(2011/04) Apr 2011

oic! thks gerry/bbgoh. When I had #1, no one told me abt happy bellies and I dun think it's available? not much brands avail, so I intro Nestle(ya, find it kinda sweet too, dun like frisocream too though I din intro that) but only for a short while 'cos gave porridge when #1 was very heaty after taking cereals + FM.

iherb... ya, some stuffs r actually cheaper when ordered online but I prefer not to buy edible stuffs online...

Which NTUC has it any idea? The one at Bukit Timah plaza hv or not? How much wld it be? Thks...

Mum05,

You can mix cereal with ebm.. I think it is less heaty.. The good thing about these rice cereal is the fortified iron, I think.. Especially for bf bb..

Happy bellies can be found at nutc finest.. At the organic dry food section.. I know the marine parade outlet has.. =)

tweety,

the thing is he is alr drinkin 190ml if i increase it to 210ml i scare too much... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

smiggleprincess,

a little bit ok bah tt time my bb poo few time watery i leave it wor let him recover himself unless v bad i will bring him see dr cos v hard to tell mah..

ya gerry, tis time round, I'd mix wif ebm. #1's mixed with FM cos she was on FM(only bf for 1 mth).

I think I'd need to work out a schedule, cos now feeding on demand, duno if I'd have enuf to pump out or not hahaha.

oh ya, my bb also hasn't poo-ed for the past few days(i din count!) how ar? did mommies of bbs whom hadn't been poo-ing lately gave yr bb gripe water before this non-pooing prob starts?

afternoon everyone

Gerry

good luck for the job interview and I hope you will be able to get the job. events planning sounds fun although can be quite tiring too making sure that the event runs well and liasing with the vendors.

Piggy

if your little one drinks a lot of milk and still hungry and is not a growth spurt you may need to introduce cereals liao... that is what the doctor at KK told me.

Smiggleprincess

monitor if the frequency gets too much, baby is lethargic and dont really drink and also runs a fever and vomit may have to see pd.

Because until now Vianne still had not recovers from her bout of lao sai ...

ask you all hor $8 per tin of happy bellies cereal cheap or not?

Vivi,

Thanks!! Ya I really like the job scope.. Don't know how many people apply though.. It will be something different for me.. Bu they also ask if I am willing to occasionally go back and do lab work.. I really want this job, so of course I said I don't mind.. Hehe!!

Poor vianne.. Hope she gets better soon..

Mum05,

Ya me too.. Feeding on demand.. Quite hard to pump.. And sometimes no extra.. Hehe!!

For breast fed bb, some don't pop for as long as 5 days and still normal..

Sookie,

I change menu once a week, coz I only free on weekend. I normally prepare one week portion. One week shld be fine I think....

Piggy,

Terry was a nestle baby, he is fine with all type of food wor.

Hi Ladies, we are looking for mums whose babies are now 0 to 12 months for a short 15 min survey in our office. Token - 30 bucks NTUC voucher. Criteria: You must be user of Abbott brand of formula milk e.g. Similac or Gain IQ. Interested mums, kindly SMS me yr name, yr age, hp no. and baby's month to 97640028. Thanks, Sally

Tweety,

the last feed i did increase to 200ml n no diff..

Vivi,

yes tt wat i thot too tt y will need to start soon... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for happy bellies retailing $9.50 so anything below tt is ok la jus tt now if via iherb only $5+ so it v cheap haha...

mummies those with #1..last time u also fed your mummies around 4mth meh?

i remember last time during my boy time 2009 the PD kept telling me don't give so early give at 6mth..

yalor gerry, tt's why i tot maybe the only chance to pump wld be morning feed after morning feed esp if she slps thru for longer hours and take only 1 side when she woke,else i think quit difficult, hahaha.

hw come event planning gotta do lab work??? btw, those friends I know working events planning co usually work pretty irregular hours, u sure u want that?

piggytoh,

what's ur referral for iherb? i want to buy stuff!

the other day my MIL let my bb taste/suck apple and pear. is it okay to do that now?

I'm still back and forth about starting solids at 4months or 6months. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

st, I didn't give my #1 cereal til she's ard 6mths old as advised by her PD. I gave her rice cereal for a while then proceeded to pureed porridge with carrots, vege...

started giving her pureed threadfin porridge and she developed rash and doc told me it's the protein in fish that caused the allergy reaction and so I waited til she's past 1 yo before re-introducing it again. She's allergic to eggs til now...

#2 - I've checked with PD(a neuro PD at the recent Abbott's seminar), he said actually it shld be ard 6mths but past few yrs,(i think he meant 'studies) said can intro at 4mths old but it's now back to introducing at later mths, so he sug we start at 5.5mths. So I'll just wait lor, either 5.5 mths or another 2 wks later, heee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's quite cute n fun to watch them taking their 1st few messy mouthfuls and it's tempting to start early but personally, I feel, unless the baby's constantly hungry even after milk, else it's better to wait til their swallowing/digestive system is stronger.

Lynn,

the referral is OHU852 only for 1st time customer. it really up to u whether u wan 4 mth or 6mth...

mum05,

yes i agree with u rather than risk better wait for their digestive system is stronger cos every child is diff n it not tt u feed earlier they wun be picky with food...

btw Gerry not doin event co.. hers is only own co so diff n yes event co usu irregular hr n salary not fantastic else i am pretty interested[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mum05,

Oh cos this job is at a science institute. So I can imagine my employer will be tempted to get me to do lab work if the need arises.. Haha!! Hopefully not lah cos I wanna move away from it.. As for the event planning part, it is for the institute's conferences and seminars and they have an in-house planner so I'll be only assisting..

Oh dear, your #1 is allergic to eggs.. I love eggs.. But can she eat cakes and pastry?

Piggy,

Ya I think event planning quite interesting and could be fun too.. But I also wouldn't want to work at an event planning co.. Sometimes even have to travel.. With family, cannot do all these things Liao.. =)

Gerry,

yes tt y ur job scope sound fun a little of everything [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good afternoon!

Allow me to rant here: I have left some maternity leave with the company. Intend to take leave on Sat (need to work alternate Sat) and rejected by my boss! He replied pls change yr OFF day with someone else! Idiot! I really feel it is time for me to resign this shit company!

Check with you mummies: I have been bothering by this issue since I have started work! Mummies whom left their bb with infant care/baby sitter..U girls knock off the same time with yr HB and go fetch yr bb together?

Reason I am asking is my SHIT boss expected me to work overnight everyday (Yes! Mon-Fri); I didnt work 1 last week and this week he keeps picking on me! I have talked to him on my family commitment; he just cannot be bothered!

In fetching bb back home, my Hb has assured me that he can manage well. I do not know! Maybe everything I wanna to be involved in everything. I feel upset whenever I need to work late and unable to go back home with them. In addition, some days when I went back, my bb is asleep! So sad!! I keep asking myself is because of my character or I cannot fit into the working hrs of this company! Because most working mummies need to balance work and their family too and is coping so well (is it I am too useless/a phrase period to go thro after birth or due to my character)?

Sorry for the long post! hope I didnt bore you.

oic gerry, hmmm then stl not really out of yr field, shld be good in terms of salary expectation(dun hv to lower due to change of job nature/experience). As long as u think u like the work, good luck! Hopefully there won't be irregular hrs for u.

Ya lor, tt's why when she had her MMR jab, her PD said she'd need her other partner to be in the clinic on that day(2 PDS hv to be present at the clinic). But luckily, nothing happened/no reaction that day, phew.

She cldn't eat cakes or anything that contains eggs(the worst is mayo! the worst reaction man!) but recently she's able to take/eat some cakes, hopefully she'll grow out of this allergy soon. Sooo cham lor, I rem I have to cook and pack her food out, lunch and/or dinner whenever we go out in the past and I didn't have a maid then. So always super rushing for me whenever we go out. But good thing is, it's certain that she ate healthy/nuritious home-cooked food, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yoti yoti, calm down, I can understand how u feel. I'm one who wants to be hands-on on everything too! Be it work, homefront and most importantly, my kids, that's why I decided to give up my work lor. Why don't u speak to your hubby about this and see what he thinks about u being a SAHM if that's what u want? But u hv to bear in mind that being a SAHM is no easy task esp. if u hv no helper or anyone else to help out at home. There's no leave/MC, so when u're sick, u still hv to endure, get up and tend to baby/child's needs. That's what I went through and although I gave up work willingly becos of my kid, I almost went crazy esp. during that 1st yr, hahaha. If yr hub is able to take leave to help u out when u're unwell, then it's good. Mine's always super busy so I was alone all the time then, tt's why when he said he'd love more kids, I told him we'll need a maid if no.2 comes along, even though I dun like the idea of a stranger at home.

Whatever it is, I still pulled through that 1st few years wif my #1 and had wonderful memories which I'd never trade off with any career advancement, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yoti,

no v hard to do everything together with HB so usu he will go n pick up the kids n i wait for them at home afterall the KO time diff mah.. n my HB work OT freq so most of the time i mus struggle with 2 kids in the evenin till they sleep.. since ur HB assure u he can cope tt v gd mah at least u can rely on him if u need a break to meet up with friends?

as for ur co it really depend on u i hate workin on sat so i nv take up any job tt requires to work on sat n i values my family more than work so if 1 job requires freq OT i wld look for other opportunity no point gettin upset over job..

Hi mum05 & Piggytoh,

Thank you for your reply!

My mindset change after having a baby..now my priority is family. In the past without children can garang all the way..Just cannot comprehend why my shit boss cannot understand!

Mum05: I know not easy to be SAHM..24/7 working. In order to be a SAHM, 2nd criteria to note is hb 's salary also need to be "there" in order to support the family..Living expenses so high now..not said wanna be SAHM can be one (not easy also).. I do not mind to be one if can as I wanna to see/experience each growing stages of of my bb..Did mention to him abt my job..He replied look for other jobs lor; didnt ask me to be SAHM though..LOL

Piggy: Yr Hb handle 2 kids while driving? Maybe as what mum05 mentioned, everything wanna hands-on thus feel upset over here. For my company, I do not think I can work here for long; will look for other opportunity! Here not family pro and understanding and most impt I cannot "fix" into his timings ba! In the past, I need to work from 9am-6pm. Now he can change the working timings: work from 1pm - 9pm!!! Sucks! I cannot "fix" into the schedule at all! For Sat I do not wish to work as well..hai.."ren zai jiang hu, shen bu you ji" (In chinese)...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yoti,

ya both in car seat mah.. if cry let them cry lo.. last time with #1 i also drive wth him alone...

huh 1-9pm??? can suka change workin hr 1 meh?

if u really dun like quit n find another 1?

ya i wish to be a SAHM workin mother if possible but in SG v diff la living expense so high ...

for mummies who r still comtemplating when to start i found this for ur reference..

When Should I Start Feeding My Baby Solid Foods?

One answer is: when your pediatrician tells you that it's OK to start solid foods. She will probably agree with the American Academy of Pediatrics, whose guidelines state that the best time to begin feeding your baby solid foods is between 4 and 6 months of age [Editor's note: 2006 and later guidelines recommend beginning at 6 months]. And the closer to 6 months the better, especially if you are breastfeeding.Your baby's body in its first few months was designed to digest breast milk, or something similar to it. And, calorie for calorie, no solid food has the nutritional quality of breast milk or formula for your young baby. If you feed your baby solid foods too early, her milk intake may decrease. You'd be replacing milk, the best food for your baby, with foods that are nutritionally inferior and not as digestible. Solid foods should not replace breast milk, they should complement it.

check this site for more info:

http://www.pregnancy.org/article/starting-solids-what-age-which-foods

Piggy - I feel so unhappy that my working hrs are changed! 1-9pm!!! How to work everyday like this??!!! And he sent a memo to inform he has the rights to change the working hrs in our contract! I have talked to him abt my commitments but u know, ang mo boss will not understand! He cannot be bothered! In addition, he has no family here - no entertainment too! Now looking ard for greener patch of field! Hope can find one soon!

I wish to be a SAHM too..Hai

YOti,

ya i understd how u feel tt y i quit my job to look for another 1... even thou my current job allow me to KO on the dot everyday but i am v unhappy with my boss ... since u alr decided to look for another job dun worry so much found 1 n move on ...

hihi! today v bz.. peep in for a while.

yoti, i really sympathise with u. My hb is the one who fect bb to n fro IFC everyday loh. I will try my best to leave office before 630pm everyday. But so far 1-2 days will need to stay till 7+pm. Most of the times i go chance i zao liao. Sep hb go reservist i took 1/2 days leave so i can fetch bb myself.. Working hrs 1-9pm is really v ridiculous leh! What u work as? How come so weird timing? Were u the one who chatted with me on FB? I forgot.. :p

Hi elmo: yes I am the one whom chat with you..keke...LOL

I am working in educational line but not teaching..I am doing the back-ends jobs..The centre will operate from 9am-9pm everyday. However I am not the teaching staff..Before I came in, I have asked if I need to work weird timing - He replied "NO" - and now he changed my working hrs...Went back his words! Anyway I feel tat I have tried my best to talk to him on my situation...Since he cannot sympathise with my commitments, I guess I have to treat him my resignation letter..

Mrs chua,

It up to individual preference but perhaps u can read the link I posted above for better idea[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy,

Hehe!! All the mummies here are making me super excited about this job. =)

Yoti,

That's terrible! Why do back office need to work such hours.. Ya i feel if you are not happy about your job, must do something about it.. Ya I same as piggy, don't like to work on sat.. So will look for jobs that don't require me to work on weekends.. For me, my hb works long hours and sometimes overnight, so I am mainly the one looking after the kids.. So I have to die die find a job that has fixed hours and family friendly..

Mrs Chua,

Usually the first month of feeding solids, I usually start with rice cereal mixed with ebm.. As that is the closest to milk.. Maybe purée fruits in the next month.. But I would start with safe fruits like apples, bananas and pears.. Nothing too acidic.. And I wouldn't give bottled purée food till she is about 8-9 months.. And that is if I am desperate and no food.. If not I prefer to prepare my own food..

Mum05,

Ya man.. During vaccination super jialat, as some vaccination has albumin from eggs.. Slowly, I know some childhood allergies will disappear.. Is just that eggs are super healthy food.. If my girl is fussy and not eating, I would resort to frying a cheese omelette for her..

gerry, i tot nowadays eggs r no longer that healthy anymore?

It's ok, she can hv her nutrients intake frm other food, her PD ever mentioned letting her eat beef n she said beef's very nutritious. Good thing was that she took vege when she was young although she was very fussy abt food. N good thing she prefers home-cooked meal to outside food which meant she ate healthily. I rem giving her french fries to try and she rejected, hahaha but gone are those days, now she'd gobble up e fries, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

good morning. !!!

gerry

I prefer to make purée my own too. so far I nvr buy any purée jar for my #1 :p

I tried out many type of foods from fruit to vege even meat.

mrs Chua

it's up to individual preference loh. I am same as gerry, start with cereal then puree. apple, pear & avocado r the safest & good for starting

yoti

hope u can soon find new job & throw yr boss letter. so ridiculous

mum05

beef is very nutritious, egg also still healthy food. most of the IFC & cc ll give children hard boiled egg twice a week. to adult I thk it's not tat not healthy but must limited due to high colestrol on egg yolk? I like beef, I intro beef to my #1 at 9mth

hahaha my #1 also used to reject french fries, now she ll ask Mac from me

G'morning..

Mum05,

Eggs have been given a bad rep.. Actually they are super rich in nutrients.. Imagine that this egg will eventually become a chick.. it is one of the most nutrient dense foods around.. And for the cholesterol, when we eat cholesterol, our body will be signalled to stop producing our own cholesterol.. The baddy in this is actually saturated fats which will be converted to cholesterol in our body.. Not the cholesterol found in eggs.. Of course everything in moderation and if the adults are health conscious then best to avoid the yolks..

But cholesterol is also very impt for our body function.. =)

Yes beef is very nutritious too.. And yummy!! My girl loves her beef steak!! And wagyu beef patties..

morning ladies...

Gerry,

the thing abt job searchin is tt the 1 tt we r usu v keen in no news those we were not v keen keep callin to ask us make our decision lol~

den jus as we thot no chance took up other offer then they call up..

Good morning, ladies

Piggy,

Hope ur cough is better now. I used ur referral code to buy things on iherb ytd. Thanks alot! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Really a challenge to spend over $40 but less than 4lb.. haha.. luckily combine purchase with my SIL. Now waiting eagerly for the stuff to ship over... hehe...

re: starting solids at 4 or 6 mth

I intend to start at 6 mth but this weekend i'm gg to see PD, will check with him again and share with u all what he says ok.

Gerry,

Good luck good luck! The job really sounds interesting, so hope u will get it. Jiayou!

Yoti,

Ur boss really mean. If u are really unhappy, find a new job, then can throw the letter into his stupid face!

Vivi,

Vianne still got LS? haiz... poor dear thing. Hope she can get completely well soon k. Hugs...

Mummies who send kids to IFC, can you all share with me what's ur overall experience with IFC? Currently my PIL helps to take care, but i thk they will do more harm than good in terms of spoiling the kid. So contemplating whether to send to IFC to let my bb learn to be independent as well as pick up some social skills. Or should I wait till he's 18 mths?