(2011/04) Apr 2011

looks like I am in the panda club tonight too.

seem to have problem with my maid. was out tonight and got a close aunt of mine to babysit. the maid actually "opened her heart" to my aunt and told her that she feels I don't trust her enough and that maybe its because I am a first time maid employer with little experience. even told my aunt to keep the conversation from me as she knows that I do not like her going around ratting abt my household affairs with other people. she has also previously "confided" in my mom about her family problems and how she desperately needs to remit money to buy milk powder for her daughter.

*faint*

This really disturbing me. I seem to have unknowingly engaged a drama queen maid who rats on me. She is a 38 yr old mother of a 2 yr old with prior working exp in Singapore so she seems to have adopted this smart alec attitude where she feels she is qualified to dish out childcare/cleaning/cooking advice to me. Once I couldn't take it and told her to shush. Now she goes about her chores with a smug smirk on her face.

Really feel like sending her back. Prob is, she is quite competent in housework and has pretty much settled into an autopilot routine. My hubby, parents and in laws all keep telling me she is a rare find. Getting a new maid is a gamble and I only have 1 more month to go before heading back to work.

To date, I do not let her handle my bb much. she has only been with me for 3 months and as she rightly pointed out, I don't trust her yet. She only helps with the occasional diaper change and sterilization of bottles. I do all the feedings myself. Now I lagi don't trust her even more...

What would you do if you were in my shoes? act blur like nothing happened and continue to monitor, issue her a warning or just send her back?

I am awake but not by bb but by my #1.. Haiz..

Pink,

I almost completely latched Lisa and she weaned off within a day or 2 after 10 months of boobs.. And she was uber sticky to me during the latching days.. Will wake up in the middle of the night and will only sleep if I latch her kind.. So that theory is not always true..

Starflower,

Ya I don't like latching and breastfeeding either.. But I do find it super convenient to latch.. Particularly when I am out or in the middle of the night.. Ya I do tell people that it is very suffering to breastfeed and the day I stopped bfing my #1, I celebrated!! Haha!! But I kept bfing her for that long is cos bm is the best..

Mum05,

Maybe your bb has started taking solids it would be better?? I am going to start my girl on solids when she turns 4 months.. Now the only form of nutrients he is getting is from you..

Starflower,

I totally understand how you feel.. My #1 was waking up every hour for the first 2-3 months.. And she doesn't even sleep much during the day!! It was a living nightmare..

Piggy.. Hv u called to book hi tea? Suddenly I rem they hv 2 rooms which can cater for abt 10 & above.. Maybe u can request that?? The other time I went there with my team of 10, they gave us 1 of their rm & we felt as if we are from the royals, nobody disturb lo.. So nice ;) if we can get The rm, Den we can hv the whole room to ourselves & can park strollers there too... Jus check with them since we hv so many of us..

Pearly and Gerry

Fully agree that it is us that gets used to our baby's pattern [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We must jia you !

Piggy

Ke ke enjoying motherhood when Vianne is not cranky

Elmo

Joel also night owl ? Me no bf Liao so drink coffee to perk myself up. Now stupid body refused to sleep before 1am

Because I got training from Vianne

Gerry and starflower

I know that kind of feeling too because my monster also sleeps little in the daytime unless she us on

My chest

Mrs Chua,

i actually booked for 8pax alr cos scare fully booked.. hmm but dunno if all 10 mummies will turn up anot wor.. but will call n check again...

pongzai,

if i were u i will have a talk with her n let her know u know abt wat she say to ur family members so she knows u r aware of wat she have said so she will have 2nd thots if she wan to rats on u.. there is nothing wrong with u not trustin her mah jus let her know tt the fact lo.. i also dun trust my maid ...

Totoro,

I'm pumping 5hr interval this week... Preparing my boobies to go work Liao...

How much ur baby drinking? From ir post, ur supply is more than enough to feed ur baby every feed... So y u wanna force ur boobies give u more? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] fresh is the best...! Pump excess keep, frozen if can finish nvm, cannot finish in the end throw isn't it waste?

Piggy,

U'r fast! Book aldy!!! Haa haa... Ur post make me laugh.... The scene that alot nannies look after 1 baby is cute!!!

pongzai, if u're gg back to work and leave bb to the care of yr maid, then it's better that you have an open heart-to-heart talk with your maid. Let her know of yr expectations. Can be firm but not too aggressive as bb wld be 'in her hands'. If u feel that there's some stuffs which U really can't trust her with yr bb, then unless u hv another pax to help you watch over at home when u're back at work, else u might like to consider changing one - then again, there's still no guarantee that the next one wld be ideal. We have to bear in mind that maids, no matter how good, they won't be 100% like doing it ourselves, be it housechores, cooking, and taking care of our children. Things that we can 'tolerate', we have to close one eye...

My maid(1st one also) was trsf-ed frm my ex-cleaner and most of the housechores like ironing, basic cooking(hv to re-teach due to diffnt taste n preparation/cooking style) had already been coached by the latter, so it's abit easier for me in a small way. Initially she was super on too but after 1 mth with us, I had a talk with her when I informed her of our payment of her salary to her bank account. She was even more diligent after the talk and when bb arrives. However, recently, I noticed the slack already despite my repeated 'reminders', haiz. N no matter how, she'll never be as patient with our kids as ourselves, that's why I try not to go out as often now...

gerry, that's what I tot too but am not sure if it'd be any change. But at least I can depend on the 'solid food' feeding that she won't be hungry if she rej the bottle...

My #1, I've not latched her as much(less than 10times in total incl. at the hosp.) and though she took to the bottle well, she also hv this urge to suckle the breast. I rem her suckling my shirt all the time too, for a few months!

I think u're one lucky mommy whose bbs hv no problem with bottles n BF... sooo envying..

Totoro, what kinda problem yr bb gives u when u feed FM? Actually, being a mommy, we're constantly hving not enuf rest, esp. the 1st few yrs at least...

pink, I think, babies are attached to the person who takes care of them, not just the night feeds.

1 mommy friend of mine told me that she's very hands-on with her #1 and becos of that, she hired 2 maids, one to take care of housework(cos she lives in landed house) and the other to take care of #2 when her CL left. She's always out with #1, to school, enrichment classes etc, etc and soon, she realised that her #2 was more attached to the maid and she began to 'pull back' - brought #2 along wherever she goes too but it took a while, so she advises me try not to leave total care to the maid.

As for weaning, yes, what yr friends said is true. If we really wanna wean off, we hv to be hard-hearted, so it all depends on whether if we can bear with that or not(I know some has no choice but to be so, as they're gg back to work). As for me, I have a choice, I can be the main caregiver, so I relent lor, just hv to sacrifice my rest and outings...

totoro

I pump 4hr interval.

gerry

I also intend to intro solid at 4mth, my #1 I also did tat.

hippo

wat prog yr jovie has tom? -_- u f ly us plane ah..

lynn, it depends, if u're talking abt pureed food and if u're bb is ok or a 'big' eater, then u can start as young as 4mths old. I rem someone told me(not sure if it's my #1's PD) that it's better to start later at 6mths though due to bb's still immature digestive system(and also that they can swallow better) and when we start, better to do wif 1 feed first.

As for porridge with fish and such, I was told by my ch physician that it's better to do so when bb's reach 9mths old.

Hi all! Had been quite stressed up for the past 2 days. Coz found out my baby is rejecting bottle ardy! I started giving her bottle in 1st month. Once a nite, then after a while, not very diligent. Sometimes lazy just latch whole day. So it's been abt a week plus no bottles.

Then suddenly give her 2 days ago she cried and scream! Tried asking MIL, maid and hubby to feed but still end up battling with her. So i went and bought this Breast Flow bottle from NTUC. Apparently its quite good and mimick breast's milk flow. She rejected the first few times and drank only like 50ml then scream.

This Breast Flow nipple has a special design. Has 2 layers of nipple. soft outside and inside abit harder. So i took out the inside layer and let her suck again. Amazingly, she took it happily and gulped down 3 oz! I was soo happy! Dunno if its really because of the bottle or she was lying on her rocking chair (not carried).

Mum05, Pink - maybe u can try that bottle?

She drank without the inner nipple. The outer nipple is very soft and collapses when she drank.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5619474.jpg]

Mum05,

Fingers cross.. You never know when they will change.. Try not to think so much.. When it is time to wean, I will just play by ear.. But I am not going to breastfeed for more than a year.. No way!! Haha!!

Mos maids are like that.. After working for you for a while, they will start to slack lor.. Sometimes also dare to argue back..

Lynn,

My pd told me to strat solids on my #1 when she was 4 months but I only gave her brown rice cereal which I mixed with my bm.. And then changed to oat cereal and eventually mixed cereal.. Can only introduce 1 cereal a week to see if she has allergy.. But when she started solids, I only gave her 1-2 tablespoon.. I started on fish porridge around 8 months.. When she had more teeth, I gave her some beef tenderloin porridge..

Bbgoh,

Ya I think start at 4 months just nice.. But of course only mild food.

Totoro,

Having young children is like that.. I also haven't been having good sleep since 2008.. Haven't woken up past 8am for the longest time..

Pongzai,

I don't intend to let my maid take care of my kids.. Her main responsibility is to do housework and cook meals.. I think you should talk to her and tell her that you are aware of her "unhappiness".. My maid is aware that I would rather have family take care of my kids. I told her keepin he house clean is a very impt job..

Hi hi all mummies...

So long nv post in, but will still read e forum when free..

Vivi: u stop BF by med or naturally? Mi oso 1 stop when go bk work.. If nt veri siong..

Ya nw we getting it easier coz we hav more or less get used to our bb style..n bb cries dun scare us 1st mummies so much liao rite..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] nw i so hapi see my bb everydae...

Vivi, Gerry, hopefully tonite w be good! Fast latch & bb quickly go to sleep!

as for weaning off the breast, my friends tried "cold turkey" method. just let the baby wail for 3-4 days. of course, depends on how stubborn the baby is. If bb refuse bottle, my friend just wont feed her. In the end, baby is hungry, sucked on the bottle like crazy to survive. Baby figured out the breast ain't comin !

Hippopolai,

hahah bobian the other time i call to book whole mth no slot leh so KS abit lo... KS better than last min no slot mah hee.. aiyo nannies sound old leh pretty mummies la..

Pearly,

oh tt v gd of kae.. lucky u[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] for me hor i will drag abit to slowly schedule his feedin time to the routne la.. really hope i can have undisturbed sleep v soon bth ...

Lynn,

there is no hurry to start solid as they dun need other nutrient other than those available in the milk be4 6mth n yes bb digestive system may not be mature for solid for some bbs.. anyway y the hurry? u know once they start solid goin out is a hassle.. mus prepare food la blend la blah blah lotsa things to bring leh..

Pink,

since alr happen be +ve look from another angle u insist on latchin in the beginnin becos u scare bb forget u mah so at least ur bb wan to be close to u... now can only slowly train her to take bott again n yes mus be firm wor...

mum05,

u mean for #2 u ever left the bb with the maid alone? i dun dare leh i nv trust maid 1..

starflower,

yes ur friend is rite in fact alot of thing can use cold turkey method but it depend on u can tahan their cryin anot..

Re: maid

allow me to vent really bth my "clever" maid i alr close 1 eyes on many things but hor she did more n more stupid things really feel like shoutin at her .. imagine this afternoon i asked her shelled the whole prawn except the tail u know hor she shelled everything even the head so the prawn is still with head on but shell-less n really left abit of the tail faintz... den ask her make milk she jus put the milk tin cover but not closed meanin jus put the cover on top of the tin... argh n these r jus few of the stupid things she did...

gerry

yah me too. start with brown rice cereal mix with ebm & Bellamy organic plain rice cereal, beginning only 1-2tablespoon a day & I made fruit puree freeze in cube ask caregiver to feed. wondering this time have time to make or not.

lunch @city square tml

any update?

piggytoh,

oh. cause i was reading online then some writes can start at 4months.. even my MIL says can start at 4months... but seems like most will start at 6mths instead? so i got confused lor.

mum05 and Gerry,

so this time you gonna start at 4months? maybe start with just 1 tsp? every couple of days?

sigh... bb is cranky tonight. dunnoe what's wrong with him..

Lynn,

it really individual la.. but most i read say 6mth wor.. even my PD recommend 6mth.. anyway really la wat the hurry... :p

like the rest i start porridge after 8mth n begin with cereal n fruits/vegie puree..

Yoti

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you are welcome. Hope my experience can make you feel better and more at ease. Forum is for sharing, and going thru tough times together!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink

I think the bottle can be found in first few years. I'm not sure if I have seen it near our house, if I see I call you ok.

Starflower

Yeah! I finally found someone who dont like breast-feeding like me. Hahahah yah! The day I stop bf was my happiest day, felt so liberated. Did not help that I have to control my diet as my kids all have skin allergies, also need to constantly eat n eat good food!! Exhausting!

Starting solids, wow very fast huh...gotta start preparing purees. Somehow baby no3 seems to grow up muuuuuuch faster.

Gin,

hahha me too hate BF n i hate my breast durin BF-ing keke... i tink becos we r too busy to notice their growth esp #2 onwards ...

piggy, gin

haha actually I so looking forward to 4mth ler.

yah i like to prepare the puree. :p

Lynn

once start I ll give everyday but just 1tbs then slowly incrs.

bbgoh,

hahah u like to prepare puree?? keke i lazy leh... so much work esp with 2 kid... n startin solid is the beginnin of another round of battle.. hope #2 is easy on food..lol~

*5* Gin!

Here's my top 5 list of things I Wana do when I stop b-feeding ;)

1) Colour my hair - coz having 2 distinct tones is so not fashionable

2) Stuff myself w Raw Sahimi & medium rare steak - yeah Sakae here I come!

3) Enjoy 'rock & rollin' w hubby without thinking about my dripping boobies - kinda hard to concentrate u know what I mean?

4) Go shopping all day long - yeah bye to engorgement pains & feverish blocked ducts jus coz i forgot the time!

5) Gimme the booze - red wine & champagne at dinner parties, bring it on!

6) Wear Sexy halter tops & pretty dresses that I don't have to wonder how the heck I'm gonna pull out my boobies in split seconds w one hand while struggling w the nursing bra &breast pads ;)))

Yeah Gin, the word is 'liberated'!

Starflower, gin

Oh my!! ^5.. I am looking forward to wearing all my pretty little things when I stop bfing.. Now my boobs are like kedongdongs.. Hate them.. Can't wear all my favorite tops as my 'ample' chest is too big for them! Arghz!!

But I have already gone and perm my hair, ate sashimi and rare steaks .. Haha!! Steaks and sashimi can eat when bfing.. Only during pregnancy can be worrying cos of parasites..

Lynn,

Yup will start feeding at 4 months.. I think it is really up to you when you want to start.. My mom started me at 4 months.. And my pd said I can feed my #1 at 4 months too.. =) ya about 1 tbs a day and gradually increase..

piggy

I like lah but still dunno how I can cope when bk to work & nw with 2kids not like last time. hehe.

lunch @citysquare mall

venue : sushi tei

time. : 12pm

1. bbgoh

2. tweety

3. cowgal

4. vivi

5. totoro. ???

6. charmaine. ???

who else joining? sorry I might miss out someone, no time to surf the archive thread

Pink - I bought mine at NTUC AMK Hub. It's NTUC Xtra. Not sure if all the branches sell le. I'm so happy. She took 2 more feeds without struggling! Praying for tomorrow to go well too. Jia you! You can make it!

Starflower - I think that method will work eventually but very heart pain to see them cry like that le. And also scared cry too much will have wind.

But i still love latching her. Miss the close bonding! Now looking forward for her night feed to latch. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ooo...the Buffet lunch looks nice. But dun think i can join. Have fun for those mummies who are going!

Starflower,

Haha yeah stop BF-ing is gd I feel so relax now but my boobs r so saggin see Liao v sad[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Btw can dye hair la the chemical wun entervthe blood stream if u worried ask the stylist dun touch the scalp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thks Unome, for the info. May try it out but the prob now is my area dun hv NTUC Extra! haiz. Things they carry at 'bigger' NTUC are not found in other outlets...

Do they juz sell the teats? Can the teats fit Nuk's wide neck bottles? Cos already changed sooo many bottles, if this dun work, arrrrggghhhh.

Ya very heartache, cos still so young [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] But I need to go out to do my stuffs!

Pink, u stay @ Bukit Timah also rite? If u manage to find the teats by the brand Unome recommended, pls do tell me!

Lynn, I think most likely I'd try semi-solid after 5mths, not sure yet, but won't be so soon...

Today finally went out with baby! Not that we've not brought baby out, but they were only outings to the PD's, my mom's. So, being able to see clearer now, she was super curious about her surroundings.

Not sure if it's becos I woke her up from her slp to bf her before we went out or she wasn't used to the surroundings, she was very cranky. Hubby managed to finally 'rock' her to slp on the car seat stroller but when we sat down at the rest 'Dian Xiao Er', this stupid manager came and commented "wah, she's sleeping, so guai" and guess what, within less than 10mins, she wailed! Luckily I've sensed her restlessness shortly after that comment and ate up my dinner super fast and quickly rush her to look for a bb nursing room to nurse her to calm her down.

She was still looking around at the 'butterflies' in the baby room when we got there, haha. However, her 'calmnes' was shortlived and with no choice, I quickly grabbed a pack of 2 Nuk pacifiers and then we went home... Haiz.

All the time the maid whom had tagged along, was of not much help, next time can dun bring her liao...

*btw, she rejected the pacifier, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I've tried a few times, and even tried to trick her when she was abt to suck her thumb but she'd simply push it out wif her tongue, the last time I tried, she almost cried from frustration, ^-^" and when I went in for my shower, she fussed and my non-attention paying hubby went to try his luck and she complained, hahaha.

hi mummies, did not manage to meet you all at City Hall Cedele the last time round. My boy is very cranky on that day and could not handle him. He kept crying even though he is well-fed, put him down he cry..must be carried all the time. the next outing at City sq mall..abit far from my place..may I know where most April mummies stay?

mum05, yeah going out with babies is super troublesome esp if he/she does not cooperate and if we don't know why they cry it is even worst. I am too not confident of bringing bb out of my own yet.. I need my husband to follow me[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] see that your bb is the cranky sort, mine too leh...brought him to Raffles city yesterday..he kept crying.give him pacifier he did not want..he does not want milk too..I tried all possibilities he just did not want ...

cheesyjm, my 1st born was also like that... cried n cried when out, haiz. That time no helper and wasn't BF alr, yet alr buay tahan, now got helper, but due to BF, I have to be the one who takes care of her when she cries, haiz, me very pai mia....

unome, I've just searched online and found some ppl commenting that they've tried using Breastflow bottles to wean baby off bf but failed and they're asking if Nuk's wld help, aiyoh... I guess maybe depends on the bb liao lor? If the teats can fit Nuk's bottles, I dun mind buying a couple to try out. Meantime, Pink, if u hv tried and succeed, let me know!

Btw Unome, does yr bb rej bottles after suckling(n realised not b, then rej)? Cos mine st away cry the min the teat touches her mouth, she wldn't even try suckling once she knew it's not bf...

no la, not wanting to wean off, just want her to take to bottle feeding cos at times I need to go out to do my stuffs.

mum05, your both children are the same? do you know why they are so cranky? maybe sometimes want to sleep, but we somehow disturb them..my first girl was very kuai..seldom cry one leh..until she is 2 years old..now 3.5 years liao..my second one, boy, is unlike his sister..once I put him down he start to cry liao..so much as I cannot even do my work at home. luckily sis is in full day cc..my helper hasn't come in yet..hopefully she comes this week..then I can concentrate on bb more...

oops piggy, juz saw yr qns. I left bb wif her initially when she was very 'on' but now that she's beginning to slack and my bb's not taking the bottle, I dun quite dare liao... But sometimes I need to go out w/out bb to do stuffs, so it's a big headache...