(2011/04) Apr 2011

My girl had runny nose too.

Bring her to see doc but was told by the doc to leave her alone it does not disturb her. Got a nose drop to stand by but understand that we cant use it for too long.

How did u all managed to get the muscus by sucking out? I tried all kind of method - from the syringe bulb to the suction tube type..it still doesnt come out..even if i put the nose drop, wait for 5 minutes and try to suck it out..oso no use..worse still when i try to put the bulb into my girl's nose, she will try to turn her head away (this happen even when she is sleeping)

in the end i gave up since she is not disturb by it.

I just started R on happy bellies brown cereal, he always makes a face when put the spoon with cereal in his mouth, does this means he doesn't like it?!

sometimes will just clam mouth shut refuse to open... then i see the maid force it into his mouth. aiyo. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

lynn, never force anything into the bb's mouth, if he/she's not ready, just wait and try again a few days later. If bb doesn't like the taste of some food(like vege), don't offer 'sweets' later 'cos it'll make the 'sweets' some form of reward and the food 'something not nice/good'.

*u shld feed yr bb, can show yr maid how also. I don't let my maid feed my bb, I even cook and blend the porridge myself, heee. Only at times, when I'm tied-up doing something, then I'd instruct her on how to prepare the ingredients and cook the food, then I'd still blend it and feed bb myself...

Since yr bb doesn't like the taste of brown rice, why dun just use rice cereal? Anyway brown rice is really not nec n also very heaty.

manessah, if it doesn't bother yr bb, then u can just leave it, unless it's causing her discomfort or she has difficulty in breathing.

My bb wakes up when her nose's blocked by the muscus, so I hv no choice but to suck the muscus out. At first, she thought I was using a cotton bud(which I normally do, to clean her nose during bathtime)and she hated it and kept turning her head left and right, stretch back, whatever she could to prevent me from putting the cotton bud, but I finally managed to suck the muscus out, she felt better and now she lets me...

Any mommy wants a tin of frisocrem foc?

Self pick up at Kovan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leave me a msg here or on fb yah?

Forgot to add that my C only took 2 table spoons of it .

Tin was opened late week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sapphire

you mean your baby puked when he/ she drank Nan HA? Or he puked on other formula then you switched to HA?

My baby is now on the 2nd 900g tin of Nan HA and so far so good, no more puking and almost daily poop! She is alert and very happy, but I am wondering if i should switch her to Nan Pro instead of HA cos the price of HA is quite high since they don't have the larger tins. Any one has experience here?

Can i find out if your babies have started crawling? I think my girl is a laggard in terms of motor skills, but she is also quite big size, I wonder if bigger babies are slower to pick up motor skills?

hi griny

i think pigeon has a mucous suction thingy for babies who can't blow their nose, maybe you can buy it? but best to be on meds to clear the stuffy nose. hope your bb gets well soon

and yeah.. agree never force your baby to eat anything she/ he doesn't want to it. it's a sign that they don't want or like it, since they can't talk yet

Mum05

Kasper went to the pd and got his mucus sucked out..

they insert the tube into his nostrils.. pd say its more effective but more painful..

cos it really clear his lungs..

but his med no use.. eat for more than a week stil have not recover..

thats why go to eys..

baby vicks vapour

it contains petroleum so only for those aged 2/3 above...

Nowadays i burn the eucalpytus oil to help him with his breathing..

Rub the ruyi oil on his chest and feet..

that is all i can do.. what else is there to help??

smiggle, me down too, all 3 of us(me, #1 and #2) went to the ch physician juz now, I took 1 pkt of the ch herbs(boil, more effective) and whole body limp, cldn't take it, went for a nap and my hubby, #1 and maid helped to entertain bb.

1 hr later, I woke up feeling better and good apetite! After feeding bb, I just cooked myself a bowl of instant noodles with fish sticks and meat bowls, down it with a pkt of soya bean milk, now super satisfied, hehehe, but can't slp hahahahaha.

I managed to buy something similar to vicks but it's for baby from 6 mths onwards called vapor soove from my nearby Chinese medical shop. Although it dun really clear her blocked nose, it seems like she is sleeping better last night. I think I will find the suck mucus thing today to try.

CNY is coming up and I think can start to look out for nice nice clothes for bai nian liao!

Just now went to bulk order section to order CNY clothes for my girl.

Aylie,

My son has always been on NAN HA. From NAN HA1 to NAN HA2 at 6 months.

Regarding Vicks

I bought vicks baby balsam soothing baby care for babies from 3 months. It doesn't seem to clear his block nose. I also tried the pigeon baby nose cleaner but failed to suck any mucus out.

mum05,

whenever i want to feed, she will come and take over to feed instead. I couldn't bottle feed my bb as well, as he rather drink fresh BM from me. i have to hide when at home while maid feeds bb bottle. even my inlaws and hubby never had succeeded in feeding bb. don't know if its cause bb just prefers the maid? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I can't do anything since those people at home says its okay to let maid feed, prepare food for bb etc. sometimes it looks as if the maid is the mom instead! Doesn't help that when I'm at work its the maid that looks after bb, and great grandma just shut eye sleep most of the time till me and hubby gets home.

wanted to make frozen purees also kena arrowed, they say just ask the maid to cook for him fresh daily.

Regarding brown rice, it was inlaws and grandma who insisted bb must eat it. if not must eat 'chor bi'

anyway he was okay with the HB brown rice cereal made with warm water today. maybe with BM it tastes weird? *shrugs*

He's damn cranky these two-three days.. donnoe what's wrong....

sometimes i really regret giving birth to this little boy.

What shampoo are you using for your baby?

Both Sodium Laureth Sulfate (SLES) and its close relative Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS) in shampoo and bodywash can lead to direct damage to the hair follicle, skin damage, permanent eye damage in children and even liver toxicity.

Lynn, I guess u're hving the 'frustration' phrase and I hope it is so it'd soon pass. I rem I also felt very frustrated/helpless/trapped during my #1's 1st 1-2 yrs, 'cos I quit my work to care for her and I wasn't used to it even though I have no problem in the caring details. Plus many said I've quit my work at the peak of my newly built up career then, so it kinda add up I supposed. And also, I was totally alone and hubby didn't render much help, and being trapped at home(didn't really dare to venture out with baby last time cos not much experience plus she always cried when out when an infant). It was worser when I was ill...

With help(esp. when there're more) and u have no control will definitely give u the same frustrating effect. Since u have to go to work and yr maid's the one caring for the bb, then I guess u hv no choice but to close an eye, as long as u think yr maid can be trusted, then no problem lah.

Things are different for me, I'm home, thus I don't see the need for the maid to care for the baby. But once u're home from work, it's always good for u to take over else yr kid might be too attached to the maid. At times, U'd also hv to learn how to express yr own views to the other members of the family. I used to be very confused in the past, with all the remarks, etc. Now with #2, I chose to seek experts' advice and I'd tell them I've already consulted experts' opinion and am sticking to what has been advised. Afterall, these are trained personnels, they're not. What they tell me all were just hearsay and I don't wanna venture my child's health with hearsays.

Everyone's in different situation and at times, what you read/hear might cause you more confusion or even frustration. If u think u're unable to turn the table around in your own situation with what you think you might like to, then you just do what you're most comfortable with, don't be too hard on yourself ya, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

sapphire, I'm using californa baby's super sensitive shampoo(cos lavendar triggers my migraine) and body wash after I found Bud's organic s & b wash was too drying.

Now I wash bb's hair with CB supersensitive & wash body with Cetaphil cleanser(recommended by my #1's pd).

Mustela prdts r rather good too, I may switch to this brand's or Sebamed children shampoo when my suppy of CB diminish [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Aylie,

My gal is big too..8.2kg 70cm at 6m..n i suspect tt she's kinda heavy to venture into her motor skills..hee..cos she oni flipped ard 5m..pretty late..but once she mastered rolling all directions, it's all hell breaks loose..haa..she's now slithering on her tummy (which gets her everywhere), n is doing a few proper crawls on fours each time until she realizes slithering is much faster to get to her destination! So dun fret, even ur bb may b abit slower than others now, she'll catch up n stil reach e milestone sooner or later.. ;)

Re shampoo, I'm using sebamed bubble bath for bb n their children's shampoo too..love it's scent..

mum05,

these elders at home just keep saying let him try everything, wait till got allergic reaction then say. didn't even hiew me when i say want to wait 3days between new stuff given to bb.

Yes, i feel like a lousy mommy, everything also the maid do, when i wanna do for bb, she will come and take over. hai.

btw anyone any idea if bb feet swollen, is it a cause for concern/shld go to the pd?

lynn, if u really wanna do stuffs for yr bb when u're home, u just hv to tell yr maid. Tell her that it's cos u've been away from the bb during the day, u want to do some stuffs with/for the bb. I know some maids are like that, so they'd be indispensable? Of cos don't be too harsh, just tell her nicely...

Before my bb rejects bottle feed, my maid also like that, esp during those times when my bb first started to reject the bottle, she'd quickly want to take over, like only she can handle my bb, end up bb also cry like what. hahaha. Now she's almost total hands-off bb liao(when we not ard, duno who she fed bb during those times she rej the bottles), 'cos even if I asked her to watch over bb when I have to go to toilet or whatever, I'll tell her "ok, let me, u go rest/do yr things" when I'm back. Tiring for me, but I prefer lor. But u don't compare yr situation to mine, cos I'm not working and my #1's alr 6yo(nt sure how things will be though, after she starts P1 next yr hahaha).

But u still have to bond with yr bb somehow. That's why my SIL told me, she'd take over feeding bb from the maid when she's bk from work lor...

As for the elders, they're like that lah. That's why now I make it a point to tell them I've alr checked with the physician/paediatrician. But then again, I don't live with them, so perhaps it's easier. U may like to check with other mummies whom are in similar situation and had been successful in adhering to own style of feeding/bringing bb up.

rach

so good to hear that about bigger babies! my girl is same as yours, 8.2kg but she is only 68cm. I just measured her yesterday when i brought her for her 6m jab. she can only flip 1 side from back to tummy via the right turn, but can't turn back from tummy to back. she also can't turn from tummy to back via the left side. =/ feeling kinda stress as the pd said if still can't turn fully all ways by 9 months need to go specialist at KKH?!

but she is not overweight wor.. she is just 95th percentile for height and weight and head ;/

Aylie,

Dun worry, v fast de..before u noe it she'll b rolling n crawling all over! Yup my ger is oso 90 or 95 percentile lo..

lynn: is your child the first grandchild? maybe they are all very eager and excited over your child. you are not a lousy mum. you just need to be more assertive and confident if you can. don't let others take over your child, esp your maid. you have to be assertive to want to take over. don't be pai sei. you are after all the mother. must put your foot down! good luck.

anybody's baby not having naps in the day time? mine is like if can don't sleep and dont eat, he rather he don't if not he will feel like he is missing out on something. He can even not sleep for like 4 hours! or like power nap for 10 mins and don't sleep for the next 3 hours. i'm a bit at my wits end cause i feel that by sleeping so little.. he is not growing! and the worst is that even if he has so little sleep he can still smile and want to look see look see.. argh.

sookiewookie:

yes. first great grandchild within the family. say liao, they also don't listen. will really end up quarreling or fighting one... worst is when hubby sides their view and not mine..

Thanks Rach and mum05.

I just bought California baby calming shampoo And bodywash from ocean - 21.50 for 255ml. It's more expensive than getting it thru smh.

I din get sebamed cos it has some PEG compound.

mummies i need help!!

my boy hasnt been sleeping well at night recently..he is waking up every 2 hrs and start crying very loud..take us each time about 5-10mins to pacify him..den put him down start again,habe to wait until he really fall aslp den put him down,then 2 hrs later the same routine again....but daytime his naps r normal..daddy n mummy turning zombies liao...

i suspect could be due to the following...

1.he has a fall last week,n this is the aftermath??

2.new hse he not used to it = seperation anxiety (he is stuper sticky to me now)

3.teething so not feeling well(start drooling again lately and i think i can c a faint white line on the lower jaw)

anyone can adbise?????

lynn,when u latch on your bb,thats the bonding time with ur lil one which ur maid cant replace...last time my boy is ok with anyone,but as he gets older he start to choose ppl,n he will always try to look for me.now i wish he is not so attached to me cos i cant do much with him around...

MORNING LADIES...

Charmaine,

hmm v hard to tell but since u can see the cut on his gum the chances of teethin is higher u can try apply teethin gel to his gum?? cos durin teethin some bb can be v cranky.. if u suspect due to fall there is 1 chinese medi usu feed bb to calm them down cant remember the name but hou zhou san also can..

piggy, yes my boy got eat the hou zou san..and it did get better for 1-2 days..then this starts..i guess i have to trial n error, buy some teething gel and apply...

Piggytoh,

I remember you mentioned about nestle cereal being too sweet, i forgot what's yr feedback about healthy times. Lumpier? Bellamy? How much cereal and purée is your bb taking now?

charmaine,

yes. which is why i'm very reluctant to stop bf-ing. will go on for as long as milk supply allows me to!

might be due to night terrors?

http://www.babycenter.com/404_why-is-my-baby-suddenly-waking-up-hysterical-at-night_1292617.bc

mine will sleep and suddenly start crying, cry until got tears, when i carrying him, he will want to push me away, till suddenly he sort of wake up,then all peaceful again... I suspect he's not sleeping enough in the day and probably teething.. been like these for the past few nights. *zombie*

if baby has food intolerance, do i continue to let him have the food or stop and try again a few days later?

Sapphire,

HT i find v watery for Happy Belliess i only need to add 2-3 tablespoon but HT i may need to add 6-7 tablespoon.. i nv try bellamy lazy to change since i am happy with HB[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charmaine,

ya u put the gel in the fridge den apply [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey gals!

So sorry, long time no chat! Been so so busy with the kids. How are you? Glad to see your Facebook updates, but always no time to come in here to chat properly.

Mum05, do you have a child at NAFA? Just wondering [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Sorry for the random question.

Piggy, heard HB is a very good product! We are still trying to finish HT stuff we bought but I agree must use a lot of breastmilk - argh!

Charmaine, yes I agree w Lynn, sounds like night terrors. And Piggytoh is right, teething babies sometimes yell out in pain too. Happens to my son now and then. I rub some Dentinox gel in and he's happy again.

hi yolk, wat makes u think I have? Do u? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sookiewookie:

My girl oso lidat… Dun like to sleep. She doesn’t like to lie down as if there are spikes on her back. Sometime see her very tired and cranky liao but she just dun want to sleep. If we manage to make her nap, she will power nap at most 30 min and she will be awake and recharged!! Worse still wants to be carried all the time and cannot leave her in the cot. Very hard to do our own stuff when she is awake. Sometimes, I play with her until I’m bored. Run out of ideas on what to play. Haiz….

Yesterday, we were waiting for my hubby in car so we sat at the front seat. My girl is so rough and I did not managed to hold her firmly that her face (almost hit her left eye) knocked onto the handbrake!. Now she got blue back beside her eye.

lynn, yes same symptoms as my boy!!he will cry until very loud with tear, and keep strauggling..and he like to pull and scratch his ears..

Haven't come in for quite some time.. How's everybody?

Hi Yolk Sac,

truly haven't seen you for a while.. How are you? =)

I am giving my girl both HT and HB. I quite like HT cos it isn't jam packed with lots of added nutrients like HB.. So I try to alternate feeds.

For stuffy nose,

what may help is to carry your baby to the bathroom, close all doors and windows, and turn on the hot water. Let the steam help to clear the nose.. I know it works for me and my baby when we are feeling congested..

hI yOLK sAC,

LONG TIMENO SEE[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya i like HB stuff n it contain DHA n Probiotics my bb like their puff also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Griny,

as bb grow older they will nap less.. my bb now only nap once more than an hr the rest all power nap 30min... n like urs always wan to carry.. tink my maid spoilt it.. n i mus be ard within his sight even if i am not carryin him tiring.. i jus started lettin him watch bb Einstein once a day so while he watch i quickly do my stuff..

mum05: No, I don't [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Anyway, I've PM-ed you. Sorry for the stalker-ish question. Haha!

Piggytoh: Do you think my boy can start on puffs yet? I wanted to try the other day but am a bit worried about choking. Wonder if he is ready yet... do they dissolve quite easily?

Gerry: Hello girl! I'm fine, thanks. Back at work. The steam idea is very good. Well, it works for me anyway - I usually stand under a hot shower. BTW are you still nursing? I keep saying I want to stop but I am still going on and on....and on....

Charmaine: I don't think there is much one can do about night terrors. My friend's son had it for ages - poor boy would wake up screaming every night for months. But I always had the impression night terrors afflict slightly older toddlers. For babies this age (Apr 2011), I would first assume teething, etc. Just monitor and see? Try the Dentinox and see if that works?

Charmaine,

ya i agree with Yolk sac.. n my #1 on n off will have nite terror n really nothing much i can do sumtime he only stop when he woke up from his sleep...

Yolk sac,

u can gave puff if he is able to sit unsupport n on his on his 4 with his tummy lifted... yes it dissolve v fast both my kids love it.. will intro the yogurt melt after he passed his 8mth mark[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

no prob, yolk, just wondered what makes u raise that qns to only me? Is yr kid also with Nafa? Music or Arts? Din get yr pm? ^-^"

Ya, my girl's with Nafa(music), no longer with the arts once she got selected for the music, 'cos dun wanna burn our wkends at the sch, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yolk sac,

Wow! You took quite a long leave..

I have thrown in the towel.. I just recently dried up.. Haha!!! I was super tired trying to juggle 2 kids and work (new at work = must be super onz!!).. and plus I kept falling sick..

Though I do feel quite bad as I am short changing my #2.. but I felt like I needed to break free.. Thankfully, my #2 is super obliging and relatively easy (compared to my #1), so it was easy to switch her over.. =)

Hi mum05, oh so glad to find you! Didn't get my PM - so strange! Can you PM me your email address please? Or drop me a line at [email protected]. Will explain every thing over email. Thanks so much!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]