(2011/04) Apr 2011

e_lazy,

nope it not tt usu these enrichment class requires alot participation from us lotsa movement end up we have to carry them up down left right thru out leh so it more like exercise for parents den them n i find tt it more enyable for them after 1 YO[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yes indeed travellin with infant is easier at least no need to tink of food... but travel ard 2 is the best cos most of the time they eat wat we eat alot easier.. yes need to apply passport..

Elazy

The only time I tried out the gym is the JWT gym at UE Square, tiring for the parents because need to carry them here and there. I think for now still young I would think 1 year old would be good as they can sit well and stand a bit

That day I was browsing in Mothercare so tempted to buy a nice pair of shoes for Vianne but end up I did not because I think Vianne will outgrown very fast and it costs $29 plus with that price can buy my shoes

Piggy

So fast !!! your last day of misery coming soon !!!

vIVI,

yes lookin forward for my short 1 wk break... but usu the last few day is slow~

wah u so fast bring bb to gym ah tired rite?? tt time #1 i bring ard 8/9mth alr v tired cant imagine now..

e_lazy,

think that's that the only way bah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone knows if bf-ing can take po zhai pills?

That time I brought her once for the trial lesson that my friend has organized. That is free if you have UOB card and a minimum of 8 babies.

My hubby went so he did all the hard work but then Vianne just turned 4 months so she was not really able to appreciate and is wonder what is going on... ke ke ke

halo... just came bk from the ch physician, jie jie's too heaty, coughing wif lotsa phelgm and stuff nose, always wanna go near bb, so mei mei also cough, haiz...

Gonna have a hard time feeding bb the med man!

mum05,

oh dear hope ur gals recover soon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vivi,

ya 4mth too young la[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hihi!!

Piggy,

Haiz.. Japan.. Don't know when I can go there again... Very baby friendly place hor.. I bought those nice yummy soft bread for Lisa to eat when we were there.. And they sell those pigeon bottled porridge.. =)

E lazy,

Yup bringing infant is way easier than toddler.. Toddler likes to run around and very tiring.. And in the plane, they are harder to control.. I think..

For shoes, bb feet development is very important.. So it is best to avoid hard shoes before 1 year old.. And I always am willing to invest more in good shoes even though they don't wear it for long.. Wearing the wrong type of shoes can impede foot development and walking gait.. I usually buy Clarks or stride rite for my girl..

Mum05,

Oh dear!! Hope you gals will get better soon..

Oh the nursery you are referring, is it the one my girl goes to?? Hehe!! Just curious.. For now I still find the place ok.. I think academic wise, I will worry later on.. =p

So you have settled your #1 primary school?

Playgroup..

I brought my #1 for mandarin playgroup at JG since she was 18 months.. And after 6 months, she could sing some of the mandarin songs and know some words.. So I found it quite good.. Especially since we don't speak a word of mandarin at home!! Haha!! Very ex though.. Will be doing the same for my #2..

Hai sianzz.. My both kids sick again. Just 2 wks after they both recovered. This time im e source. Already tried to stay away.. But gotta take care of them also. Now gor gor fever n didi cough n running nose. My poor boys. I sore throat n coughing like mad too. Thinking of taking mc tmr. Anyone knows if bf can take cough syrup? Wat abt honey? Milk supply drop like mad too.. Hai.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

thks piggy/gerry. #1 just hv to control her food intake and drink more water(something she always dun like to do...), she's soo prone to heatiness, haiz. then always 'heaty within' so when weather's no good, sure 'catch cold'.

ya gerry, it's the very same one. for pre-N and N level, ok la, since it's just for them to have fun, but come K1, u hv to seriously consider other sch for yr lisa.

Many parents wif other kids graduated from this school, told me their kids not well prepared for Pri 1 and their older kids do not attend popular schools, so this is bad news.

I'm very relax, even though I had tried my very best to source for a good Kindy then but w/in my previous area, no good pre-school [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so this was considered the best option. But now I kinda regret, hahaha, although the environment's clean. Just comparing to her current school, the teachers' speech and teaching style are already quite a difference. To think that, the former claimed to have >30yrs of experience. Some of the mommies and I have actually spoken to the principals(yes, I din type wrong, they've changed few teachers and even principals since our kid joined the school) about the curriculum but no action. Being such a big preschool educational organisation, they shld hv the means to esp when they said that they have a pool of people working on this(but til now, nothing's updated). And I'm surprised, they're also a teachers training centre but their English teachers aren't phonics trained! I asked about phonics teaching, she cldn't answer me.

Mid K1, my girl came home telling me to send her to reading classes, as she wants to learn how to read more so she doesn't need me to read to her so often. I had a discussion with my hubby and we decided to pull her out from the Kindy sys and go via enrichment route. Guess what, just 2 mths from joining a phonics enrichment midway(once a wk only), she could read all by herself. Maths, no need to say, lagi hopeless. Still counting to 10-20(or was it just 10?) at K1. I can't believe it... If u wanna know more, can email me.

I've tried both their preschool and even childcare sys(for 2 mths), and I told myself, I'd not send my other kid to any of their branches anymore lolz, esp. not at that kinda fee - each time they increase fee, it's a jump of S$200, alt yearly (so i really hope there'd be more pre-sch choices at whichever area we'd be moving to).

Ya JG, GUG, Chiltern house, etc are exp but at least most of their teachers speak well, (but u hv to tahan their 'attitude' I heard. I duno, 'cos I've only tried GUG n yes... it happened and they actually ask the mommies where they stay, how they come to the centre, etc etc).

gerry: i'll be moving to the east next year only, feb or march cause we need to do quite a bit of renovations. but so loooking forward.

regarding my job i hesr you girls but decided to stay put. going to break the news the other side today. this years bonus better make up for it!

anyone's baby love to bite when they dont want milk? mine is so naughty now.. dont know where he learnt it from. so i scold him and he thinks im playing with him and smiles.

elmo: hope your family recovers.

piggy:enjoy your last few days and your break.

mum05: i agree with you, choose the kindy level carefully. im having that headache now.

morning ladies..

argh early in the mmornign tt temp who is goin to replace me piss me off damn bth...

Sookie,

wow so u alr found a place ah.. i no time still lookinn ard...

mum05,

yes yes kindy cannot play play i shortlist 1 but quite popular dunno can get in anot...

the thing abt havin more than 1 kid is 1 down all down v tiring...

Gerry,

i hope nex yr Jap will be safe for travellin with kid lo.. i so wanna go hokkaido[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning mummies,

Today back to work le... so sian...

Piggy and Vivi,

If i go to those gym enrichment class, will ask daddy to go.. I hv no strength to carry bb to do all the stunts.. lol

Mum05 and Elmo,

Take care, hope ur kids get better soon.

Sookie, Gerry and Charmaine

Next time we can have a mini gathering for mummies staying in the east ya?

re: travelling to japan

Piggy, me too, i also hope to travel to japan. Now contemplating whether to go okinawa (southern part of japan)... will research abit more and share with u all if i find anything interesting.

morning mummies!!!!!!

piggy: endure!! tom is the last day!!! jia you!!!

sookie: good luck.. hope the bonus makes up for it.. =)

elmo: oh dear.. speedy recovery to you, JR and didi.... drink more water k....

e_lazy: can count me in for the gathering at east.. heehee. sometimes i'm at tpy... =P

Morning, Tweety.

Sure, will count u in. The more the merrier mah.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tweety,

really piss lo i was tryin to explain to her wat to take note n she gave me attitude n raise her voice sigh heck care!

e_lazy,

ya wanted to go hokkaido this Dec 1 but dunno safe anot esp with kids.. if no kid i bochap n go[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] another coutry i wish to re visit is KOrea but KOrea more complicated need more time to plan lol~

Piggy,

cool down k. Not worth it to get angry over this kind of ppl.

Ya man, if no kid, I sure go one... so many places want to go leh.. japan, korea, HK, taiwan europe and US (now USD so low!!!)... like the whole world included in my list liao hor.. kekeke... but now all must hold back for a while first... haiz..

e_lazy,

no la i jus wan to vent den i am ok.. now heck care liao i jus do wat i am required to do..

i love travelling n nv get enough of it i nearly go HK yrly love the shoppin n food[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] now i am waiting for my HB to get assignment in Europe so i can tag along[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] US i wan also but the journey put me off lol~

G'morning!

Elmo,

I had a cough for the past 2 weeks.. I only took honey with lemon.. Didn't take cough meds..

Piggy, e lazy,

I also would like to go Japan too!! I miss Japan!! Hopefully next year would be better.. The problem with radiation is that it doesn't go away so easily.. Just have to wait till they decay.. And every now and then, the newspaper reports that another food product is tainted.. Sigh.. So really don't know what to eat.. Worry for the kids too if they eat the food there..

Ya if no kids, I also Bo chup will go lor.. With kids worry they are exposed to unnecessary radiation.. I also want to go hokkaido.. Went there for my honeymoon and fell in love with that place.. =)

E lazy,

Yes we can have a east gathering! Haha!! =)

Pri 1 , pre- school

Aiyo such a headache when come to choosing. Initially wanted to change my girl pre-school to a half day kindergarden, now I have to hold as afraid my mom cannot cope with two and didi cannot sleep with jie jie around. He supersensitive to her voice!!!

I started one enrichment at 9 mths for #1 so most likely will do the same for #2 as well. After so many years, that is still her fav school although it's only once a week for can hr :)

Gerry,

ya lo with kids gotta be extra careful .. yes hopefully nex yr will be better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so when u startin ur new job??

Tweety,

hahah they call i also dun 1 to ans!

Piggy,

the temp will be the one who will be in trouble if she doesnt listen to u on what she needs to do lor... after u leave, not ur problem anymore. look forward to tmr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HK... yes... food is very nice, and when they hv summer sales, its really sales lor... not like our GSS, quite miserable.. as for US, ya long journey, but when u see the cheap cheap prices at those factory outlets, i tell u, sure go crazy one!!! we went there 3 years ago, and came back with extra luggage... haha.. hope ur hubby gets the europe assignment soon. but the thing abt gg to these ang moh places is we really miss our asian food lor...

re: pre-school

If i intend to send my boy to CC from 18 mths onwards, is it too kiasu for me to start looking around and book places now? What are some of the things I shd look out for when i choose the school leh?

Totoro,

Which enrichment did u bring ur #1 to? Can share?

e_lazy,

yes yes too bad my HB v busy else i wun love to go now then Dec n yes v v cheap can go up to 70/80% lo..

ya ang mo place chinese food ex hahah maybe can consider bring those premix pack n cook lol but not long term ok la..

erm gd CC is v hard to get hor now is too late!!! better start lookin for 1 now esp my first skool i put my boi name on waiting list at 9mth old till now still full -_- tt time i had such a hard time findin 1 n it near due date !!! now i reg #2 soon after he was born better to be KS [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

e_lazy,

best to bring ur bb along see he like the place anot and how they handle them la.. n it depend on how long u intend to put them there all the way to kindy or goin to withdraw them durin kindy for more academic base kindy?? at 18mth it moreon self help skill so i not so particular with the academic area since more CC is abt the same they teach 1 theme per term with music n movement n craft etc.. for me i am more concern on the play area n how organise is the sch n most imptly if our children like the sch[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy,

that time we brought cup noodles to europe and us. those spicy ones... within 1 week, finished liao.. so u can how bad our craving is.. haha..

Huh, oh man, u dun scare me leh... oh dear oh dear, i better be more hardworking to visit some schools liao... stress....

wanna check if its normal for our bodies to be producing lesser milk now after 4months? I seem to be pumping out lesser then before. quite scared later not enough milk if bb increase intake..

Lynn,

My supply also seems to drop slightly, but i'm not sure whether is it cos its been 4 mths or whether is it cos sometimes i'm too tired / lazy, so missed 1 or 2 pumps on certain days (oopsss!!)

Piggy,

I don't know when I am going to start work.. HR is processing my contract.. haiz.. Feeling like i am in limbo until everything is settled..

Lynn,

Actually, a breastfed bb usually would take the same amt of milk until they turn 6 months... then it might be reduced due to the intake of solids..

But have you been stressed out lately?? or overworked?

Usually when I feel that my breastmilk supply is dipping, I would drink some soya milk or milo.. it will usually help..

e lazy,

wah you really like asian food.. didn't you take the opportunity to eat their food?? Haha!! =)

It been so long since my last post ....

My little bunny is sick .......I so tired n my bones r breaking

Mum05,

Saw that u looking for kindy in e east, wan to try my gal kindy it quite gd. So far wat she learnt can c that e teachers prepare them well for primary sch.

For example : phonic teachers will read out 1 word n she have to tell wat sound it begin with.

Math : teaching wat number come before n after.

Chinese : learning standard words n sentence

Before I send my gal to this kindy I actually ask a few mummies who has older kid n attended e kindy told me I can c result n different. N it really show my Sil kids till nw doesn't know phonic n numbers they r attending those PAP childcare everyday it just play n play sing songs.

U can PM me if u wan to know more abt this kindy but wat I know currently nw it be on waiting list, e sch fees is a bit ex $1690 for 1 term which abt 10wks. There another branch which they just open in this yr April too but is in those business park area.

Gathering in East ,

I would love to join if there one .....

Congrats to mummies either who found new job/ switch of job

Gerry,

We have yet to organize playdate for our #1 n u starting work soon ? shall arrange 1 b 4 u start work ?

Thks mummies. I'm finally back from clinic. Waited so long!

Now dunno y gor gor kena diarrhoea. Hai.. Full of sickness in e family.

Gerry, so honey can take har. Then I dun take cough med also.

Piggy, u can join hb in biz trip? Without kids? I think if I need to join hb on biz trip or vice versa, need to bring at least 1 fella!

e lazy,

ya the first few yr it more on self help skill than academic.. no choice Sg i find really lack of CC tt time i visited so many sch those i find ok n price reasonable all full n the remaining 1 is either v ex $1k+/mth or no gd... so gd to start early...

Elmo,

yes it depend on the purpose of the trip n he is most likely goin to extend his stay.. my HB SAF 1 mah but if Europe most like w/o kid cos i feel tt country like Europe it will be more fun after they grow up n go for honeymoon or with friends i am not 1 who spoilt my kid afterall i only get to travel after i join workforce now they alr v gd life..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SY,

actually for phonic n number u can jus play leapfrog dvd my boi know all the alphabet be4 18mth by watchin it wor..

Gerry,

icic i thot they wun at least let u know when u startin first so u can mentally prepared[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

no la SY, I'm not staying in the east, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] N I've found another Kindy - Sunshine Kindergarten, for my #1. It's good cos they use Montessori method but curriculum's registered with MOE(very important cos the pure montessori method is not approved by MOE and I don't like its teaching too). The main thing I dun like about Montessori's teaching is their phonics but since my #1 has already gone thru her phonics lessons and are reading/blending well, so I have no qualms about placing her there. Their maths are quite similar to Enopi's too, another reason that's why I decided to put her there. However, their fees is a jump of another S$150 from her prev Kindy at S$1,450/term. Those staying ard me here can also consider this school, very caring Principal and teachers. Small ratio.

e_lazy,

not to sure, i try to pump 3 times a day and latch bb whenever i'm around him.

Gerry,

not sure if its cause of my stomach upset, one to 2 days already... maybe not sleeping enough is also a caus of supply to dip. hmm

Mum05,

Sorry my mistake,heard of e kindy b 4.

My gal is in Josiah Monterssori ....

Anyone can recom gd Chinese enrichment course? I wan send my gal

Hi Ladies, I need mums with babies 0 to 12 mths for a short 15 mins survey in our office at Beach Centre, near Raffles Hotel by this week. You must be user of Abbott milk formula, e.g. Similac or Gain IQ. Token : $30 NTUC voucher. Interested, kindly sms me your Name, Age and Baby's months, preference date and time to 97640028. Thanks. Sally

Piggy

My girl in Happy Train @ Bugis :)

E-lazy

Really need to start early to find CC. For my #1, I couldn't find one that is near and up to my expectation!! For #2, I'll only be sending when he turns 2.5 -3 yrs old.

I think my girl learnt a lot via the iPhone freeware !!!ha ha

TOTORO,

yes agree iphone free apps[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

v gd to distract him so i can have a peaceful meal as well[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sy,

Is Josiah Montessori good ? U see any improvement in your child ? There's one at Simei and my neighbour's son attends. I'm considering as it's very expensive. This.