twinkle actually no need to take pill u just drag ur pump session n dun empty breast in 2-3 weeks supply will die off. This way easy n not so painful.

Jenny since he is still sleeping why dun u go shower first.

Apple:- thks but end up I went tasting with an empty stomach still.. But v satisfied cos we drunk a btl of dessert wine which cost a few hundred dollars. Partly becos its a 1998 btl. =D just a small glass of wine = $20 down my stomach liao.

Starfruit:- wow u super fast! 12mths de clothes u all bought liao! Pei fu!

Little fly: Where do u live? I see quite a number of postings in Today's Motherhood fb pg looking for nannies in Bedok/Tampines. Maybe can use it as a source for nannies?

Starfruit: Think next growth spurt will be at 3 mo but mine went through it at 10 weeks.. Fussed and cried a lot and refused to sleep, waking up every hr to feed.. How's your baby?

Starflower: how r u feeling? Get well soon!

Re: Breastfeeding

Mummies I just need to rant. I think it is very difficult to be a bf mother. Yes, I know that it's the best food for the bb and it helps with bonding. In fact, I feel very proud of myself as I have finally succeeded in fully bf-ing my bb.

But the lack of support from my family really saddens me. My hubby just proclaimed that he is anti-bfing due to the host of problems my bb has. My mil blames my bm for the cause of phlegm in my bb, and finds heating yup ebm very troublesome.

Sometimes I just wonder if I have made a wrong decision to bf. As I wanted to succeed so badly this time, I keep on latching (and thus carrying) my bb literally 24/7 during the initial weeks cuz all the bfing websites say to feed on demand. I didn't heed my mil's advice of just pumping and feed cuz I know I am not disciplined enough to pump regularly so as to establish ss.

Now I'm being blamed for everything - my bb's attachment to me, her refusal of bottles and her inability to fall and stay asleep without carrying.

I'm the kinda mum that can't bear for babies to cry. If I am a SAHM, I would just let carry her and let her sleep on me. When I'm around, she always feel secure and contented, but not otherwise. She sees my mil as the "bad guy" as mil is always the one trying to force feed bottles to her and will give very heart-wreching shrill screams when mil tries to handle her.

I have a month left before returning to work. I get more worried with every passing day as her bottle and mil rejection continues.

Have I done anything wrong here?

Sylvia: Does your bb take a pacifier? My girl also will cry esp when she wants to sleep and someone else carries her. I've been passing her to my family members when she's in a good mood so she gets a positive feel when others are carrying her. I think maybe it might help to get your mil to carry her when she's calm and happy. If she fusses, dun make it a big deal and just comfort her lor... She'll get used to it. Also, ask her not to forcefeed your bb with the milk la. It might cause her to reject the bottle even more. Are you using a silicone teat? You may wanna consider rubber/latex teats coz it's more soft than the silicone ones. It's not easy to pass the caregiving duties to someone else. I remember crying when i left my #1 with my mum while i went out with my hubby alone for the first time. Jiayou ya?

Sylvia,

You must always remember that you have done the BEST for your baby, irrespective of what anyone says. I wish I could breastfeed directly but I can't because my baby was in hospital for 2 months after birth and was tube and bottlefed there so she refuses to latch on. Really breaks my heart. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] aside from the annoyance of washing/sterilising/pumping/refrigerating/warming expressed ebm, I also feel that I am missing out on true bonding with my baby because of this.

Your bm cannot be the reason for phlegm or any ailment baby has. Bm is nectar for babies, it cannot harm them in any way.

Angie: Thanks. On clothing size, I ordered 9mths thinking he could wear for CNY. Big mistake. Now he’s already 6-9months already. Alamak, I must SPREE again for 12mths clothes… [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny: Yes, bb getting better n starts to smile more (maybe just passing gas) but still sings n exercises his lungs in the evening especially 9plus. Sometimes I feel like taping his mouth. On nanny hunt now. Flood my neighbouring blocks with my contacts but few enquiries.

Viman: Me too, looking for a good bb monitor. Won’t recommend Avent. Expensive and ineffective.

Sylvia: Thanks. I stay at SK but also open to AMK which near my mum’s. I posted quite a few online ads in FB page too. SK seems quite difficult. When I distribute the flyers, I noted many young couples. Those with elders usually take care of their own.

I think you didn’t do anything wrong to TBF. In fact, its quite an achievement! Persevere on if you can as you are doing it for your baby. Hope u ger would gradually accept bottle and ur mil so you can set your mind at rest.

Sylvia, dun blame urself, mum, mil n hb are not the one give birth. Maybe u need to be determine to let ur bb cry thru the bottle feeding. Same here, mum n hb are supportive over bf.

Twinkle n melody, I am also trying to stop my ss n what I did was to prolong pumping n not empty the milk. Now week 1, ss drop from 100ml to 70 ml 4 hrly

One more week to go before my Bb is taken care by nanny. Hopefully she is ok with it and will not forget me this mummy. Having mixed feeling.. Argg.. Dunno how I will be like on next Monday.

Baby monitor - must get a DECT model or else the noise inteference quite bad.

Kaykay - wow..expensive dessert wine! I miss my wine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] gotta refrain from taking while bf. I luv reisling white..yumyum

Nic - bravo..good weather so bb can zz longer at nite. Hope he carries on sleeping thru hehe

dolly - 24mths! wah seh...I stopped at 12-18mths coz wardrobe bursting! Nanny commented I bought too much. Some still new can't wear already..I have BN 3-6mths somemore..sigh

Sylvia: U did nothing wrong. In fact, you've been doing a good job in bfing.Baby's prob is not due to your bm. They will occur even if u feed FM. It seems like older generation do not bf. My mil just told me to stop expressing and feed fm fully to baby during my confinement when I was expressing non-stop due to my low supply. I wish I could be like u, being able to fully bf.

I rem seeing bottles with teats that resemblse mummies' nipples. Maybe you can try that.

Btw, my baby desn't like my MIL too coz she's so demanding and say this and that and tot she's very clever like that. And whatever she says everyone must listen to her and whenever she comes, baby will give her a black face. She even call baby names like po bo all these. Baby and I really dun like her.

Little Fly: Glad to hear that. Ur description is so funny. Its better to cry for a while than the whole day. My baby now fuss a lot when drinking milk and can't finish his 120ml. And after drinking he will keep crying for sleep.

Baby clothes: My baby is wearing 6-9 mths now and I think going to wear 9 mths in a few weeks time. What size should I get for CNY clothes?

Dolly:- wah u most pro! 24mths de u alrd prepare!

Apple:- yupp rieslings are nice esp german ones, they r famous for it.

We drank was sauternes Chateau guiraud, one of the most exp wine in the world.

I gonna order my boy clothings from carters... But any mum noe their size cutting.. Cos I'm afraid the 3-6mth clothes will be too small... Dunno shld I get 9-12mths clothing instead anot.. Anyone noes?

Sylvia:- don't get dishearted, bfeeding is gd. Take the close attach as a positive thing instead, its the bonding.. Going to to work is inevitable..

Mummies gg out to work:- thou baby alrd recognise u & might cry if they can't see u during ur work time, but don't take it to heart too much to heart.

I went work right after confinement that my boy now sticking to my grandma as he sees my grandma as his 'mama' alrd.. Tis period will be over as ur baby grow older, he/she will noe u r the mother. And bfeeding adds on to tis bond! As for me who has alrd stop bfeeding long ago, only good thing was no need to stress abt supply, more time to rest, no need to wry abt introducing btl & he took it easily without fussing..

These problem for bfeeding mums are bound to have, sooner or later.. Its just a prob of time.. Nevertheless, bfeeding is the best isn't it..?

Jiayou mummies on bfeeding & don't get dishearted by husband/ comments by ppl ard u..

Sylvia, I don't think you're doing anything wrong.. It's nature to latch and carry and comfort baby.. Problem is our society interferes with it cos mothers can't be full time caregivers and hence we have to bottle feed and let others take care.

Thing is if you're going back t work, think need to harden your heart and intro bottle somehow.. My cousin in law had to take a few more months of no-pay leave cos baby wouldn't take the bottle and would not drink at all till mother is home.. And now he's teething and poor mummy always in pain when bb latches..

Re : wine!!! I miss my wine... I was out with hubs for dinner and was so tempted to have a glass but decided to hold off.... Looking forward to having a drink with my friends again... Been so... Long.,,