(2011/05) May 2011

Hannah, bb ok growing well i gained 1kg since last visit. She scheduled me for detailed scan on 9 jan five weeks from now. When is ur detailed scan? Hey wanna ask u detailed scan not done at the clinic?

hi mummies, now only managed to find time to log in... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Went to see my gynae yesterday and he have a "shocking findings"... he was scanning to see bb and helping me to scan the bb's gender that he discovered that my bb is lying way below my cervix aka low placenta lying... he said that mine is major... way below cervix and caution me to look out for bleeding.. if it starts to bleed, got to come back to clinic asap. Asked him what caused that (thinking is it bcos my trip or carrying my girl caused it). Gynae said that no and it's bcos when bb implanted, happened to implant below the cervix thus leading to low placenta... he said that most likely will need to deliver early and via c-section.... immediately feel very low as din want c-section... gynae said that he will monitor again and asked me not to think abt it and from now on, if can, just lie down and no carrying my girl from ground level.. hve to ask some1 to lift her up and placed her at my shoulder will do... now it becomes clear why i hve initial spotting and cramps at the lower area, esp when carrying my girl... all due to the low placenta... gyane said that earlier din detect as bb small... now growing can see very clearly... thru scan, can really see bb lying on it and no space liao.. gyane said that as and when can expect contractions.. how to predict bb when will come...asked gyane whether as pregnancy progress will the placenta moves up... he said that for my case chances is very low....now only worry is that as pregnancy progress, bb becomes bigger and heavier, i might not be able to move/walk liao... 2 of my friends got this problem and they can't walk and 1 need to go for therapy...haiz..

btw, gyane said that might be boy as he scan a "bird" standing up (bb was lying down)... he said that not 100% sure... will confirm again when doing detailed scan in Jan 11... now i'm on multi-vitamins liao and in addition got to continue ultrastan (think spell something like that) to help to support the pregnancy.. saw my meds really want to faint... so big boxes (1 mth supply)... really hate popping pills...

today i went back to office to settle clearance and took the opportunity to buy CNY clothes for my girl..better shop now.. scare later got no chance to do it.... thinking to buy this or that... if really boy, cannot buy too much as got no pass down liao... actually i was really hoping to hve another girl (my girl earlier already predicted boy and later changed to girl) so that can pass down my girl's clothes and able to dress them up like twins... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa: this is shocking news. U must take care. Will there be risk of bb coming out early? I think u walk less if u can n dun carry heavy stuff. Must be really careful ok.

Auroa, i thought low lying plancenta shld be able to detech earlier, din know till now then can know, sounds worrying, must take good care or yourself ok

Mudpie, i like to join in the gathering this fri lei, i requested to join in the SHM May 2010 FB group liao, who can help approve me? My name is ****Y* LIM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Tommy size

Many people keep saying my tummy is very big, now i 18 weeks but look like 6 months like that, i also donno y, could be stomach wind cause the bloating

Hi mummies, didn't log in afternoon as out for appt whole aftn.

Auroa

Yea, I also tot low placenta can detect early. But again, nvm. Now know also Now know also not too late but u have to take extra care loh. Rem not to walk too much like shopping for long hrs & all. Dun worry as I believe u will be fine. 1 of my fren has the same prob but goes on to deliver perfectly. As yr preg progress, u need more bedrest.. Dun feel stress abt it now as yr gynae seems optimistic. :)

Mel

My tum also look like a month older than it supposed to be. I also feel it's bloated. Very uncomfy n comes wz slight pain. I had a v full lunch. I think I will hv to portion my meals...

Val

I just glanced thru the posts. Wow, yr tum looks v round & firm! And nice! I think mine during #1 was little saggy towards 36th week Liao, quite low.

Auroa - u take care, don't think so much. Low placenta is quite common, lucky u r SAHM. At least now your gynae is aware and he will keep a close monitor when bb grows big at later stage. I have a close fren who had low placenta too, I think somewhere week 27 onwards she is taking jab fr gynae to make sure bb lungs is matured just in case bb needs to deliver pre-maturely. U will in good hands under experience gynae. If really c-sec, u can opt for epi c-sec. I been thru, nothing major..In fact I'm quite glad I had c-sec coz bb huge and I have no scar at all after 2yrs. So don't worry la . U still can wear bikini [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I went to company appointed gynae at KKH for check-up, the gynae there ask me am I sure I gone thru c-sec coz she can't detect any wound/scar on surface..hehe..my gynae is a good "tailor"

val,

wow, ur tum looks really big. I oso gained 20kg for my #1. But i din manage to lose all the weight, still hav 5 kg tagging on, this time round, will try harder to lose the gained weight.

RE: belly button

my#1 is a boy but my belly button did not pop out.

Auroa,

take good care and rest well.

auroa,

dun think so much.. there might b miracle in the near future...rest well and dun carry heavy stuff including grocery..

MTBs,

how to know whether placenta is low? can know through ultra sound scan or detailed scanning?

Val,

Saw yr pic. yr no 1 weighed 3.7kg. Wow, that's big. Is yrs natural or c sect? My boy weighed only 2.4kg when he was born and my vaginal was torn. Can't imagine what will happen if I hv a big bb this time round.

Regarding abt weight gain

Was proudly telling my mum n sis that I hvn't put on weight last week and this week, I actually put on 1kg. Alemak! Hv to eat less liao.

Serene, if u have low placenta ur doc should be able to detect by now through ultrscan.cos with low placenta may not be able to do virginal birth as placenta may block cervix opening. But typically the placenta will travel up as pregnancy progress so sometimes no major concern.

Good morning mummies,

I'm sick. I had a very bad sore throat n block nose. I very heaty. Do anyone know that can we take 'liang cha' or 'ling yang water'? Thks!

morning dolly.. i more day to friday.. yes!!! hehehe.

mudppie, just realised i have u on my FB already. u r Cxxxxx right.. the mummy with the stylo shades [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Paulyn, yeah agree with dolly, dun take things that are overly liang now.. drink more water. and maybe keep away from the iron pills for these couple of days/

starfruit: The detailed scan is done at the lab, on the 5th level i think... Wow... your bb growing very well! =) My next appointment is on 20 Dec, so will be able to see bb more clearly the next time. Hee... So exciting!

Auroa: Wow... sounds like the news was a big shock to you. I had low lying placenta for my last pregnancy also but mine shifted upwards later. But for the longest time, i was not supposed to take heavy things and walk too long. Hope yours will resolve by itself, but in case it doesn't, also dun worry coz medical science is very advanced now so your gynae will do the best they can to protect both of you.

Then how abt your #1? Is there someone who can come to help you? It is kinda difficult to rest when you have an active child at home and you're the sole caregiver.

mudppie: I just realised that i can't go for the outing!! ARGH!!! I forgot and planned an appointment with a client who needed to see me urgently! So sorry.... Haizz... was looking forward to matching your faces with the nicks on SMH...

hannah: So the detailed scan is not done by Dr Chua? and by the technician at the lab? cos for my #1, my last gynae was the one doing the scan itself? do u know how long does the scan take?

aiyo what a pity u cant join, wanted to share notes with u and ask u more on dr chua.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit: Nope, it's done by the lab techs. My girl was quite cooperative so it was done within 30-45mins. Anyway, they're generally quite friendly so it's not a bad experience. =)

Haiz... Oh well... Hope we have another outing later and i can join in ba...

thanks mummies... think yesterday shopped for an hr and carried my girl down (she climbed up the easel board to look out of the window as she heard the ice cream uncle ringing the bell and cldn't come down.. my hubby even asked me to carry her down and said that he busy doing laundry... haiz..) felt pain on the right bottom side... yesterday asked my hubby to go NTUC to buy food as fridge empty liao.. he told me he already bath and din want to go... haiz.. in the end, after dropping my girl in school, i asked my neigbours to drive and drop me at the NTUC and i went for grocery shopping.. bought some light stuffs lah.. for 2nite dinner only... the rest will ask hubby to buy after work...

going to search for more details on c-section (totally got no idea how big is the cut will be or anything to note)... or maybe i will ask my sis who went thru 2 c-section... i remember that she said that hers is half-awake which she can witness her children birth while the other half body can't move... she said that got another type is totally put to sleep and gyane will perform the c-section to deliver the bb....

morning ladies.

winnedy,

the link for the rate: http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/ratecard2010.jpg

nt paisay la coz the photographer n her staffs are all ladies =) and at that pt of time when i took, the photographer herself was preg, so she kind of know wat poses to ask u to do etcetc. there do have nude shots too, some may feel paisay but u can opt nt to do the nude shots.

starfruit,

gd to hear ur baby is growing well =) hope during detailed scan ur baby will be more cooperative. hehehe.

yes. closer to delivery, the tum tum will go lower as baby gets engaged and prepares for delivery.

auroa,

*hugs* i know its hard nt to worry or think abt it..just take things as it comes and listen to ur gynae, rest as much as u can and dun carry heavy things.

vv,

thanks! ya, my tum tum the previous round was v firm. this time rd, hmm.i wonder hw it will be...

bbpooh,

dun worry. hope all of us can lose the weight we gain =)

serene,

i think thro detailed scanning will know better. i asked my gynae before, he told me mine look fine so far but more accurate will be during detailed scan.

jereroy,

i went thro natural =) mayb my cervix n vaginal more flexible so can stretch till like tat? hehehe.

hahaha. dun nd to purposely eat lesser la, just eat per normal but mayb cut dwn on supper (if any) and sugarly stuffs??

paulyn,

take care and drink more water, eat more fruits n vege =)

my friend taught me to gaggle salt water but personally i nv try la. perhaps u may try and see if its works for u.

auroa,

i think its gd tat u start to read up more on all these =) at least u have a better idea and know wat to expect if really c-sect is unavoidable. knowing wat u will go thro helps to ease ur fear abit.

val, i did my shoot with maryann too for my #1.. hahaha am booking for my #2 now, so KS hor.. hahaha

and yes i did the nude shots at my shoot.

morning mummies ...

Auroa, dont be sad... must be happy for baby sake.. u r under great care of gynae ... all will ends well ... all of us praying for u ...

Paulyn, take great care also ... drink more water ...

i went to see Dr Woo last nite, told me might hv thalassemia minor .. KKH gyane didnt tell me ...

now hubby need to check his blood to see if he is also ... if both of us have, baby might b of higher chance of getting ... haiz ...

didnt get to see baby as next week will do the full detail scan ... crossing my fingers now ...

Morning everyone...

Auroa, take care wor...hugs hugs..i tink u nid to discuss with ur hb very strictly that u cun do much now & is best to bedrest more.He needs to help u..i think even if light grocery oso involve walking etc...hv to b vvv careful ah...dun worry.ur bb will b alrite =)

starfruit...hehe...i post in smh fb thread liao..noted..will send u msg later in fb...

Hannah, no worries...we can alwas arrange another time...LOL..rem our jap foodie date...whahaha

Mei, u r welcome to join tmr..=) err...i tried to send u a PM but cannot wor..cos im not sure if u r in my fb list leh...or u try sending me a PM with ur fb email add? then i check on my side?

Ling, dun worry too much...2weeks ago Dr woo oso told me same thing..my hb tested...his report is fine...but Dr woo stil send us to kkh national thalassemia registry to test again to cfm..nw waiting for report...

i oso got very worried cos i did went for checkup last time with blood test etc & they only mention i hv slightly low blood count...dr woo explained that unless u r preg then they will go into detail testing...

my fren deliver by dr woo 2 yrs ago..oso said she has thalassemia cos hers was low but she didnt believe cos she was a regular blood donor..then dr woo oso didnt bother her again..LOL my fren & the kkh nurse explain to me sometimes it could be we r preg tts y we hv very low blood count...so dun hv to worry too much..

Lets jia you together =)

Auroa: Does your husband know the impact of the low lying placenta on you and bb? It sounds like he doesn't quite understand it. Maybe can let him read the materials you've found too?

Ling: Oh dear... Will pray for you...

mudppie: Yeah yeah yeah!! Hee... *salivating*

Good morning mummies..1 day to Friday..looking forward for the weekends [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa - do u hv trolly which u can use for marketing/NTUC? Don't carry any heavy stuffs anymore and did your hb accompany u to gynae? u have to explain to him that u r not suppose to carry heavy weight eg. groceries & your girl.

I been thru epi c-sec which only 1/2 body on epi, u are fully awake during delivery and u can witness your bb at birth, hb also can go into OT.

The wound is around 8-10cm depends on your gynae's skill. The total procedure takes about 20min..so actually u will be more excited to see your bb out on your chest before u know everything already done :p and u are wheel to recovery area and ward.

After I went thru once, I have no fear of c-sec anymore. It is so simple and quick, and I can come down fr bed to work the very next morning.

Starfruit /val

Thanks for ur advise..so far no one told mi abt placenta n I have only seen my gynae..maybe ask during e detailed scanning..

Ling/Muddpie,

Thalassemia can b sometimes serious..my ex boss niece both couple are diagnosed with thalassemia..their kid r borned with ds..e kid did not survive after a few years..then they decide to try again which my ex boss (she is a nurse) felt that they r irresponsible..80-90% kid will b borned with ds if both of thalassemia sufferers (not sure whether its major or both)..

Serene,

Yes I noe, but rite now, i cun do anything except to wait for kkh's report.HB test result with dr woo was ok.dr woo wrote no trace of thalassemia. kkh advised to do testing on hb again & to find out whether which thalassemia I hv..cos dr woo's report only show signs but not sure whether belongs to alpha or beta. so we went for it...report wont b releasing so fast. hv to wait abt 3-4wks...

tts y i fully understand wat Ling is gg thru...cos waiting time is quite 'sianz'...so can only give her some support here... =)

Serene: if your gynae didn;t comment on your placenta, it should be ok. if its low too, they should be able to advise u by now.

Does Thalassemia causes DS? wha i totally have no knowledge of this. All along i tot Thalassemia is more a blood condition, only. and what i know is that there is a percentage, if both hb and wife have, chances of bb getting Thalassemia will be there just what are the chances of getting it(25% to 100% etc)

Mudppie,

Dun worry too much abt e test..I think thalassemia will not affect ur daily life..

Starfruit,

I rem that was wat my ex boss said few years back..maybe got to do research abt it..watched Taiwan variety show b4..if e mum has thalassemia, e kid will inherit it..whereas if e hubby has, e chance of e kid inherit might b none or way lower.. Thalassemia is a more serious anemia..

dolly, yes..thanks

tts y afterawhile, i tot...mood oso affects bb..& keep worrying oso no point...like wat u said..hopefully my bb is fine...when kkh report comes..

Ling, dun worry...lets jia you together..=)

mudppie, hannah, apple, me not worry as my sis also a minor, that's y me felt i will b one also .. my case is very small, as Dr Woo said normal blood size is 87, mine is 82 .. jus a little ... jus pray hard tat my hubby is not also.. then all will b more safe ...

me angry as the test was done at KKH, and the doctor didnt tell me anything till last nite when to see Dr Woo... but me not surprise lor ..

after reading mudppie's reply, now me realise tat me also regular blood donator for more than 15yrs, how come i didnt know tat im thalassemia minor .. hehe

mummies, tks for the great support here ... we can talk abt everything ... with great supportys here ... tks *mucks*mucks*

Ling, if u r blood donor, I suspect u r not minor la..coz normally if there is a trace of thalassemia or hep, they will reject u on blood donation.

Anyway, stay happy and don't worry too much over it. Wait till the final report then see what the Dr says

ling, sorry to hear abt it.. i'm also a thalassemia aplha aka minor (after that, i asked my family members to test and found out that we inherited it from my father and my cousins also went to test and 2 out of 5 of them hve it).. my hubby tested and doesn't hve it... luckily my girl dun hve it (she tested when she had viral fever at eashshore hospital)...if 1 parent hve it, chances of the child getting it is 25%... if both parents hve it, chances are abt more than 50% (provided both are minor.. if major (think it's called beta, chances are as high as 75%)... our blood count will be lower esp during pregnancy (u can see the reports when doing blood tests.. if it's necessary, gynae will call for more blood tests)... it's preferably normal only that as and when might feel giddy esp when hving menses... need to take things easy and relax abit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] gynae will wrote it down in the datasheet if u are a carrier and when delivery, they will take note.. just in case if lose of blood, they will do blood transfusion ... u might feel light-headed after delivery too but also depends on individual as i went thru both scenario when giving birth to no 1.

mudppie/hannah, not sure how much my hubby understands leh... if find information to let him view, he wun bother lah... he'a quite a changed man ever since my girl came along....nowadays he seem bo cha type.. even talking to him also dun know whether he's listening... partly also stress out over work...when coming home, he will helps to wash up the dishes and do the house laundry.. after i got preg, he took over and clean up the whole house... only at times he expressed that he needs my help as he feels very tired too... so i closing one eye... btw, i used to hve weekend helper but suddenly quit.. i think bcos i increased her workloads... i asked her to help to clean my girl's toys.. got a few boxes of it... used to clean on my own while she concentrates cleaning and ironing the clothes only.... haiz...

apple, i got trolley but hor, the lift is not at my floor level... i need to walk one floor up...so far my husband hve been absent for 2 appts with gynae... due to work committments... can't complaint on it as he's the only one working and can't rush out in time... just spoken to my sis, she had epi plus c-section for her 2 children... she said very painful and for 2nd birth, as and when she hve pain now (even given birth for 3 yrs liao) ard the lower abodimal area and the cut is abt the size of palm size... i saw the videos online and it seem that after c-section, u need to walk often in order for wound to heal faster... yr gynae shd be very experienced... sounds like a breeze... i think i will just hve to trust my gynae... most likely i will select the epi c-section as i wish to witness my bb birth too... are u able to breasfeed immediately after yr c-section?

serene, no worries abt it... as long u dun experience discomfort like brown discharge, spotting, cramps at lower area... chances is nil bah....

auroa : think your HB has been stressed out... haS to do the chores after work... my HB has never done any chores for me after we stayed together... he's like "shao ye" who need to be served...