(2011/05) May 2011

morning ladies =) eve of PH liao =P

jadebelle,

tried this when in sch. i dun rem the results le. hehehe. i am using a preg tracker apps on iphone and there is a calendar tat u need to match ur age with the mth u conceive. i just try it for the fun too. hehehe. just waiting for next gynae visit and see if my gynae will reveal or detailed scan then can go shop shop abit liao. gd time to shop coz everywhere will be having sales =P

starfruit,

started packing ur luggage already? enjoy urself =)

morning mummies...

tomorrow is holiday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] looking forward to another day of rest.

evie, how have you been? haven't seen you in the forum for a while. thought i will see you at the clinic yesterday. your appt not in the morning.

dolly: forgot to tell u, went to FH to buy birdnest over the weekend. No more the promo that u got, i bought another one, dunno what is the name, $300 for 3 teal... didn;t realised i am a member with them... so blur. the lady was telling me to soak in norm room temp for 45mins? or was it 1 .5 hr? die cannot remember liao.

val: no.. hahah i am going crazy already, i think i will pack my luggage tomorrow or tonight, more worried about my ger's stuff, for me, not much to pack cos not much clothes i can fit in.. hahaha so will bring bring very little for myself.

Re: Gender predictor

I heard of another method, they were checking of mum's age and conceive month, if both are odds, chances of getting aboy is very high, if both even, will be girl. If one odd and one even, will be girl.

I am 35 this yr and our conceieve month is - Sept, so this mean high chance boy.. aiyo.. dunno how true this is lah.. hahaha play for fun only.

actually did we conceive in sept? i also cannot remember already? or was it august?

starfruit, how i wish thats true... I'm 28 and conceive in August but issit base on lunar date /age? is lunar then i will have another boi.. faintz.. although health more important.. but i really hope can have a ger then close shop

starfruit,

hahahah. so long as u have a list of wat things to bring sld be fine la. u still have a full day tml to pack =P have fun packing! hehehehe.

Re: gender prediction

I got 1 odd 1 even le. kekekeke. i conceived in aug wo. mid aug to be exact.

star: no more promo at FH? aiya, i still ask my mom to go check for me n buy if hv [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

starfruit : don't worry... just soak till it's soften... so as & when between the time from 1/2 hr to an hour... so don't you have additional 30% off for member? that's the one which i've got SGD300 for 3 teal if there's no further discount... but how many pieces are there in the 3 teal?

Thanks ladies n evie. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] fever seems to hv subsided but having bad sore throat n lots of phlegms. Then hv to take medications for my yeast infection. Faint! So many medications to take.

birdnest..

u all so hardworking.. for me i just get those concentrate birdnest and take 1 teaspoon every morning... by the way can a 21mth old boi take birdnest.. cos my boy keep pestering me to give him.. haha.. he having cough.. so thinking it will help.. but dun dare to give yet...

jerejoy - take care..must take medicine to clear up fast..or else it will drag further..worst!

blurlemon, I also take concentrated birdnest if no time to brew..a bit lazy over the weekends after sending my girl for enrichment classes :p

Yes your boy can take the birdnest, I gave my girl birdnest starting 15mths I think I put 1 spoonful into porridge to cook for like 30min.

last week I just started to train my maid how to clean and manage the birdnest..wanna ask her to do it once a week so I don't have to take the concentrated one anymore.

Ash: the promo ended i think, the one i bought was promo even for non members. no need membership to buy. if u need, i can pass u my member no. its under des name lah.. hjehe

Dolly: which FH u went, i was wondering if diff FH sells diff item. The one i bought was on offer already down from $150 per teal. i mixed 2 types. 2 teal for 1 and 1 teal for the other, total about $300, the 2 teal one cost $110/teal. i think there are about 16 pieces? oh so soak till soft? as in they will break up when soft right? need to wash again after they turn soft? sorry for the many questions har.

Ash: i went to the FH at Hougang Mall.

Val: the prob is i dun have a packing list, just dump everything in that i remember. but at least i can get stuff easily in HK if i missed our anything lah.

Jerejoy: did u just confirmed me on FB har? i am a bit confused by all the names.

starfruit - ur last journey will be at disneyland rite? I suggest u buy some bread or buns fr HK bakery before heading to disneyland..just in case you and ur girl is hungry at nite, u have something to munch.

I bought small single pack cereals eg corn flakes, coco crunch..so my girl will have them to munch.

Remember to pack moisturiser & lip gloss..it is towards winter, the wind can be quite dry.

Ash - Some ppl said after 1st trim then they take birdnest..but according to TCM, we can start anytime as birdnest doesn't harm the bb..it is for our own benefits in the beginning then follow by bb thereafter.

starfruit : i went to whitesand's FH... soak till soft will do le... yeah, it'll loosen after it's soft... don't have to wash again le... coz most of the birdnest don't have to do anymore thorough washing eg picking the feathers...

starfruit,

mayb when u free quickly draw up a list, easier to pack and make sure everything u need is there. standby med, cam, batt, milk powder, diapers etc etc...

and i agree with apple to buy some breads/buns or even bring some snacks so that whenever ur gal is hungry u can give her something to eat.

re: BirdNest,

i think i will only take after 2nd trimester, now still suffering from MS, dun want to waste my BN lah. if not throw all out very sayang leh.

apple: i tot our children can take, maybe moderate lah, dun give one full bowl. suppose to norish the lungs as well right/.

i'm taking cos keep coughing

and dunno wad to eat.. so my MIL buy 1 big bottle for me.. hee..

apple: very good idea, thanks for the tip, tottally forgot i need to pack food there, in my current state, i am alwasy hungry.. hahahah.. will pack a picnic basket up..hahaha.

i am undecided on the dinner with charcters cos firework push back to 8pm and i am not keen to miss it.. so may go for the 9-11pm dinner seating instead!!!!

yes will dump moisturiser and lip balm in my luggage tonight.

dolly: i got the red dates, not the wild ginseng, may head down to my reg shop at chinatown for the wild ginseng. I am hesitant to put in wild ginseng, cos i am scared of the bitter taste lah. Just add 1 piece? or do u shop up the wild ginseng. they asked if i wanna buy some pao sheng and add in, <-- is this also wild ginseng? what else do u add in the BN apart from red dates and wild ginseng.

Val: i am gonn atask my hb to make the list and i will add on hahaha.

starfruit : should be or can confirmed with them again if "ye sheng" same as "pao sheng" so ask the staff to slice the wild ginseng to smaller pieces.. so just add two/three slice of ginseng into the BN. Of coz, add few small pcs of rock sugar, depend on your taste.

morning mommies....

yea!!! tmr holiday..so tdy mood is gd...whahaha

abt the gender thinggy, my gf send me a calender she say for her is accurate.which is mom at wat age & which mth conceive u will get wat gender..no harm taking a look. this is d link..

http://www.babygenderprediction.com/chinese-gender-chart.html

starfruit..enjoy ur holiday!!!!

jerejoy, take care ah..rest more rest more.. =)

tt day i told mum mayb i 1 2 buy birdnest..she looked at me & said..do u really nid to eat..whahaha she say last time she oso didnt eat such stuff...LOL but i m thinking more of cordyceps for soups instead...

starfruit : during BF, whatever nutritient food you take in, will goes to BB too... Unless you take BN regularly for wellbeing, of coz you can continue... for me, i'll stop taking BN when she's almost 1. when you have stop BF, you can feed the BN to him/her directly...

starfruit - yes, I packed a lot of junk in my girl's bag eg. cereals, yogurt melts, mashmellow..etc coz sometimes when they really need it, we will get into trouble if we couldn't find at that moment. They will go cranky and spoil our mood too!

Yes, I gave my girl birdnest once a week or every fortnightly coz she is big now and I noticed she has better immunity and complexion too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My girl's childcare principle also ask me why my girl seldom cough coz she sees children coughing but my girl was alright even they r in the same class. Cordyceps + birdnest is the remedy. My hb said high maintenance..haha

apple: i rem'ber i didnt take any "bu" till after 1st trim last time too. so mayb i can finish up those birdnest & hashima in bottles first

star: think my mom will also go to the one at HM cos nearest to her

dolly/apple: both of u so gd will all these "bu" stuff! so cordyceps are gd too?

mudppie: how to make soup w cordycep?

LOL...BN + cordyceps..hehehe i shall get these 2.mayb not drink so frequently..if not guess my mum will nag & hit roof top..LOL

Dolly, i did test oso say gal leh...but hor.reading from forums...im confused..hehe

eg..they say breakouts - gal cos steal mum beauty

tummy got hair - boy ...hahahaha

Ash, actually i dun really noe hw to make soup w cordycep leh...

but my mum noe...last time she make i drink b4..i think jus add some simple ingredients like cordyceps,lean meat,wolfberries & dbl boil...wat others she add i dun remb...

or u can try to ask those medical halls when u buy from them... =)

dolly - my dad sponsors birdnest for my girl..haha..so I only invest cordyceps :p or else really high maintenance. My dad bought the raw birdnest from his friend in the cave of M'sia..but a lot of work, still got feather..that's y I'm dying to buy concentrated or from Hock Hua..but he nags at me coz he doesn't want me to feed my girl on those chemical treated bidnest.

Ok..I better don't tell u girl how the medical hall treated the birdnest before selling to consumer like us..once u see the process, u will never wanna buy fr medical hall anymore :p

Ash :

Here's the receipe for

Cordycep & Ginseng Tonic Soup with Black Chicken

Serves 4 - 5

Ingredients

10g - 20g each of the following Chinese herbs:

Cordyceps Sinensis "Dong Chong Xia Cao" (冬虫夏草) Ginseng slices "Pao Shen" (泡参)

Codonopsis Pilosulae "Dang shen" (黨參)

Solomon’s Seal Rhizome "Yu Zhu" (玉竹)

Radix Dioscoreae Oppositae aka Chinese Yam Root "Huai Shan" (淮山)

Liquorice Root "Gan Cao" (甘草)

Fructus Lycii aka Wolfberry "Gou Qi Zi" (枸杞子)

1 black chicken (乌鸡), skined and quartered

1 - 2 teaspoon of salt (*add gradually, adjust amount to suit your taste)

1 pot of water, 70% filled (about 2000ml)

Method:

1) Heat pot of water over high flame. Add all Chinese herbs and reduce heat to medium fire. Boil herbs for 15 minutes.

2) Add black chicken meat (you may blanch the chicken meat beforehand). Reduce heat to low fire and simmer for 2 hours. Add salt to taste. Serve hot.

Variation: May add ribs or white chicken (old hen) instead of black chicken.

Tips: If you do not have time to boil during weekdays, use a slow cooker to do the job. Place all ingredients in the croak pot and boil with slow cooker on auto shift mode in the morning before leaving for work. By evening, simply add salt to taste, and this tasty and healthy soup will be ready for dinner.

mudppie, cordyceps is equally expensive if not more expensive.. hahah i abit bu she de to buy now.. so so exp!!! hahaha.. but if we dun consume a lot should be ok.

dolly: yeah i will walk by and ask again. ho wmuch did u pay for your wild ginseng?

ok ok, i libe BN too.. will cont if i can.. heheh

apple : wow.. your dad dote on your girl... ya... cordycep itself just a little is not cheap...

have watch a documentary on how they clear the birdnest before...

dolly - 10 - 20 gms of cordyceps about a few strands only right?? i teal of crdyceps can cost at least $300.

Ash: let me know if the FH at HM is still having promo after you mum visit.

ya...i agree...not cheap...tts y my mum ask me..is ter a nid to drink all these..LOL

but at the same time dun dare drink too much..sometimes too 'bu' they say will not hv BM leh...so i think moderation ba...

i shall ask her again...hahaha...

starfruit : i bought it from FH, so should be less than SGD50.. ya lor, few strands of cordycep cost about SGD100.00.. i didn't buy much too..& get those of lower grades...

mudpie : i've yet heard that too "Bu" will not have BM lei... think you will be too heaty... if you don't latch on with your BB, then will not have BM... "no supply + no demand = no BM"

ash : if i didn't remember wrongly, you have to pay SGD10 to be their member... previously, have to purchase above SGD300.00 now they have change their regulation.

dolly - I bought the pre-packed cordyceps 15g for $450, but that day got 20% off. My hb said very ex..eat gold ah..I only put 2 strands to boil with birdnest..cannot afford to put a lot la..or else my pocket goes bonker!

Yea..she is one and only grandchild, that's y pampered la. My girl very funny, if I told her birdnest no more stock, she will ring my dad and said "gong gong, my jelly finished, can u buy me some?" haha

She called birdnest = jelly :p

Re: Chinese conception calendar

mumies, how to find out the mum;s chinese age at time of conception, add 1 yr?

I am a bit confused, i am either a G or a B.. so i think 50% chance lah.. hahaha

Ash: FH membership now have expiry date, those old old members is actually life time members.

mudpie - if you body is "bu" then u will have more BM actually..coz if u drink a lot of tonic soups during BF period, u will notice u have a lot of BM when express out.