(2011/05) May 2011

vv - I do consider nanny and infant care if maid doesn't work out. But my hb still think infant care is better than nanny. We seen irresponsible nanny around my area. Raining still pushing bb to NTUC and kopitiam!

Actually my girl's childcare is also having infant care service. I can put them together and the principle is very nice and responsible..but sad to say I'm moving to another area by end of next yr. So gotta switch childcare and start hunting for alternate plan, that's y still need a maid to stand by just in case. Otherwise I'll be SAHM temp till my #2 turns 18mths.

Was trying to fall asleep and suddenly hungry..

Den wanted to throw up... Faintz...

Just took some milk and biscuit.. will try to fall sleep again...

@apple: I oso had maid issue.. Vainpot and patterns started to act up when finished paying loan.. I guess I was luckier cos my boi was more than 18 months so I switched to PT maid... With the 2nd one on the way, I oso considering re-hiring a maid.. but scare of all the issues they bring along.. Sigh...

Vv, u looks like taking a lot instant noodles? Ever tot do pasta n bring to office?

Keke, just ate a bowl of Tom yum instant noodles for supper n my boi eat a bit too...now he is watching typhoon drama w my mum...piangz

Maid...

me senting my maid back.. as my son in CC.. and that vainpot wan to go back get married.. but thinking should i can a replacement maid.. or wait till ard april then get another maid.. which country one better?

ML,

i also intend to take 2 month only then the rest i work on alternate days.. hope can dong till get my year end bonus and i think i will either quit or find new job.. my workplace is too far from my place...

Good morning mummies..

I'm zombie today, I have not sleep since last nite! I was having nite MS, puke non-stop until gastric juice came out..argh..then drank a lot of water scare dehydrated then urinate every hr..sigh

I'll work from home today. Just spoke to boss secretary.

apple take care.. drink some warm water may feel better...

my MS is UP na DOWN.. Monday no MS.. eat like a pig.. then yesterday cannot eat much.. didn't take dinner.. only ate 1 apple for dinner..

hen we will need to go do the NT scan? i dunno how many weeks am i... base on bb size i'm 7 wks.. base on LMp me now 9 wks.. dunno when the gynae will schedule me for the scan...

Morning Mummies!

Apple

Oh okay, understand your situation. Yeah, Nanny also must depend on luck de. If you put infant care, can put together with your girl's childcare. By the time we start work again after ML will be in Aug 2011, so maybe u can start to look out for new one before u shift since need to register early for following year intake.

Actually Im also thinking of being SAHM until #2 turns 18mths cos I really dun like the idea of maid looking after #2 when so young. But I know really no choice. My current maid told me she likes baby girl yesterday. I dun even know if she will be staying longer to help me. I dun wan to ask her cos I dun wan her to think I need her desperately and as you know, maids will sure take for granted & start to chu patterns or chu spots liao. Alot of things to think about... sianz.

Hey, take good care... and rest well @ home. Maybe u lie down will feel better?

Dolly

What did u have for breakfast today?

Petpet

Your maid same like my previous 2 maids. Once loan finished, start to chu spots liao. My current maid loan finishing soon liao, dunno if she will chu spot like previous. Damn sian. When do u intend to get new maid?

Bubble

No la, once a week like that. But will change to once fortnightly soon cos bb getting bigger, cannot always eat this. But hoh, I try to put in healthy ingredients lah. Hahaaa....Hoh! U also eat instant noodles ah, tom yum!!! YUMMY

Blurmon

Mine is Indo... My anothr fren got a new one from Phil. I dun really prefer Phil but heard that their English is better, pay (w/o off day) same as Indo maids now.

NT Scan - I think between 11 to 12 weeks ba... Im doing mine next week @ close to 12 weeks.

vv, my maid is indo.. and my son know how to speak malay... i dunno wan to get which country one leh... thinking of phil.. can teach my son better.. but heard.. now most request for off day one.. i go homekeeper.. most phil is 400 per month..

my maid now is 380 per month..

we now thinking should we get mymmar one.. only 350...

by the way how you all prepare your #1 for the arrival of no. 2... my boi is sleeping with me.. wehn no 2 come.. how?

Morning!!!

Breakfast: prawn noodles! I went market to get some ingredient for my mum to cook dinner today, so tabao prawn noodle. End up buying chwee kueh for my son.

Maid: also tot of getting one but after seeing my neighbor one, I scare. That maid keep coming out the house when she see me ard n talk to me how tired she is n she want call home but my neig dun allow. Later tell me she want call home n want home.....Make me dun dare to water my plant, end up asking hb to water

morning mummies... the thread has moved so fast since yesterday afternoon. cannot catch up, so just scan through.

a lot of food items mentioned, lucky i didn't read it before dinner yesterday, otherwise i will be so tempted. ard 10pm last night, actually told hubby i want to eat those canned longans, so he went to buy. so shiok to have a big bowl of longan in front of me. don't worry, i didn't finish the whole can.

evie, are you seeing dr tan on monday too? my appt is 8.30am for OSCAR, then see dr tan. btw, my hubby wrote a list of things dr tan can and cannot eat. she said wolfberry is ok.

phil ones are now v ex. their govt are requesting that the maids be paid US$400 with 4 off days per month. Employers have to sign an agreement to say that they agree to the above else the maid can't leave the country.

when phil goes home for home leave, another few hundred $$. have to sign the above agreement as well and buy dun-know what insurance. got to go embassy to apply for permit for maid to be able to leave Phil.

Blurmon, I had a myanmar maid once, for a couple of month. She drives me up the wall. english not v good. can't really communicate and always act blur. will lie to me that she has followed my instructions and ask old maid (during transition) not to tell me.

need to look for a new maid next year cos this one dun want to renew after 3yrs. planning to go for Indo one.

Blurmon

Wah, yr son so "li-hai", can speak malay. Issit because maid taught him a bit? Phil - now pay is SGD 370 w/o off day. Heard from my fren, she just chose one Phil only last week, she interviewed 2 of them on phone personally @ agent there, 1 refused and want off day, so my fren chose the other one, whom accepted no off-day and pay @ SGD 370. Now my Indo maid @ SGD 340. I heard current Indo is @ SGD 350 liao at least. Myanmar last I heard SGD 320 or sth... But Myanmar will have difficulty in English yeah. My MIL employed before, it took her one year to be able to speak and understand very basic English. So u may want to re-consider...

#2 come, will sleep in the cot and u will still sleep with #1 ma. Unless u wan sleep with both...?

Bubble

Aiyoh, yeah. These maids like to complain to neighbours and blah blah de. very KNS one. But again, maids - depend on luck de. Maybe u will get a good one leh.

Joyce

Longan Shiok ah. My neighbour made longan jelly and passed some to me. I ate 2 every after day...

good morning mummies...

wow... topic of the day is maid huh? mine is indo - new w/o exp pay sgd340 w/o off... previous maid also indo with exp sgd350 w experience... two months later... pattern all come out... greedy & vainpot... nice food then eat rice... no nice food eat maggie mee... want to keep long hair refuse to cut even before briefing of house rules... so change after two months... present maid is much better...

vv,

took fried beehoon...

Dolly

Wah, yr last maid so realistic ah. KNS hor. I had bad experience on my last maid and so I learnt to be slightly smarter. My hubby told me, not to "open Up" too much to maid and only talk about work. Unless necessary once in a while joke with them ok. But must hv limit. Cos these maids dunno their limit de.

Christine

I also read sth like that, phil maids need to be paid SGD 450 at least and it is compulsory. I was rather shocked when my fren told me she just got her phil (just chose) last week @ SGD 370 which I thought was a pretty good catch. W/O experience in PHILS and 24 years old. I was kinda skeptical. Somehow, I feel some maid agents are really quite "immoral" and may cheat some employers...

DOlly

All along, I use Western Union. Not bad. U?

vv,

i was so fed-up using western union... they reject crediting the monies to the bene's acc... claim that the bene is under goverment's watchlist? ask from the staff if can use BNI or other mode of remitting? he told me whichever i would to use will still have to go thru western union. ie to say, western union is their middle man... W.U has the rite to stop the payment if they have sense any suspicious...

vv. the rule comes from the phil govt. it is stated in the phil embassy website. they have even provided a standard contract http://www.philippine-embassy.org.sg/wp-content/uploads/forms/labor-contract-HSW-direct.doc

Min salary : About S$600 (US$400)

how the agency bypass the ruling is the sign a fake agreement (for show only). u "ba kat" / explain to the maid first that the agreement is only for their govt but actually pay and off day will be different.

I'm not v comfortable. End of the day, it is actually a legal / official document.

Dolly

Oh... I thought western union only need to give name nia leh. So far, I give name of the maid's relative. But how does the WU know just by name that the person is under Govt Watchlist? Weird leh

Christine

Yes, exactly. I also dun feel comfortable. But I dun dare to say much to my fren la since she is the one employing. I already highlighted to her on what I know, that the Phils supposed to get higher pay. She got it from her nearby place agent. She went to parkway there, the agents all offer the pay at least 500 plus & above. So she ended up back to her neighbourhood agent.

I just opened the form and realised - seems and looks like the phil has a "BETTER LIFE" than the Indos working here like that leh. Felt more like they are given a higher pay, more protection like that hoh

I have chosen Phil for my new maid bcoz I lost fate, faith and trust on Indon. I'm paying $400 with no off-day for ex-UAE 5yrs experience maid. Praying hard she is good for my household. I interviewed her via phone too. She left UAE bcoz the salary there is lower than S$ and she needs more $$ for her 2 kids who is in high school going to college soon. She is single mom.

Regarding the Phil govt new rules - yes the agency normally will do up a fake agreement, and reality the range is from $370-$450 depends on experience.

I was warned not to take Myammar maid too. Too many horror stories and their english sux

Apple

Yeah, the same goes to my fren whom chose Phils. But anyway, it all depends on luck la.. Maybe this time round, your luck is good with Phils. Ex-UAE 5 years sounds good eh.

Myanmar Maids - better not, unless you have someone @ home to slowly communicate with her English like my MIL last time. MIL housewife, so can take her time to slowly teach her. Myanmar also more gentle which I can see. Thats the good point I know. On the other hand, they are rather fair skinned type. So more or less will attract some bees... so another "fatal attraction" to outside men.. The Myanmar maid my MIL had; had sth fishy going on with China MAN neighbour next door... and wore very scantily...

wow...morning ladies...err...abit late to greet morning...hahah..

so anybody uses part time maid to do housework? i live in west wor...got contacts to share? hee...

cos im staying with mum..& if bb comes, intend to ask her to take care..but most prolly will get part time maid to do chores for her..then i will help out..c hw things goes lor..oso hoping to work like 3-4 days a week..duno boss ok anot..guess will hv to talk to him at a later stage...

Mudpie

U can maybe post on SMH to find some good recommendation on PT Maids... recommended are better ones.

Bubble

Wow, must be fun

Dolly

Come to think of it, felt a little shaky if to bathe new born... Haha..U will get CL right? Or?

My friend has just tender n now doing a bit handover so I help her carry her boi to sleep lor.

Potatoes salad: bacon bits, dressing sour cream n mayo

my receipe quite lengthy...LOL

2 eggs

8 red potatoes

1-2 red apples

1/2 cup mayonnaise

½ cup jap mayonnaise

lemon juice (2-3 tablespoon)

sugar

dash of pepper

dash of salt

3-4 streaks bacon or bottle bacon bits

i tink abt 10-12pax ba...u reduce d everything if u r making for 3 4 pax...heee.....

wats up for lunch mommies? my brekkie still full...whaha...

hi ladies, just to check w u. Is sleeping on the back ok when preg? or sleeping by the side is better? can't seem to sleep well this few nites...

auroa,

preferably by the side when reach 3rd trim...

mudpie,

thanks much...

me prawn beehoon soup... cough with phlegm is back after spread to my girl and she has pass it back to me again... my hot fudge "pao tang" le...

anyone has read "mypaper" today.... it has this article: "how much weight should Asian mums-to-be put on?"

Dolly

Hee, same here but I got 1 helper only la plus 1 part time helper which is my MOM whom will look after my #1.

Wow, u crave for Potato Salad?

Didnt read, so how much weight to put on for MTB?

Auroa

I read, better to sleep on the side so that more blood flow or sth...

I just finished lunch - Spicy Sesame Chu Qian Yi Ding 3/4 portion with Egg and little bit luncheon meat. Maybe later 2 plus to 3 pm then munch some titbits...

evie, looks like we will meet again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

auroa, i feel more comfortable sleeping on my side. hardly sleep on the back since preggie.

vv,

well, thought of doing my bento set... so your pork chop with curry, side will be potatoe salad... nice?

To all mummies, this article from "mypaper" about how much weight should asian mums-to-be put on?

so we have to monitor our diet & in-take for the next 9 months...

The article goes:

"an asian woman with a normal BMI, between 18.5 to 23, can put on as much as 12.7kg safely. underweight asian woman, or those with a bmi lower than 18.5, can afford to pil on about 15.1kg during pregnancy.

obese woman with a bmi of more than 27.5 should gain no more than about 7.6kg."

jane,

i will find job here..not easy to find job in brisbane.. at least my mum can take care of my

bb...

vv,

i was also thinking of not hiring cl.. cater confinement food..

i went to buy maternity clothing liao..hee..bought rather bigger size of maternity clothing.. can last longer..

felt bottom a bit tight due to bloatedness.. have not buy bra yet..dunno wat size to buy..

dolly,

i had 2 potato salad when i went for korean bbq..potato salad is not really advisable for its cold..high risk of contamination resulting in food poisoning.. but i just cant resist..

chicken or pork is ur perference.. but i prefer pork..haha...

auroa,

its good to sleep or start to sleep on ur left as more blood flow go to e uterus and the baby...

i started having hiccups liao..cant feel its fr the baby.. today appetite seems better...had small meal but more frequently... today cooking beehoon goreng and fried pork chop..

i m going for NT scan on 12w5d..looking forward but a bit worry...

Dolly

Oh... My side dish is just normal fried cabbage nia leh. No salad cos I dun dare take raw veggie for now since till havent reach 12 weeks...

Eh u finished yr lunch liao?

lunch time! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auora,

i read that it's better to sleep on yr side cos as we get heavier i think the weight of our belly presses on some nerve or blood vessel. i feel more comfortable sleeping on my right side though...but i sometimes end up sleeping on my back. i think as long as u're comfortable..whichever side is ok.

mudpie,

yummmm...yr recipe looks so delicious! gonna try it someday :D

i've got gynae appt tmr! looking forward [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, do u usually take MC for yr gynae visits? i'm wondering whether to request for mc for next week, to rest but paishe to ask. :S

I just had my lunch too..cooked instant korean noodles with fishballs & egg & jap bamboo shoots. Shiok!! I think later I'm going to take power nap. Have not sleep since last nite..my gosh

dolly,

i tot the average weight to gain is btw 12-15kg.. 12.7kg seems a bit less..haha...

my hubby started complaining that i kept throwing my half balance meal to him..he believe that he must have gain weight..haha.. i assume him only 1st trimester will pass him my food.. 2nd trimester might eat his share..

vv, serene,

<stretch> just woke up from my nap... feel better after a nap... my princess having fever since tues till now... didn't get to sleep well... worst still, yesterday she throw up on my bed... the smell keep lingering around... makes me feel like wants to puke too..

Serene

Yeah I will also cater confinement food, where would u order from? Im thinking of ordering 14 days de - then hoh, another 7 days from another caterer. Like that wont be so sian mah, eat the same food all over again week by week.

1st 14 days should be Natal Essential

Next 07 days maybe with Chilli Padi or Newbaby..

Whats your plans?

Dolly

Im very sleepy now and just gulp one small cup of 100plus in! ShiOk!

Apple

Nice Instant Noodles and healthy ingredients! Yeah, grab some sleep. Just now, I dozed off for a while... Now feeling even more sleepy.

LOL....so fast u all talk abt confinement food liao....whahaha

wah...u all very hardworking leh.considering to bring pack lunch to work..

vv,

initially wanna go 28 days with natal essential..but scare eat until sian..

mayb will b something like ur plan...tot of 14 days each.. thinking both meal with soup.. long way to go..still got time to think..

tried 100 plus 2 times..1st time enjoying..2nd time puke all..

dolly,

hope ur girl recovers soon.. when baby is down, mummy will be very tired...

i nap everyday..hee.. today mood super bad..cos 6am (8am my time)contractor need to fix air con..i need to be away from my room..only slept 3h plus..

went for bk breakfast..had japanese chicken curry for brunch.. hee.. think my bb appetite starts to grow liao..

yesterday finally my hubby express that he wanted boy..haha.. kept using next time my son..