(2011/04) Apr 2011

Gerry,

piggy,

thanks for the info and referral code, i shall go browse the site!

Yoti, E_lazy, smiggleprincess,

how do you all sterlise sophie?? I think i need to re-intro it to my boy soon, I see him keep biting his fingers and using it on his gums until like damn pain..

Long time didn't come in and post. Got come in occasionally to read post but didn't have the chance to do it.

Moon, e_laztpy,

Can understand how u gals felt. My Z also like that last month after his jab.doesn't really want to drink milk. And eveytime got left over. (i was also angry initially but after a few times, i told myself even adult fall sick, will also lose appetite, so bb will aso like that)

Yesterday brought him for his 4th mth jab and after that, milk intake also drop. So since last mth, he has been drinking only 110-130ml. Yesterday ask GP about his intake drop after his last jab, but GP said everyday they are changing so very hard to predict as long as he got grow, then it's fine.

Can I check with those mummies who had brought their child oversea when he/she is below 1YO? Kindly advise what are the things I must take note and take precaution on? Thanks

this week has been a very emotional draining week. I was supposed to tender but it has not been easy..so many people talk to me...they really want me to stay and think career wise, its better i stay but the complication is ive signed the other side.. so i have not tendered yet...

gerry: oh congrats!so happy for you! enjoy your precious time with your kids before u go back to work.

elazy: looks like i might not be able to set lunch dates with you.. baby N so cute! so clever already! my colleague was an exclusive pumper, and she pumped for 10 months. i know what you mean abt sterializing.. so lei chei at work. the funny thing is that each time i carry my bag to pump, people ask if I have a meeting or going home.. used to say pump milk but after a while, I just nod my head.. especially when the men ask!

charmaine: i don't put any raw stuff with my milk. first, we worry about contamination from the raw food. also, not sure if the smell might seep into the milk. so better separate.

wah.. seems like couple of babies are drinking less.. guess since its happening to a few babies.. its probably normal. some more can grow! envy. my baby z.. has started drinking 150-170ml..and have taken cereal and only poos like once a week. yet.. his weight for the last week.. STAGNant. sigh. think its really my BM.

fung fung: i brought my gal to thailand when she was 8 mths old. first, i recommend to bring the milk from singapore.. if you are using formula cause some times same brands taste different in different countries. if latch, no issue. then also you have to think if they have started solids.. you might want to pack some cereals/biscuit teethers. also, bring lots of small toys on the plane and little biscuits to entertain your child. if the hotel can provide cot better to reserve earlier. my advise is to overpack a bit more.. with clothes, baby cream etc. also, before I left for my trip, i went to my PD and got the usual cough, cold, vomitting, diahorrea medication for just in case situations.

morning mummies

hope everyone have great weekend !!!!

wake up earlier as usual, goin to send girls to IFC/CC for half day as has to go grandma in law's funeral.

seem like many of Bb here like Sophie so much. I just start intro normal teether to Kay but she still not hold it very well. so tempted to get another Sophie for Kay to replace her finger.

charmaine

I put EBM & raw food tog in freezer but I pack the ebm in 2layer of plastic bags again & seal it. and for raw food I also pack in a big plastic bag again.

yr boy drink so little but still so chubby !!!! thk yr milk is power. :p

when is next Bb gathering? 6mth bash?? maybe can arrg 1 at oct? miss to see all the bunnies

Hope everyone had a good Saturday !!!

wow so many people buy Sophie .... I also didnt buy because quite ex wor...

Lynn

Whatever you do dont put Sophie into sterlizer because my friend did that and Sophie was dumb could not squeak at all.... so wasteful

Gerry

congrats in getting the job... in the meantime relax and enjoy the last 2 weeks of your SAHM status

I also dont know why Vianne today and yesterday also didnt finish her milk I wonder if it is because that she is teething that is why she is not drinking and her fingers are always in her mouth and so many saliva....

Vivi,

omg. my maid put one of the new teether i bought into the sterlizer... ended up it melt. she's starting to get on my nerves.. hais.

Sookie,

Thanks for ur advise. Intend to bring Z to Phuket next year Jan. By then he'll be 8mth+. by then shd hv start solid and still on bfeeding. As for water, do u boil from tap water or mineral bottle? Coz my GP suggest that he take Hep A jab b4 he goes oversea Bt that jab can only take when he is 1YO. So GP ask mi to be careful of drinking water

Vivi,

Dunno wat happen to my Sophie, I only wash it with bottle detergent and after a few wash, he become soar throat, can't make beautiful squeaking sound.

I dun think is due washing or water go into the hole at its backside. coz if it is due to that, then it can't be washed at all.

thks sookie n bbgoh for advice!

bbgoh,mine boy cos short so look chuuby,he's only 7.2kg..

fung fung,its norm..a few days later after sopie dry up den the sqeaky sound will come back.

fungfung, with children we hv to be careful when bringing them overseas. Even more so when they're infants. We brought our #1 to Thailand when she was ard 4, we brought bottles of our filtered water and when run out, we'd buy distilled water from 7/11 stores there. Too much mineral water is no good even for adults. There had been studies that some of these bottled water are not 'cleaned' actually but we have no choice also when we're overseas. That's why I'd make it a point to bring my own filtered water(plus we're also kinda used to the no chlorine taste). I've also bought a travel 'cooker' very compact to bring along, to boil the water/cook(cos I still cook her food then, cos she's allergic to eggs and overseas worser due to language barrier, so play safe, cook myself, hahaha).

Do rem to consult a PD for travel medicines for yr baby before u go and rem to pack them, heee.

I also wish I cld travel to Korea or Japan(been sooo long since my last trip :<) this yr end or dur CNY next yr, not sure if tt's possible 'cos #2's still so young...

Mum05,

U brought filtered meaning u boil water from s'pore and bring over?

Ya, I was referring to bottled water. Distilled one, do u still boil it b4 u give?

Think need to bring travel kettl to boil water juz in case.

Lazy sunday today, stayed at home to nua. Muahahaha

Piggy,

My tummy also v loose lor, sam zham bah, and go stretch mark too. Ytd brought bb N for injection. Got a pair of twin gals at the clinic. Little gal already took initiative want to shake hand with him, who knows he cried out so loud (cos afteer injection). Aiyoh, come back hm I told him cannot be so ubgentleman la. Haha

Hi charmaine,

Oh so u start bb A on solids liao. Brown rice is rich in fibre, so maybe that's y help in his digestive system. Sophie ah, my N likes every part of it! Haha. Greedy boy.

Wah, 3 kids ah, I'm not so garang leh, even go for #2 I already scared scared hehe

Oh sorry, forgot to answer ur qns. No shd try not to put raw food tog with bm. I dun even allow my MIL to put cooked food in the same fridge as my bm.

Lynn,

If I'm not wrong, can't sterilize Sophie. I just wash with water everyday then wipe clean.

Fungfung,

Ya, so end up I got angry with myself for getting angry with him haha. Brought him for injection ytd, he is bait cranky since ytd afternoon. Running bait of fever too haiz.

Sookie,

No worries k. U settle ur work first. We can always meet up for other occasions one mah. Haha, re: pump at work, i always tell my female colleagues who ask that i'm gg to be a cow. Male colleagues dun usually ask, except for 1 or 2 really san ba ones and that actually included one of my partner! *roll eyes* :p

Fungfung,

For feeding, try not to boil tap water. The other mummies are correct, use distilled water. My SIL has a very long list of things to bring when travelling overseas. I search for it, then post here to share with u all.

Oh btw, ytd asked my PD, he say start solids after 6 mths. And even so, solids should only supplement milk. Milk shd still be the main source of food / nutrition for at least the first year. For your reference only.

Fungfung,

Sorry, so many messages. After u wash Sophie, give it some good shakes, and the sore throat shd then be recovered :p

Dear mummies who intend to travel, here's the long long long long list of things to bring along for our precious....

Health Care

Standby medication (fever, flu, running nose, cough, allergy)

Nail cutter

Ruyi oil

Baby vicks

face cream / vasoline

body lotion

Thermometer

Teething tablets

cotton buds

Head-to-toe body wash

bath towel

wet wipes (large pack)

blanket

waterproof towel

cloth nappy

extra disposable waterproof sheets

extra diapers

Carry on bag

baby lip balm

diaper (x3)

wet wipes (travel pack)

cotton blanket (x1)

disposable waterproof sheet (x1)

diaper cream

water bottle

Pacifier and chain clip

toys

hankies (x3)

bib

tibits container

extra clothes

1 serving of milk powder / cereal

nursing cover

Feeding

instant cereal mix

biscutt and puffs

extra bibs

bottled baby food

breast pump and parts

milk bottle

milk power

feeding bowl and spoons

avent storage container

new rice

Tiger food jar

extra hankies

extra pacifier

small knife

travel cooker

Bottle washing detergent

Clothings and Others

little boister and pillow

Pajamas

leg warmer / PP pants

socks & shoes

Jackets / Long sleeve

Jeans / Pants

Rompers

T-shirts + shorts

Beanie / Cap

Fungfung,

for me i boil from the hotel water [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

e Lazy,

tt v long i dun remember bring sooooo much keke...

Afternoon mummies

Anyone cooking curry today ?

Re: water

For my girl, I'll still bring or buy distilled water. I'll bring along a electric small pot that can boil and cook stuff if needed. Try not to boil mineral water as you will get a lot of small white particles! From my experience!!!

I'm so tired but still can't sleep as lots of stuff undone. Now pumping... Think my supply gonna drop as I missed so many pumps as too tired to pump before sleep or wake up early in the morning!!!

By the way, how to tell if ebm is spoiled? Sometimes my boy refused the milk and I don't know what's the reason????

When will youbgals start brining babies for enrichment? I mean those trial class??? We went to quite a few for my #1. I think good exposure for them also :)

Sookie, vivi,

Thanks!! Ya I will enjoy myself before I start work!!

Sookie,

You already signed on the other side.. It really depends on what you want.. Sometimes I feel staying in the old co is more like within your comfort zone so understand it is really hard to leave.. So must see what is your reason for wanting to join new co and leaving old one..

When will u be joining me in the east?? =)

Lazy,

Wow!! That's one long list.. I don't remember bringing so much either!! Haha!! =)

Fung,

For bangkok, I think the most impt thing is clean water so like what other mummies say, I'll boil distil water.. Buy lots of from the supermarket.. And for solids, if it is rice cereal, just use your ebm.. The cleanest you can get.. And I would probably buy lots of bottled food from sg.. Wouldn't feed my kids food from there.. Not even cook..

I think by the time the kid is able to take solids, it should be ok to not be so clean.. Too clean also no good.. For her bottles and utensils, can bring a small bottle of liquid detergent and after washing, can rinse them with boiling water..

Most important is BUY travel insurance for the whole family cos in case of emergency, you will be covered and can even get those air ambulance to fly the sick people back cos Bangkok healthcare not too trustworthy.. *touchwood*

Kaira, Piggy, Gerry,

V long rite! Haha when I saw her list, I felt so discouraged to go overseas liao :p need to muster enuff courage...

Totoro,

I also missed a lot of pumps cos too tired. Haiz, no choice la, we just try our best bah. Does ur boy latch on? If so, he may be one of those smart bb who can tell the diff between fresh bm and frozen bm so maybe that's why reject? Sometimes hv to coax them abit la.

Re: enrichment classes

What r some of the recommended ones to go? I'm gg to try out my gym. How early do we hv to book these classes?

Gerry, u stay in the east too? Me too me too. So many of our mummies here stay in the west

Thanks all mummies for sharing with mi what to do and what don't.

E_lazy,

Thanks for sharing the long long list, really very long. this list is for long travel is it? Really a lot of things.

Gerry,

As for washing their bottles and utensils, use boiling water to sterilize it after washing ( this is to save the hassle of bringing sterilizer) u mention mix ebm with cereal, does it mean that u bring pump over or bring ebm over? Coz I dun intend to bring pump if possible.

e_ lazy,

hee dun be discourage ya... cos it depend on individual for me when i go oversea i bott the bott food pigeon porridge or order soupy stuff or bread instead of bring my rice cooker but i tink dependd on the country u goin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]... but did bring along cereal etc... n not all the item on the list is applicable to us also...

totoro,

after my exp. with my #1 i doubt i will startin bring #2 for enrichment so soon reason being those enrichment class i find more suit for older bb like almost 1YO.. be4 tt it more like enrichment/exercise for us parent instead lol...

E_lazy,

serious?! I almost send sophie swimming with sterlization tablets [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]. later become mute or sorethroat.. yikes!

Fung,

Don't bother with the sterilizer.. Use boil distil water to rinse good enough.. Like for bottles, I will put the teat inside the bottle and pour boiling water into it for a while..

For the ebm, just hand express.. Making cereal doesn't need so much milk.. Don't need pump either..

E lazy,

Ya I am living in the east.. Born and bred here!! =)

actually agree with piggy, it isn't too scary traveling with young kids.. and depends on the country.. Places like Australia and Europe, it isn't too bad cos their supermarkets are filled with yummy children food.. And they have small bottles of ready made formula milk for bb.. Easier for traveling..

elazy,ya already started cos my bpy turning 6 mths this week.cannot dun start..but at least he is hapier pooing everyday unlike previously every 4-5 days..

Piggy

Hee I meant trial classes as it's good opportunity for mummies and babies to meet up also! I most likely will not enroll those gym as too tiring for mummy LOL. No joke carrying a few kgs babies and doing the different stunts!

But babies do learnt when they mixed with other babies hence I like the trials! My #1 actually only start crawling after attending one trial when all the rest already moving! She tried there at the spot but failed and when she came home, she start crawling a few days later :)

E-lazy

I'm doing exclusive pumping. I think my boy forgot how to nurse liao after introducing bottle long time ago. I read that spoilt milk have very sour smell that we can't missed so guess I'll just stick to the cue for the time being.

Sophie

The most I just wiped with wet tissue before passing to him! opps!! Mine loves Sophie mouth, ears and head. My mum don't let him suck as she kept saying it's dirty and the rubber smell so strong.

morning ladies..

totoro,

hee cos even non gym prog can be v tirin for mummies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tt y be4 1YO i prefer playdates la [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gerry,

yes agree with u too.. tt time i went to Jap so convenience n i even bott fruits from super mart to feed him[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fung, frm any of the abv answers u might alr hv gathered wat u need to know, but since u've asked me, i better ans, lolz.

'Our' filtered water does not need boiling to drink. First bottle(with insulator) I filled up with hot water(our water filter sys come with hot and cold water dispenser) and the other few bottles, I just filled up cold(either hot or cold, they're ready to drink). I only boiled the water to make milk/coffee or to make the water luke warm... My girl was alr 4yo then, but I still wanted to be more careful 'cos it was to Thailand then although we were staying at hotels like Hilton, it's the 'environment supply' that I'm not comfortable with. We tagged along with my gf whom went bk there with her Thai husband, and even they told us to bring our own filtered water for our girl so we did lor...

Re enrichment : same like piggy, experience form #1 told me need not send to these, hahaha. I went with #1 to GUG's tots classes(parent accompanied) twice a week when she turned 2.5yo and found it not really educational except that it let her socialise more and me to know more mommies! lolz. But if the class your child's assigned to has alot of younger kids, then it's useless, 'cos they can't mingle properly and half the time, quite messy, hahaha and these classes are not cheap. If u hv the spare cash and time, it's actually a fun activity.

I think I may not even bother(not sure yet, see how it goes when she turns tt age) to start my #2 with Pre-N 'cos #1 went to preschool(only 3hrs) from Pre-N, came bk sick most of the time and at Pre-N and Nursery, the schools don't really teach much. Maybe this Kindy is like Chiltern House, 'learn thru play', so academically, not much achieved and what she knew are taught by me at home

mum05,

actually i sent my boi to GUG ard 17mth for a term it helps him to interact more n he did learn sumthing from it but i find GUG is not v gd... n for this age the focus is not really academic it more of self help skill... n after i sent him to CC i can see a lot of improvement on him can self feed n he pick up alot of new words n be4 2YO he can alr speak in sentence[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i got 1 friend she is a SAHM n still she sent her gal to enrichment class... n at barely 2YO her motor skill is v gd thou she does do home teachin with her but can see tt enrichment class she went do benefit her[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hippopolai,

no need envy la i am still workin mah wat there to envy??? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Halo mummies,

On childcare leave today cos bb N is running a temperature on and off and hvg abit of running nose too. Haiz, heart pain...

Piggy and Gerry,

Ya, ppl did tell me that its ok to travel with infants. In fact, easier to travel with infants than with toddlers. I need to find my courage and tell myself that I can do it one! haha...

re: enrichment class

thk the parents will be more siong than the kids.. imagine the kids face black black, but we parents still must act like so enthu.. LOL.. but for me, it will be a good chance for my bb to interact with other kids. If not, everyday he only faces adults... so boring...

Lynn,

Thk i read on the sophie instructions not supposed to sterilise, only wipe clean with wet cloth.

Can someone tell me whats the rationale behind not allowing infants to wear shoes / shoes with hard sole before they turn 1?

Oh, and travelling overseas, we need to apply for passport for them rite??? probably another silly qns, but just want to make sure.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My boy is around 4 months old. After introducing him to bottle feed, he stop latching.

Feel a bit sad, but no choice.

Now have to pump out each time, after feeding him with EBM. Feel so tired, have to wash and sterilize the parts after each pump.

Found it inconveninence if have to bring him out, as he don't latch on, got to rely on FM.

Any method to let my baby latch again?

I am staying in Jurong West St 25. Any Jurong Mummies getting free formula milk (eg. Mamil Gold, Similac, and etc)for baby 6 months and above. Would like to exchange with you all, as my baby is drinking Enfapro A+.

Please PM me if you can help me to request for 400 gram sample.

ya piggy, I agree with u, GUG's prog, at least their toddlers' not so engaging for them, but better for older kids. I found that the zoophonics taught at GUG actually confused children and I've never believed in any of these so-called specialised phonics teaching(using animal sound, song to teach) from then on. I still prefer the conventional way of phonics teaching. Just for info, teachers need to have a separate certification to teach phonics and this, many pre-schools' teachers still do not possess.

GUG's kindy prog is rather good though, at least better than the one my #1 went to for Pre-N, N to K1. At S$1,300 per term, for 3 years, I sure had wasted alot of money! What my girl has 'learnt' are mainly from my home teaching too(and I didn't even teach her alot, she's learnt her ABCs from her Dora laptop! hahaha).

This time round, I won't send our #2 to this school(which has many branches everywhere).